A free first virtual Visa for cross-border spending, weighed against its limits

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Onboard is one of the more interesting recent crypto cards I have looked at, because it sits in a specific corner of the market: people who are paid in crypto or stablecoins and need a Visa they can tap at a shop, swipe in an app or load into Apple Pay without first wiring money to a bank. The pitch on Onboard’s own pages, “built for professionals who spend across borders,” points at exactly that reader. The question I wanted to answer in this review is whether the Onboard card actually delivers once you start using it, and where the costs and limits start to bite.

Onboard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s published pages, the help center and the public company information, and put the result in the score table below. The short version is that Onboard is a virtual-only card with a generous first-card policy and a clean fee structure for USD spending, but it is also a small platform with a thin public footprint, an unnamed issuing bank, and a few real gaps in the information it publishes. That combination is what the 6.5 out of 10 below tries to capture.

The conditions described in this review are current as of October 28, 2026. Where the card’s pages do not say something explicitly, I mark it as “not stated” rather than guess.

Verdict

Onboard is a 6.5 out of 10, and the score is best read as “good idea, early execution.” The product itself is aimed at the right audience for a crypto-to-fiat card: someone who already holds stablecoins, gets paid in USDT or USDC, and wants a fast virtual Visa instead of a slow bank onboarding. The first card is free, USD payments are free, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, so the everyday experience, if you stay in USD, is genuinely cheap. The downsides cluster around everything else: the conversion and cross-border fee is meaningful, the platform is small and lightly reviewed, the card-issuing bank is not named, and several basic facts (ATM, physical card, app store ratings, blocked merchant categories) are simply not published.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it scored this way
Who can get it 8 / 10 Verification is closed in a long list of countries (the US is on it), open in most of the rest; the Flex card is not available in Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, Vietnam — there the only product is the Classic card.
Cost 6 / 10 First Flex card free, then $2 per card; USD payments free, non-USD and cross-border USD payments cost $0.30 + 1.5%; top-up fee 1.25% on Flex.
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT and USDC on a network of your choice (Tron and Ethereum are named), bank transfer in NGN, IDR, KES; help articles exist for BTC and SOL.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank; the licensed partners named are Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN); the card-issuing bank is not named; Trustpilot score 2.6 from 4 reviews.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; ATM is not stated; there is no physical card.
Total 6.5 / 10 A solid virtual card for a specific user, weighed down by gaps in disclosure and a small public footprint.

I would describe the target reader the same way Onboard does, then narrow it. If you are a freelancer, contractor or remote worker who is paid in USDT or USDC and needs to pay for software, ads, flights or hotels in USD, the Onboard card is one of the cheaper ways to do that. If you need a physical card, plan to withdraw cash often, want a card in Europe with a clear EU issuer, or care about a long review history, you will want to read the rest of this review and look at the alternatives at the end.

Will they give you the card

Whether you can actually get an Onboard card depends on two separate things: the country your account is in, and the country your documents are from. Onboard publishes a list of places where verification (and therefore any Onboard feature that requires an account, including cards) is not available at all. The list is long and includes the United States, so the first thing to check is whether your country is on it.

The list of countries where verification is closed, taken from Onboard’s own pages, is: Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

If you are reading this from Russia, Belarus, Serbia, Ukraine or China, that is the answer: Onboard is not available to you. If you are reading it from the United States, the same applies. The list is wider than most crypto cards I have reviewed, and the inclusion of the US is unusual, because many providers design their US presence around the largest card market in the world. Onboard has decided to be a non-US product.

A second group of countries is allowed to verify, but only gets the Classic card, not the Flex card. That means you can open an account, but the cheaper product is locked. The list is: Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, Vietnam. In these countries the Flex tier and the Flex fee schedule are not available to you, and the upgrade path from Classic to Flex is not a free switch.

A few large markets are notably absent from both lists, which I mention because readers tend to ask. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are not on either list, which I read as meaning the Flex product is available there subject to the normal KYC checks. Onboard’s marketing pages say the platform is “built for professionals who spend across borders” and that users can “spend globally,” but they do not give a positive country-by-country list of where you can use the card, only the negative lists above. So if your country is not on either list, you should still expect to be asked for documents and to be refused if your documents are from a sanctioned country or if you cannot pass the ID check.

What the pages do not say is also worth noting. They do not publish a minimum age (the industry default is 18 plus, but I would not assume that until Onboard states it), and they do not state whether having a US tax ID (SSN/ITIN) is a problem even from abroad. If any of that matters to you, the only way to find out is to start the sign-up and see what gets asked for.

How to get it

Onboard describes sign-up as a three-step process: download the app, verify your account, and create a virtual Flex card. Verification is described as “free and instant” and “usually finishes within seconds,” with some applications going to manual review.

The KYC flow is the standard one for a regulated crypto product, and Onboard is explicit about what it asks for:

Which document is accepted depends on the country you choose at sign-up, and Onboard says that some combinations go to manual review rather than the seconds-long instant path. KYC is triggered when you fund the account, withdraw, trade or create a card, not at sign-up, so you can install the app and look around before any of your data is collected. The list of reasons an application can be rejected is not published; a help article called “Why was my account restricted?” exists but I have not been able to confirm its contents.

What you get at the end of the flow is a virtual Visa card denominated in USD, available in the app, and ready to add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card currency is USD regardless of where you live, which is the source of the non-USD and cross-border fees I cover in the next section. There is no physical card, so there is no delivery, no shipping address and no waiting for the post — once the card is created it is in the app.

A point worth raising here, because it is the kind of thing that surprises people: Onboard is a “technology platform, not a bank.” The licensed partners it works with are Gopay Financial Services Inc., doing business as Onboard Pay and registered with FINTRAC as a money services business in Canada, and Onboard Digital, registered with FinCEN as a money services business in the United States. The card-issuing bank, the BIN sponsor in the card network, is not named on the pages I read. That is a real gap if you want to know who actually has the regulatory responsibility for your card, and I would treat it as a reason to keep smaller balances on the card than you would on a card from a named European bank.

What it really costs: fees and limits

The Onboard fee structure is short and clear once you know which product you are on, and confusing if you do not. There are two card products: Flex, the default, and Classic, which is the only card available in the nine countries listed earlier.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Onboard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Flex card Classic card
First card creation Free Not stated
Subsequent card creation $2 each Not stated
Monthly / annual fee None stated None stated
Payment in USD Free Free
Non-USD or cross-border USD payment $0.30 + 1.5% $0.50 + 2.5%
Decline charge None $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic
Top-up fee 1.25% per transaction 1.5% per transaction
Minimum per top-up $1 $1
Maximum per top-up $5,000 $5,000
Daily card spend limit $5,000 $5,000
Monthly card spend limit $20,000 $20,000
ATM withdrawal Not stated Not stated

Two things stand out. First, USD payments are genuinely free on Flex, which is rare for a crypto-funded card and which makes the card a strong fit for paying for software, ads and subscriptions billed in dollars. Second, the moment you spend in any other currency, or in dollars cross-border, the cost becomes $0.30 + 1.5% on Flex. On a $100 dinner in euros that is about $1.80 in fees, which is not catastrophic but is not nothing. On a $5 flight in a small currency the $0.30 fixed leg hurts more.

The top-up fee is 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic, and stablecoins are not credited 1:1: on Flex you need about 1.0125 USDT to land $1 on the card. The help center also calls out a network base fee on the deposit, $1.25 on Tron and $0.10 on Ethereum, which is paid by the user on top of the percentage. So funding $1,000 on Flex with USDT on Tron costs you about $12.50 in the platform percentage plus $1.25 in the network base fee, plus the on-chain gas fee that the network itself charges. If you fund on Ethereum, the platform fee is similar but the network base fee is much smaller; the gas fee on Ethereum is usually larger than Tron’s, so the cheaper network depends on what gas costs that day.

The limits are $5,000 a day and $20,000 a month, with the option to ask support for higher. Onboard does not publish how the limits are split by KYC tier, so the only way to find out which tier you are on is to look at the app after verification. The card is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw — you can only spend what you have loaded.

The crypto-to-fiat conversion rate used when you top up is not published as a fixed rate. The pages say “fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without giving a mid-market spread, so the 1.25% is the disclosed number but the real cost of conversion may also include the difference between the rate you see and the rate the card uses. That is a standard gap across this category, but I would still rather see it spelled out.

There is no cashback programme, no monthly fee, and no annual fee. The “Refer & earn” programme is the only reward mentioned, and it pays in the form of credits rather than a percentage of spend.

To make the fee discussion less abstract, here is how three common everyday payments actually cost you on the Flex card.

  1. A $50 monthly subscription billed in USD to a US company. The payment is in USD and not cross-border (the merchant acquires in the US), so it is free on the Flex card. If you had topped up with USDT on Tron, the $50 costs a little more due to the stablecoin conversion rate and a base network fee. A year’s worth is also inexpensive to fund, which is hard to beat.
  1. A €80 dinner in Berlin paid via Apple Pay. The €80 converts to roughly $87 at the time of writing, and because the payment is non-USD Onboard adds $0.30 + 1.5% on top, so the cost is about $1.61 in fees plus whatever the card scheme adds to the euro-to-dollar conversion. Total cost about $1.60–$1.80 on a $87 spend, or just under 2%. That is in the same range as a standard bank card’s foreign-transaction fee.
  1. A $20 in-app purchase on the Apple App Store from outside the US. The $20 stays in USD, but because the merchant is outside the US the payment is “cross-border USD” and Onboard charges $0.30 + 1.5%, so the cost is $0.60. On small purchases the fixed $0.30 hurts more than on large ones.

If your spending pattern is mostly USD to US merchants, the card is genuinely cheap. If your pattern is mixed currencies and small purchases, the per-transaction cost adds up.

Top up

Funding is where Onboard is at its most flexible, and also where the most care is needed. The platform markets the choice as “fund from local currency or stablecoins,” and the help center spells it out more concretely.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Onboard starts with a transfer to the right network

The stablecoin route is USDT or USDC on a network of your choice, with Tron and Ethereum explicitly named in the help center. A help article for BTC, SOL and other crypto exists, but I have not been able to confirm which other coins and networks are supported. The funding fee is 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic, the per-transaction minimum is $1 and the maximum is $5,000, and the credit time is about 5 minutes for the stablecoin path.

The bank-transfer route is available in NGN (Nigerian naira), IDR (Indonesian rupiah) and KES (Kenyan shilling), which is a clear signal that Onboard’s first markets are Nigeria, Indonesia and Kenya. If you bank in one of those currencies, the bank transfer is the cheapest way to fund, because the spread on a local bank transfer is usually smaller than the stablecoin percentage. If you bank in any other currency, you fund with stablecoins.

A third route is internal: you can move money between the Cash balance, the Trading Wallet and any of your cards in the app. This is free and instant, and is the route you take when you want to take a card’s balance off the card and onto the platform — for example before terminating a card, or before sending it to a bank.

There is no Apple Pay top-up, no Google Pay top-up, and no card-to-card transfer. You cannot top up with a debit card issued by another bank.

Two things to be careful about, because they are the most common ways to lose money in this category:

If you want the cheapest top-up in practice, the answer is stablecoins on a low-fee network, topped up only when the gas is cheap. If you want the most convenient top-up, the answer is a small bank transfer in one of the three supported local currencies.

Paying with it every day

The card itself is virtual and lives in the app, and the only networks it works on are the ones where Apple Pay and Google Pay are accepted in-store, plus any online merchant that takes Visa. There is no physical card, no embossed number you can hand to a waiter, and no card you can put in an ATM. The help center does not say whether ATM withdrawals are supported; the safe assumption is that they are not, because the card is a virtual Visa with no magstripe and no EMV chip on a piece of plastic.

The list of merchant categories that are automatically blocked is published. Onboard blocks money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies. A separate list of prohibited transactions covers unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, unlicensed gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes and pirated media. If your spending pattern is normal — groceries, transport, software, travel, restaurants — none of this should affect you. If you are trying to use a crypto card to buy more crypto, the answer is no.

Adding the card to Apple Pay and Google Pay is the same as adding any Visa: open the wallet app, choose “add card,” and either scan the card details in the Onboard app or type them in. Once the card is in the wallet, you tap to pay with Face ID or a passcode. Onboard’s app lets you freeze the card from the app (Cards, swipe to the card, more, Freeze), and unfreezing is the same path in reverse. A frozen card stops new authorisations, but pending transactions can still settle, and a freeze does not cancel subscriptions you have set up on the card — those you have to cancel with the merchant.

For online payments the card supports 3-D Secure, and the app handles the confirmation. For disputes and refunds, Onboard’s policy is that merchant refunds return to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it.” If 30 days have passed and the refund has not arrived, you contact support with the transaction ID, the merchant name and proof of payment, and Onboard will follow up. A refund that arrives after the card is terminated is credited to the Cash balance instead. Chargeback procedure is not described in the help center pages I read, so if you have a chargeback in mind, ask support before you fund the card.

The app store ratings for Onboard are not in the pages I could read, so I cannot tell you whether the app is well-reviewed in the way I usually would in this section. The information I have is from the help center and the official site.

What can go wrong

The risks for an Onboard user fall into three buckets: company risk, platform risk and category risk. The first two are specific to Onboard, the third is the same for any crypto-funded card.

Company and platform risk

Onboard describes itself as a “technology platform, not a bank,” and the regulated partners it names are Gopay Financial Services Inc. (doing business as Onboard Pay, a FINTRAC-registered money services business in Canada) and Onboard Digital (a FinCEN-registered money services business in the US). The subsidiary that holds the platform is Nestcoin Holding Limited in the British Virgin Islands. The card-issuing bank — the entity that actually holds the BIN, regulates the card programme and is responsible to Visa — is not named on the pages I read. That is unusual for a Visa product, and it is the kind of detail I would want before loading a large balance.

The Trustpilot profile for Onboard, which I read on 2026-10-20, has a TrustScore of 2.6 from 4 reviews, all one-star, and the profile is unclaimed (meaning the company has not responded). The themes in those reviews are: unpaid referral or promo rewards (one report from February 2026), generic copy-paste support replies (August 2025 to May 2026), slow or difficult verification (August 2025, May 2026), and unclear fees (February 2026). Four reviews is not a large sample, but the direction is consistent and worth flagging. There are no mainstream news stories about Onboard cards being closed, and the help center has no programme-closure notice I can find.

For security, Onboard supports passkeys as the recommended login and withdrawal method, plus a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, and phone OTP for sensitive actions. The freeze card function is there. Custody and insurance of customer funds are not described, which is what you would expect from a platform that explicitly says it is not a bank. In the EU, an e-money institution has to safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but Onboard does not claim to be an EU EMI and does not publish segregated-account details.

Category risk

A crypto-funded card has the same risks as any other card in the category, and they are worth restating because they apply to Onboard the same way they apply to its alternatives:

None of these risks is unique to Onboard. They are the shape of the category, and Onboard does not insulate you from any of them.

What to take instead

If the Onboard card is not quite the right fit, three crypto cards I have also reviewed come up in the same conversation. I have included the score for each so the comparison is direct.

Card Score Card type Where it works Cost Funding
Onboard 6.5 / 10 Virtual Visa Most countries (excluded list above); Flex not in 9 countries First card free, then $2; USD free, non-USD $0.30 + 1.5%; top-up 1.25% USDT/USDC on Tron or Ethereum; bank transfer NGN, IDR, KES
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay (virtual and physical) 200+ countries (no exclusions stated); app listing is Naira-focused Real-time conversion at payment, “AI-powered” rate scan; no fee percentage stated USDT, USDC, BTC (networks not stated)
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard Nigeria and “global users” (no exclusions stated) Card creation free; fees not stated BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer (networks not stated)
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid HyperCard, balance in USD or EUR App Store says the card is accepted in 176+ countries (no eligibility list) App Store lists no fees; fees not stated on official pages USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR (networks not stated)

Cardex is the most flexible of the alternatives in terms of card networks (it can ride on four of them) and in terms of physical-versus-virtual, but the lack of a published fee percentage and a published country list means the comparison is not as direct as it could be. The “AI-powered conversion rate” is a marketing claim I have not been able to verify.

CardFlow is the most Nigeria-focused of the four: it is built around naira and Bitcoin, USDT and ETH, and the card is a USD Mastercard. If you are outside Nigeria the value proposition is thinner.

HyperCard is the most international in terms of card acceptance, but the information published is thinner than Onboard’s. The card holds USD or EUR, and you deposit USDT, BTC or ETH in the app. The absence of any published fee schedule is the main thing to be aware of.

If you want a virtual card with published fees and a clear non-USD cost, Onboard is the better of the four. If you want a physical card, Cardex is the only one of the four that offers one. If you want a card that is built around naira, CardFlow is the natural fit. If you want the widest merchant acceptance and do not mind thin disclosure, HyperCard is the comparison point.

Who I would recommend it to

Putting all of this together, here is the way I would actually use this review if a friend asked me which card to get.

Get the Onboard Flex card if:

Skip Onboard and look elsewhere if:

The single best reason to choose Onboard is the combination of a free first card, free USD spending, and a 1.25% top-up fee with stablecoin choice across two networks. If that is the spend pattern you have, Onboard is genuinely cheaper than most cards in the category. The single best reason to walk away is the small public footprint, the unclaimed review profile, and the missing issuer name. That is not a reason Onboard is a bad product, but it is a reason to size your balance accordingly.

The conditions described above are current as of 2026-10-20. Onboard can change fees, country lists, partners and product names without notice, so the right thing to do before funding any non-trivial amount is to re-read the fees page, the help center article on the Classic-to-Flex upgrade, and the country list, and to confirm in the app what your personal limits and KYC tier are.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Onboard card?

The Onboard card is a virtual Visa issued through the Onboard app, funded by stablecoins or a bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES, and used to spend a USD balance online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. Onboard is the platform brand, and the regulated money-transmission partners it names are Gopay Financial Services Inc. in Canada (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital in the US (FinCEN). The card-issuing bank is not named on the pages I read.

How does the Onboard card work?

You install the app, verify your identity (phone number, address, government photo ID, live selfie), create a virtual Flex card for free, and top it up with USDT or USDC on a supported network or a bank transfer in one of the three supported local currencies. From then on, the card behaves like a prepaid USD Visa: you can spend it online, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and freeze it from the app. The card is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw.

Is Onboard a bank?

No. Onboard describes itself as a “technology platform, not a bank.” The licensed partners it names are Gopay Financial Services Inc. (FINTRAC MSB in Canada) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB in the US). The card-issuing bank is not published on the pages I read, so the entity that actually holds the BIN and the card programme is not disclosed.

Who owns Onboard?

Onboard’s US-regulated entity is Onboard Digital, and the group parent is Nestcoin Holding Limited, registered in the British Virgin Islands. The Canadian regulated entity is Gopay Financial Services Inc., doing business as Onboard Pay.

Is the Onboard card available in my country?

It depends on your country. Verification (and therefore any card) is not available in Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zimbabwe. The Flex card is not available in Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, Vietnam — there the only product is the Classic card.

How do I get the Onboard card?

Install the app, complete KYC (phone, address, ID, selfie), and create a virtual Flex card. The first card is free. The help center describes verification as “free and instant,” with some applications going to manual review.

Does the Onboard card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is triggered when you fund, withdraw, trade or create a card, and the required documents are a phone number (SMS or WhatsApp code), your address, a government-issued photo ID (passport, national ID or driver’s licence) and a live selfie. The accepted document depends on the country you choose at sign-up.

How do I top up the Onboard card?

The main routes are USDT or USDC on a network Onboard supports (Tron and Ethereum are named), bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES, or an internal move from the Cash balance, the Trading Wallet or another card. The funding fee is 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic, with a $1 minimum and a $5,000 maximum per transaction.

How do I add the Onboard card to Apple Wallet?

Open the Wallet app on your iPhone, choose to add a card, and either scan the card details in the Onboard app or type them in manually. The card is tokenised into the Secure Element and is ready to tap to pay with Face ID or a passcode. The same path works for Google Pay on Android.

Is the Onboard card safe?

It uses standard crypto-card safeguards: passkeys (recommended), 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, phone OTP for sensitive actions, and an in-app card-freeze function. The gaps are that Onboard is not a bank, the card-issuing bank is not named, custody and insurance of customer funds are not described, and the public Trustpilot profile is unclaimed with a 2.6 score from 4 reviews. Treat the card like a small prepaid account rather than a bank account.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team