Ethena Pay card, reviewed: a self-custody Visa that pays you in AVAX, with strings attached
The Ethena Pay card sits in a small but growing corner of the payments market: a Visa that draws on a self-custody crypto wallet, with cashback paid in AVAX. It is not a bank account, it is not a debit card in the traditional sense, and the company behind it is upfront that it is not a licensed financial institution. The card is currently in an invite-only beta in 48 countries across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia, the Middle East, Africa and Oceania, and it is not offered to U.S. persons. That is the headline, and most of the questions I had going in are answered somewhere in this review: who can actually get one, what it costs day to day, how the cashback really works, and where the sharp edges are.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I have scored the Ethena Pay card at 6.7 out of 10, and that number reflects a product with a clear idea and a few rough edges that are still being worked on. The card is free to issue and free to run, the FX fee is a low pass-through of around 1.0%, and cashback tiers are competitive. On the other hand, the company is not licensed by a financial regulator, the issuer is not named in the public terms, the funding path is unclear because supported coins and networks are not listed, and the product is in beta with 400 early users. It suits people who already hold USDe and other supported crypto as collateral, who live outside the US and the EU, and who are comfortable with self-custody. It is a poor fit for anyone who needs a regulated bank-style experience, anyone in a restricted jurisdiction, or anyone who expects a polished consumer-banking app on day one.

| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Beta by invitation in 48 countries across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa and Oceania; U.S. persons not allowed |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card, account opening and maintenance are free; FX on non-USD around 1.0% at network rate; ATM withdrawal $1.00 plus 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Self-custody wallet with USDe and other assets as collateral; spending debits USDe; partners MoonPay and Iron mentioned; coins and networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Ethena Pay Ltd., Malta, company number C114576, states it is not licensed; issuer not named in the terms; unofficial reports point to Third National and Signify (Rain); 400-user beta, no public complaints found |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card in about a minute, add to Apple Pay; physical cards in Standard, Pro, VIP tiers; ATM supported; Google Pay “available soon”; unofficial reports say only the virtual card exists today |
The audience this card is built for, in plain terms, is a holder of USDe and crypto collateral who spends in those 48 countries. If that is not you, the rest of the review will probably feel like reading about someone else’s card.
Will they give you the card
Ethena Pay is rolling out by invitation across 48 countries. The full list is: 17 in Latin America — Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay; 12 in the Caribbean; 8 in Asia and the Middle East — Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the UAE; 9 in Africa — Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda and Zambia; and 2 in Oceania — Australia and New Zealand. The company says U.S. persons are not allowed. If you live in or are connecting from Belarus or Russia, the Terms treat you as a Restricted Jurisdiction and block access regardless of citizenship, so what matters there is where you are located or resident, not the passport you hold.

A few practical points fall out of that list. The card is not in the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan or South Korea today, and the company has said those are “coming soon”. The 48-country reach is wide geographically but light on Europe, which is a meaningful gap if that is where you live or travel. The U.S. exclusion is consistent with the way many U.S. dollar stablecoin products treat their home market, and it removes a large slice of potential users from the equation. The country check is done at sign-up, and the rules are stated by the card, not by me, so the live list on Ethena Pay’s site is the one that matters when you actually apply.
How to get it
The sign-up flow has three steps. You register an account, you pass verification, and you generate a virtual card, which the company says takes about a minute and is then added to Apple Pay. The verification is run by Ethena Pay or by third parties, with Sumsub named as one of those providers. The checks can include a government-issued photo ID, proof of address, source-of-funds information, tax details and biometric or liveness data. The minimum age is 18, and the policy is one account per person. The Terms also note that passing checks does not guarantee approval, so passing the questionnaire is necessary but not sufficient.
The verification step is the one I would not skip over. Even if you are in a supported country, the combination of photo ID, address, source of funds and liveness is a real compliance lift, not the kind of flow where you can sign up in two minutes with an email. If you have KYC documents ready, the process should be quick, but if you need to dig out a utility bill or a tax reference, expect friction. There is no information on what happens at higher verification tiers, so I would not assume a path from a basic account to a higher spending cap.
On the card itself, the published material describes a virtual card generated in about a minute and added to Apple Pay, with physical cards available in Standard, Pro and VIP tiers. The network is Visa, and the card is denominated in USD, with USD spending treated as free. A third-party source has reported that the card is currently virtual only, with no physical option, which disagrees with the official page; until I see a physical card shipped, I would treat the physical option as something that exists on paper but may not be live yet. The country list for physical delivery, the time it takes and any fee charged for it are not stated.
What it really costs
I separate this section into the published fees, the everyday situations in which they bite, and the costs that are simply not in the public documentation. The official costs table covers issuance, monthly and ongoing fees, conversion and FX, ATM withdrawals, and the only limit-like number that is published — the Daily Boost cap.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Card replacement | Free |
| Card activation | Free |
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly maintenance | Free |
| Minimum balance | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| FX on non-USD spending | Around 1.0% (passed through from network) |
| Cross-border fee | None |
| Domestic USD purchase fee | None |
| Interest on purchases | 0.00% |
| Late payment fee | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $29 |
| ATM withdrawal | $1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount |
| ATM operator surcharge | May apply on top |
| Daily Boost cap (balance that earns the boost) | Standard $5,000; Pro $100,000; VIP $1,000,000 |
| Physical card fees by tier | Not listed |
| Spending limits (general) | Not listed (unofficial: dynamic, tied to collateral) |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
A few everyday situations make the picture clearer. Buying lunch in a café in Mexico City with the card: the merchant charges in pesos, Visa converts to USD at its rate, and Ethena Pay passes through around 1.0% on top of that, so the spread is a hair over one cent per dollar. The transaction is free of any platform fee, and the cashback tier pays 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend on the Standard plan. Withdrawing cash from an ATM in Buenos Aires: the $1.00 plus 0.65% is the Ethena Pay side, and the ATM operator’s own surcharge is on top of that, which can easily double the effective cost of a small withdrawal — a good reason to treat the card as a spending instrument rather than an ATM card. Sending USDC to the funding wallet and then paying in USD at a U.S. merchant: the funding partner’s fee, plus any on-chain gas, is on you; the card side then sees a domestic USD purchase with no fee and no FX.
There are also fees I cannot quote because the card does not publish them. The crypto conversion fee is not stated, the physical card cost by tier is not listed, and the spending limits themselves are not in the public material. One unofficial source describes a Philippines user who was quoted a $10 charge for a first card, and treats it as an isolated report; I would not assume that is the normal price, but it is a reminder that the published “free” may not be the full story in every situation. The transaction limits can also be changed by the issuer at any time under the Terms, so a high balance in your wallet does not guarantee a high spending cap.
How to top it up
Topping up Ethena Pay starts with the self-custody wallet that the app sets up for you. That wallet holds USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral, and when you spend with the card, USDe is the balance that gets debited. The funding partners named in the public material are MoonPay and Iron, which are typically the on-ramps you would use to convert bank money or other assets into the supported collateral. The coins and networks the card accepts are not listed on the public pages, although one news report says the app launched on Avalanche. That gap is the part of the funding story I find hardest to plan around: without a published list of accepted networks and tokens, the first deposit feels like guesswork.
What is known about the funding path is fairly thin. Sending USDe or another supported asset from your own wallet to the address the app provides is the standard flow, and you pay the on-chain gas yourself. Sending to other Ethena Pay users is free, which is useful if you are paying a friend who is also on the app. There is no published deposit fee and no published minimum top-up, so the only floor is the network’s own minimum. Third-party fees — MoonPay’s, Iron’s, the gas fee — are separate from anything Ethena Pay charges. The user keeps the keys, the app does not custody the funds, and the Terms make that point clearly. Withdrawals are not described in the public documentation, which I would expect to mean: send to another Ethena Pay user for free, or send to your own external wallet and pay the network fee.
The risks in the funding path are mostly network-level. Sending on a chain the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, is the kind of error that can lose the funds with no guarantee of manual recovery, and that is a generic crypto-transfer risk rather than anything specific to Ethena Pay. A second risk is collateral: an unofficial third-party report says the spending limit is dynamic and tied to the value of your collateral, so a sharp drop in the value of what you have deposited can reduce your limit, in some cases to zero. That is a card-specific wrinkle worth keeping in mind.
Paying with it every day
For day-to-day spending, the card behaves like a Visa prepaid card linked to your USDe balance, with Apple Pay as the main contactless path today. Google Pay is listed as “available soon”. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, but cashback is excluded on cash advances, ATM withdrawals, crypto, stablecoin, NFT and securities purchases, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers and account funding, so those categories are at best neutral and at worst declined.
Cashback is paid in AVAX, the token of the Avalanche network, and credited daily after settlement. The three bands work like this: on Standard, 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend, 1% on the next $1,500, and 0% above $4,000; on Pro, 4.5% on the first $8,000, then 2%, 1% and 0.5%; on VIP, 5% on the first $20,000, then 2%, 1% and 0.5%. Transactions under $1.00 do not earn anything, and refunds reverse the cashback that was paid and remove the purchase from the monthly spend tally. Pro is reached via subscription or referrals, and the AVAX cashback needs at least one card transaction in the month to be paid out. The bands taper quickly, so the headline 5% is really 5% on a slice of monthly spend, not on everything you charge.
The app is in beta and currently iPhone-only. The official page has not been checked for App Store and Google Play ratings, and an unofficial third-party report from Australia lists two ratings, both 5.0, as of early September 2026, with iOS 17 or later required and Android planned. An English-only app is reported by a third party, which matters if your working language is something else. Disputes, refunds and chargebacks follow a stated process: a complaint goes to [email protected], is acknowledged within five business days, and a final response is targeted within fifteen. Refunded, charged-back or ineligible purchases reverse their cashback and drop out of monthly spend; chargebacks can be deducted from your balance, and a negative balance remains your liability. There is no published timeframe for filing a chargeback, which I would not read as a right being removed so much as a number that has not been made public.
What can go wrong
A few risks are specific to this card, and a few are the same risks any crypto card carries. The first is the company behind it. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, number C114576, based in Ta’ Xbiex, Malta. The Terms state that it is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators, and that it works through third-party providers. The Terms do not name a card issuer, and two unofficial third-party reports point to a Visa card issued by Puerto Rico-chartered Third National and managed by Signify Holdings, which is part of the Rain group. None of that is a smoking gun, but it is a reason to look up the issuer name on the cardholder agreement once you have the physical card in your hand, because that is the entity that ultimately has the regulatory standing to back your money.
The second risk is key custody. Because Ethena Pay does not hold your funds, keys or seed phrases, a lost seed phrase is unrecoverable through the company, and that is a feature, not a failure, of self-custody. The trade-off is that you carry the full weight of phishing, clipboard-hijacking malware and address-swap attacks on your own. The Terms do not describe two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, or in-app spending limits, so I would not assume those features exist on the current beta build. The third risk is the closed-loop feel of the beta itself: 400 early users, an invite-only flow, and not much in the way of public complaint history. There is no Trustpilot page, no Reddit thread that surfaced in my checks, and only one editorial rating (SpendNode at 3.9/5, September 2026) and a single $10-charge user report on CryptoCardHub. That is not the same as a clean record; it is closer to a record that has not yet been written.
The fourth risk is a regulatory one. The Terms let the issuer change transaction limits at any time, the company is upfront about not being a regulated financial institution, and a beta product that depends on a third-party issuer can be wound down if the issuer or network changes its mind. Visa has shown in the past that it can end programmes quickly — the FTX card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements in November 2022, and the WaveCrest-issued programmes in Europe were shut down in 2018 — so a stable programme today is not a permanent programme. The fifth risk is the standard crypto-transfer risk: irreversible deposits on the wrong network, stablecoins that have depegged before, and a card experience that depends on a self-custody wallet being set up correctly on day one.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives that overlap with the Ethena Pay card in different ways. None is a perfect substitute, because each trades something the Ethena card offers for something else, but they are useful as a yardstick.
| Card | Score | Where it is offered | How it spends | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethena Pay | 6.7 / 10 | 48 countries, no U.S. persons | Self-custody wallet, USDe debited at spend | Up to 5% in AVAX, paid daily |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Country list not stated on card pages; platform age 13+ | Virtual card funded with USDC collateral from Sponge wallet | Not stated |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Residents and citizens of selected European countries, including EEA and UK; no public list | Mastercard, virtual and physical, issued by DiPocket UAB | Up to 2% in NEXO token or 0.5% in BTC, by tier |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Country list not stated; Visa accepted in 160+ | Cash mode spends stablecoin; Credit mode borrows against holdings | Up to 2% in USDC, by tier |
Sponge is the most direct comparison, because it also runs a virtual card off a self-custody-style flow with USDC as the funding token. Where Sponge scores lower is on transparency: there is no published country list, no published fee schedule, and no published cashback structure, so I would only consider it if I had already worked through those questions in their app. Nexo is the heavyweight alternative for European users, with a Mastercard virtual and physical card, an explicit issuer (DiPocket UAB), no monthly or annual fee, and a clearer cashback ladder paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. The trade-off is geography: it focuses on EEA and the UK, and its FX schedule is steeper on weekends and outside Europe. Xplace is the highest-scoring of the three, with a Visa that can run in Cash mode (spending stablecoin balance) or Credit mode (borrowing against holdings), 0% FX on Platinum, and a 0.5%–2% USDC cashback ladder. The trade-offs are the annual fee on Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers and the fact that the card is in the early stages of physical rollout.
If you are in a country where Ethena Pay is live and you already hold USDe or compatible collateral, Ethena Pay is a reasonable choice. If you are in Europe and want a more regulated option, Nexo is the closer fit. If you want a card that explicitly pays USDC cashback and is comfortable with Credit mode, Xplace is worth a look.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Ethena Pay card to a specific kind of reader. The first is someone who already holds USDe and other supported crypto as collateral, lives in one of the 48 supported countries outside the US and the EU, and wants to spend that balance through a Visa with cashback in AVAX. For that person, the self-custody model is a feature, the lack of a banking licence is a known quantity, and the cashback tiers are competitive with the alternatives I have looked at. The second is someone who is comfortable running a self-custody wallet, understands that losing the seed phrase means losing the funds, and is prepared to navigate an invite-only beta with limited public complaint history. The third is someone who treats the card as a spending instrument, not an ATM card, because the combination of a 0.65% fee plus the ATM operator’s own surcharge on small withdrawals is the kind of cost that quietly erodes the cashback.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a regulated bank-style product, anyone in Belarus or Russia, anyone who is a U.S. person, and anyone who needs the card to be live in the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan or South Korea today. I would also not recommend it to anyone whose main use case is converting one crypto to another and then spending the result, because the crypto conversion fee is not stated, and that is exactly the kind of fee that hides in the small print until the statement arrives. If any of those descriptions fits you, one of the alternatives in the previous section is likely to be a better fit, and the rest of this review is still useful for the framing.
A reasonable way to use Ethena Pay, in my view, is as a single-purpose spending card on top of an existing USDe position, with a clear understanding of the FX cost, the dynamic spending limit and the fact that the company behind the card does not hold a financial-services licence. That is a narrower recommendation than the marketing might suggest, and the score of 6.7 out of 10 reflects that.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ethena Pay card?
The Ethena Pay card is a Visa payment card that draws on a self-custody crypto wallet in which USDe and other supported digital assets are held as collateral, and USDe is the balance debited at the point of sale. The card is currently in invite-only beta across 48 countries and is not offered to U.S. persons.
How does the Ethena Pay card work?
You register an account, pass verification through Ethena Pay or a third party such as Sumsub, and generate a virtual card in about a minute, which can then be added to Apple Pay. The app sets up a self-custody wallet for you, you fund that wallet with supported assets, and spending with the card debits USDe at the network’s exchange rate.
Is Ethena Pay a bank?
No. The Terms state that Ethena Pay Ltd. is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators and that it works through third-party providers. The card’s issuer is not named in the public Terms, although unofficial third-party reports point to Third National in Puerto Rico with Signify (Rain) as programme manager.
Who owns Ethena Pay?
Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, number C114576, registered in Ta’ Xbiex, Malta. The ownership structure beyond the registered company is not stated in the public material, and the public Terms do not name the card issuer.
Is the Ethena Pay card available in my country?
It is available by invitation in 48 countries across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa and Oceania. The U.S. is not on the list, and the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Canada, Taiwan and South Korea are listed as “coming soon”. The Terms also block access for anyone located, resident, established or signing in from Belarus or Russia.
How do I get the Ethena Pay card?
You register on the app, complete the KYC checks (photo ID, proof of address, source of funds, possibly biometric or liveness data) and then generate a virtual card, which takes about a minute and is added to Apple Pay. The flow is invite-only in beta, and the published terms note that passing checks does not guarantee approval.
Does the Ethena Pay card require KYC?
Yes. Verification is required by Ethena Pay or a third party such as Sumsub, and can include government-issued photo ID, proof of address, source-of-funds information, tax details and biometric or liveness data. The minimum age is 18, and the policy is one account per person.
How do I top up the Ethena Pay card?
You fund the self-custody wallet the app provides with supported digital assets such as USDe, pay the on-chain gas fee yourself, and spending then debits the USDe balance. The funding partners named publicly are MoonPay and Iron, the supported coins and networks are not listed, and sending to other Ethena Pay users is free.
Is the Ethena Pay card free?
Issuing a virtual card, opening the account and the monthly maintenance are free, and there is no minimum balance or inactivity fee. Non-USD spending carries a pass-through FX fee of around 1.0%, ATM withdrawals cost $1.00 plus 0.65%, late payments up to $40, and returned payments up to $29; third-party funding fees and gas are separate.
How do I add the Ethena Pay card to Apple Wallet?
The published flow generates a virtual card in about a minute and adds it to Apple Pay directly. Google Pay is listed as “available soon”, and the card details, including any restrictions on the tokenised number, are set by the issuer at the time of issue.
Is the Ethena Pay card safe?
The card is built on a self-custody model, so the user holds the keys and the company states that it does not custody funds or seed phrases, which means a lost seed phrase is unrecoverable. The card company is not licensed by a financial regulator, the issuer is not named in the public Terms, and the published material does not list 2FA, instant card freeze or in-app spending limits, so the safety picture is mixed and depends heavily on how the user manages the wallet side.
Credit and cashback card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
