A 6.3/10 crypto card built for daily spending, not for published numbers
Mobilum Pay is a crypto card you spend from a converted balance rather than from a current account, and on the evidence of its own public pages it does the everyday part of that job well: a virtual and a plastic card, EUR, USD and PLN, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals, and 27 EEA countries named one by one. What it does not do is tell you what things cost. There is no figure for a transaction fee, no ATM allowance, no daily or monthly limit, no issuance fee, and no named issuing bank on the pages I could read. That silence is the reason for the score below, and the reason I would want you to find the answers yourself before you depend on the card for anything you cannot afford to lose access to.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.3 out of 10
The score is 6.3 / 10, and it is built from six marks that pull in opposite directions. Everyday use scores a perfect 10 because the card genuinely covers the whole surface a person actually touches: plastic, virtual, mobile wallets, ATMs, three currencies. Eligibility scores 8 because the country list is long and explicit. Everything that would let you calculate your own cost scores 5 or 6. Reliability and complaints scores 3, which is where most of my hesitation lives.
| Criterion | Mark | Why, in short |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 27 EEA-area countries listed, plus “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations” |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Only “Competitive transaction fees” is published; no amounts, no issuance or monthly fee stated |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens, plus a linked bank account; stablecoins and networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer not named; Trustpilot 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star, reports of unpaid withdrawals and disputed transactions |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual and plastic cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals, three currencies |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | A card that works daily, described thinly |
Who this suits: someone in Europe who already holds crypto, wants an app rather than a bank relationship, and wants both a virtual and a plastic card they can put in a phone wallet. That is exactly the audience the card’s own positioning points at, and on everyday functionality it delivers.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the cost of a transaction before they make it, anyone whose money must sit in this wallet for a defined period rather than for a defined spend, and anyone who has been burned by a card programme that stopped honouring withdrawals. Those are not hypothetical worries here — they are the absence of information, plus a small but very negative body of user reports.
Will they give you the card?
Yes in most of the EEA, and probably beyond it, but the wording shifts between a specific list and a broad claim, and you should know which is which before you apply.
The page names 27 EEA-area countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. Separately it says “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. Nobody’s public page explains how the second sentence is applied in practice — which countries outside the list are actually opened, and on what basis citizenship or residence is judged. If you are outside the EEA, treat the worldwide line as a marketing statement to be tested at sign-up, not as an entitlement.
What the card’s pages do not state is who exactly gets refused, and on what grounds. Eligibility lists, tier limits and the identity-verification level all come back empty. That means the practical answer to “will they give me the card” is: probably yes if you are in one of the 27 named countries, and unknown everywhere else.
How to get it
The application path is straightforward on paper. You download the app — iOS and Android, with the Android package listed as com.mobilum.wallet — create an account, complete whatever verification the app asks for, and order cards. The wallet behind it is described as custodial, and the cards come as virtual and plastic, in a multicurrency debit and credit card range, on Mastercard. Currency coverage is EUR, USD and PLN.
Two things you will want to know and cannot get from the pages. First, what verification actually involves: the required identity checks are not stated. Second, how long a plastic card takes to arrive — delivery times are not stated either. Both matter more than they sound, because a card you cannot activate is a card you cannot use, and a card that takes three weeks to arrive is a card you cannot use this weekend.
Mastercard acceptance is the one strong point here. The App Store listing phrases ATM withdrawals as available “in MasterCard-supported countries”, which is a broad hint but not a country list, so treat ATM planning as something to check against your own map before you travel.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weak section, and I want to be blunt about why. The card publishes “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” and “Unlimited Cards: Flexibility to issue multiple cards without additional fees”. Both sentences describe qualities. Neither contains a number. There is no monthly fee stated, no issuance fee stated, no conversion percentage, no foreign-exchange markup, no ATM fee and no allowance.

| Fee or limit | What the card’s pages say |
|---|---|
| Issuance | “Unlimited Cards: Flexibility to issue multiple cards without additional fees” — no amount stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Transaction fee | “Competitive transaction fees” — no amount stated |
| Conversion / crypto-to-fiat | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange | Not stated; currency exchange between USD, EUR and PLN offered in the app |
| ATM | Available on virtual and plastic cards — fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated; the app offers card management with limits |
| Monthly limit | Not stated; the app offers card management with limits |
| Tiers | Not stated |
Now the part that matters more than the table: what does that absence do to three ordinary payments?
A coffee in your own country. You tap, the app converts your balance, the payment goes through Mastercard. What you do not know is whether the conversion charges a percentage, whether a flat per-transaction fee is added, or whether both apply. Over a coffee that is small. Over a year of coffees it is a number you did not choose.
A subscription billed in dollars while your balance sits in euros. The card offers exchange between USD, EUR and PLN inside the app, so the mechanics exist. What is not stated is the spread between the app’s rate and the mid-market rate, or whether a second fee is layered on top. A card that converts quietly and cheaply is fine; a card that converts at an undisclosed margin is a cost you discover only in a monthly statement.
A withdrawal from a foreign ATM. The fee and the allowance are both unstated, so the two questions that normally decide whether an ATM card is worth keeping — what it costs per withdrawal, and how many you get — have no published answers. Nor is there a published answer on what happens when you exhaust an allowance.
My advice is arithmetic, not advocacy: before you rely on the card, get the fee schedule in writing or in the app, and run the numbers against how much you actually spend. On-chain network fees are separate and are charged by the blockchain, not by the card — that is the nature of the rails, and it means a top-up from a self-custody wallet costs you something that has nothing to do with the card’s own pricing.
How to Top up the card
Two routes, and the honest one is that neither is fully documented in terms of cost.

The headline route is crypto, loaded directly. The FAQ names BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens”. The wallet is custodial, which matters more than it sounds — the provider holds the keys, so the position is described as “Load crypto directly” while the custody sits with someone else. If that provider fails, the argument about who owns what becomes very long.
The second route is fiat, through a linked bank account. The pages say a bank account can be linked for deposits and withdrawals. That makes the card usable for someone who does not hold crypto at all, which is a quietly important point: you can treat it as a normal spending account funded from your salary.
What is not stated: the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, which stablecoins are accepted, and which networks are supported. That last one is the practical trap. ERC-20 tokens travel on the Ethereum network and its many variants, but a token transferred on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can simply be lost — blockchain transfers are irreversible, and recovery then depends on a support queue rather than on the network. If you are new to this, send a small test amount first, and confirm which chain you are on before you send anything large.
Paying with it every day
This is the section where the card earns its best mark, and it is worth saying plainly: for the mechanics of daily spending, the picture is good.
You get a virtual card and a plastic card. The virtual one goes into any external wallet — the pages name Apple Pay and Google Pay specifically — and when it sits in Apple Pay the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, with a fresh one-time security code for each payment. The plastic card handles the places where you need something to hand.
Three currencies — EUR, USD and PLN — with exchange between them inside the app, which covers the large majority of European spending without much thought. Multi-currency debit and credit card options let you pick the account type that fits how you actually hold funds. ATM withdrawals work on both card forms. Card management with limits is built into the app.
Two gaps in the daily-use picture. The app’s reputation is thin and not independently reassuring: on the App Store (Canada) it shows 5.0 from a single rating, version 2.8.7 dated “Apr 1”, and I could not read the Google Play rating because the page did not load. One rating is one rating; it is not a signal in either direction. Separately, the card’s pages do not state which merchant categories are blocked, which is worth knowing if gambling or similar categories are relevant to you — many issuers block certain categories by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer.
What can go wrong
I found no official incident, licence suspension or enforcement action against this card. What I did find is a company structure that leaves gaps, and a small sample of user reports that all point the same way.
The issuer is not named. The company behind the card is Mobilum Inc, 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314); the starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The pages refer to “licensed partners” without naming them, and no issuing bank is stated. That means the entity you would approach in a dispute is not identified on the public page. I am not going to guess at what that implies — it may well be a properly licensed arrangement described elsewhere. It does mean you would be finding out at the worst moment.
User reports are consistently negative. On Trustpilot, read 2026-10-21: a 2.4 TrustScore from 11 reviews, of which 2 were in the last 12 months; 18% five-star and 82% one-star. The themes, all user-reported rather than established fact, are withdrawals and refunds not processed (dated from October 2022 through October 2026), unresponsive support (2022 to April 2025), and unauthorised or disputed card payments, some of them tied to gambling merchants (October 2025 and October 2026). Verification problems appear in April 2025.
Eleven reviews is a very small sample and I am weighting it accordingly. But the direction is consistent, and it is worth noticing that the complaints are not about crypto mechanics at all — they are about the basics: money out, and money back.
Custody is a real exposure. The wallet is custodial, and recovery runs through a backup phrase described as “the only way to restore your wallet”. Anyone who obtains those words can restore the wallet and spend from it. Crypto transfers are generally irreversible, and there is no built-in way for a network to freeze or return funds. The wider category has form: custodial platforms have failed before at scale — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty risk, and a self-custody card carries the opposite risk: your keys, your losses.
Spending can be declined or frozen in ways that feel arbitrary. A merchant can look up the issuing country from the card’s first digits and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from your billing address; some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason. Declined payments can leave a hold on funds for several days. In the EU, if customer due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to hold back, and where necessary end, the relationship — which is why accounts freeze pending documents and why identity checks that passed at sign-up can be repeated later.
Disputes are a matter of record, not of comfort. One reviewer reports (October 2025) that Mobilum refused a refund and advised approaching the bank for a chargeback, where a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute. The card’s own pages say nothing about how disputes are handled. Coverage for prepaid cards varies by scheme and should not be assumed.
The regulatory picture is unsettled. In the EU, MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024; providers operating under national law had a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps a public register of authorised providers, and if it matters to you, checking it is the single most useful hour you can spend before depositing. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters — which is what the registration above reflects.
Support exists as a ticket form on a support site and an email in the FAQ. Languages and operating hours are not stated, and “unresponsive support” is one of the recurring themes in the reviews, so treat response time as something to test early with a small question.
What to take instead
Three comparisons, each from its own published material, so you can see the trade-offs rather than a ranking. Note that all three sit in the same narrow band as Mobilum Pay — which is itself the most honest thing I can say about this category.
| Card | Score | Card form | Published cost | Who it is for, per its own pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mobilum Pay | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual and plastic, Mastercard | Qualitative only, no amounts | 27 EEA-area countries named, worldwide claim excluding sanctioned nations |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” | $5 issuance, no maintenance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month; USD use free, foreign currency at Visa rate + 2% FX fee | Excludes residents and registrants of a long list including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Mastercard network, multicurrency | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee; conversion at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | Eligibility not stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, online and in stores | “No extra fees” with no amounts listed | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
The International Visa Card is the only one of the four that publishes actual numbers, and it is worth reading that row twice: a $5 issuance fee, free maintenance on the free plan, free card use in USD, and foreign currency at the Visa rate plus 2%. That is a schedule you can budget from. Its cost is geography — a long exclusion list applied by residence or registration rather than citizenship, and no physical card yet.
UNi Card is the cleanest on stated costs: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates, and up to 3% spend-to-earn. What it does not publish is who can have one.
Whop Cards is the least specified. It says “No extra fees” and lists none, spends from a Whop balance rather than from your own wallet, and is stated for US states rather than for you unless you are in one.
Two structural points that apply to any of these. First, Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer, and in 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: notice, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw. A secondary source reported one 2026 closure ending new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed. Second, the crypto side and the card side are licensed separately: an electronic money institution can issue cards but cannot lend, and while it must safeguard customer funds, those funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Mobilum Pay to a European who already holds crypto, wants one app for spending, and wants both a virtual card for phone wallets and a plastic card for the places that need one. The everyday mechanics here are genuinely complete, and for someone who simply wants to pay for things, that is the part that matters.
I would hold off if any of these are true of you. You need a published number for what a transaction costs. You are outside the 27 named countries and the “worldwide” line is doing the work. You are moving money out on a schedule and cannot absorb a support queue that reviewers describe as unresponsive. Or you already know what it is to have a card dispute a transaction you know was yours.
If you are in that last group, the pattern across this whole category is worth remembering: the card networks do not back these products, the brand is often only the front end, and the custody sits with a company whose balance sheet you cannot inspect from a webpage. Read the fee schedule, check the regulatory register, and test both with small amounts before you commit anything you would miss.
Frequently asked questions
What is Mobilum Pay card?
Mobilum Pay is a crypto payment card that spends from a converted balance rather than from a current account. You load crypto or link a bank account, the app converts what you hold into EUR, USD or PLN, and the card pays like an ordinary Mastercard. It offers both a virtual and a plastic card, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay.
How does Mobilum Pay card work?
You fund a custodial wallet with crypto or fiat, then spend the converted balance through a virtual or plastic Mastercard. The virtual card can be added to any external wallet such as Apple Pay or Google Pay. Because the balance is loaded in advance, the card works much like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card.
Is Mobilum Pay a bank?
Its public pages do not present it as one. The company is Mobilum Inc of New York, registered with FinCEN as a money services business, and the pages refer to unnamed “licensed partners”. No issuing bank is stated anywhere I could read, which is the detail that matters most if you ever need to dispute something.
Who owns Mobilum Pay?
Mobilum Inc, at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business (#31000258001314). The starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. Both entities appear; the relationship between them is not explained on the pages.
Is Mobilum Pay card available in my country?
The card names 27 EEA-area countries, from Austria through Sweden, and separately claims worldwide availability excluding sanctioned nations. If you are outside the named list, the worldwide sentence is untested on the public pages. Eligibility lists and tier rules are not stated, so I cannot tell you who gets refused.
Does Mobilum Pay card require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not say what identity verification involves, so treat verification as certain but its exact level as unknown. In practice, regulated businesses must verify customers under anti-money-laundering rules, and in the EU that covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person screening.
How do I top up the Mobilum Pay card?
Two ways. Load crypto directly — the FAQ names BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens — or link a bank account for deposits and withdrawals. Deposit fees and minimums are not stated, and neither are the supported stablecoins or networks, so confirm the network before sending a large transfer.
Is Mobilum Pay card free?
Not clearly. The pages say “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” and multiple cards without additional fees, but publish no amounts for issuance, monthly fees, conversion, FX or ATMs. No tiers are described. You will have to get the schedule from the app or from support.
Is Mobilum Pay card safe?
It uses a custodial wallet, which means the provider holds your keys and recovery runs through a backup phrase described as the only way to restore it. Card freeze and two-factor authentication are not stated. Trustpilot shows 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star, with user reports of unprocessed withdrawals and disputed transactions.
Where can I use the Mobilum Pay card?
Anywhere Mastercard is accepted online or in stores, and at ATMs in Mastercard-supported countries according to the App Store listing. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuing country is visible in the card’s first digits, and blocked merchant categories are not stated. Card freeze and spending controls appear in the app.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
