KeyOne gives you a free virtual Visa and nothing much more — a 6.8 out of 10 card that suits residents who cannot get an ordinary bank card
KeyOne is a virtual Visa card aimed squarely at people who cannot get an ordinary bank card: residents of seventy listed countries across Europe, Asia, the Gulf, Africa, Latin America and Australia. The Free plan costs nothing to open and nothing to keep open. Payments in the euro balance carry no fee, crypto top-ups cost 0.8% plus the network fee, and there is no physical card — you get a number, an expiry and a CVV inside the app. That is genuinely useful if it is your only card. It is thin if you want cash, a plastic card in a wallet, Google Pay, or a long list of published answers to awkward questions.
My score is 6.8 out of 10. That is not a rejection. It is a card that does a narrow job at a fair price and stays quiet about most of everything else.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residents of 70 listed countries: Europe, Asia, UAE, Africa, Latin America, Australia |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Free plan at EUR 0: issuance and monthly service free; payments in balance currency 0%, conversion up to 1%; crypto top-up 0.8% + network fee |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC and USDT, network not named; plus SEPA, ACH and top-up from Visa/Mastercard; crypto withdrawal on Base only |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Card issued by Wirex (Visa); KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface, not a bank; no complaints found, no App Store rating yet |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay yes, Google Pay not disclosed, ATM not disclosed |
Where this lands for you: residents of Georgia, Serbia and Kazakhstan who want a card that costs nothing to keep. That is the case the card genuinely serves. Everywhere else the picture gets thinner fast, and the reason is not that the card is bad — it is that much of what you would need in order to trust it is not published.

Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you live in one of seventy listed countries and you can pass an identity check. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship. The list covers Europe — including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia and Azerbaijan — Asia including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan and Thailand, the UAE and Bahrain, African countries including Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda, Latin American countries including Mexico, Brazil and Argentina, and Australia.
Russia and Belarus are not on the list. The page’s wording for any country not listed is that you cannot apply for a KeyOne card yet. There is no separate excluded list and no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens specifically, so the practical reading is about where you live, not what passport you hold.
That distinction matters more than it first appears. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address. So a resident of a listed country with a passport from somewhere else may still hit a wall at the identity-check stage that the country list says nothing about.
What I could not find is any statement about how the card treats residents of sanctioned jurisdictions who are citizens of permitted ones. Not stated means exactly that: the public pages do not say. I am not going to guess, and I am certainly not going to tell you how to work around it.
How to get it
The path is short and standard. First check that your country is on the list. Then submit a government-issued ID — passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit, with the accepted types varying by ID country — together with a selfie. If the ID check asks for it, you then supply proof of address, and your card eligibility depends on the residence that document shows. The card itself appears in the app once you are approved.
You must be 18 or over. Additional checks may be required beyond the ID, and processing time is not stated — the page says only that it may vary, and that support can check your status.
There are no defined KYC tiers or levels. That is worth pausing on: a card that publishes no levels also publishes no explanation of what triggers a higher check, so you cannot predict in advance whether a large top-up or a transfer to a new payee will slow you down. The named conditions for the identity document are specific, at least. Your name and date of birth must appear on the document and match the application. The photo is matched to your selfie. The validity date must be visible and in the future.
The card arrives as a virtual Visa only. No physical card is mentioned anywhere in what I read. After approval, the card number, expiry date and CVV appear inside the app. The card balance currency is the euro; fees are quoted in euros, and the agreement refers to payments in the balance currency.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the honest accounting. The Free plan is genuinely free to open and free to keep, and the numbers below are the ones the card publishes.

| Fee or limit | Free plan | Premium plan |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free | Free (plan included) |
| Monthly service fee | EUR 0 | Included in the annual plan |
| Plan price | EUR 0 | EUR 149 per year, paid from balance, valid 12 months from purchase |
| Card payment in balance currency | 0% | 0% |
| Currency conversion on card payment | Up to 1% | Up to 1% |
| Crypto top-up (USDC/USDT) | 0.8% + network fee | 0.33% |
| SEPA / ACH top-up in | 0.8% | 0.3% |
| Top-up from another Visa/Mastercard | About 4.5% | About 4.5% |
| In-app exchange | 0.3% on first EUR 1,000/month, then 1.25% | 0.3% on first EUR 2,000/month, then 1.25% |
| Virtual cards included | 1 | 3, extra cards EUR 10 each |
| Card spend per card per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| Single transaction | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| SEPA in/out per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 |
| ATM | Not stated | Not stated |
| Metal card | None | None |
Two or three everyday payments, so you can see what actually lands.
Buying a EUR 24 subscription in euros from the euro balance costs nothing on top of the price. Buying the same EUR 24 subscription in dollars costs up to 1% more, so roughly 24 cents, because the charge is not in the balance currency. Paying EUR 60 for something priced in pounds with the conversion applied costs you up to EUR 0.60.
Where the costs really bite is the top-up, not the spend. Loading EUR 500 of USDC on the Free plan costs 4 euros in fees plus whatever the network charges, which is the figure that matters most for anyone using this card to hold and spend crypto. The Premium plan cuts that to 0.33%, and at EUR 149 a year it starts to make arithmetic sense only if you are moving several thousand euros a month. If you are not, stay on Free.
One detail that will annoy someone eventually: merchant refunds are credited to the KeyOne balance, and may arrive in a different currency than the charge. If you paid in dollars and the shop refunds you, the balance you get back may not be in the same currency you spent.
Individual limits may also be lower than the published ones, because of partner compliance checks. So the EUR 20,000 monthly card spend is a ceiling, not a promise.
How to top it up
Four routes, and they are not equal in cost.
- Crypto (USDC or USDT) — 0.8% plus the network fee on Free, 0.33% on Premium. The network is not named. This is the route the card is built around, and it is also the one where an unstated network can cost you the whole deposit.
- SEPA and ACH bank transfers — 0.8% in on Free, 0.3% on Premium. SEPA is available for many EU countries and the UK; Faster Payments in pounds and ACH in dollars are for the UK only. Limit of EUR 20,000 a month in and out.
- Top-up from another Visa or Mastercard — about 4.5%. That is by far the most expensive way in, and it is the one most people would reach for in an emergency.
- Crypto withdrawal — Base network only, with no KeyOne fee.
That network point deserves emphasis rather than a footnote. If you send USDC on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so there is no chargeback button on a misrouted deposit. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Tether’s USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. The point is that “USDC” names a token on many networks, and KeyOne’s page does not tell you which ones it will accept. I would not send a deposit worth anything until support tells you, in writing, which network to use.
On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card. Whatever your transfer costs to broadcast, you pay on top of the percentage. And the minimum top-up is not stated.
You can close the card in the app at any time without touching the balance. To delete the account you request it in the app under Profile > Support or by email; you withdraw remaining balances first; the card and accounts are closed with Wirex; deletion happens within 30 days; KYC and transaction records are kept for 5 years. The terms also say you may stop using the services and withdraw your funds at any time, which is the sentence you want to read in the small print of any custodial setup.
Paying with it every day
You add the card to Apple Pay in one tap, and Apple Pay works. Google Pay is not stated. Whether Google Pay works is a question you will have to ask support, and if you are on Android it is the question that decides whether this card is usable at all for you.
The card can be used wherever a Visa is accepted online and in person, subject to restrictions. The home page says that some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted, and then does not list them. That is the single most unhelpful sentence on the site’s payments pages, because restricted categories are exactly what you discover at a till rather than at a desk.
No cashback is mentioned anywhere. No rewards programme is described. If a card pays you back for spending, this one does not appear to.
The apps exist. On iOS the app is “KeyOne: Crypto Card & Wallet”, requires iPhone iOS 17 or later, is at version 1.0.10, and lists English, Russian and Serbian as its languages. The App Store listing in Ireland shows no rating — the wording is that it has not received enough ratings, as I read it on 20 October 2026. The Android listing is com.keyonesolution.keyone, and I did not retrieve a rating for it. There is a web app at app.keyonepay.com. A version number of 1.0.10 and no App Store score together tell you this is a young product, which is worth factoring into how much you would keep on it.
Support is Telegram-first: a support bot at @keyone_supportbot is described as the fastest route, with email, X at @keyoneapp for status, and in-app chat under Profile > Support. The promise is that they usually respond within a few hours and always within 24. Hours are not stated, and the website’s language selector shows English only — while the iOS app lists English, Russian and Serbian. So the interface and the support promise are not equally multilingual.
If a payment goes wrong — a transaction you do not recognise, or one that is wrong — you contact support, which then helps file a dispute with the issuer. No time frames are given for that process. The word chargeback does not appear, and the terms set no refund timeframes either. Blockchain transactions are irreversible, and merchant refunds land in the KeyOne balance. So the dispute path exists; its speed does not.
What can go wrong
No official incidents found. I searched for complaints and found nothing about KeyOne itself — only unrelated businesses with similar names. No user reports, no news. But absence of complaints is not the same as a good track record, and here the reason is straightforward: the App Store listing has too few ratings to show a score, so there is very little public history to have complaints about. Treat “no complaints” as “no evidence”, which is what it is.
The structural risk is who is actually behind this. KEYONE SOLUTION LTD is incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, company number C 63589, and states plainly that it is not a bank. The KeyOne Visa card is issued by Wirex under its own regulatory permissions; KeyOne Solution Ltd provides the technology interface, and the governing law of the terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. Wirex became a Visa principal member in Europe in December 2020.
Neither company is named as holding a bank licence, and KeyOne does not present itself as a bank. That is honest, and it is also the point you should weigh. Crypto balances here are not covered by a deposit guarantee or investor compensation. KeyOne Solution Ltd provides the technology interface, and you are trusting a chain: the interface, the issuer, the payment partner.
On the crypto side, the design is better than most. The wallet is self-custody: private keys are created and stored on your device through an embedded wallet provider, and KeyOne cannot move your crypto without your signature. What that means is that losing the device or the PIN can mean permanent loss of funds — no support ticket rescues you, because nobody else holds the key. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and is an unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and the network cannot freeze or return them.
On the card side, 3-D Secure payments can be approved or declined in the app, a compromised card can be blocked in the app, and the issuer may suspend or close a card for fraud or for use in an unsupported country. That last one is the one to sit with. The issuer can close the card if you use it somewhere they do not support.
There is a category history worth knowing, and it is not a prediction. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures typically run in a fixed order: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Crypto cards are programmes, and programmes can end.
The date to write down: both the Cardholder Agreement and the Terms were last updated on 12 October 2026. That is recent, which means they may still be settling, and it means you should read them rather than skim.
What to take instead
None of these is a clear winner. I am listing them so you can see the shape of the field, not so you can pick one.
Cardex — 5.6 out of 10. Claims one crypto card for 200+ countries with no country list and no stated exclusions. A debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical, with the App Store listing Naira-focused and the card currency in naira. Conversion happens in real time at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates; no fee percentage is published. Funded from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. Cost, fees and rewards: not stated.
CardFlow — 4.9 out of 10. Aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” — and at Nigerians and global users, with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is free, per the site FAQ. Monthly fee, fees and rewards: not stated. Funded by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer, networks not stated.
HyperCard — 4.7 out of 10. Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in more than 176 countries, which is about acceptance, not eligibility. A prepaid card on an unnamed network, balance in USD or EUR. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH and it converts to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated. Fees, cost and rewards: not stated.
The pattern across all three is the one that should worry you more than any single number: each of them is silent on the things you would need in order to decide. KeyOne at least publishes its fees and its country list. That is a real advantage, and it is why this card scores above all three despite having the fewest features of the four.
If you are in a market with a regulated exchange that issues its own card, that is the comparison to make first — not these three. A card from an institution that publishes its licence, its safeguarding arrangements and its fee schedule answers the questions KeyOne leaves open.
Who I would recommend it to
To a resident of Georgia, Serbia or Kazakhstan who needs a card, cannot get a bank one, and is content to hold only what they need. The Free plan costs nothing, so the calculation is simple: there is no downside in trying, and the app is the product. Top up in euros by SEPA where you can, use it for subscriptions and everyday payments in the euro balance where the fee is zero, add it to Apple Pay, and keep the crypto side small until you have confirmed the network yourself.
I would not recommend it as your only source of money-handling if you need cash, if you are on Android and Google Pay is your main way to pay, or if you intend to hold a large balance on it. There is no physical card, no ATM terms, no rewards, no published category restrictions, no published dispute timeframes, and no deposit protection.
And I would be careful, in your own reading of the terms, about one thing above the others: the provider is not a bank, the issuer can close the card, and crypto balances have no guarantee behind them. Nothing in this review is advice on how to structure your money or what you should hold. It is a description of what is published, so you can weigh it against what you actually need.
Frequently asked questions
What is the KeyOne card?
It is a virtual Visa card issued by Wirex, with KeyOne Solution Ltd providing the app and crypto interface. You apply with a government-issued ID and a selfie, and if approved, the card number, expiry and CVV appear inside the app. There is no physical card. The balance is in euros, and you can pay at any shop that takes Visa.
Is KeyOne a bank?
No, and it says so itself. KEYONE SOLUTION LTD is registered in Saint Christopher and Nevis, company number C 63589, and states that it is not a bank. The card is issued by Wirex under its own regulatory permissions. Crypto balances are not covered by a deposit guarantee or investor compensation, which is the practical difference between this and an ordinary bank account.
Who owns KeyOne?
Two parties, with different jobs. Wirex is the card issuer and holds the Visa programme permissions; KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface and the brand you sign up with. The governing law of KeyOne’s terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. Both the Cardholder Agreement and the Terms were last updated on 12 October 2026.
Is the KeyOne card free?
Yes on the Free plan. Card issuance and the monthly service fee are both EUR 0, and you get one virtual card with EUR 20,000 of spend per card per month. There is a Premium plan at EUR 149 a year paid from your balance, which lowers crypto top-up fees to 0.33% and raises the spend ceiling to EUR 30,000.
Which countries can get a KeyOne card?
Residents of 70 listed countries, including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan, Thailand, the UAE, Bahrain, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not listed. Eligibility turns on residence rather than citizenship.
Can I use the KeyOne card in my country?
You can use it wherever Visa is accepted, subject to restrictions: the site says some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted but does not list them. The issuer may also suspend or close a card used in an unsupported country. If cash machines matter to you, note that ATM terms are not stated anywhere on the public pages.
How do I top up the KeyOne card?
Four ways: USDC or USDT crypto at 0.8% plus the network fee on Free, SEPA or ACH at 0.8%, top-up from another Visa or Mastercard at about 4.5%, and in-app exchange at 0.3% on the first EUR 1,000 a month then 1.25%. Crypto withdrawals work on the Base network only. Which network to send USDC on is not stated.
Is KeyOne card safe?
Safer on the crypto side than most: the wallet is self-custody, keys sit on your device, and KeyOne cannot move your funds without your signature. The cost of that is that a lost device or PIN can mean permanent loss. On the card side, 3-D Secure and in-app blocking exist, but no deposit guarantee does.
Is KeyOne card worth it?
On the Free plan, yes, if you need a card at all and cannot get a bank one — there is no cost to try. The EUR 149 Premium plan only pays off if you are moving several thousand euros a month, since that is what takes 0.8% down to 0.33%. It is not worth it for cash access, which the card does not address.
How do I delete my KeyOne account?
Request it in the app under Profile > Support, or by email. You withdraw your remaining balances first, the card and accounts close with Wirex, and deletion completes within 30 days. KYC and transaction records are kept for 5 years. You can also close the card alone in the app at any time, which leaves your balance untouched.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
