Self-custody first, plastic if you want it, and several answers you will not find on the site
The Oppi card is unusual in a fairly crowded category. Most crypto payment cards are built on the idea that a company holds your money until you spend it. Oppi says the opposite: it is a self-custody wallet first, with a virtual Mastercard that draws on your own balance, and a physical card you may or may not order. That design appeals to a specific person — someone who already thinks about seed phrases and network fees, who does not want to hand credentials to a provider, and who treats a debit card as a convenience rather than as an account. If that is you, a lot here will make sense immediately. If you are someone trying to solve a blocked-account problem with as little friction as possible, the verification step is still a real verification step, and you should read the parts about eligibility and limits before you commit.
My score for Oppi is 7.2 out of 10. That is a good card for its niche and a mediocre product for everyone else, and the two halves of that sentence deserve equal weight.
All conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.2 out of 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Claimed in 210+ countries; unofficial listings say 221, with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria closed |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Virtual activation 10 USD, of which 5 USD is returned; physical 100 USD with delivery; non-USD payments carry 2%–2.5%; no monthly fee |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX, USDC across Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON, Solana |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Self-custody, keys on device; issuer not named, company is Encoin Limited; no complaints found; App Store 4.6 out of 5 from 50 ratings |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, optional physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, cash withdrawal stated |
| Total | 7.2 / 10 | Strong for self-custody users who want optional plastic |
The two numbers I would weigh most heavily are the top-up score and the reliability score. The top-up breadth is genuinely good — nine assets across five networks is more than most cards in this category offer, and it means you are not forced into one chain. The reliability score is lower for reasons that have nothing to do with how the product feels in the hand: the card issuer is not named anywhere on the public pages, and the developer listed on the App Store is Encoin Limited with no licence number or jurisdiction stated. Self-custody means nobody can take your crypto, which is a real strength. It does not tell you who stands behind the card number when a payment is declined at a shop.
The audience fit, plainly: this is a card for people who want self-custody and would like a plastic card if the price were not 100 USD. Someone who never touches crypto and simply wants a reliable debit card should look elsewhere — the category has better-established names with named issuers and published fee tables.
Will they give you the card?
Oppi’s own pages claim availability in “210+ countries”, while other pages on the same site say 100+ and 200+, and the page adds the usual hedge that availability varies and regulatory limits apply. Eligibility is checked at signup. That is the honest version of the claim: broad, but decided per person at the moment you register.
The restricted-country list exists in the page FAQ, but the answers there were not readable when I checked. What I can tell you comes from third-party sources and is unofficial: a list of 221 countries as available, with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria closed, and an anti-money-laundering policy that also bars Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk. The same source claims the “210+” figure refers to Mastercard acceptance rather than to where you live, which would explain the inconsistent numbers across pages. Treat the country list as directionally useful and not as confirmed by the card.
The part that catches people out is that the wallet and the card are gated differently. The wallet works without identity verification. The card does not: it needs a government ID and a selfie. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the pages I read. Unofficial sources say proof of address is required under the anti-money-laundering policy, and that above USD 10,000 in daily or 100,000 in monthly withdrawals you can be asked for proof of funds, a source-of-wealth questionnaire and a video call. I would not build a plan around those thresholds, because the card has not published them — but I would not be surprised if they existed.
There is one verification level on the page and no tiers. That is simple, and simplicity cuts both ways: there is no upgrade path described, and no published table telling you what a given level unlocks.
How to get it
There is no branch, no application form in the traditional sense, and no waiting period described. You install the wallet, create it, and then decide whether to enable the card. The card feature requires the ID-plus-selfie step; until that is done, the wallet functions on its own.
There is one level of verification described on the page, and it does one thing: government ID plus selfie enables the card features. No tiers, no upgrade path, no published thresholds.
On the card itself, the public pages are not entirely consistent and you should know which way they differ before you order anything. The page table lists a virtual Mastercard and describes the physical card as Visa. The App Store listing says virtual Mastercard, physical VISA. Another site page says Visa/Mastercard without distinguishing. Multiple virtual cards can share one balance, and the physical card is optional. Currency is implied to be USD, which is why a charge applies to non-USD purchases.
Delivery is not stated. The physical card is 100 USD including shipping, but the delivery time, the countries it ships to and the cost of a replacement are all absent from the pages. If you are outside the main markets, that is a question worth asking in support before you pay.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weak flank of the card, and the 4 out of 10 in the score table is not a rounding error. Oppi has no monthly fee and no annual fee, which is genuinely better than the tiered membership models some competitors use. But the entry price and the travel price are both high.

| Fee or limit | What Oppi’s pages say |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | 10 USD one-time, 5 USD credited back; a comparison table on the site says 5 USD |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Annual fee | None |
| Physical card | 100 USD including shipping |
| Conversion (crypto to fiat) | Real-time rate; swap fees described as “low” and not quantified |
| FX on non-USD purchases | 2%–2.5% |
| ATM withdrawal | Supported; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated on the card page |
| Monthly limit | Not stated on the card page |
| Card loading fee | Not stated beyond the conversion rate |
Now the everyday arithmetic, because fee percentages mean nothing until you attach them to a purchase. A coffee in a country that does not use dollars, on a virtual card, with nothing else charged: the 2%–2.5% foreign-exchange charge applies, because the purchase is not in USD. That is the only line item the pages state for that transaction. There is no monthly fee because there is no monthly fee. If you pay a taxi in a city whose taxis quote in local currency, the same 2%–2.5% applies again, and on a small fare the percentage is more visible than it would be on a large one.
A second example: buying something online priced in euros, with the balance held in USD. The FX charge applies at 2%–2.5%. Here the conflict I flagged matters. The App Store listing advertises travel bookings with “no currency exchange fees”, while the main page states the 2%–2.5% charge. Those cannot both be true for every purchase. Until the company reconciles them in one place, assume the charge exists.
A third example, and this one is the reason the limits row says “not stated”: a cash withdrawal at an ATM. The main site says ATM withdrawals are supported and that you can “withdraw cash worldwide”. The fee and the allowance are not stated. So the true cost of taking money out is unknown to you at the moment you need it. That is the least comfortable gap on this page.
There is one product, not tiers. A virtual card — several of them, sharing one balance — plus an optional physical card. Nothing else is described.
Unofficial sources disagree with the official pricing, and the disagreement is large enough that I would check before clicking. One third-party site lists the virtual activation at 10 USD with 5 USD returned (15 USD in India, with 5 returned), the physical at 100 USD including shipping, and also lists Google Play and a February comparison saying the virtual card is free and the physical 10 USD. Those figures contradict the official page, so I have used the official numbers above and flag the rest as unconfirmed.
Top up: how the balance gets filled
The asset list is the strongest part of the product. You can fund with BTC, BCH, BNB, ETH, LTC, SOL, USDT, TRX and USDC, across the Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana networks. The App Store listing puts it at 40+ assets, which may count the same coins issued on several networks. The pre-funded balance, the virtual card and the physical card all draw on the same pot, so splitting your money across several cards does not mean several balances.

Two things are not stated and both matter. There is no minimum top-up figure, and there is no fiat top-up route described — the card pages describe crypto in, not bank transfer in. If you are trying to use this as a bridge from a bank account, that gap is the first thing to raise with support.
The conversion happens at the real-time rate when you top up, and swap fees are described as “low” without a number. An unofficial guide cited by a third-party site puts card loading at typically 1%–2%, but that figure is not itemised anywhere on Oppi’s own pages, so treat it as a hint rather than a fact.
The mechanics that catch people are generic to crypto transfers rather than specific to Oppi. A blockchain transfer is irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option even though TRON is listed as a supported network for other assets. Withdrawing the card balance back out is not stated at all.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this behaves like a prepaid card, which is the right mental model. You convert or load, and the card spends only what is there — it cannot overdraw.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and with a virtual card that is often the only way you will use it. Behind the scenes the phone replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. That is a well-established mechanism. The issuer can still restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on phone use, on websites, or on the magnetic stripe — and the card’s public pages do not say whether Oppi does that.
Eligible spending earns Oppi Points, redeemable for top-ups. The earning rate and any caps are not stated. Points were introduced in July 2026 according to a third-party source, so this is a young programme and the terms will probably move.
The app is iPhone-only as far as the pages go: iOS 15.6 and up, also listed for M-series Mac and Vision, English only. There is no Android app described on Oppi’s own pages. If you switch phones or speak another language, that is a real constraint. Support lives at a support centre on the site and at [email protected], with in-app tickets added per release notes; hours are not stated.
Two things the pages leave open that you will notice at a shop. Whether gambling merchants are blocked is not stated — many issuers block those category codes by policy rather than law, and the blocked list varies by issuer, so you cannot infer it from the category norms. And how disputes work is not stated: the help centre shows a list of frequently asked questions without answers. Whether a purchase can be charged back, and who decides, is simply not on the page.
What can go wrong
The honest risks here are not theft of your crypto. They are opacity and delivery.
The issuer is not named. The public pages do not identify the bank or e-money institution that actually holds the card programme, and no BIN sponsor is named. That is worth pausing on, because a card number begins with an issuer identification number that merchants can look up, and an unnamed issuer is harder for you to check, harder for a support agent to answer for, and harder to complain about. Unofficial reporting in August 2026 also said the issuer and BIN sponsor are not publicly identified. The developer on the App Store is Encoin Limited, the site says it is operated by Oppiwallet and “VASP-certified”, and licence number and jurisdiction are not stated. That is the whole picture of the corporate side.
On complaints: a search of Trustpilot and Reddit found nothing about Oppi — only unrelated products. The App Store rating is 4.6 out of 5 from 50 ratings, and the four visible 2025 reviews are all positive. That is a thin signal, not a clean one. Third-party reporting mentions one Trustpilot review from someone saying a physical card was never delivered — a single anecdote, not a pattern, but it lands in exactly the area the card is already silent about, since delivery time and countries are not stated. Unofficial App Store and Google Play figures vary widely, from 4.3 to 4.8, across different sources and rating counts.
The security design is the good part. Private keys stay on your device, and Oppi says it does not hold your funds at any point. What that means practically is that you are responsible for key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied deposit address. The reverse of that is that a provider failure does not take your balance with it. Freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated.
Three things can still surprise you. First, card programme closures: networks do suspend programmes, and a closure typically means loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. Second, a declined online authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. Third, address verification — the check comparing the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records — is offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. A card whose issuing country differs from yours can also attract extra scrutiny at the till.
One last thing, and it is yours to handle rather than the provider’s: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto through a card is generally a disposal measured in local currency at the transaction date. That is a tax matter, not a card matter, and not something a review should advise you on — but it is a real cost of using this card daily.
What to take instead
Here is where I want to walk through the comparison with you rather than just present it, because the honest answer depends on which of two problems you have. If your problem is “I want my own keys and a card that spends from them”, Oppi is a reasonable pick and the alternatives below do not improve on that. If your problem is “I want a card I can trust with a named issuer and a published fee table”, then the alternatives are simply better documented, and documentation is what you are buying.
| Oppi | TokenPocket | MetaMask | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.2 / 10 | 5.8 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Mastercard, optional physical | Mastercard/Visa debit, virtual | Mastercard, virtual then optional metal | Virtual and physical, Visa tiers |
| Who it suits | Self-custody users wanting optional plastic | Light crypto spend from a wallet | Custodial balances with cashback | Tiered membership, heavy spenders |
| Cost | 10 USD virtual (5 returned), 100 USD physical | Small NFT creation fee, no other fees | Virtual free; metal 199 USD/year | 0 / 1,000 / 10,000 USD per year |
| Loading | Crypto in, rate at real time, swaps “low” | 1% on crypto deposit, refunded later via rewards | Spends directly from the connected wallet | Stablecoin top-up 0% |
| FX on non-USD | 2%–2.5% | Not stated | No additional MetaMask fee; Mastercard rate | 0.5%–1.75% depending on country |
| Cashback | Oppi Points, rate not stated | None stated | 1% virtual, 3% metal on the first 10,000 USD then 1% | 1.5% / 2% / 3% up to monthly caps |
TokenPocket is the one to look at if the entry price is the problem. Its card is a Mastercard/Visa debit covering a list of European countries for Visa and a longer list for Mastercard including Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, South Korea and the UK, with the Americas described as planned. It runs on Arbitrum, and the Fiat24 cards are virtual. On cost, TokenPocket covers part of the NFT creation fee and the user pays a small portion, and beyond that TP Card charges no additional fees. The catch is a 1% fee on depositing cryptocurrency, which the company says will be refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees — refunded later is not the same as charged never.
MetaMask scores 7.1, just under Oppi, and is the closest comparison. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency required, other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. The card is a Mastercard issued by Monovate with Crypto Life as card provider, one card per user, virtual first and metal pre-orderable after approval. Virtual is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is 199 USD a year. Spending comes straight from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and the card currency is not stated. Cashback is paid in mUSD — 1% on virtual, and on metal a headline 3% limited by a footnote to the first 10,000 USD spent, then 1%. That footnote is exactly the sort of thing you only notice later, and it is a good reminder to read Oppi’s own unquantified rewards line with the same suspicion.
KAST is the opposite design: membership tiers with real prices. Standard is 0 USD a year, Premium 1,000 USD, Private 10,000 USD, billed annually upfront. You can hold up to 10 cards, on Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal or gold. Its fee disclosure is the most complete of the four — stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spending 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD foreign exchange 0.5%–1.75% depending on your country, a 0.10 USD fixed fee on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Cashback runs 1.5%, 2% or 3% up to monthly caps of 2,000, 10,000 and 40,000 USD. You pay a great deal of money and a great deal of attention for that clarity, and its country list is not published — you find out at verification.
If you want a middle path, the pattern across all four is the same: the crypto-native cards price FX as a percentage, the more conventional ones price membership, and none of them publish the two numbers you most want as a new user — how much you can spend per day and what a cash withdrawal costs.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Oppi to someone who already holds crypto across more than one network, does not want a company holding the keys, and treats the physical card as a nice-to-have they will probably decide about later. The asset and network coverage means you can fund from whichever chain you happen to be using, and self-custody removes the counterparty risk that has ended several programmes in this category. Apple Pay and Google Pay support means you can live on the virtual card entirely.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, or as a way around a banking problem. The verification step is real, the issuer is not named, no spending limits are published, ATM costs are unknown, and there is no Android app. If you need a card to work reliably this week with a support team you can hold responsible, choose a product with a named issuer and a published fee table — the MetaMask or KAST columns above show what that documentation looks like when a company chooses to provide it.
The honest summary: excellent plumbing for the balance, thin documentation around the card itself, and a cost that only makes sense if you keep it virtual.
Frequently asked questions
What is Oppi card?
Oppi is a self-custody crypto wallet with a payment card attached. Your private keys stay on your device, and Oppi says it does not hold your funds at any point. The card is a virtual Mastercard that spends a pre-loaded balance, with an optional physical card for 100 USD including shipping. The pages call the physical card Visa in one table and the App Store describes it as Visa, so the branding is not consistent.
Is Oppi a bank?
No, and the pages do not present it as one. The developer listed on the App Store is Encoin Limited, the site says the service is operated by Oppiwallet and “VASP-certified”, and no licence number or jurisdiction is stated. Critically, the card issuer is not named on the public pages, so you cannot tell which institution stands behind the card number.
How does Oppi card work?
You load the balance with crypto — nine assets across Ethereum, BSC, Polygon, TRON and Solana are listed — and the card spends that balance like a prepaid card. It cannot overdraw. The card feature itself needs a government ID and a selfie, while the wallet itself works without that step.
Does Oppi card require KYC?
For the card, yes: government ID plus a selfie enables the card features. The wallet works without it. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the pages I read. Unofficial sources say proof of address is required under the anti-money-laundering policy, and mention extra checks on large withdrawals.
Is Oppi card free?
Partly. Virtual activation is 10 USD one-time with 5 USD credited back, and there is no monthly or annual fee. The physical card is 100 USD including shipping. Non-USD payments carry a 2%–2.5% foreign-exchange charge, which contradicts an App Store claim of no currency exchange fees on travel bookings.
How do I top up Oppi card?
You send crypto to the wallet and the card draws on the same balance as the pre-funded account. The conversion happens at the real-time rate and swap fees are described as “low” but not quantified. No minimum top-up is stated and no fiat top-up route is described on the card pages.
Where can I use Oppi card?
Anywhere Mastercard or Visa is accepted, since the virtual card is Mastercard and Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The pages claim availability in “210+ countries”, and third-party listings say 221 with Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria closed. Eligibility is checked at signup, and delivery for the physical card is not stated.
Is Oppi card safe?
The crypto side is designed to be: keys stay on your device, so a provider failure does not take your balance. You carry the risk instead — key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied deposit address. On the card side, freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated, and the unnamed issuer is the detail I would want answered.
Is Oppi card worth it?
If you keep it virtual and spend mostly in dollars, yes — no monthly fee, no annual fee, and a wide choice of networks to fund from. If you travel often, the 2%–2.5% foreign-exchange charge applies and the App Store’s contrary claim leaves the real cost uncertain. If you want the physical card, 100 USD is a lot for an optional convenience.
Can I withdraw money from Oppi?
The main site says ATM withdrawals are supported and that you can withdraw cash worldwide, so cash out is intended to work. The fee and the allowance are not stated, and no withdrawal route for the card balance itself is described. For crypto already in the wallet, you send it as an ordinary blockchain transfer — irreversibly, and only if you have the native asset for gas.
Wallet card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
