Naira-funded, dollar-spending, and useful mostly inside one country

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Monica Pay card is a virtual dollar card — Visa and Mastercard, in your phone, with no plastic to wait for — that you fund by selling crypto for naira inside the Monica app and then loading the card from your naira balance. That is the whole idea in one sentence, and it is a genuinely useful one for the person it is built for: a Nigerian resident who holds crypto, wants to spend dollars, and would rather not wait two business days for an international transfer to clear. On the cost side the pitch is unusually clean, because Monica advertises 0% conversion fees both when you sell crypto for naira and when you fund the card from that naira balance. On the everything-else side, the card’s public pages are quiet: no country list, no ATM, no Apple Pay or Google Pay, no named card issuer, no stated spending limits, no stated document requirements.

Monica Pay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score is 5.6 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “bad” — it is the arithmetic of a card that does one thing at a very low cost and leaves most of the surrounding questions unanswered. If you are a Nigerian resident who already has crypto and a Monica account, the fee structure alone puts it ahead of most options. If you are anywhere else, or you need cash, or you live on your phone’s wallet, the omissions start to matter quickly.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.6 / 10

Let me show you where the 5.6 comes from, because the number is more useful when you can see the parts.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Monica Pay starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 The page is built around Nigeria — Lagos, EN-NG, naira payouts — and there is no list of countries at all
Cost 9 / 10 0% conversion fees when selling crypto for naira and when funding the card; an unofficial line mentions a one-time non-refundable $1 unlock fee
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT and USDC can all be sold for naira and the card loaded from the naira balance; the networks are not itemised
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Monica Technologies Limited in Lagos, self-described as aligned to the SEC VASP framework, but the card issuer is not named; App Store 4.6 from 15K ratings, Trustpilot 3.7 from a single review
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual dollar Visa and Mastercard with NFC and QR; no Apple Pay or Google Pay mentioned, no ATM

Who this suits. Someone living in Nigeria who holds BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT or USDC, is comfortable with a verification step in an app, and wants to convert to dollars and spend them at any shop that takes Visa or Mastercard — including subscriptions and online services that do not accept naira.

Who this does not suit. Anyone outside Nigeria who cannot open a naira-denominated account. Anyone who needs a physical card. Anyone who pays most of their life through Apple Pay or Google Pay. Anyone who needs an ATM. And anyone who is uneasy about a crypto platform that will not name the bank or institution behind the card.

The reason the total sits in the middle rather than at either end is that Monica scores the best of the four cards I looked at on cost and the worst of the four on who can get it. Those two facts are connected: the fee is low because the rail is domestic. Monica is not trying to be a global card, and reading it as one will disappoint you.

Who will they give you the card to

The honest answer: the page is Nigeria-centred, and there is no country list to check yourself against. Monica’s own materials point at Lagos, use the EN-NG language tag and describe naira payouts. That is a strong signal about who the product is built for, but it is not the same as a published eligibility rule, and I want to be careful not to invent one where none exists.

Two things do help you work this out yourself. First, the card is a dollar Visa or Mastercard, so it works wherever those networks are accepted — the acceptance geography is effectively global, even though the eligibility geography is not. Second, the terms bar use of the service from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful. That is a self-limiting clause written for legal safety rather than a customer rule, but it means the service is at least not advertising itself into markets where it could not operate.

Where that leaves you depends on where you are:

The card works where Visa or Mastercard is accepted. Where you can open it is a much narrower question, and the answer to that is Nigeria.

How to get it

The application is inside the app. Monica describes “one-screen KYC” — verification in the app, on a single screen — and the terms say only “eligible verified Users” may apply.

That is where the documentation stops, and you should notice what is missing rather than assume it. The public pages do not say which documents you need, they do not say how old you have to be, and they do not say what the eligibility criteria behind the word “eligible” actually are. The general verification tiers in clause 5.2 of the terms apply to naira withdrawals; card-specific levels are not stated. So the honest description of the signup is: download the app, complete the one-screen check, and find out.

What you get at the end is a virtual dollar debit card, available on both Visa and Mastercard networks, denominated in USD. The Pay Cards product supports NFC tap-to-pay and QR. It is virtual, so there is no delivery step and no plastic card in the post — which also means no physical-card use at a shop that insists on a card with a stripe.

Two apps: iOS and Android.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the strongest part of the card, and it is worth being precise about which number belongs to Monica and which does not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Monica Pay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Monica advertises 0% conversion fees on both halves of the round trip: selling crypto for naira inside the app, and funding the card from the resulting naira balance. That means the crypto-to-card path has no exchange mark-up of its own.

What the card does not say: Monica’s public pages do not state a price for issuing the card or a monthly fee. An unofficial line — from a third-party app listing page, dated 2026, and not confirmed by Monica itself — describes a one-time, non-refundable $1 fee to unlock the Virtual USD Card. Treat that as indicative rather than settled.

Then there is the spread you cannot avoid. Monica states that the FX spread is set by the scheme operator and that Monica does not retain it. This is the part most people read past. A 0% conversion fee does not mean a 0% cost of conversion; it means Monica takes nothing and someone else takes something. That is still better than many arrangements, but it is not the same as free.

Fee or limit What Monica states
Issuance Not stated by Monica; unofficial third-party listing says one-time, non-refundable $1 to unlock the Virtual USD Card
Monthly fee Not stated
Crypto-to-naira conversion 0% conversion fees
Card funding from naira balance 0% conversion fees
FX spread Set by the scheme operator; Monica does not retain it
ATM Not stated; no ATM function described
ATM cash withdrawal Not stated
Other fees Not stated
Card currency USD, funded from a naira balance; multi-currency balances not stated
Tiers A single tier
Spending limits Adjustable in real time; no amounts published. Transactions outside Nigeria may be subject to “additional regulatory limits”

Three everyday payments, priced

A $12 subscription in dollars, paid from a card you funded. You sell crypto for naira at Monica’s rate with a 0% conversion fee, then load the card from the naira balance with no conversion fee. What you actually paid in naira depends on the scheme operator’s spread at that moment, which is the one component with no published number. If the merchant is outside Nigeria, the “additional regulatory limits” line applies to the amount, not the price.

A grocery shop in Lagos, paid by NFC tap on your phone. The card holds dollars, so this is a conversion at the point of sale rather than a naira payment — and here the FX spread is the whole cost, because the 0% conversion fee applies to the app-side sell and the card-side load, not to the terminal. You are accepting whatever the card scheme’s rate is on that day. Budget for it rather than discovering it in the receipt.

A $40 online order from a merchant that declines prepaid or foreign BINs. The card’s issuing country will not be Nigeria, because the card is dollar-denominated on a US-facing network. Some merchants look at the issuer country in the BIN and apply extra scrutiny or refuse the card outright — a fact I cover in the everyday-use section. Add 3-D Secure as a likely second gate. This payment may simply fail, and no fee in the table above would have warned you.

How to top it up

Top-up is the part Monica explains most clearly, and it runs in two steps rather than one.

Step one — sell crypto for naira. Inside Monica you can sell BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT or USDC for naira. The conversion fee is 0%. The public pages do not itemise which networks are supported for each coin, and that omission is not academic — sending on the wrong chain is the classic way to lose money in this category, so treat the in-app display as the source of truth and not this review.

Step two — load the card from the naira balance. The naira balance on your Monica account funds the dollar card, again at 0% conversion.

If you would rather send crypto directly: crypto can be sent to a Monica wallet, converted to naira at the live rate, and loaded to the card. Monica describes this as instant, with naira reaching your bank within 60 seconds of on-chain confirmation. The minimum top-up is not stated, and neither is who pays the network fee — which is a real question, because on-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider.

Outbound is thinner. The App Store listing says “Move money to your bank without fees”, and naira is said to reach your bank within 60 seconds of confirmation. What is not stated is how you get card balance back: whether the dollar balance can be returned to the naira balance or withdrawn directly is not described anywhere I could find. If your plan involves unwinding, ask before you commit.

Top-up options at a glance:

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card scores lowest, at 4 out of 10, and the reasons are absences rather than failures.

What works. NFC tap-to-pay and QR, on Visa and Mastercard, in dollars. Spending limits you can change in real time — genuinely useful, and the one safety feature Monica documents beyond the card existing. Because the card draws on a loaded balance rather than a credit line, it cannot overdraw, which is a quiet benefit when your balance is also your savings.

What is missing.

The BIN problem, and why it bites here specifically. A card number starts with six or eight digits that identify the issuing institution and country. Merchants can look those digits up, see the issuer and country, and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country does not match the customer’s billing address. A Nigerian user holding a US-facing dollar card is the textbook case of a card that looks “foreign” to a shop in another country. It is why a perfectly good card gets declined at a hotel, an airline or a subscription renewal — not because of your balance, but because of six digits.

Address Verification Service makes this worse: it compares numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A mismatch there can cause a decline.

None of this makes the card bad. It makes it a card that works best online, on subscriptions, and where the merchant has no reason to look closely — and occasionally awkward in the physical world.

What can go wrong

Nobody has written about this card. That is the plainest risk. I found no independent reviews of the virtual card and no official incident report. I am not going to convert “no news” into “all clear”; it more likely means the product is young or small. If you are the first person to hit a problem, there will be no write-up to check your experience against.

The single Trustpilot datapoint — 3.7 from one review, five stars, dated May 19, 2026, on an unclaimed profile — is not a signal in either direction. One review is one review.

The issuer is unnamed. Monica Technologies Limited is a Lagos company that describes itself as SEC VASP-framework aligned, and claims NDPA 2023 and NFIU compliance on its site. That is a claim, stated by the company, and I am reporting it as such. But the card itself is issued by an unnamed third-party card partner. In this category that matters more than it might seem: a crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front-end, while a separate bank or e-money institution holds the actual card programme. If that partner stops — issuers can be suspended by the network — the standard pattern is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

This is not hypothetical for the category. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes at once.

Custody is unstated. Monica does not describe its custody model, and the general principle is unforgiving. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and unencrypted; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodial platforms have a real record: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Not one claim about Monica — I have no evidence of a problem. The point is that you are taking counterparty and hack risk whenever a provider holds the keys, and here you are not told which model applies.

Wrong network, gone money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There are real traps in the two coins most people would send here: on Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all; on Tron, fees are paid via bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — if you see that pairing offered, understand why.

Disputes are not addressed. The card terms do not cover disputes. The general process Monica describes is negotiation within 30 days, then arbitration in Lagos, under Nigerian governing law. If you are outside Nigeria, that is a meaningful fact. It also means that the chargeback protections you may assume from other cards — reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing, goods not received — are not something the card terms grant you here. US debit reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Treat this as weaker recourse than you are used to.

Support is a URL. There is a support page at /get-support. Channels, languages and opening hours are not described.

Tapped payments can hold your money. A declined authorisation may leave a hold that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Budget for that.

What to take instead

If Monica’s fee structure is what you are chasing, these are the alternatives I compared against, with their own trade-offs. Scores are on the same scale.

Alternative Score Card Issuance and monthly Conversion and FX Who
Monica Pay 5.6 / 10 Virtual USD, Visa and Mastercard Not stated; unofficial line says one-time non-refundable $1 0% conversion fees; FX spread set by the scheme operator Nigeria-centred; no country list
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” $5 one-time, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month Card use in USD free on all plans; foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” Not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency, Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global balance “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; live OTC rates; “No hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted “No extra fees”; no amounts listed Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses

International Visa Card is the one to look at if you want a dollar card with the terms actually written down. It publishes its issuance fee, its monthly plans, and its FX fee — a flat 2% on top of the Visa exchange rate, which is more than Monica charges in spirit but far more than Monica charges in writing. It also has the longest and most restrictive exclusion list of the four: residents and legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are refused, FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note the basis is residence or registration, not citizenship.

UNi Card has the cleanest fee language of the group — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, “no hidden exchange fees”, conversion at live OTC rates — and the only rewards on offer, spend-to-earn up to 3%. But its eligibility and funding routes are simply not stated, so you cannot check whether you qualify before you start.

Whop Cards goes the other way: broad US coverage across 31 states for consumers and 41 for businesses, and 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber), but no published fee amounts and no stated conversion terms at all. It spends from a Whop balance rather than from crypto you convert yourself.

Monica’s relative strength is narrow but real: the lowest conversion fee of the four, and the ability to sell crypto directly for naira inside the app. Its relative weakness is that it is the only one of the four that does not tell you who can get the card.

Who I would recommend it to

Recommended to: a Nigerian resident who holds crypto, already has a Monica account, and wants to turn it into dollars for spending — subscriptions, online services, imported goods, anything that does not take naira. For that person the 0% conversion fees, the real-time spending limits, the NFC and QR support, and the two-network choice add up to a card that does its job cheaply. The fact that you can also move naira to a bank within 60 seconds of confirmation makes it feel less like a card and more like an account with a card attached.

Not recommended to: anyone outside Nigeria planning around this card, since the terms do not support that plan. Anyone who needs cash, a physical card, or Apple Pay or Google Pay. Anyone who needs a clear answer on card disputes, and especially anyone outside Nigeria who would have to arbitrate in Lagos. And — this is the one I would weigh most heavily — anyone who is choosing between Monica and a listed alternative purely on fee percentage, because the 0% is only half the cost and the other half belongs to a scheme operator whose rate is never published.

My honest reservation: this is a well-priced card attached to a young, thinly documented operation with an unnamed issuer and one review on Trustpilot. That is not disqualifying — most products start there. But it means the reason to use Monica rather than a fully documented alternative has to be the naira-crypto route, because on fees alone it is not in the same class of transparency as the International Visa Card.

If that route is the one you need, try it with an amount you would not mind losing, keep your own record of what you converted and at what rate, and know before you start how you would get money back out — because that part is not stated.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Monica Pay card?

Monica Pay is a Nigerian crypto platform that also issues a virtual dollar debit card on the Visa and Mastercard networks. You sell crypto — BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT or USDC — for naira inside the app, then load the card from your naira balance and spend the dollars wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted. The card is virtual, so there is no physical card to be delivered.

Is Monica Pay a bank?

No — it is a crypto platform, Monica Technologies Limited, based in Lagos, Nigeria. It says it is aligned to the SEC VASP framework and claims NDPA 2023 and NFIU compliance. The card itself is issued by an unnamed third-party card partner, which is the institution actually behind the card programme. Monica is the front-end and manager, not the bank.

Who owns Monica Pay?

Monica Pay is operated by Monica Technologies Limited, a company registered in Lagos, Nigeria. That is the ownership as stated by the company itself. No parent company, funding history or investor information is published on the pages I checked, so the corporate structure beyond that single name is not documented.

Can I use the Monica Pay card in my country?

The card works wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted, which is most countries. Who can *get* the card is a narrower question: Monica’s materials point at Lagos, use EN-NG and describe naira payouts, and publish no country list. The terms bar use from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful. If you are outside Nigeria, you are outside the documented path.

Does the Monica Pay card require KYC?

Yes. Monica describes “one-screen KYC” inside the app, and the terms allow only “eligible verified Users” to apply. The public pages do not state which documents are required or the minimum age. General verification tiers in clause 5.2 apply to naira withdrawals; card-specific levels are not stated. Budget on needing to upload identity documents and a proof of address.

How much does the Monica Pay card cost?

Monica’s public pages state no issuance price and no monthly fee. They do advertise 0% conversion fees when selling crypto for naira and when funding the card. An unofficial line from a third-party app listing page, dated 2026 and not confirmed by Monica, describes a one-time, non-refundable $1 fee to unlock the Virtual USD Card. The FX spread is set by the scheme operator and Monica says it does not retain it.

Can I add the Monica Pay card to Apple Wallet?

Not on the evidence available. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere on Monica’s public pages, and no tokenisation support is described. Apple Pay works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number stored in your phone’s Secure Element, so a card can only be added if the issuer supports it. Treat mobile wallet support as unavailable rather than pending unless Monica confirms otherwise.

Where can I use the Monica Pay card?

Anywhere Visa or Mastercard is accepted, online or in person, including outside Nigeria — though transactions outside Nigeria may be subject to additional regulatory limits that Monica does not quantify. There is no ATM and no cash withdrawal function described. Note that merchants can look up the card’s issuing country in the first six or eight digits of the number and decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, so physical-world acceptance is less certain than the network logos suggest.

Is the Monica Pay card safe?

There is no published incident, but there is also almost no published information: no independent reviews of the card, no stated custody model, and no named issuer. The genuine risks are structural rather than specific — funds held by a custodian cannot be self-recovered if lost or stolen, and card programmes can be closed by the network or issuer, as happened with FTX in 2022 and WaveCrest in 2018. Use the real-time spending limits, keep only what you need on the card, and do not treat the balance as savings.

How do I withdraw money from Monica Pay?

The App Store listing says “Move money to your bank without fees”, and Monica states naira reaches your bank within 60 seconds of on-chain confirmation. If you sent crypto to a Monica wallet, it is converted to naira at the live rate and loaded to the card instantly. What is not stated is how to move money back off the card — whether the dollar balance returns to the naira balance or can be withdrawn directly. Confirm that before you load funds you might want back.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team