A crypto wallet that hands you a free virtual Visa, with most of the numbers left unstated
Kryptonim is best known as a crypto wallet, and the card comes out of the same wallet rather than out of a bank of its own. The offer is a Visa — virtual or physical — that draws on your crypto balance, with the virtual card described as free and no monthly fee attached to it. That sounds like exactly what a lot of people reading this are after: a card that spends crypto without a bank turning it down.
Here is the catch I keep running into, and it shaped almost everything below. Kryptonim’s public card pages say a great deal about how pleasant the card is to use and very little about what it costs or what rules it runs under. Fees: not stated. Spending limits: not stated. The list of countries that can hold one: not stated. Which institution issues the card and stands behind it: not stated. Those are not nitpicks — they are the four things you need in order to decide whether a card is safe for your money. So I have written this review around what the pages actually say and, just as importantly, around the size of the blank spaces.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 6.1 out of 10
I rate Kryptonim 6.1 out of 10. The reason it is not lower is genuinely good news about the price: the virtual card is free, with no monthly fee. The reason it is not higher is that almost every number a buyer would need to compare this card against anything else is missing from the public pages.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | No country list is published; the card is described as working “where VISA cards are accepted” |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual card free, no monthly fee; on a demo top-up the 1.00 EUR deposit showed a fee of 0.00 EUR and a network fee of 0.00 EUR. The price of the physical card and FX costs are not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Top up by QR code in the Kryptonim Wallet, with automatic conversion of digital assets. Coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The Kryptonim structure includes Swaps Ltd (FCA), QuantiPay AG and KTM Virtual Services (FINTRAC). The card issuer is not named. No card-specific complaints found; the main service has an unofficial Trustpilot of 3.2 out of 166 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa; Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay and cash-machine use are not disclosed |
Who this suits, in plain terms: you already keep money in the Kryptonim wallet, you want a free virtual card to handle subscriptions and small online payments, and you are comfortable doing the arithmetic on conversion costs yourself. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card they can predict the cost of, anyone who needs a written answer about limits, and anyone for whom “my money sits with the platform” is a dealbreaker rather than a convenience.
Will they give you the card?
They will not publish a country list. The card pages say the Kryptonim Card works “where VISA cards are accepted”, which is a statement about where the card is *usable*, not about who can *have* one. Those are different questions, and for anyone who has been refused a normal card, the second one is the one that matters.
If you are searching “is Kryptonim card available in my country”, the honest answer from the pages I read is that I cannot tell you. Eligibility appears to follow from your verification passing, and the pages say the virtual card arrives “shortly after account verification” — nothing more specific.
Here is the background that matters when you are asked to prove who you are. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, establishing the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also validating proof-of-address documents against records. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents.
Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 or over, and some issuers set higher limits. Kryptonim’s pages do not state which documents, what age, or what proof of address they need.
How to get it
The sequence the card page describes is short: verify your account, and the free virtual card arrives shortly after. You choose between a virtual and a physical Kryptonim Card, both on the Visa network. Delivery time for a physical card is not stated, and neither are the KYC levels, so “shortly after” is doing a lot of work in that sentence.
Two things to keep in mind before you start. First, “virtual” here means a card number for online payments, which is genuinely useful for subscriptions but will not help at a shop terminal or a cash machine. Second, the card currency is not stated — you will be spending *something*, and finding out what, at what rate, is worth checking in the app before your first real purchase.
The wider regulatory picture will tell you what kind of company is behind the card. An electronic money institution in the EU can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and it may offer services across the EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences: one for custody, exchange and transfer, one for issuing the card. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including the crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and it is worth checking there.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is where I have to be blunt. Kryptonim’s page has an FAQ question titled “Are there any fees for Kryptonim Card?” and the page text carries no answer to it. A separate question about spending limits is likewise unanswered. The only pricing statements I could verify are the good ones: the virtual card is described as free, with “No monthly fees for virtual card”.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance — virtual card | Free |
| Issuance — physical card | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | No monthly fees for virtual card |
| Conversion | Not stated; the page mentions “Automatic conversion of digital assets” |
| FX / currency conversion | Not stated |
| Cash machine (ATM) | Not stated |
| Spending limits — daily | Not stated (the FAQ question on spending limits has no answer in the page text) |
| Spending limits — monthly | Not stated |
| Tiers | Not stated |
| Card currency | Not stated |
Now the three everyday payments, and what applies to each.
A subscription you already pay for. The virtual card is free and carries no monthly fee, so the fixed costs are zero. What you cannot check in advance is the conversion cost, because the rate and any conversion fee are not stated. If the card converts your crypto automatically at the moment of payment, that conversion happens invisibly inside the price you see at checkout — which means you will only learn the real cost from the balance afterwards.
A purchase priced in a currency other than your card’s. The FX fee is not stated, and neither is the card currency, so this is the least predictable of the three. This is where a card with a crypto balance quietly costs more than the sticker price: you are paying for the spread between the card’s own conversion and whatever the merchant would have charged you in your own money.
Anything involving a cash machine. ATM handling is not stated, and neither are daily or monthly limits, so I cannot tell you whether your own bank’s ATM would accept the card at all, or what it would charge on top.
The one figure that did appear is instructive in a good way. On the demo deposit screen, a 1.00 EUR deposit showed “Fees 0.00 EUR, Network fee 0.00 EUR”. A demo screen is a demonstration, not a promise about your own transaction — but at least it tells you the deposit flow is designed to show you the fee before you commit.
One fee in this space is never the card’s to charge: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain itself. If you are topping up from a wallet holding a token with no gas, you may simply be unable to send, which is a common and confusing first failure.
Top up: how the money gets in
Top-up happens in the Kryptonim Wallet by scanning a QR code. The page also refers to automatic conversion of digital assets, so the intended flow looks like: hold crypto, let it convert into a balance, spend that balance.

Coins and networks are not named. That single omission turns every transfer into a small piece of detective work, and I would rather explain why than hand you a false reassurance.
A blockchain transfer is irreversible. Send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the money can be gone or, at best, dependent on a manual support recovery that nobody guarantees. So the network has to be right before you send, not after. If you are used to stablecoins, note that they exist on many networks and the differences are not cosmetic: gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH, so a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send at all; Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX; and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Two stablecoins dominate the market — Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC, which the BIS put at about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in July 2025 — and both are issued across multiple chains, which is precisely why a provider that does not name its networks leaves you guessing.
Two further things about a crypto balance you should know before treating it like cash. Stablecoins are not, despite the name, necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Withdrawal is the other half of this question, and the FAQ on the page asks whether the balance can be withdrawn to wallet or bank, with no answer in the page text. Minimums and fiat top-up options are not stated either. If being able to get your money out on demand is important to you, this is a question to put to support in writing before you rely on the card, not afterwards.
Paying with it every day
The everyday mechanics are the simplest part of the story. You get a virtual or physical Visa, and you can add the Kryptonim Card to Google Pay. That covers most of what people actually want: subscriptions, app store spending, ordinary online shopping.
Not stated: Apple Pay support, blocked merchant categories, rewards, and the app’s ratings. The page does link to the iOS app under the name Kryptonim Wallet.
Some of the friction you may hit is not Kryptonim’s fault but the nature of a crypto-funded card, so it is worth knowing in advance. The first six or eight digits of any card number identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look them up to see which institution and country issued it — and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason.
Address verification works the same way: an Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. It is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines — a payment failing at checkout for a reason that has nothing to do with your balance.
Some categories are blocked by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer: MCC 7995 covers gambling, casinos, betting and lotteries. For online payments, 3-D Secure adds an identity check where the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric; Visa’s brand is Visa Secure. Apple Pay, where it exists, replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number kept in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, with a one-time dynamic code per payment. And a useful thing to remember when a payment fails: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Two gaps I would flag for a daily-use card. First, the FAQ asks where a merchant refund goes and the page text gives no answer — and a refund landing somewhere unexpected is a genuine problem with crypto balances. Second, the physical card’s delivery, its cost and its cash-machine support are all unstated, so if your idea of “every day” includes a shop counter, you are buying on incomplete information.
What can go wrong
No official incidents came up in my checks, and I found no card-specific complaints. That is a real, if modest, positive.
The stronger risk is structural. On Kryptonim’s own site, the group is presented as several entities: Swaps Ltd (England and Wales, no. 11850124, described as registered with the UK Financial Conduct Authority as a cryptoasset business), QuantiPay AG, and KTM Virtual Services Inc. (British Columbia, FINTRAC MSB M23813101), plus Kryptonim Colombia and Kryptonim sp. z o.o. as data controller. The card issuer and e-money institution are not named, and the page does not link these entities to the card. That is the thing I would want resolved first: which institution holds your funds when the card is charged.
Because of that structure, the general lessons about crypto custody apply. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011 to 2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Kryptonim does not state which model applies to the card; its only security guidance is “Never share your private keys or sensitive information”.
Card programmes themselves can end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. That is the scenario to hold in mind when a platform’s withdrawal answer is missing.
One unofficial data point, offered as such: for the related on-ramp service on kryptonim.com — not the card — Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 166 reviews, with complaints of unpaid withdrawals and a deposit not returned for weeks. A user report from a third-party site, not confirmed by Kryptonim, and about the on-ramp rather than the card. But withdrawal complaints are precisely the failure mode I would worry about in a wallet-funded card.
If something goes wrong, there is a “CHAT WITH US” button on the card page and a Help section with FAQs and a contact form on the site. Languages and opening hours are not stated. On refunds and disputes: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — if you are outside the US, do not expect a US-shaped process. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to your bank, or per critics to you.
And a word on tax, since the money came from crypto. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction, which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. How that works where you live is yours and an accountant’s question, not mine.
What to take instead
All three alternatives below sit lower on my scale than Kryptonim, which tells you something about the field. I include them because a comparison is more useful to you than a single verdict, and because each fails in a different place.
| Kryptonim | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.1 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | Mastercard | Not stated on the App Store page |
| Card currency | Not stated | Naira per App Store listing | USD | USD or EUR |
| Cost | Virtual card free, no monthly fee | Not stated | Virtual card “completely free” | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees |
| Conversion | Not stated | Real-time crypto-to-fiat at payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one; no percentage stated | Not stated | Deposit converted to USD or EUR |
| Eligibility | No country list published | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions listed; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users”; no exclusions stated | No country list on official pages; App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” — acceptance, not eligibility |
| Top-up | QR code in the wallet; coins and networks not named | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated |
Two things stand out. Cardex is the only alternative that names four networks and says something concrete about how conversion works — but its conversion claim is marketing language with no fee percentage behind it, and its app listing is Naira-focused. CardFlow is the clearest on price (“creating a virtual card is completely free”, created in 3 minutes) and the clearest on who it serves. HyperCard tells you the balance is in USD or EUR and accepts USDT, BTC and ETH, but does not even name the network on its App Store page.
None of the four publishes spending limits, and none states its card issuer clearly. That is the pattern of this category, not a failing of any one company — but it means you should not read a high score here as a guarantee.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to you if three things are all true. You already hold funds in the Kryptonim wallet, so the card is an extension of something you use rather than a new dependency. You mainly need a free virtual Visa for online payments and subscriptions, where a conversion spread of an unknown size is a tolerable cost. And you are the kind of person who will spend five minutes with support before committing money, because the answers you need — issuer, limits, FX, withdrawal — are not on the pages.
I would not recommend it as your only card. If your fallback is a mainstream bank card with a name on it and a deposit guarantee behind it, replacing that with a prepaid crypto-funded Visa is a step down in recoverability, and the pages give you nothing to compensate for it.
Before you load money, ask support four questions in writing and keep the answers: which institution issues the card and holds the balance; what are the daily and monthly limits; what is charged on conversion and on a purchase in another currency; and where a refund lands. If the answers are clear, you have a reasonable free virtual Visa. If they are not, you have a nice-looking number in a wallet app, which is worth less.
Frequently asked questions
What is Kryptonim card?
Kryptonim Card is a Visa payment card issued through the Kryptonim crypto wallet ecosystem. You can hold a virtual or physical version, and it draws on a balance in the wallet rather than on a bank account. The card page says it works wherever Visa cards are accepted, and that the free virtual card arrives shortly after your account is verified.
Is Kryptonim a bank?
Kryptonim is not a bank. Kryptonim.com lists several entities in its structure, including Swaps Ltd (England and Wales, no. 11850124, registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business), QuantiPay AG and KTM Virtual Services Inc. (British Columbia, FINTRAC MSB M23813101). The card’s issuer and e-money institution are not stated on the card pages.
How do I get a Kryptonim card?
You verify your account, then choose a virtual or physical Kryptonim Card. The card page says the free virtual card arrives shortly after account verification, though the required documents, minimum age and proof of address are not stated. Delivery time for a physical card is also not stated, which is worth asking about before you order one.
Does Kryptonim card require KYC?
Account verification is required before the virtual card arrives, so yes in practice. The card pages do not state which documents, what age or what proof of address are needed, nor what KYC levels apply. Note that EU rules require customer due diligence covering identity, address, nationality and a sanctions check, and allow an institution to end a relationship where due diligence cannot be completed.
How much does Kryptonim card cost?
The virtual card is described as free, with “No monthly fees for virtual card”. That is the good news. The bad news is that the price of a physical card, the conversion fee and the FX fee are all not stated, and the FAQ question about fees has no answer in the page text. So you know the fixed cost is zero, and nothing else.
Is the Kryptonim card free, and are there hidden fees?
Free refers to the virtual card’s issuance and to the absence of a monthly fee. Whether anything is charged per payment is not stated — the page mentions automatic conversion of digital assets without giving a rate or percentage. On a demo deposit screen, a 1.00 EUR deposit showed fees of 0.00 EUR and a network fee of 0.00 EUR, but a demo is not a quote for your own transaction.
How do I top up the Kryptonim card?
The stated method is a QR code scanned in the Kryptonim Wallet, alongside automatic conversion of digital assets. Coins and networks are not named, which matters more than it sounds: transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network can mean the funds are lost. Minimums and fiat top-up options are also not stated.
Can I use a Kryptonim virtual card with Apple Pay?
Apple Pay is not mentioned anywhere on the card pages I read. Google Pay is supported — the page says “Add your Kryptonim Card to Google Pay” and links the Google Pay terms. If Apple Pay is the reason you want a card, ask support directly rather than assuming, since a virtual card number may or may not be addable to Apple Wallet.
What are the spending limits on the Kryptonim card?
Not stated. The page has an FAQ question about spending limits and the text carries no answer to it. Daily limits, monthly limits and tiers are all absent from the public pages, as is the card currency. You are buying the card without knowing its ceiling, so ask for the limits in writing before you rely on it for anything large.
Is Kryptonim card safe?
There is no technical reason a crypto-funded Visa is riskier than any other prepaid card, and I found no official incidents or card-specific complaints. The real risk is structural and undisclosed: the issuer is not named, fees and limits are not stated, and your money sits with a platform rather than a deposit-guaranteed bank. Also weigh the wider record — FTX’s Visa programme ended in November 2022 and WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
