Cleva Card: What Works, What Doesn't, and Whether You Should Apply
The Cleva card is a virtual Visa card that spends directly from a crypto-backed USD wallet, aimed at people who earn in dollars but live somewhere a normal bank card is hard to get. It has no monthly fee, costs $3 to create, and tops up with USDT or USDC for a flat $2. But it only works where Cleva actually operates, the country list isn’t published, and the card is virtual-only with no ATM access. I scored it 5.8 out of 10 — decent costs and reliability, weak everyday usability and unclear geography.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who the Cleva Card Suits — and Who Should Look Elsewhere
The Cleva card scores 5.8 / 10 overall. Here’s the breakdown:
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Country list unpublished; KYC guides only for Nigeria and the US |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | $3 card creation, no monthly fee; 2% + $0.80 international transaction fee |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDT/USDC deposit $2.00, US debit card free, ACH, wire; networks unnamed |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Licensed US partners, FinCEN MSB registration; Trustpilot 4.7/5 from 126 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual USD only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM |
Who it suits: Freelancers in Nigeria and the US paid in dollars who need a virtual Visa card for online payments and international transactions.
Who should look elsewhere: Anyone outside those markets (since the country list isn’t public), people who need a physical card or ATM access, or those who want more crypto networks named explicitly.
The card’s appeal is narrow but real: if you’re in Lagos or New York, paid in dollars, and tired of declined payments, it’s worth trying. But Cleva isn’t the answer for most people, because the geography is murky and the card is virtual-only.
Will They Give You the Card?
Probably, but only if you’re in Nigeria or the US — and Cleva won’t tell you the full list.
The official country list for the Cleva card is not published. The Help Centre has KYC guides for Nigeria and the United States only, which suggests those are the main markets, but that’s an inference, not a statement. An earlier check of the site mentioned Africa (including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda, Kenya) and the US, but the current pages don’t confirm this.
For Nigeria, your billing address comes from verified KYC data. For the US, Cleva provides the billing address for you.
The site says accounts can receive USD, GBP, and EUR “regardless of where you’re based,” but that’s about receiving funds, not necessarily getting a card. The line between “can hold money” and “can get a card” is blurry, and that’s a problem if you’re outside the two documented markets.
The card itself is virtual (multiple cards allowed, customisable design), with Visa acceptance (“150 million+ merchants worldwide where Visa is accepted”) and a USD currency.
How to Get the Cleva Card
Identity verification is required, and the process differs by country.
In Nigeria, you’ll need:
- International passport, voter’s card, driver’s license, or NIN number
- Original physical ID (not a photo or photocopy)
- Live selfie
In the US, you’ll need:
- International passport, ID card, driver’s license, or residence permit
- SSN (Social Security Number)
- Address that matches your ID exactly (including unit number)
- Stripe Link connection
- Live selfie
Separate proof-of-address documents and age requirements are not stated on the pages I checked.
The signup flow is:
- Sign up by email
- Verify your identity
- Open a USD account
- Create a card for a $3 fee
For US users, verification reportedly “takes only a few minutes.” Nigeria has no stated timeframe.
Common rejection reasons:
- Details don’t match your ID
- Blurry, cropped, or unreadable image
- Unsupported ID type or format (expired, photocopied, screenshotted, scanned, digital)
- Failed facial check
There’s only one verification level (no tiers published), so if you pass once, you’re through.
What the Cleva Card Really Costs: Fees Breakdown
The costs are mostly reasonable — $3 to create, no monthly fee, $0 to top up with a US debit card. But international transactions hit you with 2% + $0.80, which adds up if you’re spending regularly outside the US.
Here’s the full fee table from what Cleva publishes:

| Fee or Limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card creation | $3 |
| Monthly fee | None listed |
| Card authorization | $0.80 per transaction |
| International transaction (non-US sites) | 2% + $0.80 |
| Card funding | $0 |
| Decline fee | $0 |
| Crypto conversion | Not stated for the card |
| ATM fees | Not stated (virtual card for online payments) |
| Per-transaction spending limit | User-set from $1 to $3,000 |
| Cards per 90 days | Up to 3 |
| Daily/monthly limits | Not stated |
Everyday payment scenarios:
- Paying $50 on a US site: $0.80 authorization fee only (2% FX fee doesn’t apply domestically)
- Paying $50 on a non-US site: 2% of $50 ($1.00) + $0.80 = $1.80 total
- Paying $200 internationally: 2% of $200 ($4.00) + $0.80 = $4.80
The card may close itself after 15 consecutive declines for insufficient funds. A successful spend of $0.50 or more resets the counter after 24 hours.
The card currency is USD, spending from a USD wallet. The app notes say it works in multiple currencies (Naira, Dirhams, Pounds, Euros) with automatic conversion, and your account also offers USD, GBP, and EUR accounts.
How to Top Up the Cleva Card
The cheapest way to fund it is a US debit card (free) or ACH/FedNow (0.8%). USDT/USDC deposits cost $2.00 flat, and wires cost $10.00.
Here are the top-up methods and their fees:

| Method | Fee |
|---|---|
| USDT/USDC deposit | $2.00 flat |
| US debit card | Free |
| ACH / FedNow | 0.8% (min $2.00, max $5.00) |
| Wire transfer | $10.00 |
| GBP/EUR deposit | 0.8% (min $2.00, max $10.00), auto-converted to USD |
| Upwork deposit | Free |
The USDT/USDC deposit fee is changing to “$2 flat fee, regardless of amount,” but currently payments under $2 are charged $1. The new ACH/FedNow pricing applies from August 7, 2026.
The networks for USDT and USDC deposits aren’t stated on the pages I checked, so you’ll need to confirm this before sending crypto.
For withdrawals, there’s a fee for converting from USD and paying out, but the amount isn’t readable in the FAQ. Transfers to local bank accounts are advertised as free. The balance on closure isn’t stated.
The card spends directly from the Cleva USD wallet, which can be funded by any of these methods.
Paying with the Cleva Card Every Day
You can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and it works at major online merchants — but it’s virtual-only, USD-denominated, and some merchant categories are blocked.
What works:
- Amazon
- Upwork
- PayPal
- Claude
- OpenAI
- TikTok
- Meta (Facebook/Instagram)
Some merchant categories are unsupported by the card’s MCC (Merchant Category Code), but the full list isn’t given. This means some transactions will simply be declined.
Apple Pay and Google Pay: Yes, you can add the card to both mobile wallets.
ATM access: None. This is a virtual card for online payments.
Card rewards: No cashback on the card itself. Cleva Points (cashback on transactions, redeemable for USD) and USD Savings up to 3% per year are account features, not card rewards.
Disputes: There’s a $50 fee per card dispute. The chargeback process and timeframes aren’t stated on the pages I checked. You can contact support via in-app chat or email ([email protected]).
App ratings:
- iOS: 4.7 out of 5 from 1.5K ratings (read October 21, 2026)
- Google Play: Not read
What Can Go Wrong with the Cleva Card
The biggest risks are unclear regulatory protection, high dispute fees, and the possibility of account closures without clear explanation.
Company and regulatory structure:
- Cleva Technologies, Inc. (the App Store seller)
- Funds are “securely processed by our licensed U.S.-based financial partners” (partners not named)
- Registered as a Money Service Business (MSB) with FinCEN
- Card issuer not named
- Cleva states it holds an IMTO licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria (source: Cleva blog, undated)
Security model:
- Custodial (funds held with licensed US partners)
- You can freeze/unfreeze the card in the app (unfreezing needs a security PIN or authentication code)
- You set your own spending limit
- Failed-transaction limit before termination raised from 3 to 10 (in app v2.3.0)
- 2FA isn’t stated on the pages I checked
User complaints (unofficial, from Trustpilot):
- High fees (October 13, 2026)
- Strict/thorough verification (September 27, 2026)
- Slow support resolution (October 14, 2026, minor)
- AI summary mentions balance discrepancies and slow resolution (undated)
- One user said their account was closed without reason (undated)
Dispute fee: $50 per card dispute. No chargeback timeframes stated.
What’s changed recently:
- Stablecoin deposit fee changing to $2 flat
- New ACH/FedNow pricing from August 7, 2026
- App v2.3.0 raised failed-transaction limit from 3 to 10
Support:
- “Support team is here 24/7” (marketing claim)
- In-app chat
- Email: [email protected]
- Help Centre: help.getcleva.com
What to Take Instead
If Cleva doesn’t fit, here are the main alternatives:
International Visa Card (6.7 / 10)
Pros:
- Clear country restrictions (16 countries blocked including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam)
- Virtual card issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance fee
- Free card use in USD on all plans
- Foreign currency: “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”
- Deposits of any kind: free
- Supports USDT/USDC deposits (free at 1:1)
- Also accepts USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
Cons:
- Plans cost $9–$19/month (Classic is free)
- Physical card is “coming soon”
- No cashback stated
Who it’s for: People who want more geographic clarity and don’t mind paying for premium tiers.
UNi Card (6.1 / 10)
Pros:
- Multicurrency card on Mastercard network
- No annual fee or foreign transaction fee
- Assets converted at live OTC rates
- “No hidden exchange fees”
- Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%
Cons:
- Who can get it isn’t stated
- Physical/virtual card type isn’t stated
- Issuance fee isn’t stated
- Funding methods aren’t stated
Who it’s for: People prioritizing low FX fees and rewards over geographic certainty.
Whop Cards (5.2 / 10)
Pros:
- Available in 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses
- Visa card works anywhere online
- 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber)
- Backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet
Cons:
- Only US states (no international consumers)
- Card type and currency aren’t stated
- No specific fee amounts listed
- Unsupported countries include Belarus, China, India, Iran, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam
Who it’s for: US-based users in supported states who want cashback at specific merchants.
Quick Comparison Table
| Feature | Cleva | International Visa | UNi | Whop |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 | 6.7 | 6.1 | 5.2 |
| Geography clarity | Low (list unpublished) | High (blocked countries named) | Not stated | High (US states listed) |
| Card type | Virtual, USD | Virtual, USD | Multicurrency | Not stated |
| Creation fee | $3 | $5 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | None | $0–$19 | None | Not stated |
| International transaction | 2% + $0.80 | Visa rate + 2% | No FX fee | Not stated |
| Cashback | None on card | None | Up to 3% | 5% at Uber |
| Crypto deposit | USDT/USDC $2 | USDT/USDC free | Not stated | Stablecoin-backed |
| ATM access | None | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Who I Would Recommend the Cleva Card To
I’d recommend the Cleva card to three specific groups:
- US freelancers paid in crypto or dollars who need a clean virtual Visa card for subscriptions and international clients, and who value the free ACH/FedNow top-ups.
- Nigerian freelancers and remote workers who earn in USD, already have verified KYC documents ready, and want to spend internationally without traditional banking delays.
- Anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay for a crypto-funded card, since both mobile wallets are supported.
I’d steer away if you:
- Need a physical card or ATM access
- Live outside Nigeria or the US (since the country list is unclear)
- Want to avoid identity verification entirely
- Need to know exactly which crypto networks are supported before depositing
- Are planning to dispute transactions often ($50 per dispute is steep)
Bottom line: Cleva is a decent virtual dollar card with transparent fees and a strong app rating. It’s not a full-service crypto card, but for freelancers in its two documented markets who need USD spending power, it’s worth trying.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Cleva card?
The Cleva card is a virtual Visa card that spends directly from a crypto-backed USD wallet. You load it with USDT, USDC, US dollars via ACH, wire, or a debit card, and it works at merchants where Visa is accepted. It’s USD-denominated, has no ATM access, and costs $3 to create. It’s designed for people who earn in dollars but live where traditional banking is difficult.
Is Cleva a bank?
No, Cleva isn’t a bank. Cleva Technologies, Inc. is registered as a Money Service Business (MSB) with FinCEN, and funds are held with licensed U.S.-based financial partners (not named on their site). The card issuer isn’t named either. It’s a payment service built on top of licensed partners’ infrastructure, not a traditional bank account.
Who can get the Cleva card?
The country list isn’t published. Cleva’s Help Centre only has KYC guides for Nigeria and the United States. An earlier check mentioned Africa (Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda, Kenya) and the US. If you’re outside those markets, there’s no guarantee you’ll be approved. The card itself is virtual-only, USD, and works at Visa merchants worldwide.
How much does the Cleva card cost to create and maintain?
Card creation costs $3. There’s no monthly fee listed. Each transaction has a $0.80 authorization fee. International transactions (non-US sites) cost 2% + $0.80. Card funding via US debit card is free. ACH/FedNow costs 0.8% (min $2, max $5), and wire costs $10. There are no ATM fees because it’s virtual-only.
Does the Cleva card require KYC verification?
Yes. Identity verification is required to open the USD account. For Nigeria, you need an international passport, voter’s card, driver’s license, or NIN number, plus an original physical ID and a live selfie. For the US, you need a passport, ID card, driver’s license, or residence permit, plus an SSN, matching address, Stripe Link, and a live selfie. There’s only one verification level with no published tiers.
Can I use the Cleva card in my country?
It depends on where you live. The country list isn’t public, but Cleva only has KYC guides for Nigeria and the US. The card works at “150 million+ merchants worldwide where Visa is accepted,” but that’s acceptance at the merchant level, not eligibility for the cardholder. If you’re outside Nigeria or the US, apply carefully and expect uncertainty. The site does say you can receive USD/GBP/EUR “regardless of where you’re based,” but that’s about receiving funds, not card eligibility.
How do I top up the Cleva card?
The cheapest methods are a US debit card (free) or ACH/FedNow (0.8%, min $2, max $5). USDT/USDC deposits cost $2.00 flat (payments under $2 are charged $1). Wire transfers cost $10.00. GBP/EUR deposits cost 0.8% (min $2, max $10) and are auto-converted to USD. Upwork deposits are free. The USDT/USDC deposit fee is changing to “$2 flat, regardless of amount.” Networks for USDT/USDC aren’t stated on the public pages.
Is the Cleva card safe?
The card uses licensed U.S.-based partners to hold funds and is registered with FinCEN as an MSB. You can freeze/unfreeze the card in-app, set your own spending limit, and the failed-transaction limit was raised to 10. However, 2FA isn’t stated on the pages I checked, the card issuer isn’t named, and there are user reports on Trustpilot about balance discrepancies and account closures without reason. These are unofficial user reports, not official incidents.
Can I use the Cleva card with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes, both are supported. You can add the Cleva card to Apple Pay or Google Pay through the app. This makes it practical for everyday spending since the card is virtual-only. That said, some merchant categories are unsupported by the card’s MCC (Merchant Category Code), though the full list isn’t published. Major platforms like Amazon, Upwork, PayPal, Claude, OpenAI, TikTok, and Meta are confirmed to work.
What happens if I dispute a transaction?
Disputes cost $50 per card dispute. The chargeback process and timeframes aren’t stated on the public pages. You can contact support via in-app chat or email ([email protected]), and the Help Centre is at help.getcleva.com. If you need to dispute a transaction, the $50 fee is worth it if the amount is significant, but be aware of the cost for smaller disputes.
How do I withdraw money from Cleva?
There’s a fee for converting from USD and paying out, but the amount isn’t readable in the FAQ. Transfers to local bank accounts are advertised as free. The balance on closure isn’t stated. If withdrawal fees matter to you, this is a gap in the public information—contact support before relying on frequent withdrawals. The card itself doesn’t support ATM access, so cashout means converting to fiat and transferring to a bank account.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
