A virtual USDC Visa for people who want to hold their own keys

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Utorg card is a virtual Visa that spends from a USDC balance, the kind of card that appeals to people who already keep their crypto in a self-custody wallet and would rather not hand over their private keys to a payments company. It is offered by the same group that runs the Utorg exchange and on-board exchange, and the card itself is now run by the partner Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. (Wirex Pay programme). This review walks through who it suits, what it costs in practice, how funding works, what daily use looks like and where the friction still lives.

Utorg works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The information below is current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Utorg earns 6.3 out of 10 in this review. It is best understood as a narrow, well-priced tool: zero issuance, zero monthly fee, zero foreign-exchange markup, all advertised as limited-time promotions, with a single funding coin (USDC) on five networks. That simplicity is the appeal, and it is also the ceiling. There is no physical card, no ATM access, no cashback, no second coin, and the country list on the card page is much shorter than the 190-plus countries Utorg’s FAQ implies. If you live in the EEA or in Ukraine and you already think in USDC, this card does the basics cheaply. If you want a card for travel cash, a card that earns rewards, or a card that works for everyone, the score reflects the limits.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Card page lists EEA countries plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein; FAQ claims 190+ countries and the gap is not explained
Cost 8 / 10 Zero issuance and monthly fee, zero FX markup and payment fees, all “for a limited time”; the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee is not stated
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDC on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana and BSC; no other coins are listed on the card page
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. with Wirex Pay is named as the card provider in current terms; older pages named Utrg UAB and the issuer history is not clean; Trustpilot sits at 4.2 from 952 reviews
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, available right after KYC, with Apple Pay and Google Pay; no physical card, no ATM, no cashback
Total 6.3 / 10 A useful EEA and Ukraine tool for USDC holders, with thin features elsewhere

The audience the score fits is the same one the card page targets: EEA residents and people in Ukraine who hold USDC and want to spend it through a familiar Visa number. The audience the card does not fit is everyone else. If you sit in a country the card page does not name, if you travel to places where you need physical plastic, if you want to earn something back on your spending, or if you need to draw cash from an ATM, the score will read lower for you.

Who will they give you the card

The country question is the first one to settle, because everything else depends on whether Utorg will let you open an account at all. The card page is more restrictive than the FAQ. It lists EEA countries, naming Italy, Germany, Spain, France and the Netherlands as examples, and adds Ukraine, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The FAQ, on the other hand, claims support in “190+ countries”. That gap is real and Utorg does not explain it. If you live outside the named EEA set plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein, the safe interpretation is that the card page is the live rule and the FAQ is the older claim.

Residence versus citizenship is not stated. That matters for cross-border readers, for example someone holding a passport from one country and living in another. The card page does not say whether the test is your address, your passport, or both, and you should plan to confirm that point with support before you upload any documents.

A third-party listing from August 2026 names 31 countries where the card is available, the same EEA block plus Ukraine, and a set of restricted countries including Afghanistan, China, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the United States. That list is unofficial and not confirmed by the card itself, so I would treat it as a directional signal rather than a promise: if your country appears in the restricted set on a third-party site, expect friction even if Utorg’s own pages look neutral.

There is one practical consequence. A person in a country that Utorg does not list should not assume the FAQ figure covers them. The cleanest test is to start the sign-up flow and see whether your country appears in the address drop-down. That is the public information, but the application itself is the only confirmation that counts.

How to get it

Sign-up is built around identity verification. Utorg calls its KYC process AI-powered and says it finishes in under five minutes. In practice you upload an identity document and complete a liveness check, which is the short video or selfie loop the system uses to match your face to the document. The card page does not state a minimum age, nor does it call out a separate proof of address, so I would plan to have a recent utility bill or bank statement ready in case the system asks for one mid-flow. Utorg’s help center has articles on Source of Funds and on accepted document types, and a company reply to a March 2023 Trustpilot complaint rejected an application because the passport was missing a signature and the bank statement was sent as a screenshot rather than a PDF. That is a useful warning: a clean PDF of a signed document will save you a round trip.

Once verification is done you get a virtual Visa right away. There is no physical card mentioned anywhere on the card page, and no delivery step to plan for. The card is added inside the app, and from there it can be tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay. The Android path needs app version 2.88.0 or higher for card setup, so it is worth updating the app before you finish KYC, not after.

The company behind the card is UTORG LABS HOLDING LTD, registered in Abu Dhabi, with a card programme run by Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. in collaboration with Wirex Pay and Wirex Limited. The card page does not name the issuer in plain English, and the footer adds a familiar disclaimer that Utorg is not attributed to banking services. The currency model is straightforward: you pay in USDC, the merchant receives local currency. The conversion sits behind the scenes, and the spread on that conversion is the part Utorg does not put a number on (more on this in the costs section).

A short, ordered look at sign-up:

Fees and what it really costs

Cost is where the card looks strongest. Utorg states zero issuance, zero monthly fee, zero FX markup and zero payment fees, and frames every one of these as “for a limited time”. That last phrase matters: a reader signing up today is signing up under a promotional schedule, not a permanent fee schedule, and the only way to know when that schedule changes is to read the current terms page each time you reload it. The terms in force on 17 September 2026 are the baseline for this review.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Utorg payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card page states a monthly spending limit of up to EUR 30,000 and another page refers to “high monthly limits” without giving a number. Daily, per-transaction and per-KYC-level limits are not stated. A third-party source from August 2026 puts the unofficial monthly ceiling at EUR 50,000 and warns that limits can be lower after risk checks; that figure is unofficial and contradicts the card page, so the EUR 30,000 figure is the one to plan around until Utorg updates the page.

The fee the card page does not state is the one most likely to bite in daily use: the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee. The card converts your USDC into whatever currency the merchant charges you in, and the spread on that conversion is not on the public fee page. A third-party site says the conversion runs at a live rate and that the provider’s terms allow spreads, markups, network costs and dispute charges. That is consistent with how the rest of the crypto card market works, but it means the “zero fees” framing is narrower than it looks. You pay nothing on issuance, monthly, FX or payment, but the rate at which your USDC becomes euros or dollars is the real cost of using the card.

Fee or limit Amount Note
Issuance 0 Marked “for a limited time”
Monthly fee 0 Marked “for a limited time”
FX markup 0 Marked “for a limited time”; applies when the merchant charges in a non-USD currency
Payment fee 0 Marked “for a limited time”
Crypto-to-fiat conversion Not stated Spread not disclosed on the card page; live-rate conversion per third-party source
ATM withdrawal Not stated No ATM mentioned; unofficial source says the virtual card has no ATM access
Daily limit Not stated Not published on the card page
Per-transaction limit Not stated Not published on the card page
Monthly limit Up to EUR 30,000 Unofficial source lists up to EUR 50,000; treat EUR 30,000 as the live figure
Top-up fee Not stated on card page Unofficial source advertises a EUR 0 top-up fee

Three everyday payments make the picture concrete. At a café in Berlin where the merchant charges in euros, you tap to pay with Apple Pay, the card converts USDC to euros at Utorg’s rate, and the only line items you should see on your statement are the euro amount and any spread the conversion eats into the rate. There is no separate payment fee and no FX markup line. At a hotel in Tokyo where the merchant charges in yen, the same path applies: the FX markup is advertised as zero, and the spread inside the USDC-to-yen conversion is again the variable part. The third case is the one to watch: a recurring subscription billed in dollars, where the USDC is converted once and the spread is the only real cost. In all three cases, what the card page calls zero is the explicit fees, and what the card page does not call out is the implicit cost in the rate.

A few extra cost notes that matter in practice:

Top up with USDC on five networks

Funding is the most concrete part of the card. Utorg accepts USDC on five networks: Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana and BSC. The card page does not list any other coin, so the realistic funding menu for a new user is USDC across one of those five rails. Help-center articles ask why USDT is not available for card top-up and explain “Gasless top-up”, which suggests there is some way to skip the network fee on at least one of those networks, but the help center answers were not part of the public material I worked from, so the safe plan is to assume you will pay the network’s standard gas on a normal transfer.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Utorg starts with a transfer to the right network

The card page is light on the specifics that tend to matter at the moment of transfer. The deposit fee, the minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated. A third-party source advertises a EUR 0 top-up fee, with the conversion happening in real time at the moment of purchase rather than from a prefunded euro balance. The legacy card, that same source says, required you to load a euro balance first. If that change has carried over to the current product, the practical consequence is that you do not need to manage a euro float inside the app, but you also do not have a buffer in case the conversion rate moves against you between the moment you initiate the payment and the moment the merchant captures it.

The networks choice has its own trade-offs. Ethereum mainnet is the most familiar and the most expensive in gas. Polygon and Arbitrum are Ethereum layer-2 networks with cheaper fees and shorter confirmation times. Solana is a separate chain with very cheap transfers but a different address format. BSC is the Binance Smart Chain, with low fees and a different address format from Ethereum-style networks. Sending USDC to the wrong network is a real risk, because transfers are irreversible and an address that looks right on the wrong chain can mean lost funds. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so the older “USDC over TRC20” path is closed, and the same caution applies to any address format that does not match the network Utorg assigned to you.

A short, practical funding checklist:

Paying with it every day

In daily use the card behaves like a standard contactless Visa, with the limits of a virtual product. You can pay online wherever Visa is accepted, in store by adding the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and in apps that support either wallet. The card page does not list blocked merchant categories, and the terms do not publish a category list either, which is a small gap: if a specific category matters to you, the cleanest test is to ask support before you sign up.

There is no cashback, no rewards programme and no tier structure. A July 2026 Trustpilot review makes the same point directly: “No cashback”. For a reader who treats the card as a payments tool rather than a spending-optimisation product, the lack of rewards is not a problem. For a reader who compares the card on a like-for-like basis with rewards-bearing crypto cards, it is a meaningful gap, and the score for everyday use reflects that.

The mobile app is the control surface. It is available for iOS and Android, with the Android card-setup path needing version 2.88.0 or higher. The card page cites a Trustpilot score of 4.9 out of 5 for the app, which is a Utorg marketing line and not the App Store or Google Play rating; the actual store ratings were not read for this review. The card can be frozen and unfrozen from the app, which is a useful control if a phone is lost or a subscription starts looking suspicious.

A reader’s likely friction points are around disputes. The terms updated on 17 September 2026 say Utorg cannot approve, reverse or decide chargebacks, cannot cancel card transactions, and disclaims refunds and disputes. Disputes go to the card provider, which is Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. working with Wirex Pay. Claims relating to Utorg itself must be filed within one year or they are barred. The terms do not state dispute time frames, so the practical expectation is the same as for any other Visa programme: contact the merchant first, then the card provider, and keep your evidence. The card is the only Visa number you hold, so losing the right to dispute through Utorg is not a problem, but it is a reminder that the company you interact with in the app is not the entity that actually decides what happens to a contested charge.

Two extra everyday-use points worth knowing:

What can go wrong

The risk list is the section to read slowly, because the headline cost structure is friendly and the operational structure is not as clean.

Issuer history is the first thing I would check. The card page does not name the issuer in plain English. A review site from earlier named Utrg UAB in Lithuania, the current terms name the provider Chain Valley, and an April 2026 press release says Wirex now powers card spending for Utorg wallet users. That is two issuer names in the public record and a third party, Wirex, supplying the card infrastructure. The reconciliation is straightforward: the card programme has changed hands, the old issuer is no longer involved, and the current programme runs through the Chain Valley partnership. The friction is that the card page does not tell you this in one place, and a reader who Googles “Utorg card issuer” will find the older name first.

Security is the second item. The card page calls itself “the first non-custodial Crypto Card” and the FAQ says “You hold your keys. You hold your crypto.” That framing puts the card in the self-custody camp, where your USDC sits in your own wallet until the moment of payment and Utorg does not hold a pooled balance on your behalf. The terms go further: Utorg does not issue cards, does not provide payment accounts, does not issue e-money, and does not custody fiat or digital assets for the card. That is a clean description of a programme-manager role. The flip side is that the card page does not state insurance or safeguarding for any in-flight conversion balance, and does not mention two-factor authentication in its main materials. The help center has an article on freezing and unfreezing the card, which is the practical control to know about.

The regulatory backdrop adds one more layer. The card provider sits in the EU payments space, and the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation (MiCA) has been phasing in since June 2023, with stablecoin rules from 30 June 2024 and the rest, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. E-money tokens under MiCA may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The current Utorg programme is built around an EMI partner rather than a bank, and the grandfathering period for firms operating under national law runs until 1 July 2026 or until authorisation, whichever comes first. A reader does not need to act on this directly, but it is the reason a card that looked one way two years ago can look different today, and it is the reason the issuer history is the messy shape it is.

Customer feedback is the third signal. The Utorg Trustpilot profile sits at 4.2 out of 5 from 952 reviews, with only five reviews in the last twelve months. The themes that show up are familiar: a cancelled transaction and a slow refund in early 2024, repeated KYC rejections in March 2023, and a wallet reported closed in August 2026, to which Utorg replied that the wallet remains available. No card-specific complaint dominates the profile. The single card-related review from July 2026 is positive on speed and negative on rewards, in the same “instant, no cashback” tone. A 4.2 from 952 reviews is broadly fine, and the small recent volume means the most recent year is more signal than the historical average.

Support is the fourth item, and it is the area where the score is hardest to defend. Utorg’s help center, support team and [email protected] are listed, with availability “seven days a week”, and the help center itself is available in English and Ukrainian. Hours are not stated. For a reader whose country is not on the EEA list and who is using the older “190+ countries” FAQ as a signal, the practical advice is to test support before you commit: send an email, see how fast it comes back, and see whether the answer matches the card page or the older FAQ. That is the cleanest way to know which side of the country gap you are on.

A short risk summary:

What to take instead

The comparison set below is a way to put the Utorg card in context. Each alternative is a card I have read about in the same research pass, scored against the same kind of criteria, and presented here as a reference point rather than a recommendation.

Card Score Type Funding Cashback Notable
Utorg card 6.3 / 10 Virtual Visa, EEA + Ukraine, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein USDC on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana, BSC None Zero issuance and monthly fee, zero FX markup (all limited-time)
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued Platinum Visa (virtual) USDC/USDT, USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow None stated Restricted in a long list of countries, including Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela; USD card use is free, 2% FX fee on other currencies
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard, multi-currency Not stated on the page I read Up to 3% spend-to-earn “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; assets converted at live OTC rates
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, US-only for consumers (31 states), spend from a Whop balance Balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet 5% at select merchants (Uber) Targeted at the US consumer market, not at EEA residents

The table is the high-level view; the details matter for the reader’s own country and use case.

International Visa Card. A virtual U.S.-issued Platinum Visa. The card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The card is free to issue at the virtual tier, with a one-time $5 charge, and the plan structure is Classic free, Pro $9 per month, Max $19 per month. USD card use is free, foreign currency carries the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and there is no deposit fee. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card’s edge is the US dollar base and the free USD card use; its cost is the explicit 2% FX fee and the long country list.

UNi Card. A Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance, with a “no annual fee” line and an explicit “no foreign transaction fee” line. The card page says assets are converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” and advertises spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. The page I read did not state the country list, the funding options or the physical-versus-virtual split, so the comparison is necessarily thin. The best fit is a reader who can already hold a UNi.Global account and wants the Mastercard network and a small rewards line.

Whop Cards. A Visa that spends from a Whop balance, with consumer access in 31 US states and a long unsupported country list that includes Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The card offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber. The page I read did not state the card currency, the issuance or monthly fee, or the funding coins. The best fit is a US-based reader who can already fund a Whop balance and who values the merchant-specific cashback.

The score ordering (6.7, 6.3, 6.1, 5.2) does not mean the International Visa Card is the right pick for every reader. It is the right pick for a US dollar-based reader who is happy to live with the 2% FX fee and the long restricted-country list. The Utorg card is the right pick for a USDC-heavy EEA or Ukraine reader who wants zero explicit fees. UNi Card sits in the middle, and Whop Cards is the niche pick for a US consumer in one of the 31 supported states.

Who I would recommend it to

The Utorg card fits a specific reader. If you live in the EEA, in Ukraine, in Norway, in Iceland or in Liechtenstein, if your working currency is USDC, if you already hold your crypto in a self-custody wallet, and if your daily use is online and in-store contactless through Apple Pay or Google Pay, the card does the job at a low explicit cost. The zero-issuance, zero-monthly, zero-FX-markup line is real for as long as the limited-time promotion runs, and the five-network USDC funding list covers the rails most self-custody users already use.

The card is a poor fit if you want a physical card, if you want to draw cash from an ATM, if you want cashback or other rewards, if your country is not on the EEA-plus list, or if you want a clean public record of who issues the card and who decides disputes. The issuer history, the limited-time framing of the zero-fee structure, and the gap between the card page and the FAQ are the three reasons to read the terms before you commit. None of them are deal-breakers on their own, and the score reflects the trade-off rather than a single problem.

If I had to put a one-line summary on the card it would be this: a clean, narrow tool for EEA and Ukraine residents who already think in USDC, with the kind of operational messiness that a reader who values clarity should read twice before signing up.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Utorg card?

The Utorg card is a virtual Visa that lets you spend from a USDC balance. You fund it with USDC on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC, the card converts the USDC to the merchant’s currency at the moment of payment, and you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is run by Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. in collaboration with Wirex Pay under Utorg’s brand.

How does the Utorg card work?

You sign up, complete the AI KYC (an identity document and a liveness check), receive a virtual Visa, fund it with USDC on one of the five supported networks, and then pay online or in store through the Visa number or through a tokenised mobile wallet. The conversion from USDC to local currency happens in the background at a rate the card page does not publish.

Is Utorg a bank?

No. Utorg describes itself as not attributed to banking services, and the card programme is run by a payments partner rather than a bank. UTORG LABS HOLDING LTD is the company behind the brand, registered in Abu Dhabi, and the card provider is named in the current terms as Chain Valley Sp. z o.o.

Who owns Utorg?

The card page and footer identify UTORG LABS HOLDING LTD as the site owner, registered in Abu Dhabi. The card itself is provided by Chain Valley, which is a different legal entity. The two are connected through the card programme rather than through a single banking licence.

Is the Utorg card available in my country?

The card page lists EEA countries plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The FAQ claims support in “190+ countries”. A third-party site from August 2026 names 31 countries and lists Afghanistan, China, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the United States as restricted. The cleanest test is to start the sign-up flow and check whether your country appears in the address drop-down.

Does the Utorg card require KYC?

Yes. Utorg says its KYC is AI-powered and finishes in under five minutes, with an identity document and a liveness check. The card page does not state a minimum age or a separate proof-of-address requirement, but the help center has articles on Source of Funds and on accepted document types, and Utorg has rejected past applications for missing signatures and for screenshot-only bank statements.

How do I add the Utorg card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Open the Utorg app, complete the KYC and receive the virtual Visa, then use the standard “add card” flow inside Apple Wallet or Google Wallet. The Android card-setup path needs app version 2.88.0 or higher, so update the app before you start.

How do I top up the Utorg card?

Send USDC from your self-custody wallet to the funding address the app gives you, on the network the app assigns (Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC). The deposit fee, the minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated on the card page. Send a small test amount first if you have not used the path before, because transfers are irreversible.

Is the Utorg card free?

Issuance, the monthly fee, the FX markup and the payment fee are all advertised as zero “for a limited time”. The card page does not state a separate crypto-to-fiat conversion fee, and a third-party source says the conversion runs at a live rate with spreads and markups allowed in the provider’s terms. The “free” framing is about explicit fees; the rate at which your USDC becomes local currency is the implicit cost.

Is the Utorg card safe?

The card page calls it “the first non-custodial Crypto Card” and the FAQ says “You hold your keys. You hold your crypto.” That keeps the funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment. The terms say Utorg does not custody fiat or digital assets for the card and disclaims chargebacks and disputes, with disputes going to the card provider. The card can be frozen and unfrozen from the app, which is the practical control to use if a phone is lost.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team