A dollar card from a crypto firm, with XPL cashback and rules that move
Plasma One is a Visa card you spend from a crypto balance. It is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and the account services run through Bridge; Plasma itself describes itself as a financial technology company and “not a regulated financial institution, bank.” You add local currency or stablecoins, you get a dollar account, and you spend it — in a shop, in an app, or at a terminal — with cashback paid in XPL on the upper tiers. My score for the whole thing is 7.1 out of 10: good where it is a payment card, still visibly a product in its first year.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.1 out of 10, and who it actually suits
This card suits one reader above all: someone who wants to spend dollars from a dollar account, and who likes being paid back in XPL. If that is you — if you are comfortable with a crypto balance sitting behind a payment card, you read tier announcements, and you do not need a bank relationship — the design fits. Three tiers, a free Lite option with a virtual card, cashback from 2% upward, and a stated policy of no additional fees from Plasma itself.

It does not suit a reader who wants certainty. Plasma publishes no country list on its open pages, its physical card delivery is not described, ATM fees and withdrawal allowances are not stated, spending limits are set by the company rather than published, and the tiers above Lite cost money or a lock of XPL that cannot be released early. If your money has to behave predictably — because you are paid into it, because you plan around it, because a surprise fee is a problem — this is not the card for you. Nor is it a good fit if you expect deposit protection: stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC.
A note on who holds what, because it explains most of what follows. The card network is Visa; the issuer is Rain; the account services are powered by Bridge; Plasma is the brand that markets it and the token it pays cashback in. Three different companies sit behind one plastic card, and the places you would complain to are not all the same company.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residence decides it; the appendix to the terms names restricted jurisdictions, and the list is not exhaustive |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Lite with the card costs 0 dollars and Plasma “does not charge any additional fees”; Core and Platinum are paid, or blocked with XPL |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Local currency in, dollars out; unofficial sources add USDT, USDC and USDG and fiat accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Rain issues, Bridge services, Plasma is not a bank; collateral on the card can be liquidated after non-payment |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; unofficial sources say the physical card is Platinum-only and say nothing about ATMs |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 | A card that works as a payment card, with the footnotes of a young product |
Will they give you the card? Residence is the gate, not citizenship
The short answer: whether you are eligible comes down to where you live, and the card’s own public pages do not publish a country list. The site says only that “geographic, regulatory, and other eligibility limits apply, and are subject to change.” That sentence is doing a lot of work. What the published terms do give you is a restricted-jurisdictions appendix — Appendix I of the Terms of Service — naming countries where users “located in or ordinarily resident in” them may be restricted.
That list, in the terms’ own wording, covers Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine (outside the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia carve-out), Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea. The terms call the list non-exhaustive. Read that as: this is the floor, not the ceiling.
Two further things sit under the list. US residents, EEA residents and all other residents are served by different Bridge entities, so the route to your account depends on your residence. And the International Card Terms ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen. No citizenship rule beyond that attestation is stated.
The unofficial picture does not agree with the official one, and I would not let it override the terms. Third-party write-ups claim availability in 188 countries with seven restricted, or 31 US states, or 150+ countries excluding the US, or — from DefiLlama — the United States only. One source describes the card as invite-only. None of that is confirmed by the card, and it flatly contradicts the terms, which list Russia, Belarus and Turkey as restricted. Where unofficial claims and the Terms disagree, the Terms are what you would be held to. Check your own country against Appendix I before you spend an evening on an application.
How to get it: a virtual card in minutes, then the questions the card leaves open
The signup story the card tells is short: “Get a card you can add to your wallet in minutes.” Identity verification is required, the minimum age is 18, one Card Account per person, and you must not be under US, UK or EU sanctions. The verification levels, how long they take, and the reasons a check might fail are not stated on the public pages. What you get is a virtual and a physical Visa, issued by Rain, accepted in 180+ countries, on a dollar account — “Add local currency. Get dollars.”
Now the parts you should know before you start:
- Physical delivery is not described. Countries, delivery time, delivery cost, and the fee for a replacement card are all not stated. The terms do say cards are activated through the Plasma One app, and that a replacement card may come with a new number.
- KYC detail is unofficial. Third-party sites describe legal name, date of birth, government ID, residence and address, and a liveness video, with proof of address in some countries and automated checks usually inside five minutes. The card confirms only that you must “complete identity verification” — treat the rest as description, not promise.
- The physical card may be Platinum-only. One unofficial source says the physical card is available on the Platinum tier only, that the Core physical card is not confirmed live, and that delivery regions, order fees and replacement fees are not published.
So the honest picture: the virtual card is the fast, confirmed path; the plastic is the part you are taking on trust. If you need a card in your hand next week, ask [email protected], which the site says is available 24/7, before you commit anything.
What it really costs: Fees, tiers and the price of moving currency
Plasma’s own headline is the sentence that should shape your expectations: “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees.” I have not found a counter-example on the public pages — but “additional” is doing work, because partner fees do exist and are shown in the app before you confirm, and the higher tiers are not free. What follows is what is stated; where it is not stated, I say so.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Lite: 0 dollars for the card; tier prices for Core and Platinum not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion | “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees”; partner fees shown in the app before confirming |
| Foreign exchange | Up to 1% on non-USD; cross-border 0%; Platinum covers the Visa FX fee |
| ATM | ATM fee and allowance not stated; ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them |
| Daily limits | Not stated; spending limits set by Plasma based on collateral, changeable, reducible to $0 at any time |
| Monthly limits | Not stated; no dollar maximums published |
| Zero-fee transfers | Zero-fee USDT transfers, though third-party fees may apply |
Two or three ordinary payments, worked through with the stated numbers only:
- A coffee in your own country currency, on Lite. You hold dollars, you are spending dollars: no FX line applies. If your balance is sitting in a non-dollar stablecoin instead, the conversion happens first, and what it costs is the partner fee the app shows you at the moment of confirmation. That is the number to read, every time.
- A subscription priced in euros or pounds. Foreign exchange of up to 1% on the non-USD amount, cross-border 0%, 0% APR on purchases. On Platinum, the Visa FX fee is covered. Third-party sources put a markup of 1% on Lite, 0.5% on Core and 0% on Platinum, and note that the Visa network’s own conversion of about 1% may still apply — unofficial, and it is the reason I would not treat “no additional fees” as “no cost”.
- A cash withdrawal. Here I have to tell you plainly: the ATM fee and the allowance are not stated in the terms. Unofficial sources say ATM fees, withdrawals and limits are not published for any tier, and one says a virtual-only Lite card cannot be used at ATMs at all. If cash is part of your week, treat the ATM as unknown until you have asked.
The tiers are the other half of the cost, and this is where the XPL lock bites:
- Lite — free. 2% base cashback, one free virtual card, standard support.
- Core. 3% base, 5% AI cashback, ChatGPT Go, reduced fees, priority support, up to two free virtual cards. Unlocked by an annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock. Unofficial figures: $199/year, or 20,000 XPL for 12 months — and sources differ on that price.
- Platinum. 4% base, 10% AI cashback, Claude Pro and ChatGPT Plus, up to $600/year flight cashback, no added fees with the FX fee covered, VIP support, up to three free virtual cards. Platinum is unlocked only by an XPL lock. Unofficial: 100,000 XPL for 12 months, described as a launch rate that rises.
One consequence of the lock, stated by the card: locked XPL cannot be unlocked early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active. That is the single most important line in this section. A tier is not a purchase you can undo.
How to top it up: local currency in, dollars out
The official path is simple to describe. You add local currency and you get dollars; the account is a dollar account. You can withdraw to a bank or a wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps, with the rails depending on your region, and USDT is mentioned for transfers. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated. Partner fees for some FX and bank-withdrawal transactions appear in the app before you confirm, and Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums” — amounts unspecified.
The unofficial detail is richer, and it is where a lot of readers are actually deciding. Per third-party reporting: deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks, usually landing within 5 minutes; fiat virtual accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP that convert to USDT; deposit fees of zero for USDT and USDG, USDC free up to $30,000 per transaction; onramp pricing of $1.00/$0.50/$0.50 for a USD ACH onramp by tier and $15/$15/$10 for wire; offramping at 0.75%/0.35%/0.10% plus an ACH fee. And New York residents cannot use the fiat rails. None of that is confirmed by the card.
One safety point that is worth more than the fee table. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds or need manual recovery with no guarantee. If you are new to stablecoins, send a small test amount first — the network you choose is not a detail you can fix afterwards.
Paying with it every day: wallets, cashback, and disputes
Day to day, the card behaves like a normal Visa. Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android, with availability depending on region — blocked merchant categories are not stated. The apps are on the App Store and Google Play, though the site publishes no store ratings and I could not find them either.
Cashback is the part that differentiates it, and it is paid in XPL:
- Lite — 2% base.
- Core — 3% base, 5% AI.
- Platinum — 4% base, 10% AI, plus up to $600/year flight cashback.
The rates vary by tier and may change. Read that as a rate that can move, not a reward you have earned.
When something goes wrong, the team helps dispute unauthorised charges and issues a replacement card. There is a hard deadline: a disputed charge must be reported within 60 days after it posts to your statement. Set a reminder. In the US, debit reversal rights come from Regulation E; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed to be the same. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward you, so keep the confirmation step switched on.
What can go wrong: the risks, plainly
Not every risk here is dramatic. Most of them are ordinary and manageable. A few are structural.
Liquidation of your collateral. This is the one to sit with. The card is a collateral-backed account, and the card states that collateral on it can be liquidated after non-payment. If you spend and cannot settle, the crypto behind the card is what answers for it.
Plasma is not a bank, and the balance is not a deposit. Self-custody is claimed in the FAQ — the FAQ says “You do” custody. But the stablecoin balance is not a bank deposit and is not covered by FSCS or FDIC. Unbacked assets are unbacked.
A change of terms under you. The terms took effect on 26 February 2026, with the issuer named as Third National in the defined terms and Rain in a footnote — small print, but it tells you the paperwork moves. A Trustpilot reviewer reports that terms and the arbitration body changed after they raised issues. Trustpilot shows roughly 3.4–3.5 out of 5 for Plasma One, from two reviews only — the company has not invited reviews, so treat that number as a whisper, not a signal. A second, positive review from July 2026 praises the cashback, low fees and virtual card, and notes there was still no physical card and that it was a private beta with an access key.
Nobody publishes the numbers that constrain you. No ATM fee, no daily or monthly maximum, no country list. Spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time, and cash-like transactions may be restricted. You are dependent on a company’s discretion for the limits, and you will only find out at the point of use.
Declines and holds. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the card lookup reveals the card type and issuer country — which is also why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another.
The lock. Locked XPL cannot be unlocked early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active. If XPL falls while it is locked, you are in the lock with a tier that suddenly costs more than it did.
What to take instead
If any of the above bothers you, the alternatives are worth a look — and each solves a different part of the problem.
| Card | Score | Who it suits | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plasma One | 7.1 / 10 | Dollar-account users who like cashback in XPL | Tiers above Lite cost money or a lock; no published limits |
| MetaMask Card | 7.1 / 10 | Wallet users who want cashback and no FX fee | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries, waitlist elsewhere; Virtual free, Metal $199/year; Mastercard |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | People who want their crypto fees at zero | 0% top-up, spend, transaction and wallet fees; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; Standard is free |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | Users already inside that wallet | 1% fee on crypto deposits, refunded later via rewards; no cashback stated |
MetaMask Card is the closest competitor on paper and the one I would point at if you want a published fee story: a free Virtual card with no annual or maintenance fee and no additional MetaMask fees, and a Metal card at $199/year. It spends directly from your connected wallet, on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and pays cashback in mUSD — 1% on Virtual, 3% on Metal up to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after. But its sign-up is open in only 45 listed countries and territories, with a waitlist elsewhere, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed.
KAST is the fee-transparent option. Stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%. Its costs are the annual membership — Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option — plus a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme, a 0.10 USD charge on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, 0.50 USD for a declined transaction, and 1 USD/month after 12 months of inactivity. Cashback runs 1.5% to 3% on a monthly spend cap.
TokenPocket charges 1% on crypto deposits into the card, refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees, and otherwise states no additional fees. It supports a Visa debit for European countries and a Mastercard debit for a long list of Asia-Pacific ones.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Plasma One to three kinds of reader, and only three.
The first is someone who already holds stablecoins, wants a dollar card for ordinary spending, and reads XPL cashback as a bonus rather than as an investment thesis. For them the Lite tier at 0 dollars with 2% base cashback and no additional fees from Plasma is a clean proposition.
The second is someone in a supported jurisdiction who wants to pay in a currency where a bank card is awkward — because the amounts are small, the merchant is unfamiliar, or the local card is not working. Read Appendix I first, and confirm with support before you fund anything.
The third is someone who will read the tier list carefully and lock XPL deliberately, knowing exactly how long the lock runs and that it cannot be broken early.
I would not recommend it to someone who wants a bank account with deposit protection, who needs published spending limits, who lives on cash, or who intends to treat a tier as reversible.
If you want to test it without deciding anything: start on Lite with the virtual card only, fund it with a small amount, and see whether the daily payment experience holds up before you put real money behind a lock. That is not a trick to get around anything — the card is invite-only in some descriptions and restricted in others, so if you are not eligible the app will tell you. Eligibility is a question for [email protected].
One thing I want to leave you with, since it is the part people skip: a card payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal, measured in your local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction. I am not giving tax advice and this page is not tax advice — but if you spend from crypto regularly, that is a conversation to have with a professional who knows your jurisdiction, not with a card’s fee table.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Plasma One card?
Plasma One is a Visa card you spend from a crypto balance. You add local currency or stablecoins, receive dollars into a dollar account, and spend that balance in shops, online or at terminals. The card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, with account services powered by Bridge. Cashback on the higher tiers is paid in XPL. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank.
How does the Plasma One card work?
You top up, and the balance becomes dollars. Payments are then ordinary Visa payments — a virtual card in the app, a physical card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. Cashback accrues in XPL depending on tier. The balance sits behind the card as collateral: the card states that collateral can be liquidated after non-payment, so the crypto answers for an unsettled spend.
Is Plasma One a bank, and is my money protected?
No. Plasma states it is “not a regulated financial institution, bank.” The FAQ says you hold custody, but stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. Treat the balance as your own crypto, not as money parked in a savings account with a guarantee behind it.
Who owns Plasma One, and who issues the card?
Plasma is the brand and the programme manager. Rain, a Visa Principal Member, issues the card, and Bridge provides the account services. Because US residents, EEA residents and other residents are served by different Bridge entities, the entity on your own account depends on where you live. Three companies sit behind one piece of plastic.
Does getting the card require KYC, and how long does it take?
Yes — “Complete identity verification” is required, the minimum age is 18, one Card Account per person, and you must not be under US, UK or EU sanctions. The card does not publish verification levels, processing times or rejection reasons on its public pages. Third-party sites describe ID, address, a liveness video and checks inside five minutes; that is unofficial, not confirmed by the card.
Is the Plasma One card free, and what do the paid tiers cost?
Lite is free and includes a virtual card, 2% base cashback and standard support. Core and Platinum are not free: Core is unlocked by an annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock, Platinum only by an XPL lock. Unofficial figures put Core at $199/year or 20,000 XPL and Platinum at 100,000 XPL, though sources differ. Locked XPL cannot be unlocked early.
How do I top up the Plasma One card?
Officially: add local currency, receive dollars. You can also withdraw to a bank or wallet through in-app off-ramps, with rails depending on region. Unofficial sources add USDT, USDC and USDG deposits on listed networks plus fiat accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP. Transfers are irreversible, so test a small amount on the right network before sending anything large.
Is the Plasma One card safe, and can I use Apple Pay?
Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android are supported, with availability depending on region; blocked merchant categories are not stated. The card claims PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D compliance, and offers instant freeze and account lock in the app. Tokenised wallet payments use device-specific numbers with one-time codes. Safety still depends on your own key hygiene if you self-custody.
Where can I use the card, and is it available in my country?
The card says it is accepted in 180+ countries, but its public pages do not publish an eligibility list — only that limits “are subject to change.” Appendix I of the terms names restricted jurisdictions including Belarus, China, India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea, and calls that list non-exhaustive. Check Appendix I, then ask support.
Are there ATM fees, spending limits, and what happens if a charge is disputed?
ATM fees, withdrawal allowances and spending limits are not stated; limits are set by Plasma and can be reduced to $0 at any time. Disputed charges must be reported within 60 days of posting to the statement. The team helps with unauthorised charges and issues replacement cards, and a replacement may come with a new number. In the US, debit reversal rights come from Regulation E; prepaid coverage varies.
Wallet card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
