A no-fee virtual Visa card that spends only your USDC balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Currency.com card is a virtual Visa Platinum that spends a USDC balance held inside your Currency.com account. There is no card to order in the post, no monthly fee, no credit line, and no second currency: the card draws down stablecoins, converts them, and applies an FX fee when the purchase is not in dollars. That simplicity is the whole product. If you already hold USDC on the platform and want to spend it at ordinary shops and online merchants without moving funds to an exchange first, the design is close to ideal. If you want a plastic card in the post, a multi-currency balance, cashback, or a bank you can call, this is not that.

Currency.com works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s own help pages, its fee table and its company details, then compared it against the other crypto cards I have looked at, and read what users actually report. My score is 6.5 out of 10. The shape of that number is easy to explain: strong on who can get it and on how it works day to day, mediocre on cost, and weak on how you fund it, because there is exactly one way in.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.5 out of 10

The card suits people who already keep a USDC balance at Currency.com and want to spend it directly — the platform’s own announcement targeted high-net-worth individuals and corporate clients, and that is the use case this card is built for. It does not suit someone whose first question is “will this card work in my country?”, because the card’s own pages answer that per application, not in a list. Nor does it suit anyone who wants a physical card, or who wants to hold a euro or a pound balance and pay with it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Currency.com starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 “The Currency.com Card is available globally”, but the decision on country of residency is made case by case and the card does not work in sanctioned territories
Cost 6 / 10 Card and servicing are free; processing fee 1%, FX fee (non USD) up to 1%, cross border fee up to 1%, ATM 2%
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDC only, either on-chain to the Currency.com wallet or bought on the platform; no networks named
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Two regulated entities, issuer not named; Trustpilot 4.2 from 2,006 reviews, with frozen accounts and slow checks recurring
Everyday use 8 / 10 Instant virtual Visa Platinum, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM up to $750 per transaction; no physical card
Total 6.5 / 10 Strong where it is simple, thin where choice is needed

The single most useful thing I can tell you: this is a payment card for a stablecoin balance, not a bank account, and the difference shows up in the fine print. Your money stays a USDC balance in the Currency.com account. The card has no credit line of its own. What you spend, you spend out of that balance, and the rules on top of it — one currency, one asset, one network question — are why it works cheaply and why it can be limiting.

Will they give you the card

Yes for a lot of people, no way to be certain in advance.

Currency.com says “The Currency.com Card is available globally” and, in the same breath, that “the ability to receive the card may depend on multiple factors, including but not limited to the country of residency of the applicant. The final decision will be made on a case-by-case basis.” So the global claim is real but not a guarantee. There is no published list of eligible countries. The card also “cannot be used in certain countries, including sanctioned territories”, again without a list.

The hard requirement on your side is narrower than it sounds: only verified Currency.com account holders can get the card. If your account is not verified, nothing else matters yet. You also need a minimum USDC balance in the account to order the card; the card’s own pages do not state what that minimum is.

What this means practically: read the country question as “maybe, and you find out by applying”, not “yes”. If your situation is unusual — a residency in a smaller market, a second nationality, an address in one country and life in another — the honest answer is that the decision is not published and you should not plan around a yes.

One more thing not stated anywhere on the public pages: the minimum age. The general rule for this category is 18 or over, but I found no age line for this card specifically.

How to get it

The route runs through the exchange account you may already have, and the identity check happens there before the card is ordered.

Identity verification happens in your Currency.com account. It uses your profile data and a proof of identity — a valid ID or a passport — and sometimes a proof of address such as a bank statement or a utility bill. A mobile phone bill will not do for the address document. Then there is a liveness test. The platform says the process “usually includes identity verification and proof of address. The process is automated and takes an average of 5 minutes”. Five minutes is the average for the automated check, not a promise about your particular case; a document that needs manual review will take longer, and if the check cannot be completed the account can sit waiting.

After that, you order the card in the Cards section of the account, with the minimum USDC balance in place. What arrives is a virtual Visa Platinum card, issued instantly. No physical card is described anywhere in the help pages, and the physical card cost, delivery time and replacement cost are not stated.

Three verification tiers exist on the account, and this is worth understanding early because it is the one thing that is easy to misread. The tiers are shown only as deposit and withdrawal limits. Tiers do not change the card itself — the card stays a single virtual Visa Platinum with a USD balance behind it. What moves as you are verified is how much you can move in and out of the account, which is a different thing entirely.

The card’s help text calls it “a Visa credit card” while also saying it only spends your USDC balance and has “no credit line”. Both halves are accurate only if you read them together: it sits on the Visa network as a credit card and behaves like a prepaid card. Do not treat the word “credit” as borrowing capacity — there is no borrowing, and no credit line to build a score from.

Not stated: why applications are refused. No rejection reasons are published, so you cannot pre-screen yourself out of a doomed application.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the part where the free part ends. Ordering the virtual card carries no fee and there are no monthly, annual or account maintenance charges, and the account runs on a single card. That is genuinely better than most of the category, where an issuance fee is the opening move.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Currency.com payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The charges that do exist sit on the transaction side. The processing fee applies to what you spend, the FX fee applies when the purchase is not in dollars, and there is a separate cross border fee on top. ATMs cost 2%. Depositing USDC carries no provider fee, though the blockchain network may charge gas.

Fee or limit What it is Value
Card order fee, virtual Charged to order the card No fee
Monthly, annual, maintenance Recurring account charges None
Processing fee Charged on card spend 1%
FX fee, non-USD Conversion fee when not paying in dollars Up to 1%
Cross border fee Charged on cross-border use Up to 1%
ATM fee Cash withdrawal 2%
Deposit of USDC Provider fee for funding No fee; network gas may apply
ATM maximum per transaction Cash withdrawal cap, including ATM surcharge $750 USD
ATM daily maximum Cash withdrawal cap per day Up to 750 USD
ATM attempts Maximum attempts in a rolling 24 hours, declines count 3
Free allowance Included cash or spending allowance None stated
Card spending limits Limits on card purchases Not stated on the help pages

Three everyday payments show what those percentages actually do.

A coffee paid in dollars, in the United States. You pay the 1% processing fee. If the merchant prices in dollars and the transaction settles in dollars, no FX fee applies. On a $5 coffee that is five cents. This is the cheapest way to use the card.

A coffee paid in euros, in the euro area. Now the FX fee applies at up to 1% on top of the network’s own conversion rate, and the processing fee still applies. The card handles the conversion: “Local currency conversion is handled automatically, and the FX fee will apply for non-USD transactions”. A card that stores dollars and pays in euros can cost close to double what a native euro account would charge on the same purchase, once you add the network conversion the FX fee sits on.

Anything bought from a merchant outside your own country. Here the cross border fee of up to 1% joins the other two. On a $120 purchase you could be paying the 1% processing fee, the up-to-1% FX fee if the currency isn’t the dollar, and the up-to-1% cross border fee — up to roughly three percent on top of the price before any network conversion. That is the number to hold in your head when you wonder why the card is cheap and then find it is not.

A note on the crypto side, because it is easy to conflate: the 1% processing fee is the card’s. The exchange on the platform carries its own separate 1% transaction fee, which is what you pay if you convert inside Currency.com rather than paying with the card. Buying USDC is a separate transaction from spending it, and each has its own charge.

How to top it up

One asset, two ways in. This is the weakest part of the card, and it is why the top-up score is 4 out of 10.

USDC is the only way to fund it. You either deposit USDC on-chain to your Currency.com wallet, or you buy USDC inside the platform. That is the entire list. There is no bank transfer top-up described for the card, and the pages do not describe funding the card from a fiat balance.

The on-chain route: you send USDC to the Currency.com wallet address, and the balance is available for card use “within minutes” after the network confirms the transfer. There is no provider fee for the deposit. Standard blockchain gas fees may apply, and they depend on the network you choose. Here is the catch — the help page does not list the networks it accepts. So the question “which chain do I send USDC on?” is one you will be answering with support or by trial, not from the documentation. And the general rule of this technology is unforgiving: blockchain transfers are irreversible. A transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee. If you are new to moving tokens, that is the single most expensive mistake available on this card.

Circle, which issues USDC, listed it as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. That is a list of where USDC exists, not a list of what this card accepts — do not read it as permission. One relevant exclusion: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

Inside the platform, buying USDC avoids the network question entirely, at the cost of the platform’s 1% exchange transaction fee.

Not stated: the minimum top-up for the card. A minimum USDC balance is required to order the card, but the figure itself is not published.

What happens to the money afterwards is worth being clear about. The balance stays a USDC balance in your Currency.com account — it does not convert into dollars sitting in a bank account. Withdrawal is governed by the account’s tier limits (below). Withdrawal fees, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account, are not stated on the card pages.

Tier Deposit / withdraw per transaction Daily Monthly Lifetime
Tier 1 $500 deposit / $1,000 withdraw $1,000 $3,000 $15,000
Tier 2 $15,000 per transaction/day/month $15,000 $15,000 $30,000 lifetime
Tier 3 $50,000 per transaction/day/month $50,000 $50,000 $300,000 lifetime

Paying with it every day

Once issued, the virtual card is immediately usable, and the mobile wallets pick it up as soon as it exists.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported once the virtual card is issued. That matters more than it sounds: a virtual card that only lives in an app is awkward at a terminal, comfortable in a phone wallet. Adding it to Apple Wallet means the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware, with a fresh security code for each payment, so the raw card number is not the thing a shop or a thief ever handles.

Some things will simply fail. “Certain merchant categories (e.g., gambling, adult content) may be blocked at the card network level”. That is a network-level restriction, not a personal setting, and it is not toggleable from the account. Gambling and adult content are blocked here in the way they are blocked on many cards in this category.

Two practical friction points that apply to any card like this, not just this one. First, the card looks foreign. A merchant can look up the issuer identification number at the front of the card number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when that issuer country differs from the billing address on the payment. Address verification, which silently compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. Second, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days.

The apps are ordinary. The iOS App Store listing for Currency Com Limited says “This app hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview”. The Google Play listing shows 1K+ downloads and was updated on 21 September 2026; its star rating I did not read. That is not a red flag on its own, but it is not a track record either.

Not stated: rewards. There is no cashback, no points scheme and no tier benefits described for the card anywhere on the pages.

If something goes wrong with a payment. For an unauthorised transaction, freeze the card in the app and write to support; “standard Visa dispute and fraud protection processes apply”. For goods not received, contact the merchant first, then request a Visa dispute with the date, amount, merchant and a description. Pending authorisations normally settle in 1-3 business days; if it is still unresolved after five business days, contact support. The deadline for raising a dispute is not stated. On the legal side of chargebacks, remember that a card can reverse a payment but that coverage differs by card type and country — prepaid-card protection should not be assumed to apply here.

What can go wrong

The risk profile is not in the card mechanics; it is in who holds the money.

Your money is custodial. Currency.com states plainly that it “is a custodial service … You do not manage private keys.” Nobody else has your seed phrase, but that also means nobody can recover it for you if something goes wrong at their end. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of large losses: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Those are not Currency.com, but they are the risk class you enter when someone else holds the keys.

The accounts get frozen, and compliance is slow. This is the most repeated theme in user reviews of the platform, and it is the thing I would weigh heaviest. On Trustpilot, Currency.com scores 4.2 out of 5 from 2,006 reviews, read on 21 October 2026, with about 69% five-star and 10% one-star. Recurring themes marked as user report: frozen and locked accounts and slow compliance checks (2023 and 2026, including one review of 4 May 2026 reporting business funds held over 15 days), account termination without reasons (2023), unclear balances and dormant fees (2023), and delisting and high fee complaints (2024). An earlier theme, from 2023, was confusion after the site redirected to Dzengi.com.

Read those reviews for what they are — the experience of some users of the exchange, not a measurement of the card — but notice the shape of them. The complaint is rarely “the card declined”. It is “I could not get my money or my documents reviewed.” If your plan involves holding a balance you depend on, an account that goes into a long compliance review is the failure mode to plan around.

Nobody will tell you who issues the card. The help pages name no card-issuing bank or institution. That is unusual enough to notice. Currency.com itself describes two regulated entities behind the platform: CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. (Ontario, Canada; FINTRAC Money Services Business registration C10001741, Mississauga) and Currency Com Limited (Gibraltar, company 117543; a DLT Provider authorised by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission, Licence No. 25032). Currency.com describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank.” When you add the card to Apple Pay, the bank name that appears may be the only indication of who stands behind the payment — and that is something to check yourself.

One thing you will read elsewhere and should treat as unofficial: a March 2026 industry report describes the card as powered by Rain, a Visa Principal Member that settles with Visa in stablecoins. The card’s own pages do not say this. Take it as unconfirmed background.

Money can move in and out only up to your tier. Tier 1 caps deposits at $500 per transaction and withdrawals at $1,000, with $1,000 daily and $3,000 monthly. Tier 3 raises per-transaction, daily and monthly figures to $50,000. If you are paid into the account and out of it, these are the numbers that decide whether the card is usable as your main spending route. They are account limits, not card limits — the card’s own spending limits are not stated on the help pages at all, which is its own small problem.

The regulator is asking questions too, and it may not ask yours. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and providers operating under national law had a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until they received or were refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. Separately, a card is a payment service regulated under e-money and payments law — so a crypto card often depends on two licences, one for the money and one for the plastic. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Where you are, check whether the provider appears on the relevant interim register of authorised providers.

Tax. I am not going to advise you here, but one fact is worth knowing rather than discovering later: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. Ask a qualified professional about your own position.

What to take instead

I compared this card against three others in the same category. The honest summary is that Currency.com is simpler and cheaper on fees, but far narrower on funding, and the score gap between it and the alternatives is smaller than the marketing suggests.

Card Score Funding Card cost Standout difference
Currency.com 6.5 / 10 USDC only: on-chain or bought on platform No fee, no monthly fee Simplest and cheapest fee structure; one asset only
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Draws on fiat first, then sells crypto Virtual free; physical varies by region, 29.99 USD in Australia Virtual and physical, many regions, tiered cashback
MSX 6.4 / 10 Not stated Not stated Little published to judge it on
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Not stated for the card Not stated Cashback paid in YNG tokens by club tier

Bybit Card is the real comparison. Its trade is the mirror image: more expensive, more capable. It offers virtual and physical cards — a virtual card first, with physical rolled out in phases and not available in Peru. Its region list is explicit: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and the application asks for your country of residence; if the country is not supported, Bybit “will register your interest”. The cards page is blunt about one exclusion: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s restricted list for its fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States. I found no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens and no citizenship-versus-residence rule, so if that is your situation, you have to ask them.

On cost, Bybit is heavier. A crypto conversion fee of 0.9% on top of the One-Click Sell rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil and Mexico; 0.5% in Argentina; not supported in Peru. FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, and a 2% “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside the country even in dollars. Argentina’s 7% and Brazil’s 1.5% sit on top of taxes there — VAT 21% on foreign digital services, 30% tax on foreign transactions and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. What you get for that: cashback tiers from Base at 2.00% up to Infinite at 10%, with monthly caps, and from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn them. Note the rule — fiat-funded spending earns nothing.

MSX scored 6.4 in my comparison and I could not read official pages for who qualifies, what the card is, what it costs or how it is funded. That is itself informative: if a competitor’s basic terms are not public, that is a question to ask before you commit.

Young Card scored 5.7. What is published is its rewards: cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Being paid in a platform token rather than money is worth weighing carefully; its value depends entirely on that token.

Take Currency.com if your funds are already in USDC at that platform and simplicity matters. Take a broader card if you want cashback, a physical card in the post, or a fiat balance to spend from first.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to three kinds of person.

If you already hold USDC on Currency.com and spend from that balance anyway, this card is a clear win: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, one percent to spend, and you can put it in your phone wallet the moment it is issued. The value is in removing a step, not in adding a feature.

If you are paid or paid in, in USDC — a business that invoices in stablecoins, or an individual whose income arrives that way — the card turns an accounting format into a payment method, and the 2% ATM fee only bites if you take out a lot of cash.

If you are somewhere the ordinary route is closed to you and your residency is one the platform may well approve, this is a real option rather than a workaround, and the fact that eligibility is decided case by case is worth an application.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true. If you need a physical card — for a place that will not take a phone wallet, or simply for the object itself — there is nothing here. If you want to hold euros or pounds and spend them without conversion, the single-currency model works against you every time. If you want cashback or rewards, there is no scheme at all. If you intend to move money in and out at volume, the Tier 1 and Tier 2 limits will stop you, and climbing tiers takes verification you may not be able to complete. And if your priority is being able to reach a human quickly when something goes wrong — support is an e-mail address and a contact form in an English help centre, with languages beyond English and opening hours not stated — weigh that against the frozen-account reviews before you commit a large balance.

The 6.5 is not a criticism of the design. It is a description of a narrow, well-built thing: one asset, one currency, one card, no monthly cost. Narrow enough that you should know whether it is narrow enough for you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Currency.com card?

It is a virtual Visa Platinum card that spends a USDC balance held in your Currency.com account. It is issued instantly in the app, has no credit line, and draws down your stablecoin balance when you pay. There is no physical card described. You add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and use it like an ordinary Visa online or in person, with a 1% processing fee on spend.

How does the Currency.com card work?

Your USDC balance automatically collateralises each transaction, so the card can never overdraw. When you pay, the amount is taken from that balance; if the purchase is not in dollars, the card converts automatically and an FX fee of up to 1% applies. Card currency is USD. Any money left stays a USDC balance in your account rather than becoming dollars in a bank account.

Is Currency.com a bank?

No — the company describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank”. Two entities sit behind the platform: CURRENCY COM INTERNATIONAL INC. in Ontario, Canada (FINTRAC registration C10001741) and Currency Com Limited in Gibraltar (company 117543, DLT Provider Licence No. 25032). The help pages do not name the bank or institution that issues the card, which is worth checking yourself in your wallet.

Who owns Currency.com?

Ownership is not stated on the public pages I could read. What is documented is the corporate structure — the Canadian and Gibraltar entities above, both registered — and the fact that users in 2023 reported the site redirecting to Dzengi.com. The card’s card-issuing partner is not named officially; industry reports credit Rain, a Visa Principal Member, which the platform’s own pages do not confirm.

Is the Currency.com card available in my country?

Possibly, and you cannot tell from the card’s pages. Currency.com says the card “is available globally” but that the ability to receive it depends on country of residency among other factors, with the final decision made case by case. There is no country list. The card also cannot be used in sanctioned territories. The only firm requirement is a verified Currency.com account.

How do I get the Currency.com card?

Verify your account first — profile data, a valid ID or passport, sometimes a proof of address such as a bank statement or utility bill, then a liveness test, automated and averaging five minutes. Then order the card in the Cards section with a minimum USDC balance in the account. A virtual Visa Platinum is issued instantly. The minimum balance and the minimum age are not stated on the pages.

How much does the Currency.com card cost?

Ordering the virtual card is free, and there are no monthly, annual or account maintenance charges. Spending costs a 1% processing fee; a non-USD transaction adds an FX fee of up to 1%; cross border use adds up to 1%. ATM withdrawals cost 2%, capped at $750 per transaction and up to 750 USD daily, with three attempts in a rolling 24 hours including declined ones. Depositing USDC has no provider fee, though network gas may apply.

How do I top up the Currency.com card?

With USDC, by one of two routes: deposit it on-chain to your Currency.com wallet, or buy it inside the platform. The on-chain balance becomes usable for card spending within minutes of confirmation. There is no provider deposit fee, but standard blockchain gas fees may apply. The help page does not list which networks are accepted, so pick the chain carefully — transfers are irreversible and a wrong network can mean lost funds.

Can I add the card to Apple Wallet or use Google Pay?

Yes, both are supported once the virtual card is issued. Adding it to Apple Wallet means the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, with a fresh security code per payment, so the raw number is not exposed. You can also freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, and 3-D Secure applies on online payments. No rewards or cashback are described.

Is the Currency.com card safe?

Safer than holding loose crypto, but not risk-free, and the risk is counterparty risk. The service is custodial — “You do not manage private keys” — so your USDC depends on the platform’s security and its compliance systems. User reviews on Trustpilot (4.2 from 2,006 reviews) repeatedly mention frozen accounts and slow checks, and support is e-mail only with unstated hours. Safeguards include instant freeze, 3-D Secure and Visa fraud monitoring; two-factor authentication is not stated on the card pages.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team