Based card review — staking-locked tiers, no signup fee, and a thin public footprint
The Based card is a Visa debit card that lets you spend crypto balances at ordinary merchants. You fund it with stablecoins or selected tokens, the app converts at the point of sale, and you pay either in a virtual card straight away or a physical card after a short wait. The interesting part is the pricing: Based offers three tiers, and the difference between them is paid for in staked $BASED rather than in cash. Whether that trade makes sense depends on how much $BASED you already hold and how much you expect to spend.
This review walks through the facts as Based states them on its public pages (checked 20 October 2026), what we know from third-party reports, and where the card programme is unusually quiet.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Based earns 6.9 out of 10. It is a competent crypto debit card with generous stablecoin top-up options and a clear tiered pricing model, but the public information about the company is thinner than for most competitors, and the cashback programme requires locking up $BASED for at least three weeks.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why it earns that mark |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Worldwide except a published list of roughly 74 countries, effective 1 August 2026 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No signup or annual fee; $50 shipping on the HYPE tier; FX markup from 0% to 2.5% depending on tier |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Six coins across five networks, auto-converted at point of sale, no stated deposit fees |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operator identified only by a starting-data Singapore entity; issuer and licences not stated; one public review |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card instant, physical plastic on HYPE, metal on Gold; mobile-wallet support documented but questioned by users |
The card suits two specific groups well. First, people who already hold a meaningful amount of $BASED and are happy to lock some of it up: the higher the tier, the cheaper the foreign-exchange markup and the better the cashback. Second, people in countries where ordinary bank cards are hard to obtain, provided their country is not on the restricted list. It suits almost no one who wants to spend casually without taking on a staking commitment — the basic Orange tier is virtual-only and is not described as available yet, and the HYPE tier that ships a physical card requires 10,000 $BASED locked up.
Score
| Criterion | Mark |
|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 |
| Cost | 7 / 10 |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 |
| Total | 6.9 / 10 |
Who can get the Based card
Based says it is available worldwide except for a published list that takes effect on 1 August 2026. The list runs to roughly 74 countries and includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey, among others. The company checks eligibility by country of residence, not by citizenship alone, so where you actually live is the relevant question.
You need to be at least 18 and a resident of a country where Based is offered. You complete KYC inside the Based app with a passport or a national ID card — driver’s licences and voter IDs are not accepted. Screening typically takes up to three days, and Based can ask for more documents through [email protected]. Whether a proof of address is required is not stated on the public pages.
Because nationality and residence are different things, and because Based checks residence, it is worth applying only once you have confirmed your country of residence is on the permitted list. If your country of citizenship is on the restricted list but you live elsewhere, the residence test is what matters; the reverse — citizenship in a permitted country, residence in a restricted one — is the more common problem.
How to sign up for the Based card
The whole process runs inside the Based app. You create an account, complete identity verification with a passport or national ID, wait for screening (typically up to three days), and then choose a tier. A virtual card is issued immediately after approval; physical cards are shipped separately by DHL. The HYPE plastic ships for $50; the Gold metal card ships free. Delivery times and the specific countries DHL reaches are not stated beyond the availability list.
The card is a Visa debit in US dollars. When you spend in another currency, the tier determines the foreign-exchange markup — see the next section. The card has a single KYC level; rejection reasons are not stated, and there is no intermediate tier between a basic and a fully verified account.
If you want both a virtual and a physical card, you will be applying for the HYPE tier at minimum, because the basic Orange tier is virtual-only and is not described as available yet. The Gold tier is the one that ships a 20-gram metal card and unlocks 0% FX.
What the Based card really costs
There is no signup fee and no annual fee on any tier. The costs to watch are shipping, the foreign-exchange markup on non-USD spend, and the indirect cost of the staking lockup that the higher tiers require.
Fees and limits
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Signup fee | None |
| Annual fee | None |
| Physical card shipping (HYPE) | $50 |
| Physical card shipping (Gold) | Free |
| FX markup on non-USD spend (Orange) | 2.5% |
| FX markup on non-USD spend (HYPE) | 1.5% |
| FX markup on non-USD spend (Gold) | 0% |
| Stablecoin deposit fees | None stated |
| ATM withdrawals | Not enabled (per user report) |
| General spending limits | Not stated |
The Orange tier is the entry point: a virtual card, no lockup, 2.5% FX markup, no cashback — and it is described as not yet available on the public pages, so in practice HYPE is the lowest tier you can actually hold today. HYPE ships a plastic card, requires locking up 10,000 $BASED, charges 1.5% on non-USD spend, and pays 2% cashback capped at $20 per month. Gold ships a 20-gram metal card, requires 100,000 $BASED locked, charges 0% on non-USD spend, and pays 4% cashback capped at $100 per month. Lockup lasts 21 days from the moment you begin unstaking, then a 3-day cooldown before the tokens are movable.

A few everyday examples show how the costs play out:
- Buying a €40 lunch in Berlin on the HYPE card: Visa converts euros to dollars at the wholesale rate, then Based adds its 1.5% markup to the converted amount. The same lunch on the Gold card lands at the conversion rate with no additional markup.
- A $200 monthly subscription on a US billing address: no FX markup applies because the card is in dollars; the cost is $200 on every tier, plus whatever the merchant charges in network fees.
- A $500 hotel booking in Tokyo on HYPE: the yen-to-dollar conversion runs through the standard Visa rate, then a 1.5% markup; on Gold the markup disappears. Over a year of regular travel, that difference is meaningful.
Two things are not stated on the public pages. First, whether there is a separate conversion fee on top of the FX markup at the moment you pay — the docs speak only of the FX markup per tier, not of a point-of-sale conversion fee. Second, ATM withdrawals are not mentioned in the docs at all, and a user report from May 2026 says they are not enabled. Until the company addresses this, treat ATM access as unavailable.
How to top up the Based card
Based supports six coins for deposits: USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE and BASED. The supported networks are Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon and Hyperliquid. The app converts to US dollars automatically at the point of sale, so you do not have to manage the swap yourself.

The company states that there are no top-up fees for USDT and USDC. Minimum deposit amounts and who pays the network fee (you, in the form of gas, or Based) are not stated. Fiat top-up is also not stated — the public pages describe only crypto deposits.
Two practical points matter here. First, choose the network carefully: a stablecoin sent on a chain Based does not support can be lost or stranded, and transfers on the wrong network to a valid address are typically irreversible. Second, if you are funding from a wallet that holds a token but no native gas token for that network — for example, USDT on Polygon with no MATIC — the transfer will not go through. These are properties of the underlying blockchains, not of Based.
Withdrawal is not stated on the public pages; in practice, the card is a spend vehicle, not a withdrawal account, and you should not expect to move money back out to a bank account through Based.
Paying with the Based card every day
A virtual card is available immediately after KYC approval. Plastic and metal cards follow by DHL after a short wait. Based’s documentation lists Apple Pay and Google Pay support, and the standard contactless and online use that comes with any Visa debit. The card currency is US dollars, so a non-USD transaction picks up the tier’s FX markup and the merchant sees a normal Visa authorisation.
Cashback is paid in $BASED at the start of each month. HYPE pays 2%, capped at $20 per month; Gold pays 4%, capped at $100 per month. HYPE also includes an AI-subscription rebate of up to $10 per month, and Gold includes the AI rebate up to $100 per month plus an entertainment rebate of up to $20 per month. The terms describe the rewards as promotional and subject to change, and the documentation states that all benefits end when unstaking begins. The 21-day lockup from the moment of unstake is a meaningful constraint: you cannot move tokens and keep earning cashback at the same time.
A user review on Trustpilot (dated 24 May 2026) gives the card 3 out of 5 and raises two practical concerns: the reviewer says Apple Pay was not supported on their device, which conflicts with the official documentation, and the reviewer says ATM withdrawals are disabled. The reviewer also points out that, even at the cashback cap, the 2% on HYPE returns at most $20 a month — only worth it if the locked $BASED would otherwise be sitting idle. Based’s pages do not state which merchant categories are blocked, and the dispute process is not described.
What can go wrong with the Based card
The main risks are not exotic — they are the usual ones for a card programme run by a company that is lightly regulated and lightly reviewed.
First, the company. Based is operated by SHA2 LABS PTE. LTD., a Singapore entity, according to starting data on the site. The card’s issuer and the licences the programme runs under are not named on the public pages. The site footer identifies the brand as “Based” and does not list a banking partner. For a card that holds your balance, that is unusually little information, and it makes it harder to check the programme against any public register of authorised institutions.
Second, the public complaint record is thin. Trustpilot shows 3.4 from a single review (read 21 October 2026), and the profile is unclaimed. The single review is titled “Mediocre support” and covers three points: the cashback cap, the absence of Apple Pay on the reviewer’s device, and the absence of ATM withdrawals. None of these is a scandal, but a sample of one review does not give a real picture of typical support quality.
Third, staking-based tiers carry their own risk. If $BASED falls sharply while your tokens are locked, you keep paying the higher FX markup (or give up the cashback by unstaking) without the offsetting return. Lockup is 21 days from the moment of unstake, with a further 3-day cooldown — so the worst time to need your tokens back is the worst time to begin unstaking.
Fourth, the restricted-country list takes effect on 1 August 2026. If you are on the permitted side today, that is good; if you are in a country that drops off, your access changes on that date.
Fifth, the parts of the card that public pages do not describe. Custody model, two-factor authentication, instant freeze and dispute procedure are not stated in the pages reviewed. For day-to-day small purchases that is fine; for a card that holds a working balance, it is worth checking in the app what is and is not available before relying on it.
Finally, the wider category risk. Crypto balances are not deposit-guaranteed, and stablecoins — even well-known ones like USDT and USDC — have depegged in the past. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk; this is a property of the category, not a failing of Based in particular.
What to take instead of the Based card
If Based does not fit — perhaps because you do not want to lock up $BASED, or because your country is on the restricted list, or because the issuer details are too thin — here is how three alternatives compare.
Gemini Credit Card
A Mastercard World Elite credit card (form and currency not stated on the card page). No annual fee; no foreign transaction fees. Because it is a credit card, there is no crypto conversion at the point of sale — the card is paid off in fiat, and rewards are paid in the cryptocurrency of your choice on Gemini, changeable any time. The reward structure is category-based: 4% on gas, EV charging and transit (on the first $300 a month), 3% on dining, 2% on groceries and 1% on everything else. There is a referral bonus of $50 in crypto per signup, up to 50 a year. Gemini’s overall score on our card index is 4.9 out of 10.
The trade-off is that you need to be eligible for a US credit card, and the categories are narrower than the simple “spend anywhere” pitch that a debit card can offer. Country availability and the issuance fee are not stated on the card page.
Lava Card
A card that advertises spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries. Network, physical/virtual form and card currency are not stated. No annual fees, no FX fees, no FX spread and no exchange fees on Bitcoin buy/sell per the page. Funding is in local currency or stablecoins (networks not stated). Rewards are up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase, with conditions not stated. Lava scores 7.1 out of 10 on our index.
The gap is the unspecified details: card network, form factor and exact reward conditions. If the published rate and the published fee structure hold in practice, Lava is the strongest non-staking alternative to Based.
GoMining Card
A virtual card now, with a physical card described as coming soon. Network and card currency are not stated; opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner. Fees are not stated on the page reviewed. Top-up is in BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins, from a GoMining wallet. Cashback is paid in mining power and rises with VIP level, advertised as up to 5%. The company notes that products may not be available in your jurisdiction, with regional eligibility and prohibited-jurisdiction rules applying. GoMining scores 6.6 out of 10 on our index.
The trade-off is that the cashback arrives as mining power rather than as a liquid balance, and the published fee numbers are missing — both of which need confirmation from the live app before committing funds.
Who I would recommend the Based card to
I would recommend Based to two specific kinds of reader. The first is someone who already holds a meaningful amount of $BASED and treats the staking lockup as a non-event: the HYPE tier’s 1.5% FX markup and 2% cashback are competitive, and the Gold tier’s 0% FX and 4% cashback are genuinely strong if the lockup is a comfortable size. For these readers, the card is a way to put an existing bag of tokens to work.
The second is someone in a country where ordinary banking is hard to access but where Based is permitted — provided they can live with a virtual card at the entry level, are comfortable with the documentation gap around the issuer, and do not need ATM withdrawals. For a person in that situation, the card’s broad top-up list and automatic point-of-sale conversion are useful.
I would steer most other readers toward a competitor. If you want a fee-free, lockup-free spend vehicle and your country is supported, Lava’s published numbers are stronger. If you have US credit history, the Gemini credit card pays category rewards without requiring any crypto at rest. If you are drawn to GoMining’s mining-power cashback, do the math in the app first — the published rate and the missing fees both need to be confirmed. The one group I would warn off entirely is anyone whose primary need is ATM cash access: the docs do not mention it and the user report says it is not enabled, and that gap is unlikely to close without a public change from Based.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Based card?
The Based card is a Visa debit card issued through the Based app. You fund it with selected cryptocurrencies, the app converts to US dollars at the point of sale, and you can spend the balance anywhere Visa is accepted.
Is Based a bank?
Based is not described as a bank on its public pages. The brand is operated by SHA2 LABS PTE. LTD. (Singapore, per starting data on the site), and the card’s issuing bank and the licences the programme runs under are not named on the pages reviewed.
Who owns Based?
Public pages identify the operator as SHA2 LABS PTE. LTD., a Singapore entity, in starting data; the site footer refers to the brand only as “Based”. Beneficial ownership beyond that is not stated.
How does the Based card work?
You complete KYC in the app, choose a tier, receive a virtual card instantly and a physical card by DHL, then top up with USDT, USDC, XSGD, SOL, HYPE or BASED on Solana, Arbitrum, Polygon or Hyperliquid. The app converts your balance to US dollars at the moment of each purchase.
Is the Based card available in my country?
Based is offered worldwide except for a list of roughly 74 countries that takes effect on 1 August 2026, which includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, the United States, Canada, Australia, China, India, Singapore, Ukraine, Iran and Turkey. Eligibility is decided by country of residence, not citizenship.
How do I apply for the Based card?
You download the Based app, create an account and complete KYC with a passport or a national ID card. Driver’s licences and voter IDs are not accepted; screening typically takes up to three days.
How do I add the Based card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Based’s documentation lists Apple Pay and Google Pay support. In practice you add the card through the Based app after approval; a user report from May 2026 says Apple Pay did not work for them, which conflicts with the documentation.
Does the Based card charge fees?
There is no signup fee and no annual fee. The HYPE tier charges $50 for plastic shipping; the Gold tier ships free. The foreign-exchange markup on non-USD spend is 2.5% on Orange, 1.5% on HYPE and 0% on Gold. Stablecoin top-up is described as carrying no added fees.
Is the Based card safe?
Based is a crypto card, so it carries the usual category risks: crypto balances are not deposit-guaranteed, and custody, two-factor authentication, instant freeze and dispute procedure are not described in the pages reviewed. Public complaint data is limited to a single Trustpilot review at 3.4.
Is the Based card worth it?
For someone who already holds $BASED and is comfortable locking some up, yes — the HYPE and Gold tiers are competitive on FX and cashback. For a reader without $BASED, the lockup requirement makes the basic tiers weaker than competitors like Lava, and a non-staking credit-card alternative such as Gemini may be the better fit.
Credit and cashback card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
