A euro prepaid card with an IBAN, wrapped in a custodial crypto app
I went into this one looking for a crypto card that solves a specific problem — being able to pay at an ordinary shop with money that arrived from somewhere unusual. Gekkard turns out to be exactly that, in a fairly narrow sense: a prepaid Mastercard tied to a euro IBAN, with a crypto and stablecoin side attached. The narrowness is the story. Every number that would tell you whether it is cheap, safe or well-run is missing from the card’s public pages.
My score is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the card works — it is a verdict on how little you can find out before you commit. Read on for the parts that are solid and the parts that are blank.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.7 out of 10
The card suits a European who wants a euro IBAN with a prepaid card in front of it, and who can treat the crypto side as a bonus rather than the point. It does not suit you if you need to know the fee for converting cryptocurrency before you press the button, if you hold your own keys and do not want a stranger holding them for you, or if you need a card whose issuer and licences you can name.

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning in my own words.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Offered to EEA residents and Switzerland; version 1.0.6 added registration outside the EEA, and the plastic can be mailed to any address worldwide |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed — the site would not load for me because of a certificate error; the app claims 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | SEPA, Gekkoin Europe (EURG), and access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ; no stablecoins or networks named, and new-client intake is on pause |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Papaya Ltd is the developer; issuer and licences unread; WalletScrutiny calls the app custodial; the App Store shows 3.0 from 4 ratings, another storefront 2.6 from 15 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual, with limits and a freeze in the app; wallets and ATM not disclosed |
That is the whole picture. Note how much of the bad news here is absence rather than evidence: I am not reporting a scandal, I am reporting a company that does not publish the numbers you need.
Will they give you the card?
Yes for most Europeans, and — since version 1.0.6 — apparently yes for others too.
The card is offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland. Version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA. The physical card can be mailed “to any address worldwide”. So the geography is not the hard part; the harder part, which I will get to below, is that the card’s public pages never say what checks you have to pass.
The claim about mailing anywhere is worth pausing on. It is a statement about logistics, not about eligibility. A card can be posted to any address and still only be issued to people inside a permitted jurisdiction. Nothing on the pages I read connects the two.
One more thing to set expectations before you start: I could not read what identity verification the signup involves. The card’s public pages do not state it. That is not the same as “no checks” — a regulated operation in Europe cannot skip them — but it does mean you are applying without knowing what documents to have ready.
How to get it
You get a prepaid Mastercard, either plastic or virtual, according to the card’s FAQ, plus a European IBAN account in EUR. The physical card arrives by international mail. Additional cards can be ordered.
Three things you should know before you start the form:
- Delivery time and delivery cost are not stated. International mail is not free, and not fast, and you should not assume either way — the pages do not say.
- The account is euro-denominated. If your income or your savings are in another currency, the conversion happens somewhere, and the cost of that conversion is one of the things not disclosed.
- How to activate the card is not described anywhere I could read. Assume you will need the app for it.
There is one detail in the setup that matters more than it looks. The developer name on both app stores is Papaya Ltd, and the crypto services are provided by a different company entirely, AtlantEX OÜ. That is not automatically a problem — plenty of card programmes are run by a front-end company with a licensed partner underneath. But the card issuer itself is not named on the pages I read, and neither are its licences. For a product that holds your balance, that is the first question I would ask support, and I would not open an account until I got a straight answer.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the honest version: the card’s public pages do not state its fees. The site would not load for me because of a certificate error, so I could not read the pricing even to find the pricing. The card’s own app listing claims 3% interest on EURG holdings, and its version history mentions a 1% bonus on card purchases. The official site reportedly says the service is not an investment product, and I could not read the conditions attached to either number.

So the table below is mostly a list of blanks. I am not going to fill them with guesses from other cards in this category, because what fees apply to a card with an IBAN and a custodial crypto wallet could be anything, and a wrong number here costs you real money on a Tuesday afternoon at a supermarket.
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion fee (crypto to fiat) | not stated; the app listing claims 3% interest on EURG holdings, which is not the same thing as a conversion fee |
| Foreign exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal fee | not stated; the version history mentions cash top-up locations |
| Daily spending limit | not stated; spending limits are settable in the app |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated; spending limits are settable in the app |
| Card currency | not stated; the account is a EUR IBAN |
| Multi-currency transfers | mentioned in the version history |
Now, two or three everyday payments, and which fees would plausibly touch them. I am reasoning about structure here, not quoting rates.
Buying coffee in the euro area. You have euro in the EUR IBAN account, you tap the Mastercard, the money leaves the account. If the network charges nothing for this beyond the interchange the merchant already pays, you may pay nothing visible — but the card’s pages do not promise that, and I would check the app’s own fee screen before you draw a conclusion from one purchase.
Buying something priced in dollars while you hold euros. The Mastercard network does the conversion and the rate applied is not the one on a currency-exchange screen. Whether the card adds anything on top is not stated. This is the single most likely place for you to lose money without noticing, month after month.
Swapping a stablecoin or coin into euro and spending it. You are using Gekkoin Europe, with EURG pegged 1:1 to the euro, and Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero are accessible. What you pay to convert is not stated. The peg being 1:1 tells you the exchange rate is not where you lose; the fee, which is invisible, is.
A note on that EURG peg, because “pegged 1:1” is doing a lot of work in that sentence. A peg is a promise about price, not about redemption, and stablecoins as a category have broken their pegs before. Treat 1:1 as a description of the intended design, not a guarantee.
How to top it up
Two routes are named: SEPA payments, and cash top-up locations. Buying and selling Gekkoin Europe (EURG) is the other door into the balance, with access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through the Gekkoin partner. The crypto services are provided by AtlantEX OÜ, a licensed exchange.
- SEPA top-up is the ordinary bank route. Fees and minimums are not stated.
- Cash top-up locations are mentioned; where they are, and what they charge, is not stated.
- No stablecoins and no networks are named in the top-up documentation. If your plan was to send USDC over Tron or Solana, I cannot confirm from the card’s own pages that this is possible.
That last point deserves emphasis, because it is where people lose money in this category. Sending a transfer over a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be simply lost — blockchain transfers are irreversible and there is no built-in recovery. I am not saying Gekkard does not support your network. I am saying the card does not tell me, and you should not send anything until it does, in writing.
And then the fact that sits under everything: AtlantEX’s onboarding of new clients has been paused since 1 July 2026, during its MiCA licensing process. That pause was recorded at an earlier check. What it means for you today is that the crypto side of this card may be a door that currently does not open, while the euro IBAN and the Mastercard carry on as before. Those are two different products wearing one name.
Paying with it every day
A prepaid Mastercard with spending limits you set yourself, a temporary freeze you can throw, and transaction tracking in the app. Plastic or virtual. There is biometric confirmation for online purchases in the version history, which is the sensible default.
What is missing is the part of daily life that catches people out. Wallets are not stated — so I cannot tell you whether this goes into Apple Pay or Google Pay, which for many people is the difference between a card they use and a card they keep in a drawer. Merchant category rules are not stated, and those matter: prepaid and foreign-issued BINs get declined more often than people expect, because a shop can look up which institution and country issued the card and apply extra scrutiny. Withdrawing cash is not stated, in a card that is otherwise euro-denominated. And disputes are not stated — what happens when a payment goes wrong and you want a refund.
The app itself: on the US App Store, “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet” scores 3.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings, at version 1.0.9. That is a tiny sample, small enough that I would not treat it as a verdict on anything except the fact that four people felt strongly enough to leave a rating. The Google Play app, listed as com.papaya.gekkard and titled “Gekkard: Banking Alternative”, exists; its rating was not readable.
The version history is the most informative part of the app listing, because it is where the card admits what it has changed recently: version 1.0.9 on 04/08/2025, and the earlier addition of registration outside the EEA, multi-currency transfers, biometric confirmation and the cash top-up locations. A product still shipping small functional changes like these is a product that is still finding its shape.
What can go wrong
This is where I would spend my time as a reader, because the failure modes here are structural rather than dramatic.
The custodial part. WalletScrutiny describes the app as custodial and not verifiable, and the card is custodial in operation. That means the company holds the credentials to the crypto on your behalf, not you. The category history is not encouraging on this point: Mt. Gox, roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Nobody is entitled to expect the worst, and no wallet fails on a schedule. But holding funds with a custodian means accepting counterparty and hack risk as a condition of using the card.
The regulatory pause. AtlantEX’s new-client onboarding has been paused since 1 July 2026 during MiCA licensing. If you are not already a client, the crypto route may not be open to you. If you are, watch what happens with the licence.
The unreadable issuer. Papaya Ltd is the app developer and AtlantEX OÜ the crypto partner, but the card issuer and its licences are not named on the pages I read. An e-money institution must safeguard customer funds — by segregating them or insuring them — and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. You should know which institution holds your money before you fund it.
The thin complaint record, in both directions. I found no official incident reports, and I found no Trustpilot page either. Absence of complaints is not a clean bill of health when the surface area for complaints is this small. Another App Store storefront listing shows 2.6 out of 5 from 15 ratings. Support arrangements are not stated.
Fee shock. Because the fees are not published, the only way to learn what conversion or foreign exchange costs you is to perform the transaction and look. That is a bad way to find out, and it is why this card sits where it does in my scoring.
The category’s standing closures. Programmes end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. When that happens the usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. I am not predicting any of this for Gekkard. I am telling you that an IBAN you did not choose is an exit you will have to arrange.
What to take instead
I compared three alternatives in this category. None of them is obviously right either; they are here so you can see the trade.
| Gekkard | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score here | 4.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network and card | Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Mastercard multicurrency, physical/virtual not stated | Visa; physical/virtual not stated |
| Issuing cost | not stated | $5 one-time, virtual; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | No annual fee; issuance not stated | “No extra fees”; no amounts listed |
| Currency and FX | EUR IBAN; card currency not stated | Pays in USD; foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; converted at live OTC rates | not stated |
| Funding | SEPA, cash locations, EURG via Gekkoin Europe; coins via AtlantEX OÜ | USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; networks not stated | not stated | Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral; coins and networks not stated |
| Rewards | App listing claims 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus; official site reportedly says it is not an investment product; conditions unread | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber |
| Who is excluded | EEA and Switzerland; registration outside the EEA added in 1.0.6 | Residents or registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case | not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; consumer exclusions include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
Three observations from that table.
The International Visa Card is the one with its prices in the open. Issuance at $5, no maintenance fee on Classic, and a clearly stated 2% FX fee on top of the Visa rate. That is not a recommendation — it excludes a long list of countries including several where you may live — but it is legible, and legibility is what this whole review keeps asking for.
UNi’s fee claim is the most attractive on paper. No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”. Its eligibility is not stated, which is exactly the gap that stops me from treating a marketing line as a fact.
Whop is the narrowest of the four. Consumer coverage is 31 US states, businesses 41, and the exclusion list is long. If you are in the US and covered, the 5% cashback at select merchants is the strongest reward here; if you are not, the card does not exist for you.
One thing all four share, and it is worth knowing before you compare: these cards are payment instruments, not bank accounts, and the balances behind them are safeguarded rather than insured in the way deposits are.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Gekkard to a European who has a euro IBAN need — a specific reason to hold euros that a normal account will not serve — and who wants a prepaid card attached to it, and who is content to hold crypto through a custodial app and to accept that nobody will tell them the fees in advance. For that person, the pieces are in place: a European IBAN in EUR, a Mastercard you can hold or generate virtually, spending limits and a freeze you control, SEPA and cash top-ups, and a crypto side that reaches EURG, Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true:
- You need to know the conversion and foreign exchange fees before your first transaction. They are not published, and that alone disqualifies it for careful budgeting.
- You hold your own keys. WalletScrutiny classifies this as custodial, and giving up custody is a decision about who you trust with your money, not a feature.
- You are outside the EEA and Switzerland and want certainty about eligibility. Registration is possible since 1.0.6, but the pages do not describe it.
- You need a card today with crypto behind it. AtlantEX’s new-client onboarding has been paused since 1 July 2026.
- You are in a country the exclusion lists of the alternatives name — or in one you would rather not be associated with a specific BIN at all, given that merchants can look up the issuing country.
My own order of operations, if I were doing this: ask support three questions in writing — who is the issuer and what licence does it hold, what exactly does a conversion cost, and what happens to my balance if the crypto partner’s licensing changes. If the answers come back clearly, this is a reasonable euro prepaid card with a crypto front end. If they do not, it is a card that asks for your money before it tells you what it costs, and that is not a trade I would make.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gekkard card?
Gekkard is a prepaid Mastercard with a European IBAN account in EUR, offered alongside a crypto and stablecoin side through partners. You can hold it in plastic or use a virtual card. The crypto part lets you buy and sell Gekkoin Europe, a euro-pegged token, and reach Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero. The euro IBAN is the more unusual feature for a crypto card.
Is Gekkard a bank?
Not on the evidence I could read. The App Store developer is Papaya Ltd and the crypto services come from AtlantEX OÜ, but the card’s public pages do not name the issuer or its licences. It behaves like a prepaid card drawing on a stored balance, not like a bank account. The euro IBAN is provided by whoever issues the account.
How do I get a Gekkard card?
You register in the app, then order a virtual card for immediate use or a physical one delivered by international mail. The card is offered to EEA residents and Switzerland, and since version 1.0.6 registration is open outside the EEA too. The plastic can be mailed to any address worldwide. Delivery time and cost are not stated.
Does Gekkard require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not say, and that is a gap rather than an answer. Any regulated European operation is required to verify customers under anti-money-laundering rules, covering identity documents, a sanctions check and politically exposed person screening. Expect documents to be asked for; just do not expect the app to tell you in advance which ones.
What does it cost to use the Gekkard card?
The card’s public pages do not state its fees — issuance, monthly, conversion, foreign exchange or ATM. The site would not load for me because of a certificate error. The app listing claims 3% interest on EURG holdings and a 1% purchase bonus, but the official site reportedly says the service is not an investment product and I could not read the conditions. Check the app’s own fee screen before you rely on any figure.
How do I top up Gekkard?
By SEPA payment or at cash top-up locations, both named on the card’s pages; fees and minimums are not stated for either. You can also buy Gekkoin Europe, which is pegged 1:1 to the euro, and reach Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ. No stablecoins or networks are named, so confirm the network before sending any transfer.
Is Gekkard safe to use?
The app is custodial, per WalletScrutiny, which means the provider holds access to the crypto rather than you — so you accept counterparty and hack risk. No official incident reports were readable and no Trustpilot page was found, though a small complaint record proves little on its own. Secure your account with two-factor authentication and use the app’s limits and instant freeze.
Can I add Gekkard to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card’s public pages do not state which mobile wallets are supported, so I cannot confirm Apple Pay or Google Pay for you. What is documented is biometric confirmation for online purchases, added in the app’s version history. If being able to tap your phone is essential, ask support before you rely on the card for daily spending.
Can I withdraw cash or money from Gekkard?
Withdrawal arrangements are not stated, and ATM fees are not stated either — the version history mentions cash top-up locations, which is the opposite direction. Since the account is a euro IBAN, some way of getting the money out almost certainly exists, but I would not plan around it until support tells you how it works and what it costs.
Is Gekkard available and usable in my country?
The card is offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland, with registration added outside the EEA in version 1.0.6, and the physical card mailable to any address worldwide. That last point is about shipping, not eligibility. Usability abroad depends on the BIN being accepted: merchants can look up the issuing country and decline prepaid or foreign cards, and the card does not publish its own restrictions.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
