The Ledger Cl card in practice: what it costs, what can go wrong

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Ledger Cl is one of the more interesting attempts to turn a crypto holding into something you can spend without thinking about it. A free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, cash withdrawals worldwide, and a percentage of your spend paid back in BTC or a dollar stablecoin — on paper that is a normal debit card with a crypto top-up. In use it is more specific than that, and the specifics matter: it runs through a licensed e-money issuer rather than a bank, the money sits with that issuer rather than with you, and the fee information that the card actually publishes is older than the pages that describe the product. My score is 5.9 out of 10, and most of the reason for it sits in the reliability column rather than in the feature list.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Ledger Cl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.

What the score is made of

Before anything else, here is the whole score in one place, so you can see where the mark comes from and disagree with the parts you care about most. A card that is excellent for one group of people can be poor for another, and the marks below are my judgement, not a measurement.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico and Brazil
Cost 5 / 10 Officially (2023 document): issue €0, servicing €0, currency payment 0%, ATM €3.00 plus 1.5%; unofficial: 1.75% conversion and a 2% spend fee appear on one page and contradict each other
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and other coins from a Ledger wallet; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuers UAB Monavate and Monavate Ltd are named; complaints about freezes, blocked funds, and checks lasting 60+ days; an unconfirmed claim about Baanx/Monavate insolvency
Everyday use 8 / 10 Free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs worldwide; unofficial: a physical Visa also exists
Total 5.9 / 10 A good daily card wrapped around a custodial balance, with a thin and contradictory fee picture

Who this suits, in one sentence: you already hold crypto, you already use a Ledger device or app, and you want a card that spends from that balance in shops without a monthly bill. Who it does not suit: anyone whose priority is a bank-grade deposit guarantee, anyone who needs to be certain what a payment costs before they make it, and anyone living outside the listed regions.

Will they give you the card

The availability statement on the card’s own pages is plain: “Currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil.” That is a wide list, and it is the first thing to check against your own address. But it is a list of places, not a statement of who qualifies in them. Two questions are left open, and they are the two that catch people out: whether the card follows your citizenship or your residence, and how Russia and Belarus are treated. The card’s public pages do not say. If either of those points matters to you, that is not a detail to assume — it is the first thing to ask support before you send any documents.

The reason this question carries more weight than it usually does is that identity checking happens before you get anything. The terms say the issuer verifies identity before issuing the card or opening the e-wallet. What the terms do not set out, at least in the public text, is the level of verification required, which documents count, how long it takes, or on what grounds a request is refused. So the honest summary is: yes, there is a check; no, you cannot read the details of it before you start.

One more thing to know about who gets the card in the United States: the US pages mention a Visa debit, which is a different instrument from the virtual card most of the marketing talks about. If you are in the US, the card you are signing up for may not be the card the general description describes.

How to get it

The card is a free virtual card. That is the headline product: no issuance fee, no metal, no plastic in the post. The product page describes the virtual form only, and does not describe what the physical card looks like, whether it exists in every market, or what currency it is denominated in. A third-party card comparison site does list a physical Visa, and a separate source says the same, but that is not confirmed by the card’s own pages — treat it as something to ask about rather than something to plan around.

On delivery, the card’s public material is thin in a way that is worth noticing. The fee document does give a small set of numbers: issuing a debit card €0.00, replacing a debit card €5.00, cancelling a card €3.50. If you are planning around a replacement card, that is the figure to note. But the document is a 2023 fee sheet, its text layout makes it ambiguous which figure attaches to which line, and the product page does not describe delivery at all. So the honest answer to “how long does it take” is that the card’s public pages do not say.

The verification step itself: the terms require the issuer to verify your identity before the card is issued or the e-wallet is opened. What that involves in practice, according to a third-party comparison site, is an email address, a phone number and an identity document — and, according to that same site, no proof of address and no selfie. That is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. It is also the kind of thing that changes without notice, because verification requirements are set by the issuer and its compliance obligations rather than by the card’s marketing.

If you get stuck, the support contacts that appear in the terms are the issuer’s support email and the Ledger Help Center’s CL Card FAQ pages. I would use those for the questions above — eligibility, delivery, and what verification actually requires — rather than assuming.

Fees and what a payment actually costs

This is the section I would read twice, because the card’s fee information is not in one place and the pieces do not agree. The card’s own pages list no amounts at all: the fees live in legal documents — the Platform Fees, the Fee Information Document, and US Customer Fees. The figures below come from the EU fee document issued by UAB Monavate and dated 3 November 2023, which is the most concrete published source, plus third-party reporting that is flagged as unofficial. The 2023 date matters: these are the numbers on the table, not a guarantee that they are today’s numbers.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ledger Cl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the published material says
Monthly maintenance €0.00
Card payment in pounds €0.00
Card payment in a foreign currency €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value
Replacement card €5.00
Card cancellation €3.50
Cash withdrawal, euro or domestic €2.50 per withdrawal
Cash withdrawal in a foreign currency €3.00 plus 1.5% of the transaction value
ATM balance enquiry €0.35
Conversion Crypto is converted to fiat at the time of purchase; the fee for that conversion is not stated in the published documents
Spending limit Not stated in the terms; limits on loading and on payments may be set by the issuer from time to time, amounts not given
ATM allowance Not stated; third-party source says the ATM withdrawal limit is $2,000

Three everyday payments, so the table becomes something you can picture:

Where the unofficial numbers come in: a third-party comparison site reports a free monthly fee and free card issuance — consistent with the official EU document’s €0.00 and €0.00 — and also reports a free foreign-exchange fee and a free top-up fee, but the same page’s own “cons” section cites “1.75% conversion + 2% spend fee”. Two parts of one unofficial page contradict each other. Reddit commenters in the Ledger wallet community also mention a 2% spending fee, undated. I cannot reconcile these figures from the card’s public pages, and I am not going to pick one and pretend it is settled. If a conversion fee or a spend fee will decide whether this card works for you, that is a question for support with a number in writing, not a question for a review.

One structural note on tiers: this is a single product, the CL Card. There are no paid tiers, so there is no upgrade to buy and nothing to compare yourself against later.

How to Top up the card

Topping up is the part that is most clearly designed. You fund the card from a Ledger signer through the Ledger Wallet app, and the supported assets named are BTC, ETH, SOL, stablecoins and more. What the product page does not name is the networks — so while the coin list is given, the chain you send on is not stated there. That gap is more consequential than it looks. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome. So the practical instruction is the same in every crypto card: confirm the network inside the app before you send, and treat a wrong network as money potentially gone.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ledger Cl starts with a transfer to the right network

On the cost of funding, the product page states no top-up fee and no minimum. The EU fee document issued by UAB Monavate on 3 November 2023 lists no load fee for the cards. Third-party reporting also says the top-up fee is free. What none of these cover is the on-chain network cost of your own deposit — gas on Ethereum, resources on Tron — which is charged by the blockchain, not by the card, and which depends on the network you pick. The card’s own marketing also mentions credit lines with rates “starting at 0%” depending on country; that is a separate product layer from funding with your own coins, and I would want to see what a given country’s actual rate is before treating it as free.

Getting money back out is worth reading, because it is more regulated-feeling than the rest. Under the UK issuer’s terms, funds can be withdrawn from the e-wallet through the personal login area, minus any pending transactions, and a fee may apply — the terms point you to the legal pages for the current figure. Withdrawing everything does not close the account. Closing it needs one month’s written notice and payment of the relevant fees. After closure, funds can be redeemed for up to six years; and if funds remain twelve months after the agreement ends, a maintenance fee begins to be deducted. Those are the details that matter if you stop using the card: the money does not evaporate when you close, but it sits in a process, and leaving it there costs you.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is the strongest part of this card, and it is why it scores 8 out of 10 for daily use. You get a free virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and cash withdrawals at ATMs worldwide. Which merchants are blocked is not stated — and that is worth noting, because in this category some issuers block whole categories by policy. A merchant category code is a four-digit classification assigned to a business, and gambling (MCC 7995) is the classic example of a category that issuers restrict on specific cards. If a category of spending matters to you, ask. The unofficial third-party listing also shows a physical Visa, which if real would change the practical feel of the card, but the card’s own pages describe only the free virtual card.

The rewards are simple and worth understanding precisely, because the detail is easy to misread: 1% rewards, paid in BTC or USDC in the US and BTC or USDT elsewhere, calculated monthly on total card spend. Note that this is a percentage of card spend, not of top-ups, and that the reward arrives in a token rather than in the currency you spend.

The app is where the card lives: the Card section of the Ledger Wallet app, on iOS and Android. One third-party snapshot of that app’s App Store listing, updated 10 July 2026 for the Brazil storefront, shows a 4.9 average across 564 reviews — but that is the Ledger Wallet app’s rating, not a rating for the CL Card, and the storefront matters. Treat it as a signal about the wallet app, not about this product.

If something goes wrong with a payment, the terms are clear about the refund mechanism. For unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, the issuer refunds the transaction amount including fees on request. Two exceptions: no refund if you acted fraudulently or with gross negligence, and none if the transaction is not reported within one month of it happening. That one-month window is the detail to note. Complaints go to the issuer’s support email. What the terms do not set out is the card-network chargeback procedure and its time frames — so the “report within a month” rule above is the part I would hold on to, because it is the only deadline in writing.

What can go wrong

This is where the card loses most of its marks, and it is the section I would not skip.

First, the structure. The card is provided by Baanx and designed for Ledger (Ledger SAS), but the money is held by the issuer: UAB Monavate (Lithuania) for EU customers, Monavate Ltd (England) for the UK, and Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, for the US Visa debit. That means the balance is custodial — the e-wallet is held by Monavate — and you are trusting an e-money institution rather than holding your own keys. A Ledger signer is not required, though it is recommended, which tells you something about what the product is for but not about where the balance lives. The terms are explicit that funds are not protected by the UK FSCS; they are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011. Safeguarded is not the same as insured, and if that distinction matters to you, it should be read as a reason to keep only what you can afford to have tied up.

Second, the complaints, which are the reason reliability scores 3 out of 10. On Trustpilot, CL Card sits at roughly 3.5 to 3.8 out of 5 across 247 to 256 reviews, with the company replying to roughly 41 to 69% of negative reviews and replying slowly — one review describes replies every four to six days. Recurring themes in those reviews and elsewhere: card declines, frozen or unreturned balances dating from 2023 and later, compliance reviews lasting “up to 60+ days”, ID verification failures, support passing people between Ledger and Baanx, and phishing emails impersonating the card. On the Baanx page there is a 1-star review (2.5 out of 5 from six reviews) reporting that a Ledger device purchase was declined twice. Reddit commenters in r/ledgerwallet note that Baanx can block the card account and the balance, and mention a 2% spending fee. I found no official incidents, and I want to be fair about that: these are user reports on third-party platforms, not findings. But they are consistent enough, and repeated enough, that I would plan around them rather than dismiss them. Also worth stating plainly: an unverified aggregator claim of Baanx/Monavate insolvency in 2026 was not confirmed by a second source, and I would not repeat it as fact — but it illustrates how quickly a provider’s condition becomes the thing you are reading about.

Third, a mechanism worth understanding because it is not the card’s fault and still bites people. Card numbers begin with an issuer identification number, and merchants can look it up to see which institution and country issued the card. If the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address, some merchants apply extra scrutiny. That is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and why declines happen at counters that have nothing to do with you. Related: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7.

Fourth, the things the card does not tell you. Freeze in the app, two-factor authentication and spending controls: not stated. Typical safeguards in this category include app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets, and the terms do say you must report a lost or stolen card immediately to block it — but the self-service controls are not described in the public material. If having an instant freeze button matters to you, ask whether one exists before you rely on it.

Finally, the regulatory picture, briefly, because it explains the freezes. EU rules require institutions to complete customer due diligence — name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person determination. If that due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end the relationship. That is precisely why accounts get frozen pending documents. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, which is why a citizenship question can matter even where a country appears on the availability list. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side; a crypto card often depends on two licences.

What to take instead

If the Ledger ecosystem itself is not the reason you are here, these are the three I would look at next, with their own scores for comparison. I am not ranking them for you — the right choice depends on which of the two problems matters more to you, holding your own key or living somewhere this card does not.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10. The highest-scoring of the group, and structurally the most different. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories, with other regions on a waitlist, and proof of residency required; the pages say ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending. The card is Mastercard, a virtual card issued first and instantly, with a metal one you can pre-order after approval, one per user, issued by Monavate with Crypto Life as card provider. Virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; the metal one is $199 a year. Fees are described as a minimal fee per transaction with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, though the amount itself is not stated on the pages I read. It spends directly from the connected wallet rather than a preloaded balance, on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named. Cashback goes into an mUSD Money Account: 1% on Virtual, and on Metal a headline 3% with a footnote limiting 3% to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after. US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per the FAQ when the pages were read.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. The most explicit about who it serves, because it is explicit about who it does not: residence is checked at KYC, a restricted-regions list exists without countries being named, and living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible. Up to ten cards per user, Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal or gold, account balance in USD with stablecoins converted 1:1 at a 0% spread. The price is where it separates: Standard at 0 USD, Premium at 1,000 USD a year, Private at 10,000 USD a year, all billed annually upfront, plus a 2 USD extra virtual card and a 40 USD delivery fee on a Standard physical card. Fees are unusually transparent — stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0% — with a 0.5% to 1.75% foreign-exchange fee depending on your residence, the transaction country and the card programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Cashback is tiered by how much you actually spend: 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month, 2% on the first 10,000, 3% on the first 40,000. It is not a credit product — each purchase comes straight out of your balance.

TokenPocket — 5.8 / 10. Visa debit for a list of European countries and territories including Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland; Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK; the Americas described as planned. A Mastercard/Visa debit running on Arbitrum, with virtual cards and balances in EUR24 and USD24. There is an NFT creation fee partly covered by TokenPocket where the user pays a small portion, and beyond that the card’s own claim is that it charges no additional fees — but a 1% fee is charged on depositing cryptocurrency into the card, to be refunded later via rewards or reduced transaction fees. No cashback figure is stated. It scores lowest here mainly because the fee structure is a promise plus a percentage rather than a table.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, in order of how confidently I would say it.

If you hold crypto already and use Ledger daily, and you want to spend it the way you spend a bank balance. You know what you own, you are used to the signer, and the cost of this route is competitive with the alternatives on the published numbers. The 1% back in BTC or a stablecoin is a real, if modest, return on ordinary spending.

If you are in one of the listed regions and the alternative is a card you do not have. The availability list is broad, the virtual card is free, and Apple Pay and Google Pay mean you are not carrying anything unusual.

Not if any of these are true. You need your balance protected by a deposit guarantee scheme — the terms say it is not. You are outside the listed regions, or your citizenship status is unclear to you and you would rather not find out mid-verification. You are sensitive to freezes, because the complaint pattern for this product includes frozen balances and compliance reviews running 60 days or more. Or you want to know exactly what a payment costs before you make it, because the card’s own public pages do not give you a conversion fee and the unofficial numbers contradict each other.

I would also say plainly that this is a card to fund in small amounts. Not as advice, but as a description of the risk: the balance is custodial, the provider’s name appears in a long list of user complaints about freezes, and the fee picture is a 2023 document plus a contradiction. Sizing your exposure to that is your decision, not mine.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Ledger Cl card?

It is a payment card built by Ledger, the maker of the hardware wallet devices, and provided by Baanx. It spends a balance you fund from crypto, converted to fiat at the moment of purchase. The product described publicly is a free virtual card with Apple Pay and Google Pay support, and a percentage of card spend paid back in BTC or a stablecoin.

Is the Ledger Cl card a bank account?

No. It is issued through licensed payment institutions — UAB Monavate in Lithuania, Monavate Ltd in England, Cross River Bank in the US — rather than being a bank account you hold directly. The balance sits in an e-wallet held by the issuer, and the terms say those funds are not protected by the UK FSCS, though they are safeguarded under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011.

Who owns the Ledger Cl card?

Ledger designed it; Baanx provides it; Ledger SAS is the company behind the Ledger brand. The card programme itself belongs to the issuers listed above. That division of roles matters, because the entity holding your money is the issuer, not the brand whose app you use.

Does the Ledger Cl card require KYC?

Yes. The terms require the issuer to verify identity before the card is issued or the e-wallet is opened. A third-party site describes this as email, phone and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie — that is unofficial and not confirmed by the card, and verification requirements can change.

Where can I use it?

Anywhere cards are accepted, subject to merchant policy, and at ATMs worldwide. Cash withdrawals at ATMs are explicitly supported. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated on the card’s public pages, so if a category matters to you, ask before you rely on it.

How much does the Ledger Cl card cost?

On the published EU fee document dated 3 November 2023: monthly maintenance €0.00, card payment in pounds €0.00, foreign-currency card payment €0.00 plus 0% of the transaction value, replacement card €5.00, card cancellation €3.50. Cash withdrawal is €2.50 domestically and €3.00 plus 1.5% abroad. The crypto conversion fee is not stated.

Are there limits on how much I can spend or withdraw?

The terms say the issuer may set limits on loading the e-wallet and on payments from time to time, without publishing the amounts. A third-party source lists a daily spend of $15,000, no monthly spend limit and an ATM withdrawal limit of $2,000, but those figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

How do I add it to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, so the card is added through the wallet app from the card details in the Ledger Wallet app’s Card section. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code.

How do I withdraw money and close the account?

Under the UK issuer’s terms you withdraw from the e-wallet via the personal login area, minus pending transactions, and a fee may apply. Withdrawing everything does not close the account; closing requires one month’s written notice and payment of the relevant fees. After closure funds can be redeemed for up to six years, and a maintenance fee starts after twelve months.

Is it safe, and is it worth it?

Safe in the ordinary sense, with the structure understood: your balance is custodial, so you are trusting the issuer, and complaints about this card include frozen balances and compliance reviews running 60 days or more. Worth it if you already hold crypto and want a simple card for daily spending — not worth it if your priority is a deposit guarantee or knowing a payment’s exact cost in advance.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team