A euro Visa card linked to a crypto balance — useful inside the EEA, thin on detail everywhere else

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

A Bitwala card review is mostly a question of whether you live in the EEA and whether you want a euro account that a crypto balance feeds. If that is you, the proposition is unusually tidy: a free euro account with an IBAN, a virtual Visa that costs €0.99 once, a physical one at €9.99 plus delivery, free euro payments, and crypto payments at €0.20 plus 1%. If that is not you — outside the EEA, or wanting to hold crypto yourself rather than hand it to a provider — this is not the card for you, and the reasons are structural rather than a matter of taste.

Bitwala works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 6.1 / 10. That is a mid-table score, and the shape of it matters more than the number: the everyday mechanics are strong, the fine print is thin. Bitwala publishes almost no limits, no card currency, no FX fee, no ATM free allowance, no named card issuer, and no delivery countries or times. Those gaps are not automatically problems — a lot of providers do the same — but they are gaps you are being asked to accept.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.1 / 10

The card suits EEA residents who want a crypto-linked euro account with a Visa debit card attached. It does not suit people outside the EEA, people who want to keep their own keys, people who plan to live abroad long-term on the strength of it, or anyone who needs published numbers up front — because there are almost none.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitwala starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Verified Bitwala account and residency in the EEA
Cost 7 / 10 Account and subscription free; virtual €0.99 one-time, physical €9.99 one-time plus delivery; euro payments free, crypto payments €0.20 + 1%, ATM €2 + 1%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros; crypto swapped to euros in-app; networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Bitwala GmbH (Germany), euro account and IBAN via Solarisbank; card issuer not named; in 2022 the former company Nuri filed for insolvency, 2022 complaints about blocks
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa debit, virtual and physical; Google Pay works, Apple Pay via Curve; ATM available, limits and freezing in the app

The everyday-use mark is the highest and deserved: this is a functioning Visa debit card with a euro balance behind it, free to spend in euros, freezable from the app, with limits you can set yourself. The lowest marks are on access and reliability, and both come down to the same thing — you are inside a regulated German structure, in the EEA, with the provider’s compliance decisions sitting between you and your money at all times.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, if you have “anyone with a verified Bitwala account and residency in the EEA” — that is the card’s own wording, and the qualifying condition is residence, not citizenship.

That single line is the whole eligibility rule, and it is worth sitting with. Residency in the EEA is the gate. It is not citizenship, not a particular nationality, not a list of excluded countries. If you have moved to an EEA member state and can prove where you live, you are inside the stated rule. If you live outside it, no amount of crypto in your account changes the answer.

Note what is *not* on that line. There is no statement about your nationality, no list of sanctioned countries for this card, and no indication of whether residence must be in a particular member state. In this category those omissions are common: providers publish the residency rule and leave the rest to compliance. I would treat that as “ask”, not as “assume you are fine”.

How to get it

The documented path is short, because there are only two facts to it. You need a verified account — the card’s own words are “instant” for registration, which should be read as a description of the sign-up flow rather than a promise about how fast a decision lands. Once your account is verified, you order a card: virtual or physical.

The virtual card is the one to start with if you want to test the service. It is a Visa debit card, and it is issued into a euro-denominated account. Beyond that, the details thin out quickly:

That last group of gaps is the one to raise before you rely on this. Registration described as “instant” and identity requirements that are “not stated” are in tension. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person assessment — that is the floor, not the ceiling, and providers collect more when they want to. So assume you will be asked for documents; do not assume you will be asked for them at a particular moment. Have your ID and proof of address ready and you will not be at a disadvantage.

Fees: what it really costs

The pricing is simple on the face of it and unspecified underneath it. Here is everything published, and nothing else:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitwala payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Amount
Account Free, no monthly subscription
Virtual card €0.99 one-time
Physical card €9.99 one-time plus shipping
Euro payments Free
Crypto payments €0.20 + 1% per transaction
FX fee Not stated separately
ATM Available, €2 + 1%; free allowance not stated
Daily and monthly limits No amounts published; limits can be set in the app
Tiers Not stated

Read that table twice. The account is free and stays free — there is no subscription to forget and no monthly charge to notice. The one-time card costs are small and, in the case of the virtual card, effectively trial-sized. But the two numbers you will actually feel are the crypto payment fee and the ATM fee, and both are percentage-based, which means they scale with how much you move rather than with how much you hold.

Now let me walk you through three ordinary payments, because that is where a flat percentage stops being abstract.

Coffee, €3.20, paid in euros from your balance. Nothing is charged. The euro payments line is free, so the whole €3.20 leaves your balance and the shop receives €3.20. This is the mode the card is genuinely good at, and if you convert your crypto to euros in the app first and then spend euros, you never touch the crypto payment fee at all.

A €40 online subscription paid with crypto. This is the line that matters: €0.20 plus 1%. The 1% is €0.40, so the transaction costs €0.60 all in. It is not a scandal, and on €40 it is easy to absorb. It is also the line you will meet repeatedly if you intend to spend straight from crypto rather than topping up euros first, and the honest framing is that the fee is per transaction, so it is proportionally brutal on a €3 coffee paid in crypto — €0.23 on a €3 spend — and progressively less annoying as the basket grows.

Withdrawing euros from an ATM. €2 plus 1%. On a €100 withdrawal that is €3. And here the free allowance matters: it is not stated. Whether that €2 plus 1% applies to your first withdrawal of the month or your fifth changes how much the feature is worth, and you cannot find that out from the published pages. Treat the ATM as the most expensive thing on the list until the provider tells you otherwise.

The FX line is the one that catches people out in this category generally. The card states no separate FX fee, but the account is a euro account and the card currency is not stated. If you travel outside the euro area and pay in another currency, something has to happen to convert — the question is whether you pay it or they do, and if they do, at what rate. If you are likely to spend abroad, ask about this before you rely on the card abroad, because it is the single most likely place for an unstated number to be hiding.

How to top it up

The assets listed are Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros. Crypto is swapped to euros in-app — the crypto does not sit behind the card, it becomes euros and the card spends euros. The networks are not stated.

That last sentence is the one to take seriously. Sending USDC is not one action but a choice of network, and getting the choice wrong is the most common way people lose money on a card top-up. Bitwala naming USDC as supported tells you the token; it does not tell you which chains to send it on. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Any of those could be right, and the one you pick may not be. Transfers on blockchain are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome.

What else you can put in is not fully documented either. The top-up details themselves are not stated — SEPA funding is mentioned on the home page without fees. So the picture is: euros in by SEPA with no published fee, crypto in by token with no published networks, and no published minimums or maximums anywhere.

The most useful thing you can do is work out your intended chain *before* you need the money. If you buy Bitcoin or Ether, there is a network chosen for you by the exchange you withdraw from. If you are moving USDC yourself from a wallet, you are choosing. Either way, the network question gets answered once, calmly, rather than under time pressure when the balance is low.

One more piece of history worth knowing about, because it shapes how to think about withdrawals here: the withdraw terms themselves are not stated. What is stated is what happened in 2022 — on closure, customers had to withdraw by 18 December 2022. That is a reminder that a crypto-linked balance should be thought of as money you intend to move out again, not as savings.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s strongest suit, and it is worth being concrete about why. You get a Visa debit card, virtual and physical, backed by a euro balance. Google Pay works. Apple Pay works “if you sign up with Curve” — that is the card’s phrasing, and it means a third-party service sits between you and the wallet rather than a direct native integration.

You can freeze and unfreeze the card from the app, and you can set spending limits in the app. Those two features, together, are most of what a daily card needs: a way to stop a card instantly if it goes missing, and a way to cap what leaves without closing everything.

The ATM is there. The euro payments are free. And because it is a Visa debit card rather than something exotic, it works in the places Visa works, which is the quiet advantage of a card that converts to euros and behaves like an ordinary bank card afterwards.

What is not stated: blocked merchant categories, what the app itself is like, any rewards, and how disputes work. That last omission is worth noting. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a purchase goes wrong, you are relying on a process nobody has described to you on the public pages. Ask what the dispute route is before you need it.

What can go wrong

Here is the part of the review I would not skip, because the card’s history is not quiet and its present-day structure is exactly the kind that history punishes.

The 2022 collapse of the company you may have heard of. Nuri, the former Bitwala, filed for insolvency in August 2022 — reported as 9 or 10 August by different outlets — and announced its wind-down in October 2022. Digital-asset trading ran until 30 November 2022, and customers were asked to withdraw funds by 18 December 2022. If you joined Bitwala after that, none of it happened to you. If you read about Bitwala and it was in that window, this is what you read about.

The complaints from that year. A July 2022 Trustpilot report described SMS and card functions failing, accounts suspended without explanation, and unreachable support. An October 2022 Google Play report described a locked account with access later restored, per blog.ueex.com. These are user reports, not adjudicated findings, and they date from a specific and turbulent period — but the themes are the ones that recur across this whole category: login and SMS failure, accounts suspended, support not answering.

The structural reason to take that history seriously. A euro account and IBAN come from Solarisbank, a licensed German bank. The card issuer is not named on the page. That distinction matters more than it looks. In a payment card, the card network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. So the party whose compliance decision stops your card may not be the party whose brand is on it — and you may not know which that is, because Bitwala does not name the issuer. Also relevant: Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers, they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer.

Compliance freezing is normal, not a malfunction. Under EU rules, if customer due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is the rule working, not a bug. On the other side, cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible and there is no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return funds.

Platform failures have a track record. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and the crypto side of this card is custodial in the ordinary sense — you are trusting a provider with the keys, which means a seed phrase you do not hold and therefore cannot use to restore anything if the provider stops.

Small things that catch people out at the till. Merchant category code 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries — and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer; Bitwala’s list is not stated. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Declined authorisations may leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to 7.

The regulation is still moving. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Transitional arrangements let providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs that you can check a provider against. The card itself is regulated separately as a payment service, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. And the safeguard is not a bank deposit: electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. The euro account sits with Solarisbank; what sits behind the crypto side is a different question.

What can go wrong, then, in order of how much I would worry: an account frozen during a compliance review with no published appeal route and a support centre whose languages and hours are not stated; a provider decision you cannot escalate because the relevant party is unnamed; a top-up sent on the wrong network; and, at the tail, a stablecoin moving off its peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and stablecoins are not censorship-proof either, since Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in the same category. I am not telling you which to pick — I am telling you what differs, because the differences are large enough that “another crypto card” is not one thing.

International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. The highest-scoring of the alternatives, and structurally the most different. It is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD; the physical card is listed as “Coming soon”. Issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee, and there are plans: Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency costs the “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind carry no fee. Funding is broader than Bitwala’s — USDC or USDT into the USD account, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. On the other hand its access rule is much tighter: it is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. No cashback is stated.

UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance; physical and virtual not stated. There is “no annual fee” and an issuance fee that is not stated; no annual fee or foreign transaction fee; assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” with “no hidden exchange fees”. Funding details and eligibility are not stated. It has the clearest rewards of the three: “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. The reason it scores what it does is the blankness — multicurrency and generous-sounding fee promises cannot be weighed against an eligibility rule nobody has published.

Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted, spending from a Whop balance; pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals using settled funds. The page says “no extra fees” with no amounts listed, and conversion and FX fees are not stated either. Rewards are the strongest on paper: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned, with payout currency and conditions not stated. Funding is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated. Its eligibility is the most specific of the three and the most restrictive in detail: consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether that applies by citizenship or by residence is not stated.

Bitwala International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.1 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Access Verified account plus EEA residency Excludes a listed set of countries; grey list case by case Not stated 31 US states for consumers; unsupported country list
Card Visa debit, virtual and physical U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, USD; physical “coming soon” Mastercard, multicurrency; type not stated Visa; type and currency not stated
Free allowance Account and euro payments free USD use free on all plans; no maintenance fee No annual fee, no FX fee “No extra fees”, amounts not listed
Standout cost Crypto payments €0.20 + 1%; ATM €2 + 1% 2% FX fee on foreign currency Live OTC conversion rates Not stated
Biggest gap No limits, no networks, no issuer named Physical card unavailable Eligibility and funding unstated Coins, networks and fee amounts unstated

Read across the row and the pattern is clear: in this category, what separates cards is rarely the card. It is the eligibility rule, the funding routes, and how much is published. Bitwala’s advantage is the euro account with an IBAN and free euro spending. Its weakness is that it publishes the least about itself of the four.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone living in the EEA who already holds crypto, wants a euro balance with an IBAN, and is comfortable treating the crypto side as money they intend to move out again rather than savings. The free euro payments, the €0.99 virtual card, the app freeze and the app-set limits make it a genuinely convenient second card for that person.

I would not recommend it to anyone outside the EEA, to anyone who wants custody of their own keys, or to anyone planning to live abroad on the strength of one card. I would also hold back if your priority is knowing exactly what things cost before you start — because the missing numbers here are not small omissions. Limits, card currency, FX treatment, ATM allowance, top-up networks, delivery countries and times, KYC levels, blocked categories, dispute handling and the card issuer are all unstated on the public pages. A provider can be perfectly sound and still leave you guessing, and that guessing is the actual cost of this card.

My own order of operations would be: verify the account, take the virtual card, use it in euros for ordinary spending, and settle the FX and ATM questions with support before you rely on it outside the euro area. If the answers are clear, the card is fine. If they are not, you have learned something useful for very little money.

One thing to keep in mind that is not the card’s fault and not really anybody’s: this is a payment product that sits on top of crypto markets, and each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal measured at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That is a conversation to have with a professional in your own country, not one to have with me.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitwala card?

It is a Visa debit card linked to a euro account, available in virtual and physical forms. You swap crypto to euros in-app, then spend euros at the till. The virtual card is €0.99 once; the physical one costs €9.99 plus shipping. It functions essentially like a prepaid euro card.

Who can get the Bitwala card?

The card requires a verified Bitwala account and EEA residency. Residence matters, not citizenship: if you live in an EEA state and can verify your account, you meet the rule. The card does not publish an excluded-country list, so assume you must prove your residence to pass their compliance.

Is Bitwala a bank?

Not directly. Bitwala GmbH is a German company, but your euro account and IBAN are provided by Solarisbank, a licensed German bank. You interact with the Bitwala fintech app, but the actual euro funds are held by the bank. The card issuer itself is not named on the page.

How much does the Bitwala card cost?

The account is free with no subscription. The virtual card is €0.99 one-time; the physical one is €9.99 plus shipping. Euro payments cost nothing. Crypto transactions cost €0.20 plus 1%. ATM withdrawals are €2 plus 1%, and the free allowance is not stated. FX fees are not published separately.

How do I top up the Bitwala card?

Fund it with Bitcoin, Ether, USDC or euros. Crypto is swapped to euros in-app for spending. SEPA funding is mentioned without fees, but top-up terms are not published. Networks for crypto deposits are not specified, so research your chain carefully before sending — blockchain transfers are irreversible and support is limited.

Can I use the Bitwala card with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Google Pay works natively. Apple Pay works ‘if you sign up with Curve’ — a third-party service sits between you and the wallet rather than via a direct integration. Google Pay is the simpler option for day-to-day use, while Apple Pay requires that extra step and account configuration.

Is the Bitwala card safe, and what happened in 2022?

The account can be frozen via the app. The 2022 history involves the former company Nuri, which filed for insolvency and wound down, asking customers to withdraw funds by December 2022. Complaints from that period cited login failures, suspended accounts and unreachable support; consider these historical indicators of provider risk.

Are there limits on the Bitwala card?

No amounts are published. You can set limits in the app for your own usage, but this does not reveal the hard ceilings the provider imposes. If a specific cap is essential for your use, ask support before relying on it, and note that declined transactions can leave holds on funds.

Is Bitwala worth it?

For an EEA resident who already holds crypto and wants a euro account with an IBAN and a cheap Visa card, yes — free euro spending, a €0.99 virtual card, app-controlled freezing and limits are a fair deal. Outside the EEA, or if you want to keep your own keys, it is not the right product at all, and the absence of published limits, networks and issuer means you should budget for asking questions before you commit.

Can I delete my Bitwala account or withdraw my money?

Withdrawal terms are not published. When the previous company closed, customers were asked to withdraw funds by December 2022. Treat any crypto-linked balance as temporary holding rather than savings, and contact support directly about closure and withdrawal procedures before you need them, as public pages provide no definitive exit route.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team