A crypto card for Europe and Ukraine that publishes far less than you need to judge it
Plumex is a crypto app with a payment card attached, built “for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine”. That single sentence tells you most of what the company’s public pages tell you: a target region, a use case, and not much else. On my reading of the material, this is a service with a real product idea and a thin public disclosure record — the app apparently works, the card exists, but the pages do not tell you the card network, the issuing bank, the licence numbers, the conversion markup, or even the limits. If you are choosing a card today, especially one that will hold your money, those are not details. They are the details.
I scored it 5.9 out of 10. That is a middling score, and it is worth saying why it is not lower: the fundamentals look plausible and the costs that *are* published are reasonable. It is also worth saying why it is not higher: the card’s own public pages leave too much unstated for a product whose entire purpose is to be trusted with your balance.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who it suits, and who it does not
Plumex scores 5.9 / 10 overall. It suits Europeans and Ukrainians who want a crypto app with a card attached and who already hold the assets they intend to spend — people who are comfortable treating the card as a front end to a balance rather than as a bank account. It does not suit anyone who needs published numbers before committing money: if your decision hinges on knowing the FX markup, the daily limit, or the name of the institution that issued your card, Plumex will not give you those today.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Built for Europe and Ukraine; supported countries are shown only inside the app and depend on where you live and where you actually are |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Swap fee is 0.5% on the free Basic plan and free on Premium; other fees carry no amounts, and the currency markup is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Spends straight from a crypto balance; the coins and networks are not named, and the fee-free crypto top-up is a company claim |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Platform is Plum Labs s.r.o. in the Czech Republic, custody sits with Plum Global Inc. in Panama; no licence numbers and no named issuer, and no complaints or Trustpilot reviews exist yet |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; the card type, plastic and ATM story are not stated |
| Total | 5.9 / 10 |
A note on that last row, because it is easy to misread a young service. “No complaints found” is not the same as “no problems”. Plumex has no track record to complain about because it is early, and Trustpilot currently shows no reviews at all, with a TrustScore of 0 as I read it on 2026-10-21. An empty complaint file is neutral information, not a good mark.
Will they give you the card?
They will give it to people living in the right places, and the right places are not fully published. Plumex describes itself as “built for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine”, with availability that “may vary by country and local requirements”. The list of supported countries is shown inside the app rather than on the website, and your eligibility depends on both your residence and your actual location — both, not one or the other.
One line is worth reading carefully if you are in the EU. The Ukraine Service Route “is not available to persons residing in or accessing the services from the European Union”. So there is at least one product line with a hard geographic carve-out, and the site does not publish a comparable table for everyone else. The practical move is straightforward: open the app and look at the country list before you assume you qualify. Do not plan around an assumption.
Two things also follow from the fact that location is checked, and both are worth internalising before you apply rather than after. Availability that varies by country and local requirements means the answer to “is Plumex available in my country?” is genuinely country-specific and can change with local regulation. And because the check involves residence *and* location, using a VPN or proxy while applying is something the company lists among its stated rejection reasons — so masking your location is not a workaround, it is a documented ground for refusal. I am telling you this so you do not accidentally trip it, not so you can get around it.
How to get it
The signup story is short, and the shortness is the story. Plumex advertises a “5-min KYC”, meaning identity verification is designed to be quick. What that means in practice is that providers may ask for a government ID, evidence of your address, a selfie or liveness check, or a video check. You must be 18 or older. There is no fixed review period published, so treat “5 minutes” as a description of the intended flow rather than a promise about when your account will be live.
The card itself is where the signup story goes quiet. The card type, the card network and the card currency are not stated on the site; on an earlier check, the card drew directly from a crypto balance. Delivery is also not stated — how long the card takes to arrive, or whether a physical card is issued at all, is something I could not confirm from the public pages. If you need a plastic card in your hand this week, you cannot establish that from what is published, and that is worth asking the support address about directly.
On limits, there are no defined tiers in the way most card reviews describe. Instead, Plumex describes risk-based limits, which in plain terms means your limits are set according to the profile they build of you rather than published up front. They do list the reasons they refuse an application, and it is an unusually explicit list:
- Residence or location that makes you ineligible, including VPN or proxy use
- A match against sanctions lists
- Unexplained or structured activity
- Inconsistent documents
- Payments made by a third party
- Missing Travel Rule information
- High-risk blockchain exposure
Read that list as a description of what their compliance system screens for. Travel Rule information, for example, concerns the data required when crypto moves between service providers. If you are planning to move funds from an exchange to a wallet you control and then into Plumex, expect to be asked for information about where the funds came from.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where Plumex is both most attractive and least transparent, and you need both halves of that sentence.

The good news first. The swap fee is 0.5% on the Basic plan and free on the Premium plan. That is a real, published, competitive number, and on high-volume use it matters more than almost anything else on this list. Premium is priced at $14.99 per month and is marked “Coming soon”, so today the plan you can actually use is Basic, at no cost.
The bad news is everything else. Plumex’s fees and limits schedule lists fee *categories* without amounts. Currency conversion and FX costs are not stated. ATM withdrawal fees are not stated. Daily and monthly limits are not stated. The currency the card holds or spends in is not stated. The only withdrawal-related figure published is on Premium: free cash in and out up to $499 per month, one transaction — that is one free cash withdrawal or deposit per month, capped at $499. MoneyGram cash pickup is a separate service with its own coverage of 200+ countries and 100,000+ locations, which tells you about reach but not about price.
| Fee or limit | What Plumex publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Basic free; Premium $14.99/month, marked “Coming soon” |
| Conversion (swap) fee | 0.5% on Basic; free on Premium |
| FX / currency markup | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not stated |
| Daily limit | Not stated |
| Monthly limit | Not stated (Premium: one free cash in/out per month up to $499) |
| Card currency | Not stated |
| MoneyGram cash pickup | Separate service; 200+ countries, 100,000+ locations |
Now the part that matters for your day-to-day. Since the FX markup is not disclosed, every foreign-currency purchase you make carries an unknown cost, and no amount of arithmetic on your side will recover it. Take a coffee in a city whose currency is not your card’s — the price you see in the app will tell you what the card charges, but only after the fact. If you travel, or buy anything priced in a second currency, this is the number you most want and the number Plumex does not publish.
What you *can* work out is which published fees apply to which everyday purchase:
- A domestic purchase in your card’s own currency: the swap fee applies if the underlying balance is crypto. Nothing else is listed for this case, and no FX cost should arise.
- A purchase in a foreign currency: the conversion happens, and the FX cost is unstated. You cannot predict the total from the published information.
- A cash withdrawal: no fee amount is published; on Premium, one per month up to $499 is free.
The Premium list is worth reading as a bundle rather than line by line, because several of its benefits are unpriced in practice: free swaps, exclusive card designs, lounge and Fast Track and eSIM best prices, one free cash in/out per month up to $499, and priority support. Card designs and lounge access are perks; only the swaps and the cash transaction have figures attached.
How to top it up
Top up Plumex, and the first question is: top up from what? The card’s own funding arrangements are not stated. Per an earlier check, the card spends directly from a crypto balance, converted at the moment of payment. Fiat top-up is not stated at all.
Crypto deposits are described as fee-free — but be precise about where that claim comes from. It comes from a post by the team on LinkedIn, which is a company claim rather than a figure from the official fees page. The official fees page lists deposit and withdrawal categories without amounts. So the direction of the claim is favourable; the authority behind it is weaker than a published schedule would be.
Withdrawals behave differently from deposits. Crypto withdrawals in the app carry a service fee plus a network fee, and neither amount is stated. The network fee is not really the company’s to control — on-chain network fees, whether gas or bandwidth, are charged by the blockchain for your deposit, not by the card provider — but the *service* fee is Plumex’s own, and it is unpublished.
If you close your account, that is allowed once pending transactions have completed, with assets returned to you.
| Top-up route | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Crypto deposit | Fee-free per a team LinkedIn post (company claim); official fees page lists no amounts | Coins and networks not stated |
| Fiat top-up | Not stated | — |
| Crypto withdrawal | Service fee plus network fee, amounts not stated | Network fee is set by the blockchain |
| Account closure | Not stated | Allowed after pending transactions complete, assets returned |
The honest summary is that Plumex is a card you feed with crypto, not a card you top up with bank money — at least as far as anything published says. If your money already sits in a stablecoin, that model is convenient. If you are paid in a bank account in euros and want a card that spends from it, you cannot confirm from the public pages that this is possible.
Paying with it every day
The everyday-use story is the strongest part of the proposition, and it is still thin. Plumex advertises “Apple Pay and Google Pay. Crypto behind the tap.” In other words, you add the card to your phone’s wallet and the crypto side is handled underneath. That is the right shape for 2026, and it means you are not dependent on a physical card surviving in your pocket.
What is missing is the friction list. Whether any merchant categories are blocked is not stated — and this is not a trivial question. Merchant category codes, the four-digit numbers that classify what a business sells, are assigned when a business starts accepting cards, and certain categories are blocked by policy more often than by law. Gambling, for example, sits under MCC 7995, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy, with the blocked list differing from issuer to issuer. You cannot tell from Plumex’s pages whether their card behaves that way. If gambling or similar categories matter to you, ask.
Rewards are not stated, and the perks are marked “Coming soon” — which is honest, at least. There is no cashback figure to plan around. The app is available on the App Store and Google Play; I did not read the store ratings, so I am not going to pretend to know what users say about it there.
On refunds, the terms are unusually specific and worth noting in your favour: refunds are not automatic, they go back to the original source, a routine decision comes within 10 Business Days, complex cases target 30 calendar days, and your right to dispute through your bank or the card scheme is not limited. “Not automatic” cuts both ways — you may have to ask — but the timelines and the preserved right to dispute are stated plainly.
Two general mechanics will shape your experience more than the app will. First, 3-D Secure: online payments often get an extra identity step where the issuer assesses risk and either approves without a prompt or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s version is called Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. If a payment you did not make triggers a challenge, that is the system working, not a glitch.
Second, Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type — street number, postcode — against the issuer’s records. It is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. That is a general property of cross-border cards, not a Plumex fault, but it is why a card can be declined at a checkout that looks perfectly ordinary.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong yet, and that is the whole of the evidence. I found no official incidents and no user complaints; that conclusion rests on a single search, and Trustpilot has no reviews yet. So let me be precise about what you are actually being asked to accept.
The first risk is structural, and it is the one I would weigh most heavily. The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o., a Czech company with Company ID 243 80 792 in Prague. Custody is held by Plum Global Inc. in Panama. Exchange and fiat are handled by Innovate Payments Inc. in British Columbia, Canada. Identity-verification routing is handled by LMLP consulting s.r.o. in the Czech Republic. Four entities across three countries, and — the point that matters — no licence numbers published and the card issuer not named. That is the honest summary. You are being asked to trust a structure described in prose.
Why does that matter? Because custody is where risk sits. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and control of the crypto belongs to them; you must trust them completely. And this category has a history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Those are not Plumex, and comparing them would be unfair — but they are the base rate for holding funds with a custodian, and the counterparty and hack risk is real.
Card programmes also close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request to withdraw remaining balances. There is also currency-regulatory timing to note — under MiCA, the transitional period for existing providers runs only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is received or refused, whichever comes first. A service like this is operating inside a deadline, and what that means for your balance is not something the public pages address.
On top of that, crypto transfers are typically irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. This makes the unstated networks a genuine operational risk, not a documentation quibble: you cannot pick the right network from a list that does not exist publicly.
Two smaller exposures. Two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated, and those are the everyday safeguards people rely on. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7 — which matters when your balance is the money you were planning to spend.
If something goes wrong, support is at [email protected], and complaints go to [email protected] with acknowledgement within 3 Business Days and a final reply targeted within 30 calendar days. Languages and opening hours are not stated. Those response windows are published and reasonably brisk for an acknowledgement; they are promises of process, not of outcome.
Support exists. That is genuinely on the plus side of the ledger.
What to take instead
I want to be useful here rather than just cautious, so I looked at three alternatives from the same category and scored them on the same basis. None is a clean win; all three have gaps. Plumex at 5.9 sits in the middle of this group.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost and fees | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plumex | 5.9 / 10 | Type, network and currency not stated; Apple Pay and Google Pay | 0.5% swap on free Basic, free on Premium; FX markup, ATM fee and limits not stated | Europe and Ukraine; crypto holders who want a card |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD; physical “Coming soon” | $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee; free card use in USD; “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month; deposits of any kind free | Residents or registrants outside a long restricted list; USDC or USDT depositors |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency UNi Card on the Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global balance | “No annual fee”, “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, “No hidden exchange fees” | People who prioritise published fee clarity; rewards up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted; virtual/physical not stated | “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses |
Two of these deserve a closer look, because each solves a different part of what Plumex leaves open.
UNi Card is the one to look at if your blocker is fee transparency. It states no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC conversion rates, and no hidden exchange fees, and it publishes a Spend-to-Earn reward of up to 3%. It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network spending from the UNi.Global account balance. The catch is symmetric to Plumex’s: who can get one is not stated, and the top-up routes are not stated either. You would be trading a disclosure gap about access for a disclosure gain about cost.
International Visa Card is the one to look at if you want the most explicit terms of the three, at the cost of the most restrictions. It publishes everything: $5 one-time issuance for the virtual card, no maintenance fee, free use in USD, and a plain “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” for foreign currency. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow, or USDC and USDT into the USD account. Against that: the card is U.S.-issued Platinum Visa and pays in USD, so the 2% is real money on every non-dollar purchase; the physical card is “Coming soon”; and access is barred to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note carefully that this rule follows residence or registration, not citizenship — so if you are a citizen of one of those countries living legally elsewhere, read it twice. That last point matters directly for a Ukrainian reader comparing options.
Whop Cards is the weakest of the four on disclosure. It says “No extra fees” and lists no amounts at all, so the promise is unquantified. It works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, spends from a Whop balance, and offers 5% cashback at select merchants — currently Uber, more planned — with payout currency and conditions not stated. For consumers it covers 31 US states and for businesses 41; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis of that restriction — citizenship or residence — is not stated.
Who I would recommend it to
Plumex, and to a narrower audience than its marketing suggests. I would recommend it to someone already holding crypto or stablecoins in Europe or Ukraine who wants a card that spends that balance through Apple Pay or Google Pay, who is comfortable with a custodial structure, and who treats the card as a convenience rather than as infrastructure. For that person the free plan, the 0.5% swap, and the everyday-wallet support are a genuinely good combination, and the absence of a monthly fee is a real advantage over the paid tiers in this category.
I would not recommend it to you if any of the following is true of your situation. If you need the FX markup published before you commit, this card will not give it to you. If you need to know the daily or monthly limit, it is not stated. If you are deciding based on regulatory footing — a licence number, a named issuer, an entry in ESMA’s register — the public pages do not provide it, and I would not substitute my own confidence for that evidence. If you are in the EU and were planning to use the Ukraine Service Route, note plainly that it is not available to people residing in or accessing the service from the European Union. If your income is in fiat and you want a card that spends from a bank balance, the funding arrangements are not stated. And if you are new to this category, I would steer you to an option that publishes its fees.
The honest summary is that Plumex may well be a good card. It is also a young card with a short public record, a four-entity structure across three countries, no published licences, and a set of numbers you cannot know. Ask [email protected] for the issuer name, the licence numbers, the FX markup, and your limits before you fund it. Those four answers would change my score more than anything else.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Plumex card?
Plumex is a crypto app with a payment card attached, built “for everyday money needs in Europe and Ukraine”. Per an earlier check, the card draws directly from a crypto balance, converting at the moment of payment. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. The card type, card network and card currency are not stated on the company’s public pages, so the exact form of the card is something you would need to confirm yourself.
How does the Plumex card work?
You hold crypto, you spend it, and the app converts it at the point of payment. That makes it closer to a prepaid card than a normal debit card: crypto is converted and loaded as balance, and the card can only spend what is there. Support comes with Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless use. Refunds are not automatic but return to the original source, with routine decisions within 10 Business Days.
Is Plumex a bank?
The public pages do not present it as a bank. The platform is Plum Labs s.r.o., a Czech company with Company ID 243 80 792 in Prague; custody is with Plum Global Inc. in Panama, and exchange and fiat with Innovate Payments Inc. in British Columbia. No licence numbers are published and the card issuer is not named. It looks like a custodial crypto platform with a card attached, not a deposit-taking bank.
Who owns Plumex?
Ownership is not stated as such, but the operating structure is described: Plum Labs s.r.o. in the Czech Republic runs the platform, Plum Global Inc. in Panama holds custody, Innovate Payments Inc. in Canada handles exchange and fiat, and LMLP consulting s.r.o. in the Czech Republic routes identity verification. Four companies in three countries. Which of them your money actually sits with depends on the service you use.
Which countries can use the Plumex card?
Plumex says it is built for Europe and Ukraine, and that availability “may vary by country and local requirements”. The supported-country list lives inside the app rather than on the website, and eligibility depends on your residence and your actual location. One hard line is published: the Ukraine Service Route is not available to persons residing in or accessing the services from the European Union. Check the app’s list before planning around it.
Does the Plumex card require KYC?
Yes. Plumex advertises a “5-min KYC”, and providers may request a government ID, proof of address, a selfie or liveness check, or a video verification. You must be 18 or older. There is no fixed review period published, so treat the five minutes as the intended flow rather than a guarantee. Stated rejection reasons include VPN or proxy use, sanctions matches, and unexplained or structured activity.
What does the Plumex card cost?
The swap fee is 0.5% on the free Basic plan and free on the Premium plan at $14.99 per month, which is marked “Coming soon”. Everything else is unpriced on the public pages: FX markup, ATM fees, daily limits and monthly limits are all not stated. Premium does list one free cash in or out per month, up to $499. The cost picture is good where it is published and blank where it is not.
How do I top up the Plumex card?
The card’s funding arrangements are not stated for the card itself; per an earlier check it spends directly from a crypto balance. Crypto deposits are described as fee-free, though that claim comes from a team post on LinkedIn rather than the official fees page. Fiat top-up is not stated. Crypto withdrawals carry a service fee plus a network fee, with no amounts published. Closing an account is allowed once pending transactions complete.
Is the Plumex card safe to use?
I would not call it unsafe, and I would not call it proven either. No official incidents or user complaints surfaced, but Trustpilot has no reviews yet, so there is simply no track record to judge. The real question is structural: custody sits with a Panama entity, no licence numbers are published, and the issuer is unnamed. Check whether the provider appears in ESMA’s register of authorised crypto-asset service providers before you fund it.
Is the Plumex card worth it?
For someone in Europe or Ukraine who already holds the crypto they want to spend and pays mostly through Apple Pay or Google Pay, the free plan with a 0.5% swap is attractive. For anyone who needs published FX costs, known limits, or a named licensed issuer, the missing numbers mean you are deciding on marketing rather than on terms. Alternatives such as UNi Card publish more about fees, and the International Visa Card publishes the most but is U.S.-issued and adds a stated 2% FX fee.
App and neobank card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
