A strong everyday card wrapped around a risky wallet
The Uphold card is a Visa you can load from a crypto wallet, sold in two versions — Essential and Elite — and, as far as the card’s own public pages go, it is issued to people living in US states and Washington D.C. only. That single fact decides more about this review than anything else, so I want to put it first and plainly: if you are not a US resident with a US mailing address, this card is not for you, and the rest of this page is background rather than a route in. If you are a US resident who wants to spend crypto balances and stablecoins in ordinary shops, the card itself is unusually good: Apple Pay and Google Pay, no annual fee on Essential, free metal on Elite, zero foreign transaction fee on Elite, and spending directly from 300+ digital assets. What I cannot give you is a clean bill of health, because the same wallet that makes the card convenient is the thing users complain about most — freezes, restrictions and withdrawals held during identity checks. The card earns 9 out of 10 on everyday use and 2 out of 10 on who can get it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10
My score is 5.8 / 10. That is not a card I would push at someone without knowing where they live and what they want the card for. It is a card I would push at a specific person: a US resident, in a state other than Louisiana or New York, who already holds crypto they want to spend without selling it first on a crypto exchange, who will not be caught out by a 2.05%–2.2% conversion spread when the coin they hold is BTC or ETH, and who can live with an account that sometimes gets frozen for weeks while support works through email.
Who it suits: US residents spending across 300+ assets, and anyone willing to treat the card as a convenient wrapper around a balance rather than as a bank account replacement. The Elite tier earns up to 4% in XRP on crypto- and metals-funded spend and 3% on fiat and stablecoin spend, capped at $300, which only makes sense if you already like holding XRP.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside the United States; anyone who needs a card that is unambiguously a bank account; anyone whose income or savings are large enough that a balance cap of $25,000 becomes the binding constraint; anyone planning to withdraw cash from ATMs, where Essential charges $2.95 a time; and anyone who cannot tolerate their balance being restricted during a compliance review.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The card page is only for US residents in states and Washington D.C.; not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Essential: annual $0, virtual $0, plastic $4.99, FX 1.50%, ATM $2.95; Elite: annual $99.99, FX 0%; BTC/ETH conversion spread 2.05% to 2.2% |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | The card spends the wallet balance: 300+ digital assets and USD, stablecoins highlighted; funded by bank transfer, PayPal or crypto; networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Issuer is Cross River Bank (Member FDIC), programme run by Uphold HQ Inc.; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 from 27,602 reviews, but account freezes lasting weeks and up to 3 months |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM Essential $2.95 and Elite $0 |
Will they give you the card?
Only to US residents living in US states or Washington D.C., and not at all in Louisiana, New York, or US territories. Eligibility is residence-based, not citizenship-based, on the card’s own description.
That distinction matters if you are reading this from outside the US. Residence-based means your address is the test, and a US mailing address is the evidence. It does not, by itself, tell you what happens if your citizenship is from a country under sanctions — that is a separate screening layer applied by regulated businesses, and the card’s public pages do not say how it handles particular nationalities.
Everywhere else, this is a closed door. I could not find an official page for the US card that offers applications from other countries, and I would not read third-party forum claims about workarounds as anything other than unconfirmed. The card pages are not stated outside the US. If you are in Europe, the UK, Latin America or Asia, the honest answer is that this is not your card, and the alternatives section below is where your attention should go.
How to get it
There is no credit check, you need an Uphold wallet first, and the card arrives by post to a US address. The wallet setup is described as taking under five minutes. Whether documents, proof of address or an age requirement are asked for is not stated on the card pages I read.
The mechanics are simple enough. You open an Uphold wallet, you add funds, you order the card, and it is a Visa — virtual or physical. The Essential physical card is plastic; the Elite physical card is metal. The card is denominated in USD.
Some things you will not find stated, and I would rather flag them than invent them:
- Delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. Nobody is promising you next-week delivery, and nobody is quoting you a shipping fee.
- Expedited replacement is not available.
- Replacement costs are $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year on Elite.
- A US mailing address is required. No US address, no card.
- There are no KYC tiers and no stated processing time on the pages I read. What the card terms do say is that you need an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and your date of birth, and that the card is for personal use only.
The practical gap: you will not find a stated answer to “how long until my identity check clears?” That is exactly the kind of question that matters to you if you are planning a trip or a purchase deadline, and it is one you should raise with support before you order, not after.
Fees: what it really costs
Essential costs you $4.99 for the plastic card and nothing a year; Elite costs $99.99 a year and gives you the metal card free, zero foreign transaction fee and zero ATM fees. The fees that actually bite are the ones that are not on that list: the conversion spread when you pay from crypto.
| Fee or limit | Essential | Elite |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $4.99 | $0 |
| Annual fee | $0 | $99.99 |
| Virtual card | $0 | $0 |
| Physical card | $4.99 (plastic) | $0 (metal) |
| Replacement card | $4.99 | $29.99 (one free per year) |
| Closing the card | $0 | $0 |
| POS purchase | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1.50% | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | $2.95 | $0 |
| Foreign ATM transaction fee | $1.50 | $0 |
| Customer service | $0 | $0 |
| Maximum card balance | $25,000 | $25,000 |
| Purchases and total withdrawals | $2,500/day, $10,000/month | $25,000/day, $100,000/month |
| ATM withdrawals | $500/day, $2,000/month, 3 per day, 10 per month | $2,000/day, $10,000/month, 3 per day, 30 per month |
Upgrading Essential to Elite is charged at a $0 fee, which makes the annual fee the only real decision.

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through, because the fee table reads differently once you know what triggers what.
Buying coffee in your own city, paid from USD. Nothing is charged at the point of sale — POS purchases are $0 on both tiers. If the money was already sitting in your USD balance, this is the cheapest possible version of using the card, and on Essential you paid $4.99 once for the plastic.
Buying coffee in Tokyo, paid from USD. Visa converts the transaction into USD at the rate in effect on the processing day, and then the foreign transaction fee is added: 1.50% on Essential, $0 on Elite. The bank does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or the foreign fee. That line is worth reading twice, because “Visa’s rate on the day it processes” can be a different rate from the rate you saw when you paid. On Elite the foreign transaction fee disappears but the conversion difference does not — nobody’s rate is guaranteed.
Buying lunch paid from your BTC. Here is the number people miss. Converting crypto to USD carries a spread: 0% for USD and USD stablecoins, under 0.25% for other stablecoins, 0.3% for major FX, 2.05% to 2.2% for BTC and ETH, 2.85% to 3.8% for altcoins, 2.35% to 3.40% for precious metals. So a $50 lunch paid from bitcoin costs you roughly a dollar more than the same lunch paid from a dollar balance. That is not a fee on the card — it is the price of selling at the moment of purchase, and “Preview Trade” shows the all-in price before you commit. On a stablecoin it is nearly free; on an altcoin it is close to four times the price of the coffee.
Two smaller things you will not find on the fee table: the free ATM allowance and limits are not stated, and the crypto conversion fee itself is not stated as a separate line on the card page — it lives in the spreads above. Limits are in the table; where the card’s own pages say nothing, I have said nothing.
Top up: how money gets onto the card
The card spends your wallet balance directly — 300+ digital assets and USD, with stablecoins highlighted — and that wallet is funded by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto deposit. The networks you can deposit over are not listed, and per-method deposit fees and minimums are not stated.
This is the structural point worth understanding, because it explains both the strength and the risk. Because the card draws on the wallet rather than on a bank account, there is no monthly statement, no direct debit, and no salary arriving in the card. You move money in, you spend it, and if the wallet is restricted, the card is empty even though the bank behind it never stopped existing.

The conversion spreads quoted above apply when you top up in crypto: USD and USD stablecoins convert 1:1 with 0% spread, up to a $20,000 monthly cap per customer; other stablecoins under 0.25%; major FX 0.3%; BTC/ETH 2.05% to 2.2%; altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%; precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%. If you want to avoid the crypto conversion cost almost entirely, a USD or USD-stablecoin funding route is the cheapest path, and stablecoins are the reason this card scores 8 out of 10 on top-up options rather than something lower.
On the way out: funds in the card account do not expire. You close the card through customer service at a $0 fee. The bank may cancel the card at any time. Only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals are not. Withdrawal-to-bank fees are not stated.
If you are depositing crypto rather than fiat, the general rule for the whole category applies: blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. “Networks not listed” is not a small gap — it is the gap that loses money.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card is genuinely good: a virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, and rewards paid in XRP. The Uphold app scores 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store from 91K ratings; the Google Play rating was not read.
Rewards are the sharpest differentiator and the sharpest trap:
| Tier | Crypto- and metals-funded spend | Fiat and stablecoin spend | Cap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elite | 4% in XRP | 3% in XRP | up to $300 |
| Essential | 2% in XRP | not stated separately | up to $120 |
The reward currency is currently XRP, and it is available for 3 months after activation for cards activated on or after 1 Jan 2026. Read that as what it is: a three-month window on a coin whose price you carry all the way. A 4% reward in XRP is not a 4% discount on your shopping. If XRP falls, the reward falls with it, and if it does not, you are left holding a token you did not choose to hold. It is a reason to like Elite, but it should never be the reason alone.
When something goes wrong with a payment, the process is the ordinary Visa one and the timings are worth knowing in advance. Start a dispute in the Uphold Platform. Report errors within 60 days. A dispute raised by phone needs written confirmation within 10 business days. The bank decides within 10 business days, though the whole process may take up to 45 days with provisional credit within 10 business days, and up to 90 days for new cards, point-of-sale or foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorized Visa transactions are investigated in 5 business days plus another 5. For a lost or stolen card, liability is capped at $50 if you report within 2 business days, and can be up to $500 later. One detail that will make you blink: the terms never use the word “chargeback” — they describe the process, but they do not promise you that word’s protections in so many words.
A declined payment can also leave a hold on your money that stays for several days, typically up to 7. That is standard in the category and worth remembering before you tap a card twice at a till.
What can go wrong
The card is the least risky part of this setup. The wallet is what fails people. That is the conclusion I reached after reading the complaint record, and it is not what most reviews of a “card” will tell you.
The headline rating is good: Trustpilot reads 4.6 out of 5 from 27,602 reviews, about 6,386 of them in the last 12 months, with 67% five-star and 17% one-star. But 0% of negative reviews had a reply from the company. That is a specific, checkable fact and it tells you something a star rating does not: when a review goes bad, nobody answers.
The recurring themes in user reports from September and October 2026 are consistent enough to plan around:
- Account freezes and restrictions without explanation, lasting weeks to up to three months. This is the most common complaint by a distance. It often starts after a first deposit, a card link, a withdrawal attempt, or a location mismatch.
- Slow, bot-driven support, largely over email.
- Identity-verification problems — expired verification links, lockouts after a phone number change.
- Unexpected charges.
Other public record worth knowing: a Reddit user reporting an account closed without explanation while holding over 9,000 USD; a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, on a closed wallet and card, where the card was issued by Optimus Cards UK rather than by the US issuer; a ComplaintsBoard score of 1.9 out of 5 from 13 reviews, which is far worse than the Trustpilot picture; and one official incident, a status page report of a Mastercard-related issue freezing some UK cards, resolved on 19 May 2026. Third-party Trustpilot figures circulate at 2.4 and 4.5 as well — I read the 4.6 directly, so treat the others as unofficial.
Two structural risks sit underneath the complaints. First, only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured; crypto and metals are not, and Uphold states it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Second, the issuer can cancel the card at any time, and crypto balances have a longer history of custodian failure than fiat does.
Security-wise the picture is reasonable and slightly incomplete: 2FA is recommended, email verification is used for unusual activity, and a Reservechain solvency proof is described. In-app card freeze, spending controls and card insurance are not stated on the security page — so do not assume the freeze button exists until you have seen it. Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks, which is a real gap on the Essential tier where you pay $2.95 to use an ATM in the first place.
If you want to reduce your exposure without changing cards, the ordering is simple: keep the balance you need for a week rather than the balance you can afford to lose, hold it in the USD or stablecoin side rather than altcoins, and enable 2FA before you travel, not during.
What to take instead
If you are outside the US, the Uphold card is not a comparison question at all, so I will not pretend otherwise. If you are inside it, here is how the alternatives actually compare — and the honest truth is that most of them publish less than Uphold does, which is itself a reason to pause.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Card type | Official fees published | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uphold | 5.8 / 10 | US states and Washington D.C. (not Louisiana, New York, territories) | Virtual and physical Visa, USD, Essential plastic / Elite metal | Yes — full fee and limit table | 2% (Essential) / up to 4% (Elite) in XRP |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific — and explicitly not the European Economic Area | Virtual and physical; Mastercard in Argentina, others Mastercard or Visa by region | Yes — detailed by region | 2% to 10% cashback in USDT by tier, caps $5 to $600 |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated on an official page I could read | Not stated officially | Not stated | Not stated |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | Cashback in YNG tokens: 0.1% Essential, 1.8% Gold, 3.6% Platinum |
Bybit Card is the real alternative for anyone outside the US, and it is more geographically useful — nine regions listed, with the explicit line that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that participation there is strictly prohibited. It supports virtual and physical cards, with networks varying by region. Its costs are published in detail: virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice, there are no annual fees, and the crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina. FX fees run 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; Argentina is 7%; Brazil 1.5%; Peru 1%. Its rewards are the most generous on paper here, from 2% up to 10% cashback in USDT, but only crypto-funded transactions earn them from 5 October 2026 — fiat-funded spending does not. It is also the only one of these with a stated residency application process and region list.
MSX scores highest at 6.4, and I want to be honest about why: I could not read official pages stating who qualifies, what it costs or what it pays. A high score with no readable terms is not an advantage to me as a reader.
Young Card pays cashback in YNG tokens, not dollars — 0.1%, 1.8% and 3.6% by Club tier. If you are not already holding that token, that is an added risk, not a discount.
My honest conclusion: outside the US, Bybit Card is the only alternative here I would read further. Inside the US, Uphold’s disclosure quality is better than its peers’, and for a US resident the comparison is not close.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Uphold Elite card to a US resident in a state other than Louisiana or New York who already holds a stablecoin balance and wants to spend it in shops without touching an exchange, who can pay $99.99 a year without regret, who understands that their reward arrives in XRP and can live with the three-month window, and who accepts a $25,000 balance cap as a feature rather than a wall. For that person the card is close to ideal: free metal, no foreign transaction fee, no ATM fee, and Apple Pay.
I would recommend Essential — not Elite — to a US resident who wants a simple Visa for everyday spending and might try paying from crypto occasionally. The 2% XRP reward is small enough to ignore, the 1.50% foreign fee is a reasonable price for not paying $99.99, and $4.99 for the plastic is not a real obstacle.
I would recommend neither to someone whose money needs to be unambiguously available and unambiguously insured, who lives outside the United States, or who intends to take out cash regularly on Essential. In all three cases you are choosing the wrong instrument, and the right instrument is a bank card.
And I would say this to everyone else: read the complaints, not just the rewards table. The card works. The wallet is the fragile part, and it will not warn you before it stops.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Uphold card?
The Uphold card is a Visa you can spend directly from a Uphold wallet balance, in virtual or physical form, denominated in USD. It comes in two versions: Essential, with plastic and no annual fee, and Elite, with metal and a $99.99 annual fee. The card draws on 300+ digital assets and USD, with stablecoins highlighted. It is issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager.
Is Uphold a bank?
Not quite, and the distinction matters. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC institution, and the US card is issued by that bank on the Visa network. Uphold itself states it is not an FDIC-insured bank. Only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals held on the platform are not. So the fiat side has bank backing; the crypto side does not.
Who owns Uphold?
The card programme is split between two named parties. Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, is the card issuer for the US card and sits on the Visa network. Uphold HQ Inc. is the programme manager — the company running the programme, the app and the wallet. That split is standard for crypto cards: the brand is usually a front end over a licensed issuing bank.
Is the Uphold card available in my country?
For the US card, only in US states and Washington D.C., and not in Louisiana, New York or US territories. Eligibility is residence-based, so it is your address that counts, and a US mailing address is required for delivery. No official offer for other countries is stated on the pages I read. If you are in Europe, the UK, Latin America or Asia, look at region-specific alternatives instead.
Does getting the Uphold card require KYC?
There is no credit check, and you need an Uphold wallet first, set up in what the company describes as under five minutes. The card terms require an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and your date of birth, and personal use only. Whether specific documents, proof of address or an age check are required is not stated, and there are no published KYC tiers or processing times. Assume verification can be asked for later.
How much does the Uphold card cost?
Essential: $4.99 for the plastic card, $0 annually, $0 virtual, 1.50% foreign transaction fee, $2.95 per ATM withdrawal. Elite: $99.99 a year, $0 for the metal card, $0 virtual, 0% foreign transaction fee, $0 ATM. Purchases at the point of sale are $0 on both. Replacing a card costs $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, with one free per year on Elite. Closing is free.
How do I top up the Uphold card?
You top up the wallet, not the card — the card spends the wallet balance. Funding routes are bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto deposit; networks are not listed and per-method fees and minimums are not stated. Conversion costs vary sharply: USD and USD stablecoins convert at 0% up to a $20,000 monthly cap per customer, other stablecoins under 0.25%, major FX 0.3%, BTC and ETH 2.05% to 2.2%, altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%.
Is the Uphold card safe?
Safest answer: it is safe in the ordinary sense and risky in the structural one. Card payments ride on Visa’s network, so standard fraud protections apply, though Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks. Uphold recommends 2FA. But only the USD account is FDIC-insured, the bank may cancel the card at any time, and users report account freezes and withdrawal restrictions lasting weeks to three months. In-app freeze and spending controls are not stated on the security page.
What are the Uphold card limits?
The maximum card balance is $25,000 on both tiers. Essential allows $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month in purchases and total withdrawals, with ATM withdrawals of $500 a day and $2,000 a month, three a day and ten a month. Elite allows $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, with ATM withdrawals of $2,000 a day and $10,000 a month, three a day and thirty a month. Bank-teller cash withdrawals follow the ATM amounts.
Is the Uphold card worth it?
Worth it if you are a US resident who spends stablecoins day to day and values a free metal card, zero foreign fees and no ATM charges — Elite at $99.99 a year pays for itself on that profile alone. Not worth it if you live outside the US, if you need more than $25,000 on the card, if you plan to withdraw cash on Essential at $2.95 a time, or if you were hoping the 4% XRP reward was a discount. It is a reward in a volatile token, not a rebate on your shopping.
Exchange card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
