The card that spends your collateral, and the two things to check before you lock any

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Anodos is not the kind of card you load money onto. You keep your crypto in your own wallet, lock part of it as collateral, and the card spends against that locked value — $100 of collateral gives you a $100 spending limit on any tier. That single design choice decides almost everything else about this card: who it suits, what it costs, and which risks are yours rather than the company’s. I went through the public terms and pages as they stood in late October 2026, and here is what I found.

Anodos works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.2 out of 10, and the score hides a split

Anodos earns a middling-good 7.2 out of 10. That number is an average of very different scores, and the spread matters more than the total: eligibility is excellent, cost is decent, and the areas that make a card boring and reliable — how you fund it, how solid the operator is — are the weakest. This is a card for someone who already holds crypto in a self-custody wallet and wants a Visa to spend it without touching the exchange. It is not a card for someone who wants to buy a coffee with a crypto deposit and forget the crypto exists.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Open in 150+ countries with a short exclusion list, though 17 countries are closed to residents
Cost 7 / 10 Free tier at $0, then $9.99 and $29.99 a month; FX 1.50% on the cheapest plan, $1.00 ATM fee plus 1.75%
Top-up options 6 / 10 No top-up at all — you lock collateral in your own wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, and the accepted coins are not listed
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Anodos Labs Inc. is not a bank, the issuer is Third National under a Visa licence, and the terms still contain a placeholder.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical or virtual card, ATM limit $5,000 a month on Free; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed
Total 7.2 / 10 Strong on access, uneven on substance

Who it suits: holders who keep crypto in their own wallet as collateral and want a spending line against it, in a country where a normal bank card is awkward or unavailable. Who it does not: anyone who wants a prepaid-style card they can top up, anyone who needs a wide app ecosystem or documented daily limits, and anyone who is uneasy about a card programme whose own terms have not been fully scrubbed of template text.

Who will they give you the card

Eligibility is the strongest thing about Anodos, and it is worth reading carefully because the rules are not one list but several.

By residence, the card cannot be issued to residents of seventeen countries: Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible regardless of where you live. Three countries — Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa — are served only under “enhanced review + explicit approval”, which in practice means you can apply and may not be approved. Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela, so a card issued to an eligible resident can still be dead on arrival in those places.

Russia is called out twice: cards cannot be issued to residents, and cards cannot be used for spending there. Belarus is closed to residents as well.

The terms also require users to attest that they are not US citizens, because the international programme is for people outside the United States. A separate US programme exists and covers 30 US states, which is a different product with its own rules. Citizenship matters separately from residence here — that is a common trap, and it is why the card asks about your passport rather than only your address.

The country availability page was last updated on 26 September 2026, so this list is the freshest thing I could find. If your country is on the exclusion list, there is no application route; if it is not on the list at all, the answer is genuinely “150+ countries, with a few exceptions” rather than a published enumeration.

How to get it

The signup path is short on documentation and short on detail. The card terms describe no KYC process — they simply require that you provide “true, correct, and complete” information, which is a statement of obligation rather than a description of checks. Age is not stated. Personal, family or household use only; business spending is not what this is for.

The actual step that matters is this: lock collateral in a linked wallet to set your spending limit. There is no application form in the conventional sense that I could find — you link a wallet, you choose a tier, and the limit follows the collateral. Verification levels are not stated.

The card itself comes as physical or virtual, issued under licence from Visa. One small thing to know before you budget: card delivery and replacement are not stated on the public pages, and neither is what happens if a physical card is lost. If the physical card matters to you, that is a question to ask support before you commit.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline numbers are friendly, the percentages are not negligible, and the ATM terms contradict themselves. Here is what the fee schedule actually says.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Anodos payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Free Pro Elite
Monthly fee $0 (“Financial Freedom”) $9.99 (“Empower Pro”) $29.99 (“Sovereign Elite”)
Annual option — $99.90/yr $299.90/yr
Card FX / international fee 1.50% 1.25% 1.00%
Currency exchange (non-card) 1.00% 0.75% 0.50%
ATM fee $1.00 + 1.75% $1.00 + 1.00% $1.00 + 0.75%
ATM monthly limit $5,000 $10,000 $15,000
Extra virtual card $20 $10 $10
First virtual card free free free

Interest is 0% APR on purchases currently, a late payment costs “up to $40”, and a returned payment is $29.00. Now the three payments people actually make, and which lines above apply.

Paying in a shop, in dollars, on the Free plan, costs 0% in card fees — but if you are abroad, or even paying a US merchant from outside the US, the 1.50% card FX fee applies, and the card network converts any foreign-currency transaction to USD first. That means the merchant’s local amount is converted to dollars, then 1.50% is added on the dollar side. On Pro the same purchase is 1.25%, on Elite 1.00%.

Taking money out at an ATM costs $1.00 plus 1.75% on Free, and the monthly ceiling is $5,000 there. So a $200 withdrawal costs $1.00 plus $3.50, before whatever the ATM operator charges you. That same $1.00 base fee with a smaller percentage on the paid tiers is the argument for upgrading, if you use ATMs at all.

Converting crypto yourself, outside the card, is cheaper: 1.00% on Free against the card’s 1.50% FX. That gap is the reason some holders convert in the app and use the card as a plain dollar card.

Two warnings about this table. The same terms that describe ATM withdrawals also state that “cash advances and balance transfers are not available”, which reads as a direct conflict with a fee line and a $5,000 monthly limit. Take the ATM schedule as indicative and confirm before you rely on it. And the spending limit is not a promise: it equals your collateral value, but limits are “dynamic and may be modified at any time”, including down to $0. Daily limits are not stated.

How to top up the card

There is no top-up, and understanding why is the whole point of the product.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Anodos starts with a transfer to the right network

Your collateral is held in your own wallet, on a supported blockchain: Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum (written “Arbitrum” in the terms) — or others the issuer adds later. Which coins count is not listed, which means the practical answer is “you check the app, and that list can change without a term update”. Adding collateral means locking tokens in your wallet and raising the limit; lowering it means unlocking.

This is not a small difference from a normal prepaid card. On a prepaid card you deposit and the provider holds the money. Here, Anodos and the issuer state they “will not, in any circumstance, be holding custody of your Collateral”, and you grant them a security interest in what stays in your wallet. The card draws against your assets; you keep the keys and the risk.

Withdrawing is not a feature of this design — the collateral stays where it is. On termination, the card must be surrendered or destroyed, and your repayment obligations survive the end of the relationship. There is no deposit fee listed in the fee schedule, but gas fees on a liquidation are paid out of the collateral, which is a cost that comes off your principal rather than off a statement.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this behaves like a prepaid Visa with a limit set by you, and that raises one habit question: since the limit is collateral-backed and dynamic, spending close to your limit every month means your collateral has to grow with your spending.

Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not stated. That matters more than it sounds — a virtual card with no documented mobile wallet is more typing into checkout forms and more exposure to declined payments. Cash-like transactions (crypto purchases, gambling, money transfers) may be restricted, which is normal for card programmes but worth knowing before you plan a month around it. Rewards are not stated in the card terms.

The Anodos app is where you send, save and invest; which platforms it runs on is not stated and I found no store ratings. Disputes work the ordinary way: try the merchant first, then report within 60 days of the charge being posted on your periodic statement. Pending disputed charges may still be due while they are argued over, and the card network’s rules apply throughout.

One practical category note, since it bites people abroad: many issuers block gambling merchant codes, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines in the US, Canada and the UK. A card whose limit is backed by volatile collateral can also be declined at the moment you need it if your collateral moved.

What can go wrong

Start with the structure, because it is the part no fee schedule will fix.

Anodos Labs Inc. is a technology provider and states plainly that it is “not a bank, credit union, or money services business”. The issuer is Third National, under a Visa licence. The terms are governed by Puerto Rico law, with binding AAA arbitration in New York. So your counterparty on the card programme is a licensed issuer, while the party you interact with is a technology company — and that company is not a regulated bank holding your money.

Non-custody is the security story and it cuts both ways. The good half: nobody can run off with your collateral. The other half: the terms are explicit that a liquidation event is triggered if payment is not made “within one (1) calendar day”, or if your collateral value falls below your outstanding charges — and that the account may be suspended or cancelled “in our sole discretion”. A one-day window is short. A collateral value that drops is exactly the scenario you would be stressed in. Two-factor authentication and an in-app card freeze are not stated, so I cannot tell you they exist.

Then the smaller but telling items. The terms contain an unresolved placeholder, which is the sort of thing that should not survive in a document you are asked to accept. No official incidents were found, and public user reviews are not yet available — there is no Trustpilot page or community discussion. Absence of complaints from a young card is not evidence of a good record; it is evidence of a thin one.

The category context sharpens this. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed. Those are the two names people remember; the general lesson is that crypto card programmes get closed, and a closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Support is email at [email protected] and phone at +1 (307) 683-5768, with X, Discord, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and TikTok as official channels; languages and hours are not stated.

What to take instead

Two of the alternatives I looked at are worth your time, and one is worth a sentence.

Card Score What it is What you give up
Anodos 7.2 / 10 Collateral-backed Visa, your crypto stays in your wallet No top-up model, accepted coins not listed
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Visa, virtual and physical, Cash mode on stablecoins and Credit mode borrowing against holdings Annual fee from $99; country list not stated
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, spends from your Nexo account Custodial account; only selected European countries
Sponge 4.9 / 10 Virtual card, USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet Sparse disclosure — no country list, fees or pricing on the pages

Xplace is the higher-scoring one. It takes BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on Solana, spends stablecoins in Cash mode or borrows in Credit mode, and offers 0% FX on Platinum. Its downside is that Basic is free but Silver is $99 a year, Gold $249 and Platinum $999, and its country list is not stated — “services are not available in all jurisdictions” is the whole answer, which is the same gap that makes Anodos hard to trust.

Nexo is the custodial option: more than 100 digital assets in one account, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode, FX 0.2% in the EEA and UK on weekdays against 2% elsewhere, and cashback in Credit Mode if you hold over $5,000. It is also the most geographically restricted — residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK — and there is a non-official news report of a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on its Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations, with no official Nexo statement on Russians found. I am flagging that as reported by a third party, not confirmed.

Sponge I would skip. A virtual card created with createSpongeCard, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, funded by moving USDC from the Sponge wallet. Country list, cost, fees and rewards: all not stated on its pages.

Who I would recommend it to

If you already run a self-custody wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, you are comfortable with a spending limit that shrinks if the market moves, and you live outside the seventeen excluded countries, this card does one unusual thing well: it gives you a Visa line against crypto you never sold.

I would not be the person to recommend it if your priority is a predictable top-up-and-spend routine, if you need daily limits or Apple Pay documented, or if you are the kind of user who reads a placeholder in the terms and stops. For that last group, an established custodial platform with published fees will feel duller and safer.

My own checklist, in order: confirm your country and passport are eligible; run a small test with collateral you can afford to lose the line on; test one payment in the currency you actually spend in, to see the FX fee land; and ask support the two questions the pages do not answer — what happens to a physical card you lose, and what does a liquidation actually look like at the one-day mark. Support answers by email at [email protected] and by phone at +1 (307) 683-5768.

Frequently asked questions

What is Anodos?

Anodos is a crypto payment company that issues a Visa card under licence from a third-party issuer, Third National. What makes it unusual is the funding: instead of you topping up a balance, you lock crypto in your own wallet as collateral and spend against that locked value. $100 of collateral gives a $100 limit on any tier. Anodos Labs Inc. is the technology provider and states it is not a bank.

How does the Anodos card work?

You link your own wallet, lock part of your crypto balance as collateral, and the card’s spending limit matches that collateral value. When you pay, the charge draws against the locked value, and if you do not pay within one calendar day, or your collateral falls below the outstanding balance, a liquidation event is triggered. The collateral itself stays in your wallet — Anodos says it never takes custody of it.

Is Anodos a bank?

No. Anodos Labs Inc. describes itself as “not a bank, credit union, or money services business” and as a technology provider. The card is issued by Third National under a Visa licence. Your card counterparty is that issuer; the company you deal with is not a regulated bank, and the terms are governed by Puerto Rico law with binding AAA arbitration in New York.

Who can apply for an Anodos card?

Cards are available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions. Cards cannot be issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa are served only with enhanced review and explicit approval.

How much does the Anodos card cost?

The Free tier is $0 with a free first virtual card. Pro is $9.99 a month or $99.90 a year; Elite is $29.99 a month or $299.90 a year. Card FX is 1.50% on Free, 1.25% on Pro and 1.00% on Elite. ATM withdrawals cost $1.00 plus 1.75% on Free, with a $5,000 monthly limit.

Is the Anodos card free?

The Free tier has no monthly or annual fee and includes one virtual card at no charge, and interest on purchases is currently 0% APR. But “free” covers only the subscription. Foreign-currency spending still costs 1.50% on that tier, an extra virtual card costs $20, and an ATM withdrawal costs $1.00 plus 1.75%. Check the costs table above before deciding that free means inexpensive.

Does the Anodos card require KYC?

The card terms describe no KYC process. What they do require is that you provide “true, correct, and complete” information, and they ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen, since the international programme serves people outside the United States. A separate US programme exists across 30 states. Age is not stated, and the card is for personal, family or household use.

How do I top up the Anodos card?

You don’t, and that is a design decision rather than a missing feature. The collateral model means you increase spending by locking more crypto in your wallet, and the supported networks are Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum. The list of accepted coins is not published. There is no top-up function and no deposit fee in the fee schedule; gas fees on a liquidation are paid from your collateral.

Is the Anodos card safe?

The non-custodial side is genuinely strong: Anodos says it never holds custody of your collateral, so a provider failure cannot take your assets. The risk sits with you instead — a one-calendar-day payment window, liquidation if collateral value drops below your balance, and suspension or cancellation at the company’s sole discretion. Two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are not stated. Treat it as holding your own keys with none of a bank’s backstops.

Can I add the Anodos card to Apple Wallet?

The public pages do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay support are simply not stated, and that is worth asking support about before you rely on the virtual card for daily payments, because typing card details into checkout forms is where foreign-issued cards most often get declined. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a related problem in the US, Canada and the UK.

Is the Anodos card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold crypto in a self-custody wallet and want a Visa line without selling, and if 1.50% FX on the free tier does not bother you. Not worth it if you want a predictable prepaid balance, documented daily limits, or a mobile wallet. The higher-scoring alternative in my comparison was Xplace at 7.7 out of 10, with 0% FX on its top tier, at the cost of an annual fee starting at $99 on Silver.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team