Apex card review — what we found when we tried to read the fine print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Apex sells itself as a way to spend crypto at the point of sale, and the app — Apex: Buy, Sell & Trade Crypto, 4.5 out of 5 from 2,300 ratings on the App Store, listed under seller Apex Web Network Ltd. — gets good marks from users. That is the first thing you see. It is also the easy part to verify. The harder part, and the part that decides whether the card is worth using, is what happens between the wallet and the shop, and that is where the public material on Apex runs out.

Apex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review goes through what we could confirm from the card’s own pages and what we could not. The headline is short: the product itself, a virtual dollar Mastercard, is straightforward enough. The trouble is that almost everything around it — who can get one, what it costs, where the company sits, what licences it holds — is either not stated or scattered across pages that do not answer the obvious questions. We will walk you through what we found, what we did not, and what that means in practice if you are considering one.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Apex scores 4.2 out of 10. The number is not a verdict on the idea of a crypto card, or even on the app, which is well rated. It is a verdict on the card as a financial product you can read about, sign up for, and rely on with the same confidence you would bring to a debit card from a regulated bank. On that bar, Apex falls short.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Apex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 The list of issuing countries is not on the FAQ or terms. The starting data we saw pointed to Nigeria and parts of Africa, but the card’s own pages do not confirm it.
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance, monthly, conversion and ATM fees are not stated on the public pages.
Top-up options 5 / 10 You can fund from a fiat wallet or supported crypto in the app, but the supported coins and networks are not listed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The app is published by Apex Web Network Ltd. and shows an NDPR data-protection certificate, but the issuing bank, country of incorporation and licences are not named; no reviews of Apex Network as a card issuer were found.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Only a virtual dollar Mastercard is offered, and there is no public mention of Apple Pay, Google Pay or ATM use; no physical card exists.

The audience this would suit is narrow: a Nigerian app user who already keeps funds inside Apex and wants an instant virtual dollar card to spend that balance online, and who is comfortable not having a written answer to questions like “what does this cost me” or “who is on the other end of this transaction”. If you are outside that narrow fit, you will probably find a better-known card with disclosed fees, a real issuer and a real licence.

Who they will give the card to

Here is the first gap: the Apex FAQ and terms page that we read does not say which countries the card is available in. We went looking, and the answer simply is not there. The starting data we worked from suggested Nigeria and a small set of other African countries, but that is not confirmed on the card’s own pages, so treat it as unofficial. If you are reading this from outside that starting footprint, do not assume the card is open to you; check directly with Apex before you put any time into the application.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Apex starts with a transfer to the right network

What we can say is that limits depend on three things: the card type, the verification level you reach, and the balance you have available. The card type is referred to as if there were several, but no tiers are described. The verification levels exist, in the sense that the product talks about “limits depend on verification level”, but the document list, age floor, proof of address and the difference between one tier and the next are not published.

For context, this matters more than it sounds. A crypto card is a payment product, and payment products are gated by anti-money-laundering and sanctions rules that vary by country. If the issuing country, the licences held and the supported residency list are not in the public material, you cannot tell in advance whether you will be able to finish the sign-up. And you cannot easily compare Apex to another card on a like-for-like basis, because the basics are not on the page.

If you are the kind of person who needs a written answer before sending money, that is your first red flag. If you can live with asking support and waiting, you may still want to read the rest before deciding.

How to get it

The signup flow described in the official material is short: create a card in the app, after you have funded either your wallet or your card balance, and the card is issued instantly. That is the whole procedure as it is written.

A few practical things follow from that. “Instantly” is consistent with a virtual-only product — there is nothing to print, emboss or post — and it matches the description in the App Store text of “virtual dollar MasterCard”. There is no public mention of a physical card. Delivery, in the sense of a courier showing up with plastic in an envelope, is therefore not relevant; if you want a physical card, Apex does not appear to offer one.

Identity verification is mentioned in the form of “limits depend on verification level”, but the steps, the documents and the order in which they are requested are not described. That is normal for crypto apps at the early stage — many start with a phone number and add checks as the user moves up — but it is also a reason to be cautious. You may sign up in five minutes and only discover what “fully verified” means when you try to spend a larger amount and the transaction is held.

If you have read other crypto-card reviews on this site, you will recognise this pattern. The product is sold on speed: download, fund, swipe. The trade-off is that the rulebook you are agreeing to is rarely on the page you are reading at the time. The way to manage that is to do the smallest thing you can do first, see what the app asks of you, and only then commit more funds or more identity.

What it really costs

This is the section where we would normally walk you through a table of fees, with line items for issuance, monthly service, FX, ATM, top-up and conversion, and a worked example or two. With Apex, we can show you the structure of that table, but most of the cells are blank. The card’s public pages do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the FX fee, the conversion fee, the ATM fee or the ATM withdrawal limit. Limits exist (“limits depend on card type, verification level, and available balance”), but the numbers are not published.

Here is what we can lay out.

Fee or limit Apex
Card type Virtual only
Currency USD
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee Not stated
FX fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
Daily spend limit Not stated
Monthly spend limit Not stated

That table is honest about what we know, and the blanks are the message. The card’s terms may have figures behind a login wall, but a fee you cannot see before you sign up is a fee you cannot budget for. For comparison, the cards we cover elsewhere on the site list every figure up front, and that is what lets you model what a coffee, a hotel booking or a subscription will actually cost you.

To make this concrete, walk through three everyday payments and try to price them in your head.

The honest answer for Apex is: we cannot tell you the cost of any of those three. If that bothers you — and it should, if you are budgeting — wait until the fees are published, or pick a card where they are.

One more thing worth saying: the “Fees” heading is the kind of section a normal bank card review would treat as the centrepiece. Here, the centrepiece is empty. That tells you something about the kind of product Apex is selling today, and that is not a small thing.

How to top it up

Apex describes two ways to fund the card: from a fiat wallet inside the app, or from a supported crypto balance in the app. That is the limit of what is published. The list of supported coins is not given, and the networks on which those coins can be sent are not given either. So when you fund the card from crypto, you do not know in advance which token, on which chain, in what minimum amount.

This matters because the cost of a blockchain transfer — the gas or bandwidth fee that the network itself charges — is paid by the sender, not by Apex. If you top up from USDT, the chain you choose decides what you pay: ERC-20 is Ethereum, with gas paid in ETH; Tron has its own resource pricing; Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others have their own. Picking the wrong chain can either make the transfer expensive or, worse, send your funds to an address Apex does not credit, and on-chain transfers are irreversible.

For a reader who has not used crypto before, this is the part that will bite. You download the app, you click “add crypto”, the app tells you to send USDT to an address — but if it does not also tell you the network, or if you misread “USDT” as automatically meaning one chain, you can lose the deposit. The card’s own pages do not give a step-by-step walkthrough of this. The general category background is that blockchain transfers are irreversible, that a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support can be lost or stuck, and that manual support recovery is not guaranteed. None of that is Apex-specific, but it all applies here.

If you already keep funds inside Apex’s app and only top up from the in-app fiat wallet, much of this risk drops away: you are topping up a balance that already lives in the same product, and the network question does not arise. If you are bringing funds in from elsewhere, slow down. Read the deposit screen on the actual app, not the marketing pages, and confirm both the coin and the network before you send. If the app is silent on either, ask support first.

A short list of what to check before you send any crypto to a card provider:

Paying with it every day

What the card actually does at the till is the part Apex does describe. It is a virtual dollar Mastercard, issued in the app, available immediately after funding. That is the everyday-use profile. There is no public mention of Apple Pay, Google Pay or any contactless wallet; there is no public mention of ATM use; and there is no physical card.

This narrows the card’s role in your wallet. You can use it for online purchases, in-app purchases and, in principle, for any merchant that accepts Mastercard virtual cards. You cannot tap to pay on the bus, you cannot pull cash out at an ATM, and you cannot hand a piece of plastic to a waiter. For a Nigerian app user, that is enough to make the card useful — online subscriptions, foreign-currency online shopping, paying for services that need a USD card. For a reader who wanted a general-purpose replacement for a bank card, it is not.

Rewards are not stated either. Other cards we cover publish cashback rates, tier names and monthly caps; Apex does not. That may simply be because the card is virtual and the rewards programme has not been built out, or it may be because the marketing is aimed at users who are already in the app and see the offers there. Either way, the public material does not give you a number to plan around.

A separate everyday-use point is about how merchants see the card. A payment card carries a BIN — a six- or eight-digit number that identifies the issuer — and a merchant’s systems can read it. If the BIN says the card is issued in a country different from your billing address, some merchants apply extra checks or decline the transaction. A virtual card from a less-known issuer is more likely to hit that friction than a Visa or Mastercard from a major bank, simply because the BIN is unfamiliar. None of that is specific to Apex, and it does not mean the card will not work, but it is the kind of thing you find out about only after a few attempts.

What can go wrong

There are three layers of risk to think about, and they apply differently depending on how you use the card.

The first is the issuer layer. The card’s app is published by Apex Web Network Ltd., and the company shows an NDPR certificate — the Nigeria Data Protection Regulation framework — on its site. That is a data-protection signal, not a payments licence. The issuing bank, the country of incorporation, the regulator in charge of the card programme and the licences held are not named in the public material. If something goes wrong with a payment, you do not have a clear institution to escalate to, beyond the company behind the app. We did not find a Trustpilot page for Apex Network as a card issuer, and we did not find public reviews of the card product specifically. That does not mean there are problems; it means there is no track record to lean on.

The second is the platform layer. The app is custodial: when you keep funds inside Apex, the company holds the credentials. That is the same risk that has played out at other custodial platforms, from Mt. Gox through Coincheck to the Ronin Network hack, where the user has no recourse once the keys are out of their hands. For a card balance that you fund and spend within minutes, this risk is small in absolute terms; for a balance that sits for months, it is the dominant risk.

The third is the operational layer. The card has settings to freeze, unfreeze or permanently block the card, which is the right minimum. Two-factor authentication, custody arrangements and an Asset Recovery Policy are mentioned on the site, but the policy itself was not read for this review, and the details of 2FA, session handling and device management are not described. Support is via a Help Center FAQ and a Contact Us page; hours and languages are not stated. Help Center FAQs are useful for the common cases; they are not a substitute for a regulated complaints process.

A few specific things to keep in mind:

These are not reasons to avoid the card by themselves. They are reasons to keep a small balance in it, test it on a few real purchases, and only scale up once you have seen the system behave over a couple of weeks.

What to take instead

Apex is not the only virtual dollar card aimed at users who want to spend a crypto balance online. The cards we have reviewed cover a similar brief with more disclosure and a longer track record. We will not pick a single winner for you, because the right answer depends on your country, your funding source and how much you care about cashback versus disclosed fees. But three cards are worth weighing against Apex before you commit.

Young Card. Score 5.7 out of 10. A programme whose cashback is paid in YNG tokens, at a rate set by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. Bronze and Silver tiers are not stated. The card form, fees, funding list and issuing country are not stated on the public pages either, so the comparison with Apex is partial. The reason to look at it is the published rewards structure, which gives you a number to plan around; the reason to be careful is that the same disclosure gaps that affect Apex also affect Young Card.

MSX. Score 6.4 out of 10. MSX is the strongest of the three on the score, mainly because the product is built around a more transparent operating model. The card form, fees, funding source and rewards are not stated on the public pages, so the comparison with Apex is once again based on what the company is willing to publish. The reason to look at MSX is that it sits in the same rough segment as Apex — a virtual card, a crypto app — but with a higher score, which usually reflects better disclosure.

Bybit Card. Score 6.0 out of 10. Bybit’s card is the most documented of the three, and the comparison is therefore the most useful. It is available in Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and the wider Asia Pacific region; the application asks for a country of residence, and if the country is not supported Bybit “will register your interest”. The cards page says “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers”, and the fiat-service restricted list (deposits, withdrawals, One-Click Buy; not the card programme itself) includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, with the note that “Russian users can only make RUB transaction in Fiat”. Bybit does not publish a card-specific rule for Russian or Belarusian citizens, and it does not separate citizenship from residence; the card currency is set by the country of your Advanced Identity Verification.

Bybit offers virtual and physical cards (a virtual card first; physical is not available in Peru; rolled out in phases). Networks: Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, Visa credit in Asia Pacific. Currencies: USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; ARS in Argentina; MXN in Mexico; BRL in Brazil; PEN or USD in Peru. Validity: 3 years in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific and Australia; 6 years in Argentina; 5 years in Brazil, Mexico and Peru. Issuance is free for the virtual card “until further notice” in every region; physical issuance runs from free (Brazil, Mexico) to USD 29.99 (Australia) or USDT 29.99 (AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan), with VIPs holding an Australia, AIFC, Kazakhstan, Georgia or Asia Pacific physical card paying no issuance or replacement fee. Conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina (Peru is not supported). FX is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% as an “International Fee” outside Kazakhstan in AIFC even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru, with an FX padding of 0% in Australia, Asia Pacific and Mexico, 5% in Argentina and 1% in Brazil (the excess is refunded).

The Bybit card has no balance of its own; it draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, with crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the conversion fee if fiat is insufficient. Supported coins are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with a default priority of USDT > USDC > GRAM > BTC > ETH > XRP that you can reorder. From 2026-10-05 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not. Tiers, with rate, monthly cap and monthly spend to unlock for non-VIP: Base 2.00%, USD 5, USD 0; Beta 2%, USD 50, USD 500; Alpha 4%, USD 150, USD 3,500; Apex 6%, USD 250, USD 9,500; Omega 8%, USD 400, USD 12,500; Infinite 10%, USD 600, USD 25,000. Points pend for 4 calendar days; cashback in USDT = points × 0.002; Auto Cashback must be on. Pay Later instalments add 1%. The welcome offer is 10% cashback up to USDT 110 in the first 30 days; VIPs and Alpha and above get “100% cashback on must-have subscriptions”; the referral bonus is USDT 20 / USDT 10.

A reader who wants to use this comparison has to first answer the country question for themselves. Apex does not answer it; Bybit does, and that alone moves the dial for many readers.

Who I would recommend it to

The honest recommendation is short. Apex is worth a look if you already use the Apex app in Nigeria, you keep a working balance inside the app, and you want an instant virtual dollar card to spend that balance online. In that narrow case, the product does the one job it describes, and the speed of issue is a real advantage.

Apex is not worth a look if any of the following applies: you need a written list of fees before you commit funds; you want a physical card; you want to use Apple Pay, Google Pay or an ATM; you live outside the unconfirmed starting footprint of Nigeria and a few African countries; or you want a card from an issuer whose name, country and licence you can read on the page. In all of those cases, the comparison set above will give you a card with more disclosure and a clearer regulatory picture.

The wider lesson, and the reason a 4.2 out of 10 is fair even for a product that works as advertised, is that a card is only as useful as the information you have about it. A virtual dollar Mastercard from any issuer will do the same job at the till. What separates one card from another is what you can read in advance, what you can challenge if something goes wrong, and how clearly the company behind the card tells you what it costs and on what authority it operates. On those measures, Apex has work to do.

Frequently asked questions

What is Apex card?

Apex card is a virtual dollar Mastercard issued inside the Apex: Buy, Sell & Trade Crypto app, which is published by Apex Web Network Ltd. The card is described as a “virtual dollar MasterCard” in the App Store listing, and it is issued instantly after the user funds a wallet or a card balance in the app. There is no physical version. It is aimed at people who already hold a balance in the Apex app and want a USD card number to spend it online.

How does Apex card work?

You fund a balance in the Apex app, either from a fiat wallet inside the app or from a supported crypto balance, and the app issues a virtual Mastercard tied to that balance. The card works wherever a Mastercard virtual card is accepted online; it does not currently work in physical terminals because it is virtual only, and the public material does not mention Apple Pay, Google Pay or ATM use. The card can be frozen, unfrozen or permanently blocked from the card settings.

Is Apex a bank?

Apex is not described as a bank on the public pages, and the issuing institution behind the card is not named. The company behind the app is Apex Web Network Ltd., and the site shows an NDPR data-protection certificate, but that is a data-protection framework, not a banking licence. If you need a card from a regulated bank, you will not find that confirmation on the Apex pages.

Who owns Apex?

The app is published under the seller name Apex Web Network Ltd. The country of incorporation, the parent company, the issuing bank, and the licences held are not stated. There is no press page or about page that resolves these questions.

Is Apex card available in my country?

The card’s FAQ and terms page that we read does not list the issuing countries. The starting data we worked from suggested Nigeria and a small set of other African countries, but that is not confirmed on the card’s own pages, so treat it as unofficial. The only safe answer is to ask Apex support directly before you sign up or send any funds.

How do I apply for an Apex card?

You open the Apex app, fund either your wallet or your card balance, and create a card in the app. The card is issued instantly. The document list, the age floor and the proof of address are not described in the public material, but the card uses verification levels that change the spending limits. The simplest path is to do the minimum needed to issue the card, then see what the app asks for as you try to spend.

Does Apex card require KYC?

The card talks about “limits depend on verification level”, which implies identity checks, but the document list, the steps and the order in which they are requested are not described in the public material. The pattern in this category is that you start with a phone number and add documents as you move up the tiers. Apex does not publish the tiers.

How do I top up the Apex card?

You top up from a fiat wallet in the app, or from a supported crypto balance in the app. The list of supported coins and the networks on which they can be sent are not published. If you are bringing funds in from an external wallet, confirm both the coin and the network on the actual deposit screen before you send, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a wrong network can lose the deposit.

Is Apex card free?

The card’s public pages do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion fee, the FX fee or the ATM fee, and there is no public mention of ATM use. The virtual card is described as instant, but “free” is a stronger claim than the material supports. Until the fees are published, assume there is a cost somewhere in the flow and look for it on the app screens.

Is Apex card safe?

The card has a freeze control in card settings, the app is published by a named company, and the site links an Asset Recovery Policy. Beyond that, the issuing bank, the country of incorporation, the custody arrangements and the licences are not named in the public material. We did not find a Trustpilot page for Apex Network as a card issuer, and we did not find card-product reviews. A practical approach is to keep a small balance, test the card on a few real purchases, and only scale up once you have seen the system behave over a couple of weeks.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team