Walme is a virtual card that spends stablecoins, priced per transaction, with an issuer it does not name
Walme is a virtual card that turns stablecoin balances into ordinary card payments, and on the evidence of its own public pages it is a young, small product with a strong top-up story and a thin one everywhere else. My score is 5.8 out of 10. If you already hold USDT or USDC, you want a card that lives in your phone, and you can live without plastic, cash or bank rails, the mechanics here are genuinely good: three networks, no documents, a two-year virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay. If instead you need a bank, a card that works everywhere, or proof of who is behind the money, this is not that product — and the absence is stated, not inferred.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10
Walme sits in the middle of a very crowded field, and its strengths and weaknesses are unusually lopsided. The top-up side is the best thing here. The issuing side is the problem: Walme does not name its legal entity or its card issuer on its official pages, ships no physical card, lists its Google Play app as “Coming Soon”, and has no review history at all — no Trustpilot page was found, and a search for reviews turned up nothing. A card without a review history is not automatically a bad card. It is a card nobody has publicly tested.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | “Card availability may vary by region” — the list is not published; unofficial reports say merchant transactions are blocked in several countries |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Issuance $10, top-up 3 %, $0.25 per transaction, $0.25 per cancellation, 0.4 % per successful transaction, $30 minimum top-up |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL; the WLM token is also usable |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Legal entity and issuer are not named on the official pages; no complaints or reviews found; the card was presented in November 2025 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual card valid 2 years, Apple Pay and Google Pay; no plastic, ATM not disclosed, Google Play app marked “Coming Soon” |
Total: 5.8 / 10.
For you, the deciding question is not “how good is this card” but “what am I substituting for a bank”. If a conventional bank card is hard for you to open — because of where you live, what documents you can produce, or how you are paid — then a card that takes stablecoins on three networks is a real answer, and the absence of a plastic card stops mattering the moment you add it to a phone wallet. If you want a banking relationship, this does not create one.
Will they give you the card?
Officially, Walme says only this: “Card availability may vary by region.” That is the whole eligibility statement on the public pages. There is no country list, no explanation of what varies, and no criteria published.
Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card: a Walme team reply on Product Hunt lists countries where merchant transactions are blocked for regulatory reasons, including Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. Take that for what it is — a reply in a launch thread, not a policy document — but note that it implies the opposite of what you might hope. A card that blocks a handful of named countries is a card that is actively screening jurisdictions somewhere.
What this means for you in practice: do not read “no country list” as “everywhere”. Assume the opposite. Before you commit money, find out what happens to your specific country, and do it by asking, not by depositing. A card that turns out to be unavailable after you have transferred $30 to a stablecoin address is a problem with no clean undo, because blockchain transfers are irreversible — the network cannot reverse a deposit, and support recovery is manual and not guaranteed. That is not a scare tactic; it is the ordinary failure mode of this whole category.
How to get it
Walme is a virtual card, and it does not ask for documents. There is no document upload step and no stated identity verification level — the card’s public pages simply do not say, so I cannot tell you whether verification happens later, at a threshold, or never. Treat “no documents” as a description of the signup, not as a promise about the whole life of the account.
- Card type: virtual only.
- Validity: 2 years.
- Documents: none required.
- Identity verification levels: not stated.
Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card: the card is described as a virtual Mastercard, per stablecoininsider.org in November 2025.
One practical note about delivery that is easy to misread: because the card is virtual, there is nothing to be posted. But there are two places your card number actually has to land — your phone’s wallet app, and wherever you enter card details online. The card’s own pages do not spell out the activation steps, and the Google Play listing is still marked “Coming Soon” while the web app at app.walme.io is live. For someone deciding between cards today, that matters: an app you cannot install from the store is an app you will be opening in a mobile browser, with browser notifications instead of push alerts.
Fees: what it really costs
Walme’s pricing is per transaction, and the headline numbers are on its public pages. This is the part of the review where the maths is yours to do, because every purchase is charged twice — once to move value in, and once to spend it.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | $10 |
| Top-up fee | 3 % |
| Per transaction | $0.25 |
| Cancellation | $0.25 |
| Successful transaction | 0.4 % |
| Minimum top-up | $30 |
| ATM fee | ATM limits exist; fee not stated |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 |
| Per-day limit | $500,000 |
| Monthly limit | No monthly limit |
| Tiers | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
Two or three everyday payments, so the fees stop being abstract:
- A $30 grocery shop. The top-up that funds it costs 3 % — $0.90 — on a $30 minimum. The purchase itself carries $0.25 per transaction plus 0.4 % on a successful payment, about $0.12. That is roughly $1.27 of fees on $30 of shopping, close to four percent, before you count any cost of moving the stablecoin to the deposit address.
- A small payment, twice a week. That is over $26 a year in per-transaction charges alone, plus the percentage fee. Small purchases are where a flat per-transaction fee bites hardest: the percentage fee rounds down toward nothing while the fixed fee does not.
- A $900 flight. 0.4 % is $3.60 and the flat $0.25 is almost invisible. This is the shape of payment Walme’s fees are designed for — large purchases — and the shape that hurts most is the one most of us make most often.
Reduced fees are offered for holders of the WLM token. That is a private detail worth flagging rather than a discount I can price for you: a fee tier tied to your own token holdings means part of your cost depends on a token whose value I have no information about, and I will not pretend otherwise.
The 3 % top-up fee is the one to sit with. You pay it every single time you move value in, and it is charged on the amount you top up, not on what you spend. If you top up small amounts often, that 3 % is the dominant cost of the whole relationship.
How to top it up
Top-up is where Walme scores highest and where it is hardest to get wrong, if you pay attention to one thing: the network.
- Top up in USDT or USDC.
- Supported networks: TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL.
- Minimum top-up: $30.
- Top-up fee: 3 %.
- Crypto is converted to fiat at the point of purchase.
- The WLM token is also usable.
Unofficial, and not confirmed by the card: per stablecoininsider.org in November 2025, top-ups are via USDT over TRC20 or ERC20.
Here is the part that catches people, and it catches everybody eventually. USDT and USDC are two different tokens that exist on many networks, and picking the wrong one is the single most common way a top-up disappears. On Ethereum, transaction fees are gas, paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot send. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, which means “USDC over TRC-20” is not a native option: if you send USDC on that network expecting it to arrive natively, you are in for a support conversation rather than a deposit.
Then there is the general rule for this category, and it is the one I would repeat to anyone: a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or require manual recovery, with no guarantee. Check the network twice. Check the address twice. A blockchain has no customer service department.
Paying with it every day
Walme is a virtual card, so the practical daily question is not “where do I swipe it” but “what does it plug into”.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported.
- The card is virtual, with no physical version.
- Card valid 2 years.
Apple Pay is the more useful of the two in practice. It replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, not on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time code — which means a stored number cannot simply be copied and reused from somewhere else. Google Pay works on the same principle through tokenisation, and an issuer can restrict a tokenised number to phone use only, or block it entirely on websites or magnetic stripe.
Where this gets less comfortable is online. Address verification — the automatic comparison of the street number and postal code you type against the issuer’s records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. That produces declines that look like the shop is refusing you and are actually the system failing to check your address. Combined with the general tendency of merchants to look at a card’s issuing country, some shops will treat a Walme card as foreign no matter how legitimate the balance is. Budget for the occasional failed payment, and keep a second way to pay.
Two everyday features are simply not stated by the card: whether there is any rewards or cashback, and how disputes work when a payment goes wrong. Those are not footnotes. A card with no published dispute process is a card where you should keep receipts, because you have nothing else.
What can go wrong
The honest list of risks here is long, and most of it is the ordinary risk of this category rather than anything specific to Walme.
- You cannot check who is behind it. The legal entity and the card issuer are not stated on Walme’s official pages. That is unusual, and it means you are trusting a brand whose corporate structure you cannot name.
- Custodial or not — nobody agrees. Unofficial sources disagree. One article claims the product is non-custodial with two-factor authentication and fraud monitoring; the Walme GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards. I am not going to pick a winner. Both readings are out there, and the difference between them is enormous: with a self-custody-linked card your funds stay in your wallet until you pay, and you carry the risk of key loss and phishing; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely.
- Nobody has reviewed it publicly. No complaints were found and no reviews exist that I could locate; there is no Trustpilot page. The card was presented in November 2025, with early activations at Web Summit Lisbon and a waitlist, per an unofficial report of an article dated 19 November 2025.
- Programmes close. Card programmes are not permanent. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When a programme ends, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. A 2026 closure reported by a single unconfirmed secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026.
- A decline can still cost you. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that lingers for several days — typically up to seven.
- Disputes and chargebacks are unstated. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. Walme does not publish how one works here. Prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed, and under 3-D Secure liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift away from the merchant.
- Stablecoins are not risk-free. They aim to hold a stable value but, as the BIS put it in July 2025, they are not necessarily stable; about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these assets are not censorship-proof in either direction.
What I would not do with a card like this is treat it as a place to hold money you need next month. The pattern is consistent across the category: a provider holds or converts the balance, the balance is exposed to a provider that can fail, be suspended, or freeze, and your recovery path is a support ticket.
What to take instead
There are other crypto cards, and comparing them is mostly a comparison of what each one refuses to tell you. All three below scored lower in my assessment than Walme, and all three are worth reading next to it.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost | Top-up | Main caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walme | 5.8 / 10 | Virtual, 2 years, described unofficial as virtual Mastercard | $10 issuance, 3 % top-up, $0.25 per transaction, 0.4 % per successful payment | USDT and USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL; WLM | Issuer and legal entity not stated |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no list or exclusions; app listing is Naira-focused |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Virtual card creation free; monthly fee not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Aimed at Nigeria; fees not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid card, network not stated; balance in USD or EUR | No fees listed | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated | “176 countries” describes acceptance, not eligibility |
Cardex has the widest apparent reach and the most fee opacity: it converts crypto to fiat in real time at the moment of payment and says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans exchange rates and picks the best one, without stating a percentage. CardFlow’s headline is speed — a virtual USD Mastercard in about 3 minutes, free to create — and its limits are Nigeria-shaped. HyperCard accepts deposits across 38-plus native networks by Circle’s own count of USDC support, though the card’s own page does not name its network; the “176 countries” line is about where the card is accepted, not who can hold one.
Read the “not stated” columns as the real content of that table. A card that publishes no fee percentage is a card whose cost you find out at the till.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Walme to someone who is already holding USDT or USDC on Tron, Ethereum or Solana, has decided a conventional card is not available or not workable for them, and treats this strictly as a payment tool rather than as a place to keep money. For that person it is a fair deal: three networks, no documents, a two-year card, mobile wallets, and per-transaction fees that stay out of the way on anything sizeable.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose income arrives in crypto and whose bills are paid from it without a buffer. The flat $0.25 per transaction punishes small daily spending, the 3 % top-up fee is charged every time you fund it, the card’s own pages do not name the issuer, and no publicly confirmed user has yet written about what happens when something goes wrong.
Two things would move my score. A named legal entity and issuer on the official pages, with something to check in a register. And a working app store listing with a dispute process described. Neither is a technical question; both are questions of whether the people behind this card expect to still be here in a few years. I would want to see one before I recommended it to a friend.
Frequently asked questions
What is Walme card?
Walme is a virtual payment card that lets you spend a stablecoin balance as ordinary card purchases. You load it with USDT or USDC across the TRC-20, ERC-20, SOL networks — and optionally the WLM token — and the crypto is converted to fiat at the point of purchase. There is no physical version; the card lives in your phone through Apple Pay or Google Pay, or in your browser. It is presented as a two-year virtual card, described unofficial as a virtual Mastercard.
How does the Walme card work?
You top up, then spend. The card draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account, which is how most crypto cards work: the balance is converted and loaded, and the card can spend only what is loaded, so it cannot overdraw. Walme’s web app is at app.walme.io, though its Google Play listing is still marked “Coming Soon” and ratings are not available. The card’s public pages do not set out the activation steps in detail.
Is Walme a bank?
No — not on the published evidence. Walme’s official pages do not name a legal entity or a card issuer, which is the opposite of what a regulated provider usually leads with. What that means for you is that you cannot check who stands behind the balance, and you cannot verify them in a public register from the card’s own site alone. Treat Walme as a financial brand with an unstated corporate structure, not as an institution.
Who owns Walme?
The public pages say only that the product is Walme. The company behind it is not identified on the official pages — no registered entity, no issuer, no named parent. This is the single largest gap in the product and the reason I scored reliability at 5 out of 10. Because nobody is publicly behind the name, you also cannot tell how long the operation has existed or who is behind it.
Does the Walme card require KYC?
Walme says its virtual card requires no documents, and it does not state any identity verification levels — so the public pages are silent on whether checks happen later, at a threshold, or never. Unofficial sources disagree here too: one article describes a non-custodial system with 2FA and fraud monitoring, while the Walme GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards. Expect to be asked for verification at some point in normal operation, and treat that as normal.
How do I top up the Walme card?
Send USDT or USDC to the card’s deposit address, choosing the network it supports: TRC-20, ERC-20 or SOL. The minimum is $30 and the top-up fee is 3 %. Check the network twice before you confirm — a transfer on an unsupported network, or to another network’s address, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum you also need a little ETH for gas, since fees there are paid only in ETH.
Is Walme card free?
No. Issuance is $10, and the running costs are a 3 % fee on every top-up, $0.25 per transaction, $0.25 per cancellation, and 0.4 % on each successful payment. Reduced fees are offered to WLM token holders. Work the numbers on your own spending: a $30 top-up costs $0.90 in the top-up fee alone, before anything is spent.
Is Walme card safe?
I cannot tell you that, and I would not. No security detail is stated officially, no complaints or reviews were found, there is no Trustpilot page, and the custodial-versus-self-custody question is answered differently by different unofficial sources. What is knowable is the category’s baseline: with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely, while a self-custody-linked card leaves you carrying the risk of key loss and phishing.
Can I use the Walme card in my country?
Ask before you send money, because the card’s own statement is a single line: “Card availability may vary by region,” with no list. Unofficial, from a Walme team reply on Product Hunt, merchant transactions are blocked in several countries including Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. That reply is not a published policy, and availability is not the same as acceptance — shops may still decline a foreign-issued card.
How do I withdraw money from Walme, and is it worth it?
The card’s pages do not state whether withdrawals are available or on what terms, so I will not guess. On value: the fees are designed for larger payments, where 0.4 % is a sensible price, and they are punishing on small ones, where a flat $0.25 dominates. If you pay a small amount twice a week, the fixed fee alone is over $26 a year. CardFlow is worth a look if speed and a free virtual card matter more to you than network choice.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
