The crypto card that works where a bank card does not
Meru is a crypto-linked Visa card aimed squarely at one problem: you want to spend money normally — in shops, on subscriptions, online — and a regular bank card is not available to you, or you would rather not have your balance attached to a traditional banking relationship. On that narrow promise the card is well built. The virtual card is free, the physical card costs 5 USD, there is no monthly fee, and the top-up rails are unusually generous for stablecoins: USDC and USDT across a long list of networks. The app also scores 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store.
The weaknesses are just as concrete. The issuer bank behind the card is not named anywhere on the public pages I could reach. The trust signals are thin: five reviews on Trustpilot, and complaints about slow support, blocked logins and a withdrawal that was declined but still debited. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned at all. And the identity check is described in one sentence, with no list of countries, no stated rules on citizenship versus residence, and no stated rejection reasons.
My overall mark is 7.3 out of 10. It is a competent card for a specific person — someone holding dollars or dollar-pegged stablecoins who wants Visa acceptance without a bank — and a poor fit for anyone who needs deposit protection, a named European issuer, a wallet app, or a support team that answers.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.3 out of 10, aimed at dollar savers topping up with stablecoins
The score is built from six criteria, and the spread between them tells the story better than the average does. Top-up options score a perfect 10; who can get the card scores 8; cost and everyday use both sit at 7; reliability and complaints sink to 5. That is the shape of the card in one line: the funding side is strong and the trust side is thin.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | The page says accounts can be opened from “anywhere in the world*”, but the footnote is not expanded and there is no country list |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual card free, physical card 5 USD, no maintenance; payments in USD outside the US 1%, in other currencies 1.2%; crypto top-up 1% + 1 USD; ATM 0 USD from Meru |
| Top-up options | 10 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operator R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, an MSB registered with FinCEN), issuer bank not named; Trustpilot shows 5 reviews, with complaints about support and blocked logins; App Store 4.7 out of 5 |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, ATM with no Meru fee up to 250 USD per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
Who this suits: someone who already holds US dollars or USDC/USDT, who can complete a photo ID check with a passport, DNI or cédula, and who wants to pay ordinary merchants in dollars without opening a bank account. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs Apple Pay, who needs their money held under a named bank, who expects deposit-guarantee-style protection, or who is travelling somewhere their identity documents or address will not verify.
Will they give you the card?
Mostly yes in principle, and with less information published than you would need to decide confidently.
The public pages do not carry a country list. What they do say is that an account can be opened from “anywhere in the world*”, with an asterisk that is never explained. There is no statement of whether the rule follows citizenship or residence. Both of those gaps matter: not stated means the card’s public pages simply do not say. The service does not publish a list of supported countries.
What is clear is the shape of the check. The account is opened with your national identity document, and the verification described is a single step: a photo of a valid ID — cédula, DNI or passport — plus facial validation if the system asks for it. Users must be adults. Proof of address is not stated as required, nor is a minimum age beyond adulthood, nor any tier structure, processing time, or list of reasons an application gets refused.
The card itself is both physical and virtual, an international Visa, issued in the USA, and the account is a USD account. Whether the plastic is metal is not stated.
Two things you can take from that. First, the check is document-light compared with a European bank: one ID photo and a face check is roughly what a regulated e-money provider asks at onboarding, not what a bank asks. Second, if you have ever been refused by a bank or by another card provider because of where you were born or where you live, the fact that the issuer bank is not named is a genuine problem, not a cosmetic one. The compliance team sits somewhere, but you cannot see who they are.
How to get it
The application path is described in a single line — an account is opened with your national document — and the detailed steps are not stated. So the honest description of getting this card is short: you download the app, you submit an ID document, you complete a face check, and you choose whether you want the free virtual card or the 5 USD physical one. I cannot tell you from the public pages how long that takes or what a rejection looks like, because those figures are not published.
| Item | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Identity document | Cédula, DNI or passport, photographed |
| Second step | Facial validation, if asked |
| Age requirement | Adults |
| Virtual card | Free |
| Physical card | 5 USD |
| Shipping cost | “Depending on the shipping country” — amount not stated |
| Countries shipped to | Not stated |
| Delivery time | Not stated |
| Replacement card cost | Not stated |
Shipping is the line I would watch. The card is described as issued in the USA, but the shipping charge is quoted by destination country and the destination list is not published. If you are outside the US, ask for the shipping figure in writing before you pay the 5 USD, and confirm the delivery window at the same time.
Fees: what a Meru payment actually costs
The card’s headline costs are genuinely low: the virtual card is free, the physical card is 5 USD, and there is no maintenance fee. The site says “no additional charges” and links to a fees page. That fees page shows no amounts, and the general cost figure is not stated — so treat the table below as the operative one, built only from what is published.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card | 5 USD |
| Monthly / maintenance fee | None |
| Purchase in the US, paid in USD | 0% |
| Purchase outside the US, paid in USD | 1% |
| Purchase outside the US, in another currency | 1.2% |
| ATM withdrawal, Meru fee | 0 USD |
| ATM withdrawal cap | Up to 250 USD per transaction, maximum 3 per day |
| Purchase limit | 10,000 USD per day |
| Dispute fee | 30 USD per disputed transaction |
Three everyday payments, so the fees stop being abstract:
Buying a 20 USD coffee in Madrid with the physical card. This is outside the US in a currency that is not USD, so you pay the 1.2% fee — about 0.24 USD on 20 USD — plus whatever the merchant’s own terminal and the Visa exchange rate add. The purchase is charged locally, sent to Visa and converted to dollars at the current rate. Your card balance is USD, so the conversion happens either way; what Meru charges on top is the 1.2%.
A 250 USD software subscription billed in USD from a merchant outside the US. Here the fee is 1%, so 2.50 USD. This is the case that catches people out: it looks like a domestic dollar payment and it is not, because the merchant is abroad.
The same 250 USD subscription from a merchant in the United States. Fee is 0%. Meru handles USD purchases inside the US at no extra charge, which makes a US-issued card the cheap option for exactly the digital subscriptions most dollar holders want.
Two caveats sit underneath all three. The ATM fee of 0 USD is Meru’s fee only — the ATM operator or a Visa conversion can still charge you. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, so a card that looks like it has the money may not have it spendable this week.
Top up: crypto, bank rails and cash, with a real fee table
This is the card’s strongest section and the reason for its perfect score. Deposits are accepted in USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum, alongside bank rails (ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, PIX) and MoneyGram cash pickup in local currency in 200+ countries.

Note what that means in practice: on Ethereum a top-up costs 1% + 10 USDC, on BSC 1% + 3 USDC, on Tron USDT 1% + 5 USDT, and on the seven main networks 1% + 1 USD. Coming from an exchange, 1% + 1 USDC. The network you pick changes the cost by a factor of ten on the flat part alone, and that is worth thinking about before you send anything. A minimum top-up amount is not stated, and the app shows the exact fee before you confirm.
| Top-up rail | Fee |
|---|---|
| USDC / USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad | 1% + 1 USD |
| USDT on Tron | 1% + 5 USDT |
| USDC on BSC | 1% + 3 USDC |
| USDC on Ethereum | 1% + 10 USDC |
| From exchanges | 1% + 1 USDC |
| ACH (global, MX, CO) | 2 USD |
| ACH (ES) | 3 USD |
| Wire (global) | 15 USD |
| Wire (ES) | 25 USD |
| SEPA (global, CO) | 2 USD |
| SEPA (ES) | 3 USD |
| SPEI | 2 USD |
| PSE | 0.30% + 0.3 USD |
| Credit card via Stripe | 5.40% + 1 USD |
| MoneyGram | 0.5 USD |
| PIX | 0 |
Withdrawals are priced separately and are not cheap: ACH and SEPA 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire 0.75% + 25 USD, SWIFT 0.4% + 15 USD, crypto USDC/USDT on Polygon and Stellar 1% + 1 USD, Tron 1.50% + 5 USDC, PIX 0, MoneyGram 0.5 USD. PIX at zero on both sides is the standout if you are in Brazil.
The single most common way people lose money here is the network. A stablecoin transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send a small test amount first, copy the address rather than typing it, and confirm the network in the app before you confirm. On Ethereum you also need ETH in the wallet to pay gas, since gas is paid in ETH and a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send.
If you want to close the account, the terms say: withdraw the balance, notify Meru, uninstall the app.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this behaves like a prepaid Visa rather than a debit card. You load a balance, the card spends that balance and cannot overdraw it. The physical card and the virtual card are both international Visa, and the card works where Visa is accepted — online and in stores.
The important restriction is on the virtual card, and it is a long one. Virtual cards are restricted on betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, and streaming and video-game platforms, where the restriction follows geolocation. Named merchants include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. The specific limits come from the issuing bank and the merchants. If any part of your spending is subscriptions, wallets or exchange transfers, that is where you will hit the wall — and you cannot plan around a rule enforced by someone else’s system.
There is no cashback stated. What the site offers instead is “Descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” — discounts and special promotions at selected merchants, which is worth less than a percentage and varies month to month.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere on the site. That is a real gap rather than a small one: it is the most common complaint people have with any card-only setup, and the reason so many cardholders now look at a tokenised wallet number before they look at anything else. If phone payments are non-negotiable for you, treat this as a reason to look elsewhere.
Disputes work like this: contact [email protected] or use in-app chat within 30 calendar days of the transaction; review takes up to 15 business days; there is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds; a reversal is not guaranteed; and chargebacks are not explicitly addressed. That last combination is the one to sit with. You pay 30 USD to ask, you wait up to 15 business days, and you are told up front that you may not get the money back.
What can go wrong
I found no official incidents, no licence changes, no fines, and no Reddit threads. What I did find was a thin, negative user record, and it clusters around specific recurring problems.
Support and account access. On Trustpilot, meru.app shows roughly 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews, with the company not having invited reviews — a very small sample, but a bad one. A getmeru.com listing shows 39 reviews with the overall score not visible to me. One 1-star review from 20 June 2025 describes being locked out for over a week with about 20 support tickets closed unresolved. App Store reviews mention slow support, an unresolved withdrawal and difficulty closing an account. Another user could not open the app for about a day and reached support via Instagram. A Spanish-language review says a third-party transfer (Hotmart) was not credited and that Meru then stopped accepting third-party payments; another says a rejected withdrawal was still debited and that support is close to nonexistent; two are 1-star fraud accusations with no detail. Dates are not shown on several of these.
Who is actually behind it. The operator is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. The issuer bank is not named. That combination — a known operator, an unnamed issuing bank — is normal in this category, but the entity whose balance you hold is not identified in the public documentation.
What “protection” means. The terms say Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf” and that the app only displays the balance. The App Store text claims funds are “100 % protegido”. Insurance and deposit protection are not addressed in the terms at all. Those two statements sit side by side without a bridge: one says the provider is not holding your crypto, the other says your money is fully protected. I would not read either as a deposit guarantee. Two-factor authentication is not stated.
The good news on this side is real: you can freeze and unfreeze the card and set limits in the app, with real-time notifications, and ATM withdrawals must be explicitly enabled in the app first.
One category risk to keep in view. Card programmes do get wound down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was being wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and I include it only to show the pattern.
What to take instead
None of the alternatives below dominates Meru; they trade differently. Meru’s edge is crypto top-up breadth, where it scores 10 out of 10 against two alternatives that do not publish network lists at all.
| Meru | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.3 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | Physical and virtual, Visa, issued in USA, USD | Virtual, U.S.-issued Platinum Visa; physical “coming soon” | Mastercard network, multicurrency, physical/virtual not stated | Visa, type and currency not stated |
| Issuance | Free virtual, 5 USD physical | 5 USD one-time | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ongoing | No maintenance | Classic free, Pro 9.00 USD/month, Max 19.00 USD/month | No annual fee | “No extra fees”, no amounts listed |
| Foreign currency | 1% non-US USD, 1.2% non-US other | Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee | No FX fee; converted at live OTC rates | Not stated |
| Crypto top-up | USDC/USDT across 10+ networks | USDC/USDT at 1:1, free; networks not stated | Not stated | Stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated |
| Rewards | No cashback stated; merchant discounts | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber now) |
International Visa Card is the more rule-bound option: it excludes residents and legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, reviews FATF grey-list countries case by case, and blocks purchases in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela — by residence or registration, with citizenship not mentioned. In exchange it gives you a published fee schedule and a free 1:1 USDC/USDT deposit. If you are in a restricted country, that exclusion is the whole decision; if you are not, it is a cleaner book.
UNi Card is the one to consider if your problem is currency rather than access. It has no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converts at live OTC rates, and pays spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%. Who can get it is not stated, and how you fund it is not stated, so neither of those is a reason to switch — just a reason to ask.
Whop Cards is US-only in practice: 31 states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with a published list of unsupported countries. It spends from a Whop balance, offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, and is aimed at people earning through that platform. The card type and currency are not stated. For anyone else it is not a general-purpose card.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Meru to someone specific: you hold dollars or USDC/USDT, a bank card is not available to you or you do not want one, you can produce a passport, DNI or cédula, and you spend in dollars more than in anything else. In that case the numbers are good — free virtual card, 1% on USD purchases abroad, free MoneyGram cash pickup in 200+ countries, PIX free in and out, and the widest stablecoin network list in this comparison.
I would not recommend it, without hedging, to anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who needs their balance at a named bank, anyone who treats “100 % protegido” in an app listing as a deposit guarantee, or anyone whose spending touches the categories the virtual card blocks — betting, adult, dating, virtual wallets, streaming, video-game platforms, and named merchants including Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli.
And for everyone, one operational habit: check who issued the card and what the support route is before you load it. Five Trustpilot reviews is not a track record, and complaints about locked logins and unanswered withdrawals are the specific failure mode to weigh, not a general vibe.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Meru card?
Meru is a crypto-linked Visa card, issued in the USA, available as a free virtual card or a 5 USD physical card, with a USD account. You load the balance — from stablecoins, bank rails or cash at MoneyGram points in 200+ countries — and spend it anywhere Visa is accepted. There is no monthly fee. Meru is a card programme front-end operated by R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida company registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business; the issuing bank is not named.
Is Meru a bank?
No, not as far as the public pages describe. The operator is a registered money services business, not a bank holding your deposit, and the issuing bank that actually stands behind the card is not named anywhere in the public documentation. The terms also say Meru does not administer digital assets on your behalf and that the app only displays the balance, while the App Store listing claims funds are “100 % protected” — insurance and deposit protection are not addressed in the terms.
Do I need KYC to get a Meru card?
Yes — an account is opened with your national identity document, and the described verification is a photo of a valid ID (cédula, DNI or passport) plus facial validation if asked. You must be an adult. Proof of address, minimum age beyond adulthood, tiers, processing times and rejection reasons are all not stated on the public pages, so you cannot tell in advance what else might be asked.
Is Meru card free?
Partly. The virtual card is free and there is no maintenance or monthly fee. The physical card costs 5 USD, and shipping is “depending on the shipping country” — the amount and the destination countries are not stated. Spending costs 1% on USD purchases outside the US and 1.2% on purchases outside the US in another currency, with 0% on US purchases in USD.
Can I use Meru in my country?
The card’s pages say accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, but the asterisk is never explained, no country list is published, and whether the rule follows citizenship or residence is not stated. Since US purchases are charged at 0% while purchases elsewhere cost 1% or 1.2%, you can safely assume it works for spending abroad — what you cannot assume is whether your address will verify.
Can I add Meru to Apple Wallet?
Nothing on the public pages mentions Apple Pay or Google Pay at all. What is documented instead is blocking: ATM withdrawals must be enabled in the app under Tarjetas → Habilitar retiros en ATM, and the virtual card is restricted on betting, adult, dating, virtual wallet, streaming and video-game platforms, plus named merchants such as Binance, PayPal and Skrill.
What does it cost to top up Meru with crypto?
USDC or USDT costs 1% + 1 USD on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad, but the flat part changes by network: USDT on Tron is 1% + 5 USDT, USDC on BSC 1% + 3 USDC, and USDC on Ethereum 1% + 10 USDC. From an exchange it is 1% + 1 USDC. A minimum top-up is not stated, and the app shows the exact fee before you confirm.
How do I withdraw money from Meru?
Through ACH or SEPA at 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire at 0.75% + 25 USD, SWIFT at 0.4% + 15 USD, USDC or USDT on Polygon and Stellar at 1% + 1 USD, Tron at 1.50% + 5 USDC, PIX free, or MoneyGram at 0.5 USD. If you want to close the account entirely, the terms say to withdraw the balance, notify Meru, and uninstall the app — so read those fees before you need them.
What happens if I have a problem with a payment?
You have 30 calendar days from the transaction to raise it, through [email protected] or in-app chat, and the review takes up to 15 business days. There is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds, and a reversal is not guaranteed. Chargebacks are not explicitly addressed. The support channel people mention most often is in-app chat; the help centre is in Spanish and hours are not stated.
Is Meru card safe?
It has real controls — freeze and unfreeze, spending limits, real-time notifications, and ATM withdrawals disabled until you turn them on — but two gaps deserve weight. Two-factor authentication is not stated, and “protected” language in an app listing is not the same as insurance or deposit protection, which the terms do not address. Support record is thin: about 3.0 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 5 reviews, plus a longer getmeru.com list of 39, with complaints about locked logins, unresolved withdrawals and slow replies.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
