A crypto card that is generous with rewards and blunt about its own limits
Six out of ten. That is where this card lands when I put its terms, its fee table and its user complaints side by side and ask the only question that matters: would I be comfortable telling a friend to move their money onto it? The answer is “in some regions, with eyes open” — and the region is doing most of the work in that sentence.
If you are reading this, you are probably in the position most people who look at cards like this are in: you have money or crypto, you want to spend it at an ordinary shop or restaurant, and an ordinary bank card is either unavailable to you, refused, or tied to a banking relationship you do not have or do not want. That is the reader I kept in mind. Everything below is written for you, not for the card.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
One thing I want to say before the details, because it decides how you should read every fee further down: the Bybit Card is not a bank card attached to a bank account. It draws money from your crypto exchange account, and it does so by converting crypto into fiat at the moment of payment, or by spending a fiat balance you loaded first. Every cost that feels surprising later is explained by that one design choice.
Verdict: 6.0 / 10, and that is a genuine average, not a hedge
The score is an average of six things that point in different directions. The card is excellent to use day to day and genuinely awkward to trust, and those two facts sit in the same product.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Card regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; for EEA customers it is prohibited |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Virtual issuance free, physical 29.99 USDT (Georgia, Kazakhstan) and 29.99 USD (Australia); crypto conversion 0.9 %, FX 2 % (Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia), ATM 2 % after the first 100 USD per month |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | The card draws on the Funding Account: BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM, and the order of debiting can be changed in the app; the deposit networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | The issuer by region is not named, the App Store seller is Bybit Fintech Limited, an account restriction stops the card, Trustpilot is 2.5 for the whole exchange, and cards were cancelled after a programme change in 2026 |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay for Georgia, Kazakhstan and Australia, ATMs available; the physical card is issued after the virtual one |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 | Strong to spend, uncertain to depend on |
The everyday-use score is the highest of the six, and it is the one you will feel most in your first week. Virtual and physical cards, mobile wallets in the regions that matter most to me (Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia), cash withdrawal, a card that behaves at the till. On pure “does it work when I tap it” grounds, this is one of the better cards in this category.
The reliability score is the lowest, and it is where your decision should actually be made. Two things drag it down. The first is that the pages I could read do not name the issuing bank per region. When you hand over money to a card programme, knowing which institution stands behind it is not a nicety — it is the difference between a complaint you can escalate and a complaint you can only post about. The second is the complaint pattern itself: in September and October 2026 users reported accounts being restricted after small USDT transfers were flagged as an abnormal origin, and a restricted account stops the card working. Trustpilot shows 2.5 out of 5 for Bybit across 7,757 reviews as of 2026-10-09, and of 53 sampled reviews that mention the card, the recurring themes are card cancellations after the 2026 programme change and account restrictions.
Who this suits: exchange users in Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Latin America who already hold balance on Bybit, who want a second or third card rather than their only card, and who are comfortable with the trade of paying a conversion fee for convenience. Who it does not suit: anyone whose income arrives in fiat and whose spending is planned down to the last tenner, anyone in the EEA, anyone who needs a card to be indistinguishable from a local one at a merchant that scrutinises foreign card types, and anyone for whom a sudden account freeze would be a crisis rather than an inconvenience.
If you fall in the second group, the honest advice is to read this page as research, not as a recommendation, and look at the alternatives near the end first.
Who they will give you the card to
The official help centre lists the card regions as: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Asia Pacific. If the country you select at sign-up is not on that list, Bybit says it “will register your interest” — which is a polite way of saying no.
Two exclusions matter enough to read twice. First, the cards page states: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Not restricted — prohibited. If you live in the EEA, this card is not an option and no amount of account history will change that. Second, Bybit’s restricted list for its fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card as such — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and it says Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. I could not find a card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens, and I could not find any published rule about citizenship versus residence, so I will not pretend to know how that edge is handled in practice. The rule the application actually applies is residence: the form asks for your Country of Residence. Which currency your card gets “depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification”.
I want to be direct about one thing here, because people search for it and I would rather you did not waste a weekend on it. Russian-language promotional guides circulating in 2026 advertise ways for Russian users to obtain the card through another country’s registration. Per dtf.ru and profinvestment.com, such schemes break the residence rule the application asks about, and they run straight into the restriction described above. They are unofficial, the card does not confirm them, and the downside is your account, not just your card. A separate, also unofficial, note: Bybit is reported by Forklog to conduct thorough checks of Russian clients and to follow “very strict rules” on sanctions — that report is older, and the exact line Bybit draws there is not published.
One more contradiction worth knowing about, so you do not read it elsewhere and think it is new information: a Bybit wiki page — AI-generated by its own disclaimer, dated 5 August 2026 — claims the card is available in 30+ countries including the EEA, the UK, the UAE and Turkey, and that Georgia and Kazakhstan are *not* listed. That contradicts the official region list above on every point. It is unofficial, it is wrong against the card’s own pages, and I would not plan anything around it.
How to get it
The path is short on paper, longer in practice. You choose your country of residence, verify your identity and residential address, and apply for the virtual card. After that a physical card can follow — a virtual card must be obtained first, and the physical card is not available in Peru. The rollout is described as phased, which in practice means the physical card may not appear for you straight away.
The verification bar is higher than for a normal exchange account. Identity Verification Level 1 is the minimum, and the card’s own documentation warns that “Bybit Card has more stringent requirements for Identity Verification” — so you may be asked to redo it even if you are already verified elsewhere on Bybit. You may also need proof of address from an eligible country or region, issued within the last 3 months. Bybit may decline any application at its discretion, and the official page lists no specific rejection reasons; a compliance rejection restricts you from using the Bybit Card service at all.
Expect extra questions depending on where you are. In AIFC: intended usage, employment status, source of income, annual income. In Argentina: PEP declaration, nationality, place of birth, occupation, CUIL. In Brazil: PEP declaration, nationality, CPF, monthly income, mother’s name, occupation. In Mexico: country of birth, occupation, CURP, RFC. In Peru: nationality, marital status, spouse’s name, occupation, address, PEP declaration. The pattern is the same everywhere: this card asks you to describe your income and your politics-adjacent status, and it asks at the region level, not once.
The AIFC card is the one soft spot: it “does not require any additional verification” for virtual activation. Elsewhere the virtual card review takes from minutes to up to 7 working days. Asia Pacific tier upgrade requests can take up to 7 business days. The minimum age is not stated on the public pages — cards of this kind are normally adult-only, but I will not fill that gap with a guess.
If the physical card is coming, two practical constraints. The shipping address must be in the same country as your residential address — no forwarding to a friend abroad — and delivery can take up to 30 days. The display name on the card is capped at 21 Latin characters, which is short enough to matter if your legal name is long. Asia Pacific and Australia need a residential-address check before the card is produced.
Here is the shape of what you actually receive, because “virtual and physical” hides more variation than it sounds like:
| Region | Network and card type | Card fiat currency | Validity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Argentina | Mastercard prepaid | ARS | 6 years |
| AIFC | Mastercard credit card | USD | 3 years |
| Georgia | Mastercard credit card | USD | 3 years |
| Kazakhstan | Mastercard credit card | USD | 3 years |
| Australia | Mastercard credit card | USD | 3 years |
| Mexico | Mastercard credit card | MXN | 5 years |
| Brazil | Visa prepaid | BRL | 5 years |
| Peru | Visa prepaid | PEN or USD | 5 years |
| Asia Pacific | Visa credit | USD | 3 years |
Note that “credit card” and “prepaid” here are the card’s own wording from the table. That distinction matters later, in the disputes section, because the legal protections attached to each are not the same everywhere.
Fees: what it really costs, including on a €4 coffee
The cost table is the single most useful page on the whole Bybit help centre, and also the one most likely to make you wince. Here are the numbers as published.

| Item | Fee or limit |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | None in all regions, “until further notice”; no annual or cancellation fee is listed with a value |
| Physical card issuance / replacement | Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD/USDT; Georgia 29,99 USDT; Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29,99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico: none |
| VIP waiver | No issuance or replacement fee for VIPs holding an Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific physical card |
| Crypto conversion | 0.9 % over the One-Click Sell rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico); 0.5 % Argentina; Peru not supported |
| FX fee | 2 % on top of the network rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico); 2 % “International Fee” on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; 7 % Argentina; 1.5 % Brazil; 1 % Peru |
| FX padding | 0 % (Australia group, Mexico); 5 % Argentina; 1 % Brazil, and the excess is refunded |
| ATM | 2 % after the first 100 USD monthly (Australia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific); Mexico 100 USD / 1,800 MXN; Argentina 2 % after 95,000 ARS; Brazil 2 % after 550 BRL |
| Annual fee | “Auto interest, no annual fees” per the cards page |
| Argentina taxes | VAT 21 % on foreign digital services; 30 % tax on foreign transactions; provincial gross-income tax 1 %–13.2 % |
Three ordinary payments, so the percentages become something you can feel.
A coffee in Tbilisi for 10 GEL, paid from a USDT balance. The crypto conversion fee is 0.9 % over the One-Click Sell rate, and you are not buying GEL — the card holds USD, so the merchant’s GEL price goes through the FX path: the 2 % FX fee on top of the network rate for Georgia. You have paid the 0.9 % conversion fee plus the 2 % FX fee before you have paid the network’s own conversion cost, and on a 10 GEL purchase that overhead is a meaningful slice of the price of the drink.
Dinner in Almaty costing 30,000 KZT, paid from USDT. Kazakhstan (AIFC) charges a 2 % “International Fee” on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD — the word “even” is doing real work there, because a domestic-looking purchase in dollars still pays it. Add 0.9 % conversion to the 2 % FX fee, on a larger number.
Groceries in Buenos Aires, the region with the most moving parts. Conversion is 0.5 %, the FX fee is 7 %, FX padding is 5 % with the excess refunded, and on top come VAT 21 % on foreign digital services, a 30 % tax on foreign transactions, and a provincial gross-income tax between 1 % and 13.2 %. I am not going to add those numbers up and call the result a total, partly because the interactions between them are exactly what I cannot model for you — but Argentina is not the region to test a crypto card in if your priority is predictability.
What I can tell you plainly: the FX fee is the one that bites, and it is why loading a fiat balance before you travel is better than converting at the till. Argentina, at 7 %, is in a different league from everyone else. And note what is *not* in the table: any deposit fee, who pays the blockchain network fee, or any fiat top-up fee is not stated on the public pages.
On limits, which are separate from fees but decide whether a card is usable at all:
| Region | Per transaction | Daily | Monthly | Annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia | N/A | 15,000 USD | 65,000 USD | 300,000 USD |
| Kazakhstan (AIFC) | 9,000 USD | 15,000 USD | 65,000 USD | 300,000 USD |
| Australia | 50,000 USD | 50,000 USD | 150,000 USD | 500,000 USD |
| Asia Pacific | 10,000 USD | 10,000 USD | 50,000 USD | 150,000 USD |
| Argentina | 1,000 USD | 5,000 USD | 10,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Brazil | N/A | 27,500 BRL | 137,500 BRL | 550,000 BRL |
| Mexico | N/A | 97,000 MXN | 145,000 MXN | 1,940,000 MXN |
| Peru | N/A | 1,000 USD | 5,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
ATM limits are tighter and move in steps. Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC): 10 withdrawals and 1,000 USD per 24 hours; 300 withdrawals and 10,000 USD per month; 2,500 and 100,000 USD per year. Australia is tiered: Level 1 gives 50 USD per 24 hours, 50 USD per month and 600 USD per year; Level 2 gives 5,000 / 15,000 / 75,000 USD. Only Asia Pacific limits can be raised, through reward tiers. Virtual and physical cards have separate limits in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Kazakhstan, and shared limits in Argentina, Brazil and Mexico — which in practice means testing your daily spend against whichever of the two you happen to be holding.
Top up: the card has no balance of its own, and that changes everything
This is the section people get wrong most often, so I will state it bluntly: the Bybit Card has no balance of its own. It draws on your Funding Account and your Flexible Easy Earn balance, spending fiat first. If the fiat in there is not enough, crypto is sold at the “Bybit One-Click Sell exchange rate plus a Bybit Card crypto conversion fee”.

So there is no “load the card” moment. You are not topping up a card; you are making sure the account underneath it has something to spend. Two routes: Buy Crypto inside Bybit, or a crypto deposit from another wallet into the Funding Account.
Supported assets are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM. The default debit order is USDT > USDC > GRAM > BTC > ETH > XRP, and you can reorder it in the Card Dashboard — worth doing once, because the default is not what everyone wants. If you hold mostly BTC and want it spent before your USDT, you have to change that yourself.
Minimum conversion amounts: 1 USD (Australia, Mexico, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific), 5,000 ARS (Argentina), 10 BRL (Brazil). Below that, the conversion will not happen.
Now the part that should stop you before you send anything, and I have no figure to soften it: the deposit networks are not disclosed. If you send USDT on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer is irreversible. It can be lost entirely or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. USDT exists on several networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and since February 2024 Circle has not supported USDC on Tron, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. One more thing that belongs in this section rather than the risk one: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card earns its 9 out of 10, and I want to give you the specifics rather than the adjectives.
You get a virtual card first and a physical card after it. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are available as follows: Georgia, Kazakhstan, AIFC, Argentina, Brazil and Peru get Apple Pay and Google Pay but not Samsung Pay; Australia gets all three; Asia Pacific and Mexico get Google Pay only. When you tokenise a card into a mobile wallet, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on the phone maker’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code — which is a genuine protection against someone photographing your card.
Where it works: the card’s own claim is acceptance at over 90 million Mastercard and Visa merchants. That is the network figure, not a Bybit-specific test result, and merchants are not equally enthusiastic. Address verification — where a shop compares the numeric parts of your billing address against issuer records — is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. Merchants can also look up your card’s issuer country and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from their own country. This is normal for a card issued in Georgia paying in Berlin, and no marketing page will warn you about it.
On legality: use of the card that breaks the law is prohibited and may lead to termination. Bybit does not publish a blocked merchant category list, so you cannot check in advance whether your usual merchant is restricted.
Then the rewards, which changed materially on 5 October 2026 and which you need to understand before you plan around them: from 2026-10-05 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback. Fiat-funded spending earns nothing. If your plan was to load fiat and spend it for the cashback rate, that plan ended in October.
| Tier | Cashback rate | Monthly cap | Monthly spend to unlock (non-VIP) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | 2.00 % | 5 USD | 0 |
| Beta | 2 % | 50 USD | 500 USD |
| Alpha | 4 % | 150 USD | 3,500 USD |
| Apex | 6 % | 250 USD | 9,500 USD |
| Omega | 8 % | 400 USD | 12,500 USD |
| Infinite | 10 % | 600 USD | 25,000 USD |
Points sit pending for 4 calendar days, then cashback arrives in USDT as points × 0.002, and Auto Cashback has to be switched on for any of it to happen. Tiers map to VIP levels: VIP 1–2 Beta, VIP 3 Alpha, VIP 4 and PRO 1 Apex, VIP 5 and PRO 2 Omega, Supreme VIP and PRO 3–5 Infinite. Asia Pacific also has its own limit tiers 1–3, where a non-VIP can move from Tier 1 to 2 and a VIP from Tier 2 to 3, and the Asia Pacific physical card requires Tier 2 or above. Pay Later instalments earn an extra 1 %. There is a welcome offer of 10 % cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, “100 % cashback on must-have subscriptions” for VIPs and Alpha and above, and a referral of 20 USDT or 10 USDT.
One last everyday detail: if an authorisation is declined, a hold on funds can stay for several days — typically up to 7. That is the sort of thing that turns a declined payment into a mysterious shortage in your balance a week later.
What can go wrong
The largest risk is not fraud, it is the account. Bybit’s own position: if a card application is rejected on compliance grounds, you are “restricted from using the Bybit Card service”. If your Bybit account is suspended, the card is not suspended — it simply starts failing at the till. User reports from September and October 2026 describe accounts restricted after small USDT transfers were flagged as an abnormal origin, which stops the card working. The mismatch between those two states — card alive, account dead — is worth sitting with.
The programme is also visibly in motion. An official page titled “Changes to Bybit Card Services in the EEA & CH” exists but showed no readable text when I checked. Rewards were cut to crypto-funded spending only in October 2026. Bybit changed its card programme in some countries in 2026 and withdrew newly issued physical cards, alongside EU cancellations. And a community report of a card closure put new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — that is a single unconfirmed secondary source, so I present it as an illustration of the pattern rather than a fact.
Who stands behind it is not fully visible. The App Store seller for the app is “Bybit Fintech Limited”, and cardholder terms exist for the regional programmes (Argentina, Mexico, Brazil “CBRL”, Australia, Asia Pacific, AIFC, “Pomelo”), but the issuing bank per region is not named on the pages I read. Two other answers are simply not stated on the public pages: what the dispute process looks like, and what support is available. I am not going to guess at either, and you should be sceptical of anyone who does.
On custody, the mechanism is plain: the funds sit in the Bybit Funding Account, the provider holds the credentials, and you are trusting them completely. Blockchain transfers are irreversible and a stolen private key has no recovery path. Custodial platforms have a real history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Bybit does publish safeguards — freeze and unfreeze in the app, 24/7 fraud monitoring, two-factor authentication required, with Google 2FA set at application — but whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured, in the sense an e-money institution in the EU must segregate or insure them, is not stated. Note that such safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits and would not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
The Trustpilot picture is worth reading once, carefully: 2.5 out of 5 across 7,757 reviews for Bybit as a whole, as of 2026-10-09, with 53 sampled reviews mentioning the card. That is a score for the exchange, not the card, and low scores on exchanges are often about withdrawals and support queues rather than card taps. But the two themes that do mention the card are the ones that matter here: cancellations after the programme change, and account restrictions.
Two category-level hazards that belong on this page rather than in the background. A declined card does not always mean money is available — the hold problem above. And cards in this category do get shut down: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, WaveCrest had all its Visa programmes suspended in Europe in 2018, and programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains.
What to take instead
I could not find much published detail on two of the three alternatives, which is itself a finding: if a card’s issuer, fees and funding route are not on official pages, you are being asked to trust before you have been told. Here is the honest comparison.
| Card | Score | Who can get it | Cost and fees | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; prohibited for EEA customers | Virtual issuance free; physical 29.99 USDT (Georgia, Kazakhstan), 29.99 USD (Australia); conversion 0.9 %; FX 2 % in Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia | 2 % to 10 % cashback in USDT, crypto-funded spending only since 2026-10-05 |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | All US states except Hawaii; no other countries | “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”; a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto at payment | Optional crypto rewards on every purchase, US users only, variable rate shown in the app |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated on an official page I could read | Not stated | Not stated |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1 %, Gold 1.8 %, Platinum 3.6 % (Bronze and Silver not stated) |
The Coinbase Card is the most fully documented of these, and the comparison is useful precisely because it is narrower. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. Funding is by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees. On cost it states “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement, and there are no Coinbase transaction fees — the cost is a spread applied when Coinbase buys, sells or trades the crypto at the moment of payment. Account opening follows the US PATRIOT Act identification rules. If you are in the United States and want a crypto-funded card with published fees, that is the better-documented option; if you are anywhere else, it is not available at all.
The young card and MSX, by contrast, I could not verify on official pages: not stated on who can get them, on the card type, on issuance cost, on fees, or on funding. MSX’s 6.4 is the joint-highest score in this set and I cannot tell you why from public material. The young card’s one documented feature is that its cashback is paid in YNG tokens rather than a stablecoin or fiat, at tier rates from 0.1 % to 3.6 % — a token that can fall as well as rise, which is a different proposition from cashback entirely.
The most useful comparison, though, is not between these cards. It is between the Bybit Card and an ordinary bank card with a modest fee, in a country where you can get one. Every percentage on this page exists because your money is being converted twice. If a bank card is available to you, the honest comparison is not 0.9 % versus 0 % — it is a card that works everywhere, is never restricted because a crypto transfer looked odd, and carries no conversion step at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bybit Card to you if four things are all true. You live in one of the card regions — Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia or one of the Latin American markets — and you are outside the EEA. You already keep balance on Bybit, so the funding question is a transfer you would have made anyway, not a new relationship. You want it as a working card rather than your only card, which means an account restriction costs you inconvenience instead of your ability to buy food. And you can live with a 0.9 % conversion and a 2 % FX fee, which at your spending level is a few tens of units a month and, at mine, was not worth arguing about.
I would not recommend it to you if you need it to be your primary card, if you are in the EEA, if you are in Argentina and predictability matters more to you than access, or if you plan to spend fiat rather than crypto — since since 5 October 2026 that earns nothing at all. I would also hold back if the idea of your spending being frozen because a transfer was flagged as an abnormal origin is unacceptable to you, and I would want to know your dispute rights before recommending it: they are not stated on the public pages, and “is it a prepaid card or a credit card” is not a distinction the marketing makes for you.
Finally, a thought on tax, offered as a fact about how the mechanism works rather than as advice. If your spending is funded from crypto, each payment is a disposal of a digital asset measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Whether that produces a reportable gain or loss is a question for a professional in your jurisdiction, and it is a question that exists because of how this card works, not because of anything particular to Bybit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bybit Card?
It is a payment card issued through the Bybit exchange that spends your crypto or a loaded fiat balance at ordinary shops, online and at ATMs. It has no balance of its own: it draws on your Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance, spending fiat first, and if that runs out it sells crypto at the One-Click Sell rate plus a 0.9 % conversion fee. You get a virtual card first, and a physical card after it, subject to regional rollout.
Is Bybit a bank?
No. Bybit is a crypto exchange, and the card is a payment product running on top of it. The app is published under the seller name “Bybit Fintech Limited”, and cardholder terms exist for several regional programmes, but the issuing bank per region is not named on the pages I could read. That is why I treat the reliability criterion conservatively: knowing who stands behind a card matters when something goes wrong.
Do I need KYC to get the card?
Yes, and more of it than a normal exchange account requires. Identity Verification Level 1 is the minimum, you may need proof of address from an eligible country issued within the last 3 months, and the documentation warns that requirements are “more stringent” for the card, so verification may have to be redone. Region-specific extras include income and employment questions in AIFC, and PEP declarations in Argentina, Brazil and Peru.
Which countries can get it?
Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. If your country of residence is not listed, Bybit says it “will register your interest”. The EEA is excluded outright: the cards page says all European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited. Bybit’s separate restricted list for fiat services includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States.
How much does it cost to use?
The virtual card is free to issue in all regions, and the cards page says “no annual fees”. The physical card costs 29.99 USD in Australia, 29,99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and nothing in Brazil or Mexico. On the spending side, crypto conversion is 0.9 % over the One-Click Sell rate, the FX fee is 2 % in Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Asia Pacific and Mexico, and ATMs cost 2 % after the first 100 USD a month.
How do I add it to Apple Wallet?
In the regions where it is supported, the wallet routes are simple. Apple Pay and Google Pay both work for Georgia, Kazakhstan, AIFC, Argentina, Brazil and Peru; Australia adds Samsung Pay; Asia Pacific and Mexico are Google Pay only. Tokenisation replaces your card number with a device-specific number in the Secure Element, so a photograph of the plastic card is not the risk people assume. The catch is that from 5 October 2026 cashback is earned only on crypto-funded transactions, so a card loaded with fiat earns none.
Is the card safe?
In the everyday sense, reasonably: freeze and unfreeze in the app, 24/7 fraud monitoring, two-factor authentication required, and tokenised mobile wallet payments with one-time codes. The larger exposure is structural, not technical. Your funds sit in the exchange’s custody, so you carry counterparty risk, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — the deposit networks are not even disclosed, so a transfer on the wrong network can be lost. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated.
Why was my card or account restricted?
Two different things produce similar symptoms, and Bybit describes them differently. If your card application was rejected on compliance grounds, you are restricted from using the Bybit Card service. If your Bybit account is suspended, the card is not suspended but its transactions fail. Separately, users in September and October 2026 reported restrictions after small USDT transfers were flagged as an abnormal origin. There are no published rejection reasons and no published appeal process on the pages I read.
Is Bybit Card worth it compared with Coinbase Card?
It depends on where you are. The Coinbase Card scores 6.4 and is fully documented: available in all US states except Hawaii, “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, funded by a linked bank account or paycheck deposit, with a spread applied when crypto is converted at payment. The Bybit Card also scores in that range but serves Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Latin America, where the Coinbase Card cannot be used at all — and costs 0.9 % conversion plus up to 7 % FX depending on region.
Can I withdraw cash from an ATM?
Yes, ATMs are available, at 2 % after the first 100 USD monthly in Australia, Georgia, Kazakhstan and Asia Pacific; 100 USD or 1,800 MXN in Mexico; 95,000 ARS in Argentina; and 550 BRL in Brazil. Limits are much tighter than spending limits: 10 withdrawals and 1,000 USD per 24 hours in Georgia and Kazakhstan, while Australia is tiered from 50 USD per month at Level 1 up to 5,000 / 15,000 / 75,000 USD at Level 2.
Exchange card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
