Gnosis Pay is closing. Here is what that means for your money and your options.

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are reading this because you were considering the Gnosis Pay card, the first thing you should know is that you cannot: the consumer card programme is being shut down. The card stops authorising payments and the web app closes at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. If you already hold the card, this page is about the decisions you now face — when to move your balance, what happens to payments you have already set up, and what your rights are afterwards. If you were only ever mildly curious, the alternatives section may be more useful to you than the closure details.

The Gnosis Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

What happened to the Gnosis Pay programme

Gnosis Pay did not fail quietly; it announced the closure formally. The programme is ending in stages, and each stage has a real deadline that affects your money or your rights.

Before I lay out the dates, it helps to know what this card was, because the closure story only makes sense against how it worked. Gnosis Pay issued a Visa card — virtual (instant) and physical — under a Visa Europe licence, issued by Monavate Limited. Gnosis Pay itself was the technical services provider and programme manager, not the issuer. You spent from a self-custody Safe account holding EURe, GBPe and USDCe, plus USDC and EURC on networks including Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain. Spending those balances was 1:1, Gnosis Pay added no transaction fee and no FX markup, and Visa’s exchange rate applied automatically. Apple Pay and Google Pay were supported. Eligibility, before closure, was based on legal residence in a list of European and Latin American countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more of the EEA — with a waitlist for new countries; the rule was residence, not citizenship. Verification ran through Sumsub in a unified KYC flow.

Here is what actually happened, as the official material states it:

A few details about the closure are not settled by the official pages. The official help-centre page titled “Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?” says only that the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”. Unofficial reporting from Crypto Briefing in September 2026, with Odaily and The Defiant agreeing, says the web app stays in limited capacity after 20 December 2026 for withdrawals only, and that funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline. The company does recommend withdrawing before 20 December 2026, and blockchain network fees may apply when you do.

One more thing the official closure notice does not say: it does not describe cashback on the current card. If you expected rewards, the notice simply points you to the help centre or the support email, and it notes that partner programmes may have different reward terms. News, not official, reported that GNO cashback eligibility ended on 30 September 2026 with a final distribution on 7 October.

Because this was a single-tier consumer product — no cashback tiers, no metal card — there is no loyalty structure to wind down. The tier structure you may have heard about (Startup with a two-year agreement, Enterprise with a three-year agreement and a dedicated BIN, both with custom pricing) is the B2B side and was never for cardholders.

If you already have the Gnosis Pay card

This is the section that matters most if the card is in your wallet right now. The good news first, then the deadlines.

The genuinely reassuring part is custody. The Safe is a self-custodial smart-contract account on Gnosis Chain: the assets remain yours, and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. That is a materially different position from a custodial card where a provider holds your balance. You can also reach your funds through third-party Safe interfaces using your existing signer key, so you are not locked into one company’s web page even after it closes.

What you should do, in plain order:

Let me be precise about the calendar of your money. After the cutoff the card stops authorising, so spending ends. But authorised-but-unsettled transactions still complete. Refunds that arrive after deactivation cannot be used on the card — so if a refund lands late, it does not become spendable balance again. Your withdrawal rights are the one thing that stays open.

The everyday limits and fees that applied while the card was live, for your reference: EUR 5,000 per regular transaction and up to EUR 8,000 per day. Free ATM withdrawals up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% (minimum 1 EUR/GBP); ATM withdrawals capped at EUR 250 per transaction and EUR 500 per day. No gas fee for card transactions — gas applies only to on-chain transfers, such as moving from your Safe to another wallet.

On cost, one thing to be aware of because it changed: the help centre lists an old card purchase fee of EUR 30.23 (possibly outdated), while the current page states the card order and physical-card shipping are free. Replacement of a lost or stolen card costs 4.99 EURe/GBPe/USDCe including shipping. So if you see the EUR 30.23 figure quoted anywhere, it is the stale price, not what a new card costs.

If you have a problem, the channels are help.gnosispay.com and [email protected] for general help; [email protected] (forwarded to Monavate) or [email protected] for complaints. Complaints to Monavate can be made in English or Lithuanian; hours are not stated. Questions about a partner app go to the partner, not to Gnosis Pay.

Your legal rights are not what expires first, and this distinction matters. Rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, and card-scheme chargeback rights, are unaffected by the closure — raise disputes promptly, because the scheme’s own time limits still apply. Support for those claims ends 12 June 2028, but your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. If a complaint is not resolved, you can escalate to the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK or the Bank of Lithuania in the EEA.

What can go wrong

The closure itself is the biggest risk, and it is not hypothetical — it has already been announced with dates. Beyond that, there are the ordinary risks of a self-custody card, and there are the specific failure modes that reviewers of this card reported before it closed.

Let me start with what the closure does to your plans. A payment you set up for next month simply will not go through after 20 December, and nobody will migrate it for you. Anything time-sensitive — a subscription, a rent share, a recurring bill — needs a new card behind it before the cutoff, not after.

Then there is the security side, and this cuts both ways. The upside of a self-custody card is real: your funds sit in your own wallet until the moment of payment, under your own signer key, and no provider can quietly freeze them. The downside is that this responsibility sits with you. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return the money. On Gnosis Pay specifically, freeze/unfreeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance of funds are not stated by the official pages, so I would not assume a spend cap or an insurance layer was protecting you.

Then the reputational evidence from before the closure. Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 labelled “Poor”, from 38 reviews (21 in the last 12 months), with 58% one-star and 21% five-star, read on 20 October 2026; other regional pages showed 2.5. Reading the user reports, three themes recur:

Those reports are user accounts, not verified findings, but they are consistent enough to weigh. Two further unofficial points deserve a flag rather than alarm. News reported (not official) that a June 2026 exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, and that co-founder Koppelmann said Gnosis would cover user losses; early withdrawal advice at the time was reported as conflicting, and I did not check the compensation status. And unofficial sources note that a KYC approval is never guaranteed. On the card’s blocked categories: gambling is reported (not official) as a blocked category and excluded from cashback; the official pages do not confirm this. The official restrictions they do confirm are that rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers are restricted, and that usage is prohibited in certain countries. Crucially, and this bears on eligibility generally: Russia is on the restricted-use list and is not an eligible application country (unofficial, per cryptocardhub, August 2026) — a reminder that country and citizenship rules are enforced strictly and are worth checking yourself against the official pages rather than against anything a third-party site says.

A last category of risk worth understanding, because it explains closures like this one generally. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. So the issuer named on your card is not the same as the brand you applied through, and that structure is exactly how a consumer programme can be turned off from above. Programme closures typically run the same way: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

To be clear about the good news on rights: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. And a chargeback — a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — remains available to you under this programme’s terms until the 2028 date. Keep using it while it is there.

Alternatives to Gnosis Pay

If you were reading this page because you need a card that spends from crypto-linked balances, here are three currently-scored alternatives from the same review set, so you can compare them on the same terms. None of them is a like-for-like replacement for Gnosis Pay — they differ in card type, cost model and region — but they are the options with a live programme.

Criterion Gnosis Pay (closing) TokenPocket MetaMask KAST
Score 4.5 / 10 5.8 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Card Visa, virtual + physical Mastercard/Visa debit, virtual (Fiat24) Mastercard, virtual first, metal optional Visa, virtual + physical, up to 10
Issuer / setup Monavate (FCA) — Monavate / Crypto Life —
Cost Order and shipping free Small NFT-creation portion user-paid; “no other fees” Virtual free; Metal $199/year Standard $0; Premium $1,000/yr; Private $10,000/yr
Transaction / FX fees None from Gnosis Pay; Visa FX rate 1% on crypto deposit; FX not stated “Minimal fee” per transaction, amount not stated; no FX fee 0% spend/top-up; 0.5%–1.75% non-USD FX
Rewards None stated on current card 1% deposit fee refunded later via rewards Cashback in mUSD: Virtual 1%; Metal 3% capped at first $10,000 USD cashback: 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, capped

A few notes to help you read that table. TokenPocket’s 1% deposit fee is described as refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees — so treat it as a delay, not a saving, unless you actually use it. MetaMask’s Metal cashback headline of 3% carries a footnote capping 3% to the first $10,000 spent and dropping to 1% after; its Metal card costs $199 a year, which is a real cost against a low everyday spend. KAST’s tier structure is unusually steep — Premium is $1,000 a year and Private $10,000 a year — and it also charges an inactivity fee of $1 a month after 12 months, so it suits people who spend heavily and steadily, not occasional users.

Where each suits you:

My honest read: if your priority is spending crypto-linked balance at no transaction or FX markup, MetaMask is the strongest of these three on score and on a free virtual card. If you want the widest country reach across both card networks, TokenPocket covers more ground. If you spend heavily and want the highest cashback with no annual cost at the entry tier, KAST’s Standard is free but its higher tiers are priced for high-volume spenders, not for you if you use the card lightly.

Who I would recommend this to

I would not recommend the Gnosis Pay card to anyone seeking a card today — the programme is closing and new cards are not being issued, so this is a “what now” page, not a buying recommendation. For a reader still holding one, here is who I would point to which action.

If you use the card lightly and mostly for subscriptions, move your balance to a different card well before 20 December 2026 and let the balance sit elsewhere; there is no benefit to riding out the last weeks. If you hold a meaningful balance in your Safe, withdraw it to your own wallet before the cutoff — the funds are yours and self-custodial, so you can and should take them out on your own terms rather than wait for a wind-down. If you have disputes, refunds or unresolved support tickets, raise them now and keep your receipts, because the support window for those closes in June 2028 even though your statutory rights against Monavate are not capped by that date. If you were considering the Gnosis Pay card as a way to spend crypto because ordinary bank cards are hard for you to get, then the closure is an obstacle, not a verdict on the idea — the alternatives above, with their own region and KYC rules, are where to look next.

The reader who should be most cautious is anyone who has been reading glowing reviews of Gnosis Pay without checking the closure notice. The card was, on its own terms, well made — free to order, no transaction or FX markup, self-custody of funds, Apple Pay and Google Pay, free ATM allowance — but those strengths belonged to a programme that is ending. Score it 4.5 out of 10 as it stands today: the underlying product was solid, but for a card you would use in 2026, what matters is reliability and continuity, and here it is at 1 out of 10 because the issuer is named but the programme is closing, and the Trustpilot record before closure was poor.

My criteria, with their marks and why:

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working 20.12.2026, and the consumer card is being replaced by partner cards
Cost 8 / 10 Card issue and delivery free (the old EUR 30.23 price is outdated), no Gnosis Pay transaction fees or FX markup, Visa’s rate applies; ATM 2% after the free allowance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Self-custody Safe; EURe/GBPe/USDCe, USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon, Gnosis Chain; unofficial: from another network a swap or bridge is needed
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer Monavate (FCA) is named, but the programme is closing: support to 18.06.2027, disputes to 12.06.2028; Trustpilot 2.3; unofficial: a June 2026 exploit
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM; unofficial: gambling categories blocked
Total 4.5 / 10 A sound product inside a programme that is ending — for a card to use now, that is the wrong shape

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gnosis Pay card?

It was a Visa payment card, virtual and physical, issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, that spent from a self-custody Safe account holding EURe, GBPe, USDCe, USDC and EURC on networks including Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain. Gnosis Pay was the programme manager and technical provider, not the issuer. Balances were spent 1:1, with no Gnosis Pay transaction or FX fee and Visa’s rate applied automatically. It also supported Apple Pay and Google Pay. The consumer programme is now closing.

Is Gnosis Pay shutting down, and when?

Yes. A formal closure notice was posted on 21 September 2026. The card stops authorising and the web app closes at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026, except that withdrawals remain open in the app afterwards. General cardholder support ends 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027, and support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028. Unofficial reporting says the web app stays in limited capacity for withdrawals only after the cutoff.

Do I need to withdraw my money before 20 December 2026?

The official recommendation is yes — withdraw before 20 December 2026 using the web app at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw. Withdrawals stay open afterwards with no stated deadline, and unofficial sources say funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline either, but there is no reason to leave a balance sitting. Your Safe is self-custodial, so the assets are yours and neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. Blockchain network fees may apply when you withdraw.

Is Gnosis Pay a bank, and who issues the card?

No, it is not a bank. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639), acting as technical services provider and programme manager. The card itself is issued by Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097), under a Visa Europe licence. For EEA cardholders the issuer is UAB Monavate, supervised by the Bank of Lithuania; for UK and non-EEA cardholders it is Monavate Ltd.

What happens to payments I have already set up?

Recurring payments fail after the 20 December 2026 cutoff and cannot be moved to another card for you. You need to move subscriptions and direct debits to a different card yourself, before the date. Transactions that were authorised but not yet settled when the card stops will still complete. Refunds that arrive after the card is deactivated cannot be used on the card.

Can I still get a Gnosis Pay card?

No. Issuance is closed. Before closure the card was available to legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more of the EEA — with a waitlist for other countries; the rule was residence. Verification ran through Sumsub. The consumer card is being replaced by partner cards (news reported MiniPay handling migration), which are a new programme with new terms, and moving to one may require fresh identity checks and a new Safe.

What are my rights for refunds and disputes after closure?

Rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions and card-scheme chargeback rights are unaffected by the closure, and you should raise disputes promptly because the scheme’s own time limits apply. Support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028, but your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. Keep your receipts, and note that support for these matters after deactivation is limited, so gather your transaction history before 20 December 2026.

Is the Gnosis Pay card safe, and was it reliable?

The funds themselves were safe in the structural sense: the Safe is self-custodial and the assets stay with you. But reliability was weak. Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 from 38 reviews, with recurring reports of unanswered support, blocked or missing balances, and unexplained KYC rejections before the closure. News also reported a June 2026 exploit affecting the delay module, with the company saying it would cover user losses. Freeze/unfreeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance of funds were not stated by the official pages.

What can I use instead of Gnosis Pay?

Three live alternatives in the same review set: TokenPocket (5.8/10) covers a wide country list on Visa and Mastercard, running on Arbitrum, with a 1% crypto-deposit fee described as refunded later; MetaMask (7.1/10) issues a free virtual Mastercard that spends from the connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with an optional $199/year metal card; and KAST (6.1/10) offers Visa cards from stablecoin balances with tiered cashback, but its Premium ($1,000/year) and Private ($10,000/year) tiers are aimed at heavy spenders.

Does using a crypto card create a tax problem?

I am not qualified to advise on tax, and this page does not try to. What is generally true is that in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or services produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of each transaction — meaning each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal. The rules depend on where you live and your own circumstances, so treat this as a prompt to check with a qualified professional rather than as advice.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team