The Bitrefill Visa card, judged on the things that actually matter
If you have crypto and you want to spend it like ordinary money, the Bitrefill Visa is one of the few cards that lets you do it without first opening a bank account. The promise is simple: top up with Bitcoin, Lightning, USDC or a SEPA transfer, and the card pays in euros wherever Visa is taken. The reality is more layered, and it depends heavily on where you live, which tier of verification you reach, and which coins you plan to send.
I went through the card’s own pages, the user agreement, recent Trustpilot feedback and a few third-party write-ups, and the picture that came out is a mid-table card with a couple of real strengths and a long list of small print. The headline score is 6.8 out of 10, and the reasons sit in the table below. The rest of the review walks through who can actually get one, what the fees look like in everyday use, how the top-up works in practice, and the risks I would want a reader to know about before sending any money.
The conditions and figures below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Bitrefill card scores 6.8 out of 10, and the strongest parts of that score are reliability (9/10) and everyday use (8/10). It is weakest on who can actually get one (5/10), and middling on cost (6/10) and on the range of top-up options (7/10). For the kind of reader this card was built for, namely an EU resident who already holds crypto or wants to spend over Lightning, those numbers are decent, but the cost and access numbers are what drags the total down.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it lands there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Card is open to residents of 29 EU/EEA countries (the EU 27 plus Norway and Iceland), aged 18 or over, with full identity verification. US citizens are excluded wherever they live, and Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA citizenship. Help-centre blocklists also mention Japan, Ukraine and the UAE for some flows. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card is free through the app, with no monthly fee to start. There is a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee on crypto deposits and a SEPA pay-in fee of the same 1.99%. A third-party report puts an inactivity fee at EUR 10 per month after 12 months of no spending, and an ATM fee at 2.49% on top of what the ATM operator charges. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA are supported. USDT funding ended on 17 March 2025, so the public “Buy with” list is misleading on that point. Minimum deposit is EUR 15 and anything below that is not credited. |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia under a Finantsinspektsioon licence, and the site is run by Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden. Trustpilot sits at 4.5/5 across about 2,943 reviews; the loudest complaints are about the gift-card store, not the card. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | It is a Visa, so acceptance is broad, including ATM withdrawals on the Visa network. Google Pay works. Apple Pay is listed as “coming soon”. Cashback is 2% with no published cap, split as 1% on deposit and 1% on spend. |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A solid option for EU residents who already hold crypto and want a euro-denominated Visa, with the usual caveats about tiers, fees and stablecoin funding. |
The card is best suited to an EU resident who holds Bitcoin, Lightning, USDC or ETH and wants a euro Visa without a bank account. It is not a good fit for a US or Russian citizen, for anyone who relies on USDT, or for someone who needs a true multi-currency wallet with balances in several currencies at once.
Who will they give the card to
The card page does not publish a country list, and the user agreement only says access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply”. That is the polite way of saying you find out by trying, but in practice the list I have been able to confirm from the card’s own help centre and third-party write-ups is: residents of Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland, aged 18 or over, with identity verification passed.
Two things sit on top of that, and they matter. First, citizens of the United States are excluded regardless of where they live. Second, citizens of Russia are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA citizenship, so a Russian passport alone is not enough. The help centre also flags the US, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE on a verification and deposit blocklist, which the official card page does not spell out.
There are also mobile-number restrictions. The signup flow does not accept Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan phone numbers, which closes a door for some readers in Central Asia. Hungarian residents have seen temporary suspensions of new applications in the past, although the card has generally been available there since. The card is not a US product and there is no equivalent US-facing sign-up, so if you are in the US reading this, the answer to “is Bitrefill card available in the US” is no.
Two practical consequences. If you are an EU/EEA resident with an EU/EEA passport, you are inside the intended audience. If you are anywhere else, your best move is to check the help centre for your specific country before installing the app and uploading documents.
How to get it
The card is part of the Bitrefill app, which is on the App Store and Google Play. You create an account, complete the verification that the card partner runs, then order the card. The terms say the card is restricted to customers aged 18 or older; identity verification is done by the card partner rather than Bitrefill itself, and you have to pass that before ordering. The card comes in two forms: a virtual Visa, which is usable as soon as you receive it, and a physical Visa, which has to be activated once it arrives.
There are two verification tiers. The default is Starter: photo ID plus a selfie liveness check, and a proof of address may be requested. The Starter limit on crypto deposits is EUR 15,000 lifetime, and you can spend up to EUR 10,000 a day and EUR 10,000 a month. Contactless payments are capped at EUR 200 per transaction. The second tier is Plus, which is an invitation once you hit the Starter deposit ceiling. Plus adds proof of address and proof of source of funds, removes the lifetime deposit cap, raises the monthly spend to EUR 15,000 (with the same EUR 10,000 daily cap), and keeps the EUR 200 contactless limit. If you do not finish the Plus upgrade within 30 days of the invitation, the card is suspended.
The card is denominated in euros, since crypto deposits are converted into euros by the card partner before the balance is loaded. The physical card is sent to the address you provide, and ordering it is described as free on the card page, although the time it takes to arrive is not stated. When the card expires you order a new one from the Cards page; the cost of a replacement, if the card is lost or damaged, is not stated in the public materials.
The documents you need to provide, beyond the photo ID and selfie, are not described in detail on the card page. If you are activating the card from outside the EU, the third-party write-ups suggest a proof of address is required, and a source-of-funds check becomes more likely at the Plus tier.
What it really costs (Fees)
The headline on the card’s own page is that the card is free through the app. That is true at the level of issuance and the standard monthly fee, but the real cost of using the card is in three places: the deposit fee on crypto top-ups, the spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion, and the fees on cash and FX. A short table first, then a walk through three everyday payments.

| Fee or limit | Amount | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free through the app | Card page |
| Monthly fee | None at sign-up; inactivity fee after 12 months with no spending or cash-out (amount not stated by the card) | Card page; third-party reports say EUR 10/month |
| Crypto deposit fee | Fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate | Help-centre article and terms |
| SEPA pay-in fee | 1.99% | Help-centre article |
| Foreign exchange fee | None from Bitrefill; Visa’s wholesale rate applies to non-euro spending | Card page |
| ATM fee | Not stated on the card page; third-party reports say 2.49% for both tiers, plus ATM operator charge | Card page; third-party write-up |
| Daily spend limit | EUR 10,000 | Tier page |
| Monthly spend limit | EUR 10,000 (Starter) or EUR 15,000 (Plus) | Tier page |
| Contactless limit per transaction | EUR 200 | Tier page |
| Minimum deposit | EUR 15 (smaller amounts are not credited) | Help-centre article |
| Replacement physical card | Not stated; third-party reports say EUR 10 | Third-party write-up |
A few things to draw out. First, the inactivity fee is the kind of charge that only bites people who stop using the card, and the card page does not publish the amount, so a third-party report putting it at EUR 10 a month is worth treating as unofficial and worth confirming before you leave the card sitting in a drawer. Second, the spread on the crypto-to-euro conversion is not published as a percentage, even though the conversion is the heart of how the card works; the only number you see in the help centre is the fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee, on top of which the card partner’s live rate applies. Third, there is no foreign exchange markup from Bitrefill, but every non-euro transaction still goes through Visa’s wholesale rate, so paying in a foreign currency is not free, it just does not have an extra Bitrefill layer on top.
To make that concrete, three everyday payments. A EUR 100 shop purchase in Germany, paid with the card after a EUR 500 Bitcoin top-up: the EUR 500 costs about EUR 9.95 in fixed Bitrefill fees before the spread, and the EUR 100 purchase has no Bitrefill fee, only the Visa network cost. A EUR 200 dinner in New York, paid by tapping the card: no Bitrefill fee, and no foreign exchange fee, but Visa’s wholesale rate applies, so the dollar amount is set by Visa, not by Bitrefill. A EUR 100 ATM withdrawal in Spain: third-party sources put the Bitrefill-side fee at about 2.49%, so about EUR 2.49, and the ATM operator will add its own charge on top, which the card does not control.
How to top it up (Top up)
The card page has a “Buy with” list that names Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and Mastercard. That list is the broadest list of payment options on the site, not a list of card funding methods. The funding methods that actually work for the card today, based on the help-centre article and the terms, are Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA. USDT funding was closed on 17 March 2025 across all networks, which is the kind of change that the public “Buy with” list has not caught up with.

The mechanics are: pick the asset, send it to the deposit address shown in the app on the right network, and the card partner converts it to euros at its live rate and loads the balance. A fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee is taken on top of that conversion. The minimum deposit is currently EUR 15, and any smaller deposit is not added to the balance. SEPA is also supported as a pay-in, with the same 1.99% fee. Store credit on the Bitrefill platform, meaning the balance you have from buying gift cards, cannot be moved onto the card.
A practical caution that belongs here rather than in the risks section. Stablecoin transfers are irreversible, and if you send a USDC deposit on a network the card does not support, or to an address of a different network, the funds can be lost or stuck in a manual support process with no guarantee of recovery. Always match the network in the app, and assume that the only networks that work are the ones the app shows you at the moment of deposit. Two background points that are worth holding in mind: Circle’s USDC is supported on a long list of networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar, and the issuer of USDC stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so a USDC-on-Tron deposit is not a native option for any service. Ethereum-token transfers also need a small amount of ETH in the sending wallet to pay gas, so a USDC-only wallet cannot send.
The Lightning option is the unusual one. Bitrefill has been a Lightning-first service for years, and the card accepts Lightning deposits, which is useful for small, fast top-ups that would be uneconomic on the base Bitcoin chain because of miner fees.
Paying with it every day
Because the card is a Visa, acceptance is wide. Online, it works at any merchant that takes Visa and supports 3-D Secure, and Bitrefill enables 3-D Secure on online payments. In person, it works anywhere Visa is taken, subject to the contactless limit and the daily and monthly spend caps. At an ATM, withdrawals are possible at any ATM that accepts Visa, which is essentially every ATM in the EEA that displays the Visa mark.
For mobile wallets, the position in October 2026 is that Google Pay works, and Apple Pay is listed as “coming soon” rather than live. So if you rely on Apple Pay today, this is not your card yet. Blocked merchant categories, such as gambling or specific adult content, are not listed in the public terms, so a reader who needs that kind of blocklist will need to ask support.
The cashback structure is unusual and worth understanding. Bitrefill pays 2% back with no published cap, split as 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each card purchase. The 1% on deposit is paid in crypto or in euros depending on the page you read, and the terms say the rate used is published on the website. The 1% on spend is the more conventional cashback. Two things follow. If you top up EUR 1,000 a month and spend EUR 1,000 a month, the gross return is EUR 20, but the deposit fee is EUR 19.90 at 1.99%, so the deposit cashback roughly offsets the deposit fee, and the spend cashback is the part that is genuinely “free”. If a transaction is later refunded or charged back, the reward on that transaction can be clawed back.
Disputes go through the merchant first. The help-centre article on disputes says to contact the merchant before opening a card dispute, because most refunds are handled that way. If that does not work, the dispute goes to support, and Bitrefill says it is not liable for merchants that simply refuse the card. Time frames for dispute resolution are not stated on the public pages.
Two everyday details that are easy to miss. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on the balance for several days, typically up to seven, so a series of attempted payments can briefly lock up more of the balance than the merchant actually got. And because the card is a prepaid product, the BIN identifies it as a prepaid Visa issued in Estonia, and a small number of merchants decline prepaid or non-domestic cards outright, so the card is not immune to the “we do not take prepaid” message at the checkout.
What can go wrong
The first category of risk is access. The card is not available to US citizens, not available to Russian citizens without EU/EEA citizenship, and not available to residents of countries outside the EU/EEA footprint. Help-centre blocklists add Japan, Ukraine and the UAE for some flows, and signup does not accept Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan phone numbers. If you are on the edge of eligibility, your account can be closed, frozen or restricted while documents are reviewed, and EU rules require the institution to end a relationship if due diligence cannot be completed.
The second is regulation. From July 2026, the EU’s Transfer of Funds Regulation tightens the source of funds on crypto transfers, and deposits from wallets that are not your own or are not run by an EU-licensed virtual asset service provider above EUR 1,000 are declined. Strong customer authentication rules also changed the way deposits work. These are not Bitrefill-specific rules, but they are the rules the card lives under, and they will surface in the app as extra checks and the occasional rejection of a deposit that used to be fine.
The third is funds. Bitrefill is custodial, in the sense that the card partner and the e-money institution hold the funds rather than the user holding their own keys. The card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian e-money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, also in Estonia and registered with the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. Segregated customer funds are not the same as bank deposits and are generally not covered by deposit guarantee schemes, and the card page does not state any additional insurance or safeguarding beyond what the licences require. If either of those institutions failed, the recovery process would be the regulatory one for the licence, not a Bitrefill product feature.
The fourth is the spread and the small print. The crypto-to-euro spread is not published as a number, only the fixed 1.99% fee is. That means a comparison shopper has to look at the rate the card partner shows in the app, in real time, against the spot rate, and judge the difference for themselves. Third-party reports put the inactivity fee at EUR 10 a month after 12 months without spending or cash-out, the ATM fee at 2.49% for both tiers plus the ATM operator’s charge, and a replacement physical card at EUR 10. None of these numbers are on the card’s own pages, which is a small but real disclosure gap.
The fifth is support and complaints. Trustpilot sits at 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, with about 89% at five stars and about 5% at one star. The negative themes that show up in 2025 and 2026 are mostly about the gift-card store, not the card: gift-card markup, Apple codes that do not work and lead to an account block, lookalike fake sites, deposits stuck for 20-plus days with support described as “worthless”, and refunds paused. Bitrefill replies to most of these. For the card specifically, the loudest complaint I saw was an intermittent decline at the Visa side. There are no major public incidents and no Reddit threads that surface a single dominant card-specific failure.
Sixth, security in the app. You can freeze the card and hide the balance with one tap in the app, 3-D Secure is on for online payments, and lost or stolen card reports go to [email protected]. There is no published insurance for unauthorised transactions, and the dispute path assumes the merchant is the first line of resolution. None of this is unusual for a prepaid crypto card, but it is also not stronger than the category norm.
What to take instead
The honest comparison set is thin, because the Bitrefill card’s combination of euro denomination, EU licensing, Visa rails and a real crypto top-up flow is not common. Three alternatives I have read enough about to mention, with their own scores and gaps, are below. None of them is a direct substitute in every respect, and the right choice depends on what you actually need.
| Card | Score | Who it suits | Where it falls short |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | A reader in Nigeria or another emerging market who wants one crypto card and is happy with the App Store’s Naira-focused listing | No published country list or fee structure; “AI-powered conversion rate” is a marketing phrase with no number behind it |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | A Nigeria-based user who wants a free virtual USD Mastercard in about three minutes | Aimed at Nigeria; fee and reward numbers are not stated on the public pages I could read |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | A reader who wants a USD- or EUR-denominated prepaid card funded by USDT, BTC or ETH and accepted “in more than 176 countries” | Country eligibility is not stated; the card network is not stated on the App Store page; fees and rewards are not published |
What that comparison tells you is mostly negative. If you need a euro Visa with EU licensing, an established Trustpilot presence, and a top-up flow that includes Bitcoin, Lightning, USDC, ETH and SEPA, the Bitrefill card is a more complete answer than any of the three alternatives above. If you need a USD-denominated card, a card with native Apple Pay, or a card in a country outside the EU/EEA, the alternatives are not the right starting point, and you would do better to look at a more established crypto card programme that is licensed for your jurisdiction.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitrefill Visa card to an EU/EEA resident, aged 18 or over, who already holds crypto on a self-custody wallet or a regulated exchange and wants a euro-denominated Visa they can top up directly. That is the natural fit. The Lightning option is the unusual strength: if you earn or receive Bitcoin over Lightning, this is one of the few cards that lets you turn small incoming payments into spendable euros without going through a centralised exchange first.
I would also recommend it to a reader who is happy with the verification ladder. The Starter tier covers most everyday use, and the Plus tier exists for the moment the lifetime deposit cap starts to bite. If you are willing to upload a proof of address and, at the Plus tier, a source-of-funds document, the card can scale with you.
I would not recommend it to a US citizen, who is excluded by nationality, or to a Russian citizen without EU/EEA citizenship, who is in the same position. I would not recommend it to anyone whose top-up asset is USDT, since USDT funding ended on 17 March 2025 and is not coming back. I would not recommend it to a reader who needs Apple Pay today, because the card does not yet support it. And I would not recommend it to a reader who wants a true multi-currency wallet with balances in several currencies at once, because the card balance is in euros and everything else is converted into euros at the moment of deposit.
A short checklist before you sign up:
- Confirm your country of residence is in the EU 27, Norway or Iceland, and that your nationality is not US or Russian without EU/EEA citizenship.
- Decide which asset you will use to top up, and confirm it is on the current funding list in the help centre, not just the public “Buy with” list.
- Read the deposit fee and the spread together, since the spread is not published as a number and the only fixed cost is 1.99%.
- Decide whether the Starter limits are enough, or whether you are willing to provide proof of address and source of funds for the Plus tier.
- Plan to use the card at least once a year, so the inactivity fee (third-party reports put it at EUR 10 a month after 12 months) does not quietly drain the balance.
- Keep the network and token match under tight control at deposit time, because wrong-network deposits are the most common way to lose money on a card like this.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
The Bitrefill card is a prepaid Visa, available as a virtual and a physical card, denominated in euros, that is topped up with crypto (Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon) or a SEPA transfer. Crypto is converted to euros at the card partner’s live rate and a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee is added.
How does the Bitrefill card work?
You install the Bitrefill app, pass identity verification, order the virtual or physical card, and top it up. Each top-up is converted to euros by the card partner and loaded onto the card balance, which is then spent at any merchant that accepts Visa, including ATM withdrawals on the Visa network.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. The site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian e-money institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon, and the crypto and virtual IBAN services are run by Lightspark Payments Europe AS in Estonia. The card is an e-money product, not a bank deposit.
Who owns Bitrefill?
The card and the wider gift-card service are operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, registered in Stockholm, Sweden. The card programme is run by Wallester AS in Estonia and the crypto services by Lightspark Payments Europe AS in Estonia, so the user-facing brand is Swedish and the regulated entities are Estonian.
Is the Bitrefill card available in the United States?
No, not for US citizens. US citizens are excluded regardless of where they live, and the help-centre blocklist also flags the US for some verification and deposit flows. The card is intended for residents of the EU 27 plus Norway and Iceland, aged 18 or over, with full identity verification.
How do I apply for the Bitrefill card?
You download the Bitrefill app, create an account, complete the photo ID and selfie liveness check, and order the virtual card from inside the app. The physical card is ordered from the same place, is sent to the address you provide, and has to be activated on arrival. The Starter tier is the default; Plus is an invitation once you reach the Starter lifetime deposit cap.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes. The card partner runs identity verification before you can order the card, and the Starter tier takes a photo ID and a selfie liveness check, with a possible proof of address. The Plus tier adds proof of address and proof of source of funds. The card page itself does not describe the KYC process in detail, which is one of the smaller disclosure gaps in the public materials.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
In the app, pick the asset, send it to the deposit address shown on the right network, and the card partner converts it to euros at its live rate. Supported funding today is Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA, with a 1.99% Bitrefill fee on top and a EUR 15 minimum. USDT funding ended on 17 March 2025, and store credit on the platform cannot be moved onto the card.
Can I add the Bitrefill card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay is listed as “coming soon” and is not yet available, so if Apple Pay is essential, this is not the card for you today. Once Apple Pay is live, the card can be tokenised into the wallet in the same way as any other Visa.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
It is a custodial prepaid card issued by an Estonian e-money institution, with 3-D Secure on online payments, an in-app freeze and balance-hide, and a regulated partner structure. Customer funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes, and the card page does not publish additional insurance. The biggest practical risks for a user are a wrong-network deposit and the inactivity fee on a card that sits unused.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
