The prepaid Visa that only opens its doors in three countries
The Pyypl card is a prepaid Visa that you load with money and spend like an ordinary bank card — and it comes with a catch that decides the whole question for most people: Pyypl only issues it to residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. Everything else about it — the free monthly fee, the Apple Pay and Google Pay support, the app-only digital card — only matters if you live in one of those three places. My score for it is 5.0 out of 10, and that is not a mark of a bad product. It is the mark of a narrow product that does a few things clearly and refuses a lot of people at the door.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
If you are reading this because you want a normal-looking Visa to pay with, and you live in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, then the rest of this page is for you: I go through who approves you, what each payment will actually cost you, how to load the card, and the specific complaints that users have filed in the last couple of years. If you live anywhere else, this card is not available to you and no amount of reading will change that — the “instead” section near the end is where you want to start instead.
My score for the Pyypl card, line by line
Before the details, here is how I broke the card down. Each line is scored out of 10, and the reasons are mine, not the card’s marketing.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Services are for residents of the countries where Pyypl is licensed: UAE, Bahrain, Kazakhstan. Everyone else is out. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | “No monthly fees”, but the issuance fee is not disclosed, a conversion fee “may apply” by country, and the amounts sit only in the app. Unofficial: ATMs worldwide. |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | The card says “supported methods in your country” and does not name them. Binance Pay is not confirmed. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Pyypl Ltd is licensed (FSRA No. 170031 in ADGM, plus the Central Bank of Bahrain and AFSA in Kazakhstan), but users report frozen funds and blocks; Trustpilot 2.8 out of 5 from 828 reviews. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Prepaid Visa, digital card in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported. No plastic card mentioned. |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A clean, cheap card for a narrow set of residents, with a thin top-up story and a real pile of complaints. |
So who does this suit? Residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan who want a prepaid Visa for everyday spending, and who are content to hold their balance with an e-money provider rather than a bank. Who does it not suit? Anyone outside those three countries. Anyone who needs a physical plastic card, a metal card, or a card that works reliably at every foreign terminal. And anyone whose main worry is the safety of a balance they cannot withdraw — because this is custodial money, not a bank deposit.
Will they give you the card?
The answer is short and probably disappointing if you are not in the right place: only residents of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, on the legal page’s own wording.
The legal page says “Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed”, and names those three. That is a narrower statement than you may have seen elsewhere. One of Pyypl’s own documents describes the market as “Middle East, Africa, Central Asia”, which reads much wider. Where those two descriptions disagree, I go with the legal page, and you should too. The support centre adds that services “vary” by location without committing to which country gets what.
The rule is based on residence, not citizenship. That distinction matters in both directions: a citizen of one of these countries living in Frankfurt is not covered, and a resident of one of these countries holding another passport is. If you are not sure where you count as resident — for instance, on a work visa, or split between two countries — that is a genuine ambiguity in the card’s own material, and the only honest answer is to ask Pyypl directly before you send documents anywhere.
What I would check first, before anything else:
- Whether your country of residence is one of the three named.
- Whether you can show a valid ID document and a valid mobile number on a smartphone (see the signup section).
- Whether your reason for holding a card is one the provider will accept — the card states a verification level, and the level affects your limits.
How to get it
The signup story is one of the short ones, and that is genuinely to Pyypl’s credit. The card says you can open your account in minutes using just your phone and your ID.
What that means concretely:
- A smartphone.
- A valid mobile number.
- A valid identity document.
- A selfie.
There is a minimum age, but the card does not state the figure. Proof of address is not mentioned on the operator’s pages.
So: yes, KYC is required. This is not an anonymous card and it is not trying to be. Every regulated financial service runs identity checks, and a prepaid e-money wallet is no exception. If a card that skips verification is what you are after, that is a different product with different risks, and this is not it.
Two things about the process that the card mentions and that you should not be surprised by:
- Verification is a level, not a checkbox. Features unlock after verification, and your “verification level” affects your limits. The tiers themselves are not named, so do not expect to find a table of them.
- Rejection and delay are both possible without much warning. The card warns that processing “may take sometime if additional checks are required”, and it does not list the reasons an application can be refused. If you are in a hurry to have money available, apply earlier than you need to.
What you end up with is a prepaid Visa, delivered digitally inside the app. The card currency is US dollars. No physical card is mentioned on the pages I read, and the card does not state a delivery time for one — as far as the public pages go, there is no plastic. If you want a card that goes through a letterbox, this is not it; if you are happy to add it to your phone’s wallet, it is.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The headline is good and it is accurate: “No monthly fees.” There is no subscription to pay and nothing to cancel at the year end. That is the friendliest thing about this card.

The catch is that the friendly part is the part that gets published. Everything that varies by country is held back for the app. Let me lay out what is stated and what is not, because the gaps are the point here:
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | “No monthly fees” |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Card / replacement card / inactivity fees | May apply by country and product; amounts only in the app under Profile > Fees |
| Foreign-currency conversion | Foreign-currency payments are converted to the USD card base at transaction time; an international or FX fee or markup “may apply” by country; amounts not published |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawals | Not stated on official pages. Unofficial (a third-party listing, undated): withdrawals worldwide — the same listing says “Mastercard”, which conflicts with the Visa the card states |
| Top-up limit | Limits exist; figures only in the app |
| Per-transaction limit | Limits exist; figures only in the app |
| Daily / monthly / yearly spend limits | Exist; depend on country, verification level and regulation; figures only in the app |
| Send / withdraw limits | Exist; depend on country and product; figures only in the app |
That is not an unusual shape for a fintech’s fee page, but it does mean you cannot learn what this card costs from its website. You learn it in the app, per country. Read the Fees section in the app before you commit, not after.
The card currency is US dollars and — this is stated plainly — it “cannot be changed”. Other currencies are converted at the moment of the transaction. So if you are paid in euros or dirhams and you want to hold that currency, you cannot; you spend dollars and let the conversion happen on your behalf.
Now, three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each:
Buying coffee in your own country. You are paying in US dollars, in a country where you hold a balance denominated in US dollars. The FX fee does not apply. If your card currency matches the transaction currency, the only thing that could touch you is whatever your top-up method charged.
Paying for something online priced in euros. The shop charges you in euros; the card converts it to the US dollar base at transaction time. This is where the international or FX fee or markup “may apply” by country — the amount is not published. This is the single most useful thing to check in the app before you start spending abroad, because it is the fee you will meet most often.
Converting crypto into the balance you spend. A conversion fee exists somewhere in this chain, but the card does not state it. If you are topping up with crypto rather than fiat, the conversion rate and any spread are part of your cost, and they are the parts the public pages leave quiet.
Also worth knowing about limits: they are not one number. They vary by country, by your verification level and by regulation, and Pyypl points to Profile and Settings in the app for the figures that apply to you. A prepaid card with limits is doing what it is designed to do — it cannot overdraw, so it cannot take money you do not have — but the surprise version of a limit is being refused at a till.
How to Top up the Pyypl card
Topping up is where this card is weakest in my scoring, and I want to be straight about why. The card names no top-up methods at all. It says the app has a Top-up feature and refers to “supported methods in your country”, which is a phrase that tells you nothing until you are inside the app, logged in, holding the right ID.

Binance Pay is not mentioned in the current material. An earlier check of the card recorded Binance Pay with USDT converted to USD — so if you have seen that mentioned, it may have been true at some point, but the card does not confirm it now and I am not going to present it as current. Assume you have to see the list yourself.
On timing and cost:
- Some methods are instant; others “may take 1-3 business days”.
- Fees and minimums for top-ups are not stated.
That last point has a practical consequence. If you are planning to move money in on a weekend or before a trip, a method that takes one to three business days is not a backup, it is a delay you have to plan around. And because you cannot see the method list, the right order of operations is: open the account, look at the Top-up screen, and only then transfer anything.
Before you send crypto anywhere, check the network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or may need manual support recovery with no guarantee. That is a general property of crypto transfers, not a quirk of this card, but it is the mistake that turns a cheap card into an expensive lesson.
On the other side of the ledger: send and withdraw fees and limits depend on country and product, and crypto withdrawal is not stated at all. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is also not stated. Those are the questions to put in writing to the support centre *before* you ever close anything — because once an account is closed, “ask us what your leftover balance does” is a much harder conversation than “what is your policy on leftover balances”.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is the card’s best category, and for a specific audience it is a comfortable card to live with.
- Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. The card says plainly: “Add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”. You add it once and then pay by phone or watch, which is the main practical difference from a physical card anyway.
- It is a Visa, so it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted — online and in stores. There is one tier: a single prepaid card, with features that vary by market.
- Apps exist for both Android and iPhone. I could not read the store ratings on 21 October 2026, so I will not characterise user sentiment from the app listings.
Two things the card does not tell you, and you will want to know them:
- Blocked categories are not stated. Some issuers block specific merchant categories on particular cards by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. Gambling is the category people most often ask about. Pyypl does not publish a block list, so I cannot tell you what is switched off.
- Rewards are not stated. No cashback is offered. If cashback is part of why you want a crypto-linked card, this card does not offer it.
- Dispute handling is not stated for card payments. There is a gift-card refund article, and the Terms refer you to product-specific terms, but there is no published chargeback or dispute process for the card itself.
That last one deserves a moment’s thought. When you pay with a card, you normally have a route when things go wrong — you contact your card issuer, they investigate, they can order a refund. Before you rely on that here, find out what Pyypl’s process actually is, in writing, while your account is healthy. I would rather you read that in the Terms now than discover its absence later.
What can go wrong
This is the section where I am least comfortable, and I would rather say so than round the edges off.
First, what I found that is reassuring. No official incidents came up in my search of the company’s own material. That is not nothing — it means I am not writing this on the basis of a regulator’s enforcement notice or a documented collapse.
Second, the company, which is a genuine point in its favour. Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market (registration number 000001116) and holds an FSRA licence, No. 170031, “for providing money services”. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and by the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan. That is a real multi-jurisdiction footprint in the three countries it serves, and it is more than most cards in this category can show.
Third, and importantly: Pyypl says “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” Read that sentence twice. Your money sits with an electronic money institution, not with a bank. Under EU rules, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The Pyypl pages do not describe a safeguarding arrangement at all. What they do describe is a custodial prepaid e-money wallet with freeze and unfreeze in the app, spend notifications, PCI DSS compliance, encryption and 24/7 fraud monitoring.
Fourth, the complaints — which are the real story. On Trustpilot, read 21 October 2026: a TrustScore of 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews (11 of those in the last 12 months). Five stars from 46% of reviewers, one star from 39%. The count moves slightly between sources — I saw 821 to 828 — which tells you how active the page is, not that the score is soft.
What the reviews describe, in user reports from 2024 through 2026:
- Funds frozen or not returned — including a January 2026 report.
- Refunds unprocessed for three months or more.
- Accounts blocked after verification was removed.
- Slow or unresponsive support.
- A recurring theme of “not available in my region” and app removal, dating from 2025.
Now the honest calibration. A 2.5 on a review site is genuinely bad, and the themes — frozen money, an unreachable support desk — are the themes that should make any person with a balance on a prepaid card pause. At the same time, review platforms skew negative, and I want to separate two different claims: “Pyypl is badly run” is not something I can show you, and “people on Pyypl have reported frozen funds and slow support” is something I can show you, with dates. The second is the reason for the 5 out of 10 in the reliability row.
One more piece of context, because it cuts across the whole category rather than this card alone. Crypto card programmes do close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, and all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes were closed. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. When programmes end, the pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. That is a tail risk that applies to any card in this category, and it is a reason to keep only what you can afford to lose sitting on one.
A related detail that catches people out in normal use: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven. So “it did not go through” does not always mean “the money is still available”.
What to take instead
I want to be useful here rather than loyal, so let me put the card next to three alternatives and let the shape of each speak.
An international Visa card (my score for it: 6.7 / 10). This one draws a hard line on who it serves, and the line is long. The account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note the basis: residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned.
On the card itself: a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical card listed as “Coming soon”. Issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee, and the paid tiers are Pro at $9.00/month and Max at $19.00/month, with Classic free. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency costs “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, as well as USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated.
That is a card with a *stated* fee schedule — which, after Pyypl’s “figures only in the app”, is itself worth something.
UNi Card (6.1 / 10). A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. The selling point is the absence of the fee you are most likely to meet: “No annual fee”, “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at “live OTC rates” with “No hidden exchange fees”. Rewards are “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3% with the card. What I could not establish: eligibility, whether it is physical or virtual, and how you fund it.
Whop Cards (5.2 / 10). A Visa that works anywhere Visa is accepted, spending from a Whop balance — a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. Starting data is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, though the coins and networks are not stated. The page says “No extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, and gives no conversion or FX figures. Rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned. Eligibility is the most interesting part: consumers in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and businesses in 41 states; consumer accounts are not available in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated.
A quick way to hold all four against each other:
| Pyypl | International Visa | UNi | Whop | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 5.0 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Visa | Mastercard | Visa |
| Form | Digital, prepaid | Virtual, Platinum | Not stated | Not stated |
| Card currency | USD, fixed | USD | Multicurrency | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | None | None (paid tiers exist) | No annual fee | “No extra fees”, figures not listed |
| FX fee | May apply, amount not published | Visa rate + 2% | None stated | Not stated |
| Who is excluded | Anyone outside UAE, Bahrain, Kazakhstan | A long list of countries by residence or registration | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers; a list of unsupported countries |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants |
Who I would recommend it to
If you live in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, hold a valid ID and a mobile number, and you want a prepaid Visa for day-to-day spending with no monthly charge and no plastic to lose — then yes, this card is reasonable, and adding it to Apple Pay or Google Pay makes it feel like an ordinary card from the first payment.
I would hold back for a specific set of people:
- Anyone outside the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan. Not “probably”. No.
- Anyone who needs a physical card. Only a digital one is described.
- Anyone who needs to know what a payment costs before they make it. Pyypl’s fee amounts live in the app, per country. If a published fee schedule is a requirement rather than a preference, this fails.
- Anyone whose balance is money they cannot afford to be stuck without. It is custodial, it is not a bank deposit, and the review themes include frozen funds. If you have read those reviews and still want in, that is your call — but make it with open eyes.
- Anyone spending heavily abroad. Foreign-currency payments are where the unpublished FX fee lives, and this card’s whole selling point is domestic convenience.
- Anyone who wants cashback or rewards. None is stated.
And a note for everyone reading this from somewhere else: if the country line stopped you, stop here rather than hunting for a workaround. Residence rules are the card’s own legal boundary, and there is no version of this review where that changes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pyypl card?
A prepaid Visa that spends from a balance you load yourself, issued digitally through the Pyypl app and denominated in US dollars. It is not a bank account and Pyypl states plainly that balances are not deposits. Because it is prepaid, it cannot overdraw: once the balance is gone, there is nothing further to spend until you top up again.
Is Pyypl a bank?
No. Pyypl says so itself: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” Pyypl Ltd is licensed as a financial services provider by the Abu Dhabi Global Market regulator under FSRA Licence No. 170031, and is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority. That is a licensed e-money operation, not a bank.
Who can get a Pyypl card?
Residents of the countries where Pyypl is licensed — the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The test is residence, not citizenship. The card’s own documents describe the market more broadly as “Middle East, Africa, Central Asia”, but where that conflicts with the legal page, the legal page is the one to trust.
Does the Pyypl card require KYC?
Yes. You need a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid ID document and a selfie. There is a minimum age but the figure is not published. A minimum age is not stated on the pages, and proof of address is not mentioned. Verification is treated as a level, and your level affects your limits.
What does a Pyypl card cost?
There are no monthly fees. Issuance is not stated, and card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may apply by country and product with amounts only visible in the app under Profile > Fees. Foreign-currency payments are converted to the USD base at transaction time and an international or FX fee “may apply” by country, with no published amount. The crypto conversion fee is not stated either.
Is the Pyypl card free?
The monthly side is free — “No monthly fees” is the card’s own wording. The rest is not published in a form you can read before signing up: issuance, replacement, inactivity, FX and conversion fees all depend on country and product, and the figures live in the app. So the accurate answer is “no subscription”, not “no cost”.
How do I top up the Pyypl card?
Through the Top-up feature in the app, using what the card calls the “supported methods in your country” — it does not list them. Some methods are instant and others may take 1-3 business days. Fees and minimums are not stated. Binance Pay appears in older material with USDT converted to USD but is not mentioned in what I read, so check the list yourself before transferring anything.
Is the Pyypl card safe?
It is a custodial e-money wallet with freeze and unfreeze in the app, spend notifications, PCI DSS compliance, encryption and 24/7 fraud monitoring. But your balance is not a deposit, no safeguarding arrangement is described on the pages I read, and users have reported frozen funds, blocked accounts and slow support on Trustpilot, where the score sits at 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews. Treat it accordingly.
Can I add the Pyypl card to Apple Wallet?
Yes. The card states that you can “add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”, so both mobile wallets are supported. What is not stated anywhere is whether a physical card exists or how it would be delivered — the pages I read describe a digital card only, so do not plan around receiving plastic.
Can I withdraw money from Pyypl?
Send and withdraw fees and limits depend on country and product, and crypto withdrawal is not stated at all. Cash-point withdrawals are not described on the official pages either — a third-party listing, undated, claims worldwide ATM access but names “Mastercard”, which conflicts with the Visa the card states. What also goes unstated is what happens to a leftover balance if you close the account, so ask before you ever close one.
How do I activate the Pyypl card?
The card is digital and issued in-app, so activation happens as part of the setup process. Once you have successfully completed your KYC identity verification and your account is approved, the virtual card details are typically available immediately in your app dashboard. Check your app for specific on-screen prompts after verification.
How do I use the Pyypl virtual card?
The Pyypl virtual card functions like any other Visa for online shopping. You can use the card details provided in the app to make payments on websites that accept Visa. To use it for in-store purchases, add the card to your Apple Wallet or Google Pay on your phone.
How do I delete my Pyypl account?
To close your account, you should contact Pyypl customer support directly through the in-app help center or their contact form. Always ensure you have withdrawn any remaining balance or transferred it out before requesting account closure, as the process for handling leftover funds should be clarified with them beforehand.
Is the Pyypl card worth it?
The card is a solid option if you reside in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan and need a simple, fee-free prepaid Visa that integrates with mobile wallets. However, if you live elsewhere, require a physical card, or need high transparency on fees and easy top-ups, it may not be worth it.
What is the minimum age for the Pyypl card?
Pyypl requires users to be of a minimum age to open an account, but the company does not publicly state the specific figure in its official documentation. You will likely see the age requirement during the application process when you submit your identity details in the Pyypl mobile app.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
