A USD Visa on a crypto balance, minus the plastic — and minus the paperwork answers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

TakeCard is a prepaid card issued through the Takenos platform: a virtual Visa you can set up in the app, plus a physical version that right now only Bolivian users can order. You load it from your Takenos balance, you spend in US dollars at a 1:1 rate, and the app handles the rest. That is the short version. The longer version is that TakeCard’s public pages are honest about prices and vague about almost everything else — which countries issue, who the issuer is, how a blocked account gets unlocked. My score is 5.5 out of 10, and the shape of that number is uneven in a way you should see before you apply.

TakeCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: a solid card for a narrow job, wrapped in silence where it matters

5.5 out of 10. The card does its mechanical job competently. The virtual card is available immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, US-dollar spending is 1:1 with no currency adjustment, and there is no monthly fee stated anywhere. A 1% commission per purchase is normal for this category. If you already hold crypto, already want to spend dollars rather than tokens, and live somewhere the card actually issues, the everyday mechanics will not disappoint you.

What drags the number down is not the product but the disclosure around it. The help articles never list the countries. They say the physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now” and that the wallet can receive payments “from any country” — which is a statement about the wallet, not about the card. The site names no legal entity, no card issuer and no licence, only that the card is issued in the United States. And on Trustpilot, 147 reviews average 3.2 out of 5, with users reporting accounts deactivated without explanation and more than USD 10,000 held. That is not a card problem I can measure. It is a trust problem I can measure, and it is the kind that determines whether you keep several thousand dollars parked in someone’s balance.

The card suits Latin American crypto holders who want to pay in dollars — a shop that quotes USD but not in local currency, a subscription, an online merchant that declines a local card. It does not suit someone who wants a bank account, someone who needs a physical card outside Bolivia, or anyone whose money must sit in the provider’s balance for long periods. I get there in detail below.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Countries are not listed in the help articles; the physical card is Bolivian-only, and a virtual-card country list exists only in starting data I could not confirm on a readable page
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card USD 5, 1% per purchase, USD payments at 1:1, ATM 1% plus the ATM’s own fee; no monthly fee named
Top-up options 6 / 10 Topping up from the Takenos account is documented, but the coin list is not; USDC and USDT on Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron and Ethereum come from unconfirmed starting data
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No issuer or licence named, card issued in the United States, Trustpilot 3.2 of 5 across 147 reviews, complaints about deactivation with frozen funds
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals capped at USD 250 per transaction; plastic only in Bolivia
Total 5.5 / 10 Good mechanics, thin disclosure

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: probably, if your documents match, and I cannot tell you from public pages in which countries that is true.

Here is the state of it as documented. The help articles do not list countries. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”. The Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments “from any country” — from any country — but that sentence is about the wallet accepting money, not about the card being issued to you. Where I found a list of countries for the virtual card (Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the United States, Spain and Italy), it came from starting data rather than a page I could read and confirm, so treat it as unofficial and unverified.

You may also run into the general rule that shapes every card in this category. A card number carries an issuer identification number at its front, and merchants can look that up to see which institution and country issued it. A card issued in the United States can therefore look foreign to a shop in another country, and some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline outright. The card being issued in the United States is stated by the provider; how individual shops react to it is not something anyone can promise you in advance.

So the practical test is: if the app offers you the card in your account, that is your answer. If you are reading this hoping the word “Bolivia” is the only restriction, do not plan around that assumption — check inside the app before you move money.

How to get it

The path is short and it runs through one identity check.

  1. In the app, go to Tarjetas.
  2. Choose “Internacional”.
  3. Tap “Quiero mi tarjeta”.
  4. Complete the identity check.
  5. Wait for the card to be marked as ready.

The identity check is a photograph of the front and back of your DNI, plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. It is described as one-time, taking up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as required — I want to be exact about that wording, because it may mean they are not collected, or simply that the article does not say. There are no tiers, no levels and no stated rejection reasons; a single one-time check is the whole of it.

What you get is a virtual card available immediately, or a physical card in Bolivia. The article names Visa as the network. The card is prepaid, denominated in US dollars, and issued in the United States.

For the physical card in Bolivia: USD 20 shipping is listed on the fee page, and the delivery time and the cost of a replacement are not stated. That means, in practice, that if your card is lost in La Paz you have no published answer for how long a replacement takes or what it costs — worth knowing before you order one.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is every number the card’s own pages give. I have not calculated anything of my own and I have not filled gaps with estimates.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a TakeCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Fee or limit
Virtual TakeCard USD 5
Physical card, Bolivia (one article) USD 20 issuance + USD 20 shipping
Physical card, Bolivia (another article in the same help centre) USD 10 — the two conflict
Monthly fee Not stated
Commission per purchase 1%
Payment in USD 1:1, no currency adjustment
Payment in other currencies Official Visa rate of the transaction day
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM — Takenos fee 1% of the amount
ATM — operator fee Usually around USD 5
Free ATM allowance None stated
Spending limit No fixed limit; balance only
Default weekly limit USD 5,000, changeable in the app
ATM limit per transaction USD 250, including the ATM fee
ATM limit per day USD 750, across up to 3 transactions
ATM attempts 3 per 24 hours

Now the part you actually wanted: three ordinary payments, and which fees bite.

Coffee at a local café, paid in dollars. You pay 1% commission on the purchase and nothing else. The dollar conversion is 1:1, so if the shop prices in USD you lose one percent of the price. That is the clean case, and it is the case the card is built for.

An online subscription priced in euros. The 1% commission still applies, and on top of that the euro is converted at the official Visa rate of the day. So your cost is the merchant’s price, plus 1%, plus whatever the day’s Visa rate does to the dollar. If the euro moves against you between the day you charge and your statement, that movement is yours. Both are modest, and both are the ordinary cost of holding a dollar card.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM. This is the expensive one, and the arithmetic is worth walking through because it is a stack. Takenos charges 1% of the amount, the ATM operator charges usually around USD 5, and the USD 250 per-transaction limit includes the ATM fee rather than sitting on top of it. There is no free allowance stated. A USD 100 withdrawal is roughly USD 1 to Takenos plus around USD 5 to the operator — call it six dollars for a hundred, which is the number at which you stop using the ATM for small amounts. The USD 750 daily ceiling across three transactions and three attempts per 24 hours is the ceiling on that behaviour.

One conflict to know about: two articles in the same help centre quote different prices for the physical card in Bolivia, USD 10 and USD 20, with separate USD 20 shipping. The virtual card at USD 5 is consistent.

Top up: how the money gets in

Topping up starts from your Takenos account. The TakeCard article says: “You can reload your TakeCard quickly from your Takenos balance.”

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up TakeCard starts with a transfer to the right network

What it does not say is which coins. The article does not name them. The coin list I have — USDC and USDT, arriving over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum — comes from starting data rather than from a TakeCard page I could verify, so it is unofficial. Treat the network choice as the thing to confirm inside your own account before you send anything, because this is where mistakes are expensive: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

Three further items are simply not stated: the deposit fee, the minimum deposit, and who pays the network fee. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — that part is the general rule of the category and it holds here.

Taking money back out is the reverse of that, and the card has one clear exit: cash at an ATM, with the fees and limits above. Whether you can withdraw a balance back to crypto or to a bank account, and what happens to a leftover balance when you close an account, are not stated on the pages I could read. If you plan to hold a balance you eventually want back, ask support that question in writing before you fund it.

Paying with it every day

The day-to-day experience is the strongest part of this card.

Apple Pay works on iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad; the card can be added once per 24 hours and entered manually. Google Pay and PayPal also have help articles. The app is on iOS and Android behind a single link, and its store ratings are not stated.

Two things are missing that you would want before committing. The blocked merchant categories are not stated — gambling is the classic example, since MCC 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer. And no rewards, cashback or programme of any kind is stated, which is not the same as saying there is none; it means the pages are silent.

If a payment goes wrong, the route is to pause the card in the app and contact support with the date, amount and merchant. There is no time frame given and chargebacks are not mentioned. A refund, when it comes, is credited to your Takenos balance, and the stated window is 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return — so the merchant’s timing is the clock, not the card’s. Note also that a declined payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

Two safety tools exist and are worth setting up on day one: pause the card in the app, and set your ATM PIN in the app. The card can be frozen instantly; a lost or stolen card can be reported. Whether your crypto is held custodially is not stated, and that is a question with real consequences — a provider holding the credentials is the party that decides what happens to the balance.

What can go wrong

Three risks, roughly in order of how much they should worry you.

The account, not the card. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, 28 of them in the last 12 months, as I read them on 2026-10-21. The recurring theme is frozen funds and deactivation without explanation: one July 2026 report describes an account deactivated with over USD 10,000 held and no replies, and a reviewer reports no company replies to negative reviews at all. A separate September 2025 report describes being asked to deposit USD 200 to verify. These are user reports, not established facts, and official incidents I found none of — but when the same complaint shape appears across reviews, it is a pattern in the feedback, and it is the reason this card’s balance is worth thinking about twice before it becomes a parking place.

The provider’s silence on who is behind it. The provider is Takenos. Starting data names Global Flow S.A.U., but the site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licence; the card is stated to be issued in the United States. No dated licence or programme events are stated. When a card’s public pages do not say who issues it or under which licence, your recourse when something goes wrong is a support chat — in-app, WhatsApp at +54 9 11 2471-6668, or [email protected], with hours not stated. The help centre has an English path, but the articles themselves are in Spanish.

The cost of being dollar-based. An Argentine article reports the card remains more than 15% more expensive than the “financial dollar” because other levies apply. Add to that the 1% purchase commission and the day’s Visa rate on any non-dollar purchase, and the card is a tool for spending dollars cleanly — not a cheap way to spend local currency.

Two smaller things to keep in mind. Refunds land in the Takenos balance rather than back on the card, and prepaid-card dispute coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed: US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid coverage is its own question.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation — they are the alternatives I could compare, and each has the same class of gaps.

Alternative Score Card Cost stated Funding stated
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira Not stated; site describes real-time conversion with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” but no percentage USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, created in three minutes “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, networks not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR Not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, networks not stated

Three contrasts are worth drawing out.

Eligibility. Cardex advertises one crypto card for 200+ countries with no country list or exclusions given; its app store listing is Naira-focused. CardFlow targets Nigeria explicitly and says “Nigerians and global users”. HyperCard’s official pages state no country list, while its app store description says the card works in more than 176 countries — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the difference matters. TakeCard, by contrast, does list one restriction (physical: Bolivia) and leaves the rest unstated.

Cost disclosure. CardFlow at least tells you the virtual card is free to create. Cardex describes its conversion logic in detail and still does not publish a fee percentage. HyperCard’s app store page lists no fees. TakeCard publishes more numbers than any of them — 1%, USD 5, the ATM percentages, the limits — and those numbers are the reason its cost score is a 7 rather than a 4. Its weakness is elsewhere: identity, licensing and complaint handling.

Honesty about geography. All three alternatives name regions they serve, even when vaguely. TakeCard’s page claims “from any country” for the wallet and stops there for the card.

None of the four states its rewards position either. If cashback is what you are after, this whole category is thin.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend TakeCard to someone who already has crypto sitting in a Takenos account, already spends in dollars, and treats the card balance as money in transit rather than money in store. Under those conditions it is a well-priced, well-behaved tool: USD 5 to open, 1% per purchase, no monthly fee, 1:1 on dollars, and Apple Pay or Google Pay working within minutes. If you are in Bolivia, the physical card’s USD 20 plus shipping is the whole purchase, and USD 250 per ATM transaction is a workable ceiling.

I would not recommend it as your only route to a payment card, and I would be careful with it if the answer to “where is the issuer and what licence is behind this?” is something you have to guess. I would also hold off if you plan to keep more on the balance than you could lose in a bad week, given the deactivation complaints on Trustpilot and the absence of a stated chargeback process. And if you need plastic outside Bolivia, the answer is simply no today.

For a wider look at how this category works — issuer identification numbers, custodial versus self-custody, MiCA’s e-money rules, stablecoin networks and the tokens that have been frozen — the questions people type into search are answered in the section below.

Frequently asked questions

What is TakeCard card?

TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card issued through the Takenos platform. It comes in two forms: a virtual card you can use immediately after the identity check, and a physical card that only Bolivian users can currently order. The card is denominated in US dollars, is stated to be issued in the United States, and draws on a balance in your Takenos account rather than on a bank account.

How does TakeCard card work?

You top up from your Takenos balance, and the card spends that balance. A purchase costs 1% commission, and a payment in dollars is converted at 1:1 with no currency adjustment. Payments in other currencies use the official Visa rate of the day. There is no fixed spending limit beyond your balance, with a default weekly limit of USD 5,000 that you can change in the app.

Is TakeCard a bank?

Not on the evidence of its public pages. The provider is Takenos; starting data names Global Flow S.A.U., but the site names no legal entity, no card issuer and no licence, saying only that the card is issued in the United States. A card of this kind is normally issued by a bank or an electronic money institution, with the crypto brand acting as a programme manager — but here the issuer is not identified.

Who owns TakeCard?

The card is provided by Takenos, and the TakeCard card sits inside the Takenos app. One company name, Global Flow S.A.U., appears in the starting data I was given, but I could not confirm it from a readable page, so I treat it as unconfirmed. Support runs through in-app chat, WhatsApp at +54 9 11 2471-6668, and [email protected].

Is TakeCard card available in my country?

The public pages do not list countries, so there is no honest answer to give you. The physical card is stated to be available only to Bolivian users for now. An unofficial list for the virtual card names Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the United States, Spain and Italy, but I could not verify it. Check whether the app offers you the card before moving any money.

Does TakeCard require KYC?

Yes. The identity check asks for a photograph of the front and back of your DNI plus a short gesture video used as a biometric check. It is described as a one-time process taking up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated. There are no tiers, and the rejection reasons are not stated either.

Is TakeCard card free?

Not quite. The virtual card costs USD 5. In Bolivia the physical card is listed at USD 20 plus USD 20 shipping on one page, while another page in the same help centre says USD 10 for the physical card — the two conflict, so check which applies when you order. No monthly fee is stated anywhere, and every purchase carries a 1% commission.

How do I top up the TakeCard card?

From your Takenos account: the help article says directly that you can reload your TakeCard quickly from your Takenos balance. The coins are not named in that article. An unconfirmed coin and network list — USDC and USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum — comes from my starting data, so verify it in your account. The deposit fee, minimum and network fee payer are not stated.

How do I withdraw money from TakeCard?

Cash at an ATM, and that is the only exit the pages describe. Takenos charges 1% of the amount and the ATM operator usually around USD 5, with no free allowance stated. Limits are USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee, USD 750 per day across up to 3 transactions, and 3 attempts per 24 hours. Withdrawal back to crypto or a bank account is not stated.

Is TakeCard card safe?

It has the standard protections — pause the card in the app, report a lost or stolen card, set your ATM PIN in the app, and use Apple Pay or Google Pay with tokenised numbers. What weighs against it is the review record: 3.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 147 reviews, with reports of accounts deactivated and funds held without explanation. Whether your crypto is held custodially is not stated, and no chargeback process is mentioned. Judge the balance accordingly.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team