What the 3.5% transaction fee means for your everyday spending
Kemy is a crypto payment card that arrives in two shapes: unlimited virtual cards with no expiry-style constraints on how many you hold, and one physical Mastercard per user. It converts and spends crypto balances and stablecoins, it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and the physical card can pull cash out of an ATM up to $500 a day. On paper that is a genuinely useful combination for people who cannot get an ordinary bank card, or who need a card that is not tied to one bank account.
What stops it from being an easy recommendation is the price of using it. A virtual card costs $15 to issue and $2 a month, and every transaction carries 3.5% plus $1. A physical card costs $250 to issue and $10 a month. Set against a card that earns you nothing — cashback is not mentioned anywhere in the card’s own material — those are heavy numbers for a product whose main job is everyday spending. And the deposit fee is the one figure the card’s own pages contradict each other on: 8% in one place, 5% in another, on the same page.
I scored it 6.0 out of 10. The score is not a verdict on whether the card works, because it does work, in the specific sense that payments go through and the mobile wallets pair. It is a verdict on value: what you pay to hold the card, what you pay to use it, and how much of your trust you have to extend to get it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.0 out of 10
Here is how the mark was built up, criterion by criterion, with the reason attached to each.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | The card claims “190+ countries” and says only that “a few restrictions apply”, without naming them; you find out whether you qualify at sign-up rather than from a published list |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Virtual: $15 issuance and $2 a month, transaction fee 3.5% + $1, top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100; physical: $250 issuance and $10 a month, main-account deposit 8% or 5% with the page contradicting itself |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDT and USDC “on the main networks” with the networks not named, plus BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat via mobile money and virtual bank accounts |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Not a bank, registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business, issuing banking partners unnamed; unofficial ratings: Trustpilot 2.5 from 4 reviews, CryptoSlate at 3.9 marked “Poor” |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Unlimited virtual cards and one physical Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, ATM withdrawals of $500 a day |
That table is the whole argument in one place. Two strong rows, one middling row, and two weak ones. Cost and reliability are the two things that decide whether a card like this is worth having, and both score badly.
Who this suits. Someone who needs a working Visa or Mastercard number and cannot get one from a bank in their situation — no traditional account, a country where crypto cards are the practical route, or a business that needs many separate virtual cards on one account, which is the audience the card is built around. It also suits someone who spends rarely and mostly needs a card to sit in a wallet and be ready, rather than something that runs through every purchase.
Who it does not suit. Anyone with ordinary spending volume. The transaction fee on the virtual card is 3.5% plus $1, and that applies to everything you buy, every time. The physical card does not list that transaction fee, but its $250 issuance and $10 monthly cost mean you need real volume to justify it. If your plan is to use this card for groceries and transport, the fee structure works against you directly.
Who will they give you the card
The short answer is: the card claims almost everyone, and that is both its best feature and its least reassuring one. The published figure is “190+ countries”, with the only qualification being that “a few restrictions apply” and that eligibility is checked at sign-up.
That phrase is doing a lot of work. Nobody reading the public pages learns which countries are excluded. The list is not published, so the practical test is: you try, and either it works or it does not. If you are in a sanctioned jurisdiction, or somewhere under its own financial rules that make crypto card issuance difficult, that outcome will surface at the application step rather than in advance.
There is a second thing to understand here, and it is not about geography at all. Kemy describes itself plainly as “a fintech company, not a bank”. It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business in the United States, and it says cards are issued by “our authorized banking partners” — partners it does not name. So the entity you are contracting with is not the entity that issues your card. That distinction matters for support, for complaints, and for what happens if something goes badly wrong; I come back to it in the risks section.
How to get it
The application runs through an identity check. The card names Sumsub as its verification provider, with Veriff also named, and puts the process at two minutes on a phone. Documents are not specified on the public pages. The business pricing page does list a proof-of-address check at $1.80, which tells you that such a check exists in the product but not what an ordinary applicant goes through.
There is no tier structure to work through. No KYC levels are described anywhere, and the card says only that limits may change according to your KYC level — which implies levels exist without describing them. There is no published processing time and no published list of reasons an application might be rejected.
What you actually choose between is the card type, and there are only two:
- Virtual — the card says these are unlimited, so you can hold as many as you want, with Visa shown on the mockups and no expiry constraint described.
- Physical — one Mastercard per user, contactless, priority support included.
The card states that “Visa & Mastercard accepted globally”, which is a statement about where the cards will be accepted, not where you may hold an account. The card currency is not stated anywhere, and I could not find an unofficial source filling that gap either. That is worth pausing on: if you are outside the United States, whether you are spending dollars, euros or something else is something you may need to establish with support before you rely on the card for anything important.
Physical delivery is described as “within 5 to 15 business days, depending on country”, with DHL Express included in the $250 order. There is no country list for shipping, and the replacement cost for a lost or stolen card is not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section that decides the card’s score, so I want to be precise about each number and where it comes from.

| Fee or limit | Virtual card | Physical Mastercard |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | $15 | $250 (DHL Express included) |
| Monthly fee | $2 | $10 |
| Card validity | 3 years | 3 years |
| Cards per user | Unlimited | 1 |
| Transaction fee | 3.5% + $1 | Not listed |
| Failed transaction fee | $0.8 | $0.80 |
| Top-up fee | $1.5 under $100, or 1.25% from $100 (minimum $5) | Same structure (minimum $10) |
| Main-account deposit fee | Page shows 8% in one place and 5% in another | Same |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated | $500 per day, $15,000 per month; fee not stated |
| Balance limit | Up to $100,000 | Up to $400,000 |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 | $25,000 |
| Daily spend limit | Not stated | $50,000 |
Two things stand out before any shopping maths. The foreign exchange fee is not listed at all, so if you are a user who spends in more than one currency you are buying an unknown. And the ATM fee is not stated either, on a physical card that supports ATM withdrawals.
An online subscription at $20. On the virtual card, you pay a 3.5% transaction fee plus $1 on top of that amount. On the physical card, no transaction fee is published, but you are paying $10 a month to hold it — so if that subscription is the only thing you use it for, the monthly fee is the whole cost.
A $60 supermarket shop. Virtual: $2.10 plus $1, so $3.10 on top. This is the number that makes the card difficult to recommend for everyday use — a 5% all-in cost on a routine basket.
An ATM withdrawal of $200 on the physical card. The withdrawal itself is within the $500 daily and $15,000 monthly limits, and the card supports it, but the fee is not published, so you cannot calculate what that costs you.
And then the one that sits underneath everything: the deposit fee. The card’s own pages show 8% on the main account and 5% in the deposits section, and an unofficial third-party source reports 8% deducted from every deposit. A CryptoSlate review also flags the 8% deduction specifically. So the most defensible number to plan around is the higher one, and the discrepancy is itself the finding — the card has not settled what its own headline deposit fee is.
One more limitation worth knowing: there are only the two card types. No consumer tiers exist. API plans under separate names — Decouverte, Starter, Business and Premium — live on their own page and are a different product.
How to top it up
Topping up starts with crypto, and this is where the card is at its most straightforward. USDT and USDC are supported “on the main networks” — the card does not name which ones. BTC, ETH and SOL are also available through an on/off ramp. On the fiat side, mobile money and virtual bank accounts are offered.
The networks gap matters more than it sounds. Stablecoins exist on many chains, and sending on the wrong one is how deposits go missing — a blockchain transfer is irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. The card says “main networks” and stops. You would be relying on the dashboard to show you the right one at the moment of transfer rather than on a published specification.
The fees, again, from the costs table: $1.5 for a top-up under $100, or 1.25% from $100 with a $5 minimum on the virtual card and $10 on the physical. Account creation is free. The main-account deposit fee is the contradictory 8%/5% figure.
On the way out, crypto withdrawals go to a wallet on any chain. Bank payouts run from $25 to $2,499 per transfer to US and European accounts. Withdrawal fees are not specified — the card’s own FAQ admits they are variable network and administrative fees, which is honest but not a number you can plan around. Crypto-to-fiat pricing is described as “published at launch”, which leaves the conversion rate a separate question from the withdrawal fee.
Two terms from the card’s own conditions are worth reading before you commit money. Termination requires one month’s notice, and the terms say nothing about returning the balance — that is a genuine gap, not something I am inferring. Exporting stored data is not possible, and termination becomes possible after 18 months of non-use.
Paying with it every day
The everyday experience is the card’s strongest suit, and this is where the 9 out of 10 comes from.
Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all supported. The physical Mastercard is contactless. In practice this is what makes the card pleasant to use: you tap rather than handle a plastic rectangle, and the card does not need to be in your wallet.
The virtual cards being unlimited is the feature that distinguishes this card, and it is the one I would think about first if you run an operation of any kind — subscriptions, ad accounts, marketplaces, anything where you need a card number per merchant and want to freeze each one separately when something goes wrong. The dashboard lets you freeze, unfreeze and delete cards instantly, which is exactly the tool you want when a subscription needs to be stopped today rather than at the end of the billing cycle.
Limits, from the table: virtual cards hold up to $100,000 with $10,000 per transaction; the physical card holds up to $400,000 with $25,000 per transaction and $50,000 daily spend. The card says these may change with KYC level.
Two absences. Cashback is not mentioned, so I would assume there is none. And no App Store or Google Play app was found on the site — the offering is a web dashboard and a Telegram bot, with no ratings published for either. If you are someone who lives in their phone, that is a downgrade from the app you might expect.
One clause in the card’s terms deserves attention because it is unusual. Payments are described as non-refundable because the service activates immediately. Combined with the requirement that claims be reported in writing within two months of discovery, that is a tight window. Chargebacks are not addressed at all. US law and US courts govern, and US debit card reversal rights and credit card rights come from two different sets of rules; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. There is a $0.80 fee on a failed transaction.
What can go wrong
The issuing bank is a blank. The card says its cards come from “authorized banking partners” and never names one. An unofficial source lists the operator as a Delaware entity with no issuing bank disclosed. You are therefore paying into a structure where the party that issued your card is invisible to you and the party you deal with is not the issuer.
The custody model is not stated. The card says funds are held “in segregated accounts with regulated institutions” and claims regular audits, but it does not describe who holds your crypto or in what form. That distinction is not cosmetic. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely; with a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and the risk shifts to you — key loss, phishing, malware that swaps a copied address. Kemy does not tell you which side of that line it sits on. Given the card’s own claim of 2FA, device biometric login, real-time AML transaction monitoring and AES-256 card-data encryption, the security story is described in detail; the custody story is not.
Complaints are thin, small and unverified. A secondary aggregator, cryptocards.so, reports Trustpilot at 2.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, with mentions of delayed applications, failed withdrawals, unanswered support and scam warnings, and one user flagging the absence of 3-D Secure; the same source also records praise for fast sign-up. That sample is tiny and unverified, and when I searched for a Trustpilot page or Reddit threads for the Kemy website I did not find one. Treat the 2.5 as a signal to check, not a measurement. The CryptoSlate review, rating 3.9 and marked “Poor”, is the more substantial third-party read: it flags the 8% deposit deduction, the absence of a named issuing bank, undisclosed owners, and inconsistent KYC claims on the site’s own pages. The card’s own FAQ, meanwhile, admits that withdrawal fees are variable network and administrative charges. No dated incidents are recorded on the public pages.
No insurance is mentioned. For a prepaid card holding money that is not a bank deposit, that is a gap you should notice.
Support exists in theory. “24/7 customer support” is claimed, with a Telegram bot, a Telegram channel, X, an FAQ and an email address that is obfuscated on the site. The interface is available in roughly 30 languages. The aggregator’s complaints about unanswered support sit awkwardly against that list, and the practical question is whether a Telegram bot counts as resolution when a deposit is wrong.
The known category hazards apply here too. Prepaid and foreign BINs get declined by some merchants, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuing country — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Gambling, MCC 7995, is blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the card does not publish its own blocked-merchant list. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days. Card programmes do close: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme closed. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left — which is why the missing clause on returning balances at termination is worth raising with support before you have a balance at all.
What to take instead
None of these is a recommendation. They are the three alternatives I looked at, so you can see where the trade-offs sit.
| Kemy | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.0 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who it targets | “190+ countries”, restrictions not named | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions listed | Aimed at Nigeria, “Nigerians and global users” | No country list on official pages; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” |
| Card | Unlimited virtual (Visa on mockups) and one physical Mastercard | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated |
| Cost | $15 + $2/month virtual; $250 + $10/month physical | Not stated | Virtual card described as free to create; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; no fees on the App Store page |
| Transaction fees | 3.5% + $1 (virtual) | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion; no percentage published | Not stated | Not stated |
| Funding | USDT, USDC “on the main networks”, BTC, ETH, SOL, mobile money, virtual accounts | USDT, USDC, BTC wallets; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR |
| Rewards | Cashback not mentioned | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Two things this comparison should tell you. First, the whole category is thin on published numbers — three of these four competitors do not state their fees in a form you can calculate from. Kemy publishes more about its pricing than most, which is why this review can say 3.5% + $1 out loud instead of shrugging. That is a point in its favour.
Second, Kemy’s differentiator is real: unlimited virtual cards. Cardex is the nearest competitor on reach and publishes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks one when you spend, with no percentage stated; CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria with a free virtual card; HyperCard converts deposits into USD or EUR balances but does not publish its network or fees. If you need many card numbers, nothing in this set clearly beats Kemy on that. If you need the cheapest way to spend, none of them shows you a number you can trust.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card, and who needs a card number to be treated like a normal payment method — subscriptions, websites that check the issuing country, platforms that decline prepaid BINs. In that situation the alternative is not a cheaper card, it is no card at all, and the 3.5% plus $1 stops being a fee and starts being the price of participating.
I would also recommend it, with less enthusiasm, to someone running many separate virtual cards from one account. Unlimited cards with instant freeze and delete from the dashboard is the best version of this product I have seen, and the $2 a month is a small price for it.
I would not recommend it, and would push back if you told me you were planning to use it, for ordinary weekly spending on a virtual card. A 3.5% transaction fee plus $1 on a $60 shop is the kind of number that quietly becomes $30 a month, which is more than the card costs to hold. The physical card is harder to defend still at $250 and $10 a month unless you spend heavily and need the ATM function.
Before any of that, three things. Confirm you are eligible — the country list does not exist publicly, so the application is the test. Ask support what the deposit fee actually is, because the card’s own page says both 8% and 5%. And ask what the card currency is, because that is not stated, and if you spend outside the United States it is a question with real consequences.
If you are in the EU or UK, check whether the provider appears in ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers before you commit money — MiCA’s transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first, and a card like this often depends on two separate licences, one for the crypto side and one for the payment side. That is a check, not an accusation, and it costs you five minutes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kemy card?
Kemy is a crypto payment card offered as unlimited virtual cards or one physical Mastercard per user. You load it with stablecoins or crypto, and it spends as an ordinary card — Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are supported, and the physical card works contactless and at ATMs up to $500 a day. It is issued under Visa and Mastercard licences by banking partners the card does not name.
Is Kemy a bank?
No, and the card is direct about it: “KemyCard is a fintech company, not a bank”. It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business in the United States, and says cards are issued by “our authorized banking partners”. That distinction matters — your money is not a bank deposit, so deposit guarantee schemes and normal bank protections should not be assumed to apply.
How much does a Kemy card cost?
The virtual card is $15 to issue, valid three years, at $2 a month. The physical Mastercard is $250 including DHL Express, valid three years, at $10 a month, one per user. Transactions on the virtual card cost 3.5% plus $1, a failed transaction costs $0.8, and top-ups are $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100.
Is the Kemy card free?
No. Creating the account is free, and CardFlow’s virtual card is advertised as free to create, but Kemy charges issuance on both card types plus a monthly fee. On top of that the deposit fee on the main account is shown as 8% in one section of the card’s pricing pages and 5% in another, and an unofficial source reports 8% taken from every deposit.
Does Kemy card require KYC?
Yes. Identity checks run through Sumsub, with Veriff also named, and take two minutes on a phone. Documents required for ordinary applicants are not specified; the business pricing page does list a proof-of-address check at $1.80. No KYC tiers are described, but the card says limits may change with your KYC level.
How do I top up a Kemy card?
USDT and USDC “on the main networks”, plus BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat via mobile money or virtual bank accounts. The specific networks are not named, which matters because transfers are irreversible — send on the wrong chain and the funds can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
How do I withdraw money from Kemy?
Crypto withdrawals go to a wallet on any chain. Bank payouts run from $25 to $2,499 per transfer to US and European accounts. Withdrawal fees are not published — the card’s FAQ says they vary as network and administrative charges — and crypto-to-fiat pricing is described as published at launch. The terms say nothing about returning a balance if the account is terminated on one month’s notice.
Is Kemy card safe?
The card describes 2FA, device biometric login, real-time AML monitoring, AES-256 card-data encryption and instant card freeze from the dashboard. But its custody model is not stated, so you cannot tell whether your crypto is held by Kemy or stays in your own wallet. No insurance is mentioned, and the issuing banking partners are unnamed.
What do people complain about?
An unofficial aggregator reports Trustpilot at 2.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, mentioning delayed applications, failed withdrawals and unanswered support, though it also records praise for fast sign-up. That sample is small and unverified. A CryptoSlate review rates it 3.9, marked “Poor”, flagging the 8% deposit deduction, the unnamed issuing bank and inconsistent KYC claims.
Is the Kemy card worth it?
Worth it if you cannot get an ordinary bank card, or if you need unlimited virtual cards to manage subscriptions and vendors separately. Not worth it for ordinary weekly spending on a virtual card, where a 3.5% transaction fee plus $1 applies to every purchase. And check ESMA’s register of authorised crypto-asset service providers if you are in the EU or UK.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
