PayPaw review — a Solana-native prepaid card with an unnamed issuer

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been trying to get an ordinary bank card and the applications keep bouncing back, a prepaid crypto card like PayPaw will look genuinely useful. You pay with Solana tokens, you get a card number, and you spend that balance like an ordinary Visa or Mastercard. That is the pitch, and it is not nonsense — plenty of people genuinely cannot get a bank card.

PayPaw works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But I went through PayPaw’s own pages carefully, and the honest summary is this: the product is thin, and the company behind it is very thin too. The card works in a narrow way, several important things are simply not stated anywhere public, and the legal entity, the issuer and the licences are not named. That is not automatically a scam — plenty of small crypto projects are exactly like this — but it does mean you are trusting a setup you cannot fully inspect, and the price of that trust is 3% of the card plus $2, plus another 2% every time you spend in a currency other than the card’s own.

Who is it for? Someone who lives somewhere a mainstream bank will not open an account for them, who already holds Solana, and who treats the card as a throwaway one-time purchase rather than a lasting payment method. Who is it not for? Anyone who wants to load it more than once, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, and anyone who is uneasy about a provider that does not name its issuer or its licences.

The conditions described on the card’s pages are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score: 5.8 out of 10

Here is how the card breaks down across the criteria I score every product on, so you can see exactly where the marks come from and disagree with me if you want.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PayPaw starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Over 200 countries; 30 restricted countries are excluded, Belarus and Russia among them
Cost 4 / 10 3% of the card cost plus $2, and 2% for using it in another currency
Top-up options 8 / 10 SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana; an aggregator swaps other tokens such as BTC, ETH and BNB
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Legal entity, issuer and licences not named; no complaints found; card top-up not supported
Everyday use 5 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay are there, but no ATM and the card type and top-up are not disclosed
Total 5.8 / 10

Two of those marks are generous by design. Availability really is broad, and the top-up options really are unusually flexible for a card of this kind, because the swap aggregator lets you pay in coins you may already hold. If your situation is exactly that, the flexibility counts for more than it counts for most people.

The two that drag the total down are cost and reliability, and both come back to the same root: there is very little published information about who is running this. Three per cent plus two dollars is not a predatory price, but it is not nothing either, and the two per cent on foreign-currency spending is the kind of charge that hides in small print and then adds up over a month of ordinary spending. On reliability, the absence of a named issuer and licences is the single biggest thing to weigh before you put money in.

Will they give you the card?

Yes — this is the card’s strongest suit, and it is worth being clear about why.

PayPaw states availability across more than 200 countries. Thirty countries are restricted and excluded, and the card’s own list includes Belarus and Russia among them. That is a short exclusion list by the standards of this category, and for most readers it means the card is available where they live.

Two details here matter more than they look. First, the card does not distinguish between citizenship and residence. It does not say “citizens of these countries” or “residents of these countries” — it says the countries themselves are excluded. So if you are a citizen of one of those thirty states but live in, say, Germany or Spain, the wording gives you no clear answer. Second, the card does not resolve this itself; the Telegram bot simply asks you to set your country when you start. What happens if you set a country that turns out to be restricted is not described anywhere.

There is a second, deeper question behind the first one: does the issuer or the partner provider care about your nationality at all, as opposed to where you say you live? In this whole industry the two are treated very differently. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy usually look at citizenship and country of birth, not just your address, and a card that accepts a country on the basis of your address is not necessarily a card that would ignore your passport if it ever saw one. I am not saying PayPaw screens anyone — I have no evidence either way. I am saying the public pages leave the question open, and an open question here is worth a moment of your own thought rather than an assumption.

How to get it

The whole process happens inside Telegram, which is unusual enough to be worth describing step by step, because the order of the steps matters more than it usually would.

The card’s own FAQ does not claim you skip identity checks entirely. It says there is “no need for KYC” to get started, but that this is not strictly required, and that the provider still asks for your data. Those are three different statements, and the most conservative reading is the one to plan around: expect to give the provider personal data, and do not treat “no KYC” as a guarantee that no one is looking at your identity. The level of checks, if any, is not stated.

Here is the sequence the card describes:

That last point deserves emphasis, and it is really about the payment step underneath. Each order gets its own fresh payment address, and the card is released only when the exact amount arrives. If you send slightly too little or too much, the card is not delivered. There is no partial credit and no “close enough” tolerance described. On a blockchain transfer there is nobody to call and ask, so precision here is not pedantry — it is the difference between a card and a lost amount.

After you pay, the card arrives in about 15 minutes. Creating the order takes about 20 seconds. Two things the card does not say are worth flagging: whether you get a physical card at all is not described, and any delivery time for a physical card is not given. What you receive is described as a prepaid card in EUR or USD, with the card network and the physical-versus-virtual question both unspecified. So the honest answer to “will I get something in the post” is that the public information does not say.

What it really costs: Fees

Here is the cost picture in one table. Every number below is what the card publishes; where the card says nothing, the row says so rather than guessing.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PayPaw payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Card purchase 3% of the card cost, plus a $2 flat fee
Monthly fee None stated
Foreign-currency use An additional 2% conversion fee
Crypto conversion (swap aggregator) Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not supported
Spending limits Not listed
Number of cards No limit on the number of cards
Card currency EUR or USD
Card amounts Set per order in the bot

Two everyday payments, to make the fees concrete.

Buying a coffee in your own currency. Suppose your card is in USD and you are paying a EUR 4.50 coffee. The 2% does not apply here — the purchase is in the card’s own currency — so what you pay is the price plus whatever the underlying exchange rate costs you. There is no monthly fee to add and no ATM involved. This is the cheapest possible version of a PayPaw payment, and it is the reason the card can feel fine in a single-currency life.

A weekend booking abroad, in a currency that is not your card’s. Now the 2% conversion fee lands on top of the exchange-rate spread, and the exchange-rate spread is the part that is not published anywhere. This is the purchase the card’s cost mark of 4 out of 10 is really about. Two per cent sounds minor when you read it once. Across a month of foreign spending it becomes the largest single cost you can see, and it is charged on top of a rate nobody has published. You cannot budget precisely for a cost you cannot see.

Now the honest list of things this table does not tell you:

None of these are reasons to walk away on their own. They are reasons to size your use of the card to the part of the cost you can actually see. Keep it for small, occasional purchases where the 2% is genuinely negligible, and you will never notice the gaps. Use it as your everyday card, and the gaps become the whole story.

How to top it up

The honest answer is that you cannot, and this is the single most important thing to understand before you buy anything.

Top-up is not supported. Once the card is created, no further funds can be added to it. If you spend the balance, the card is finished. If you need money again, the card’s instruction is to create a new card — which means paying the 3% plus $2 again, and going through the whole fresh-address payment process again. The card is a one-time instrument by design, not by accident.

That single fact shapes everything about how you would sensibly use it. The card amounts are chosen per order in the bot, so the practical question is not “how do I add more” but “how much do I load this time”, and every reload is a fresh purchase at the full price. If you load small amounts, the flat $2 does a lot of damage to the effective cost. If you load large amounts, you have a lot of money sitting in an instrument you cannot top up, cannot withdraw from, and whose issuer is not named. Both directions have a cost, and the card gives you no way to optimise between them.

The payment itself is the part the card is clearest and most flexible about. You can pay with SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on the Solana network, and an aggregator swaps other tokens for you — BTC, ETH and BNB, according to the card’s own material. That flexibility is what earned the top-up mark of 8 out of 10, and if your holdings are already in one of those other coins, being able to pay in them without swapping yourself is genuinely useful.

Three rules that come with this, all of which are about losing money rather than convenience:

So the design is: convert or send crypto on Solana, the card spends a fixed fiat balance, and when that balance is gone you start over with a new card. That is coherent as a product. It just is not a card you top up.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where the 5 out of 10 comes from, and it is a mixture of one genuinely good feature and several silences.

The good feature: the card can be linked to Apple Pay and Google Pay. If you are happy with a virtual card and tap it on your phone, this is the most pleasant way to use it, and it is the reason to consider a virtual card at all. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, not on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. That is a better security posture than writing your card number on a piece of paper.

What the card does not say about everyday use:

There is no app. Everything runs through the Telegram bot and a web dashboard, where you can view your balance. If you are the kind of person who wants a normal banking app with notifications and a spending feed, that absence will grate.

And the failure mode you should plan for is the boring one: declined payments. A merchant may look at your card’s issuing country and your billing address, see a mismatch, and either decline you or hold the payment for extra scrutiny — this is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants also decline prepaid cards for the same reason. If a payment is declined, it can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven, even though you never spent anything. That is the ordinary reality of paying with a foreign prepaid card, and it has nothing to do with PayPaw specifically.

What can go wrong

The risk section is where I would ask you to slow down, because the unknowns cluster here.

The provider is not identified. The card is described as a Solana-native prepaid card protocol. The legal entity behind it is not named. Neither is the issuer. Neither are the licences. This is the finding behind the reliability mark of 4 out of 10, and it is the one I would weigh most heavily, because it determines who is actually liable to you when something goes wrong.

It matters how card programmes are normally put together, so you know what is missing. A card payment involves several parties: the network, Visa or Mastercard, routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer, which is a bank or a licensed e-money institution, holds the card programme; and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. In the EU, an e-money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets, but it cannot lend, and it may serve customers across the EU and EEA from a licence granted in one member state. The networks themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer.

So when you cannot name the issuer, you cannot name the institution that is actually regulated, and you cannot check it. There is a practical consequence that goes beyond paperwork. In the EU, the regulator keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, their white papers, and non-compliant entities, and you can look a provider up there. If PayPaw’s partner provider is named anywhere in that register, that is a real, checkable fact. If nothing is named, you cannot run that check at all.

You cannot top up, and you cannot get money out. Already covered, but it belongs in the risk list too. A card you cannot reload and cannot withdraw from is a card where a mistake at the top has no exit.

The data you hand over. The bot asks you to set your country, and the card’s own FAQ says the provider still asks for your data. Once you have told a provider who you are and where you are, you have handed that over; the card does not publish a privacy policy detail or a retention commitment that would tell you what happens to it next.

Custody is not explained. The card describes itself as privacy-centric and uses a fresh payment address per order, which is a real design choice and a genuine improvement over reusing one address. But it does not say who holds the funds during the swap, whether the balance is safeguarded, or whether you can enable two-factor authentication or a card freeze. If your money sits with a provider, you are trusting that provider completely, and there is no built-in recovery if it fails: crypto transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key cannot be reversed or clawed back by anyone.

There is no complaints history, which cuts both ways. I found no official incidents and no user reviews, and no Trustpilot page. For a young product that can simply mean nobody has had trouble yet. It can also mean nobody has written about it, which leaves you with nothing to learn from. The absence of complaints on a service with no disclosed issuer is not reassurance.

Your funds are not bank deposits. Even where customer funds are safeguarded — and an EU e-money institution is required to safeguard them, either in segregated accounts or insured — those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. You are not a bank depositor here.

Sanctions still apply to the crypto side. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And the restricted-country list, whatever its 30 entries, is not the whole of anyone’s compliance obligations. I am not going to explain how to get around any of that, and you should not want to — the point is simply that the card’s country list is a product decision, not a legal permission.

The category has a closure history. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A crypto card brand outliving the issuer behind it is a recurring story in this field, and it is the risk that compounds the unnamed-issuer problem above.

What the card does not promise you. Lost or stolen cards: the card’s advice is to contact your provider as soon as possible. That is a reasonable instruction and also a revealing one — it routes you to a provider you cannot identify from the card’s own pages.

What to take instead

If PayPaw’s combination — broad availability, Solana payments, no reloads, no ATM — is not quite your combination, these are the closest alternatives, with what each does differently.

Card Score Availability Card type and currency Stated fees Payment options
PayPaw 5.8 / 10 Over 200 countries, 30 excluded including Belarus and Russia Prepaid, EUR or USD; virtual/physical and network not stated 3% plus $2 to buy; 2% foreign-currency use; swap fee not stated SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana; aggregator for BTC, ETH, BNB
Azul Card 5.3 / 10 Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions Virtual only, Mastercard, USD balance $20 to create, refunded after $2,000 in spending; $5 monthly; 4% crypto top-up; $0.25 per transaction; FX fee not stated Crypto sent to the card in Telegram; coins and networks not named on the pages read
Telecard 6.1 / 10 Over 150 countries; identity check available in most major regions; terms bar US-sanctioned people Virtual Mastercard, USD Standard $5 once; VIP $49 then $19/month; 1.5% conversion on non-USD; 0.5 USDT gas per successful transaction; FX and cross-border up to 3% each USDT on Tron or Ethereum, USDC on Ethereum; ETH and TRX also listed on the main page
OnCards 4.6 / 10 Not stated; no country list, no mention of citizens or residents of any country Virtual Mastercard or Visa directly in Telegram; currency not stated Not stated, beyond “no hidden charges” USDT on BEP20 only; bank transfers not accepted

A few comparisons worth making explicitly, because they are the ones that actually change your decision.

Azul Card is the closest in spirit to PayPaw and has one significant advantage and one significant drawback. The advantage is structure: a named monthly fee, a stated purchase fee that is refunded after you have spent enough, a stated per-transaction fee, and a virtual card with a stated network and currency. You can build a budget from that. The drawback is availability, and it is a real one: its exclusion list is much longer than PayPaw’s, and it says the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality — which is the phrasing PayPaw leaves ambiguous. Its top-up fees are also steeper (4% to top up, $0.25 per transaction, plus $5 a month) and its crypto options are vaguer, since the pages read do not name the coins or networks. First top-up can take up to 10 minutes, later ones 1 to 5. It does, however, have a referral programme paying up to 40% of its fees from transactions by referrals, where PayPaw states no rewards at all.

Telecard scores highest of the four at 6.1, and the reason is that it publishes the most detail — which is its main virtue. It publishes plan pricing ($5 once, or VIP at $49 setup then $19 a month), conversion (1.5% on non-USD payments), gas (0.5 USDT per successful card transaction), and even the $99 minimum deposit, which it is careful to label “NOT a fee” because it stays in your wallet. It is virtual Mastercard only, USD, and the network and naming are consistent across its pages. Its weaknesses are narrower coverage (over 150 countries rather than over 200), a month fee on the VIP tier, and one genuine functional restriction: Polygon is not supported. It also does not state an FX fee clearly in one place — it gives 1.5% conversion, 0.5 USDT gas, and “up to 3% each” for FX and cross-border, which adds up to a wide range depending on which applies. Its referral scheme pays Fiorini per activated friend plus cashback when friends spend, at 1 USDT to 100 Fiorini, with the cashback rate not specified.

OnCards is the one I would point at least, at 4.6, and it scores lowest for the simple reason that it publishes almost nothing. It does not state who can get it, what the fees are, or what currency the card holds — only that there are “no hidden charges” without a single amount. It restricts payments to USDT on BEP20 and does not accept bank transfers. Its one genuine claim is being able to send you a virtual Mastercard or Visa directly in Telegram, though it does not fix which network.

Where PayPaw sits against all three: it has the widest availability, the most interesting payment options, and the least information. If your priority is access and you already hold Solana, it is the strongest of the four. If your priority is knowing what you are paying and whom you are dealing with, Telecard and Azul both give you more to work with.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend PayPaw to someone in a specific and fairly narrow position: you live in a country where a normal bank card is not available to you, you already have Solana or a Solana-network stablecoin, you are comfortable paying in crypto to a provider you cannot fully identify, and you are using the card for a defined, occasional need rather than as your everyday money.

For that person, the card does what it says. It is fast — fifteen minutes from payment to card. It is flexible about what you pay with, which is genuinely better than most of its peers. It works in over 200 countries. And if your use is a few small payments, the 3% plus $2 and the 2% on foreign currency are costs you would barely notice.

I would not recommend it to someone building a budget around it, or planning to use it as a primary card. The reason is not the fees — the fees are knowable. It is the combination of no top-up, no ATM, no stated issuer, no stated KYC level, no stated spending limits, no stated dispute process, and no stated rewards. Seven silences in a product this small add up to a picture where you are giving money to an entity you cannot name, in a way you cannot reverse, with no fallback if it stops working.

Two checks are worth doing before you decide either way. Look for the partner provider’s name in your regulator’s register of authorised providers, if your jurisdiction publishes one — that is the one substantive fact that would change my reading of the reliability mark. And decide in advance how much you will load, because you cannot change that decision later: the $2 flat fee punishes small amounts, and a large balance in a non-reloadable card is a large amount of money sitting somewhere you cannot verify.

My own position, if I am honest about the score: 5.8 is about right, and the two marks that would move it most are the two that are unknown. A named issuer and a stated licence would lift the reliability mark quickly. A stated spending limit and a stated dispute process would do more for everyday use than Apple Pay support already has.

Frequently asked questions

What is PayPaw card?

PayPaw is a prepaid payment card that you buy with cryptocurrency. You pay in Solana-based tokens — SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK, or other coins through a swap aggregator — and receive a card in EUR or USD that spends a fixed balance. The card is one-time: it cannot be topped up again, and once its balance is gone you create a new card. It is described as a Solana-native prepaid card protocol.

How does PayPaw card work?

You buy it in the Telegram bot: open the bot, set your country, choose Create Card, pick a provider and an amount, then pay the exact SOL amount to a fresh address created for your order. The card arrives about fifteen minutes after payment, and you activate it through the partner link. It then spends a stored balance like a prepaid card rather than drawing on a bank account, which is why it cannot overdraw.

Is PayPaw a bank?

No, and it does not present itself as one. The card describes itself as a Solana-native prepaid card protocol. No legal entity, no issuer and no licences are named on the public pages. That matters because the institution that actually issues a card is normally a bank or a licensed e-money institution — the crypto brand is often only a front end. Without a named issuer, you cannot verify who is regulated.

Does PayPaw card require KYC?

The card’s own wording is careful. It says there is “no need for KYC” to get started, but also that this is not strictly required and that the provider still asks for your data. Those statements do not fully agree, so plan on providing personal data rather than assuming you will not be. The level of identity checks, if any, is not stated anywhere. Also note that the restricted-country list applies regardless of what you enter.

How do I top up PayPaw card?

You cannot, and this is the most important thing to know before buying. Top-up is not supported: once the card is created, no further funds can be added, and when the balance is spent you create a new card and pay the purchase fee again. Choose the amount carefully in the bot, because the amount is set per order and the 3% plus $2 applies to every card.

How much does a PayPaw card cost?

Buying one costs 3% of the card amount plus a $2 flat fee. Spending it in a currency other than the card’s own adds a 2% conversion fee on top of the exchange-rate spread, which is not published. No monthly fee is stated, but the swap aggregator’s own conversion fee and any spending limits are not stated either, and there is no ATM support.

Can I use a PayPaw card in my country?

The card states availability across more than 200 countries, with 30 restricted countries excluded, and Belarus and Russia are on that list. It does not distinguish between citizenship and residence, and the bot simply asks you to set your country yourself. If your country is on the excluded list the card is not for you, and how that is enforced is not described.

Is a PayPaw card safe?

Judge it on what is published rather than what is implied. The card is described as privacy-centric and uses a fresh payment address per order, which is a good design choice. But the issuer and licences are not named, custody arrangements are not explained, two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated, and there is no built-in recovery from an irreversible blockchain transfer. Use it for amounts you can afford to lose if the provider stops answering.

Is PayPaw card free?

No. There is a 3% fee on the card amount plus a $2 flat charge every time you buy one, and because cards cannot be topped up, buying another one later means paying that again. No monthly fee is stated, and no rewards or cashback are stated either. If your use is small and occasional, the cost is easy to overlook; if you plan to buy several cards, it adds up quickly.

How do I add a PayPaw card to Apple Wallet?

The card can be linked to Apple Pay, and also to Google Pay. Because the card’s physical-versus-virtual status is not specified, what you add may simply be a card number from the Telegram bot rather than a physical card in your hand. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team