The Simple Crypto card reviewed in full, from signup to shutdown risk
The Simple Crypto card is a virtual Mastercard that spends directly from a stablecoin balance, so if you already hold USDC or USDT and want to pay for things with it without opening a bank account in your own name, the shape of the offer is exactly right. It is free to issue and free to keep, it accepts instant transfers across several networks, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the good news, and it is real.
The other half of the picture is harder to ignore. Simple has announced that its custodial wallet services end on 30 June 2026, and reviews on Trustpilot repeatedly describe accounts being blocked with funds stuck inside. The card is virtual only — no plastic is on the market yet — and there is no cashback programme mentioned anywhere in the published material. So this is a tool, not a reward account, and the question for you is whether you can afford to depend on a provider that is halfway through rearranging its own engine.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.9 out of 10
I scored this card 6.9 / 10. That is a passing mark, not an endorsement. The number is built from five criteria, each weighted equally by how much it matters to someone actually paying for their shopping with it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Region list dated 24 January 2026 covers Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa and the CIS, plus the United States |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issue 0 EUR, servicing 0 per month; international card payment 2.5 %; ATM: first 3 withdrawals per month 0, then 2 %; card replacement 20 EUR |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Tron, and USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Base — instantly |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Card issued by Unlimit EU Limited (Cyprus), Central Bank of Cyprus licence 115.1.3.7; custodial wallet closing by 30 June 2026; complaints about blocks and support, Trustpilot 4.2 out of 5 from 7,046 reviews |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard only, physical card in development; Apple Pay and Google Pay present, ATM available with a 500 USDC daily limit |
| Total | 6.9 / 10 |
Who this suits: people who already hold USDC, want a self-custody-linked card, and are comfortable spending through Apple Pay rather than handling a piece of plastic. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card next week, anyone sensitive to the 2.5 % foreign-exchange-style charge on international purchases, and anyone planning to keep a custodial balance with Simple past mid-2026.
Will they give you the card?
This is unusually broad. The help-centre list of eligible regions, dated 24 January 2026, covers more of the world than most cards in this category manage. The card is offered in the United States as well as across Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa and the CIS, and in the Crown dependencies.
The Europe leg alone is long: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Ukraine.
Asia-Pacific runs from Australia and Hong Kong through Indonesia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. Latin America covers Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico and Peru. The Middle East, Africa and CIS group lists Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Georgia, Ghana, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Moldova, Nigeria, Oman, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, Uganda, the UAE and Uzbekistan. Then Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, and the United States.
One thing to notice: the list is framed around regions and countries, and it does not say whether it applies to your citizenship, your residence, or both. If that distinction matters to you — and for many readers in this situation it does — the honest answer is that the public pages do not address it. The safest reading is that the country you actually live in needs to be on the list. I would not plan around an interpretation that the card’s own pages do not make.
How to get it
The path is short and, importantly, entirely online. In the Cards section of the app you choose the Virtual card, enter your phone number, and complete KYC by uploading Proof of Identity and Proof of Address. The card’s own wording is that this “usually takes a few minutes but can take longer” — read that as minutes when things go well and as an unspecified amount of time when they do not.
The documents accepted as proof of address, and the trap to avoid, are worth spelling out. A PDF bank statement, an electricity, water or gas bill, an internet or landline bill, a tax bill or government letter, or a utility bill from a government agency all count. They must be dated within the last six months. The published reasons for rejection are exactly the mistakes people make: uploading a passport or ID instead of a proof of address, sending a document older than six months, or sending a screenshot instead of a proper PDF or photo.
What you get is a virtual Mastercard. The card currency is EUR. A physical card is, in the card’s words, “currently in development” — so if you were picturing something in your wallet, that is not available today. Replacement or reissue of a card costs 20 EUR.
Two things the public pages simply do not say: the minimum age, and whether the verification process has tiers. There is a single Proof of Identity plus Proof of Address flow as far as anything published goes.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers are genuinely good: the card is free to issue, there is no monthly cardholder management fee, and an inactive card costs nothing to keep. That part is better than most competitors. The catch is in what you pay when you actually use it, and above all when you use it outside your own country.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issue | 0 EUR |
| Cardholder management | 0 per month |
| Non-active card maintenance | 0 per month |
| Reissue, renewal or replacement | 20 EUR |
| Card payment, domestic | 0 |
| Card payment, international | 2.5 % |
| Cash withdrawal in a currency other than the card currency | 0 |
| Separate conversion line | None listed; the crypto conversion rate is shown on screen at top-up |
| ATM withdrawal, domestic | 0 for the first 3 withdrawals per month, then 2 % |
| ATM withdrawal, international | 1.75 + 2.5 % |
| ATM balance inquiry | 0 |
| Chargeback | 40 EUR |
| Review of an unjustified claim | 40 EUR |
| Card payments, daily limit | 30 000 USDC, maximum 15 purchases |
| Card payments, monthly limit | 30 000 USDC |
| Card payments, 3 months | 75 000 USDC |
| Card payments, 6 months | 100 000 USDC |
| ATM, daily limit | 500 USDC, maximum 5 withdrawals |
| ATM, monthly limit | 5 000 USDC |
Three everyday payments, so the numbers mean something:
- Groceries at home. Domestic card payment, 0. Nothing to think about.
- A meal out in another country. 2.5 % on the international card payment. On a 40 EUR dinner that is 1 EUR for the privilege of not changing currency. Not fatal, but it is the charge you will notice most.
- Cash from an ATM abroad. 1.75 plus 2.5 %, per the schedule’s own EUR figures. Domestic is kinder: your first three cash withdrawals each month cost 0, and after that it is 2 %.
Note what “domestic” means here — the EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. If you are in the United Kingdom, in the United States, or anywhere else outside that group, an everyday cash withdrawal counts as international for fee purposes.
There is also no multi-currency balance described. The card currency is EUR while balances and limits are expressed in USDC, and a separate conversion fee line does not appear on the schedule.
How to Top up the card
This is the card’s strongest suit, and the reason the top-up score sits where it does. You can load it with USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Tron, and with USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Base. The card is linked directly to your crypto balance, and the top-up is described as instant: your card balance is updated immediately, with the conversion details shown on screen.

Two things worth understanding about how this works. First, there is no separate conversion fee line in the schedule — the crypto conversion rate is simply shown on you at the moment you top up, which means the cost is in the rate rather than in a line item. Second, deposit fee, minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated. If you are the kind of person who moves small amounts often, that gap is worth asking about before you rely on it.
There is a fiat route as well: crypto can be bought inside the app using your bank card or your bank account. And withdrawals go the other way — a Withdraw button on the card dashboard sends funds to a Custody Wallet or a Self-custody Wallet, executed in cryptocurrency, with the fee visible in the Card Transaction History. The fee amounts themselves are not published, and neither is the timing.
One background fact that matters more than it looks: network fees on your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. And transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the card behaves like a prepaid card. You load a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. It works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and there is an ATM network with limits attached.
There is no cashback mentioned in any of the material — not as a headline rate, not as a tier, not anywhere. If you are comparing this with a rewards card, that absence should carry weight rather than being treated as a minor omission.
The app itself is rated by the company at 4.8 / 5 on the App Store and 4.9 / 5 on the Google Play store. That is a marketing claim, the number of ratings behind it is not shown, and I would read it as a suggestion rather than evidence.
Which merchants refuse it is not stated. As general background, the card number starts with an issuer identification number that merchants can look up, and some shops apply extra scrutiny or decline prepaid and foreign-issued cards — so a decline is a normal event in this category and not necessarily a fault in the card.
What can go wrong
The most important item here is not a fee. Simple’s help centre carries a header reading “Urgent Legal Notice: Mandatory Closure of Custodial Wallet Services by June 30, 2026”, alongside articles on the cessation of custodial services and a general announcement of the same. There is also an article about moving your wallet to a new engine. If you are holding funds in the custodial arrangement, the ground under you is shifting with a published deadline.
The company structure is worth understanding. The Simple Account and the Mastercard are provided by Unlimit EU Limited in Cyprus, “licensed and regulated by the Central Bank of Cyprus as an Electronic Money Institution with license number 115.1.3.7”. Self-custody services sit with Simple Europe UAB in Lithuania; custody services sit with Stored Assets Ltd in Bulgaria, wallet provider number BB-292, registered with Bulgaria’s National Revenue Agency.
The customer feedback is the other half of this section, and it is consistent. Trustpilot shows 4.2 out of 5 from 7,046 reviews, 24 of them in the last twelve months, read 21 October 2026. The themes reported by users: blocked or disabled accounts with funds stuck and growing verification demands, across reviews from 2025 to June 2026; slow or silent support, from 2025 to September 2026; failed card top-ups and transfers in August 2026; scam allegations and an unexpected charge in April 2025 and September 2026; and complaints about fees and rates in January and April 2026. Simple does not reply to negative reviews.
Those are user reports on a third-party site, not findings, and none of it is confirmed by the card. But it does describe a pattern: verification friction and slow responses are recurring themes, and in a business where account closure is already on the schedule, that combination is what I would worry about.
On the security side, the self-custody wallet is non-custodial, meaning the keys stay with you, and you can set spending limits. Official support is by email only, and Simple says it never asks for passwords, codes or seed phrases. An in-app freeze function is not stated. On disputes, the schedule prices a chargeback at 40 EUR and a review of an unjustified claim at 40 EUR, with no time frames published.
Two structural risks sit behind all of this, independent of the company. A custodial balance means the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust it completely — and providers in this space have failed before. And a blockchain transfer has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return funds, so a stolen key is a total loss.
What to take instead
If the Simple card’s weaknesses — the custodial closure, the virtual-only format, the missing cashback — are the ones that matter to you, there are three other ways to hold and spend crypto. Here is how they compare on the same dimensions.
| TokenPocket | MetaMask | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card | Mastercard/Visa debit, on Arbitrum; Fiat24 cards virtual | Mastercard via Monovate, virtual first then an optional metal card | Virtual and physical Visa, up to 10 cards per user |
| Cost | NFT creation fee partly covered by TokenPocket, user pays a small portion; no other TP fees stated | Virtual free, no annual or maintenance fee; metal 199 USD a year | Annual membership: Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD, Private 10,000 USD |
| Fees to watch | 1 % charged when depositing cryptocurrency into the card, said to be refunded later via rewards and reduced transaction fees | “Minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated on the pages read; no additional MetaMask fees; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used | Non-USD FX 0.5 %–1.75 % depending on country; non-USD transactions under 25 USD: 0.10 USD; declined transaction 0.50 USD; inactivity 1 USD/month after 12 months |
| Rewards | No cashback stated | Cashback in mUSD: Virtual 1 %; Metal headline 3 %, with the footnote limiting 3 % to the first 10,000 USD spent then 1 %; $FLY bonus 5X / 7X | USD cashback: Standard 1.5 % on the first 2,000 USD/month, Premium 2 % on the first 10,000, Private 3 % on the first 40,000; KAST Points add 1 % or 2 % |
| Who can get it | Visa debit for a list of European countries; Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories; other regions on a waitlist; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per FAQ | Residence-based list shown at KYC; no country list published; an ID from a restricted region can still make you ineligible |
Read that table with care rather than as a ranking. TokenPocket has the thinnest footprint of the three and charges 1 % on deposit. MetaMask scores highest and is the only one of the four cards here with a stated cashback rate, but it is the most geographically restricted right now and its fee is described only as “minimal”. KAST is the broadest physically — real Visa cards, several of them — and the most expensive, with membership tiers that run to five figures a year and an FX fee that can reach 1.75 %.
Two structural differences matter more than the numbers. MetaMask spends directly from a connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, so there is no separate balance to load. KAST deposits stablecoins into an account balance in USD converted 1:1 with a 0 % spread, and every purchase is deducted immediately rather than treated as credit.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Simple Crypto card to someone who holds USDC already, pays mostly inside their own region, does not mind managing balances through Apple Pay, and has read the June 2026 custodial closure notice and decided it does not affect them because their funds sit in self-custody. For that person it is a cheap, fast, broadly available tool with an excellent top-up story.
I would not recommend it as the only card someone relies on. The combination that concerns me is specific: published complaints about account blocks with funds stuck, official support by email alone, a virtual-only product, and a custodial shutdown already announced. Whatever else you do, keep a second way to pay.
If you need cash regularly, remember the 2 % domestic rate after three free withdrawals a month and the 1.75 plus 2.5 % international figure. If you travel, compare against a card with a genuinely lower foreign spend cost. If you want rewards, there is nothing here. And if you want a card in your hand, the plastic does not exist yet.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Simple Crypto card?
It is a virtual Mastercard that spends from a stablecoin balance rather than from a bank account. You load it with USDT or USDC, it is linked directly to your crypto balance, and it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card yet — that is described as currently in development. The Simple Account and the Mastercard are provided by Unlimit EU Limited, a Cyprus company licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus as an electronic money institution under number 115.1.3.7.
How do I get the Simple Crypto card?
You open the Cards section of the app, choose the Virtual card, enter your phone number, and complete KYC with a Proof of Identity and a Proof of Address. The card says this usually takes a few minutes but can take longer. Accepted address proof includes a PDF bank statement, a utility bill, an internet or landline bill, or a tax bill or government letter, dated within the last six months.
Does the Simple Crypto card require KYC?
Yes. Identity and address verification are part of the signup, and they are not optional. The published reasons for a rejected proof of address are uploading a passport or ID instead, sending a document older than six months, or sending a screenshot instead of a PDF or photo. Whether there are different verification tiers is not stated on the public pages, and neither is a minimum age.
How much does the Simple Crypto card cost?
Issuing the card is free and there is no monthly servicing or inactive-card fee. The costs that bite are elsewhere: 2.5 % on an international card payment, 2 % on domestic ATM withdrawals after the first three each month, 1.75 plus 2.5 % on international cash withdrawals, and 20 EUR to replace a lost or damaged card. A chargeback or a review of an unjustified claim costs 40 EUR each.
What are the spending limits?
Card payments are capped at 30,000 USDC a day with a maximum of 15 purchases, 30,000 USDC a month, 75,000 USDC over three months and 100,000 USDC over six months. ATMs are far lower: 500 USDC a day with a maximum of five withdrawals, and 5,000 USDC a month. Limits are expressed in USDC even though the card currency is EUR, and how they scale with verification levels is not stated.
How do I top up the Simple Crypto card?
Send USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum or Tron, or USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum or Base. The top-up is described as instant, with the balance updated immediately and the conversion rate shown on screen. You can also buy crypto inside the app with a bank card or bank account. The deposit fee, the minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated.
Is the Simple Crypto card safe?
The self-custody wallet is non-custodial, so your keys stay with you, and you can set spending limits. Simple says it never asks for passwords, codes or seed phrases, and official support runs by email. Weigh that against what users report on Trustpilot — 4.2 out of 5 from 7,046 reviews — including blocked accounts with funds stuck and slow support. Those are user reports, not confirmed findings, but they are the reason I would keep a backup way to pay.
Why is Simple closing its custodial wallet?
The help centre carries a notice titled “Urgent Legal Notice: Mandatory Closure of Custodial Wallet Services by June 30, 2026”, with articles on the cessation of custodial services and on moving your wallet to a new engine. That is a deadline for the custodial side of the business, not for the card as such. If you hold funds in a custodial arrangement with Simple, this is the one item on this page I would not leave unaddressed.
Does the Simple Crypto card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes, the card’s own material says it works with both, and since the product is virtual-only, adding it to a phone wallet is the normal way to use it at a terminal. As general background, Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time security code. You can also set spending limits on the card itself.
Is Simple Crypto a bank?
No. Simple is a crypto platform; the account and Mastercard are issued by Unlimit EU Limited in Cyprus as an electronic money institution. That distinction matters for your protection: electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Simple Europe UAB in Lithuania handles self-custody services, and Stored Assets Ltd in Bulgaria handles custody.
Wallet card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
