The card that spends your own crypto, and the questions its own pages leave open
A crypto card is easy to describe and hard to judge. The description takes one sentence: a card number that spends money you already hold. The judgement takes longer, because you are not just looking at the card — you are looking at who stands behind it, what happens to your funds when a payment fails, and how much of the fine print has been written down anywhere you can read it. OrbitX is an interesting case precisely because so much of it is unusual: the collateral sits in your own wallet rather than with the provider, the company says outright that it is not a bank, and the physical card is described as “coming soon” while the fee page already lists prices for plastic and metal. That combination — real innovation underneath, thin disclosure on top — is what this review tries to weigh up.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.
The score: 5.7 out of 10
OrbitX is a card for people who already hold crypto and want to spend it without handing the keys to anyone. If that is you, and you are comfortable being the only line of defence for your own funds, the idea is sound and the everyday mechanics — virtual Visa, Apple Pay, Google Pay, ATM access — line up with what people actually want from a card. If you are looking for a bank account, a deposit guarantee, a working phone app with a track record, or clarity about which countries you may live in, this is not the card for you, and the card’s own materials make that easier to admit than most.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | International users under international terms; US citizens under separate terms; no country list published |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Annual fee Neo $12, Lux $30; plastic $100, metal $350; ATM “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2”; corporate FX 1.50% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Self-custodial wallet collateralised with USDT or USDC, liquidated at the point of sale; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd (Singapore), “not a bank”; issuer Third National; app rated 2.5 out of 5 from 2 ratings, with a complaint about a failed transfer |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual Visa available; plastic and metal listed; physical card described as “coming soon”; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM access |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 | A workable idea held up by thin disclosure and an unproven track record |
The 5.7 is not a verdict on the technology. It is a verdict on the package: what the card promises, what it documents, and how you would actually use it on a Tuesday afternoon. The everyday-use score is the highest because the fundamentals are right; the cost score is the lowest because the numbers that would let you predict a month of spending are not all on the page.
Who they will give the card to
Two rulebooks, and one important exclusion. OrbitX is issued to international users under what the card calls International Consumer Terms, and to US consumers under separate US terms. To take the international card you must attest that you are “not a United States citizen” and that you are not sanctioned under OFAC rules. There is no country list. That absence cuts both ways: it means the card is not obviously shut to your country, and it also means you cannot check before applying whether yours is one of the places the issuer will refuse.
This is the part of the review where I want to slow down, because “no country list” is the kind of phrase that sounds either generous or evasive depending on why you are in the world. If you live in a large, well-documented market, you may find the terms are clear enough on their own. If you live somewhere the card has little to say about, the absence of a list means you will find out at the point of application, not before it. The rule that national origin is screened separately from where you live is worth holding in mind generally: screening usually applies to citizenship and country of birth as well as address, which is why a card can be open to residents of a country and still not open to its citizens.
The practical answer for you is short. If your country is not named, treat eligibility as unconfirmed until you have seen a written confirmation from the provider for your specific case, and expect to be asked for identity documents as part of that. There is a section below on the application process; the eligibility question and the identity question are separate, and it is worth keeping them apart in your head.
What it costs: fees that are partly published
The fee page is the most complete document OrbitX publishes, and it is also the one with a visible problem: the tier table is garbled. The card types read as “Neo: Visa Platinum” and “Lux: Visa Signature”, and the rows around them do not line up. I can tell you what the page lists; I cannot tell you with confidence what each line attaches to. That is worth saying plainly rather than smoothing over.

| Fee or limit | What the card’s pages say |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | Neo $12, Lux $30, paid annually only |
| Card price | Plastic $100 (Neo), metal $350 (Lux) |
| Consumer FX fee | Not found on the public pages |
| Corporate card fees | Forex 1.50% on non-USD spend, deposit fee 0.50%, transaction fee $0.20 |
| ATM | “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2” (tier mapping unclear) |
| Currency | USD-based; collateral measured in USD, non-USD transactions converted by the card association |
| Spending limits | Not stated — the app listing claims none, which is vendor marketing |
| Rewards | Not stated |
| KYC tiers | Not stated |
Now three everyday payments, because a fee table does not tell you what a coffee costs.
A coffee in your own country, paid in USD, from collateral already sitting in your wallet: the payment draws down your stablecoin balance at the point of sale, and the card network does the rest. What you pay beyond the price of the coffee is not published — the consumer FX fee was not found, and the transaction fee is documented only for corporate cards. So the honest answer is that the true cost of a domestic purchase is not something the card’s pages let you calculate.
A coffee in a country that uses euros, from the same USD-based balance: this is where conversion enters. The card states that non-USD transactions are converted by the card association, and that is the mechanism, but the consumer rate is not published. You are relying on a number the card has not written down.
A cash withdrawal: “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2”, with the tier mapping unclear. The formula is published; which tier it belongs to is not. Cash is the most expensive way to use this card by a wide margin, and you should treat the published formula as a floor rather than a ceiling until you know which tier you are on.
Two things about the cost picture overall. The card prices are unusually high for what is essentially a payment card, and the annual fee is only part of it. And the corporate-card numbers are the only FX figures the card publishes, which is an odd place to find the only rate you can read. If your decision depends on knowing what you will pay in a foreign currency, the card’s own materials will not answer it, and you should ask before you commit.
Fees at a glance
Beyond the table above, the fees that will actually shape your month are the ones the card has not itemised. What is published: an annual fee, card prices, ATM pricing, and corporate-card rates. What is not: the consumer FX rate, the full transaction fee, rewards, and any spending limits. The App Store listing claims there are no spending limits, but that is marketing copy rather than a term, and the card pages do not repeat it. When a number you need is absent from a provider’s own fee page, that absence is information — it means you will be finding out at the till rather than in advance.
How to top it up
This is the part of OrbitX that is genuinely different, and the part you should understand before anything else. OrbitX does not hold your funds. You deposit collateral — USDT or USDC — into your own self-custodial wallet, and the card draws against that collateral. When you make a payment, the stablecoins are liquidated at the point of sale. In the app this appears as two accounts, “Cash Account” and “Card Account”.
The advantage is real and it is the one the card markets: your keys stay with you. The company states that neither OrbitX nor the issuer will, in any circumstance, hold custody of your collateral. If OrbitX disappears tomorrow, your funds are still in your wallet, because they never left it.
The trade-off is equally real. Non-custody means you are solely responsible for your key phrase — roughly 12 to 24 words that anyone who obtains can use to restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are irreversible; a stolen key has no recovery path, because the network cannot freeze or return what has left. There is a further subtlety worth understanding: ERC-20 transfers such as USDT require a small amount of ETH to pay gas, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH may be unable to send it at all. If your collateral is on Tron, the fee mechanics are different again, paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often by burning TRX.
What the card does not say matters here too. The networks you can deposit on are not named. The top-up process for consumer cards is not stated. There is no description of a balance-return process, though the card says unencumbered collateral balances remain freely accessible. And the collateral rules are strict: liquidation is triggered if a payment goes unpaid within one calendar day, or if your collateral value falls below the charges against it. That second clause is the one to think about. If the value of your collateral drops — stablecoins can, and have — the card can liquidate to cover what you owe, exactly when you least want it to.
One more piece of honest background: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card. Whatever network you use, you pay that network’s cost.
Paying with it every day
On a daily basis, OrbitX behaves like a prepaid card. The number starts with a Visa issuer identification prefix, the rest is an account identifier, and merchants can look that prefix up to see which institution and country issued it — and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. This is the unglamorous reason a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and it applies here like it applies to any card.
The daily mechanics are the card’s strongest suit, and this is where the 8 out of 10 comes from. It is a Visa. A virtual card is available now. Apple Pay and Google Wallet terms are published, so both are supported — and adding the card to your phone is the ordinary, secure route, since the phone replaces the number with a device-specific account number and generates a fresh security code for each payment. There is ATM access. So: a phone, a wallet, and a card number, and the ordinary ways of paying work.
The card is also, by design, a little restricted. Apple Pay and Google Pay terms prohibit cash-like transactions — which includes buying cryptocurrency itself, wire transfers, and betting. The card may decline “internet gambling” outright. In practice this means the card is a spending card for goods and services, not a way to move value back into crypto or out to third parties, and you should not expect it to work for those.
One delivery detail, if you are waiting for plastic: “1 to 4 weeks depending on user location”. The replacement cost is not stated. Rewards are not stated.
What can go wrong
Four failure modes, roughly in order of how likely they are to affect you.
Getting the money back. A user report on the App Store describes a bank transfer that showed as failed inside the app even though the sending side had completed, with support replying from an address the reviewer considered non-official. A Trustpilot page for OrbitX was not found, and no official incidents of any kind surfaced. So the picture is thin in both directions: one informal complaint, no record either of reliability or of failure. I would not build a financial routine on a single anonymous review, but I also would not ignore it — a transfer-status mismatch is the kind of thing that produces exactly the ambiguity described in the risks section below, where a deposit on an unsupported network can be lost with no guarantee of recovery.
The app itself. OrbitXPay on the App Store is rated 2.5 out of 5 from just 2 ratings. Two ratings is not a signal about anything except that there is no track record to lean on. The Google Play listing was not found. An app you use to move real funds should be treated as unproven until you have used it yourself with small amounts.
Who stands behind it. OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd is registered in Singapore at 3 Fraser Street, Duo Tower, UEN 202448623M, and states plainly that it is “not a bank or regulated financial institution”. The card issuer is named as Third National, operating under a Visa licence. That distinction is normal and correct — card networks license issuers rather than issuing consumer cards themselves — but it means you should be clear in your own mind about which entity you would be dealing with in a dispute, and that it is not a deposit-taking bank.
Payments that fail for boring reasons. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds that persists for several days, sometimes up to seven. Address verification is offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can itself cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards as a matter of policy. None of this is unusual, but it is the sort of friction that makes a prepaid crypto card less convenient than a debit card in a foreign country.
There are no official incidents on record, and I want to be careful about how I say that — it is an absence of evidence, not evidence of safety. The wider category has a history worth knowing: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a card issuer that supplied crypto brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When programmes close, the pattern is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. If that happened here, the card’s own design is your protection — your collateral was never in their hands.
Two further things the card leaves unsaid that bear on risk. Whether you can freeze the card instantly or whether two-factor authentication is available is not stated. Support is reachable at [email protected] and through a contact form, but the form’s languages and working hours are not stated. Any news on the company is not stated.
What to take instead
If OrbitX’s gap is disclosure — no country list, no consumer FX rate, no named networks, an app with two ratings — then the alternatives are worth looking at, and they score differently on the same criteria.
| Card | Score | Cost | Fees | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrbitX | 5.7 / 10 | $12 (Neo) or $30 (Lux) annually; plastic $100, metal $350 | Consumer FX not found; ATM “Base + 2% + $2”; corporate FX 1.50% | Self-custodial wallet collateralised with USDT or USDC |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated | USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet (card fund); chains base or solana |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs $50 to activate; physical card needs $5,000 in assets and Gold tier | FX 0.2% weekday / 0.7% weekend in EEA, UK, Switzerland; 2% / 2.5% rest of world; crypto conversion fee not stated | Spends from the Nexo account; over 100 digital assets; Debit Mode uses stablecoins and FiatX |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Basic free; Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 annually; no borrowing origination fee | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated; stablecoin spending “no hidden spread” | Deposit BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana |
A few comparisons worth drawing out, since a table hides them. Nexo publishes the most complete fee schedule of the three — it states weekday and weekend FX rates, by region, in numbers — but it is custodial, it gates its physical card behind a $5,000 balance and Gold tier, and it only serves residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, which means the exclusion problem is not solved, only relocated. Its cashback is real but only in Credit Mode above $5,000.
Xplace scores highest and publishes an annual fee ladder, a Solana deposit list, and 0% FX on Platinum. It also declines to state its country list, says only that services are “not available in all jurisdictions”, and lists Gold and Platinum physical cards as coming soon with 7–14 business day delivery. Its 0% FX is on the top tier only; for other tiers the rate is not stated. If you hold Solana-chain assets, Xplace’s deposit list is the most concrete of any card here.
Sponge scores lowest and publishes the least — no country list, no costs, no fees. Its one genuine advantage is the mechanic: USDC collateral is moved from the Sponge wallet with a card fund command, which is simpler than managing a self-custodied wallet yourself.
None of these is clearly safer than OrbitX in the ways that matter most. But two of them publish more of their arithmetic, and that is a real difference when you are deciding whether to trust a card with your money.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend OrbitX to someone who already keeps USDT or USDC in a self-custodial wallet, who has spent time doing this deliberately rather than by accident, and who wants a card that draws on that balance without surrendering custody. You should be comfortable with a four-digit app rating, an unclear ATM tier, an unpublished FX rate, and a physical card marked “coming soon”. You should also understand that your collateral can be liquidated if its value falls below what you owe — and that stablecoins, despite the name, are not necessarily stable.
I would not recommend it to someone looking for their first card, someone who needs a bank account with deposit protection, or anyone who is choosing a provider because they cannot easily open one elsewhere and needs the process to be predictable. The card is built for the self-custody holder spending against stablecoin collateral, and it does that job reasonably well. It is not a general-purpose financial institution, and it does not pretend to be one — but it also does not document enough for you to predict a month’s spending, and that is what keeps it at 5.7.
The honest summary: the mechanism is interesting and the day-to-day card experience is likely fine; the paper around it is thin. If you want to use it, do it with an amount you could afford to have a bad week with, and ask the provider directly for the three things the pages do not say — your country, your deposit network, and the consumer FX rate.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OrbitX card?
The OrbitX card is a Visa-branded payment card that spends crypto you already hold. You keep USDT or USDC in your own self-custodial wallet, that balance is treated as collateral, and payments are covered by liquidating stablecoins at the point of sale. A virtual card is available now, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The company, OrbitX Network Group Pte. Ltd of Singapore, states it is not a bank or regulated financial institution.
How does the OrbitX card work?
Your stablecoin balance in your own wallet acts as collateral. When you make a purchase, stablecoins are liquidated at the point of sale to cover it. If a payment goes unpaid within one calendar day, or your collateral value falls below the charges against it, liquidation is triggered. The card states that neither OrbitX nor the issuer will ever hold custody of your collateral — which means your funds stay in your wallet, and so do the risks.
Is OrbitX a bank?
No. The card states directly that OrbitX is not a bank or regulated financial institution. The issuing entity is named as Third National, operating under a licence from Visa. This is the normal arrangement for card programmes — networks license issuers rather than issuing consumer cards themselves — but it means there is no deposit guarantee and no banking regulation standing behind your collateral.
Who can get the OrbitX card?
International users are accepted under International Consumer Terms, and you must attest that you are not a United States citizen and not sanctioned under OFAC rules. US consumers are covered by separate US terms. There is no country list published, so eligibility for your specific country is not something you can confirm in advance — you would need to ask the provider.
Does the OrbitX card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is referenced in the app’s release notes, including the process and resubmissions, and the app carries an age rating of 18+. However, the specific documents required and whether proof of address is needed are not stated on the public pages, nor is any KYC tier structure. You should assume standard identity verification will be part of the application and confirm the details directly.
How do I get and activate the OrbitX card?
You apply through the app, where identity verification is part of the process. A virtual Visa is available immediately in the app, and physical cards — plastic and metal — are listed on the fee page, though the app describes physical cards as “coming soon”. Delivery is stated as “1 to 4 weeks depending on user location”, and replacement cost is not stated. Apple Pay and Google Wallet setup is available, which is the usual route for paying by phone.
How do I top up the OrbitX card?
By putting USDT or USDC into your own self-custodial wallet; that balance is the collateral, and the app shows “Cash Account” and “Card Account”. The networks you can deposit on are not named, and no top-up process is described for consumer cards. Note that network fees are charged by the blockchain, and an ERC-20 transfer needs a little ETH for gas — a wallet with USDT but no ETH cannot send it.
Is the OrbitX card safe?
The design is safer than a custodial card in one important respect: your collateral never leaves your wallet, so a provider collapse cannot take it. But non-custody means you alone bear the risk of key loss, phishing, and address-swapping malware — and transfers are irreversible. The app is rated 2.5 out of 5 from just 2 ratings, the Google Play listing was not found, and instant freeze and 2FA are not stated.
Can I use OrbitX in my country and pay in stores?
The card works wherever Visa is accepted, and the daily mechanics are sound: virtual Visa, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and ATM withdrawals. But there is no country list, so whether you are eligible is unconfirmed until you apply. Expect friction in some places — merchants may scrutinise a foreign-issued or prepaid card, address verification is limited, and declined payments can leave holds on your funds for up to seven days.
What are OrbitX’s fees and are there rewards?
Annual fees are $12 for Neo and $30 for Lux, paid annually, and card prices are listed at $100 for plastic and $350 for metal. ATM charges are “Base ATM charges + 2% + $2”, though the tier mapping is unclear. A consumer FX fee was not found on the public pages — only corporate rates of 1.50% forex, 0.50% deposit, and $0.20 per transaction. Rewards are not stated at all, and spending limits are not stated either.
Credit and cashback card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
