The card that charges you before you spend
I have been through the NEXA card’s own pages — the home page, the FAQ, the pricing and terms text — and then cross-checked them against a couple of third-party listings. What follows is my honest assessment: what the card says it does, what it charges, what it simply does not tell you, and whether it is worth touching at all.
The short version: NEXA reads like a fairly ordinary reloadable card with a crypto top-up, but the published numbers are thin, the fee schedule is a placeholder, the company behind it is not named on the card pages, and the site is simultaneously running a token presale. That combination earns it 4.7 out of 10 from me.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.7 out of 10
Here is the card I would recommend it to: someone who has decided to hold a stored balance on a card, who can pay the enrollment fees up front for the privilege, and who does not mind checking the fee schedule themselves before every trip. For that person the mechanics are conventional — reload, spend, done.
Here is who I would not recommend it to: anyone whose money depends on chargebacks and deposit-style protection, anyone who needs to know exactly what a foreign purchase will cost before they make it, and anyone who reacts badly to a support line that does not answer. The card pages do not name an issuing bank, the fee link leads nowhere, and the terms page reads like boilerplate from a comparison website rather than card terms.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “190+ countries” for sending money, accepted at “over 33 million merchant locations”, no restricted-country list published |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Silver: enrollment $49.95, monthly hosting $3.99, activation $5.95, displayed total $114.93; Black $133.85, Platinum $281.85; fee table not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Cash, wire, transfer or crypto through the dashboard; coins not named on official pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer not named, site advertises a token presale; a third-party site scores the Silver card 3.2/10 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual Silver, plastic Black, metal Platinum; Apple Pay and Google Pay not confirmed; ATM mentioned without terms |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 | A card you can open in principle, but not one I would put a large balance on |
The single strongest mark is access. There is no bank-account requirement on the home page and no credit check, which is exactly the promise this kind of card makes to people who cannot get an ordinary one. Everything else on the sheet is weaker, and the cost mark of 1 out of 10 is not a rounding error — it reflects real money charged before you have spent anything.
Will they give you the card
Officially: yes, apparently almost anywhere, with no bank account needed.
The home page says “NO Bank Account Required” and mentions no credit check. The reach claim is “190+ countries” for sending money and acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations”. What that figure does not include is any eligibility list or any country that is excluded. Those are different numbers, and the difference matters to you. Acceptance is a statement about where the card works; eligibility is a statement about who can hold one. Only the first is published.
There is also a per-country limit that the card does not name: your local law. Wherever you live, an electronic-money or payment licence may only be valid in the country it was granted in, and your own bank may treat a foreign-issued card as unusual. That is not a defect of the card; it is the shape of the business.
So the honest answer to “will they give me one” is: the card says yes everywhere, and you should expect to answer questions about who you are.
How to get it
The signup story on the official pages is thin, and this is the section where you are most exposed.
What the card itself states: no bank account required, no credit check. What it does not state is what identification you need — the KYC question is simply not described on the official pages, and I want to be clear that that is an absence, not a permission. Not stated means the card’s public pages do not say.
Unofficial, from a third-party crypto card site in October 2026: an email address, a phone number and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie. That is a friendlier picture than most regulated issuers require, and I would not plan around it. Regulated institutions normally run address verification and sanctions screening, and the card pages say nothing about either. A site that only asks for a document is not doing less because it is more private; often it is doing less because it is less established.
The cards themselves come in three tiers, and they are reloadable stored-value cards rather than bank debit cards:
| Tier | Form | What it is |
|---|---|---|
| Nexa Silver | Virtual | Card number issued into your account |
| Nexa Black | Plastic | Physical card for delivery |
| Nexa Platinum | Metal | Metal physical card for delivery |
The FAQ says Visa and Mastercard, without tying either brand to a specific tier, and the currency is not stated anywhere on the official pages. That is worth pausing on: which network you are carrying affects which merchants accept you and how 3-D Secure works.
Delivery times are given, and they are reasonably brisk:
- Virtual card number within 24 hours
- Plastic up to 5 business days
- Metal up to 7 business days
- Replacement: contact support, cost not stated
A lost or stolen card is blocked by contacting support. What a replacement costs is not on the schedule — it is listed in the FAQ as a fee that may apply, with no figure behind it.
Fees: what a NEXA card really costs
This is where the card stops being simple, and where I would slow down.

The pricing page shows three tiers with an enrollment fee, a monthly hosting fee and an activation fee — and then a total that does not match the sum of its own parts:
| Fee or limit | Silver (virtual) | Black (plastic) | Platinum (metal) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | $49.95 | $99.95 | $99.95 |
| Monthly hosting | $3.99 | $11.95 | $11.95 |
| Activation | $5.95 | $10.00 | $10.00 |
| Total shown on page | $114.93 | $133.85 | $281.85 |
| ATM fee | Value not published | Value not published | Value not published |
| International transaction fee | Value not published | Value not published | Value not published |
| FX / conversion fee | Value not published | Value not published | Value not published |
| Card replacement fee | Value not published | Value not published | Value not published |
| Load limit | $150,000 or equivalent in cryptocurrency for physical; virtual described as unlimited | Same tier rule | Same tier rule |
| Card currency | USD | USD | USD |
Three things in that table need saying out loud.
First, the totals do not equal the line items and the page does not explain the gap. Silver’s parts come to far less than $114.93. Either there are fees folded in that are not listed, or the total is a bundle of something longer than a year. Black and Platinum are labelled “Pre-Paid Annually”, which hints the total is a package — but nobody states the term length. You cannot verify what you are buying.
Second, the fee schedule is a placeholder link. The FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement, and the schedule behind that link shows no values. So the three fees most likely to bite you are acknowledged and unpriced. That is the whole problem in one line.
Third, the load limits read oddly: $150,000 or equivalent in cryptocurrency for physical cards, virtual described as unlimited loading, and then an FAQ sentence saying load limits depend on account type. Three statements, and the reader is left to work out which applies.
Now the everyday payments. Take three ordinary ones.
Coffee, ten dollars, paid in dollars, virtual card. No conversion, no international transaction, no ATM. This is the clean case — the only certain charges are your monthly hosting fee and whatever you spent at enrollment.
A hotel in another country, on the metal card, paid in the local currency. This is the case the card does not price for you. Your balance is USD. The conversion happens somewhere between the merchant’s acquirer and the card programme, and the FAQ says an international transaction fee may apply — without a number. The third-party listing calls the fee schedule opaque; it also lists ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees as free, which contradicts the card’s own FAQ. Treat both unofficial lines as unconfirmed and go to your dashboard.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. The FAQ names it as a fee-bearing transaction and then stops. The allowance is not stated — not the fee, not the number of free withdrawals, not the daily cap. A third-party site lists ATM fees as free. I would not budget on that.
The cost section earns 1 out of 10 because of one fact: you pay real money up front, and the ongoing numbers are not published. Everything after that point is your own diligence.
How to top up the card
The card lists four routes, and they all end in the same place — the dashboard:

- Cash
- Wire transfer
- Bank transfer
- Cryptocurrency, sent to a wallet address
Which coins, on which networks, is the gap. The FAQ even leaves the count as a placeholder rather than a number. Unofficial, from the same third-party listing in October 2026: BTC, ETH and BNB icons, and “over 65 different cryptocurrencies”. I would assume nothing about that count until you see your own deposit screen.
Deposit fees and minimum deposit amounts are not stated. Withdrawal is vaguer still: “instant transfers” appear once in the FAQ, and nothing more.
Here is the part that deserves real attention, because it is where crypto users lose money for boring reasons. A stablecoin lives on networks. USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not the same thing as USDC. If you send the right coin to the right address on a network the provider does not support, the transfer is irreversible — the blockchain cannot undo it — and you may need manual support recovery with no guarantee attached. Copy the deposit screen, do not copy it from memory or from an old message.
Also: ERC-20 fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot send. Tron fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. The network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card company. And stablecoins can move away from a dollar: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. A stable balance is an aim, not a guarantee.
Paying with it every day
Three tiers, which is the part I like. Someone who wants a virtual card for subscriptions, someone who wants plastic in a wallet, and someone who wants metal — the card lets you pick, which is what a buyer choosing between virtual, plastic and metal actually wants.
Virtual is the fastest route: a number within 24 hours, so you could be spending today. Plastic and metal take up to 5 and 7 business days.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the official pages. Unofficial material contradicts itself — one part of the third-party listing marks both as supported, its own cons list says neither is supported. I would treat the wallet question as open until you see the card settings.
A few ordinary obstacles are worth knowing in advance, and they apply to this card as to any card of its type:
- The BIN at the start of the card number tells a merchant which institution and country issued it. A shop may apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from your billing address — the reason a card issued in one country can look foreign in another.
- Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records. It is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
- 3-D Secure is the identity step on online payments — Visa calls it Visa Secure, Mastercard calls it Identity Check. It either approves silently or challenges you with a code or a biometric.
- A merchant category code is the four-digit classification of a business. Gambling sits under 7995, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law — the blocked list varies by issuer.
- A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance for days, typically up to 7.
Not stated by the card: any rewards or cashback, how a dispute is handled, and any store ratings for the app. The FAQ does point to a mobile app and an online dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com, which is the only place you will be able to see your own fee lines.
What can go wrong
The most important thing I found is not a complaint. It is who is actually behind this.
The site footer reads “Powered by NEXA”, © 2023, and no issuer is named. The Terms and Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as the site operator, says NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, and sets the governing law as Israel with the courts of Tel Aviv-Jaffa. That combination reads like comparison-site boilerplate rather than card terms. A third-party site names a different company, “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. If you want to know which legal entity holds your balance, the card’s own pages do not tell you.
The site also advertises a token presale at presale.nexacards.com. No dated licence or issuer news was found. Both points matter for a card where you pre-fund a balance.
On complaints: no official incidents came up. A third-party card-rating site scores the Silver card 3.2/10 in October 2026, citing opaque fees and high upfront fees. And there is a Trustpilot page for a similarly named domain, nexascard.com, showing reports of frozen funds and a company reply about sanctions screening — but that is a different domain, not confirmed as the same operator. Not stated either way: no Trustpilot page was confirmed for nexacards.com. I would not treat that page as evidence about this card, and I would not treat its absence as reassurance.
What the card does claim on security: encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection in the FAQ; lost or stolen cards blocked via support. What it does not claim: how customer funds are safeguarded, or whether they are safeguarded at all. That is not a technicality. In the EU an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds in segregated accounts or by insurance, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits. If NEXA is not that kind of licensed institution in your jurisdiction, then no such protection attaches — and the card does not tell you.
Two more reasons accounts get frozen, both general to the category and neither a trick. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. And sanctions screening is applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. Nobody is asking you to do anything about either. I am telling you that a freeze often has an ordinary explanation, and that your remedy is documents and patience, not a workaround.
Support is a phone number, +1 (877) 770-0550, 9 AM to 9 PM Monday to Friday, and [email protected]. The hero text claims 24/7. Those two do not agree, and the narrower one is the one to plan around.
Finally, the category’s history is a useful warning. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures follow a pattern: notice, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Custody has its own record too — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). And transfers are typically irreversible; a stolen key has no recovery path built in.
One thing that may comfort you slightly, from the crypto side: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, in either direction.
What to take instead
None of the three alternatives below is dramatically better — all three sit in the same low-to-mid range. They are here because each answers the “who and where” question more honestly.
Cardex — 5.6/10. “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, also with no published country list or exclusions, though the App Store listing is Naira-focused. Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical. Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, and the site claims an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend — no percentage stated. Funding by USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. Cost, top-up and rewards not stated.
CardFlow — 4.9/10. Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users”), no exclusions listed. Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, and creating one is “completely free” per the site FAQ — the only alternative here with an explicit zero. Monthly fee not stated. Funding by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Fees and rewards not stated.
HyperCard — 4.7/10. Same score as NEXA, and the same shape of answer: no country list on official pages, while the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — acceptance, not eligibility. Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated on the App Store page, balance in USD or EUR. Cost and fees not stated on the pages I could read. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it is converted to USD or EUR on the card.
| NEXA | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.7/10 | 5.6/10 | 4.9/10 | 4.7/10 |
| Geography claim | 190+ countries, no exclusions | 200+ countries, no exclusions | Nigeria-focused, global users | 176+ countries (acceptance) |
| Card | Virtual, plastic, metal | Virtual and physical | Virtual | Prepaid, network not stated |
| Card currency | USD | Naira per listing | USD | USD or EUR |
| Networks | Visa and Mastercard per FAQ | VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | Mastercard | Not stated |
| Upfront cost | $49.95 to $99.95 enrollment | Not stated | Free to create | Not stated |
| Fee schedule | Placeholder, no values | No percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Funding | Cash, wire, transfer, crypto | USDT, USDC, BTC | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira transfer | USDT, BTC, ETH |
The pattern is worth naming: three of these four publish no fee numbers at all, and the one that does has a placeholder. In this corner of the market, opaque pricing is the norm, not the exception. That does not make NEXA worse than its peers; it makes the whole category something you approach with the dashboard open.
Who I would recommend it to
Three answers, in order of confidence.
Yes, if you want a reloadable prepaid card with no bank account behind it, you can pay a large enrollment fee without blinking, and you are willing to hold a modest balance rather than a large one. You will be able to get a virtual number within a day and spend it the same way you would spend any prepaid card. For someone who simply cannot open a normal account, that is a real service, and the 8 out of 10 on access is not politeness.
Perhaps, if you mostly spend in dollars, rarely touch an ATM, and stay at home. Those are the cases where the unpublished fees are least likely to reach you. Ask support, in writing, what the ATM fee, the international transaction fee and the card replacement fee are, and keep the answer.
No, if any of these apply: you are putting savings on it; you plan to use it abroad regularly; you rely on chargebacks (prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — US debit reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z); you are in a region where the underlying licence does not reach you; or you want to know which legal entity is holding your money. That last one is disqualifying for me, and it is the first thing I would ask a support agent.
And one line that applies to all of it: spending crypto through a card is generally a taxable disposal in the US, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate gain or loss. I am not telling you what your obligations are — that is between you and a professional — but do not read “prepaid card” as “outside the tax system”.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEXA card?
NEXA is a reloadable stored-value payment card rather than a bank debit card. You load a balance — by cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency — and the card spends that balance, so it cannot overdraw. It comes in three tiers: Silver (virtual), Black (plastic) and Platinum (metal). The FAQ names Visa and Mastercard. The card states no bank account is required.
How does the NEXA card work?
You sign up, choose a tier, receive a card number or a physical card, and top up through the dashboard. At payment the balance is drawn down like a prepaid card. The card pages say little about who issues it: no issuer is named, and the entity listed in the Terms and Conditions as site operator reads like comparison-site boilerplate rather than card terms.
Is NEXA a bank?
Not on the evidence available. The Terms page explicitly says NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”. No issuing bank is named anywhere on the card pages. Treat it as a card programme with an unidentified issuer rather than as a bank relationship, and do not assume deposit protection applies to any balance you load.
Who owns NEXA?
The card’s own pages do not answer this clearly. The footer reads “Powered by NEXA”, © 2023. The Terms and Conditions name “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as site operator with Israeli governing law. A third-party site instead names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. Two different names for one product is the thing to ask support about directly.
Does the NEXA card require KYC?
The official pages do not say — the question is simply not addressed, and no bank account or credit check is required. Unofficial material from a third-party listing in October 2026 says email, phone and identity document are needed, with no proof of address or selfie. That is unconfirmed, and I would expect more from a regulated issuer, not less.
Is the NEXA card free?
No. Silver charges $49.95 enrollment, $3.99 monthly hosting and $5.95 activation; Black and Platinum charge $99.95 enrollment, $11.95 monthly and $10.00 activation. Displayed totals are $114.93, $133.85 and $281.85 — and they do not equal the sum of the listed parts, which the page does not explain. CardFlow, by contrast, states card creation is free.
How do I top up the NEXA card?
Four routes are listed: cash, wire, bank transfer or cryptocurrency, all through the dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com. The specific coins are not named and the FAQ leaves the count as a placeholder; unofficial material mentions over 65. Check the network your deposit address expects — USDT and USDC exist on many chains, Circle lists USDC on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and a wrong-network transfer is irreversible.
What are the NEXA card fees?
The FAQ says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement, but the fee-schedule link is a placeholder with no values. A third-party listing calls ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees free while simultaneously calling the schedule opaque, which is self-contradictory. Practical up-front costs are the enrollment, hosting and activation figures above; everything recurring is unpriced on the public pages.
Can I use NEXA card in my country?
The card claims “190+ countries” for sending money and acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations”, with no published exclusions. Those are acceptance figures, not eligibility ones, and they do not override local licensing. Nor do they override your own bank’s attitude to a foreign-issued prepaid card, or the sanctions and address checks that apply to you personally as a customer.
Is the NEXA card safe?
That depends on what you are asking. The FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing and fraud protection, and lost cards can be blocked through support — but how funds are safeguarded is not stated, and that is the question that matters when you pre-fund a balance. Prepaid cards generally get less dispute protection than credit cards, so keep balances modest, and treat a card with a token presale running alongside it as an early-stage product.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
