A USDT-funded virtual Visa from a crypto exchange, still under construction
The Bitunix card is a Visa payment card that lets you spend USDT straight from a Bitunix exchange account. On paper, that combination is the part most people care about: you hold USDT, you want to use it like cash, and you do not want a bank account in the way. In practice, this is a brand-new product with very little flesh on the bones. It launched in July 2026, it is still virtual only at the time of writing, and the public pages leave several everyday questions unanswered, from the card’s currency to the supported top-up networks to the name of the institution that actually issues the Visa.
I went through the card’s help center, terms, and fees page, plus the company press release and Trustpilot profile, and tried to answer the questions a real person would ask before signing up. The short version is that if you already keep USDT on Bitunix and just want a clean way to spend it online, the card is worth a look. If you wanted a full-service payment card with a physical piece of plastic, ATM access, and a transparent fee schedule, this is not it yet.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Bitunix card scores 5.3 out of 10. The breakdown is below, and the reasons follow the rest of the review.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Open to residents of most countries, blocked in a list of around 80 jurisdictions |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No issuance, monthly or annual fees, but FX, cross-border, and small-payment fees still bite |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | USDT only, and only from inside Bitunix — no direct blockchain deposits |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer not named publicly, exchange Trustpilot middling, regulator attention mentioned |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only for now, mobile wallets supported, no ATM in v1 |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 | — |
The card suits people who already use the Bitunix exchange, hold USDT in their Spot, Futures, or Earn account, and want a simple way to spend that balance online. It does not suit anyone who needs a physical card today, who wants to fund from a non-Bitunix wallet, who plans to withdraw cash at an ATM, or who needs the kind of fee transparency a regulated bank or e-money issuer would publish.
Who they will give you the card
Eligibility runs by country of residence, and Bitunix publishes a “Restricted Jurisdictions” list in the help center. The list is explicitly not exhaustive — it says it “may include” the named places — and it stretches to around 80 countries and regions. Among the named exclusions are the United States, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the United Arab Emirates, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil, Israel, plus the Russian Federation and Belarus. Everything else on the list is, by implication, also off-limits, but the exchange does not name them.
The rule is residency-based, not citizenship-based, so where you live is what gets checked. If you are a citizen of a blocked country but live somewhere else, the residence test is what counts. The card’s own eligibility page does not state a minimum age or which exact documents you will be asked for, beyond saying identity verification, including a residential address, is required before you apply. The exchange has KYC levels in its help center, but the card-specific level, processing time, and what would cause a rejection are not stated.
The practical upshot is that eligibility is broad but vague. If you are not in a named country, the system is likely to let you try; if you are in a named country, the application will be refused. The middle ground — countries not named either way — is not explained, which is the part most likely to surprise people at sign-up.
How to get it
The flow Bitunix describes is straightforward: sign up for a Bitunix account, complete identity verification including your residential address, apply for the card inside the app, and on approval a virtual card is issued. There is no separate card app — the card lives inside the Bitunix app itself — and the card is Visa.
At launch the card is virtual only. A physical card is described as “Phase Two” in Bitunix’s own materials: the application is not yet open, and the expected delivery time once it does open is 7 to 20 business days depending on the delivery location. Physical card fees depend on where it is being shipped to, and that schedule is not on the public page yet.
The card balance runs in USD: USDT converts to USD at 1:1 when it moves from your exchange account to the card account, and the card itself spends in USD or in the merchant’s currency at the rate at the time of the transaction. The card currency and the BIN sponsor — the bank or e-money institution that actually sits behind the Visa number — are not stated. The card agreement names the company running the programme as Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., and the issuer is referred to as “the Issuer” without a name, which is unusual for a regulated card product. Licences are not stated either.
Application is free, and so is replacement of the virtual card. Cancellation in Card Management is also free, with no fee listed.
What it really costs: fees and everyday numbers
The card’s published cost story is that there is nothing to pay just for having it: issuance, monthly and annual fees are all zero. What you do pay is the cost of moving value around — the FX markup, a small cross-border fee on dollar spending, and a small per-transaction service fee on very low-value payments. There is no crypto conversion fee when USDT becomes USD on the way to the card.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | 0 |
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 |
| Crypto conversion fee | 0 |
| FX markup over the Visa rate | 1.5% |
| Cross-border fee (on USD spending) | 0.5% |
| Small-payment service fee | 0.3 USD per transaction under 10 USD; first 3 per month waived |
| Inactivity fee | 1 USD per month after 12 months of inactivity |
| Card replacement / cancellation | 0 |
| ATM (when physical card is available) | 2% on withdrawals over 100 USD per month; first 100 USD per month waived |
| ATM daily limit (physical card, future) | 1,500 USD |
| ATM monthly limit (physical card, future) | 15,000 USD |
| Spend limit per transaction | 10,000 USD |
| Spend limit per day | 10,000 USD |
| Spend limit per month | 50,000 USD |
| WeChat Pay and Alipay fees | 3% on payments over 200 CNY |
Spend limits are adjustable inside Card Management. Several other figures — the exact percentages on USD and non-USD network transactions, the small-payment threshold in USDT, the full ATM schedule — are not yet filled in on the public fees page.
A few everyday payments show how the numbers play out.
- A 50 USD online subscription paid in USD. No crypto conversion fee, no cross-border fee if the merchant is in the same country as the card account, and a 1.5% FX markup only if Visa has to convert. On a domestic US-style subscription billed in dollars, the only friction is whatever the merchant’s own currency rules trigger, not anything Bitunix adds.
- A 5 USD in-app purchase. This trips the small-payment service fee of 0.3 USD. The first three such transactions in a month are free; the fourth onward adds 6% on top of the FX markup, which is the kind of edge case that hurts if you split a streaming bill into many small payments.
- A 300 CNY Alipay or WeChat Pay payment. Above the 200 CNY threshold, the 3% regional wallet fee kicks in. That is on top of any USDT-to-CNY conversion through Visa. If you live in the Alipay/WeChat Pay world, this is the fee line that matters most.
The cashback side helps offset the FX and cross-border fees if your exchange VIP tier is high enough. By tier, cashback on the card is VIP 1 at 1%, VIP 2–3 at 2%, VIP 4–5 at 4%, VIP 6–7 at 6%, and VIP 8 at 8%. For most retail users that means 1% or 2% back, which mostly covers the 1.5% FX markup but does not leave much on top.
How to top it up
Funding is where this card is the most constrained. USDT is the only supported cryptocurrency, and it has to come from inside Bitunix — the Spot account, the Futures account, or the Earn account. Direct deposits from an external wallet, an external bank transfer, or a blockchain transaction sent straight to the card account are not supported. The card account has no public deposit address; the only way money gets in is by moving USDT from a Bitunix trading account into the Card Account inside the app.
That shape has two consequences. The first is that the network question — Tron versus Ethereum versus Solana, ERC-20 versus TRC-20 — does not really apply at the card level, because you are not sending a blockchain transaction to the card. The chain choice happens earlier, when you deposit USDT into Bitunix in the first place. The second is that there is no on-ramp from someone who is not already a Bitunix customer: you have to open an exchange account, complete KYC, deposit USDT, then move it to the card. The minimum top-up amount is not stated.
The fee side of funding is gentle. The crypto conversion fee from USDT to USD is 0, and the rate is fixed at 1:1, so what lands in the Card Account is exactly what left the trading account minus whatever chain fee you paid to get USDT onto Bitunix in the first place.
On the way out, only cashback and referral rewards are documented as movable. The published instruction is to transfer cashback from the Card Account to the Spot Account and then withdraw it. Withdrawing the general card balance is not described in the help center. The card can be closed at any time in Card Management at no cost; a positive balance would be returned under applicable law and internal procedures, which may include further identity verification, and a “reasonable” hold may be applied to cover chargebacks.
Paying with it every day
For a virtual card, the everyday picture is decent. The card is tokenisable, which means it works with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, PayPal, LINE Pay, GrabPay, WeChat Pay, and Alipay, subject to each platform’s regional terms. Tokenisation is how mobile wallets keep your real card number off the merchant’s systems: Apple Pay, for example, replaces the number with a device-specific account number stored in the Secure Element, and each transaction uses a one-time dynamic code.
Cashback is paid in USDT to the Card Account after settlement, with the VIP-tier rates above, and an unofficial July 2026 press release puts the headline at up to 8% on eligible spending, capped at 1,000 USDT per month, with a balance yield “up to 11.6% annually” depending on the asset. Treat that as company marketing, not a confirmed schedule: the press release is not the same as the fees page, and the 11.6% figure is not on the card’s own terms. The cashback programme excludes refunds, chargebacks, cash-like transactions, and certain merchant categories. The full list of excluded MCCs is not published.
ATM use is not supported in the initial version. Online and in-store purchases are the only spending channels for now, and the physical card — once it ships — will add ATM withdrawals with a 2% fee on the amount over 100 USD per month, the first 100 USD per month free, and a daily limit of 1,500 USD and a monthly limit of 15,000 USD.
If something goes wrong, filing a dispute is free. The catch is that if the dispute escalates to a formal Visa chargeback, the fee jumps to 50 USD, and the help center describes this as “per case” while the fees article describes it as “per transaction” — the wording is inconsistent. Investigations run for several weeks, and in some cases up to 90 days. Unauthorised transactions need to be reported within 14 days of the transaction or posting date, and merchant refunds usually take 5 to 14 business days. The help center’s first instruction is to contact the merchant directly; chargeback rights are not guaranteed, and cash-like transactions may be ineligible.
What can go wrong
The biggest concern is transparency. The company behind the card is named in the card agreement as Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., but the issuer — the licensed entity whose name ends up on the Visa BIN — is referred to only as “the Issuer”. Licences are not stated on the card’s own pages. The card’s terms say explicitly that “no entity assumes custody of fiat funds on behalf of users” and that card funds are not bank deposits and not deposit-insured. That sentence is doing a lot of work: it tells you that if the platform has a problem, the money sitting in the card account is not protected the way a normal bank balance would be.
The exchange’s Trustpilot profile shows 3.7 stars from 819 reviews, with 546 of those in the last 12 months, and the company profile states that it “has received regulatory attention”. I could not find card-specific complaints in a single search; the visible themes on the exchange review are poor customer service, slow or clunky mobile experience, account freezes with extra verification, and withdrawal delays. None of these are about the card itself, but they are about the platform that runs it, and the card depends on the platform.
The restricted-jurisdictions list was updated on 8 October 2026 and the card agreement shows a “Last updated on 2026-07-22” line with a body text date of 11 March 2026. The dates are not contradictory but they are also not aligned, and it is worth reading the most recent version before you sign up.
A few other risks are worth flagging in plain language:
- Cashback exclusions. Cashback excludes refunds, chargebacks, cash-like transactions, and certain merchant categories, but the blocked-MCC list is not published. If a big slice of your spend is in an excluded category, the effective cashback rate will be lower than the headline.
- ATM unavailable. Until the physical card ships, there is no way to get cash, even in countries where that would be normal.
- No direct blockchain deposits. If you are used to sending USDT from a self-custody wallet, that workflow does not work here. You have to deposit to Bitunix first, which is an extra custody step.
- Stablecoin depeg risk. USDT is the only funding asset. USDT has held its dollar peg through most of its life, but it did briefly wobble in 2022 and the broader category has had a high-profile collapse in TerraUSD. Treating USDT as exactly 1 USD is a working assumption, not a guarantee.
- Programme risk. Card programmes do get shut down. The WaveCrest suspension in Europe in 2018 closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme overnight, and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX. A card tied to a single exchange carries that platform’s risk on top of the usual card risk.
The security side has the basics. You can freeze and unfreeze the card in Card Management or the app, adjust limits, get an email alert for transactions of 200 USD or more, turn on 2FA, and add up to 15 third-party wallets per card. These are the standard knobs; they are useful, but they do not change the underlying custody risk.
What to take instead
Three cards that come up in the same conversation are MSX, Young Card, and Bybit Card. None is a perfect drop-in — they all have their own restrictions — but each is a useful comparison.
| Card | Score | Funding | Cashback shape | Why you’d pick it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated on an official page I could read | Not stated | Higher score on paper, but most public facts are not yet on the page |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated for the card itself | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% | Token-based rewards, lower headline cashback than Bitunix’s top tiers |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | No own balance; draws on Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn | Tiered by spend: Base 2%, Beta 2%, Alpha 4%, Apex 6%, Omega 8%, Infinite 10% | Crypto-funded spend only since 5 October 2026; supports more assets (BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM) |
Bybit is the most direct comparison because it is also a crypto-exchange card with a virtual-and-physical rollout. Its fee schedule is more transparent than Bitunix’s, with a 0.9% crypto conversion fee in most regions and a 2% FX fee, but it also comes with regional carve-outs and a separate restricted-country list. Bybit is explicit that the card is not for European Economic Area customers, which is a sharper line than Bitunix draws. Young Card is a token-based alternative where the rewards asset is the card’s own token rather than USDT, which is a different kind of trade-off. MSX sits a notch above the rest on score but the official page leaves most of the practical questions unanswered, so it is hard to recommend on detail.
Who I would recommend it to
If you are a regular Bitunix exchange user who holds USDT in Spot, Futures, or Earn, and you want a clean way to spend that balance online without first off-ramping to a bank, the Bitunix card is worth trying. The signup flow is light, the virtual card is free, the conversion fee is zero, and Apple Pay and Google Pay support means you can use it on your phone from day one. Cashback at 1% to 8% by VIP tier gives a small offset against the FX markup.
If you are anyone else, the case is harder. The card is virtual only at launch, so anyone who needs a physical card to tap at a shop or pull cash from an ATM should wait. Anyone who funds from a self-custody wallet should also wait, because the only way to top up is from a Bitunix account. Anyone in a named restricted country is out regardless. And anyone who values the consumer protections of a regulated bank or e-money issuer — segregation of funds, deposit insurance, named issuer, published licences — will find this card thin on those details, and should probably look at Bybit Card or one of the European e-money-issued cards in the wider market instead.
The honest summary is that this is an exchange feature dressed as a card, with the gaps you would expect from a product that is a few months old. It will probably get more useful as the physical card ships, the fee schedule fills in, and the issuer details become public. Right now, treat it as a beta.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitunix card?
The Bitunix card is a Visa payment card issued through the Bitunix exchange that lets you spend USDT online. It converts USDT to USD at 1:1 when you move funds to the card account, and the card itself pays merchants in USD or in the merchant’s currency at the rate at the time of the transaction.
How does the Bitunix card work?
You hold USDT in a Bitunix Spot, Futures, or Earn account, move it to the Card Account inside the app, and the card spends that USD balance wherever Visa is accepted online. Crypto conversion is at 1:1 with no fee, and the card adds a 1.5% FX markup over the Visa rate when it has to convert.
Is Bitunix a bank?
No. Bitunix is a cryptocurrency exchange. The card’s own terms say explicitly that card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured, and the company running the programme is Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., not a bank.
Who owns Bitunix?
The card agreement names the operating company as Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd. The card issuer is referred to as “the Issuer” without a name, and the licences behind the card programme are not stated on the public pages.
Is the Bitunix card available in my country?
Eligibility is based on your country of residence. The published restricted list names around 80 countries including the US, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil, Israel, the Russian Federation, and Belarus. The list says it is not exhaustive, so a country not on it may still be refused.
How do I get the Bitunix card?
Sign up for a Bitunix account, complete identity verification including a residential address, apply for the card inside the app, and on approval a virtual card is issued. There is no separate card app.
Does the Bitunix card require KYC?
Yes. KYC and a confirmed residential address are required before you can apply. The help center lists exchange-wide KYC levels but does not name the card-specific level or the rejection reasons.
How do I top up the Bitunix card?
You transfer USDT from your Bitunix Spot, Futures, or Earn account to the Card Account inside the app. External bank transfers and direct blockchain deposits to the card are not supported, and the only supported cryptocurrency is USDT.
How do I add the Bitunix card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Because the card sits in the Bitunix app and is tokenisable, you add it through your phone’s wallet app using the card details shown in Bitunix. Apple Pay and Google Pay are listed as supported in the help center, subject to each platform’s regional terms.
Is the Bitunix card safe?
The security tools are standard: app-based 2FA, instant freeze and unfreeze, adjustable limits, email alerts for transactions of 200 USD or more, and tokenised mobile wallets. The structural risk is that card funds are not bank deposits and not deposit-insured, the issuer is not publicly named, and the card depends on the Bitunix exchange, which has a middling Trustpilot score and a note about regulatory attention.
Exchange card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
