Stella Card Review: A Crypto Visa With Quietly Undisclosed Costs
Stella is a crypto Visa card aimed squarely at people who hold Bitcoin, Ethereum or stablecoins and want to spend that balance the way they would spend a bank balance — online, in shops, and, unusually for this category, at cash machines and through Alipay and WeChat Pay. On everyday usefulness it does well. On everything else — who is behind it, what it charges, where it works — the public pages are unusually quiet, and what you can piece together from third-party sources is not reassuring. My score is 6.5 out of 10.
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.5 / 10, strong daily use, thin disclosure
The single most useful thing about Stella is that it behaves like an ordinary payment card in an inconvenient part of the world: Visa acceptance, a virtual card you can add to a phone wallet immediately, a physical card, ATM withdrawals, and links to Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay. That combination is rarer in the crypto-card category than it sounds, and it is why the everyday-use and top-up marks come out so high. If your problem is “I have crypto, I need to pay for things,” the mechanics work.
The problem is everything the card does not tell you. The official site does not state which countries are served, does not state its fees, does not state its limits, does not state which coins and networks it accepts, does not state how long a physical card takes to arrive, does not state the licensing position, and does not name the bank that actually issues the card. Almost every number in this review that looks concrete comes from unofficial sources and is marked as such. That is not the same as the card being bad. It means you are being asked to sign up and hand over identity documents based on what you can find out about the company from outside it.
Who does it suit? You, if you already hold crypto, you are comfortable with a custodial wallet, you want Visa plus Alipay and WeChat Pay, and you treat the card balance as spendable cash rather than as savings. Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is knowing exactly what a payment will cost before they make it; anyone who needs a card they can rely on for payroll or a fixed bill; anyone who wants to hold their own keys; and anyone who needs a named, licensed, well-documented issuer. The audience note is blunt — this is a card for crypto holders who want Visa with ATM and Alipay support, not a bank account, and not a general payment card.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Countries are not named officially; unofficial sources say available in 57 countries, restricted in 49 |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed officially; unofficial sources report no annual fee and 0% crypto deposit |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Crypto deposited to the custodial app wallet automatically loads the card |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer and licences unnamed; reports of account freezes with funds not returned |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, ATMs, Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay; Apple Pay unofficially too |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | Best in class at spending, weakest in class at telling you what it costs |
Let me be precise about the shape of that total, because averages hide things. The two 9s are real and useful. The 4 is not a scoring artefact — it is the section I would want a real person to read twice.
Will they give you the card
Yes for most applicants, with a country list you cannot read on the official site, and with sanctions exclusions that are written into the terms.
Stella’s own pages do not state which countries are served. The terms do bar users under economic sanctions programmes, and route US and European users through affiliates. That routing detail is worth pausing on: it means for a large share of the world, your contract is not with the same legal entity you sign up on the website.
Unofficial sources — a third-party card directory, not Stella — say Stella is available in 57 countries including the US, UK, Singapore and India, and restricted in 49 including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and South Africa. That last-confirmed list is dated to Stella’s own documents of 6 September 2024, as reported in August 2026. Treat it as a year-old snapshot of a policy the card does not publish, not as current fact. The terms reserve the right to apply further spending limits under underwriting criteria, so eligibility and what you can spend are separate questions.
So: the honest answer to “is Stella card available in my country” is *probably, but check with them, because they will not publish the list.* And there is no way to work around a sanctions exclusion, so if you are in a restricted country, that is the end of it.
How to get it
Sign up in the app, complete identity verification, and the card is described as usable immediately after approval.
The verification is a full KYC process. Stella’s User Agreement asks for name, address, date of birth, tax ID, government ID and bank details, and says biometric data may be requested. The minimum age is 18. The card page promises a “quick and easy verification process, with immediate card usage after approval.”
Unofficial sources describe full e-KYC typically completed in one to two business days, with many applications auto-approved in minutes. Whether you land in the fast lane is not something the card guarantees.
There are two card forms, virtual and physical, both Visa, working at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally.” Unofficial sources describe the product as a Visa credit card with USD as the only base currency, starting credit limit at zero and rising with crypto collateral — if that is accurate, understand it as a secured card with your crypto behind it, not as unsecured credit.
One thing you will want to know and cannot find: how long the physical card takes to arrive. It is not stated. Unofficial sources say the physical card is free after a USD 20,000 top-up and otherwise carries a delivery fee. Whether KYC has tiers, and what each tier lifts, is not stated officially.
Fees: what it really costs
The card’s own pages do not publish a fee schedule, and that is the single most annoying fact in this review.
Fees are “described under this User Agreement and/or on the App.” That means the prices you care about exist, and you will meet them inside the app, per transaction, where comparison is impossible. I have seen too many cards described this way not to treat it as a flag.

What unofficial sources report: no annual fee; a 0% crypto deposit fee where you pay only the blockchain gas; a virtual card pay-as-you-go application fee shown in-app only, with one user complaint citing USD 30; the physical card free after a USD 20,000 top-up and otherwise a delivery fee. On conversion, the app shows interbank rates, and purchase fees and FX or top-up spreads are not itemised anywhere. ATM fees are also in-app only.
| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | None reported | Unofficial |
| Issuance, virtual | Pay-as-you-go, shown in-app; one complaint cites USD 30 | Unofficial |
| Issuance, physical | Free after USD 20,000 top-up; otherwise a delivery fee | Unofficial |
| Crypto deposit | 0%, gas only | Unofficial |
| Conversion | Interbank rate shown in-app; spread not itemised | Unofficial |
| FX | Not itemised | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal | In-app only | Unofficial |
| ATM daily limit | USD 2,000 | Unofficial |
| ATM monthly limit | USD 10,000 | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawals per day / month | Up to 3 per day, 30 per month | Unofficial |
| Daily spending limit | USD 100,000, regular accounts | Unofficial |
| Monthly fee | None reported | Unofficial |
| Base currency | USD only | Unofficial |
Now the part that should shape your decision: three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite.
Paying for groceries in your own country. No FX conversion, no crypto network cost at the point of sale. What you are exposed to is the conversion rate the app applies if you spend from a crypto balance rather than a loaded balance, and whether any purchase fee applies. The card does not say.
Paying 40 EUR in a European city. Now the FX spread is in play, and neither its size nor its itemisation is published. Unofficial descriptions of the category generally put a foreign-currency card fee in the low single digits of percent; I am not going to attach a number to Stella, because Stella has not published one. Budget for a rate you cannot predict.
Taking 200 USD out of an ATM in Thailand. The card’s own words: you can withdraw cash from ATMs that accept Visa, worldwide. Fee and allowance are not stated. Unofficial figures give a daily limit of USD 2,000 and a monthly limit of USD 10,000, up to three withdrawals a day and thirty a month. Your own ATM operator will add its own charge on top, and you will find the card’s share in the app after the fact.
There is one class of fee that is genuinely free and worth saying plainly: topping up in crypto costs you 0% with only the network gas, per unofficial sources. The expensive mistakes are not the deposit. They are the conversion you did not price, and the card you could not audit.
Top up: how the money gets in
Deposit crypto to the custodial wallet in the app, and the card balance loads automatically.
This is the design’s best feature and the reason the top-up mark is 9 out of 10. There is no bank transfer step to fail, no waiting for an ACH or a SEPA window, no minimum you have to clear. You send assets, the balance arrives, you spend.

Unofficial sources say the accepted coins are BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, on the networks ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One and Optimism. Officially the card confirms only the general principle: depositing crypto automatically tops up the card. Note the deliberate gap between the two lists — the unofficial one names networks the official one does not. On a crypto card, an unstated network is a real risk: transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. Check the deposit screen in the app for the current network list rather than trusting a directory’s summary of it.
Getting money back out is the mirror image, and it is better than most. The terms say that after account closure, users may transfer Digital Assets out within a reasonable period unless legally prohibited, after paying amounts owed. Unofficial sources put crypto withdrawal fees starting at USD 1, with exact amounts in-app. Note what that clause is and is not: it is a withdrawal right on closure, not a promise that your funds are instantly and unconditionally retrievable at any hour.
Two background facts belong here rather than in the abstract. On-chain gas is charged by the blockchain, not by the card — that is why the deposit is described as 0% plus gas. And USDT is not censorship-proof: the issuer states it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Depositing a stablecoin into a custodial wallet is a transfer of control, not a safer form of holding.
Paying with it every day
This is where Stella is genuinely good, and it is the section I would point a friend to.
Both the virtual and physical card link to Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay. Unofficial sources list Apple Pay as well, and a Google Play button appears on the cards page. For someone who has been declined by ordinary banks, or who lives where a normal card does not travel well, having a Visa that loads into two Asian payment ecosystems is not a gimmick — it is the feature.
A note on the virtual card specifically: adding it to a mobile wallet replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on the wallet provider’s servers, and every payment carries a one-time dynamic code. That is a better security posture than writing your card number on a piece of paper, and it costs you nothing extra to use.
On rewards, the official card page states no cashback. The Earn product is separate and is about yield, not spending. Unofficial sources say there is no cashback on the main card, but that referrals can return up to 40% of card fees — which, given the fee schedule is hidden, is an odd thing to promote and not a reason to switch.
Two everyday frictions to expect. First, a declined payment can still leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is a normal network behaviour and feels like theft when it happens. Second, some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuer’s country is visible in the card’s own identifying number; if a payment fails in a shop in your own country, that is a plausible reason and not a fault of yours.
Where you are spending, exactly: anywhere Visa is taken, at any ATM that accepts Visa, and through the linked wallets. That is the honest scope of it — there is no claim here of universal acceptance, and there is no published list of blocked merchant categories, which is stated nowhere and therefore unknown.
What can go wrong
The realistic worst case, based on what has actually been reported, is that your account gets frozen and your money does not come back quickly.
Start with the company. Stella Global Services Limited is incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The card is issued by an unnamed licensed “Partner Issuer.” The Apple App Store developer is shown as Flashwire Inc, described as starting data. Licences are not stated. So the entity you contract with is a BVI company, the bank that issues your card is not named, and the regulatory status of the whole structure is not something the public pages tell you. That is not automatically disqualifying in this category — offshore structures are the norm — but you are entitled to know whose name is on your account.
The custody model is the other half of the risk. Assets in the app wallet are custodial assets held by Stella for your benefit, pooled in omnibus accounts, with title staying with the user. That is a legally meaningful formulation and it is not the same as segregation of your own property in a bank. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The counterparty risk is real, and holding with a young BVI-incorporated provider rather than an exchange you have been with for years concentrates it.
What has actually been reported: no official incidents are published. User reports via a third-party directory in August 2026 include the virtual card cost, limited crypto support, occasional failed transactions, and an App Store complaint about an account freeze with funds not returned after proof of transfer was provided. Unofficial Trustpilot standing is 3.2 out of 5 from a single rating — far too small a sample to mean anything, and I include it only because it is the only aggregate rating in circulation. Themes across reports: virtual card cost, failed transactions, and a freeze with funds not returned. One frozen account is not a pattern; it is a reason to keep your balance small.
What is not stated is as important as what is: two-factor authentication and card freeze are not described on the pages read, and neither are support hours. Support runs through a Help Center, a Contact Us page, a Telegram channel at t.me/CS_StellaPay, and an email at [email protected]; unofficial sources report Zendesk tickets and no live chat. The language selector shows only English, which for a card routing US and European users through affiliates is worth noting.
Disputes have a home, and it is not yours. Unauthorized transactions and errors go to the support email; disputes with a partner are settled directly with that partner; and disputes go to the courts of the Republic of Seychelles under Seychelles law. Time frames for raising a dispute are not stated. Chargeback rights — the refund mechanism ordered by an issuer for fraud or goods not received — vary for prepaid cards and should not be assumed. If a large sum is involved, that jurisdiction matters.
There is a category risk too, and it does not depend on Stella doing anything wrong. Card programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme it backed. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then an invitation to withdraw balances. Ask yourself now, before you deposit, how quickly you could get your crypto out if this stopped.
What to take instead
The honest comparison is against other cards with the same goal, and it exposes Stella’s weakness by contrast. These scores come from the same method as Stella’s.
| Alternative | Score | Cost | Fees | Notable difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stella | 6.5 / 10 | Not disclosed; unofficial: no annual fee | In-app only; 0% crypto deposit | Alipay and WeChat Pay; countries unpublished |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | $5 one-time virtual issuance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | USD spend free on all plans; “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits free | Explicit country exclusion list; physical card “coming soon” |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated | “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; conversion at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”; “No hidden exchange fees” | Mastercard network; multicurrency; rewards up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | “No extra fees”; no amounts listed | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; 5% cashback at select merchants |
Three things to notice in that table.
First, the International Visa Card publishes the thing you actually need: a stated 2% foreign-exchange fee and a plan price list. You can do arithmetic with it. You cannot do arithmetic with Stella’s hidden spreads. For anyone who makes foreign payments regularly, a known 2% may beat an unknown one.
Second, both the International Visa Card and Whop Cards publish who they will not serve — long exclusion lists naming Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Publishing your exclusions is a mark of confidence. Not publishing them is not, by itself, a breach of anything; it just means you have to ask.
Third, UNi Card says “no hidden exchange fees” and converts at live OTC rates, and pays rewards up to 3%. Stella’s edge over it is not fees — it is that Stella’s card reaches Alipay, WeChat Pay and ATMs. If you are in a market where those wallets are how people pay, Stella’s everyday-use advantage is real and UNi’s fee transparency does not compensate for it.
If your priority is knowing what you pay, take the card that publishes its fees. If your priority is spending crypto inside Asian payment systems, Stella’s advantage is genuine. Very few cards do both well.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Stella to someone who already holds crypto, already accepts that a custodial provider holds it, and wants a Visa that works at ATMs and inside Alipay and WeChat Pay — with the understanding that this is a spend card for a balance you are willing to lose access to, not a bank account and not a place to keep money you cannot afford to have frozen.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card. If you are new to this, the combination of an undisclosed fee schedule, an unnamed issuing bank, an unnamed licence position and a BVI issuer is too much to take on before you understand how custody works. Start with a card from an issuer whose regulator and licence you can look up.
I would not recommend it if you need guaranteed pricing on foreign-currency spending, if you need to hold a balance for months, if you need employment or subscription payments that must not fail, or if English-only support is a problem for you.
And one practical suggestion that costs nothing: before you fund it, open the app and look at the conversion rate, the FX fee and the ATM fee screen yourself. Every number in this review marked unofficial will either be confirmed or contradicted by what you can see there in a minute. That minute is worth more than anything I have written.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Stella card?
Stella is a crypto Visa card that converts and loads your crypto into a spendable balance. You get a virtual card for immediate use and can get a physical one. It is a payment card, not a bank account: it does not hold deposits in the way a bank does, and your crypto is held by the provider in a custodial wallet rather than by you.
How does the Stella card actually work?
You deposit crypto into the custodial wallet in the app, and that automatically tops up the card’s balance. You then spend that balance wherever Visa is accepted, or use it at an ATM, or through linked mobile wallets. The balance is pre-loaded, so the card cannot overdraw it. The coins and networks accepted are not listed officially.
Is Stella a bank?
No, and you should treat it as a financial service provider rather than a bank. The company is Stella Global Services Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The card itself is issued by an unnamed licensed “Partner Issuer.” No bank deposit guarantee applies to your balance, and licences are not stated on the public pages.
Who owns Stella?
Stella Global Services Limited, a British Virgin Islands company, is the entity behind the card. The app store lists the developer as Flashwire Inc, which is described as starting data rather than a confirmed parent. The issuing bank is not named, and licences are not stated, so the ownership chain above the brand is not something the public pages resolve.
Does the Stella card require KYC?
Yes. The User Agreement collects name, address, date of birth, tax ID, government ID and bank details, and says biometric data may be requested. The minimum age is 18. The card page describes a quick process with immediate card use after approval, while unofficial sources suggest most checks finish within one to two business days and some in minutes.
How do I top up the Stella card?
You deposit crypto to the app’s custodial wallet and the card balance loads automatically, with no bank transfer step. Unofficial sources name BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC on ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One and Optimism. The deposit fee is reported as 0% with you paying the blockchain gas. Check the network before sending: transfers are irreversible.
Is the Stella card free?
Unofficially, yes — there is no annual fee, and the crypto deposit is reported at 0% plus gas. The physical card is reported free after a USD 20,000 top-up and otherwise charged a delivery fee, and the virtual card has a pay-as-you-go application fee shown only in the app, with one complaint citing USD 30. None of this is published on Stella’s own pages.
Can I add the Stella card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay is not named on Stella’s official pages. Unofficial sources list it alongside Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay, which the card does confirm for both the virtual and physical card. A Google Play button appears on the cards page. Check the app for the current wallet list rather than relying on a directory’s summary of it.
What are the Stella card’s limits?
Unofficially: USD 2,000 per day and USD 10,000 per month on ATM withdrawals, with up to three withdrawals a day and thirty a month, and a daily spending limit of USD 100,000 on regular accounts. Officially, the card says only that top-up limits can be set by your risk preference and that further spending limits may apply under underwriting criteria. The numbers are not published.
Is the Stella card safe?
It depends what you mean by safe, and the honest answer has three parts. Your crypto is custodial — held by the provider, not by you — so you carry counterparty risk as you would with any exchange. The issuing bank and licences are not named, so you cannot verify the regulatory position from public information. And there are user reports of an account freeze with funds not returned, though the only aggregate rating in circulation is a single Trustpilot review, too small to judge anything.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
