A stablecoin-funded Visa card with a $50 fee and a 2.99% currency charge

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The FV Bank card is a Visa debit card that spends from a US-dollar balance you load with stablecoins — USDC, USDT or PYUSD. That is the whole idea in one sentence, and it is genuinely useful for people who already hold dollars in crypto form and want to pay ordinary shops without converting at a separate exchange first.

FV Bank works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But the price of convenience here is steep. A $50 charge for the plastic card, $50 a year to keep it, $3.50 per ATM withdrawal in the United States and $5.00 everywhere else, plus 2.99% on any purchase in another currency. Those are not small numbers next to the free domestic spending that a normal bank card gives you. My score for FV Bank is 5.5 out of 10 — above half marks only because the card works reliably where it is accepted and the stablecoin side is straightforward, and well below because the fee stack and the thin complaint record pull it back down.

This review is written for anyone who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card, and for anyone who simply wants to spend from a crypto balance. I have read the bank’s own published pages, noted what they say and what they leave out, and kept unofficial reports clearly separate from the bank’s statements. Where a detail is missing, I say so rather than guessing.

*The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.*

Verdict: 5.5 out of 10

FV Bank suits one person quite precisely: you already hold stablecoins, you want a US-dollar bank account and a Visa card attached to it, and paying $50 a year plus a $3.50 ATM fee does not bother you. If that is you, the card does what it says. If you want a cheap everyday spending card, or you want to withdraw cash in several countries, or you are put off by a company with a 2.2 rating from eight Trustpilot reviews, this is the wrong product and the alternatives below will serve you better.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up FV Bank starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 9 / 10 Account opening stated as available from over 100 countries; the card works wherever Visa is accepted and no country list is published
Cost 1 / 10 $50 for the plastic, $50 a year to keep it ($100 for international accounts), 2.99% per foreign-currency transaction, $3.50 ATM in the USA and $5.00 outside it
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC, USDT or PYUSD deposited and auto-converted to USD; neither networks nor the deposit fee are disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 FV Bank International Inc., OCIF licence IFE-063, Visa principal member, not FDIC-insured; Trustpilot 2.2 from 8 reviews mentioning blocked funds and a $200 deduction
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical Visa card, roughly 1.9 million ATMs across 200+ countries, Apple Wallet; Google Pay unmentioned and no virtual card described
Total 5.5 / 10 A usable card at a high price, wrapped around a young bank with a thin public record

Two things about that table deserve emphasis. The 9 out of 10 for access is the strongest single mark on this page — there is no country list to run into, which is unusual for a card aimed at people with banking difficulties. And the 1 out of 10 for cost is the reason this is not a mainstream recommendation: on the three things you pay for repeatedly — holding the card, spending abroad, taking money out of a machine — the fees are high and none of them is hidden behind a monthly subscription you can opt out of.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, broadly. The bank’s own cards page says account opening is “available from over 100 countries”, and the card is usable worldwide wherever Visa is accepted. There is no country list on the page — I checked for one and there is none to check against.

That single sentence is doing a lot of work, and you should read it carefully. “Over 100 countries” tells you the number of places from which applications are accepted. It does not tell you which ones, so if your country sits near a line you care about — you have a reason to be discreet about your address, or you travel somewhere with a complicated currency — you cannot confirm from the public page alone. You have to ask the bank. What I can tell you is that there is no published exclusion list to argue against, which is more than most cards in this category offer.

The company behind the card is FV Bank International Inc., licensed by OCIF in Puerto Rico as an International Financial Entity under licence IFE-063. It is a principal member of Visa, announced in October 2021. Your funds are not FDIC-insured. That last point is not a flaw unique to this card — most cards in the crypto category sit outside deposit guarantee schemes for the same reason — but it does mean that if the bank fails, your balance is an unsecured claim rather than a guaranteed deposit. Treat it the way you would treat any non-bank financial platform.

The bank also describes itself as a digital-asset custodian. That is the second half of the risk picture: your balance and your crypto sit with the same counterparty. On the security side, the online banking platform and mobile app let you set spending limits, change your PIN and disable transactions, and those are the controls you should actually set up on day one rather than waiting for something to go wrong.

How to get it

Applications go through apply.fvbank.us. The bank says a USD account can be opened in “as little as 24 hours”. You get a Visa debit card on a USD account, either the physical plastic version or cards issued for employees; a virtual card is not described on the public pages.

On the identity side, I want to be straight with you: the level of KYC is not stated, and the documents you will be asked for are not readable from the public pages. So when you apply, expect a verification step rather than a promise of instant access — the 24-hour figure is about account opening, not about the checks behind it. General background worth knowing: in the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents against records. In the EU the equivalent due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check. FV Bank is a Puerto Rico-licensed entity rather than an EU one, so the specific list you get is theirs to publish — and they have not.

For delivery, physical cards are ordered in the portal or app and the bank says they are delivered “anywhere in the world” — that phrase comes from an FV Bank blog post rather than the cards page, so treat it as the bank’s own general statement. Neither the delivery time nor the delivery cost is stated. A replacement card is $50.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the whole published price list. Read the annual row twice: the same card costs double to maintain if your account is an international one.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a FV Bank payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Plastic card issuance $50 per card
Replacement card $50
Annual card maintenance, domestic US accounts $50 per card
Annual card maintenance, international accounts $100 per card
Purchase transactions Free
Foreign currency transaction 2.99%
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM inside the USA $3.50
ATM outside the USA $5.00
ATM balance inquiry $1.00
PIN change Free
ATM network reach About 1.9 million ATMs in 200+ countries
Daily purchase limit, domestic US and international individual $7,500 — 15 transactions per day, 60 per week
Daily purchase limit, international business $12,000 — 15 transactions per day, 60 per week
ATM withdrawal limit Not stated

There are three fee schedules here — domestic US, international, and business — but no named tiers you can upgrade into. You do not buy a better plan; you get a different account type and a different maintenance charge.

Now three ordinary payments, to make the table real:

The 2.99% deserves one more sentence because it is easy to misread. It is a flat percentage on foreign currency transactions, not a margin hidden in the exchange rate — the card’s page names the rate structure it applies, and does not disclose a crypto conversion fee at all. That gap matters if you plan to convert a lot of crypto: you will learn what conversion costs only after you have done it.

How to top it up

Topping up is the part FV Bank has made simplest, and the way you do it is the thing to get right.

You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD, and the balance is automatically converted to USD at the moment of deposit. There is a Convert feature as well, which sells digital assets held in custody for USD. So the model is pre-loaded: your crypto becomes dollars, the card spends only those dollars, and the card cannot overdraw. What is not stated: the deposit fee and the minimum deposit, and — this is the one to watch — the networks you can send on. Those details are simply not on the public pages.

That last gap is worth dwelling on, because it is where deposits genuinely go wrong across this whole category, not just this card. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Tether’s USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. So “USDC” or “USDT” alone is not an instruction — you need to know which chain FV Bank accepts on its side, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and the money can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Two further wrinkles: ERC-20 gas must be paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all, and Tron charges through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Confirm the network in the app before you press send, every time.

For getting money back out: you convert custody assets to USD and transfer to a bank balance. Withdrawal fees and any balance needed to close an account are not stated on the cards page — so if closing is something you might want to do, ask first.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card is most convincing. A physical Visa card that works anywhere Visa is accepted is not exotic any more, but combined with the dollar balance it is a genuinely practical setup. You also get Apple Wallet: an FV Bank blog post from around October 2026 announces the card in Apple Wallet, and the earlier cards page already said digital wallet use is possible. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element and uses a one-time code for each payment, which is a better arrangement than handing over a plastic number.

Two gaps. Google Pay is not mentioned anywhere, so if that is your wallet, assume nothing. And no virtual card is described, so if you want a disposable or online-only number, this is not it — you get the physical one.

What you do not get is any rewards. No cashback is stated, and there is no rewards scheme mentioned on the pages at all. Every alternative in this review either offers nothing here or pays you something; FV Bank simply pays nothing, and with a $50 annual charge on top that absence matters more than it would elsewhere.

There is an online banking platform and a mobile app; I did not get platforms, ratings or an App Store listing confirmed, so judge the app on your own device after signing up rather than on my word. Disputes are not described either — no stated chargeback process on the cards page. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is worth remembering if a large payment goes wrong at a till.

Two things that shape everyday acceptance without being anything to do with this card. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, and gambling is MCC 7995 — some issuers block it by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. And address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on online payments. If a payment is refused for no obvious reason, that is often the reason.

What can go wrong

I found no official incident record for FV Bank. What exists is user reports, and I am labelling these as unofficial — they are third-party posts, not verified findings, and each is one person’s account.

The aggregate picture comes from Trustpilot: 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, read on 21 October 2026, with 7 of those 8 being 1-star. Eight reviews is a very small sample, and I want to be honest about what a small sample means — it cannot tell you the typical experience. But the themes repeat, and they are the themes that matter:

This is the pattern that scares me most in this card’s design, and it is structural rather than a matter of customer service quality: FV Bank is both the card issuer and the custodian. When it wants to know where your money came from, there is no separate institution to satisfy. General background here is worth holding onto — custodial platforms have a history, with Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty and hack risk. And the fact that the bank is a digital-asset custodian as well as a bank means the $50 card and the crypto holding face the same counterparty.

There is a category-wide version of this risk too: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves, they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a shape: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. I saw a secondary report of one such 2026 closure — new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — from a single unconfirmed source, so I mention it only as a shape, not as fact about any named company. The practical lesson is to keep only what you need on a card balance, and to know before you need it how to withdraw.

Then the crypto risks that apply whatever card you choose. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value but are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. The BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation into Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC in July 2025, which concentrates risk rather than removing it. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Two things I will not do in this review: promise you the account is safe, or suggest how to get past a sanctions or country restriction. If your situation means the usual rules do not fit you, that is a conversation for a regulated adviser in your jurisdiction, not a review page. On taxes, I am equally not your adviser — one factual note only, since it bears on how you fund the card: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for dollars or goods generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto may be its own disposal. If you want more than that, ask a professional.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, all of which score higher than FV Bank — none of them dramatically, and each with its own problem.

FV Bank International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 5.5 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Network and type Visa debit, physical; virtual not stated U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency, Mastercard network; physical/virtual not stated Visa, works online and in stores; virtual/physical not stated
Access From over 100 countries; no country list published Not available in Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries case by case Not stated US consumers in 31 states, businesses in 41; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam
Card cost $50 issuance; $50/year ($100 international) $5 one-time virtual; no maintenance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/mo, Max $19.00/mo No annual fee; issuance not stated “No extra fees”; no amounts listed
Spending abroad 2.99% Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee No foreign transaction fee; assets converted at live OTC rates Not stated
Top-up USDC, USDT, PYUSD converted to USD; networks and fee not stated USDC or USDT into the USD account; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; deposits free; networks not stated Not stated Spends from a Whop balance; pending balance usable on arrival; backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated
Rewards None stated No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber; payout currency and conditions not stated

International Visa Card (6.7 / 10) is the closest fit for a person FV Bank appeals to, and its price structure is simply better: $5 once and no maintenance on the free tier, against $50 plus $50 or $100 a year. Its currency fee is 2% against FV Bank’s 2.99%, deposits of any kind are free, and there are more funding rails — EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow — rather than stablecoins only. Its catch is eligibility, and it is a big one: it excludes sixteen named countries by residence or legal registration, blocks purchases in seven, and its physical card is still listed as coming soon, so you would be planning around a virtual card. Citizenship is not mentioned as the basis of its rule. If you are outside that exclusion list, this is the one I would look at first.

UNi Card (6.1 / 10) has the cleanest fee story of the four: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates with no hidden exchange fees — and unlike FV Bank it pays you, with Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3%. It is a multicurrency Mastercard card spending from a UNi.Global account balance. What stops me recommending it outright is what I could not establish: who can get it is not stated, whether the card is physical or virtual is not stated, and how you top it up is not stated. An attractive fee list with three missing basics is not something to commit money to without asking first.

Whop Cards (5.2 / 10) I would call the weakest of the four, below FV Bank. It has a real Visa card and the best rewards line on this page — 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber — but it is tightly limited to US consumers in 31 named states, with the same long unsupported-country list alongside, and its real distinguishing feature is that it spends from a Whop balance rather than a stablecoin account. The page says “No extra fees” without listing a single amount, and no conversion or FX figure appears anywhere. On price disclosure it is the least transparent card here.

What none of these three fixes is FV Bank’s actual problem, which is FV Bank-specific: the same counterparty being issuer and custodian, and a public complaint record that is thin and poor. If that combination is what worries you, changing card does not remove it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend FV Bank to someone who ticks most of these: you already hold USDC, USDT or PYUSD and do not want to move them to an exchange first; you want a US-dollar account and a physical Visa card more than you want cheap everyday spending; you mostly pay online or in dollars so the 2.99% rarely bites; and you are willing to withdraw cash rarely, because at $3.50 and $5.00 a pop it is the most expensive part of the card. Confirm the deposit networks in the app before you send anything, turn on the card controls in the banking app straight away, keep a working balance rather than a large one, and set aside the $50 a year as a cost of the arrangement rather than a surprise.

I would not recommend it to someone paying rent in euros, to a traveller who takes cash out of machines, to a person who wants cashback, or to anyone who needs deposit insurance — there is none. And if the reason you are looking at this card is that ordinary cards are closed to you, then FV Bank’s openness is genuine and unmatched at 9 out of 10, but so is the responsibility: because no country list is published, that openness is something you verify with the bank before you send documents, not something you assume.

Frequently asked questions

What is FV Bank card?

It is a Visa debit card that spends from a US-dollar balance you load yourself. You deposit stablecoins — USDC, USDT or PYUSD — and they are converted to dollars at the moment of deposit, then the card behaves like an ordinary Visa debit card in shops, online and at ATMs. FV Bank International Inc. issues it under Puerto Rico licence IFE-063.

Is FV Bank a real bank?

It is a licensed financial entity rather than a deposit-taking bank in the sense you might expect. FV Bank International Inc. is licensed by OCIF in Puerto Rico as an International Financial Entity, licence IFE-063, and is a principal Visa member. It is a digital-asset custodian as well. Your balance is not FDIC-insured, so treat it as a non-bank financial platform rather than a savings account.

Who can apply for the card?

The bank’s cards page says account opening is available from over 100 countries, with no country list published. You apply through apply.fvbank.us, and the bank says a USD account can open in as little as 24 hours. The identity checks you will face are not detailed publicly, so expect verification even with that timeline.

Does FV Bank card require KYC?

The card’s public pages do not state the KYC level, which is not the same as saying there is none. As a licensed financial entity it is subject to customer identification rules, and in practice expect to provide identity and address documents. Confirm the exact document list with the bank before you apply, especially if your address is in a jurisdiction where you have privacy concerns.

How much does the FV Bank card cost?

The plastic card is $50, a replacement is $50, and annual maintenance is $50 per card on a domestic US account or $100 per card on an international account. Purchases are free, a foreign currency transaction costs 2.99%, ATM withdrawals are $3.50 in the USA and $5.00 outside it, and a balance inquiry is $1.00. That is why cost scores 1 out of 10.

How do I top up the FV Bank card?

You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD, and the amount is converted to USD automatically at the deposit. There is also a Convert feature for selling digital assets held in custody. The networks you can send on are not published, and neither the deposit fee nor the minimum is stated, so check the required network in the app before sending — an irreversible transfer to the wrong chain can be lost.

Is the FV Bank card safe to use?

I cannot promise anyone safety, and you should read the structure rather than the marketing. The bank is licensed but your funds are not FDIC-insured, and it is both card issuer and custodian, so one counterparty holds your balance and your crypto. Its Trustpilot score is 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, seven of them one-star, with unofficial reports of blocked funds and a $200 deduction.

Can I use the FV Bank card in my country?

The card works worldwide wherever Visa is accepted, which is the practical answer. But the country question splits in two: where you can open an account, described only as over 100 countries with no list, and where you can spend, which is wherever Visa works. If your country matters to you, ask the bank directly before applying, and treat any decline as a licensing matter rather than something to work around.

Is there an FV Bank card in Apple Wallet and Google Pay?

Apple Wallet, yes — the bank’s blog announced the card for Apple Wallet in around October 2026, and digital wallet use was already mentioned on the cards page. Google Pay is not named anywhere on the public pages, so do not assume it works. No virtual card is described either; the card described is the physical Visa debit, plus cards issued for employees.

Is FV Bank worth it for everyday spending?

Only if you rarely touch an ATM and mostly spend in dollars. Every element of the fee stack punishes the other kind of use: 2.99% on foreign currency, $3.50 to $5.00 per cash withdrawal, $50 or $100 a year to keep the card, and no cashback to offset any of it. The International Visa Card alternative costs $5 once with no maintenance fee and a 2% FX fee, though its physical card is listed as coming soon.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team