The card is free, but the catch is that it is really an eToro wallet you spend from

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Here is the thing I keep coming back to after reading everything eToro publishes about this card: the money side of it is unusually clean, and the crypto side is almost not mentioned at all. The card is issued free, maintained free, delivered free, replaced free up to three a year, and it advertises no foreign exchange fees. What it draws on is a plain eToro Money fiat account in pounds or euros, and if you hold crypto you convert it first through the eToro crypto wallet, at a conversion fee the public pages do not disclose. So this is not really a crypto card in the sense most people mean. It is a brokerage wallet with a Visa debit card on the front.

Etoro Money works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That matters for the person choosing between cards. If your problem is that an ordinary bank will not give you a card, or you want a card that spends what you have already invested with eToro without a separate bank relationship, this is a serious option and the price is genuinely zero. If your problem is that you want to tap crypto straight from a self-custody wallet at the till, this is not that card, and you should read the alternatives section before you apply.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.8 out of 10

I scored it 6.8 out of 10. That is a card with no cost, no subscription and no monthly fee attached to it, but also one with thin published information about the things that usually go wrong: the conversion fee, the daily and monthly spending limits, the identity checks, and the delivery time. The numbers are what they are because the good and the gaps pull in opposite directions.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Residents of the EU or UK only, and you need a qualifying eToro Club tier on top of that
Cost 9 / 10 Issue, maintenance and delivery free, no subscription, free replacement up to three cards a year, zero FX fees abroad; ATM is free to a limit then 1%; the crypto conversion fee is not disclosed
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card spends an eToro Money fiat account; crypto has to be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first, and the EUR account is funded by SEPA
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issued by etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU and etoro Money UK Ltd in the UK under FCA authorisation, funds on a separate safeguarding account; eToro scores 4.0 from 32,233 Trustpilot reviews, and the complaints I found are not about the card
Everyday use 7 / 10 Visa debit with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and an ATM allowance of GBP 2,000 a month on Green or GBP 10,000 on Black; whether you get virtual or plastic is not stated

Who this suits: EU and UK residents who are already investing on eToro and want to spend from that balance, or who want a functioning debit card without a monthly fee or a subscription. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the EU or UK, anyone without the required Club tier, anyone who wants to pay directly from a self-custody crypto wallet, and anyone who needs published daily limits before they commit.

Will they give you the card?

The stated condition is simple and it is residence-based: “Be a resident of the EU or UK”. There is a separate availability page listing which countries are covered, and it was not part of what I could read, so I cannot tell you whether your specific country is on it. Treat the EU-or-UK line as the headline and the country list as the thing to check yourself.

There is no citizenship rule stated anywhere on the pages I read. That matters, because nationality is usually screened separately from residence under anti-money-laundering rules, and a residence test is not the same thing as a citizenship test. If your citizenship and your country of residence differ, do not assume the residence wording settles it for you.

The real gate, though, is not where you live. It is what you already have on eToro. You need an account in euros for the EU or in pounds for the UK, plus a qualifying Club tier:

Region Tier needed Card
UK “etoro Club member” as per fee page
EU Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum (one FAQ says Diamond only, so the pages conflict) Green for Silver–Platinum, Black for Platinum+ and Diamond

If you are new and have no Club tier, the card is not available to you today. If you have been trading for a while and climbed the tiers, it may be.

What is not stated is worth knowing too. The page does not say which identity documents are required, how long verification takes, or what would get an application refused. It only lists residence, Club membership and a GBP or EUR account. Verification steps are not stated on the page at all.

How to get it

In practical terms the route is: be resident in the EU or UK, have an eToro account at the qualifying Club tier, hold a EUR account if you are in the EU or a GBP account if you are in the UK, then request the card. It is a Visa debit card, with Green and Black tiers, drawing on whichever of those two currency accounts you hold.

Two things you will not find spelled out. First, whether the card arrives as a virtual card, a plastic card, or both — virtual and physical are not stated, and a metal card is not offered or mentioned. Second, how long delivery takes; the page links to a help article rather than giving a timeframe. The card page itself refers to the availability page for countries.

On the money side of getting hold of it, the good news is short: first delivery is free on both tiers, whether standard or urgent, and a replacement is also free. A replacement card itself is free up to three a year — for a GBP card that is three, and for a EUR card it is three on Black while Green is listed as not applicable. Delivery of the replacement is free too.

One structural detail to know early: holding both a EUR and a GBP account at once is “not currently possible”. You are a euro person or a pound person with eToro Money, not both.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the strongest part of the card and the reason it scores 9 out of 10 on cost. Here is the full picture as published, with nothing added:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Etoro Money payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What the card says
Card issuance Free
Monthly fee None — “Free with no monthly subscription”
Card payments Free
Delivery, first card Free on both tiers, regular or urgent
Delivery, replacement Free
Replacement card Free up to 3 per year (GBP card; EUR card: Black free up to 3, Green not applicable)
Crypto to GBP/EUR Must be converted through the eToro crypto wallet; conversion fee not stated
Foreign exchange abroad “Zero FX fees abroad” / “No FX fees*”, with details in separate card FX terms
ATM, GBP account GBP 2,000 a month free on Green, GBP 10,000 on Black, then 1%
ATM, EUR account EUR 2,500 on Green, EUR 12,000 on Black, then 1%
Chargebacks Listed as “Free” in the fee table
Daily and monthly limits Not stated; the page points to a separate “Account Activity Limits” article

Now let me walk three everyday payments through it, because that is where the free headline gets tested.

Coffee and a sandwich in your own city, five days a week. The card payment itself is free, so this costs you nothing beyond the coffee. No issue fee to amortise, no monthly fee to carry. This is where the card is genuinely hard to argue with.

A meal out in a country that is not the one your account is in. This is the interesting one. The card advertises “Zero FX fees abroad” and “No FX fees*”, with the asterisk pointing to separate card FX terms. I did not read those terms, so I will not tell you what the asterisk excludes — and neither can I rule out that the rate itself, rather than a named fee, is where the cost lands. Treat this as the single biggest thing to check before you rely on the card abroad. On top of whatever the exchange rate does, you would be spending past the free ATM allowance only if you were taking money out, not paying in a shop.

A monthly cash withdrawal. Here is a concrete number to hold in mind. On a GBP account, GBP 2,000 a month is free on Green and GBP 10,000 on Black, and after that the fee is 1%. On a euro account it is EUR 2,500 on Green and EUR 12,000 on Black, then 1%. So if you are on Green and you take out cash regularly, you cross the line sooner, and each pound past it costs you a penny.

The missing fee is the one I would want answered before I funded this seriously: the crypto conversion fee. If you hold crypto on eToro and convert it to spend, the amount taken is not published on the pages I read. If you are a heavy crypto spender, that single undisclosed number could matter more than every other line on the table combined — the card being free does not make the conversion free.

How to Top up the card

The card does not have a balance of its own. It spends the eToro Money fiat account, and crypto has to be converted to fiat before it can be spent. That is the whole mechanic, and it is why this scores 4 out of 10 on top-up options: there is one main route, not several.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Etoro Money starts with a transfer to the right network

For a euro account, funding runs through the Wallet tab — Add Funds under the eToro Money account — and the euro local account itself is funded by a SEPA bank transfer. SEPA transfers in and out are free, and the account opening, closing and maintenance are free too. The minimum top-up is not stated, nor is any card-specific top-up fee. Other funding methods are not described.

For crypto holders: “Conversion requires etoro crypto wallet”. You convert into GBP or EUR through that wallet, and the converted balance lands where the card can spend it. The conversion fee is not stated on these pages.

Getting money back out runs the same way round. You send money to a linked bank account via SEPA, which is free. Fees and times for withdrawing a card balance are not stated on these pages, and what happens to any balance left when you close the account is not stated either, though closing the account itself is free. If you are tying up a meaningful amount, that last gap is the one to ask about.

Paying with it every day

It is a Visa debit card, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. Whether any spending categories are blocked is not stated. That matters if you gamble or buy gift cards, because the gambling merchant category code is one of the ones issuers most often block — but I have no card-specific list here, so you would be finding out by trying.

Stock rewards. This is the feature that makes it more than a debit card. The marketing is “up to 4% back in stocks”, up to $100 of value per month, with the GBP or euro equivalent. A press release frames it as 4% back in stock on everyday spending, where you pick a European-listed stock, with a value cap of up to EUR 1,500 per month, opt-in via a form, and a monthly email confirming the stock was added. The offer is a launch offer and may change. Stock rewards are for Platinum, Platinum+ and Diamond; the pages contradict themselves on the lower tiers, with one section saying Bronze, Silver and Gold get nothing and another saying they can opt in.

Visa perks. Luxury Hotel Collection, up to 10% off Sixt, and Visa AirRefund.

The app. The eToro app is on the App Store and Google Play, alongside the web platform. I did not read the store listings, so the store rating and number of ratings are not stated here.

Disputes. Chargebacks are listed as “Free” in the fee table. The process and time frames are not described, and only a Complaints Policy PDF is linked. If you have been burned by a merchant before, that thinness is worth weighing.

One practical thing to understand about why cards like this get declined at the till: a merchant can look up the card’s first six or eight digits and see which institution and country issued it, and some will apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. A card issued in one country can simply look foreign in another shop. That is a category-wide quirk, not an eToro bug, but it is the kind of thing that makes someone conclude their card is broken when it is not.

What can go wrong

Safeguards first, because they are decent. You can freeze the card instantly in the eToro Money app in the UK. In the EU, Manage Card gives you “Report lost or stolen” and Disable Card. There is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line in the UK. Euro funds are held in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank, not usable for investing or lending, and not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme — which is the honest version of “your money is protected”: it is protected, and it is not a bank deposit. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned in what I read.

The company behind the card. Card services are provided by etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU for EUR and DKK accounts, and by etoro Money UK Ltd for the GBP account, described as FCA-authorised for e-money. The card BIN sponsor is not named in any of the material I had. For context, eToro announced the Visa debit card for Europe on 24 June 2025, saying UK Club members already had it, and the UK entity descends from a 2020 purchase of the UK e-money firm Marq Millions.

Complaints. eToro’s main Trustpilot page reads 4.0 out of 5 from 32,233 reviews, with 20% one-star. The themes in user reports are withdrawals held pending ID checks, restricted accounts, slow support, and trading and closing fees. None of that is card-specific; I found no threads about the card itself. There is also a Trustpilot (Australia) listing at 2.5 out of 5 from six reviews, mostly about broker account closures and forced liquidations rather than the card, and a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-4221697, involving one complainant who did not receive a promised debit card because of the account type. One case is one case, but it is the exact failure mode — promised card, no card — and it is on the record.

Third-party status pages. Not official, so treat as unconfirmed, but they recorded credit-card deposit issues on 11 June 2026 and 7 July 2026, and an outbound-payments issue in August 2026.

The category risks nobody escapes. Cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen private key has no recovery path, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. And card programmes themselves can end: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw your balance.

Tax. I am not giving tax advice, but one mechanical fact is worth knowing: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured at fair market value on the date of the transaction. If each card payment is funded from crypto, each one can be a separate disposal. Ask a professional about your own position.

What to take instead

Here is how the field compares, including where the honest answer is “not stated”.

Card Score Card itself Cost Top-up Rewards
eToro Money 6.8 / 10 Visa debit, Green and Black tiers Issue, maintenance, delivery free; no subscription; ATM free to a limit then 1%; crypto conversion fee not stated Spends an eToro Money fiat account; crypto converted through the eToro crypto wallet; EUR account funded by SEPA Up to 4% back in stocks, up to $100 a month
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Mastercard or Visa by region Virtual issuance free; physical varies, e.g. Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia and Kazakhstan 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, Brazil and Mexico none; “no annual fees” No balance of its own — draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first, then crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus a conversion fee From 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn; tiers from 2% to 10%
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated Not stated Not stated
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Not stated officially Not stated Not stated Cashback in YNG tokens by tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%

Bybit Card is the one to look at if you want the crypto itself to be the funding source rather than a converted fiat balance. Its mechanics are different in kind: no balance of its own, drawing on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, with fiat used first and crypto sold only if fiat is insufficient. It is regional — Argentina, AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific — and the card currency depends on your country. It says plainly that “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers”, with all EEA participation strictly prohibited, which rules it out if you are in the EU. Its own fees are heavier: a 0.9% crypto conversion fee over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, and a 2% FX fee on top of the network rate in several. Its rewards are stronger on paper, up to 10% on the top tier, but only crypto-funded spending counts from 5 October 2026.

MSX scored 6.4 and Young Card 5.7, and the striking thing is how little either publishes on the pages available: card type, cost, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated officially for MSX, and nearly all not stated for Young Card apart from token-denominated cashback by tier. If you are choosing on published facts, neither of them is easier to evaluate than the eToro card today.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to an EU or UK resident who already has an eToro account at the qualifying Club tier and wants to spend that balance with a Visa, without a monthly fee and without opening a separate everyday bank account for the purpose. The cost side is as good as this category gets, and the safeguarding structure and the two regulated entities behind it are the right ones.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true. You are outside the EU or UK. You do not hold the required Club tier and have no plan to reach it. You want to pay from a self-custody wallet at the till, because that is not what this does. You need to know your daily and monthly limits before you commit, and you cannot get them from the public pages. Or you spend meaningfully in crypto and cannot get the conversion fee explained to you — that is the one gap I would want closed first, in writing, before I moved real money through it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the eToro Money card?

It is a Visa debit card issued by eToro, available in Green and Black tiers, which spends the money in your eToro Money fiat account rather than a conventional bank account. You can hold a GBP account or a EUR account, but not both at the same time on the current terms. If you hold crypto, it is converted into pounds or euros through the eToro crypto wallet first. It is free to issue, free to maintain and free to deliver.

How does the eToro Money card work?

The card draws directly on your eToro Money account, so it cannot overspend what you have loaded. For a euro account you fund it through the Wallet tab — Add Funds under eToro Money — with the euro local account itself filled by SEPA bank transfer, and SEPA in and out is free. Spending crypto goes through the eToro crypto wallet, which converts it to GBP or EUR, and the conversion fee is not stated on the public pages.

Is eToro Money a bank?

No — it is an e-money business, and the card services come from etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU and etoro Money UK Ltd in the UK, the latter described as FCA-authorised for e-money. Euro funds sit in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank and cannot be used for investing or lending, but they are not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme. That distinction matters: safeguarded e-money is not the same as a bank deposit.

Who owns eToro Money?

It belongs to the eToro group. The card itself is provided by eToro Money UK Limited or eToro Money Malta Limited, depending on your region and account currency. eToro had bought the UK e-money firm Marq Millions in 2020, and announced the Visa debit card for Europe on 24 June 2025, noting that UK Club members already had it.

Is the eToro Money card available in my country?

The stated condition is that you be a resident of the EU or UK, and it is residence-based, not citizenship-based. The full country list sits on a separate availability page that I did not read, so check that page for your specific country rather than relying on the EU-or-UK summary. Outside the EU and UK the answer is a straightforward no.

Does the eToro Money card require KYC?

Identity verification is not stated on the card page. What the page does require is residence in the EU or UK, a qualifying eToro Club tier — “etoro Club member” in the UK, Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum in the EU, with one FAQ saying Diamond only — and a EUR account for the EU or a GBP account for the UK. Which documents are needed, how long it takes and what causes a refusal are all not stated, so ask support before applying.

What does it cost to get and use the card?

Issuance, monthly servicing, card payments, first delivery and replacement delivery are all free, and there is no subscription. A replacement card is free up to three per year — for a euro account, three on Black while Green is listed as not applicable. ATM withdrawals are free up to GBP 2,000 a month on Green or GBP 10,000 on Black, or EUR 2,500 and EUR 12,000 respectively on a euro account, then 1%. Chargebacks are listed as free.

Is the eToro Money card free, really?

Yes for the card itself — the card and its maintenance are free with no monthly subscription, and delivery is free on both tiers. The honest caveat is what is not free or not disclosed: converting crypto to pounds or euros costs a fee that the public pages do not state, and the daily and monthly spending limits are also not stated, with the page pointing to a separate Account Activity Limits article instead.

Is the eToro Money card safe?

Reasonable, with the usual caveats of the category. You can freeze the card instantly in the eToro Money app in the UK, and in the EU Manage Card offers “Report lost or stolen” and Disable Card, plus there is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line in the UK. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned in what I read. Funds are safeguarded rather than bank-deposited, and any crypto involved carries irreversible-transfer and counterparty risk that no card feature addresses.

Is the eToro Money card worth it?

For someone already invested on eToro at a qualifying Club tier who wants to spend that balance through a Visa with no monthly fee, yes — that is a real convenience at a price of zero. For everyone else the picture is murkier: the currency conversion fee is undisclosed, the spending limits are unpublished, the card’s virtual-versus-physical format is not stated, and eToro’s 4.0 from 32,233 Trustpilot reviews with 20% one-star tells you more about the brokerage around the card than the card itself.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team