Spending USDT with a Visa card — and what NAKA does not tell you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

NAKA is a way to spend the USDT already sitting in your own self-custody wallet with a virtual Visa Platinum card and your phone. That is the whole idea, and it is a genuinely interesting one: no exchange account holds your money, no bank account is required, and every payment is authorised by a signature from your own key. The catch is that almost every number a card review normally leads with — the cost of the card, the conversion fee, the foreign-exchange markup, the ATM allowance, the limits — is simply not published. You are being asked to make a financial decision on a product that has barely shipped and discloses almost nothing about its price.

NAKA works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave NAKA 5.1 out of 10. It suits a specific person: someone already holding USDT who wants a self-custody Visa card without handing their keys to a provider, and who is comfortable with an unfamiliar financial product and unfinished paperwork. It does not suit anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a payment before they make it, who wants a card they can hold, or who is put off by a company whose card issuer and licences its own site does not name.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Score

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Targets Latin America, app listed worldwide without a country list; a US citizen is turned away
Cost 5 / 10 Price and fees are not disclosed — the site says pricing is “per user” with no figures
Top-up options 3 / 10 USDT from a self-custody wallet; the app-store listing says only USDT on Avalanche C-Chain
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 NAKA GLOBAL d.o.o. (Ljubljana), ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 9001:2015, ISO 22301:2019; issuer and licences not named; no complaints found; App Store 5.0 from 11 ratings
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual Visa Platinum, Apple Pay and Google Pay work; ATM mentioned with no conditions
Total 5.1 / 10 A promising, very new self-custody card wrapped in a price and paperwork fog

A word on how I read that table. The “who can get it” and “cost” marks are held down by the same thing: NAKA describes its product in the language of a launch, not a product page. “Targets Latin America,” an app that is “worldwide” with no country list, and a starting data point of “not a United States citizen” — that is not a clear eligibility statement, it is a direction of travel. Likewise, telling me pricing is “per user” rather than “per transaction” without a single number is not a pricing model I can budget from. The everyday-use mark is the best of the five only because virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay genuinely is a working, familiar way to pay, and that is enough to make the card worth a look even with everything else unresolved.

Will they give you the card?

They will probably give it to you, if you are not a United States citizen — but “probably” is doing real work in that sentence, and you should read this section before you decide anything.

NAKA says the product “targets Latin America,” while its app is listed as “worldwide” without any country list. The only firm line on who is excluded is the starting data point that you must not be a United States citizen. So the honest picture is: a Latin-American-focused product that is not going to say no to most other applicants, with Americans out. If you are in Europe, Africa, Asia or Oceania and you are not a US citizen, the site does not tell you that you are welcome — it simply does not list you as excluded.

The legal documents are split by entity, which is worth understanding before you sign anything. There are separate terms for NAKA Slovenia, NAKA Switzerland and NAKA El Salvador, and the site is explicit that the “specific provider depends on your jurisdiction and/or the product suite.” On top of those, a US-specific card agreement also exists — even though US citizens are not eligible for the product as described. Which contract governs you therefore depends on where you live and what you signed up for, and it is worth reading the agreement that names your own entity rather than assuming one global contract applies.

For you, the practical takeaway is this: eligibility looks open, but “open” here means undocumented, not generous. Ask support — through the contact page — for a straight answer about whether your country and your citizenship are supported, before you set up a wallet and move any money.

How to get it

Getting started is meant to be quick. You set up your wallet in the NAKA Pay+ app, complete what the company calls “a quick KYC verification,” and you are issued a virtual, tokenized Visa Platinum card. No bank account is required — which is, for many people reading this, the entire point.

A few details are currently unclear. The card is marketed as having “over 150 million locations,” which is Visa’s global reach figure rather than a specific promise for this card. The card’s settlement currency is not officially stated. Additionally, while the company describes the KYC process as “quick,” it does not specify the required identity documents, proof of address, or age threshold. Expect to provide standard identity documents, as is standard practice for regulated card services.

There is also no separate activation ritual to worry about and no delivery to wait for: it is a virtual card from the start, so once it is issued and you have added it to a wallet, it is ready to use.

Fees

This is the weakest part of the NAKA story, and the section that most deserves your scepticism. The short answer: you cannot currently know what a NAKA payment costs, because the card does not publish its numbers.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a NAKA payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the honest table. Where a cell is empty, it is not a zero — it is simply not stated by the card’s public pages.

Fee or limit What NAKA says
Issuance / monthly fee not stated
Conversion fee not stated
Foreign-exchange (FX) fee not stated
ATM fee and ATM allowance Cards work “online, in-store, and ATM use” with major card networks; fee and allowance not stated
Daily spending limit adjustable by you in the app; amount not stated
Monthly spending limit adjustable by you in the app; amount not stated

NAKA’s site says its pricing is per user rather than per transaction, and gives no figures. That is the whole of the published pricing information. Let me be blunt about what that means: you cannot compare the cost of a NAKA payment to the cost of a TokenPocket, MetaMask or KAST payment, because the other three publish at least some of their numbers and NAKA publishes none.

So let me walk three everyday payments through, and let you see what you would not know.

A ten-euro coffee. You tap your phone, the terminal asks for the amount, your key signs the transaction, the USDT leaves your wallet and the Visa network settles it. What is the conversion from USDT to whatever currency the merchant charged in? Not stated. Was there a spread or a conversion fee baked in? Not stated. If the merchant is outside the currency the card settles in — and remember, a crypto card settles in USDT per the site — did a foreign-exchange markup apply on top? Not stated. You will find out what the coffee cost only after it is done.

A hotel booking in a currency you do not use. This is the classic place an undeclared FX fee bites. You pay, and weeks later your statement or app shows the amount actually taken from your wallet. Without a published markup you cannot tell whether the hotel charged you a bad rate, the card added one, or both. Not stated.

A cash withdrawal at an ATM. NAKA says the cards work at ATMs with major networks. How much can you take out per day, per month, per withdrawal? What does it cost? Is there a per-withdrawal fee, a percentage, or an allowance you have to claim in the app first? All not stated — and the app itself is described as offering a virtual card, which raises the question of how ATM access works at all for a card that may exist only in your phone.

I want to be careful here about one thing that is easy to misread. The card’s pages do not say fees are zero; they do not say fees exist. They say nothing. That is the finding. If cost transparency matters to you — and if you are spending money you earned in crypto rather than a government salary, it usually does — then treat this absence as the decisive factor, not the Visa Platinum badge.

Top up

There is no conventional “top up” in the NAKA model, and understanding why is the key to the whole product. Your USDT is not loaded onto a card balance at the point of sale. It stays in your own self-custodial, on-chain wallet, and each payment is “settled via smart-contract signature” — you authorise the spend with a signature from your private key, at the moment you pay.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up NAKA starts with a transfer to the right network

What that means in practice:

The one concrete detail NAKA gives about moving value in is the network. The store-listing caption states that only USDT on Avalanche C-Chain is accepted (this comes from a screenshot caption on the listing, so treat it as the app’s own stated constraint). If that holds, you must hold USDT on Avalanche, not on Ethereum or Tron or Solana, or the payment simply is not available to you.

How to fund the wallet in the first place — which exchange you buy USDT on, and how it reaches your wallet — is not stated anywhere in NAKA’s own material, and there is no NAKA-side “top up” button described, because there does not need to be one. You buy USDT yourself, on the network the card accepts, and hold it in your own wallet.

One general caution that applies to this step regardless of card: a blockchain transfer is irreversible. If you send USDT on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Get the network right before you press send.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where NAKA looks most like a normal card, and it is the strongest part of the offer.

You get a virtual, tokenized Visa Platinum card. It integrates with Apple Pay and Google Pay (from the launch announcement), and the store listing also mentions Apple Wallet tap-and-go. In practice that means you can hold it in your phone wallet and pay by tapping or by Face ID, which is the same muscle memory as any bank card — the payments just happen to be drawn from your crypto.

Within the app you can also freeze and block the card, and adjust your spending limits, which are the two controls that matter most day to day. Because you are in self-custody, the app is where you watch your balance move; every single transaction requires a cryptographic signature from your private key, and the key itself never leaves your device.

The app itself is NAKA Pay+, by developer NAKA GLOBAL d.o.o. It sits at 5.0 on the App Store from 11 ratings, version 2.2 (the rating and version are from a third-party app-data report read on 21 October 2026 — not from NAKA directly). A Google Play listing exists but I did not obtain a rating for it. Eleven ratings is a very small sample, so treat the 5.0 as “no complaints yet,” not as a track record.

What is not stated, and what you should ask about: which merchant categories are blocked (gambling, adult, ticketing and similar are commonly restricted by issuer policy, and the block list varies by issuer, so there is no universal answer — only this card’s policy, which is not published). Whether a rewards or cashback programme applies to the card itself is also not stated; the blog mentions “programmable rewards” only as a partner feature. And the rules for disputing a charge — the card has “NAKA Spend Card Terms” — I did not read, so I will not characterise them.

What can go wrong

The risk profile of NAKA is unusual, and it is worth separating the risks of the *category* from the risks of this *particular young company*.

The issuer is not named. NAKA’s own pages, as I read them, do not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card, and do not state which licences it holds. That is not a scandal — many card programmes run through a partner issuer and keep it quiet — but it means the entity your money actually touches at settlement is not something NAKA has published. A crypto card usually depends on two licences, one on the payment side and one on the crypto side; here you can read neither on the public pages.

A licence is not a guarantee of continuity. Card programmes do get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa also suspended WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, in Europe in 2018, closing all of its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. With a self-custody model you are partly insulated — the money is in your wallet, not on a provider’s balance sheet — but your spending interface can still vanish.

Self-custody cuts one way. It protects you from a custodian hack or a custodian failure; the history of that sector is not reassuring (Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin bridge all lost enormous sums). But it also means you alone carry the risk of losing your key or being phished into approving a bad transaction. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery button. A seed phrase is 12 to 24 ordinary words, and anyone who has them can spend your funds.

Sanctions and screening still apply. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether states it disables tokens for wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. And your nationality is screened separately from your address, which is why “not a US citizen” appears as a hard line at all.

The record is thin. I found no official incidents, and a search specifically for reviews and complaints of this card turned up no Trustpilot or Reddit coverage of it at all. That is not evidence of a clean bill of health — it is evidence of a very young product with almost no public footprint. The privacy upside is that there is little to complain about yet; the risk is that there is also little track record.

What the company itself is. NAKA GLOBAL, finančne tehnologije, d.o.o. is registered at Letališka cesta 33F, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia, registration number 8106452000, with related entities NAKA CH SAGL in Switzerland and NAKA SLV, S.A. de C.V. in El Salvador. It holds ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 22301:2019 — real, checkable certifications — but it names no card issuer or financial licence on the pages I read. The NAKA Pay+ app first released in October 2025, and the launch post is dated 24 October 2025 (the same page’s metadata confusingly shows a conflicting 6 October 2026); the product was first shown publicly in Lugano. This is a young company launching a young product, which is worth factoring into any trust assessment you make.

There is support, at least: a “Talk to our team” contact page on naka.com. Use it, and use it early, for the eligibility and fee questions I could not answer from the site.

What to take instead

If the reason you want NAKA is that you have USDT and want to spend it with a normal Visa, you have alternatives that publish more. I looked at three. Their own published scores in this review are TokenPocket 5.8, MetaMask 7.1 and KAST 6.1 — all higher than NAKA’s 5.1 — and the comparison is mostly about how much each of them tells you.

TokenPocket MetaMask KAST
Who it is for A list of European countries for the Visa debit; a longer list of Asia-Pacific countries for the Mastercard; Americas “planned” Open sign-up in 45 listed countries; residency proof required; some regions waitlisted; US/UK temporarily closed Residence-based list checked at KYC; citizenship/ID from a restricted region can disqualify you
Card Mastercard/Visa debit, virtual, on Arbitrum Mastercard; virtual card first (free), metal card $199/year Virtual and physical; Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal and gold tiers
Cost Small NFT creation fee partly covered; “no additional fees” Virtual free; metal $199/year Membership by tier: $0, $1,000/year, $10,000/year
Key fees 1% on depositing crypto into the card (refunded later as rewards) “Minimal fee” per transaction; no foreign-exchange fee; no extra MetaMask fees 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee; FX 0.5%–1.75% off-USD; $0.10 on non-USD under $25
Funding Crypto deposits from TokenPocket wallet Spends straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana USDT/USDC/PYUSD/RLUSD stablecoins; no bank account needed
Rewards No cashback; the 1% refunded as rewards Cashback in mUSD: 1% virtual, 3% metal on the first $10,000 then 1% USD cashback by tier: 1.5%, 2%, 3% on monthly caps

Three takeaways from that table. First, MetaMask is the closest philosophical cousin — it also spends straight from a self-custody wallet rather than loading a balance, and it publishes a free virtual tier, a $199 metal tier, a stated cashback rate and an explicit “no foreign transaction fee.” If what drew you to NAKA was the self-custody model, MetaMask does that with more of the numbers visible, at the cost of a residency requirement and a waitlist in some regions. Second, KAST publishes the most complete fee schedule of the three — it spells out zero fees on stablecoin top-ups, USD spending and transactions, and gives an FX band of 0.5%–1.75% — but it comes with a membership tier structure that runs from free to $10,000 a year and a KYC process with real residency and citizenship constraints. Third, TokenPocket is the broadest on paper by country but the vaguest on specifics: a 1% deposit fee, no stated cashback, and no named coins or networks in its FAQ.

None of the three is a like-for-like substitute for a self-custody USDT card; they are the realistic alternatives if you decide that “I cannot see the price” is a dealbreaker.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend NAKA to one specific reader: someone who already holds USDT on Avalanche C-Chain, is not a US citizen, is comfortable managing a self-custody wallet and signing transactions, and treats the card as a convenient front-end to money they have already decided to hold in crypto. If your wallet keys are your responsibility and you are at ease with an early-stage financial product that names no issuer and publishes no fees, the self-custody Visa is a legitimately appealing idea and NAKA is a real company with real ISO certifications behind it.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs the card’s cost known in advance, who wants a physical card, who expects a mature support and dispute process, or who is uneasy about a virtual card whose issuer is not disclosed. I also would not recommend it as your only card: keep a conventional payment method alongside it.

And a caution that belongs in this section rather than hidden: if you are taxed where you live, remember that a card payment funded from crypto is generally a disposal of an asset in most tax systems, measured at the value on the date of the transaction. That is a fact about how these payments are treated, not advice — check the specifics with a professional in your own jurisdiction before you draw conclusions about what you owe.

Frequently asked questions

What is the NAKA card?

NAKA is a virtual, tokenized Visa Platinum card that lets you spend USDT sitting in your own self-custody wallet. Instead of loading a balance onto the card, you keep the crypto in your own on-chain wallet, and each payment is authorised by a signature from your private key. NAKA positions it for Latin America, with its app listed worldwide, and it is open to non-US citizens.

How does the NAKA card work?

You set up a wallet in the NAKA Pay+ app, pass a “quick KYC verification,” and receive a virtual card you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. When you pay, the app asks your key to sign the transaction and the USDT is settled from your wallet via a smart-contract signature. No bank account is needed, and no physical card is issued.

Is NAKA a bank?

Not on the evidence of its own pages. NAKA GLOBAL is a fintech company registered in Ljubljana, Slovenia, with related entities in Switzerland and El Salvador, and it holds ISO/IEC 27001, ISO 9001 and ISO 22301 certifications. But the pages I read do not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card, nor the licences it holds. I would not treat NAKA as a bank or a deposit-taking institution.

Who owns NAKA?

NAKA GLOBAL, finančne tehnologije, d.o.o., registered at Letališka cesta 33F, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia, registration number 8106452000. It has two related entities named on the site: NAKA CH SAGL in Switzerland and NAKA SLV, S.A. de C.V. in El Salvador. Which of these contracts governs you depends on your jurisdiction and the product suite you signed up for.

Can I use the NAKA card in my country?

The site does not publish a country list. It says the product targets Latin America, the app is listed worldwide, and the one firm exclusion is that you must not be a United States citizen. Because the app-store listing also indicates only USDT on Avalanche C-Chain is accepted, you additionally need USDT on that network. The safe move is to ask their support page whether your country and citizenship are supported before moving any money.

How do I get and activate the NAKA card?

Sign up in the NAKA Pay+ app, set up your wallet, and complete the quick KYC. There is no separate activation step and nothing to wait for — it is a virtual card, so once it is issued you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and use it. The specific documents the KYC requires, and any age threshold, are not stated in NAKA’s own description.

How do I top up the NAKA card?

You don’t, in the usual sense. Your USDT stays on-chain in your own wallet until you sign a payment, so there is no card balance to load and no withdrawal step — the crypto is already in place. To add funds you buy USDT yourself on the network the card accepts (USDT on Avalanche C-Chain, per the app listing) and hold it in your wallet. Getting the network wrong on a transfer can lose the funds, since transfers are irreversible.

Is the NAKA card free?

Nobody can tell you, and that is the honest answer. NAKA says its pricing is “per user” rather than per transaction, but publishes no figures for the card, the monthly fee, the conversion fee or the foreign-exchange markup. The ATM fee and allowance are not stated either. If the cost of a payment matters to you, this absence of published prices is the single most important fact about the card.

Is the NAKA card safe?

The self-custody design is a genuine strength: your key never leaves your device, there is no shared custodial pool, and you can freeze the card and set limits in the app. But self-custody also means you carry the full risk of key loss and phishing, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed. The company holds ISO certifications and has no reported incidents or public complaints — though it is a young product with almost no independent review, so that is limited reassurance.

Is the NAKA card worth it?

It depends entirely on what you are optimising for. If you want a self-custody Visa that spends USDT directly from your own wallet, NAKA is one of the few doing exactly that and the concept is sound. If you want to know what a payment will cost, or you want a card with a published fee schedule and a named issuer, the alternatives — MetaMask, KAST, TokenPocket — disclose more, and for many readers that disclosure is worth more than the self-custody model.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team