A Virtual Mastercard on a New Exchange — Promising on Paper, Thin on Public Detail
The Zoomex card is a virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN that lets you spend from a crypto balance held on the exchange, settle in USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more, and load into Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. It has no issuance fee and no annual fee, and converting crypto to fiat costs a stated 1%. Those are genuinely appealing numbers. The catch is what sits underneath: the card runs on UR’s licensed infrastructure with the issuing bank not named, the verification requirements are not stated publicly, and the parent exchange has a thin public complaint record from third-party sites. This review lays out exactly what is confirmed by the card and what is simply not on the public pages, so you can weigh it yourself.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10 — good bones, thin documentation
The Zoomex card scores 6.8 out of 10. It suits people who already hold an account on the Zoomex exchange and want a virtual Mastercard with an IBAN that spends straight from that balance, and who are comfortable with a provider that publishes more marketing than detail. It does not suit people who need a physical card, who need bank-grade clarity on limits and fees, or who are uneasy about a card programme whose issuing institution is not named. The middle score is not a condemnation — it reflects a product with sensible economics sitting on a young, lightly-documented foundation.
Here is where the score comes from, criterion by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | The press release gives no country list; an earlier check described it as global except USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories. Citizenship versus residence is not stated. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No issuance fee and no annual fee; crypto-to-fiat conversion 1%; cross-currency at Mastercard’s real-time rates. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDC deposit and USDC transferred from a Zoomex exchange account to a UR account; the networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Zoomex is in Seychelles and claims Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, NFA and AUSTRAC registrations; the card sits on UR infrastructure with the issuer not named. Gridinsoft rates the exchange 1.9/5 across 81 reviews. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN plus Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; no plastic, and ATM use is not disclosed. |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A well-priced virtual card on a young, lightly-documented stack. |
The pattern across those marks is clear. Where the card talks about money — fees, currencies, the IBAN — it is specific and the numbers are good. Where it talks about access, verification and backing — who can get it, what documents are needed, which bank stands behind it — it is largely silent. If you are comfortable filling those gaps yourself, the card rewards that. If you need them filled in, you will find yourself reading the same paragraph twice.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, quite widely — this is the strongest part of the proposal. The card’s press release, however, gives no country list at all. An earlier check of the same offering described it as global except for the USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories. That is a favourable default for most readers, but it is an earlier check rather than a current published rule, and the card has not published a fresh eligibility table you can point to.
There is a second gap. The card does not say whether eligibility runs on citizenship or residence. That distinction matters more than it sounds. Licence-holding providers screen nationality and country of birth separately from address, and issuer risk policy often follows citizenship rather than where you live. If you are a citizen of one country but resident in another, you currently have to take the earlier, unofficial global description on trust. I would not assume the rule without seeing it confirmed at sign-up.
One more thing the release is silent on is verification. The card is reached through a UR account, and the release does not describe what documents, selfie checks or source-of-funds requests apply. That is not a red flag in itself — plenty of providers keep KYC detail inside the sign-up flow — but it means “how long will approval take” and “what will they ask me for” have no answer you can read in advance.
How to get it
The Zoomex card is a virtual Mastercard. There is no physical plastic, and physical card delivery is not applicable. You obtain the card in digital form and add it to a phone wallet.
On the card itself:
- It is a virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN attached to it.
- It settles in USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY “and more” as multi-currency balances.
- Accounts exist at two membership levels, Basic and UR Pro. Verification tiers are not stated.
The onboarding path runs through a UR account — the card is delivered via UR rather than through the Zoomex exchange directly. New cardholders are automatically upgraded from Basic to UR Pro at no cost, and UR Pro is what brings the higher limits and the better withdrawal fees discussed below. In practice that means you are signing up to UR, not only to Zoomex, and you should read UR’s terms too, not just the exchange’s.
Beyond that, the public pages do not walk through the application steps, so treat the specifics of sign-up as something you will discover in the flow. The honest summary is that the destination is clear — a virtual Mastercard with an IBAN inside a UR account — while the paperwork path is not described in advance.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The headline numbers are good, and they are the reason the cost criterion scored 8. There is no card issuance fee and no annual fee, and converting crypto to fiat costs 1%. Cross-currency transactions use Mastercard’s real-time exchange rates. What is not stated is where the ATM and everyday rails land, so let us take the cost picture in full before looking at real payments.

| Fee or limit | Value | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance fee | None | No issuance fee at all. |
| Annual fee | None | No annual fee. |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | 1% | Charged when crypto is converted to spendable fiat. |
| Cross-currency exchange | Mastercard real-time rate | Applies to multi-currency balances; no padding is stated. |
| ATM fee | Not stated | The card does not disclose ATM charges or whether cash withdrawal works. |
| Monthly limit (UR Pro) | Up to 100,000 CHF | Applies to upgraded UR Pro members; other limits are not stated. |
| Other limits (daily, card-level) | Not stated | The card publishes no daily spending or per-transaction ceiling. |
| Withdrawal fees | No fee for fiat withdrawals | UR Pro members get better withdrawal fees; closing-balance terms not stated. |
| Top-up fees and minimums | Not stated | Only USDC deposits are mentioned; no fee or floor is published. |
Now the part that actually matters day to day — three ordinary payments and which fees land on each. I am using the card’s own stated fees, not inventing others.
A coffee bought in your local currency from a multi-currency balance. If you hold, say, a USD balance and the shop charges in EUR, Mastercard’s real-time rate converts it and no conversion percentage is added, according to the card. You still pay whatever the network rate is that day, and no card-level percentage is listed on top.
A subscription paid for with crypto. Here the 1% crypto-to-fiat conversion is the fee you pay, and it is the one cost you cannot avoid if the balance is in crypto. The cross-currency fee does not apply unless the merchant’s currency differs from the balance you spend from. Whether some merchant categories are blocked is not stated, so you cannot yet tell which everyday payments might be declined.
An online purchase from a foreign merchant in a currency you do not hold. The conversion happens at Mastercard’s real-time rate across your multi-currency balances (USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY “and more”). Address verification can also play a role here — the card’s material does not mention it, but address checks are mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and are often unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines on exactly this kind of purchase.
Two everyday costs remain genuinely open questions: the ATM fee is not stated at all, so treat cash withdrawal as unpriced until you see it, and the daily spending ceiling is not published, so you do not know how large a single payment can be.
Top up: how the balance gets funded
The Zoomex card is funded with digital assets. The stated routes are:

- USDC deposit directly to the card account.
- USDC transferred from your Zoomex exchange account to a UR account — an earlier check described this route.
So in practice the money moves as USDC: either you deposit it, or you hold it on Zoomex and it moves to the UR account the card lives in. The card claims instant funding with digital assets.
Here is the honest wrinkle. The networks are not stated. When you deposit USDC, you have to pick a blockchain, and USDC exists on many of them — Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Sending on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to another network, is the classic way to lose a deposit, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and no network can freeze or return them for you. Circle also stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option to assume. If the card’s own documentation does not name a supported network, ask before your first transfer rather than after it. Note also that on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card.
Fees and minimums for topping up are not stated, and USDC deposit is the only method mentioned. That narrowness is why top-up options scored 5 — the mechanism works, but it is one coin, one unnamed network, and no published pricing.
Paying with it every day
For day-to-day use the card is set up for the phone, which is where most spending will happen anyway.
- Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all supported. Adding the card to a wallet tokenises the number — the device stores a device-specific number in its Secure Element, not on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code.
- Gambling and other sensitive categories: many issuers block the gambling merchant category (MCC 7995) by policy rather than by law, and blocked lists vary by issuer. Zoomex does not state its blocked categories, so you cannot tell in advance what will be declined.
Beyond the wallets, there is a reward running right now. 1% cashback on compliant purchases through 30 April 2026 23:59 UTC, credited in real time, plus a $10 reward for a $5+ purchase within 30 days of activation for new users. What the rate becomes after the promotion is not stated — so do not build a budget around 1% continuing.
On the app and after-sales side the record is thin: the app itself is UR’s, its ratings were not read, and disputes are not stated — how you’d contest a charge, or whether there’s a formal chargeback route, is not described. For a card meant to be used daily, that is worth pressing on. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is worth remembering if a payment bounces.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the 6.8 is earned. The risks are not dramatic — they are the ordinary risks of a young provider with thin public disclosure.
The issuer is not named. The card is described as “backed by UR’s licensed financial infrastructure”, but UR is not explicitly named as the issuer, and UR’s country and licences are not stated. When Visa or Mastercard suspends a programme, the consequences land on users; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, winding down the FTX US debit card. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. You are entitled to ask who the issuing institution actually is.
The company is young and offshore-anchored. Zoomex is in Victoria, Seychelles (its announcing office) and was founded in 2021. It claims registration as a Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, with U.S. NFA and Australian AUSTRAC status, and says the card runs on UR’s licensed infrastructure. The exchange states it passed a Hacken audit — a company claim, not something independently confirmed here. Security arrangements for the card specifically are not stated; the audit referred to the exchange.
The complaint record is thin and mixed. No official incidents were found, and no Trustpilot or Reddit card reviews were found — the card has a short history. What exists is third-party and unofficial: Gridinsoft, a news aggregator, rates zoomex.com 1.9/5 across 81 reviews — and that is the exchange, not the card. Support contact details are not stated either.
Platform risk sits underneath. A custodial setup means the provider holds the keys, so you are trusting them entirely, and custodial platforms have a history of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). Crypto transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. For its regulatory footing, note that a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences; under the EU’s MiCA regime, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and e-money funds must be safeguarded but are not the same as bank deposits.
Timeline for context. Late December 2025 saw early registration open with rollout expected in early 2026; the Zoomex Card launched on 9 March 2026; the 1% cashback promotion ends 30 April 2026. This is a months-old product, which explains the thin independent record.
What to take instead
If the Zoomex card’s appeal is the virtual Mastercard with crypto funding and a cashback rate, it is worth comparing it to the alternatives below. Here is how they stack up on what is published, with unstated items marked as such:
| Card | Score | Card type | Issuance cost | Cashback / rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoomex | 6.8 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, dedicated IBAN | None | 1% cashback to 30 Apr 2026, then not stated |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated officially | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual and physical; Mastercard or Visa by region | Virtual: none in all regions “until further notice”. Physical: Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD/USDT; Georgia 29.99 USDT; Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico none | Tiered: Base 2%, Beta 2%, Alpha 4%, Apex 6%, Omega 8%, Infinite 10%, with monthly caps |
Bybit Card is the most fully documented of the three, and the detail is instructive. It draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn balance, spending fiat first and only selling crypto if fiat is insufficient; it supports BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM with a reorderable priority; its crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (0.5% in Argentina), with an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in several regions (7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru, and Kazakhstan adds 2% on purchases outside the country). It has an explicit welcome offer and a Pay Later instalment bonus. Its trade-off is restriction: the cards page states it is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that EEA participation is strictly prohibited, and the virtual card must be obtained before any physical one (unavailable in Peru). Zoomex, by comparison, is looser on geography — but says less about everything else.
MSX and Young Card publish less: for both, who can get it, the card type, issuance cost, fees and top-up are not stated. Young Card at least sets out its rewards in YNG tokens by Club tier. Where a provider is this undocumented, you are making a decision on marketing rather than information.
The honest comparison: Zoomex is the cheapest to hold and the broadest geographically among what is described, with a 1% conversion; Bybit is the most transparent and the most feature-rich but narrower by region and more expensive per transaction; the other two give you little to evaluate at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Zoomex card to someone already using the Zoomex exchange who wants a virtual Mastercard with an IBAN that spends directly from their balance, who is comfortable with a young provider, and who treats cashback as a bonus rather than a plan. The no-fee, no-annual-fee, 1%-conversion structure is genuinely good value, and adding it to Apple Pay or Google Pay makes it usable daily.
I would be more cautious if you need a physical card, need a reliable ATM, or want to know your exact daily spending limit and ATM fee before you sign up — none of those are published. I would be especially cautious if the issuer question matters to you, because the issuing institution is not named. If you are in the EEA and want the broadest documentation rather than the broadest availability, Bybit’s published detail may serve you better despite its narrower geography.
Whichever way you lean, there are specific things worth confirming at sign-up: who the issuing bank is, what verification documents are required, which networks USDC deposits are accepted on, what the ATM fee is, what your daily limit is, and what happens to balances if the programme is wound down.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Zoomex card?
The Zoomex card is a virtual Mastercard with a dedicated IBAN that spends from crypto held on the exchange. It settles in USD, EUR, CHF, SGD, HKD, JPY and more as multi-currency balances, converts crypto to fiat at a stated 1%, and works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. There is no physical plastic mentioned.
Is Zoomex a bank?
No — Zoomex is a crypto exchange founded in 2021 with an announcing office in Victoria, Seychelles. It claims Canada MSB, U.S. MSB, U.S. NFA and Australian AUSTRAC registration. The card is described as backed by UR’s licensed infrastructure, but the issuing institution is not named.
Who can get the Zoomex card?
The press release gives no country list. An earlier check described it as global except for the USA, Russia, Iran, North Korea and some US territories, but citizenship versus residence is not stated. Anyone relying on that earlier description should confirm eligibility at sign-up rather than treat it as a current rule.
Does the Zoomex card require KYC?
The card’s release does not state its verification requirements, and it is reached through a UR account where two membership levels, Basic and UR Pro, are described. New cardholders are automatically upgraded from Basic to UR Pro at no cost. Expect to complete identity checks in the sign-up flow, but the specifics are not published.
How much does the Zoomex card cost to hold?
Nothing to hold it. There is no card issuance fee and no annual fee. The cost you pay is transactional: 1% to convert crypto to fiat, cross-currency conversion at Mastercard’s real-time rates, and a top-up fee that is not stated. ATM fees and minimum top-ups are also not disclosed.
How do I top up the Zoomex card?
You fund it with digital assets — a USDC deposit, or USDC moved from your Zoomex exchange account to the UR account the card lives in, which an earlier check described. The card claims instant funding. Crucially, the supported networks are not stated, so confirm the right one before transferring, since blockchain sends are irreversible.
Can I add the Zoomex card to Apple Pay?
Yes — Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all supported, and adding the card to a phone wallet tokenises the number so each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The card is virtual-only, so a mobile wallet is the natural way to use it. No physical delivery applies.
Is the Zoomex card safe?
Treat it as a young platform product. The exchange is in Seychelles, founded 2021, and says it passed a Hacken audit; security arrangements for the card itself are not stated, and the issuing bank is unnamed. No official card incidents were found and no Trustpilot or Reddit card reviews exist yet, so there is little independent record either way.
How do I withdraw money from Zoomex?
Fiat withdrawals carry no fee, and UR Pro members get better withdrawal fees — which is one reason the automatic upgrade to UR Pro matters. The card’s material does not state what happens to any remaining balance if you close the account, so ask about that before you wind down.
Is the Zoomex card worth it?
For an existing Zoomex user who wants to spend crypto directly through a virtual Mastercard with an IBAN, the value is real — no fees to hold it and a 1% conversion rate. Weigh that against the gaps: no physical card, no published ATM fee or daily limit, unnamed issuer, and a cashback rate after 30 April 2026 that has not been stated.
Exchange card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
