Eversend card: a cheap virtual Visa for stablecoin holders, weighed against its gaps
The Eversend card is a virtual-only Visa that draws on a USD balance you fund with USDT or USDC. It sits in an unusual corner of the market: the company behind it (Cogni Labs Ltd) is a regulated payments operator in Uganda with a Money Services Business registration in Canada and the US, the card itself spends only online, and the cheapest published price for a year of use is a one-time USD 2.99. That combination is what makes it interesting, and it is also where most of its limitations live. In this review I go through who can actually get one, what it really costs, how the top-up flow works, what paying with it feels like in practice, and the risks that came up in user reports — then I compare it to three other crypto cards and finish with a recommendation.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Eversend scores 5.2 out of 10 in my reading. That is a middling grade, and it falls where it does because the card is genuinely good at one thing — getting stablecoins onto a Visa number cheaply — and weak at almost everything else, from in-person spending to the breadth of countries the card works in. If you sit in the audience the card seems to be built for, the audience Eversend itself describes, you will probably be fine. If you are outside that audience, you will feel the rough edges quickly.
I would score the criteria as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it lands there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Identity check is done in the app and is “available wherever Eversend is available”, but Eversend does not publish a list of card-eligible countries, and payments to merchants in a long list of countries can be declined |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | The headline price is low (USD 2.99 one-time, or USD 0.99 to start with a monthly fee) but a 3.5% + USD 0.50 FX fee on every non-USD payment is heavy for a card you mostly use online |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC from any wallet or exchange, across a wide range of networks, with funding the card itself free |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Real licences (Bank of Uganda, FINTRAC, FinCEN), Fireblocks custody, a 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 866 reviews, but recurring complaints about funds stuck and slow support |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual only, no Apple Pay (“cannot be added to Apple Pay”), Google Wallet compatibility is not guaranteed, no ATM or physical card mentioned |
The audience note I would attach is this: if you already hold stablecoins and you want a cheap card to spend them online, Eversend does the job for the price. If you want a card you can tap at a shop, withdraw cash from, or load with a bank transfer, look elsewhere.
Who will they give you the card
Eversend’s official position is that anyone can complete identity verification “wherever Eversend is available”. The company does not publish a list of card-eligible countries the way most card programmes do. The app handles verification, and personal accounts can hold up to three active virtual cards while business accounts can hold an unlimited number. That is the opening sentence; the second one is more important.
A separate rule applies to where the card will actually be accepted. Eversend says payments to merchants based in a listed set of countries “may be declined by our card partner”. The list reads like a sanctions and high-risk roster and includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan. The help page is careful to point out that this limit is on card use, not on opening an Eversend account in the first place — but in practice it means a Belarusian, Russian or Ukrainian resident, for example, can hold a balance and may not be able to spend it through the card with a domestic merchant.
Two practical consequences follow. First, “wherever Eversend is available” is doing more work than it appears to: the card programme can technically reach you, but the spend side has a separate gate. Second, this is the area where the official story is the thinnest. The list of card-eligible countries is not published, the documents, proof of address and age threshold required to verify are not stated on the public pages, and the rules around card deactivation sit inside a help article rather than the marketing site. If any of those matter to you, the safest move is to install the app and start the verification flow before you commit any funds.
What is clear is that the card sits on a regulated foundation. Cogni Labs Ltd, the operating entity, holds three Bank of Uganda licences — Payment Systems Operator (PSO 53/26), Payment Service Provider and E-Money Issuer (PSP 35/26) and Issuer of Payment Instruments (IPI 07/26) — and the group also has a Canadian MSB registration (FINTRAC, M21306189) and a US MSB registration (FinCEN, 31000260352270). The company has been operating since 2019 and lists offices in London, New York, Kampala and Lagos. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named publicly, so the network partner that actually sits behind the Visa is hidden behind Eversend’s brand.
How to get it
The signup flow is described in three steps in Eversend’s own materials: verify in the app, deposit stablecoins, create and fund the card. There is no paper form, no email application, no waiting for a card in the post.
The first step is the only one with any friction. Eversend says you “download the app and confirm your identity a single time” but does not publish the list of accepted documents, the address-proof rules, or the age threshold on its public pages. In practice the app will request what it needs and either pass or fail you at that point. Cards can be deactivated or deleted for reasons laid out in a help article, which is the closest thing to a published “rejection” policy.
Once you are verified, you create the card. It is a virtual Visa denominated in USD. Personal accounts can have up to three active virtual cards at the same time, business accounts can have as many as they need, and the recommended pattern is one card per merchant — that way a card compromise only loses the card you had earmarked for that shop, not your main spending line. Each card can be frozen or deleted in the app, which is the single most useful day-to-day control on offer.
The card is virtual only. Eversend does not mention a physical card anywhere in the materials I checked, so do not expect a piece of plastic in the post: the card is a 16-digit number, an expiry and a CVV, surfaced inside the app and ready to paste into a checkout form. That is fine for online use, and it removes the delivery step entirely, but it is also the reason several “card” expectations — tapping, dipping, withdrawing — do not apply.
What it really costs: Fees
The cost story has two layers. The first is the card plan, which is the easy layer. The second is the fee you pay at the checkout, which is where most readers underestimate the bill.

You can choose between a monthly plan and a one-time plan. The monthly plan costs USD 0.99 to create the card, which covers the first month, and then a monthly fee after that. The one-time plan costs USD 2.99 once and “no monthly fees after that” — the cheaper choice for anyone keeping the card for more than three or four months. You can upgrade from the monthly plan to the one-time plan if you change your mind.
The numbers in the table below come straight from Eversend’s published fees.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card creation, monthly plan | USD 0.99 (covers first month) |
| Monthly fee after the first month | USD 0.99 |
| Card creation, one-time plan | USD 2.99 (no monthly fees after that) |
| FX / international fee (non-USD payments) | 3.5% of the amount + USD 0.50 |
| FX / international fee (USD payments settled outside the US) | 3.5% of the amount + USD 0.50 |
| Declined payment (insufficient funds) | USD 0.40 |
| Funding the card from the wallet balance | Free |
| Maximum top-up per attempt | USD 2,500 |
| Maximum per transaction | USD 2,500 |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated; virtual card for online use |
| Physical card | Not offered |
The two everyday payments below show how the fees play out. They are illustrations, not bills — the actual charge depends on the merchant’s settlement currency and where it is registered.
- A USD 50 digital subscription billed in euros by a European merchant. The card converts the euro amount to USD. Because the payment is not in USD, the 3.5% + USD 0.50 fee applies on top of the network’s exchange rate. On a USD 50 charge that is about USD 2.25 in fees before any currency spread, and the spread is layered on top of the published rate.
- A USD 20 in-app purchase on a US storefront settled in USD. The 3.5% + USD 0.50 fee does not apply to USD-on-USD payments that are settled inside the United States. The only thing you pay is the underlying conversion from USDC or USDT to USD when you funded the card, and that funding step is free.
A practical takeaway: the card is cheap to hold and free to load, but the moment you spend in anything other than USD inside the US, the cross-currency charge is large enough to matter. If most of what you buy is in dollars — domain renewals, US SaaS, US app stores — you avoid that fee almost entirely. If you buy from European shops, UK shops, Japanese shops, you will see it on every transaction.
The declined-payment fee (USD 0.40) is the kind of line that bites the unaware. A card with a USD 5 balance that tries to buy something for USD 8 will be declined, and you will be charged USD 0.40 for the privilege. The single way to avoid it is to keep the balance comfortably above what you are about to spend.
How to top it up: Top up
The funding model is the cleanest part of the product and the reason the top-up score is 9 out of 10. You deposit stablecoins into your Eversend balance, and then you fund the card from that balance. The card is a separate USD balance inside the app, walled off from your main wallet, which is a small but important design choice: a card compromise does not drain your wallet, and a wallet compromise does not drain the card.

The first step is the stablecoin deposit. Eversend supports USDT and USDC from any wallet or exchange, across a wide range of networks. The deposit settles in minutes. The network fees you pay to send the stablecoin are charged by the blockchain, not by Eversend, and they are paid by you, the sender. The numbers below are the published network fees Eversend quotes for each route.
- USDT on TRC-20 (Tron): USD 4
- USDT on ERC-20 (Ethereum): USD 8
- USDT on SPL (Solana): USD 1
- USDT on POL (Polygon): USD 0.30
- USDT on BEP-20 (BNB Chain): USD 0.30
- USDC on TRC-20 (Tron): USD 4
- USDC on ERC-20 (Ethereum): USD 6
- USDC on SPL (Solana): USD 1
- USDC on BASE: USD 0.10
- USDC on XLM (Stellar): USD 1
- USDC on POL (Polygon): USD 0.30
- USDC on BEP-20 (BNB Chain): USD 0.30
The cheapest way to fund the card is usually USDC on BASE at a published network fee of USD 0.10, with Polygon and BNB Chain at USD 0.30 as close runners-up. Ethereum mainnet is the most expensive route at USD 6 to USD 8. The practical advice is to keep a small amount of the native gas token on whatever chain you use, because stablecoin transfers still pay gas in the chain’s own asset — on Ethereum that means ETH, on Polygon that means MATIC, on BNB Chain that means BNB. A wallet holding only stablecoins and no native gas will not be able to send.
The second step is funding the card. Pulling money from your Eversend USD balance onto the card is free. The minimum card load is USD 1, but the smallest total debit against the card is higher: USD 1.99 on the monthly plan and USD 3.99 on the one-time plan. That is a soft floor rather than a fee, and it is the same idea as the USD 0.99 / USD 2.99 card creation charge — it is the price of admission.
There is a USD 5 floor on the card balance: the card must keep USD 5 on it, and you can withdraw any amount above that. To take the entire balance out, you delete the card and the balance returns to your USD wallet within 24 hours. Withdrawals back to the wallet are free. From the USD wallet, Eversend says you can cash out to mobile money and bank accounts in 10 African countries; the materials do not name those countries for the card, so treat that as a wallet feature, not a card feature.
Top-up attempts and individual transactions are capped at USD 2,500. Larger transactions “may be subject to additional compliance review”, which is the standard wording for a manual checks step that can slow things down. Fiat top-up — paying the card from a bank transfer or card — is not described for this product. The funding path is stablecoin-to-wallet-to-card, and that is it.
Paying with it every day
The card is a virtual USD Visa, which means the everyday story is online checkout forms and recurring subscriptions. The card has its own USD balance, separate from your wallets, and non-USD spend carries the cross-currency fee. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere in the materials, so do not expect rewards.
The biggest everyday gap is mobile wallets. Eversend’s own help material says the virtual card “cannot be added to Apple Pay”. For Google Wallet, the wording is that “digital wallet compatibility is not guaranteed”, which is the standard warning that some setups will work and some will not. In practice this means the card is not a tap-to-pay card. If you wanted a card for the supermarket checkout or the train barrier, this is not it.
A second gap is the merchant category list. Eversend publishes the categories that the card will decline. They cover money transfer (MCC 4829), telemarketing (5966), crypto and foreign currency exchanges including Coinbase and Binance (6051), brokers (6211), dating services (7273), massage parlours (7297) and betting, with US betting (MCC 7800-7802) declined for US settlements. Some of those blocks are standard issuer policy across the industry; some — like the explicit Coinbase and Binance mention — are the card programme deciding it does not want to be used to fund the on-ramps and off-ramps of its own competitors.
Disputes go through Eversend Support. The published process is: contact support with the last four digits of the card, the amount, the date and the merchant; freeze or delete the card during the investigation; and the remaining balance returns to the USD wallet. No timeline for the investigation or for a refund is given, and there is no published SLA. The help centre exists in English and French; opening hours are not stated.
Two things are not stated at all in the materials: the App Store listing details (the website links to the App Store and Google Play but the app’s own rating, version and reviews were not readable during my check), and any rewards or cashback scheme. If the latter matters to you, the answer for now is that the card has no rewards.
What can go wrong
The risk picture has three layers: regulatory and operational, security, and user-reported complaints.
On the regulatory and operational side, the company behind the card is in better shape than most crypto-card programmes. Cogni Labs Ltd holds three Bank of Uganda licences (PSO 53/26, PSP 35/26, IPI 07/26), Eversend Tech Ltd is registered with FINTRAC in Canada (M21306189), and Eversend Inc. is registered with FinCEN in the US (31000260352270). Eversend is also authorised for inbound and outbound remittance in Kenya and inbound remittance in Zambia, and the licence numbers carry 2026 suffixes — the most recent dated evidence in the materials that the company is still actively supervised. The card issuer and BIN sponsor, however, are not named on Eversend’s public pages, which is a small but real transparency gap.
On the security side, Eversend says digital assets are secured by Fireblocks (a well-known institutional custody provider), customer funds sit in “safeguarded, segregated accounts”, the app uses 256-bit encryption and 2FA, and you can freeze or unfreeze the card in the app. What it does not say is that those safeguarded funds are covered by deposit protection — they are not. You are trusting the segregated accounts to behave as advertised and the issuer to stay in business.
The user-reported complaints are the layer I read most carefully. Trustpilot shows 4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews, with the company replying to 14% of negative reviews. The themes are consistent rather than scattered. Three recent reviews from September 2026, which I read during my check, describe a merchant refund that was not reflected in the available balance with no reply, being logged out and unable to reach the funds, and money disappearing after linking the card to Google Play. The shared pattern — funds stuck, support slow to respond, tickets closed unresolved — is the kind of pattern that hurts most when you need the card to work, not when you have time to wait.
Two structural risks sit underneath the complaints. First, support is via the app and the help centre, with no published phone line and no published hours; the only way to escalate is to keep the ticket open and hope. Second, the card programme’s own clauses let Eversend deactivate or delete cards for reasons laid out in a help article, which is the kind of language that matters in a dispute.
A non-obvious risk is the country list. The list of countries where merchant payments can be declined is the same shape as the kind of country list a sanctions programme would use, and it is described as a card-partner rule rather than an Eversend rule. If you live in, or regularly buy from, one of those countries, the card will let you fund it and then refuse to spend it at the merchants you care about.
What to take instead
The three alternatives below are the cards I compared Eversend against while writing this review. They each answer a slightly different question, and which one is “better” depends on which trade-off you are willing to make.
| Card | Score | Card type | Headline cost | Funding | Where it stands out |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eversend | 5.2 / 10 | Virtual Visa, USD | USD 2.99 one-time, or USD 0.99/month | USDT / USDC on multiple networks | Cheapest year-one price for a virtual Visa funded by stablecoins |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, USD | USD 5 issuance, free Classic plan, Pro USD 9/month, Max USD 19/month | USDC / USDT plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Free USD spending on all plans, lower FX fee (2% on top of the Visa rate) |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard on UNi.Global balance | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee | Not stated | Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% with UNi Card |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa on a Whop balance | “No extra fees” | Pending balance usable on arrival; stablecoin-backed starting data | 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber, more planned) |
The International Visa Card scores higher than Eversend in my comparison because its USD spending is free on every plan and its 2% FX fee is substantially less than Eversend’s 3.5% + USD 0.50. The catch is geography: the card is not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries, including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, and FATF grey-list residents are reviewed case by case. If you are outside that list and your merchants are too, it is a better everyday card for the same audience.
UNi Card is the alternative to look at if you want a multicurrency Mastercard with no foreign transaction fee and a 3% spend-to-earn reward. The materials do not state which currencies the card supports, whether it is physical or virtual, or how it is funded, so it is the comparison row with the most unknowns. Treat it as a “check the app before committing” entry.
Whop Cards sit in the same 5.2 / 10 bracket as Eversend, with a different promise: a Visa that can be issued to team members, a 5% cashback at Uber today and more merchants planned, and a pending balance that is usable as soon as a payment arrives. The catch is geography too, with 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, plus a long list of unsupported countries. The materials do not state the FX fee, the funding coins or the funding networks, so the comparison line is shorter than I would like.
A note on what “alternative” does not mean: I am not recommending any of these cards over Eversend on safety grounds, and I am not promising that any of them will work where Eversend does not. They are simply the cards I read against Eversend while preparing this review. If you are choosing between them, the right question is which trade-off you can live with — Eversend’s low entry price and country gap, International Visa Card’s cleaner fee structure and stricter country list, UNi Card’s rewards and unstated funding path, or Whop Cards’ cashback and unstated fees.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Eversend card to a narrow, specific reader: someone who already holds USDT or USDC, who mostly spends online with merchants that bill in US dollars, who does not need a physical card or a contactless tap, and who is comfortable that the company is regulated in Uganda and Canada and the US rather than in the EU or the UK. If that is you, the card is honestly good at the job it was built for. The one-time USD 2.99 is a year-one price that is hard to beat, funding the card is free, and the stablecoin deposit network is broad enough to land cheaply on BASE, Polygon or BNB Chain.
I would not recommend it to a reader who falls into any of the following groups. If you live in or regularly buy from one of the merchant countries on the declined list, the card will let you fund it and then refuse to spend it where you want. If you want to tap to pay at a shop or top up a transit card, the lack of Apple Pay and the limited Google Wallet support rule the card out. If you need an ATM, there is no published ATM functionality and the card is described as for online use. If you are sensitive to a 3.5% + USD 0.50 cross-currency fee, you will feel it on every non-USD payment. If you want a rewards or cashback layer, the card does not offer one. If you want a published phone number, published support hours, or a published dispute timeline, none of those exist. The card carries risks associated with usage and support availability.
Between those two readings — “good at the job it was built for” and “not the right card for the next thing you want” — sits most of what a review can usefully say. The card’s design choices are coherent. They are also deliberately narrow. If your use case fits inside the narrow part, the price is right. If it does not, look at one of the alternatives above.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Eversend card?
The Eversend card is a virtual-only Visa card denominated in US dollars, issued inside the Eversend app. You fund it from an Eversend USD balance, and that balance is loaded with USDT or USDC stablecoins deposited from any external wallet or exchange. The card is meant for online payments and has no physical or contactless form.
How does the Eversend card work?
You verify your identity in the Eversend app, deposit USDT or USDC into your Eversend wallet across one of the supported networks, then move money from the wallet onto the card. The card draws on a separate USD balance, and the network fee for the deposit is paid by you on the chain you use, while funding the card from the wallet is free.
Is Eversend a bank?
No. Eversend is a payments and e-money company, not a bank. The operating entity Cogni Labs Ltd is licensed by the Bank of Uganda as a Payment Systems Operator, Payment Service Provider and E-Money Issuer, and the group holds Money Services Business registrations in Canada (FINTRAC) and the United States (FinCEN), but the safeguarded customer funds are not covered by deposit protection.
Who owns Eversend?
Eversend is operated by Cogni Labs Ltd, with related entities Eversend Tech Ltd in Canada and Eversend Inc. in the United States. The company has been operating since 2019 and lists offices in London, New York, Kampala and Lagos. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named publicly.
Is the Eversend card available in my country?
Eversend does not publish a list of card-eligible countries. Identity verification is done “wherever Eversend is available”, and a separate rule allows the card partner to decline payments to merchants based in a list that includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea and several Central Asian states. If your country is not in either list, you can install the app and start the verification flow before committing any funds.
Does the Eversend card require KYC?
Yes. You confirm your identity once inside the app before you can use the card. The accepted documents, proof-of-address rules and age threshold are not stated on the public pages; the app tells you what it needs and either passes or fails you at the point of verification. The card may be deactivated or deleted for reasons set out in a help article.
How do I add the Eversend card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet?
You cannot. Eversend’s own help material says the virtual card “cannot be added to Apple Pay”. For Google Wallet, the wording is that “digital wallet compatibility is not guaranteed”, which means some setups will work and some will not. If mobile-wallet tap-to-pay is a hard requirement, this card is not the right fit.
How do I top up the Eversend card?
You deposit USDT or USDC into your Eversend wallet from any external wallet or exchange, on a network Eversend supports. The deposit settles in minutes, and the cheapest routes are USDC on BASE at a published network fee of about USD 0.10, with Polygon and BNB Chain close behind. You then move money from the wallet onto the card; that step is free and starts at a USD 1 minimum load.
How do I withdraw money from the Eversend card?
You can withdraw any amount above the USD 5 floor that the card must keep on it. To empty the card, delete it and the balance returns to your USD wallet within 24 hours. Withdrawals back to the wallet are free, and from the wallet you can cash out to mobile money and bank accounts in 10 African countries.
Is the Eversend card safe?
The company behind it is regulated in Uganda, Canada and the US, the digital assets are held with Fireblocks, customer funds sit in safeguarded segregated accounts, and the app uses 2FA and 256-bit encryption. Those funds are not covered by deposit protection, however, and Trustpilot reviews describe recurring complaints about stuck balances and slow support, which is the practical risk to weigh before you load a large amount.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
