Straightforward on fees, frustratingly vague on the details

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The OKX Money card is a crypto-linked payment card built for people who want to hold and spend money in dollar-backed stablecoins rather than hold a local bank balance. You load the app, your money becomes stablecoins, and the card spends that balance in shops, online and — in principle — wherever cards go. On paper that is a clean fit for someone in a country where a normal bank account is awkward to open, expensive to keep, or simply unavailable. The card says it charges no foreign exchange fees and adds no conversion markup, which is the strongest single claim it makes. And yet when I went through the card’s own pages line by line, a lot of what a reader actually needs stayed blank: no list of countries, no issue or monthly fee, no ATM or wallet support, no network named, no security or support detail. I scored it 6.7 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is a card with a genuinely good core idea and a public page that has not yet caught up with it.

OKX Money works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: a good core idea, an unfinished public page

My score, broken down the way I work through every card:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East; the exact list is not published
Cost 8 / 10 Zero foreign exchange fee and no conversion markup; issue and maintenance fees are not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 The account is funded in 50+ currencies and converted into USDG, USDC or USDT; the networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 OKX operates under licensing frameworks in more than 30 jurisdictions; the issuer is not named; no official incidents for the card; Trustpilot for the exchange shows 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 A virtual or physical card from one app; up to 10% cashback; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM support are not disclosed
Total 6.7 / 10 A usable card for a specific person, described too thinly to bank on

Who this suits: someone in a selected emerging market who is already saving in digital dollars, is comfortable with the idea that their balance is a stablecoin rather than a bank deposit, and wants to spend that balance at ordinary merchants without opening a traditional account. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a named card issuer, a published fee schedule, a spending limit they did not set themselves, or the reassurance of Apple Pay and Google Pay support. If your deciding factor is “what happens if this company folds up”, this card page will not give you enough to answer that.

Will they give you the card?

The short answer is: only if you are in one of the places they have chosen, and they have not told you which ones. The card states that it is available in selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East, that the exact list is not published, and that expansion happens market by market. Access depends on your country. That is the whole official answer — four regions, no countries, no criteria.

For orientation only, third-party reporting (ProPakistani, 6 Oct 2026) gives examples of launch markets as South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan and Bangladesh. That is unofficial, it is not confirmed by the card, and I would not plan a move around it. If you live somewhere else, your realistic answer is that you would have to install the app and find out for yourself, and that even then the verdict may depend on your address rather than your citizenship.

There is also a structural point worth understanding before you try, because it explains the vagueness. The brand you see is often not the institution that actually issues your card. A card programme usually involves three parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) which routes the payment messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or an e-money institution licensed to issue cards under that network’s licence — which holds the programme, and the crypto brand, which is frequently only a programme manager and the front end you download. When a card page says nothing about the issuer, that is usually because the issuer is a separate licensed entity, not an oversight. It also means the entity you open an account with and the entity that stands behind your balance may not be the same company.

How to get it

The signup path is short on official detail, which is its own kind of information. New users sign up and pass identity checks before funding, and the card’s public pages do not say which documents are needed. There is no published statement of what verification levels exist, no description of how long review takes, and no stated rule about which nationality or residence combination works — nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence in most programmes, and a mismatch is one of the more common reasons an application stalls.

The card itself comes in two forms: a virtual card or a physical card, both from the same app. The official page does not name the card network. Crypto.news reported Mastercard in October 2026; treat that as unofficial until you see it on your own card screen. The currency of the card is not stated. Delivery times for a physical card are not stated. And the standalone app matters: OKX Money launched as a standalone app on 6 Oct 2026 (article modified 15 Oct 2026), so it is a separate product from the main exchange app, not a tab inside it.

My advice is procedural rather than clever: download the app from the official source, run the identity check early, and find out your region eligibility before you move any money. That is all I can honestly recommend, because the card does not publish the eligibility list.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the good news and the gap. The one fee claim the card makes is a strong one, and it is worth understanding precisely.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a OKX Money payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Foreign exchange fee “OKX Money charges zero foreign exchange fees” on purchases in another currency
Conversion markup “adds no conversion markup”
Stablecoin-to-stablecoin conversion No conversion fees between supported stablecoins
Issuance fee not stated
Monthly or maintenance fee not stated
ATM withdrawal fee not stated
Spending limits No amounts stated; users can set spending limits in the app (crypto.news)
Tiers and perks by balance not stated
Balance currency Dollar-backed stablecoin balance; local-currency funding in 50+ currencies

Now the three everyday payments, and which of those fees actually touch them.

Buying coffee in your own country with dollars you already hold. You spend stablecoins you loaded earlier. There is no stated conversion — the balance is already dollar-backed — so no FX fee and no markup apply. This is the clean case, and it is the case the product is built for. What I cannot tell you is whether a merchant charge, a decline fee or a per-transaction cost sits somewhere behind the app.

Buying something priced in a currency other than dollars while you are abroad or online. This is where the promise does the work. On purchases in another currency the card states zero foreign exchange fees and no conversion markup. That is genuinely unusual in this category and materially better than cards that add a spread. But notice the limit of the claim: it is about the card’s own conversion, not about the rate you receive when you loaded the balance. The rate at which your local currency became stablecoins is a separate conversion, and the card does not state its fee for that. Ask about it before you assume the whole path is free.

Withdrawing cash from an ATM. Here the card page is silent. No fee, no limit, no currency list. I would not plan on this until you have seen your own fee screen.

One structural warning about the loading step that costs nothing on the card page but can cost real money. If you fund by sending a stablecoin on a blockchain, the network itself charges a gas or bandwidth fee. And blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Sending USDC on a network the app does not name is the single most avoidable mistake here, and the card page does not name the networks. Confirm the network inside the app, from the app, every time.

Top up

Topping up is the part of this card that is most fully described, and it is the reason the score here is not lower. Accounts are funded in more than 50 supported currencies, and that money is converted into dollar-backed stablecoins — USDG, USDC or USDT — held in the app balance. Fees and minimums for that conversion are not stated, and the networks are not named. Withdrawals are not stated at all, which I would want answered before I treat any balance as mine.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up OKX Money starts with a transfer to the right network

So the flow, as far as the card’s own material goes: local currency in, one of three dollar stablecoins out, card spends the result. The three choices matter more than they look. USDT and USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD, backed entirely by cash and cash equivalents held mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm, and lists it as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT runs on multiple blockchains including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, with reserves intended to back it one-to-one. Neither is free of risk: USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. “Stable” describes the aim, not the outcome.

USDC is listed in 50+ fiat currencies convertible to stablecoins. Fees and minimums: not stated. Networks: not stated. That combination is why I would not preload this card with money you cannot afford to have a support conversation about.

Paying with it every day

The everyday picture is simple and, in two respects, incomplete. You have a virtual or physical card from the same app, and a dollar-backed balance to spend. You can set spending limits in the app, which is a real feature and the one control the card actually hands you.

On rewards: up to 10% cashback on qualifying purchases for eligible customers, with rates varying by region and eligibility, and the payout currency not stated. There is also up to 10% APY on eligible USDG balances, and referral commissions. Read the “up to” twice. Ten percent cashback is a headline number attached to qualifying purchases in eligible regions; what you personally earn depends on a table the card does not publish in its public material, and I would want to see it in the app before planning around it.

What I could not establish for daily use, and what you should actively check:

What can go wrong

I want to separate two things here: what is wrong with this card, and what is wrong with the category it belongs to. Because most of the risk you are being asked to accept is category risk, not OKX-specific risk.

On the card specifically, the honest picture is thin. No official incidents were found for OKX Money. The complaints that circulate on Trustpilot are about the OKX exchange, not the card, and they cluster on support: reports describe tiresome support and support loops, plus one identity-theft case. The exchange’s main Trustpilot page shows 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews; the app page shows 4.5/5 from 34 reviews (21 Oct 2026). That gap between the two is itself informative, though a 34-review sample is small enough that I would not lean on it. None of this is a finding about the card. It is context about the company behind it.

The company is OKX (OKX INC. per the card’s own documentation), operating under licensing frameworks in more than 30 jurisdictions. The card issuer is not named. Security measures are not stated: no mention of two-factor authentication, no freeze switch, no confirmation prompts, nothing. Support channels are not stated. Licence frameworks are not the same as a deposit guarantee — an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Read the card’s balance as something a company holds for you, not something a bank owes you.

Category risk you inherit by choosing any crypto card:

The practical takeaway is not “avoid crypto cards”. It is that you should hold a balance you could lose, and you should treat the support channel and the closure procedure as part of the product, because that is what decides your day when something goes wrong.

What to take instead

I compared this against three other cards in the same space. The comparison is not flattering to any of them, which is worth saying plainly.

OKX Money Young Card MSX Bybit Card
Score 6.7 / 10 5.7 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.0 / 10
Who can get it Selected emerging markets; list not published not stated not stated Long named list of regions; European Economic Area participation strictly prohibited
Card details Virtual or physical from one app; network not named officially not stated officially not stated officially Virtual and physical, Mastercard and Visa by region, phased rollout
Issuance cost not stated not stated not stated Virtual free in all regions until further notice; physical from free (Brazil, Mexico) to 29.99 USD (Australia) or 29,99 USDT (Georgia, Kazakhstan AIFC)
Conversion / FX Zero FX fees, no markup not stated not stated Crypto conversion 0.9% over One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% Argentina; FX fee 2% on top of network rate in several regions, 7% Argentina, 1% Peru
Rewards Up to 10% cashback, rates vary by region Cashback in YNG tokens: 0.1% Essential, 1.8% Gold, 3.6% Platinum not stated Tiers from 2% (Base, 5 USD monthly cap) to 10% (Infinite, 600 USD cap), but only crypto-funded transactions earn since 5 Oct 2026

Bybit Card is the only one of the four whose costs and eligibility are actually published, and that transparency is worth something on its own. It is available in Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific; the application asks for country of residence and will register your interest if the country is not supported, and the cards page states the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. It issues virtual and physical cards with Mastercard and Visa depending on region, and the physical card is not available in Peru. Card validity ranges from three years in most regions to six in Argentina. But the fees are heavier than OKX’s promise: crypto conversion of 0.9% on top of the One-Click Sell rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil and Mexico; 2% FX fee in several regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Argentina also carries VAT of 21% on foreign digital services and 30% tax on foreign transactions, with provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. Its rewards structure is unusually well specified — cashback 2% to 10% by tier with monthly caps from 5 USD to 600 USD, and 10% up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days — but since 5 Oct 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; fiat-funded spending does not.

MSX I could not evaluate. Its official pages did not tell me who can get it, what the card is, what it costs or how it is funded, and its rewards are not stated. It scored 6.4 / 10, which is close to OKX Money, but you should read that score as “little verified” rather than “verified as similar”.

Young Card scored lowest at 5.7 / 10. Its eligibility, card details, cost and funding are all unstated officially, and its one concrete feature is a tiered cashback paid in YNG tokens: 0.1% at Essential, 1.8% at Gold and 3.6% at Platinum, with Bronze and Silver not stated. A reward paid in the platform’s own token is a different thing from a reward paid in dollars.

The pattern across all four is the honest summary of this category in 2026: the promises are large and the published detail is thin. If your priority is knowing exactly what you pay, Bybit publishes and the others do not. If your priority is paying nothing on the conversion itself, OKX Money claims the cleanest terms in this group and publishes least about how it gets there.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the OKX Money card to one person: someone in a supported emerging market who already holds or receives dollars in a stablecoin form, is used to crypto exchanges and stablecoins, does not need credit or a banking relationship, and mainly wants to convert a stablecoin balance into ordinary spending. For that person the card does what it says: hold dollars, spend them anywhere a card is accepted, without a conversion spread.

I would not recommend it to someone whose money needs to be predictable in local currency, whose income arrives in cash, or who needs any of the things the page leaves blank — a named issuer, a stated monthly fee, ATM support, phone wallets, a dispute process, a support number. Nor would I recommend preloading it heavily before you have used it small, since the top-up networks are unnamed and the funding fee is unstated.

One last thing, because it applies to your own money and not the card’s marketing. If you are not sure where you stand on tax, the general rule in the US is that the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be its own disposal, and personal holdings held a year or less are short-term. I am not telling you what you owe; I am telling you that the card payments may be individually reportable events, and that this is worth asking a professional about in your own jurisdiction rather than reading on a card page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the OKX Money card?

The OKX Money card is a payment card that spends a balance of dollar-backed stablecoins — USDG, USDC or USDT — held in the OKX Money app. You fund the account in more than 50 supported currencies, the app converts them into stablecoins, and a virtual or physical card spends that balance at merchants. It is a separate product from the main OKX exchange, launched as a standalone app on 6 Oct 2026.

Is OKX Money a bank?

No, not as described anywhere in its own material. It is a payment card fronted by a crypto exchange, OKX (OKX INC. per the card’s documentation), which operates under licensing frameworks in more than 30 jurisdictions. The card issuer is not named. Funds held in an electronic money arrangement are safeguarded in dedicated accounts or insured, but they are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns OKX Money?

It belongs to OKX, the crypto exchange. The card’s own documentation names the company as OKX INC. It is worth distinguishing the brand you sign up with from the licensed institution that actually issues the card, since that issuer is not named on the card’s public pages — on most card programmes the crypto brand is only a programme manager and front end.

Which countries is the OKX Money card available in?

Officially, selected emerging markets in Latin America, Africa, South Asia and the Middle East — with no published list and expansion market by market. Access depends on your country. Third-party reporting (ProPakistani, 6 Oct 2026) names South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Pakistan and Bangladesh as examples of launch markets, but that is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card.

How do I get the OKX Money card, and does it need KYC?

You download the standalone OKX Money app, sign up, and pass identity checks before funding; the card does not state which documents are needed or what verification levels exist. After that you choose a virtual or a physical card from the same app. The official page does not name the card network, though crypto.news reported Mastercard in October 2026.

What does it cost to use the OKX Money card?

The card states zero foreign exchange fees and no conversion markup on purchases in another currency, and no fees for converting between supported stablecoins. Issue fees, monthly fees and ATM fees are not stated. Funding fees and minimums are also not stated, and if you load by blockchain you pay the network’s own gas or bandwidth fee on top.

How do I top up the OKX Money card?

You fund the account in more than 50 supported fiat currencies, and the app converts the money into dollar-backed stablecoins — USDG, USDC or USDT — in your app balance. The networks used are not stated, so confirm the network inside the app before sending anything, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost. Withdrawal terms are not stated either.

Can I use the OKX Money card in Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Not stated, and I would not assume it. The separate European OKX Card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, but that is a different product from OKX Money, and the two are easy to confuse. If tapping your phone at a terminal is essential to you, verify it on your own account before relying on it. ATM support is likewise not stated for OKX Money.

Is the OKX Money card safe and is it worth it?

No official incidents were found for the card itself. But Trustpilot complaints about the OKX exchange show 1.9/5 from 1,624 reviews on the main page, with recurring themes of tiresome support and support loops, and security measures, support channels and dispute handling are all unstated on the card’s pages. Treat any balance as funds a company holds for you, not a bank deposit.

What should I check before depositing a large amount?

Check five things in the app first: which networks are accepted for your chosen stablecoin, what fee applies to your local-currency conversion, what your spending limits are set to, whether the card is virtual or physical and how you would replace it, and where support actually lives. The card’s public pages state none of these, so the app is your only source — and an irreversible transfer to a wrong network is the one mistake with no way back.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team