KuCard in practice: a Visa card for crypto holders inside the EEA
KuCard is a Visa debit card issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and reachable only through a KuCoin account. It spends crypto that you hold on that platform: the card converts a supported coin into euro, and the euro balance pays for things. In practice it is a prepaid card wearing a bank’s clothes — there is no credit, no overdraft, and no separate app beyond KuCoin’s own site and app.
I gave it 6.0 out of 10. That is not a failure; it is a card with one obvious job and several rough edges around it. The job is: you already live in the EEA, you already hold crypto on KuCoin, and you want to spend it at ordinary shops without opening a bank account or fighting a bank’s crypto policy. For you, this works and the fees are readable. For everyone else — anyone outside Europe, anyone without an EEA-issued ID, anyone who wants to move money back out, anyone who needs to know what their daily limit is before they plan a large purchase — it falls short at one of those points.
*Conditions described are current as of October 28, 2026.*
My mark out of 10, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Only citizens and residents of the EEA plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway; not available on Malta |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First virtual card free, further ones 9.90 euro, physical 9.90 euro (the first); euro payments free, other currencies 2 %, ATM in Europe 2 euro |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Main source is cryptocurrency on the KuCard account, USDT by default; no list of coins or networks published |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Wallester AS (Estonia, supervised by the Estonian FSA); almost no card complaints, one card-specific Trustpilot review, but complaints against the KuCoin exchange — withdrawal restrictions |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Visa, virtual card immediately and physical Chip&Pin; unofficially Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM 2 euro; the virtual card expires at the end of the month |
| Total | 6.0 / 10 | A competent way to spend crypto you already hold, inside one region’s rules |
The row that costs it most points is top-ups. Everything else about how the card is funded is upstream of a decision the card does not make: which coins, on which networks, with what minimum. That is not stated on the card’s public pages, and it is the first thing I would ask before loading anything.
Who they will issue the card to
The rule is narrow and it is a rule about documents, not about where you happen to live. The terms state the card is “only available to citizens and residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, and list the permitted jurisdictions as the EU states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The help page adds one exclusion: not available on Malta. You also need an EEA-issued ID — a passport or national identity card from an EEA country. A residence permit issued elsewhere does not substitute for it.
So the honest answer to “is KuCard available in my country” has three parts. If you are in the EEA, in Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway, and you hold a document issued there, you are inside the rule. If you live in one of those places but your citizenship is elsewhere, the citizenship wording still covers you only if you are also a resident — but the ID requirement is separate and stricter. If you live anywhere else, the card is not for you at all, and no fee will change that.
One detail worth knowing before you apply: this is not a case where a broker or agent can widen the net. The document requirement is EEA-issued, full stop.
How to get it
You need a valid KuCoin EU account before any of this starts. The sequence is short: open the KuCoin EU account, complete full KYC with a supported EEA-issued identity document, get your address verified, then apply for a virtual or physical card inside the platform. The age floor is 18.
KYC here is a single level, not a ladder: full identity verification with an EEA-issued ID or passport, address verified, 18 or older. There is no lighter tier that gets you a card without the documents. The published reasons an application gets rejected are worth reading twice, because most of them are avoidable and one of them is about money rather than identity: invalid phone number, incorrect name or date of birth, an invalid 3-D Secure password, insufficient balance for the fee, or risk control. Processing time is not stated on the card’s public pages.
The card itself is a Visa debit card in two forms. The virtual card is usable at once, but it expires at the end of the month and must be reapplied — plan your month around that rather than assuming it behaves like a permanent card. The physical card is Chip&Pin. You can hold a maximum of five cards.
The physical card is posted to the address you give, under Terms 5.5, and you activate it in the KuCoin site or app. There is an express delivery option at 30 euro per card; replacing a lost card costs 9.90 euro. Standard delivery time and its cost are not stated. Activation happens in the KuCoin app — there is no separate KuCard app, which is convenient if you already have KuCoin open and slightly annoying if you were expecting a card-specific one.
Fees: what a KuCard payment really costs
Here is the honest part. The card publishes a fee schedule, and it is short and legible, which is more than many cards in this category manage. But the headline numbers are not the whole bill, because a “conversion spread” and third-party fees sit on top of the listed ones.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| First virtual card | Free |
| Further virtual card | 9.90 euro (fee schedule) / 9.99 euro (older support article) |
| Physical card | 9.90 euro (the first) / 19.90 euro — ambiguous as written |
| Replacement card | 9.90 euro |
| Cancellation | Free |
| Express delivery | 30 euro per card |
| Euro payments | Free |
| Non-euro payments | 2 % of the transaction total |
| ATM withdrawal in Europe | 2 euro per withdrawal |
| ATM withdrawal outside Europe | 2 % of the transaction total plus 2 euro |
| Declined payment (insufficient funds) | Free |
| Overdraft | Not available |
| Spending and ATM limits | No figures published |
Three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply to each. First: a 40 euro grocery shop in Amsterdam, paid with the virtual card. That is free — euro transactions are free, the crypto conversion happened when the balance was loaded. Second: a 40 euro dinner in Prague paid in Czech koruna from a euro balance. That is 2 % of the transaction total, so 0.80 euro on top of the 40, plus whatever the shop’s own currency handling does to the amount you are actually charged. Third: 100 euro in cash from an ATM in Berlin. Two euro, and the ATM operator may add fees of its own on top.
Two things that are easy to miss in that table. The 9.90 versus 9.99 euro figure for further virtual cards differs between the fee schedule and an older support article, and the physical-card fee is written as 9.90 euro for the first card and 19.90 euro in a way that leaves the second card ambiguous. Neither is a scandal; both are reasons to check the fee schedule in front of you before ordering a second card rather than assuming.
The same ambiguity runs through the terms themselves. The terms refer to a Fee Schedule that is not reproduced in them, and describe foreign-use fees as “as we may reasonably prescribe” — that is a phrase that leaves room for the number to be set later. Local fees, third-party fees, network fees, a conversion spread and IOF fees may all apply on top of the headline 2 %. And the crypto-to-euro rate is set by KuCoin alone; Terms 10.2 say it is “solely determined by” them. If the spread matters to you, that is the one line to read closely.
Refund values are in euro, at the euro amount at the time of the transaction, and fees are not refundable.
How to Top up the card
The card is funded from supported cryptocurrency held in your KuCoin account. The default spending currency is USDT. That is the whole of the official description: no list of coins, no list of networks, no minimum.

This is where I have the most reservations, and they are about missing information rather than bad information. The fee schedule has no top-up fee row, and “a conversion spread” may apply — so topping up is not obviously free, it is merely not itemised. Fiat top-ups, minimum top-up amounts and who pays the network fee for a deposit are all not stated.
Practically, that means the sequence runs: crypto sits in your KuCoin account, you transfer or convert what the card account accepts, it becomes a euro balance, and the card spends that balance. The step you cannot plan from the public pages is which coins and which chains count. Send a coin on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — that deposit can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. This is not a KuCard peculiarity, it is how transfers work, but it lands on you here because the list you would check it against is not published.
What you can withdraw is the other half of the same question. Moving card balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated. What is stated: cancelling a card is free; refunds always come back as fiat; an unactivated card may be closed after three months with no refund of service charges; and a card may be terminated after four consecutive months closed or blocked, or six months of no use. What happens to a remaining balance on closure is not stated. Read that as one more open question rather than a warning — but if you are holding a meaningful balance, ask before you close anything.
Paying with it day to day
Everyday use is the strongest part of this card, which is why it scores 8 out of 10 on that criterion. It is Visa, so it works at Visa-accepting terminals and for purchases that are not prohibited by law. There is no merchant category list published, which means no published rule about gambling or similar categories — but note that issuers commonly restrict certain merchant category codes on prepaid cards by policy, and any such list here is unpublished. If a payment is ever declined for category reasons, that is the most likely reason and you will not see it in advance.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported — but I should be straight about the source. That is unofficial, reported by SpendNode in October 2026, with PYMNTS saying the same back in 2024. The card’s own pages do not state it. Third-party wallets are convenient enough that you will probably add the card to one within a week of receiving it; just do it knowing the confirmation came from outside the card.
The rewards side is weaker and also unofficial. The terms mention only “different benefits or rewards” from time to time, with no rates, and there is a separate Benefits and Rewards article I did not read. An unofficial EU programme by monthly eligible spend has been described as L0 below 500 USDC at 1 % capped at 5 USDC, L1 500–1,000 at 1.5 % capped at 15, L2 1,000–3,000 at 2 % capped at 30, L3 3,000–7,000 at 3 % capped at 60, L4 7,000–15,000 at 4 % capped at 90, L5 15,000–30,000 at 6 % capped at 135, and L6 30,000+ at 8 % capped at 200 USDC, with points available after 15 days, expiring after 90 days, and 1,000 points equal to 1 USDC. SpendNode’s own note is that KuCoin has no single published reward table. Treat the whole ladder as a description of a programme that may change without notice. The same source mentions a monthly inactivity fee of 2 euro on a virtual card after 90 days without a transaction — also unofficial, and also exactly the sort of small charge that catches people out.
Disputes are governed by terms rather than by goodwill, and one deadline stands out. Unauthorised transactions must be reported “within 60 days of the date of the transaction” or they are treated as correct. That is a long window, but it is a window with an edge, and a card reported after the deadline gets no argument. Refunds are in fiat, valued at the euro amount at the time of the transaction; refund processing time is not stated.
What can go wrong
The card itself has an unusually thin complaint record, and I want to separate that from the platform behind it. No official incident found for KuCard, no Reddit threads found, and no complaints found for the card as a product. The issuer is Wallester AS, an Estonian company (registration 11812882), a Visa principal member supervised by the Estonian FSA, and described by Wallester as KuCoin’s card-issuing partner for Visa cards in the EU. No licence loss or fine found. The fee schedule page is shown as last updated 29 September 2026.
The risk sits elsewhere. KuCoin operates the platform and UAB EURLITA (Lithuania) operates the virtual currency exchange and deposit side. The card is funded from an account on that platform — an exchange account, custodial in practice, though the terms never use that word. That distinction matters more than it sounds. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have a real record of this going wrong — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). None of those is KuCoin, and I am not predicting any of them. The point is the shape of the exposure, which is identical for every custodial platform.
What you should do about it is boring and specific. Freeze the card and the account immediately on the platform if it is lost or stolen — the card’s own instruction is to freeze your account there. Strong authentication with two independent elements is required, though two-factor authentication is not specifically mentioned by name and insurance is not stated. Liability for unauthorised use is capped at 50 euro unless there was fraud or gross negligence on your side.
Then the exchange-level record. On the KuCoin Trustpilot profile — an exchange profile, not card-only, read on 20 October 2026 — there is no TrustScore shown (“unavailable due to a breach of our guidelines”), 1,597 reviews and 78 % one-star. The themes cluster around withdrawal and account restrictions (August–October 2026), dormancy fees and repeated ID demands to log in (September–October 2026), P2P disputes (August–September 2026) and deposits not credited (June–September 2026). Card-specific, there is exactly one review: July 2026, about $120 stuck after the card on file expired, with KuCoin asking for an old-bank PDF statement, the reviewer saying about 110 euro in fees, and slow replies. One review proves nothing, but its shape — funds held while documents are requested — is the shape that matters.
Help exists: a Help Center and a “Submit a Ticket” on KuCoin EU, with help articles that exist in Russian. Chat, Telegram channel and support hours are not stated, which matters precisely because of the freezing-account pattern above.
Regulation framing, briefly, because it explains the shape of the paperwork. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation and took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs you can check a provider against. And a card is regulated separately from the crypto side — it is a payment service under e-money and payments law — so a card like this often rests on two licences. That is why KYC feels repetitive: in the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. If it cannot be completed, rules require the institution to hold back the transaction or, where necessary, end the relationship. Nationality is screened separately from residence because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth, not just your address.
What to take instead
Two things make KuCard hard to compare directly: the alternatives below are mostly not transparent on the basics. Young Card, MSX and Bybit Card all score close to KuCard, but where their official pages are silent, I am not going to fill the gap with guesses. What each is honestly best at is what I can say.
Bybit Card scores 6.0 out of 10 — the same as KuCard, and the comparison is instructive mainly because it is built for the opposite side of the world. Its card regions are Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and the cards page says plainly: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” If you are reading this from Europe, that closes it. Two more things shape the comparison even so. Its physical card costs vary enormously by region — Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia 29.99 USDT, Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, Brazil and Mexico none, with VIPs holding an Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific physical card paying no issuance or replacement fee. And its rewards are far more elaborate: a tier ladder from Base at 2.00 % capped at 5 USD up to Infinite at 10 % capped at 600 USD, with unlock thresholds from 0 to 25,000 USD, points pending 4 calendar days, cashback in USDT at points × 0.002. Crucially, from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback — fiat-funded spending does not.
| KuCard | Bybit Card | Young Card | MSX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.0 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 |
| Who can get it | EEA citizens and residents, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway; not Malta | EEA participation strictly prohibited | Not stated | Not stated on an official page I could read |
| Card type | Visa debit, virtual and Chip&Pin physical | Virtual and physical; networks and card type vary by region | Not stated officially | Not stated officially |
| Issuance fee | First virtual free; further 9.90 euro; physical 9.90 euro for the first | Virtual free in all regions; physical varies, 0–29.99 | Not stated officially | Not stated |
| Currency conversion | Crypto to euro at a rate set by KuCoin | 0.9 % over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5 % Argentina | Not stated | Not stated |
| Foreign currency fee | 2 % of the transaction total | 2 % on top of the network rate in most regions; up to 7 % Argentina | Not stated | Not stated |
| Rewards | Unofficial spend ladder; terms mention only “benefits or rewards” | Tiered cashback on crypto-funded spending only | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1 %, Gold 1.8 %, Platinum 3.6 % (Bronze, Silver not stated) | Not stated |
| Spending limits | No figures published | Not stated here | Not stated | Not stated |
Young Card scores 5.7 out of 10 and has the one distinctive thing: cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate that depends on your Club tier — Essential 0.1 %, Gold 1.8 %, Platinum 3.6 %, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Everything else about eligibility, card form and fees is not stated on the pages I could read. If token-denominated cashback appeals to you, it is worth a look; if you want to know what you pay for the card, it is not yet answerable from what is published.
MSX scores 6.4 out of 10, the highest here, but on my reading of its public pages it is the least documented: who can get it, what the card is, what it costs and how it is funded are all not stated on an official page I could read. I would not read that as a warning sign and also would not read it as a recommendation.
If you are outside the EEA entirely, the honest alternative is not another crypto card — it is a card from an issuer in your own region, funded the ordinary way.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend KuCard to you if all three of these are true: you live in the EEA (or Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway) with an EEA-issued ID, you already hold and use KuCoin and are comfortable leaving funds on a custodial exchange, and you want a simple euro-spending card with euro payments free and a 2 % foreign-currency fee you can actually calculate in your head.
I would steer you away if any of these apply. You need to move money back out — withdrawal is not stated. You plan large purchases — no spending or ATM limits are published, and one unofficial source states KuCoin publishes no universal KuCard spending and ATM limit table. You want a card that lasts — the virtual card expires at the end of the month and must be reapplied. You are outside the EEA, or in Malta, or without an EEA-issued document. You want to know exactly what a top-up costs — no top-up fee row is published and a conversion spread may apply. Or you want to be certain nothing can ever be held up by a compliance check, which no custodial card can promise.
The card is not trying to be a bank. It is a spending tool for one region, one exchange and one currency, and within those walls it does a competent job with fees you can read and an issuer with a real licence behind it. That is a 6 out of 10 in a category where many cards never publish a fee schedule at all.
Frequently asked questions
What is KuCard?
KuCard is a Visa debit card issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and available only through a KuCoin account. It converts supported cryptocurrency held on that platform into a euro balance and spends that balance at ordinary Visa-accepting merchants. It behaves much like a prepaid card: no credit, no overdraft, and no ability to overdraw. The card exists in a virtual form usable immediately and a physical Chip&Pin form.
Is KuCard a bank?
No. The issuer is Wallester AS, an Estonian company with Visa principal membership supervised by the Estonian FSA, and the platform operator is KuCoin, with UAB EURLITA in Lithuania operating the virtual currency exchange and deposit side. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a product like this usually rests on two licences rather than one bank. That is worth holding in mind: your balance sits with a payment and exchange provider, not with a deposit-taking bank.
Who owns KuCard?
The card programme belongs to Wallester AS, registration 11812882 in Estonia, which Wallester describes as KuCoin’s card-issuing partner for Visa cards in the EU. KuCoin operates the platform and markets the card. So there are three parties with a role: the network routes the payments, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is effectively the front end you interact with.
Can I get a KuCard card in my country?
Only if you are a citizen or resident of the European Economic Area, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway, and you hold an EEA-issued identity document. The help page adds that the card is not available on Malta. There is no broker, agent or fee that changes this. Citizenship and residence are named separately from the document requirement, which is the part people most often misread.
How do I apply for a KuCard card?
You need a valid KuCoin EU account first. Then: open the account, complete full KYC with a supported EEA-issued identity document, get your address verified, and apply for a virtual or physical card inside the platform. You must be 18 or older. Published rejection reasons are an invalid phone number, a wrong name or date of birth, an invalid 3-D Secure password, insufficient balance for the fee, and risk control.
Does KuCard require KYC?
Yes, and there is no lighter version of it. There is a single verification level: full KYC with an EEA-issued ID or passport, plus address verification, plus 18+. This is standard in the EU — due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person status, and if it cannot be completed the institution must hold back or end the relationship. That is why accounts sometimes freeze pending documents.
How do I top up KuCard, and which coins work?
The card is funded from supported cryptocurrency in your KuCard account, with USDT as the default spending currency. The card’s public pages do not list which coins or which networks are accepted, and no top-up fee row or minimum is published, though a conversion spread may apply. That matters practically: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on an unsupported network or to an address of another network can be lost or need manual recovery.
Is the KuCard card free?
Partly. The first virtual card is free and euro payments cost nothing, but a further virtual card is 9.90 euro (an older support article says 9.99), a physical card is 9.90 euro for the first with the later figure written ambiguously as 19.90, replacement is 9.90 euro and express delivery is 30 euro. A declined payment for insufficient funds is free, there is no overdraft, and an unofficial source mentions a monthly inactivity fee of 2 euro on a virtual card after 90 days without a transaction.
Can I use KuCard card in Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both reported as supported, but I cannot confirm that from the card’s own pages — it comes from third-party sources (SpendNode in October 2026, with PYMNTS saying the same in 2024), so treat it as unofficial. The card is a Visa, so tokenised mobile wallets are the normal route, and Visa also lets the issuer restrict a tokenised number for specific channels.
Is KuCard safe, and what happens if I lose it?
Freeze your account immediately on the platform — that is the card’s own instruction for a lost or stolen card. Strong authentication with two independent elements is required, and liability for unauthorised use is capped at 50 euro unless there was fraud or gross negligence on your part. The wider risk is custody: funds sit on a custodial exchange account, which carries counterparty and hack risk, and you should report unauthorised transactions within 60 days of the transaction date or they are treated as correct.
Exchange card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
