A crypto card you can open in ten minutes, and the reasons to read the fine print before you do

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

ExCards is a prepaid card you load with USDT and spend like an ordinary Visa or Mastercard — no bank account in most countries, a passport scan instead of a full KYC flow, and a virtual card in your wallet within ten minutes. That speed is real, and it is the whole pitch. But the same speed is why I would not treat this as a settled product: the legal entity behind the brand is not published, the issuing bank is not named, the Terms of Service describe themselves as a placeholder, and I found no user reviews at all. This is a review of what is on the public pages as they stand, not a recommendation to load money.

ExCards works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 out of 10

ExCards is a plausible fit if you are an online spender paying subscriptions, advertising bills and software from a USDT balance, you have no access to a normal bank card, and you are comfortable with a custodial balance held by an unnamed partner. It is a poor fit if you need cash, a chargeback process, a published licence, or a support team that answers for something.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Excluded places are listed by name; the rule is by residence, not citizenship
Cost 3 / 10 $29–$50 per card, 2–3.5% per top-up, $0.50 authorisation, FX markup up to 2%
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT across ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No legal entity, issuer or licences published; custodial balance; Terms marked placeholder; no reviews found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Three virtual cards in about 10 minutes, Apple Pay and Google Pay everywhere; no ATMs, plastic only by pre-order
Total 5.9 / 10 Strong on access and funding, weak on transparency and recovery

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in far more places than most crypto cards — and the rule is where you live, not what passport you hold. That is the single best thing about ExCards, and it deserves to be said plainly before anything else.

The card’s own geo page publishes only excluded places, not a list of supported countries, so there is no whitelist to fail. What is excluded: North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba; Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson “where applicable”; Russia, described as excluded “depending on transaction context and issuer policy”; Belarus “for sanctioned persons”; and Myanmar and Sudan. If you are not in that list, the published position is that you can apply.

The rule is residence, and the card is explicit about it: “You must accurately disclose your country of residence at issuance.” If you move, you have 30 days to report it. And if your disclosure turns out to be false, the card says you may face retroactive card closure — that is, the account can be closed looking backwards at payments you already made.

One thing I could not find anywhere: a list of supported countries. If you are in an unusual jurisdiction, the honest answer is that you will only know by applying. Citizenship is a separate matter from residence, and both get screened — more on that in the risks section.

How to get it

Light KYC. That is the whole identity check: a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. No selfie, no video call, no liveness check, and no proof of address mentioned on the pages I read. You need to be “18+ in most countries” — the legal age in your jurisdiction.

The route in is app.excards.io, or the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app. You sign up, upload the passport page, and an issuer partner checks authenticity and screens you against sanctions and PEP lists. The card is issued “within 10 minutes after a successful check.”

You choose one of three virtual cards: Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce, or Mastercard Business. The balance is denominated in USDT/USD. A physical Visa E-commerce card can be pre-ordered, but it needs a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT, and no shipping date or cost is stated.

There is one KYC level, and it is refreshed on set occasions: at card expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or by default every 24 months. Listed grounds for rejection are false or altered documents (which carries a permanent block), a sanctions or PEP hit, a failed check, or issuance that would breach law or issuer policy. ExCards also reserves the right to refuse without giving a reason.

If you lose a virtual card, or the details leak, or it expires, replacing it costs the card price again: 29, 35 or 50 USDT depending on which one you had.

Fees: what a card really costs you

The headline number looks fine — $29 to $50 once, no monthly fee — and then the percentages start. Here is the full schedule as published.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ExCards payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Issuance, Visa Universe $29 one-time, paid in USDT, non-refundable
Issuance, Visa E-commerce $35 one-time, paid in USDT, non-refundable
Issuance, Mastercard Business $50 one-time, paid in USDT, non-refundable
Mandatory first top-up 10 USDT, credited to the balance
Monthly fee None — no maintenance or inactivity fee
Top-up fee, Universe 2%
Top-up fee, E-commerce and Business 3.5%
Authorisation fee, Universe and Business $0.50 flat
Authorisation fee, E-commerce $0.10 under $1.00, free at $1.00 and above
3-D Secure authentication, E-commerce $0.03 per authentication
E-commerce decline penalty $0.80 if the decline rate exceeds 10% in a rolling window
FX Issuer reference rate plus “a markup of up to 2% over the interbank rate” for non-USD merchants
Non-USDT coins Converted to USDT “at network rate”, no fee stated
ATM Not available
Visa Universe limits $1,000,000 per transaction; $3,000,000 per day and per month
Visa E-commerce limits $20,000 per transaction; no daily or monthly limit stated
Mastercard Business limits $250,000 per transaction; $500,000 per day; $1,000,000 per month

Now let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because percentages behave very differently depending on what you are doing.

A $50 subscription. On Visa Universe, you already paid $29 for the card. The top-up fee of 2% applies to the top-up, not the purchase — so if you funded it with 50 USDT, 1 USDT went on fees and 49 arrived. Then the $0.50 authorisation fee lands on top of the $50 charge. So roughly $50.51 spent to buy $50 of something, plus whatever the merchant charges.

A $8.99 monthly SaaS bill on Visa E-commerce. The top-up fee is 3.5% here, so funding $8.99 costs about $9.30 in total. The authorisation fee is $0.10 because the amount is under $1.00? No — at $8.99 you are above $1.00, so authorisation is free. But add $0.03 for the 3-D Secure step. That comes to roughly $9.32 spent on a $8.99 bill, and the percentage is worse the smaller the payment.

Anything priced in euros. A €30 purchase on any card goes through the FX path: the issuer’s reference rate plus up to 2%. At the maximum markup that is €0.60 on €30, on top of the authorisation fee. On E-commerce, if the merchant also challenges the payment, add $0.03.

One more line worth reading twice: for E-commerce, if your decline rate climbs above 10% in a rolling window, the card adds $0.80. That is a penalty for failures, and failures are often the merchant’s or the network’s doing — a pre-order for a service with no stock, a shop that rejects foreign BINs.

On limits: they are very high, and they are the same for every user, with no split by KYC level. Universe at $1,000,000 per transaction is generous enough that it tells you the real constraint is the balance you load, not the ceiling.

Top up: the strongest part of the product

If you already hold stablecoins, this is where ExCards is genuinely good, and it is why I scored funding 9 out of 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ExCards starts with a transfer to the right network

The balance is in USDT. You can top up across ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism and Avalanche — and the card is careful to add that “these networks are just examples, we accept others too.” If you hold BTC, ETH or SOL instead, they are converted to USDT at the network rate first. Transfers between your own cards are free.

Costs: 2% on Universe, 3.5% on E-commerce and Business. The card’s own worked example is worth memorising because it makes the fee concrete — 100 USDT at 3.5% credits 96.50 USDT. The first top-up must be at least 10 USDT, and that 10 USDT is spendable, not a setup charge. The blockchain network fee is paid to the network, not to ExCards.

Two things the pages do not cover. Fiat top-up is not mentioned anywhere I looked, so do not assume you can add money by card or bank transfer. And there is no described way to withdraw the balance — the public pages describe spending, not cashing out, and I would treat that as unstated rather than as absent until you ask them.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay and Google Pay work on all three cards. That matters more than it sounds: once the card sits in your phone wallet, day-to-day spending feels ordinary, and each payment uses a device-specific number rather than your actual card number.

What you are actually doing is spending a stored balance, not drawing on a bank account. The card cannot overdraw because there is nothing to overdraw — if the balance is empty, the payment fails. Declined transactions return the money to the card balance automatically.

The edges of daily use are where it narrows. All cards are virtual, and ATM cash withdrawal is not available — so this is not a card for a country where cash still matters. The plastic Visa E-commerce card is pre-order only, with no stated delivery date.

There are no cashback or rewards of any kind described. The only scheme is a referral programme: Bronze at 20% per card issued plus 0.05% of top-ups, rising to Platinum at 40% plus 0.20%, and a 10% discount on a first card with a code.

Blocked categories are described in principle — illegal goods or services, terrorism financing, money laundering, sanctioned-country transactions — but no merchant-category list is published, so you cannot check in advance whether a specific merchant is fine. Card payments are split among three players: the network routes and sets rules, the issuer holds the programme, and ExCards appears to be the front end. Which of those sits behind your money is the subject of the next section.

What can go wrong

Start with the biggest one, because it is not a fee or a limit.

Nobody will tell you who you are banking with. The brand ExCards carries a © 2026 notice, but no legal entity and no country of registration are published. The cards are described as “issued by a third-party card issuer partner” and sponsored by “licensed BIN sponsors” — no issuer named, no licences named. Your balance is custodial, “held with our card issuer partner”, meaning your USDT sits with that partner rather than in a wallet only you control. Custodial balances carry counterparty risk that self-custody does not, and the crypto space has a long record of custodial failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022).

You have no complaint route. I searched for reviews and trust signals and found nothing about ExCards — no Trustpilot page, no review-site entries, no published incident. A brand with zero public feedback is not a brand with a perfect record; it is a brand nobody has written about. The card says plainly that it is “not liable for declined transactions, FX losses, network downtime, or merchant rejections”, and no dispute or chargeback process is published. Declines come back to your balance, which is better than nothing, but a genuine double charge or a merchant who takes your money and delivers nothing has no stated resolution path.

The paperwork is unfinished. The Terms of Service are dated “last updated 17 May 2026” but describe themselves as a placeholder, with a final version due in May–June 2026. Fee changes are announced in-app at least 30 days ahead — which is at least a courtesy, but it means the fee schedule I have written above is not fixed.

Small frictions. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days. Address verification is offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs simply because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country.

Data handling. Support is 24/7 through the in-app chat on app.excards.io, answered “within minutes”, and through the Telegram bot t.me/excards_bot; the interface runs in English, Russian, Spanish and Ukrainian. On the security side: TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations, and suspicious activity auto-declined. But no freeze feature is described, and no safeguarding statement is published — and in the EU, e-money institutions are required to safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, funds that are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. I found no dated licence or issuer events, and no official incident reported either.

One thing I checked for you and will not overstate: as a user of the card, you are screened against sanctions and PEP lists, which is normal and lawful, and there is no route around it. Residence and nationality are recorded separately, and both can matter. I am not going to describe how people get around that.

Support is available in Russian, which matters if Russian is your first language for this kind of product.

What to take instead

I looked at three comparable cards, and I will be straight: none of them is obviously safer, only differently shaped. Treat this as comparison, not a recommendation to switch.

Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it targets “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; app listing is Naira-focused Nigeria, “Nigerians and global users” No country list on official pages; app says works in “more than 176 countries”
Card Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the app page
Cost Not stated Creating a virtual card is free Not stated; app page lists no fees
Fees Real-time conversion at payment time, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”; no percentage stated Not stated Not stated
Funding USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated

Two patterns stand out. First, all three are as silent as ExCards on the details you actually need: Cardex does not state a fee percentage, CardFlow does not state networks or a monthly fee, HyperCard does not state a network or any fee. Second, Cardex and CardFlow are visibly built around Nigeria — Naira balances, Naira bank transfers — which is not a criticism, but it tells you what they are for.

Where ExCards does lead is on funding networks and on limits, and it is the only one of the four that publishes a full fee schedule, per-transaction limits and a decline penalty. If your priority is knowing the price before you pay, that counts for something. If your priority is a named issuer and a published licence, none of these four is a clear answer, and you would be better served by a regulated exchange’s own card or by an EMI-issued card in your own country.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend ExCards to someone in this specific situation: you are paying subscriptions, hosting, advertising or software bills online, you already hold USDT, you would rather not spend an afternoon on a bank’s KYC queue, and you accept that your balance is custodial with a partner you cannot name and that a declined payment has no dispute route. In that case the product does its job, and the ten-minute issuance claim is credible.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these apply. You need cash — there are no ATM withdrawals. You want a physical card you can hold and hand over. You plan to spend through merchants who reject foreign-issued prepaid cards. You are relying on a chargeback. You are putting life savings on it rather than a spending float. You are in one of the excluded places, or your residence is the kind of situation where “depending on transaction context and issuer policy” would land badly. And if your country has its own regulated e-money or card options, a locally licensed provider with a published complaints procedure is the better default — the fee difference is usually smaller than you assume, and the protections are not comparable.

My own rule, if I were the one clicking: fund it with an amount I could afford to see tied up for months, use it for one category of spending, and treat the balance as a float rather than as money on deposit.

Frequently asked questions

What is ExCards card?

ExCards is a prepaid card you load with USDT and spend like an ordinary payment card. There is no bank account behind it and no monthly fee. You choose between three virtual cards — Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce and Mastercard Business — priced at $29, $35 and $50 respectively, paid in USDT. It is aimed at online spenders paying subscriptions, advertising and software bills directly from a crypto balance.

How does ExCards card work?

You sign up at app.excards.io or the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app, upload a passport scan, and an issuer partner checks it. A virtual card is issued within 10 minutes, and you transfer USDT to it across a choice of blockchain networks. Payments draw down that stored balance, so the card cannot overdraw it. Spending in a currency other than USD converts at the issuer’s rate plus up to 2%.

Is ExCards a bank?

No, and that is the single most important thing to understand about it. No legal entity or country of registration is published for the brand. The cards are described as issued by a third-party card issuer partner and sponsored by licensed BIN sponsors, but neither the issuer nor any licence is named. Your balance is custodial, held with that partner, not with you. So this is a crypto card programme, not a deposit-taking bank.

Who owns ExCards?

The public pages do not say. There is a brand notice (© 2026) but no registered company, no registered address and no regulator named. The card is issued through an unnamed partner, and the Terms of Service are still marked as a placeholder. If knowing who stands behind your money matters to you, this is a question to ask in support before you deposit anything.

Does ExCards card require KYC?

Yes, but a light version: a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. There is no selfie, no video or liveness check, and no proof of address is mentioned. You must be 18+ in most countries. You are screened against sanctions and PEP lists, and data is refreshed at card expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or every 24 months by default.

Is ExCards card free?

No. The card costs $29, $35 or $50 depending on which one, paid in USDT and non-refundable, and there is a mandatory first top-up of at least 10 USDT. There is no monthly or inactivity fee. On top of that: 2–3.5% per top-up, a $0.50 authorisation fee on two of the cards, and up to 2% FX markup on non-USD payments.

How do I top up the card?

You send USDT to the card’s balance over a network of your choice — ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche, and others the card says it also accepts. BTC, ETH and SOL are converted to USDT at the network rate first. The fee is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on the other two, and the blockchain network fee is separate.

How do I add ExCards card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay is supported on all three cards, as is Google Pay. You add the virtual card through the wallet app, which stores a device-specific number rather than your card number and generates a one-time code per payment. Neither company sees your full card number. If the number is blocked for phone use, that restriction comes from the issuer side.

Can I use ExCards card in my country?

There is no published list of supported countries, only a list of excluded ones: North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson where applicable, Russia depending on transaction context and issuer policy, Belarus for sanctioned persons, Myanmar and Sudan. The rule is by residence, and you must report a change of address within 30 days.

Is ExCards card safe?

Safely handled and transparent are different questions. The card uses TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on every authorisation, and auto-declines suspicious activity. But the balance is custodial with an unnamed partner, no safeguarding statement is published, no freeze feature is described, and no dispute or chargeback process is offered. I also found no user reviews anywhere, which means no independent track record either way.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team