Tria promises a card for almost any token in 200+ regions — the fine print is where it gets interesting

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Tria is a Visa card that spends a crypto balance, sold in three tiers — a digital Lite, a plastic Pro and a metal Max — and it is unusual in how much of the crypto world it will accept: more than 1,000 tokens across nine named networks. That breadth is its main draw. The card also reports zero of its own FX fee and no Tria deposit fee at present, which makes it look cheap next to cards that charge a percentage on every top-up. Where I would hold back: the operator and issuer are not named on the official pages I could read, the trust and safety picture rests on two Trustpilot reviews, and physical cards are still shipped in batches with delivery times and costs simply not stated. I gave it 7.3 out of 10 — strong on choice and everyday use, weak on transparency.

Tria works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this card is really for

Tria scores 7.3 / 10. That is a card that works well if you hold a wide spread of tokens, if you want a choice of three tiers, and if you mostly spend rather than hoard. It is a much weaker fit if your priority is knowing exactly which legal entity stands behind your money, if you need a card in your hand next week, or if you want a published cashback percentage you can plan a budget around.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Country of residence rule, a dropdown of 200+ regions; an unlisted country fails KYC
Cost 7 / 10 Lite $0, Pro $109/year, Max $250/year; Tria FX 0, no top-up fee, ATM $1.00 + 1%; unofficial figures: FX 4%, Lite $20
Top-up options 9 / 10 1,000+ tokens; Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos, Solana, USDC and USDT over L2 and Solana; minimums BTC $50, everything else $10
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator and issuer not named (unofficial: issuer Nimbus, LLC); Trustpilot 3.4 out of 2 reviews, one questioning the company’s legitimacy
Everyday use 9 / 10 Lite digital, Pro plastic, Max metal; Apple Pay and Google Pay where supported; ATM on Pro and Max, none on Lite

The audience Tria is built for is straightforward: people already holding a lot of different tokens who want them spendable from one card without swapping each time. If you hold a single stablecoin and spend it like a bank card, you are paying for breadth you do not use — though Lite is free, so that argument is weaker for the entry tier.

Will they give you the card

The rule is by country of residence, not citizenship. Your documents have to match the country of residence you select, and you have to be physically there. The app’s dropdown lists 200+ regions — Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK and the US among the examples given — and if you pick a country that is not on the list, the KYC check fails rather than the application being quietly delayed. Citizenship is not addressed on the pages I read, which means I cannot tell you whether holding a passport from a restricted country disqualifies you. One account per person.

Physical cards are the sticking point: shipping exists only “once shipping is officially enabled” for your country. So even if you pass KYC in a listed region, the plastic or metal card may never arrive, and that is a per-country status the card does not publish as a simple yes or no.

The reasoning behind the residence rule is worth holding on to, because it is the same logic that closes accounts elsewhere. KYC rules exist because regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing transaction monitoring. In the EU that due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check; in the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence precisely because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth rather than to where you live. A residence-based rule is the normal shape of this, and the card is not unusual in that respect.

How to get it

You buy the card first, then complete verification once in the mobile app — desktop is not supported. The flow is personal details, a valid identity document and a selfie photo check, at 18 and over.

What the public pages do not say is as interesting as what they do: the accepted document types and any proof-of-address requirement are not stated here. A separate “KYC Document Requirements” article is referenced, and the app is where the exact list lives. Plan to have a passport and a second document to hand anyway.

There are no KYC tiers — it is a one-time check — and processing time is not stated. The official reasons applications get refused are, however, listed, and they are a useful sanity check before you start:

That last one overlaps with the residence rule above: your documents must match the country you chose, expired or damaged documents may not be accepted, and a VPN is treated as a mismatch signal rather than a neutral tool.

Fees and what a payment really costs

Here is where the marketing and the help centre deserve to be read side by side. The card states annual memberships and points you at the Membership section of the app for the price, noting that it varies by region; third-party estimates put Lite at about $20–25, Pro at about $90–109 and Max at about $225–250. The renewal figures the card does publish are Pro $109/year and Max $250/year, with promotional first-year prices cited as $90 for Pro and $225 for Max, Lite free and renewing at $0.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Tria payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Lite membership Free, renews at $0
Pro membership $109/year (promotional first year cited at $90)
Max membership $250/year (promotional first year cited at $225)
Card issuance Not stated; annual memberships, upgrade in app
Tria service fee on deposits None “at this time”; provider fees may apply
Tria FX fee Zero; Visa FX fee may still apply; Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%
ATM (Pro and Max) $1.00 + 1% of amount; $750 per transaction, 3 withdrawals per 24h (Japan-specific article)
ATM (Lite) No ATM
Spend limit “up to millions per day”, no exact figure
Cashback spend caps $1,000/month (Lite, Pro), $2,000/month (Max)
Free ATM allowance Not stated

Three ordinary payments, with what actually applies:

Coffee at a local café. You tap and pay. The balance converts to local currency (USD or EUR) at the moment of payment. Tria’s own FX fee is zero for members, so what can still land on you is the Visa FX fee if your card’s Visa rate includes one. Cashback applies if the spend is eligible, and it counts against the monthly cap — $1,000 on Lite and Pro, $2,000 on Max. Nothing is charged by Tria for the conversion itself.

A monthly subscription or a hotel abroad. Same conversion path, and Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%. The catch is that “under 1%” is a claim about its own layer, not about Visa’s. Third-party reviewers call the “0% FX” marketing misleading, citing terms of up to 3% FX — that is unverified and not something I can confirm from the card’s own pages, so treat it as a reason to look at your Visa rate rather than as a fact. Also worth knowing: merchants can look up the card’s issuer country from the card number, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright, and address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of declines.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM. Pro and Max cost $1.00 plus 1% of the amount, capped at $750 per transaction, three withdrawals per 24 hours; the article carrying those numbers is Japan-specific, and there is no stated free allowance. Lite has no ATM at all. If cash is part of your week, Lite is the wrong tier — that is a structural difference, not a fee you can pay your way out of.

The card converts to local currency at payment rather than holding a multi-currency balance — whether a multi-currency balance exists is not stated. On cashback, the percentages and payout currency are also not stated publicly; the app shows them, and cashback scales by tier with Lite basic, Pro higher and Max highest.

How to top up

This is the strongest part of the card. Top up from the Tria Wallet or from supported external wallets such as Gemini and MiniPay, or buy with a credit or debit card, and you have 1,000+ tokens available. Minimums are $50 for BTC and $10 for every other token. Networks named for card top-ups are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana; Avalanche is not supported for card top-ups, and SOL has to be converted first, though USDC and USDT do run on Solana. Tron is only used for network fees and is not a supported top-up route.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Tria starts with a transfer to the right network
Top-up route Notes
Tria Wallet 1,000+ tokens; minimum BTC $50, other tokens $10
External wallets Gemini, MiniPay named as supported
Credit or debit card Available to purchase the card/top up
Stablecoins over L2 USDC/USDT on Optimism, Arbitrum, Base, Polygon typically cheapest
Avalanche Not supported for card top-ups
Solana Supported for tokens; SOL itself must be converted first

On cost: most chains are gasless, Solana needs native SOL for fees, and the Tron network fee is charged and needs TRX. There is no direct Tria service fee on deposits at present, but a “Provider Fee” covering swaps, liquidity routing and bridging is shown in the app before you confirm — that is the number to look at, not the headline. Arrival is typically instant, up to two to four hours in congestion. A renewal article mentions topping up with “supported crypto or fiat” but gives no detail on which fiat routes exist.

The reason gasless chains and cheap L2s matter so much is a general property of the category: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. That is why the cheapest route for stablecoins is usually an L2 — and why choosing the wrong network is expensive in a different way. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a deposit sent on an unsupported network or to another network’s address can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. There is also a network-level constraint people forget: on Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices fees in bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX.

One reassurance worth having: the wallet is self-custodial, and renewing or downgrading your membership does not affect the wallet or its funds.

Paying with it every day

Day to day this behaves like an ordinary Visa. You link to Apple Pay or Google Pay where supported, and pay in stores, online and in-app. Apple Pay, when it is offered, replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code, so the real number is not handed to the merchant.

Security features on the card: card number and CVV stay hidden until you reveal them with an eye icon and a biometric check; you reset the PIN in the card details; and you can freeze the physical card in the app — whether a Lite card can be frozen is not stated, which is a real gap for a digital-only card. Two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated either, and blocked merchant categories are not stated. That last one matters more than it sounds: gambling sits under MCC 7995, and issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer — you cannot assume Tria blocks or allows it.

If something goes wrong, the stated recovery path for failed transactions is: confirm with the merchant that a refund was started; it usually arrives within 14 business days of the merchant processing it, though Visa processing can extend that to 31 business days; if nothing has arrived after two weeks, contact Tria support with the refund transaction ID. A formal chargeback or dispute process is not described.

Support is in-app, and the help centre is in English, Japanese and Spanish. Email addresses, Telegram and opening hours are not listed. Support for KYC is in-app. If you use the card in a language and time zone the desk does not cover, that is a practical limit worth weighing.

On price behaviour: a declined authorisation can leave a hold that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Small but real.

What can go wrong

The unnamed operator and issuer. The card’s official pages do not name the operator or the issuer. A third-party source lists the issuer as Nimbus, LLC — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. The operating company is still not named in what I found. This is not a formality. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Knowing which licensed institution holds your balance and which brand is only the front-end is the first question worth asking of any card in this category, and Tria’s public pages do not answer it.

Two reviews is not a track record. Trustpilot shows 3.4 out of 5 from only two reviews — one five-star review on 25 March 2026, one one-star review in January 2026 asking whether the company is legitimate. The profile is unclaimed, there are no recurring themes because there is not enough data, and I found no App Store or Reddit data. Treat that score as a starting point for a search, not as reassurance.

Cash details that are not published. The card’s own price is not on the help centre pages; the app is the source. Cashback percentages and payout currency are in the app too. Free ATM allowance is not stated. The spend limit is “up to millions per day” with no figure. These are all things you will want to see before committing, and all of them are behind the app.

Physical card delivery. Cards ship in batches with earlier buyers first, only where shipping is enabled for the country. Delivery time and cost are not stated. Replacement of a physical card is described as “still pending”, and replacement promo codes are currently unavailable; a Lite digital card can be reissued up to three times. So a lost Max metal card is the scenario to plan around.

What happens if you stop paying. If a membership is not renewed, the card is not cancelled and keeps its number, but the account moves to Lite and the cashback rate is removed. Card-balance withdrawal back to crypto or to a bank, and how closure is treated, is not stated — you would be relying on the self-custodial wallet for the crypto side.

Programmes close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, but the pattern is what matters: a card programme is not a permanent thing, and a self-custodial wallet is what survives one.

Self-custody cuts both ways. Because control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, a self-custodial wallet means you alone bear the loss if the key is compromised — phishing, or clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address. Transfers are typically irreversible, so a stolen key has no built-in recovery; the network cannot freeze or return funds. That is the trade you make for not trusting a custodian. For context on the other side of that trade, custodial platforms have a record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

Stablecoins are not what their name suggests. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these balances are not censorship-proof.

Disputes are the weakest documented area. Refund timing is stated; the chargeback route is not. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — so if a card balance is what you are disputing, do not assume the protections of a bank card apply.

Taxes are yours. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving tax advice — but a card that makes spending feel frictionless can quietly create a long list of disposal records.

What to take instead

If Tria’s breadth over tokens is not the thing you care about most, these are the cards I compared it against, on their own published terms.

Card Score Who can get it Cost Fees worth knowing Cashback
Tria 7.3 / 10 Residence-based, 200+ regions listed Lite $0, Pro $109/yr, Max $250/yr Tria FX 0 (Visa FX may apply), no deposit fee, provider fee shown in app Scales by tier; percentages not published, caps $1,000–$2,000/month
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 45 listed countries/territories, others waitlist; proof of residency; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed Virtual free, Metal $199/yr “Minimal fee for each transaction”, no MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee 1% virtual; Metal headline 3% limited to first $10,000 then 1%
KAST 6.1 / 10 Residence list shown at KYC; ID from a restricted region can block eligibility even from a supported country Standard $0, Premium $1,000/yr, Private $10,000/yr; inactivity fee $1/month after 12 months Stablecoin top-up 0%, spend in USD 0%, non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%, declined transaction $0.50 USD cashback 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier on capped monthly spend
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Visa debit for a list of European countries; Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others Small portion of an NFT creation fee, partly covered by TokenPocket; no other fees stated 1% fee on crypto deposits, refunded later via rewards None stated

Three differences worth pulling out. MetaMask is the closest on everyday convenience: a free virtual Mastercard issued instantly through Monovate, spending straight from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with cashback in mUSD and no foreign transaction fee — but its region list is far shorter than Tria’s 200+, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. KAST publishes its cashback percentages and caps, which Tria does not, and charges a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% where Tria claims zero of its own; KAST’s price ladder, from free to $10,000 a year, is aimed at a very different customer. TokenPocket charges 1% on crypto deposits into the card — a model Tria explicitly does not charge at present — and says it will refund that through rewards later, which is a promise to wait on.

Who I would recommend it to

I would point Tria at three kinds of person. First, someone holding a genuinely messy portfolio — a dozen tokens across several chains — who wants one card that will take any of them, and who is comfortable reading a “Provider Fee” line in the app before confirming a top-up. Second, someone who spends from stablecoins over L2 networks and cares that most chains are gasless; on that route Tria is hard to argue with, and the USDC/USDT-over-Optimism-Arbitrum-Base-Polygon advice is the concrete operational tip I would keep. Third, someone who wants a free first step — Lite costs nothing, renews at nothing, and if it fits, the decision to upgrade later is reversible in a way a $109 commitment is not.

I would not point it at someone whose main question is who is legally responsible for the balance, because the public pages do not tell you. Nor at someone who needs metal in their wallet this month, since shipping runs in batches and the timing is unstated. Nor at someone planning a cash-heavy routine on Lite, which has no ATM at all.

The overall shape is: a strong card for a specific person, wrapped in a company page that would earn more trust with a named issuer and a real support history. If you check one thing before you check out, make it the Membership section of the app — the price, the cashback percentage and the provider fee all live there, and none of them are on the help centre pages.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Tria card?

Tria is a Visa payment card that spends a crypto balance rather than a bank account. It comes in three tiers: Lite, which is digital only; Pro, a PVC plastic card; and Max, a metal card. Pro and Max each include a Lite card as well. Payments convert to local currency (USD or EUR) at the moment of payment, and more than 1,000 tokens are available to fund it.

How does the Tria card work?

You buy the card, then verify your identity once in the mobile app, and top up from the Tria Wallet or a supported external wallet. When you pay, the balance converts to local currency at the point of sale. It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card: the card draws on a stored balance and cannot overdraw it. Support is in-app, and the help centre is in English, Japanese and Spanish.

Is Tria a bank?

No bank is named on the card’s public pages, and neither is the operator or issuer — a third-party source lists the issuer as Nimbus, LLC, which is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card. In this category the brand is often only a programme manager while a licensed institution holds the card programme. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme.

Does the Tria card require KYC?

Yes, and it happens once. You submit personal details, a valid identity document and a selfie photo in the mobile app, at 18 or over; desktop is not supported. The rule is by country of residence, your documents must match the country you select, and you must be physically there. An unlisted country fails the check, and using a VPN leads to a decline.

Which countries is the Tria card available in?

The app dropdown lists 200+ regions, with Australia, Canada, Germany, Hong Kong, the UAE, the UK and the US among the examples. Country of residence decides it, not citizenship — citizenship is not addressed on the pages I read. One account per person. Physical card shipping happens only “once shipping is officially enabled” for your country, so a listed country does not guarantee a card in your post.

What does the Tria card cost?

Lite is free and renews at $0. Pro is $109/year, with a promotional first-year price cited at $90. Max is $250/year, promotional first year $225. The help centre does not publish prices and points to the Membership section of the app, noting regional variation; third-party estimates put Lite at about $20–25, Pro $90–109 and Max $225–250, which do not agree with the official Lite figure.

What are Tria’s fees?

There is no direct Tria service fee on card deposits “at this time”, though a provider fee covering swaps, liquidity routing and bridging appears in the app before you confirm. Tria’s own FX fee is zero for members and Tria says travel-related fees stay under 1%, but a Visa FX fee may still apply. ATM withdrawals on Pro and Max cost $1.00 plus 1% of the amount, $750 per transaction, three per 24 hours; Lite has no ATM and no free allowance is stated.

How do I top up the Tria card?

From the Tria Wallet, or from supported external wallets such as Gemini and MiniPay, or by credit or debit card. The minimum is $50 for BTC and $10 for other tokens, across Bitcoin, Ethereum, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Optimism, BSC, Aptos and Solana. Avalanche is not supported for card top-ups and SOL must be converted first, though USDC and USDT run on Solana. Most chains are gasless; Solana needs native SOL for fees.

Is the Tria card safe?

The wallet is self-custodial, so you hold the keys and bear the risk of key loss or phishing; blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. Card number and CVV stay hidden until revealed with an eye icon and a biometric check, and the physical card can be frozen in the app — whether a Lite card can be frozen is not stated. Two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are not stated. A formal chargeback process is not described either.

Is Tria worth it?

It depends on your token spread and on what you want to know about the company. You get one of the widest token and network ranges in this category, no deposit fee, and a free starting tier. You give up published cashback percentages, named issuer and operator, stated delivery times, and a chargeback process. MetaMask scores 7.1 with a free virtual card but far fewer regions; KAST scores 6.1 and publishes its cashback and FX fees. Compare against your own priority.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team