A card programme that never quite launched — and the alternatives worth your time

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Fiat24 card is not something you can sign up for today. The company’s site sits in maintenance mode, the product page still reads “Coming soon in December 2024,” and the card programme does not appear to be accepting new applications. So this is not a standard review in the sense of weighing whether to apply. It is a review of a programme that is, for practical purposes, closed to new customers, and the question I want to answer is what that means for you, whether you already hold one of these cards or you came here looking for something like it.

The Fiat24 card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Fiat24’s card scores 3.3 out of 10 in my review, and the headline reason is the most basic one: you cannot get one. The product page is still labelled as not yet launched, and the broader site is in maintenance mode, so the “Who can get it” criterion scores zero. Costs are partially known only because third-party sources have compiled a fee list; the card’s own documentation does not publish fees. Top-up options are similar — known through unofficial channels, not the card’s own pages. Reliability is poor based on a small but uniformly negative set of public reviews. Everyday use is the one relatively decent score, because the card, where active, supports the major mobile wallets and the Mastercard network.

Criterion Score Reason
Who can get it 0 / 10 Site in maintenance, no new applications; product page still says “Coming soon in December 2024”
Cost 5 / 10 Fees not officially disclosed; unofficial sources say issuance, monthly fee, ATM and top-up are free, but crypto deposits carry 1–1.75% plus gas; refund processing fee of 1 USD/EUR/CHF from 15 May 2026
Top-up options 5 / 10 Not officially disclosed; unofficial sources list USDC, USDT and ETH on Arbitrum plus EUR, CHF, USD and RMB
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 FINMA-supervised issuer, but site is in maintenance; Trustpilot score 2.2 from 8 reviews, all 1-star, with reports of silent support and frozen funds
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual Mastercard, no PIN; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay supported officially, though one third-party source contradicts this
Total 3.3 / 10

The card is, in effect, only useful for people who already hold one and want to manage their remaining balance. If you are not already a Fiat24 customer, there is nothing to apply for, and the alternatives further down this page are where your decision-making effort should go.

What happened to the programme

This is the part of the story I had to piece together from the card’s own pages, the operator’s company filings and third-party sources, because the official site does not give a clean timeline. The picture that emerges is a product that was announced, partly launched in some form for existing users, and then effectively shelved.

The product page itself, at the time of writing, carries the text “Coming soon in December 2024.” That is a status that was meant to signal a forthcoming launch, but it has not been updated. The wider site is in a maintenance state and is not accepting new applications. The card issuer named on the site is SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss company, and the card’s Bank Identification Number (BIN) is 5481 0849. The first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution, so this BIN is what a merchant’s systems would see when a Fiat24 card is presented. The operator sits under Swiss financial-market supervision (FINMA) under a fintech licence.

A note on who the card is officially for: the public pages do not list eligible countries or spell out a citizenship or residence rule. The card documentation I checked is silent on the KYC documents, address proof, age or steps required. What user-facing documentation and third-party sources do say is that the residence must be in an eligible country (a list at info.fiat24.com/overview, which I have not reproduced here because it is not named in the public docs page), nationals of Iran, North Korea and Russia are excluded, US Persons are excluded, the customer must be over 18, and the account opens in under one business day during CET hours. Some emerging-market users are limited to CHF 1,000 per 30 days.

The card itself, where it has been issued, is a Mastercard debit card. Public documentation does not state whether physical cards are available; the live user documentation describes a virtual card with no PIN. The product page text is a “Coming soon” notice, while user docs describe the card as live and activated through the dApp. These two are inconsistent. Activation requires a minimum balance: 10 EUR in the Eurozone, 10 CHF in Switzerland, or 10 USD elsewhere.

For currencies, the card holds balances in EUR, USD, CHF and RMB. The product has a “Direct Pay” feature that, per the docs, spends the matching balance first to avoid FX fees, and a “Default Card Currency” that covers any shortfall (the whole shortfall is converted, with no split-payment option). The FX fee itself is not disclosed. The card is valid for 5 years and renews automatically unless it has not been used in the 6 months before expiry.

There is also a tiered structure based on an on-chain account number represented as a non-fungible token (NFT). The number of digits in that NFT determines the spending tier. Standard (5 to 8 digits) allows 10,000 EUR per day and 20,000 per month. Premium (4 digits) allows 100,000 per day and 200,000 per month. Ultimate (3 digits) allows 500,000 per day and 1,000,000 per month. To upgrade, a Premium NFT is bought in the dApp (paid in Ether or the project’s own token), and the upgrade is processed within one business day. New clients from 5 June 2026 are limited to USD 30,000 per month.

A new rule published on the site: a refund processing fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF (or 7 CNH) applies from 15 May 2026, deducted from the refund itself and capped at the refund amount. The site also notes forced-exit rules for sanctions, politically exposed persons, fraud or recalls, and that limit-upgrade requests are not being accepted.

What this all adds up to is a card programme that, from the outside, looks like it stopped short of a full public launch. The site is not actively signing people up, the product page is stuck on a “coming soon” notice, and the features that exist are described in user documentation rather than marketing pages.

If you already have the card

If you are an existing holder, the things that matter are spending limits, how to fund the card, how to get your money out, how to get help, and how disputes and refunds work. I will go through each.

Spending limits. The tiered structure I described above is the official framework. Standard tier holders can spend 10,000 EUR per day and 20,000 per month. Premium raises that to 100,000 daily and 200,000 monthly. Ultimate raises it further to 500,000 daily and 1,000,000 monthly. One unofficial source (cryptocards.so) reports a daily limit of $9,800 and “unlimited” monthly, which does not match the official tiers; I have given the official figures above and flagged the discrepancy.

Funding the card. The card is topped up through the Fiat24 dApp (decentralised application) at app.fiat24.com, which is a web application that connects to a self-custody wallet on the Arbitrum network. The minimum balance to activate is 10 EUR (Eurozone), 10 CHF (Switzerland) or 10 USD (rest of world). The official card page does not state top-up fees, which network the crypto deposits use, or which fiat rails are available. Unofficial sources describe support for USDC, USDT and ETH on Arbitrum for crypto top-ups, and EUR, CHF, USD and RMB for fiat, with SEPA, SIC and SWIFT as the rails. Take the unofficial list as indicative, not confirmed.

Withdrawing your money. To pay out to your own bank in EUR or CHF, you first deposit a small amount from that bank account (the IBAN) to link it, with up to 10 linked accounts per currency. The minimum payout is 100 EUR or 100 CHF. Payouts booked before 15:00 CET on a business day are processed the same day; after that or on weekends, the next business day. A successful payout is free; a returned payout costs 10 EUR or 10 CHF. If you want to close the account, the procedure is to bring balances to zero, go to id.fiat24.com, open Profile and choose Close Account. Closure is final — no second account is allowed — and the KYC data is kept per Swiss anti-money-laundering law.

Support. The official support channels are the Telegram bot at t.me/fiat24bot (described as for general inquiries), the status page at status.fiat24.com, and the company’s X, LinkedIn, Medium and Telegram accounts. There is no email address or phone number on the public site. Hours of operation and supported languages are not stated.

Disputes and refunds. There is no dispute or chargeback procedure described in the public documentation. Refunds are described: usually up to 7 days, up to 30 days cross-border. From 15 May 2026, a refund processing fee of 1 USD, 1 EUR or 1 CHF (or 7 CNH) is deducted from the refund, capped at the refund amount. Beyond that, the absence of a stated dispute process is itself a fact worth noting.

ATM withdrawals. The card documentation does not state an ATM policy. Unofficial sources list ATM withdrawals as “unlimited,” which I would not rely on without confirmation from the card itself.

What can go wrong

The risks here are not abstract. They are the reason the reliability score is 2 out of 10.

Maintenance mode with no new applications. The most basic risk: the card programme is not operating as a typical product launch. The site is in maintenance, the product page is stuck on “Coming soon in December 2024,” and the practical effect is that no one new can sign up. Anyone reading the marketing page and trying to apply will hit a wall.

Public review profile is bleak. The Fiat24 Trustpilot page (read 20 October 2026) carries 8 reviews, every one of them 1-star, for an overall score of 2.2 out of 5. The earliest review is 26 April 2024 and the latest is 13 May 2026. Common themes: support that does not reply (by email, Telegram or Discord; the support bot loops), funds or pre-authorisations on cards that are not released, SEPA transfers that arrive weeks late and cost around 50 EUR in fees after being re-routed, and scammers posing as support in community channels. A small sample, but uniformly negative.

Operator, but not a bank. The card is issued by SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss company with a fintech licence under Article 1b of the Swiss Banking Act, supervised by FINMA. That is a real regulatory perimeter, and it is meaningfully different from an unregulated offshore outfit. But the card documentation does not state that customer funds are covered by deposit insurance, and an EMI or fintech-licensed entity is not the same as a Swiss bank. Customer balances sit in operating accounts that are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit-guarantee schemes.

Security model has unusual features. Fiat24’s login is a self-custody wallet connect — the account is an NFT in your own wallet, and if the private key is stolen, the funds need to be moved quickly. The card itself uses 3-D Secure with a one-time password by email, automatic blocking for unusual activity, and a user-side lock/unlock in the dApp. Note that each lock or unlock action freezes changes for 24 hours. The model puts a great deal of responsibility on the user: lose the seed phrase, lose the account.

Inconsistent information between official and third-party sources. I have flagged several points where unofficial sources disagree with the card’s own documentation. cryptocards.so, for instance, says no Apple Pay or Google Pay, contradicting the official support claim; the same site lists ATM withdrawals as “unlimited,” which the card does not confirm; and the unofficial daily limit of $9,800 does not match the official Standard tier of 10,000 EUR. These are not necessarily wrong, but they are not confirmed, and you should not build a financial plan around them.

Closed merchant categories and country restrictions. The public documentation does not list restricted merchant categories. Unofficial reporting says payments are refused for OFAC-sanctioned countries and entities, and that some transaction types (public transport, utility bills, in-flight shopping, fine dining in the US) are limited in certain countries. This is consistent with standard issuer practice but is not stated in the card’s own pages.

Forced-exit and limit restrictions. The site states that forced-exit rules apply for sanctions, politically exposed persons, fraud or recalls, and that limit-upgrade requests are not being accepted. If your account is in a high-risk category, you can find yourself unable to upgrade even if your circumstances change.

What to take instead

Since the card is not available to new applicants, the practical question is which of the alternatives in the same category best fits what you came here for. I have compared three: Young Card, Cardex, and International Visa Card. They are not identical products, and the differences matter depending on what you actually want.

Young Card Cardex International Visa Card
Score 5.7 / 10 5.6 / 10 6.7 / 10
Where it is sold not stated “200+ countries” (no list or exclusions) Excludes residents/registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries case by case
Card form not stated Virtual and physical on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay (App Store listing) U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual only; physical “coming soon”
Cost not stated not stated $5 one-time issuance; Classic plan free, Pro $9/mo, Max $19/mo
FX not stated “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” — no percentage given “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” for non-USD
Funding not stated for the card itself USDT, USDC, BTC (networks not stated) USDC or USDT at 1:1 into the USD account; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
Rewards Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) not stated none stated

What stands out from this comparison is that International Visa Card is the most fully specified of the three on cost, FX, funding and country rules. It is also the most clearly restricted by residence — the long exclusion list matters if you are in one of those jurisdictions. Cardex advertises the broadest geographic reach (“200+ countries”) and a multi-network model (VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay), but its fee structure is not stated, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused, which raises a question about which currencies it actually supports in practice. Young Card’s defining feature is its cashback in YNG tokens, with rates that scale sharply by tier (Essential at 0.1%, Platinum at 3.6%), but the card form, cost and funding are not stated, which is a lot of unspecified surface area for a financial product.

If your priority is a fully specified, transparent fee structure and you are not in one of the excluded countries, International Visa Card is the most defensible choice from this list. If you are in a country excluded by that product, Cardex’s broader geographic promise is worth a closer look, though with the caveat that the underlying costs are not published. If your priority is rewards and you are willing to accept less disclosure on the rest, Young Card’s token-based cashback is genuinely more interesting than a flat rate.

Who I would recommend it to

I would not recommend the Fiat24 card to anyone who is not already a holder. The score reflects that, and the reasoning is straightforward: a product that is not accepting new applications, whose own page still says “coming soon,” and whose third-party review profile is uniformly negative, is not a product to build a financial plan around.

For existing holders, the card remains functional in the sense that balances can be held, spent and withdrawn, and that is what matters most if you have funds still on the platform. The advice I would give is conservative: do not load new funds you cannot afford to have frozen for an extended period, keep your recovery phrase secure, link a bank account for payouts before you need one, and be aware that the support channels are limited to a Telegram bot and the company’s social accounts. If your balance is meaningful, set aside time to withdraw it through the dApp rather than letting it sit.

For everyone else, this page is useful mainly as a way to figure out what you actually wanted from a product like this. The three alternatives I have described address the most common use cases — multi-country access (Cardex), transparent fees (International Visa Card), and token-based rewards (Young Card). Start there, and choose the one that matches your priorities.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fiat24 card?

The Fiat24 card is a Mastercard debit card issued by Swiss fintech SR Saphirstein AG and connected to a self-custody wallet on the Arbitrum network. Balances are held in EUR, USD, CHF and RMB, and the card is operated through a web dApp at app.fiat24.com rather than a traditional mobile app.

Is Fiat24 a bank?

No. The operator, SR Saphirstein AG, holds a Swiss fintech licence under Article 1b of the Banking Act and is supervised by FINMA, but it is not a bank, and the public documentation does not state that customer funds are covered by deposit insurance.

Who owns Fiat24?

The card programme is operated by SR Saphirstein AG, a Swiss company. The site itself describes the operator as SR Saphirstein AG with FINMA supervision, but I have not seen a public ownership breakdown of the parent company in the materials I worked from.

Is the Fiat24 card available in my country?

The public pages do not publish a country list on the card documentation. The user-facing documentation references an eligible-country list at info.fiat24.com/overview, and states that nationals of Iran, North Korea and Russia are excluded, as are US Persons. In practice, new applications are not being accepted because the site is in maintenance mode.

How does the Fiat24 card work?

The account is an NFT in a self-custody wallet. The dApp at app.fiat24.com connects to that wallet on Arbitrum, lets you top up balances in EUR, USD, CHF or RMB, and produces a virtual Mastercard. Spending pulls from the matching currency balance first to avoid FX fees, with a default card currency covering any shortfall.

How do I activate the Fiat24 card?

Activation is through the dApp card icon, and the card is usually ready in seconds once a minimum balance is loaded: 10 EUR in the Eurozone, 10 CHF in Switzerland, or 10 USD elsewhere.

How do I top up the Fiat24 card?

Top-up is through the dApp. The card’s own pages do not state supported networks or fiat rails, but unofficial sources describe USDC, USDT and ETH on Arbitrum, with SEPA, SIC and SWIFT for EUR, CHF, USD and RMB fiat transfers.

How do I withdraw money from Fiat24?

You can pay out to your own bank account in EUR or CHF, after first linking it with a small deposit from that IBAN. The minimum payout is 100 EUR or 100 CHF, payouts are free if successful, and returned payouts cost 10 EUR or 10 CHF.

Is the Fiat24 card safe?

The operator is FINMA-supervised, which is a meaningful regulatory perimeter, but the public Trustpilot profile is poor (2.2 from 8 reviews, all 1-star) with repeated reports of unresponsive support and frozen funds. The self-custody model means you bear responsibility for the seed phrase.

Is the Fiat24 card worth it?

For new applicants, no — applications are not being accepted. For existing holders, the card is functional for spending and withdrawal, but the public information and the third-party reviews are not encouraging enough to recommend loading additional funds you cannot afford to have tied up.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team