PokePay Card: A Zero-Fee Visa for Hong Kong, With Gaps in the Fine Print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are looking for a card that turns crypto into everyday spending, the PokePay card looks attractive on paper: it is a Visa, it advertises zero monthly and zero annual fees, zero percent cross-border transaction fees, and it is topped up with USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH. On the headline numbers it is hard to beat. But underneath those numbers there are real gaps. The card is aimed squarely at Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong, the issuing bank is not named, the crypto conversion spread is not disclosed, the card currency is not stated, and there is a documented wave of account suspensions and slow support in the second half of 2025. This is my honest read of where PokePay stands, who it fits, and where it can hurt you.

PokePay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: the card suits one clear profile, and everyone else should look twice

My score for the PokePay card is 5.4 out of 10. That is a middle-of-the-road mark, and it is not a rounding of a good or bad card — it is a card with a genuinely excellent cost profile wrapped around an eligibility rule and a reliability record that give me pause. Let me show you exactly how I arrived at that number, criterion by criterion, so you can weigh the same facts for yourself.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The site says its content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. Unofficial sources add that it claims “most countries” but the United States is restricted.
Cost 8 / 10 Zero monthly and annual fees, 0% cross-border transaction fees. Unofficial: virtual card opening from 5 USD; FX fee not disclosed.
Top-up options 8 / 10 Top up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. Unofficial: ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain networks.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 The issuing bank is not named and the licences are self-listed. Unofficial: a wave of blocks in the second half of 2025; Trustpilot 2.8 from 3 reviews of a different page; App Store HK 3.9 out of 5.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, cash withdrawal mentioned. Unofficial: Apple Pay not supported.
Total 5.4 / 10 A cheap-to-run card with a narrow audience and a blemished support record.

The card is built for a specific person: a Hong Kong resident who lives in Hong Kong and tops up with USDT. If that is you, the fee structure is genuinely good and the stablecoin top-ups are the reason to stay. If you are anywhere else, or you need a card that reliably works at a shop or on an app without surprises, PokePay is the wrong tool — not because it is a scam, but because it is not addressed to you and some of the basics are simply not filled in on its public pages.

Will they give you the card?

Straight to the point: probably not, unless you live in Hong Kong. The site’s own words are that “the content of our website is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong,” and it adds that promotion outside Hong Kong may require permits. That is a residency test, not a citizenship test. Whether you hold a Hong Kong passport, a foreign passport, or a Shell company registered elsewhere does not change the site’s stated position — the requirement is that you are a resident living there.

So the practical gate is residence in Hong Kong. Everything else — your nationality, where your funds come from — sits on top of that gate. Unofficial reports complicate the picture slightly: the United States is said to be explicitly restricted, the service is described as available in “most countries,” and one German-language version also lists China as blocked. But none of that overrides the site’s own notice. Treat the Hong Kong residency requirement as the rule and everything else as uncertain.

Two further points belong here because they are conditions of eligibility rather than steps. Card delivery is country-dependent: physical cards take about 10–30 working days depending on the country or region and may take longer, and the specific countries served, the delivery cost, and the replacement fee are not stated on the public pages. And the sanctions and regulatory screening behind the signup will apply to your citizenship and country of birth as well as your address — nationality is screened separately from residence. If you are from a country under sanctions, do not waste an afternoon on the form.

In short: the eligibility test is “resident, living in Hong Kong.” Confirm that first; everything else in this review only matters if you clear it.

How to get it

Assuming you clear the residency gate, getting the card is a standard digital onboarding flow with real identity checks. KYC certification is required before you can use the services, and the data you type in “must be exactly the same as the uploaded documents.” The card itself comes as both a physical and a virtual Visa; the card currency is not stated.

Here is what the signup actually involves, step by step:

  1. Identity verification first. Verification is required before any services are used, starting with email verification.
  2. Exact-name matching. Your entered data must match your passport name exactly, usually in English. Mismatches fail.
  3. Camera and browser. The site asks you to use Google Chrome with the camera enabled for the face or document capture step.
  4. Enhanced checks possible. Enhanced due diligence may ask about your source of funds or source of wealth. The levels and the processing time are not stated.
  5. Card delivery. A physical card arrives in about 10–30 working days depending on country or region, possibly longer; a virtual card is available much sooner within the app.

The detail that catches most people out is the exact-match requirement. If the name on your passport does not read the way you type it — a middle name, a transliterated surname, a space that matters — verification fails and you start again. Make the document the source of truth and copy it carefully.

On unofficial reports: one review site describes KYC as free and taking under a minute through a provider called Didit, with ID plus a face scan, an age range of 18–80 in the app, and a requirement for a balance above 0 USD before KYC. None of that is confirmed by the card’s own pages, so treat it as a hint about what to expect rather than a promise. Note that nothing on the official pages confirms which documents, proof of address, or age proof are accepted — that is listed as “not stated” by the card itself.

Fees: the running costs are low, the hidden ones are the question

The cost story is the strongest part of this card, and it is where the 8 out of 10 comes from. PokePay states “0 monthly fees, 0 annual fees” and no micro-transaction fees, and it advertises “0% cross-border transaction fees.” There is a single tier with no account tiers described anywhere on the site or FAQ. That is a genuinely cheap card to hold.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PokePay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the fee and limit picture exactly as the card publishes it:

Fee or limit Value Source
Monthly fee 0 Official
Annual fee 0 Official
Micro-transaction fees 0 Official
Cross-border transaction fees 0% Official
Card issuance fee Not stated (FAQ line about “no annual fee in the 0th year” is unclear) Not stated
Crypto conversion fee / spread Not stated Not stated
FX fee Not disclosed (unofficial) Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated officially; physical card only (unofficial) Not stated
Daily limit 100,000 HKD Official
Minimum single transaction 0.1 HKD Official
Monthly limit Not stated Not stated
Card currency Not stated (limits reference HKD) Not stated

Now the honest part. Three of the numbers you would most want are missing, and they are not small. First, the crypto conversion spread is not stated. This is the fee that matters most on a crypto card: when you top up with USDT and spend in a different currency, the exchange rate you receive, plus whatever margin the provider takes, is effectively your cost. The card advertises a 0% cross-border transaction fee, but a 0% card-network fee is not the same as a 0% conversion. Second, the FX fee is not disclosed. Third, the card currency is not stated, so you cannot be sure what you are spending in when you are not spending HKD.

One official FAQ line is worth reading twice because it is genuinely unclear: “no annual fee in the 0th year.” That phrasing neither confirms nor denies a fee in later years. Unofficial reports also describe a virtual card opening fee “as low as 5 USD” (attributed to the official site) and, separately, an app that charged 5 USD in June 2026 despite a free banner. There is also an unofficial claim of an ERC20 deposit surcharge of +5 USDT with no surcharge on Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon or AVAX C-Chain. These are third-party observations, not confirmed by the card.

Two or three everyday payments, and which fees apply. Let me walk through a week so the numbers mean something:

The bottom line on cost: holding the card is nearly free, and spending in your home currency is nearly free. The costs that are unknown are the ones that only appear when you convert or cross currencies — which, for a crypto card, is exactly when most of the spending happens.

Top up: crypto first, with the network as the thing to get right

Topping up is the part PokePay does best. You recharge with cryptocurrencies such as USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH, and it normally credits in about 15 minutes; if it has not arrived after 30 minutes, the advice is to contact support. There is no top-up fee or minimum listed. The named payment platforms are WeChat, PayPal, Alipay and Wise, with SWIFT, SEPA and local clearing listed for overseas accounts; fees for these are “disclosed before a transaction or published on the Website or a Fees Schedule” — but the Terms themselves carry no amounts.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PokePay starts with a transfer to the right network

The one thing the official pages do not tell you is the network. That matters more here than in almost any other card context, because sending on the wrong network is how deposits are genuinely lost. A blockchain transfer is irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support — or to an address belonging to another network — can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Unofficial reports list five supported networks: ERC20, Arbitrum, BNB Chain, Polygon and AVAX C-Chain.

If you want the full picture of why network choice is not a detail, here is the category background. USDT and USDC are the two dominant dollar-pegged stablecoins, together about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation by the BIS in July 2025. USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and equivalents; USDT is built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it one-to-one. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. But networks are not interchangeable: on ERC-20 the gas fee must be paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Sending on a network the card does not list is a mistake you pay for twice.

Two more things to know before you top up. Withdrawal. You can close your account via the website or support only if there are no pending transactions and no amounts owed; remaining funds are returned after AML and CTF checks. PokePay may suspend or freeze an account and its balance without prior notice in listed circumstances. The withdrawal of your balance to crypto or to a bank, and any fee for it, is not stated. Verification before money. You may be asked to verify your identity before top-ups land, which is where mismatched documents or enhanced due diligence can stall a deposit.

My advice, without going further than a review should: check the supported-network list in the app at the moment of each deposit rather than relying on a list you read somewhere else, and send a small test amount first. Both are ordinary prudence, not clever tricks.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, PokePay behaves like a prepaid card. That is the mental model that fits best. A prepaid card draws on a stored balance, while a standard debit card asks your bank to withdraw funds from a linked account at the moment of purchase; many crypto cards behave like the former — crypto is converted and loaded as fiat balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. In practice that means the card never goes negative, and it also means an empty balance is just an empty card.

What works: physical and virtual Visa, and cash withdrawal is mentioned in the card’s own materials as a supported use. There is a single tier, so no level-gating to learn. The app is available on iOS (App Store HK), Android, as an APK, and via web login; the site is in English and Traditional Chinese.

What you should know before you rely on it:

On rewards, the card’s own words are only “generous rewards” with no rate, currency or conditions given. An unofficial report describes 3% cashback on a first purchase as a time-limited banner — treat that as a promotion that may end, not a standing feature. Wallets: the card’s own pages say nothing about support for external wallets beyond the Apple Pay reports above.

So the everyday verdict is mixed: the card is competent in its home market, and shaky in exactly the places people reach for a crypto card — foreign apps, mobile wallets, and merchants that screen card types.

What can go wrong

This is the section where the card’s score drops hardest, and I want to be direct about it rather than reassuring.

The trust stack has a missing name at the bottom. The card’s copyright notice names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., and it lists licences for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario and Poland — but it does not name the issuing bank. Self-declared registrations include FINTRAC (Canada), an Ontario money services business registration, a Poland VASP registration and Hong Kong; the wording varies between the FAQ and the footer, and FINTRAC itself says a registration is not an endorsement. Where there is no named issuer, the question “who is actually behind this card” does not have a clean answer on the public pages.

There is a documented history of blocks. Unofficial reporting describes a suspension wave in the second half of 2025, after which the company said funds would be returned within about 10 business days — single-source and unverified, but consistent with the Terms, which allow PokePay to suspend or freeze an account and its balance without prior notice in listed circumstances. If that pattern is real, the practical risk is not losing money so much as losing access to it on a timeline you do not control.

Support is slow. The most consistent unofficial complaint is slow support response. That is exactly the wrong failure mode when you are chasing a deposit that has not credited, a refund that is late, or an account that has been frozen. The card names an “official customer service” but does not list channels on its home page or state its hours.

Your money is custodial, and that is a defined risk. Card funds are held separately from operating funds but are explicitly “not deposits” and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. The site claims 24/7 monitoring, custody through partner banks, transaction monitoring, AML screening and encryption. Multi-factor authentication is recommended but not required. Custody carries counterparty and hack risk, and the category has a record of it — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

A bad deposit is usually a lost deposit. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send on the wrong network or to another network’s address and the money may be gone or may need manual recovery with no guarantee. The network list is not on the official pages.

A frozen card is a locked card. After repeated wrong CVV or expiry entries, or three wrong PIN entries, the card locks and only customer service can unlock it after verifying you. Lock yourself out at a terminal and the card is dead until support responds — and support is the thing people complain about.

Complaints are thin but pointed. The Trustpilot page that exists is for a possibly different entity, and carries 2.8 out of 5 from only 3 reviews; there is no official PokePay site page. One 1-star review calls the app “fake” and says verification passed without showing the full face. A 3-review sample is far too small to generalise from — but it is also the only public rating of this kind that exists, and one report about face verification passing without a full face is worth taking seriously as a question to ask, not as a settled fact.

Regulatory reorganisation can move under you. Under the EU’s MiCA rules, asset-referenced and e-money token provisions applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024, with a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until a provider is authorised or refused, whichever comes first. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences and is exposed to both. Closures in this category typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Taxes. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. I am not giving tax advice here; I am flagging that a card payment is a disposal event and that your jurisdiction’s treatment is yours to check with a professional.

One more small thing. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and neither, therefore, is a card that spends them.

What to take instead

If any of the above describes you — you are outside Hong Kong, or Apple Pay is non-negotiable, or you need a named issuer and a published FX fee — the category has options that score higher on my scale. Here is how the three closest alternatives compare, alongside PokePay, on the things I care about.

PokePay International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
My score 5.4 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Who it is for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong Not for residents or legal registrants of a long restricted list; restricted purchases in several countries Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; several countries unsupported
Card Physical and virtual Visa; currency not stated U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon”; pays in USD Multicurrency on Mastercard; spends from the UNi.Global balance Visa; virtual/physical and currency not stated
Cost to hold 0 monthly, 0 annual $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee; issuance not stated “No extra fees”; no amounts listed
Fees 0% cross-border; conversion spread not stated USD use free; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” No annual or foreign transaction fee; converted at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Top up USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet
Rewards “Generous rewards” only No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber

Read that table with the trade-offs in mind rather than as a league table. The International Visa Card is the only one of the four that publishes its FX fee outright — a flat 2% on foreign currency — which makes your cost knowable in advance, something PokePay cannot offer you. Its price is higher to hold (a $5 issuance, and paid plans up to $19.00/month if you want them), it is virtual only for now, and it is unavailable to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with purchases blocked in several of those. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship.

The UNi Card is the most transparent on exchange costs of the three: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees,” and up to 3% back. It is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global balance. What it does not tell you is who can open one or how you fund it — both listed as not stated — so you would be going in on trust.

The Whop Cards option is aimed at a US audience: consumers in 31 named US states, businesses in 41, with several countries unsupported including Hong Kong. It is a Visa working anywhere Visa is accepted, spends from a Whop balance that is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber. Neither conversion fees nor FX fees are stated, so the same visibility problem PokePay has applies here too.

The pattern across all four is worth naming: every card in this category that publishes its FX fee makes your life easier, and every card that hides it makes you guess. PokePay is in the second group, which is the core of why it sits at 5.4 rather than higher despite excellent headline costs.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the PokePay card to a Hong Kong resident, living in Hong Kong, who already holds USDT and wants to spend it without a monthly or annual charge and without a cross-border transaction fee on top. For that person the value is real: you load stablecoins, you get a Visa, you pay 0% to move between currencies at the network level, and the 100,000 HKD daily limit with a 0.1 HKD minimum is enough for ordinary life. If your money moves in USDT or USDC and you are comfortable treating the card as a prepaid balance, the economics are among the better ones available.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true, and I say this without hedging:

If you are in the first group, PokePay is a reasonable, low-cost tool and this review should reassure you. If you are anywhere else, the alternatives above — or simply a card whose issuer and fees are published — will serve you better. The score is 5.4 out of 10, and that number is not a punishment; it is what a good cost structure wrapped in a narrow audience and a blemished reliability record actually looks like.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PokePay card?

The PokePay card is a Visa, offered in both physical and virtual form, that you fund with cryptocurrency — USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH — and then spend like an ordinary payment card. It behaves most like a prepaid card: your crypto is converted into a fiat balance, and the card draws down only that balance, so it cannot go negative. The card’s own site says it is intended for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong.

Is PokePay a bank?

No — not by the account it describes. The copyright notice names PokePay Technology Co., Ltd., and the site lists licences and registrations for Hong Kong, the United States, Canada, Ontario and Poland, but it does not name an issuing bank. Card funds are held separately from operating funds, are explicitly “not deposits,” and are not insured by CDIC or any deposit insurance scheme. It is a card programme and wallet, not a bank you hold a deposit at.

Who owns PokePay?

The public pages name PokePay Technology Co., Ltd. in the copyright notice. Beyond that company name, the ownership structure is not detailed, and the issuing bank behind the Visa programme is not named at all. The licences the site lists are self-declared — including FINTRAC registration in Canada — and FINTRAC itself states that a registration is not an endorsement of the company.

Who can get the PokePay card?

The site’s stated position is that its content is only for Hong Kong residents living in Hong Kong. Unofficial reports say the United States is restricted and that the service claims availability in “most countries,” with one German-language version also listing China as blocked, but none of that overrides the site’s own notice. Treat Hong Kong residency as the rule, and note that nationality and country of birth are screened separately from residence.

How do I get and activate the PokePay card?

You register in the app or on the web, verify your email, then complete identity verification before you can use any services — the data you enter must exactly match your uploaded documents, and your passport name is the source of truth. KYC certification is required. A virtual card is available in the app; a physical card takes about 10–30 working days depending on country or region and may take longer.

What are the PokePay card’s fees and limits?

The card states zero monthly fees, zero annual fees, no micro-transaction fees, and 0% cross-border transaction fees, in a single tier. The daily limit is 100,000 HKD and the minimum single transaction is 0.1 HKD. Not stated on the public pages: the card issuance fee, the crypto conversion spread, the FX fee, the ATM withdrawal fee, the monthly limit and the card currency.

Can I top up the PokePay card with crypto?

Yes — that is the card’s main strength. You recharge with USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH, and it normally credits in about 15 minutes; contact support if it has not arrived after 30 minutes. No top-up fee or minimum is listed. The official pages do not publish the supported networks, so check the list in the app at the time of each deposit, and send a small test amount first because blockchain transfers are irreversible.

Is the PokePay card safe to use?

It uses standard industry safeguards — 24/7 monitoring, custody through partner banks, transaction monitoring, AML screening and encryption, and the card locks after repeated wrong CVV or expiry entries or three wrong PIN attempts. But the balance is custodial and not deposit-insured, the issuing bank is not named, and there are unofficial reports of a suspension wave in the second half of 2025 and of slow support. Treat it as a spending tool, not as a place to hold large balances.

Can I add the PokePay card to Apple Wallet?

Probably not, based on what users report. Several accounts describe adding the card to Apple Wallet returning “this card is not supported,” and Steam is also reported as not working. These are unofficial reports rather than an official statement, but they are consistent enough that if mobile wallets are essential to how you pay, choose a card that lists wallet support.

Is the PokePay card worth it?

For a Hong Kong resident who already holds USDT and wants to spend it with no monthly or annual charge and no cross-border transaction fee, yes — the running cost is close to zero and that is hard to beat. For everyone else, the missing details are the deciding factor: no named issuer, no published FX fee or conversion spread, no stated card currency, and a support record that is the most common complaint. Compare it against the alternatives above before you commit.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team