Moonwell's card is gone — what closed it and where the money goes now
If you are weighing up the Moonwell card, you should know before you read anything else that there is nothing left to sign up for. The card programme was wound down: loading stopped on 8 July 2026, new cards stopped being issued the same day, and every card in circulation was cancelled on 8 August 2026. The app and withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. So this review is not a verdict on whether the card is good enough for you — a card that cannot be applied for cannot be good enough for anyone. What it is instead is an account of what happened, what it means if you still hold a balance or a claim from the old programme, and which alternatives are standing where Moonwell left off.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 2.3 out of 10, and the reasons are structural
Moonwell scores 2.3 / 10. That number is not a judgement about how the card performed while it existed; it is a description of a product that no longer operates. The two heaviest marks on the card — who can get it and everyday use — are both zero, and they are zero for the same reason: the doors are shut.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | The programme is closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026, with 8 August 2026 as the last day of use |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: a 0.5% fee to load USDC and a 1.5% currency conversion fee |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | Card loading stopped on 8 July 2026; unofficial historical picture: on-chain USDC and “borrow-and-load” against Moonwell lending positions |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The card closed together with the Cypher infrastructure, acquired by Nium; fee-free withdrawal ran until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card were found |
| Everyday use | 0 / 10 | All cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026 and the app was switched off on 6 September 2026 |
Who does that score suit? Honestly, nobody as a card to apply for today. The people this page is written for are former cardholders who need to confirm the closure details — whether their balance was recoverable, whether rewards are still claimable, where support stands. If that is you, the sections on what happened and on holding the card are the ones to read. If instead you were hoping to add crypto spending to your wallet, skip to the alternatives: there are three cards in the comparison below that are operating, and each of them tells you its own costs plainly.
A note on where these facts come from, so you can weigh them properly. The card’s public pages say nothing about who could get it, what it cost, which fees applied, which wallets it supported, what rewards or tiers existed, which currencies it dealt in, how cards were delivered, what the app looked like, or what KYC levels applied — all of that is simply not stated now that the programme is closed. What remains official is the closure notice itself. Details like a 0.5% loading fee, a 1.5% foreign-exchange fee, availability in more than 180 countries excluding New York and Vermont, Visa debit spending on on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants since a December 2024 launch, and Apple Pay and Google Pay support all come from third-party reporting rather than from the card, so treat them as unofficial and unconfirmed by Moonwell itself.
What happened to the programme
The sequence matters more than the reasons, because it tells you which door closed when. The closure notice is dated 8 July 2026, and it says Cypher has been acquired by Nium. On that same day, card loading stopped and new issuance ended. On 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC came the last day of card use, and the cards were cancelled. The app, the dApp and withdrawals all closed on 6 September 2026. The final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July. Moonwell says the team is building a successor platform on Nium’s infrastructure and is exploring new card providers, with no timeline given (as reported by Crypto Briefing).
That is the shape of a planned wind-down rather than a sudden failure: a notice, then a stop on loading, then a last day of spending, then a deadline to withdraw. It is the standard sequence, and if you are holding anything, the dates above are the ones that matter to you.
One structural detail explains why a crypto card can vanish like this. A card payment involves several parties: the network — Visa or Mastercard — routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the licensed card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. Here, the infrastructure was Cypher (CypherD Wallet Inc.), bought by Nium, and the card died with it. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. This is not the first card to close this way, and it will not be the last.
What the old card was, according to unofficial third-party accounts, was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024, available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont, supporting Apple Pay and Google Pay, funded with on-chain USDC, and with a “borrow-and-load” feature letting you borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card. Those details are useful mainly as a picture of what closed. None of them can be checked against the card’s own pages.
If you already have the card
If you held a Moonwell card, the practical question is not how to use it — that ended on 8 August 2026 — but whether you got your money out in time. On the infrastructure side, the Cypher card balance was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee until 6 September 2026. The Cypher wallet is non-custodial, meaning you hold the keys yourself, so the balance was yours rather than the provider’s. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured, but they had to be claimed before the end date. On support, Cypher’s address is [email protected], available through 6 September 2026 and then through a 60-day transitional period; the notice does not state which languages or hours.
If you missed the 6 September 2026 deadline, the transition period has been the route people would have had, and it too has a shape you should pin down now rather than assume. The honest answer is that the card’s public pages say nothing about what happens to a balance left after the transitional window, so I cannot tell you from official material whether recovery is still possible. If you are in that position, [email protected] is the address to write to, and the thing to ask for is the exact status of your balance. Do not assume a leftover balance is either gone or safe.
What is not stated on any of the card’s pages: cash-machine access, spending limits, how the card was funded, the top-up process itself, or how disputes and chargebacks were handled. Since the programme is closed, that is not a gap in my checking — there is nothing left to check.
On the cost side, the only figures that survive are unofficial ones: a 0.5% fee to load USDC, and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee. Neither is confirmed by the card. Still worth noting that the loading fee is exactly the number that made this style of card expensive — you paid a cut to get value onto the card, and then another cut when you spent it in a currency that was not your own. If you are comparing against what is available now, that 1.5% is the figure to hold in mind.
What can go wrong
The obvious thing has already happened to this card, so the useful risk section is not a list of hypothetical dangers but a map of where you stand and what could still bite.
| Risk | What the material says |
|---|---|
| Your card stops working | Spending ended 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC; all cards were cancelled |
| You cannot get money out | App, platform and withdrawals went offline on 6 September 2026, after a fee-free window |
| Rewards lapse | Final cycle was 2 to 16 July 2026; earlier rewards had to be claimed before the end date |
| Support disappears | Cypher support ran to 6 September 2026 plus a 60-day transitional period; languages and hours not stated |
| Data kept after closure | Cypher notes that AML law requires identification and transaction records to be kept at least five years after account closure |
| Key loss is unrecoverable | Blockchain transfers are irreversible; a stolen private key has no recovery path because the network cannot freeze or return funds |
Two of these deserve a word each. The five-year retention note is a fact about your data, not your balance: Cypher states that anti-money-laundering law requires it to hold identification and transaction records for at least five years after the account closes, so your data does not vanish with the app. And the non-custodial design cuts both ways — because the Cypher wallet was non-custodial and you kept the keys, control was genuinely yours, but that same design means a lost key or a phishing attempt has no safety net.
Worth adding the category-level risks that apply to any crypto card, since you may be reading this while choosing one of the alternatives. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Network choice bites: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network a provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And merchants can decline: address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and some shops decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright, because a merchant category lookup reveals the issuer and its country.
One reassurance, and it is a real one. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the Moonwell card itself, checked on 2026-10-20. The closure notice talks about Cypher, the infrastructure provider, and does not mention Moonwell. Silence on complaints plus a closed programme means there is nothing damning to report and nothing to recommend either.
What to take instead
Three cards are standing. None of them is a like-for-like replacement for what Moonwell did with on-chain USDC, but each is operating and each publishes more about itself than Moonwell’s pages now do. The comparison below copies what each card’s own materials state, including where they state nothing.
| Sponge | Nexo | Xplace | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.9 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual, created by createSpongeCard; described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member | Virtual (activates in the app) and physical; issued by DiPocket UAB; Mastercard trademark notice, network not stated explicitly | Visa; virtual instantly, physical Silver live, Gold and Platinum coming soon with 7–14 business-day delivery |
| Who can get it | Not stated; platform terms set a minimum age of 13 | Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no country list; wording is citizens and residents | Country list not stated; “services are not available in all jurisdictions”; Visa acceptance in 160+ countries |
| Cost | Not stated | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs at least $50 to activate; physical card free shipping but needs balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier | Annual fee: Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y; borrowing has no origination fee |
| Fees | Not stated | FX fee on weekdays 0.2% (EEA/UK/CH) and 2% (rest of world); weekends 0.7% and 2.5%; crypto conversion fee not stated | “0% FX on Platinum”; FX for other tiers and conversion fee not stated; stablecoin spending “no hidden spread” |
| Funding | USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet with card fund; example chain base, SDK mentions base or solana as optional |
Spends from the Nexo account; over 100 digital assets; Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets | Deposit BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana |
| Rewards | Not stated | Cashback only on purchases in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 in digital assets, paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin | Credit-mode cashback by tier: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC at settlement; Cash-mode cashback not stated |
Reading across the rows, three things stand out. Nexo and Xplace both gate the good stuff behind holding a balance, which is their version of a tier system: Nexo’s cashback needs more than $5,000 in digital assets and Gold tier at minimum for the physical card, and Xplace’s cashback and free FX sit at the top of a paid ladder running to $999 a year. Sponge is the thinnest on disclosure — score lowest of the three, and cost, fees and rewards are all unstated on its pages, which for a card you would pay with is the main thing you would want to know. Xplace is the only one of the three stating a prominent fee advantage, its 0% FX on Platinum, and the only one that names its network and its assets plainly.
If you were drawn to Moonwell for the borrowing feature — the unofficial “borrow-and-load” against lending positions — Xplace’s Credit mode is the closest surviving equivalent, borrowing against holdings with no origination fee. If it was the on-chain USDC spending you wanted, Xplace takes USDC and USDT on Solana, and Sponge moves USDC collateral from its own wallet.
Two cautions before you pick. First, the Nexo search turned up a report of a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement on it — that is background, not a finding against you, but you should know it exists before you fund an account. Second, MiCA’s transitional period for providers operating under national law ran only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation was granted or refused, whichever came first, so any European provider you consider should be checked against ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a crypto card often rests on two licences.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, as something to open. The score is 2.3 / 10 and the two zero marks are not close calls.
I would recommend this page to exactly one group: former Moonwell cardholders who need to confirm the closure details — the deadline that has passed, the rewards claim that had to be made before 16 July 2026, the support address that ran to 6 September 2026 plus a transitional window. Read those sections, write to [email protected] if you need a balance confirmed, and keep the dates in front of you.
For everyone else choosing a crypto card today, the interesting part of the comparison is above. Xplace scores highest of the three and states its fees most plainly, but its top tier costs $999 a year and it does not publish a country list. Nexo sits in the middle at 6.3 / 10 with a genuinely generous fee schedule for EEA, UK and Swiss weekday use, but it is explicitly for residents and citizens of selected European countries and its rewards require a large balance. Sponge is the one to look at if you want something simple and USDC-based, though you would be signing up with cost, fees and rewards all unstated.
And the general lesson, which applies whatever you choose: the crypto brand you see on the front of the card is often only a programme manager. Behind it sits an infrastructure provider and an issuer, and either of them can end the programme. This card died because its infrastructure was acquired. The card network itself does not issue crypto cards to consumers; it licenses issuers and can pull the licence. Read who actually holds the money and the licence, not just the logo on the app.
Frequently asked questions
What was the Moonwell card?
It was a crypto payment card from the Moonwell lending platform, spending on-chain USDC, described in unofficial reporting as a Visa debit card at more than 44 million merchants from a December 2024 launch. The programme is now closed: loading and new issuance ended 8 July 2026, and all cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026.
Is Moonwell a bank?
Not on anything its public pages state. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated, and the card itself ran on Cypher infrastructure (CypherD Wallet Inc.), a company acquired by Nium. A card is a payment service requiring its own licence, so the crypto brand on the front was never necessarily the institution holding your money.
Who owns Moonwell and what happened to the card programme?
The card infrastructure was owned by Cypher, which was acquired by Nium. Cypher’s notice of 8 July 2026 announced the wind-down: new issuance and loading ended that day, the last day of card use was 8 August 2026 at 00:00 UTC, and the app, dApp and withdrawals closed on 6 September 2026. Moonwell says it is exploring new card providers, with no timeline.
Can I still apply for a Moonwell card?
No. New issuance ended on 8 July 2026, the same day card loading stopped. There is no application to complete and no card to be issued. If you have seen a sign-up flow or a referral, it is not the official programme — the card’s own pages no longer carry card content at all.
What happened to money left on a Moonwell card?
The card balance was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee until 6 September 2026, and the Cypher wallet was non-custodial, so you held the keys. After that deadline the card’s public pages say nothing further about balance recovery, so write to [email protected] for the exact status of any balance you still hold rather than assuming it is either safe or gone.
Did Moonwell card rewards disappear?
The final rewards cycle ran 2 to 16 July 2026. Rewards earned before 16 July 2026 were honoured but had to be claimed before the end date, so the claim window has long since closed. Nothing about rewards survives on the card’s current pages.
Was the Moonwell card safe to use?
There is no damning record. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card when I checked on 2026-10-20, and the closure notice discusses Cypher without mentioning Moonwell. The Cypher wallet was non-custodial, so you held your own keys, though Cypher noted that AML law requires identification and transaction records to be kept for at least five years after account closure.
What can I use instead of the Moonwell card?
Three operating options come up in my comparison: Sponge at 4.9 / 10, Nexo at 6.3 / 10 and Xplace at 7.7 / 10. Xplace takes USDC and USDT on Solana and offers Credit-mode borrowing against holdings, Nexo serves residents and citizens of selected European countries with 0.2% weekday FX in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, and Sponge spends USDC collateral from its own wallet.
How did the Moonwell card compare on cost while it worked?
Only unofficial figures survive: a 0.5% fee to load USDC and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee, neither confirmed by the card’s own pages. For comparison, Nexo quotes 0.2% FX on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and Xplace advertises 0% FX on its Platinum tier, which cost $999 a year.
Is Moonwell still working at all?
The Moonwell lending platform is a separate thing from the card, and this review covers only the card. What is closed is the card programme: cards cancelled on 8 August 2026, app and withdrawals off on 6 September 2026. Moonwell has said the team is building a successor platform on Nium’s infrastructure and is exploring new card providers, with no timeline given.
Credit and cashback card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
