OWNR Wallet card review — a Visa that spends from a non-custodial crypto wallet, but only in the EU
OWNR Wallet’s Visa card is one of a small number of payment cards that spend directly from a non-custodial crypto wallet — the keys stay with you, and the card pulls what it needs at the point of sale. That is the main reason anyone would pick it over a custodial card. It is also the only reason: in every other area the card is underspecified, fees are quoted in fragments rather than numbers, and the card’s own website is silent on basic things like currency, KYC levels and the issuing bank. I went through what OWNR publishes, what third-party trackers say, and what users report, and here is the picture.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
OWNR Wallet scores 4.9 out of 10 in my book. That is a middling mark: the card does the thing its name suggests — spends from a non-custodial wallet — but it is restricted to EU residents, the cost side is foggy, the issuer is not named in public, and the user reviews are mixed. It is a reasonable choice if you live in the EU, already keep crypto in OWNR, and want a Visa that draws from that balance without giving up your keys. It is the wrong choice if you are outside the EU, want a card with clear published fees, or rely on a strong dispute process and a named, well-capitalised issuer.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The card is only available for EU countries; no sign it ships elsewhere yet. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | There is a commission to issue the card but no amount on OWNR’s own page; unofficial trackers disagree on the monthly fee, the issuance fee and the crypto purchase fee. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, LTC, ETH and USDT (on Ethereum) load from the crypto account, and you can also push funds from another Visa card; top-ups are instant. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | The company runs as OWNR WALLET EUROPE s.r.o. and OWNR WALLET CRYPTO CANADA LTD, but the card issuer is not named publicly. Trustpilot is 3.8 out of 5 from 469 reviews, and recurring complaints are about funds stuck in the wallet, KYC rejections and disputed transactions. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual Visa, Apple Pay, ATM cash-out. Google Pay is not mentioned. |
| Total | 4.9 / 10 |
If you already hold your crypto in OWNR and you live in the EU, the card removes one of the pain points of self-custody — paying for everyday things without first off-ramping to a bank. If you are in the same position but outside the EU, the card is not for you yet, and if you do not already use the wallet, there are stronger cards to start from.
Will they give you the card
OWNR’s own page says it plainly: “So far the card is only available for EU countries.” That is the entire eligibility line on the official site. There is no list of which EU countries, no mention of the UK, and no EEA carve-out. Third-party trackers fill in a small amount: one unofficial source says EUR is the card’s currency and that the issuer is an Estonian company providing Visa cards, but OWNR itself does not confirm either point.
A few practical points to keep in mind before you assume you are in:
- Residency, not citizenship. The rule is stated by country, which on this kind of product almost always means where you live. Your passport can be from anywhere; the address on your application is what counts.
- KYC is not detailed publicly. OWNR’s footer links an AML/KYC policy, but it could not be read in full. One unofficial tracker shows “Phone” as the KYC level (email and phone only) and then, in the same entry, lists “Full KYC required” as a con. That contradiction is itself a flag.
- KYC levels are not stated in the public card page. So whether you will be asked only for an ID, or also for proof of address and source of funds, is not something you can confirm before applying.
If you live in the EU, the card is at least open to you in principle. If you do not, there is no public way to apply today.
How to get it
The application flow is described in three short steps on OWNR’s site: install the app, complete verification, and order a card. A virtual card is issued immediately, and a physical card is mailed to the address you give. The KYC step is the one with the least information on the page — OWNR says verification is required but does not say what level, which documents, or how long it takes.
- Virtual card. Available on approval; ready to add to Apple Pay or use for online purchases straight away.
- Physical card. A Visa prepaid card, mailed to the address you specify. Delivery time and delivery cost are not stated on the official page.
- Activation. Standard practice for prepaid cards: you usually have to load funds and sometimes complete an in-app step before the card will work. OWNR’s site does not spell this out.
A point that often catches people out with prepaid cards: if you have a non-EU driving licence or an ID from a restricted jurisdiction, the address you live at is not the only thing the KYC system looks at. Nationality, country of birth and dual citizenship are screened separately, and the issuer can decline the application for any of those reasons.
What it really costs
This is the part of the review where OWNR is the most unhelpful, and that matters because the cost mark is the lowest in the verdict. The card page mentions “paying a commission for its issue” — that is the only fee figure in the official text, and there is no amount attached. Everything else below comes from third-party trackers and is, as a result, unofficial.
| Fee or limit | Official position | Unofficial trackers (cryptocards.so and others) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Commission charged, amount not stated | Free, or €30, or €40 depending on the source and the year |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | $1.50/month, or €1/month in an older 2021 article |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | “Converted during top-up”, fee not stated | 4% crypto purchase fee |
| FX fee | Not stated | Listed as free on one tracker |
| ATM withdrawal | Supported, fee and allowance not stated | Listed as free, unlimited |
| Daily and monthly purchase limit | Not stated | Up to €5,000 per month; daily and ATM listed as unlimited |
| Cashback | Not stated | 0% |
| Card currency | Not stated | EUR |
Three everyday payments, walked through with what the published position is:
- You buy a €40 train ticket online with the virtual card. The euro amount is loaded onto the card (or your crypto was already converted to EUR at top-up). The merchant charges €40. With the FX line “not stated” officially and “free” on one tracker, you would expect the only cost to be the conversion fee already taken when you topped up. If that 4% unofficial figure is right, you paid it on the way in, not on the way out.
- You pay €15 for dinner with Apple Pay. Same logic. The card is a prepaid Visa, so there is no foreign transaction on the merchant’s side; your cost is whatever was taken at top-up. The “physical card is mailed” and “card can be added to the Apple Pay system” lines on the official site support the contactless use case.
- You pull €100 out of an ATM. The card supports ATM cash withdrawal; OWNR does not say what it costs. One unofficial tracker says free, another says unlimited. If the official silence is the safer guide, assume an ATM fee exists even if the issuer’s own fee is zero — the ATM operator will still charge you.
The honest summary: OWNR publishes one fee (issuance, no number) and leaves every other line blank. If the unofficial figures are right, the card is more expensive than it looks because the 4% conversion fee is taken before you ever see the euro balance. If they are wrong, the card is cheaper than it looks because the monthly fee might not apply. You cannot tell from the public page.
How to top up OWNR Wallet
The funding model is the strongest part of the card. OWNR’s site lists four supported coins from the in-app crypto account: BTC, LTC, ETH, and USDT on Ethereum. You can also top up by transferring from another Visa card, which is useful when you want to convert on the fiat side instead. Crypto top-ups are described as instant, and conversion to fiat happens at the top-up step rather than at the moment of payment.

- BTC — Bitcoin, native network.
- LTC — Litecoin, native network.
- ETH — Ethereum, native network. Remember that on Ethereum the gas fee is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding only USDT cannot send anything; you need a small ETH balance to cover the move.
- USDT (ETH) — Tether issued on Ethereum, as an ERC-20 token. The same ETH-for-gas point applies.
- Top-up by Visa transfer — useful if you have a fiat balance on a regular Visa card and want to load without going through a separate exchange.
Three things OWNR does not say:
- Deposit fee. Not stated.
- Minimum top-up. Not stated.
- Withdrawal in the other direction. Not stated for cashing out; the only cash-out route on the public page is the ATM.
If you fund with USDT on Ethereum, watch the network: sending USDT on a different chain (Tron, for example) to an Ethereum address is a common way to lose funds, because Tether’s recovery is manual and not guaranteed.
Paying with it every day
OWNR’s site confirms three things and leaves a fourth unmentioned:
- Apple Pay. “The card can be added to the Apple Pay system” — the official line. Tokenised payments through a wallet, with the card number replaced by a device-specific number, are the cleanest way to use the card.
- Google Pay. Not mentioned anywhere on the card page. That does not mean it is impossible, but it is not a published feature.
- ATM cash-out. Supported, with the same “fee not stated” caveat as the rest of the cost line.
- Blocked merchant categories. Not stated. Some issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) or specific high-risk categories. OWNR does not publish a list.
The mobile app, where most of the action happens, scores 4.5 out of 5 on the App Store from 115 ratings. Google Play is not part of the public record I read. The App Store listing also claims “24/7 technical support inside the app”, which is a useful thing to keep in mind given the user-review themes I cover in the next section.
The card itself is a Visa prepaid, and prepaid cards come with a few practical limits worth being aware of:
- Some merchants decline prepaid cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country.
- Address Verification Service (AVS) is mainly a US/Canada/UK tool, so for foreign-issued cards it can cause declines on US sites.
- A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance for several days.
OWNR’s card spends from a pre-loaded balance, so it cannot overdraw. That is the safety floor under the whole setup.
What can go wrong
The risk picture is the one that pulled the score down. Three companies are named in OWNR’s legal pages — OWNR WALLET EUROPE s.r.o., OWNR WALLET CRYPTO CANADA LTD (registered in Canada, BC1274005) and OWNR WALLET LLC (USA, 7826216), listed as licensed. The card issuer is not named on the public card page; one unofficial source describes it as an Estonian company providing Visa cards. When the issuer is not named, the user is relying on a brand for recourse, and that matters when something goes wrong.
What users are reporting on Trustpilot (3.8 out of 5 from 469 reviews):
- Funds stuck in the wallet since May 2024. Several reviews describe balances they could not withdraw.
- Refund demands over disputed gambling transactions (October 2025). Gambling-related MCCs are often outside the issuer’s protection, which is why so many cards block them outright.
- KYC declined and ID problems (Google Play and Trustpilot, 2022–2025). When verification fails, the practical effect is that the user’s funds are stuck with the platform until the issue is resolved.
- Withdrawals blocked by transaction costs. A familiar pattern with crypto: the network fee is larger than the amount the user wants to move, and there is no way around it.
The support offering is a support ticket form and a knowledge base, plus the in-app 24/7 line advertised in the App Store listing. There is no published security page specific to the card, and there is no published dispute policy, so how a chargeback would actually work is a question for the support team rather than the website.
A few background points worth weighing alongside the user reports:
- Visa does not issue crypto cards itself; it licenses issuers and can suspend a programme. WaveCrest was suspended in Europe in 2018 and that closed every WaveCrest-issued card at once. FTX’s global agreement with Visa was terminated on 13 November 2022. Programme closures happen.
- The card’s prepaid model means your funds sit with the issuer (or programme manager) between top-up and spend, not on-chain. The “non-custodial” label applies to the wallet; the fiat balance on the card is a separate thing.
- EU rules require the issuer to safeguard customer funds, but safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
None of this is a prediction that the card will fail. It is a description of what the public record shows, so you can judge the risk in your own situation.
What to take instead
OWNR is not the only card that lets you spend from crypto. The three below are the ones I think are worth comparing against it; the first is the closest substitute, the other two are stronger on different axes.
| Card | Score | Best for | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask Card | 7.1 / 10 | People who already use MetaMask and want a Mastercard with cashback | Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries/territories; US/UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. Virtual card is free, Metal is $199/year. Cashback in mUSD (Virtual 1%, Metal headline 3% with a 1% rate above $10,000 spent). Spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | USDC and USDT users who want a stablecoin-denominated card | Stablecoin top-up 0%, card spend in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%. Non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on residence and programme. Up to 10 cards per user across three tiers (Standard, Premium, Private) with annual fees from $0 to $10,000. The “no monthly option” note is worth reading carefully. |
| TokenPocket (TP Card) | 5.8 / 10 | EU residents who want an Arbitrum-based card with low published fees | Visa debit in parts of the EU; Mastercard debit in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, the UK and others. A 1% fee on crypto deposits is described as refundable through rewards or reduced fees later. |
If you are choosing between these and OWNR, the practical questions are: which countries you live in, whether the card you want spends from a self-custody wallet or a custodial one, and how transparent the issuer is about fees and disputes. MetaMask and KAST both publish their fee schedules in detail. OWNR does not, which is the main reason it sits below the others on the comparison.
Who I would recommend it to
OWNR is the right card in a narrow window, and the wrong card outside it.
It is the right card if you:
- Live in the EU and have a real residential address the card can be mailed to.
- Already use OWNR as your non-custodial wallet and want to spend from that balance without a separate off-ramp.
- Are comfortable with the prepaid model — your funds are loaded as a fiat balance, then drawn down — and with the fact that OWNR does not publish full fee details.
- Have read the user-review themes and decided that the operational risk is acceptable for the amounts you plan to put on the card.
It is the wrong card if you:
- Live outside the EU. The card is not available to you today.
- Need a card with a fully published fee schedule, a named issuer, and a clear dispute process on the website.
- Rely on Google Pay. Apple Pay is the wallet OWNR supports; Google Pay is not mentioned.
- Want a card that blocks specific merchant categories by default. OWNR does not publish a block list.
- Plan to put large balances on the card. Trustpilot reports of stuck funds go back to 2024, and the issuer is not named on the public page, so a large float on a prepaid balance with an unnamed issuer is the part of the setup I would push back on.
For everyone in between, the MetaMask Card is the stronger default if you can sign up, and KAST is the stronger default if you specifically want a stablecoin-funded Visa with published fees.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OWNR Wallet card?
It is a Visa prepaid card linked to an OWNR non-custodial crypto wallet. The wallet holds your crypto; the card holds a fiat balance that the wallet tops up. Spending from the card does not give up your private keys, and the card cannot overdraw because it is prepaid.
How does the OWNR Wallet card work?
You install the app, complete KYC, and order a card. A virtual card is available immediately; the physical card is mailed to your address. You top up by sending BTC, LTC, ETH or USDT (on Ethereum) from the in-app crypto account, or by pushing from another Visa card. Crypto is converted to fiat at the top-up step, and the card spends that fiat balance. The card can also be added to Apple Pay for tokenised payments.
Is OWNR Wallet a bank?
No. OWNR is a crypto wallet provider. The card side is run through partners — OWNR WALLET EUROPE s.r.o. and OWNR WALLET CRYPTO CANADA LTD appear in the legal pages — and the actual card issuer is not named on the public card page, with one unofficial source describing the issuer as an Estonian company. Treat the card as a prepaid payment product, not a bank account.
Who owns OWNR Wallet?
The companies listed in OWNR’s legal text are OWNR WALLET EUROPE s.r.o., OWNR WALLET CRYPTO CANADA LTD (Canada, BC1274005) and OWNR WALLET LLC (USA, 7826216), listed as licensed. Earlier registration data refers to OWNR WALLET OU. The card issuer is not separately named in the public material.
Is the OWNR Wallet card available in the United States / United Kingdom / Canada?
The official line is “only available for EU countries”, with no list of which EU member states. There is no public confirmation that the card is available to residents of the US, the UK or Canada today.
How do I get the OWNR Wallet card?
Download the OWNR app, complete verification, and order a card. A virtual card is available straight after approval; the physical Visa prepaid is mailed to the address you provide. The KYC level, document list, and approval time are not stated on the public page.
Does the OWNR Wallet card require KYC?
Yes, identity verification is required before the card is issued. The exact KYC level (phone-only, ID, proof of address, source of funds) is not described on the public card page, and one unofficial tracker contradicts itself on this point. Treat it as a full KYC process until you confirm otherwise during application.
How do I top up the OWNR Wallet card?
From the in-app crypto account you can send BTC, LTC, ETH or USDT (on Ethereum). You can also transfer from another Visa card. Crypto top-ups are described as instant, and conversion to fiat happens at top-up. Deposit fees and minimums are not stated publicly.
How do I add the OWNR Wallet card to Apple Wallet?
The official page says the card “can be added to the Apple Pay system”. In practice, this is the standard in-app flow: open the card, choose Add to Apple Wallet, and follow the prompts. The card number is replaced with a device-specific number; the original number is not stored on Apple servers.
Is the OWNR Wallet card safe?
The wallet is non-custodial, so your crypto stays under your keys until conversion. The card itself is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw. The safety questions are on the operational side: the card issuer is not named on the public page, fee transparency is limited, and Trustpilot (3.8 out of 5 from 469 reviews) includes recurring reports of funds stuck since May 2024 and KYC rejections. There is no published dispute or security policy specific to the card.
Wallet card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
