A card that spends crypto almost anywhere, with a price list nobody has published

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

UPay is one of those crypto cards that has quietly become normal. You load it from a wallet, it turns into ordinary money, and you spend it in shops, at websites and, if the card works, at cash machines. On that level it is fine — the everyday-use side of this card is the strongest thing about it. Where it stops being fine is the paperwork. Go looking for what a UPay virtual card costs, what its limits are, which network it runs on, who issues it, and you will find the public pages mostly silent, and the numbers that do exist out in the wild contradict each other. That is what this review is really about.

UPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score: 6.1 out of 10. Not a warning, not an endorsement. A working card wrapped in a documentation vacuum.

Who this suits: you already hold BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, you want to spend it through a normal card and a phone wallet, and you are the kind of person who reads fee tables before committing rather than after. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the exact price of a purchase before they make it, anyone whose money has to sit somewhere with published safeguarding rules, and anyone who wants a named issuer and a named card network behind their money.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Support claimed in 180+ countries, some residents excluded; unofficial sources say “over 150 countries”
Cost 4 / 10 Not disclosed on official pages; unofficial figures range from $10 to $100 issuance and 2%–3% top-up, and they conflict
Top-up options 6 / 10 Wallet top-up with BTC, ETH or USDT, USDC also listed among the coins; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD (Denver) with MSB, MSO and VASP In-Principle Approval licences claimed, issuer not named; Trustpilot 3.3 from one review, complaints about freezes and false PEP flags
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, ATMs mentioned, fee not disclosed
Total 6.1 / 10 A card you will like using, on terms you will have to accept blind

How to get it

Four steps, and they are the four steps for every card like this: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, then spend. The verification is handled by Sumsub, takes five to ten minutes on their description, and needs an identity document issued in the same country as you. Proof of address and an age check are not stated. There is only one KYC level described — no tiers, no stated reasons for rejection.

On the card itself: virtual and physical, personal and business. The network is not named on the pages I read. Payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others. Delivery of a physical card is not stated — the option is mentioned, but countries, timing and cost are all absent, and I could not find a page describing how to activate the card or what activation involves.

One unofficial wrinkle worth knowing: for the Stellar virtual card specifically, third-party sources say email, phone and an identity document are required, with no proof of address and no selfie. KYC is mandatory through the wallet app. That is one provider’s account of one product, not a general rule.

What it really costs

This is the section that decides whether the card suits you, and it is the one the official pages leave blank. Issuance: not stated. Monthly fee: not stated. Conversion fee: not stated — the card page says only that a conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement. ATM fee: not stated, though the home page says the card works at ATMs. Daily and monthly limits: not stated, and the help site’s terms page is a stub listing topic titles with nothing under them.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a UPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the official pages say
Issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion not stated; a conversion may occur during payment depending on network and settlement
Foreign exchange not stated; marketing says spending “without the need for currency conversion” while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur
ATM card usable at ATMs; fee and allowance not stated
Daily limit not stated
Monthly limit not stated
Tiers none named; only personal and business, virtual and physical

What circulates instead comes from third parties and does not agree with itself. Finbold (July 2026) describes a $10 virtual issuance; cryptocards.so describes a $50 Stellar virtual issuance with no monthly fee and also reports a $100 activation fee for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious tiers with no annual fees. On fees, the same report says 2% recharge on virtual cards, 1% on Precious, a flat 1% transaction fee on Premier virtual with “no deposit or cross-border fees”, an unofficial 1.5% on UPay Wallet, and an advertised “no FX fees” policy; cryptocards.so says 3% top-up and 1% FX for the Stellar card. Figures conflict and are unofficial. Take none of them as the price you will pay.

Limits are equally contradictory: cryptocards.so gives the Stellar virtual card an unofficial $20,000 daily spend limit with no monthly cap; Finbold says no limits at all. These figures are not confirmed by the card.

Now the everyday payments, since that is what you actually want to know.

None of this is a disqualifying answer by itself. It is a reason to send a small test amount first and watch what your balance actually does.

How to top it up

The wallet takes BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC is listed among the supported coins. That is the whole official story: no networks named, no fee, no minimum, no mention of fiat rails anywhere on the card page, the home page or the help site. Third parties add that the Stellar card also takes DOGE, that top-ups can come from a bank account or an eligible Visa or Mastercard, and that networks were not found.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up UPay starts with a transfer to the right network

This is where I would be most careful, and the reason is not the card but the rail underneath. On the Ethereum network, an ERC-20 token such as USDT or USDC cannot be moved unless the wallet holds a little ETH for gas — a USDT balance with no ETH in the same wallet is a balance you cannot send. Tether issues USDT across Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, while Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. So the same token can arrive on networks you did not intend, and network fees on a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by UPay.

And blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome.

Worth knowing about the coins themselves: they aim to hold a stable value but are not guaranteed to. The BIS (July 2025) put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation into USDT and USDC; TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. If you top up in USDT you accept that risk on top of everything else.

I could not find a page describing how to withdraw a balance or close an account. That is not a small thing — if you cannot get money off, you have not got a card, you have got a one-way ticket.

Paying with it every day

The strongest nine out of ten I have given anywhere on this site, and the reason the total is not lower.

What is missing: which merchants are blocked is not stated; no cashback appears on the card page, though the home page lists an “Earn While You Sleep” product by title alone; and there is no information on how disputes work — the FAQ page returned a page error when I went looking, and the help centre root showed only a Chinese-language “Help Center” heading with no article list.

Two practical payment mechanics to keep in mind. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address a shopper types with issuer records, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. If a payment goes wrong at a till, the money may be unavailable for a week even though you never spent it.

What can go wrong

Start with the reports, because that is where this card’s score really comes from.

Official incident reporting: not stated. User and news accounts from June 2026 describe reviews as mixed — genuine praise for speed and easy crypto deposits, alongside complaints about verification, accounts frozen mid-transaction with fresh document requests, and false PEP flags with no route of appeal. The unverified aggregator cryptocards.so cites Trustpilot and Google Play at roughly 2.5–2.8 stars, reports app crashes after an update and a support bot with no escalation path, and warns of a name collision with unrelated UPay entities.

On the Trustpilot page for the UPay website, read 20 October 2026: 3.3 out of 5 from a single review — a two-star report about a KYC failure using a Palau digital residency ID. That is one review, so treat the number as almost no information. Other pages: the UPay website shows 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews; The Coin Republic (June 2026) cites 2.6 out of 5 from 19 reviews for Upay Technology Limited, a different domain, so treat with care. Recurring themes across 2026 user reports: false PEP flags during KYC, unsupported ID types, temporary account restrictions after deposits, Apple Pay not available on some cards or regions, declined transactions, delayed refunds and unclear fees.

The pattern in that list is worth naming precisely. PEP flags and frozen accounts are not random bad luck; they are the predictable result of the two structural facts on this card. First, only one KYC level exists, with no stated rejection reasons, so you get no appeal path. Second, EU due-diligence rules require an institution to establish whether a customer is a politically exposed person, and where due diligence cannot be completed, to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts close pending documents — and nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions and issuer policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as address.

Now the company behind it. UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., Denver, Colorado, USA, with the address garbled on the site. Licences named: MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania “In-Principle Approval”, MSB United States, MSB Canada. The issuer bank and the card network are not stated. A support item dated 29 June 2026 in The Coin Republic reports the card expanding crypto spending options — BTC, ETH and USDT converted to fiat — with the company’s licence claims explicitly unverified by that article.

On the licences themselves: MSB registration in the US is a money-transmitter registration under FinCEN guidance (FIN-2013-G001), which classifies administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money services businesses while mere users buying goods are not. That is a registration, not the same thing as the deposit insurance a bank carries. In the EU, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining CASP provisions from 30 December 2024; under Article 48, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. A transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is received or refused, whichever comes first, and ESMA maintains an interim register where you can look up a provider.

None of which settles whether your money is protected, because the page that would say so is not published. Custodial status, two-factor authentication, freeze controls and safeguarding are not stated beyond the Sumsub check. That matters more than it sounds: with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely, and custodians have a documented failure record — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and no network can freeze or return them.

Finally, card programmes end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but the pattern is what matters. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme.

On chargebacks, which is your main route to a refund: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — this card looks prepaid, so do not assume you have US-grade protection. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to bank, or per its critics to the cardholder.

Tax is one more thing people forget, and I am not giving tax advice, only flagging what applies generally. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the transaction date, which means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. Ask someone qualified about your own position.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives so you have something to compare. None of them is clearly better; all three score lower than UPay, and each has its own shape of problem.

UPay Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 6.1 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Reach 180+ countries claimed; no country list 200+ countries claimed; no exclusions listed Aimed at Nigeria, plus “global users” Acceptance in 176+ countries; no eligibility list
Card Virtual and physical, personal and business Virtual and physical on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid, physical; balance in USD or EUR
Cost Not stated officially Not stated Virtual card creation “completely free”; monthly fee not stated Not stated; App Store lists no fees
Fees Not stated officially Real-time conversion at payment, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”, no percentage stated Not stated Not stated on the pages I could read
Top-up BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not stated USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer USDT, BTC, ETH in the app
Rewards No cashback stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

How to read that table: the honest summary is that this category has the same problem everywhere. UPay’s edge is reach and the three phone wallets. Cardex names its networks and markets conversion rates, but its app listing is Naira-focused. CardFlow is transparently cheap to create and clearly built for one market. HyperCard is the vaguest of the four. If you want a card where the fee is written down before you start, this category has not delivered one yet — that is worth saying plainly rather than pretending a switch fixes it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend UPay to someone who is already holding crypto, has decided they want to spend it like ordinary money through a phone wallet, and treats the card as a spending tool rather than a place to keep money. The everyday-use side is genuinely good: virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and it is easy to top up from a wallet you already use.

I would steer it away from anyone who needs certainty about cost, anyone who intends to hold a balance on it, and anyone who is uneasy about the issuer being unnamed. The numbers a third party quotes you for issuance and top-up do not agree with each other, and the official pages will not settle them. If your country is excluded, or your ID is not from the country you live in, this is not going to work — and there is no published list either way.

If you do go ahead: send a small test deposit on a network you have confirmed is supported, make one small purchase, watch what the balance does, and check whether your identity document is accepted before you move anything you would miss.

Frequently asked questions

What is UPay card?

UPay is a crypto payment card: you load it from your own wallet and spend the balance as ordinary money in shops, online and at cash machines. It comes in virtual and physical versions, for personal and business use, and links to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. It is issued by UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD. in Denver, with licences claimed in several jurisdictions, though the card pages do not name the issuing bank.

How does UPay card work?

You create an account, pass identity verification through Sumsub, apply for a card, fund the wallet with crypto such as BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, and then the balance converts to fiat at payment. The card page says payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and others, and that a conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement. That mechanism is prepaid in character — it spends a stored balance.

Is UPay a bank?

No — not on the published evidence. The company is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD. in Denver, claiming MSB registrations in the United States and Canada, an MSO licence in Hong Kong and a VASP “In-Principle Approval” in Lithuania. The issuer bank is not stated, and the card network is not named either. Registering as a money services business is not the same as being a bank with deposit insurance.

Who owns UPay?

The card’s public pages name UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., registered in Denver, Colorado, with the address garbled on the site. One aggregator warns that unrelated UPay entities exist and that the name is shared, so check which domain you are actually on. Trustpilot pages for the UPay website and the UPay website are separate, and one third-party review covers a different company entirely.

Is the UPay card available in my country?

Probably, but you cannot confirm it from the official pages. UPay claims support in 180+ countries while stating that residents of certain countries are not served, without publishing which. Third parties say “over 150 countries” and “at least 168 countries”, and no restricted-country list has been published. The firmer constraint is documents: the KYC partner accepts only IDs issued in your country of residence.

Does the UPay card require KYC?

Yes. Verification runs through Sumsub, takes five to ten minutes per the company, and needs an identity document issued in the same country as you. Only one verification level is described, with no stated rejection reasons and no published appeal route. For the Stellar virtual card, third parties say email, phone and an ID are required, with no proof of address or selfie.

How do I top up the UPay card?

Through the wallet, with BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC is also listed among the supported coins. The official pages do not name the networks, the fee, the minimum, or any fiat option — third parties mention bank account and eligible Visa or Mastercard top-ups. Check the network before you send, keep a little ETH in an Ethereum wallet for gas if you hold ERC-20 tokens, and remember transfers are irreversible.

Is the UPay card free?

Nobody can tell you, which is the honest answer. Issuance, monthly and annual fees are not stated on the official pages. Third-party figures range from $10 for a virtual card to $50 for a Stellar virtual card with no monthly fee and $100 activation for physical Premier, Platinum or Precious tiers, with top-up fees quoted anywhere from 1% to 3%. These figures conflict and none is confirmed by UPay.

Is the UPay card safe?

The safety features are not published. Custodial status, two-factor authentication, freezing and safeguarding are not stated beyond the Sumsub check, and the issuer bank is unnamed. What is documented is a pattern of complaints in 2026: false PEP flags, frozen accounts, declined payments, delayed refunds, and a support bot with no escalation. Money on the card is money you have handed to a private company with no published protections.

Is the UPay card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold crypto and want to spend it through a phone wallet without thinking about it. Not worth it if you need a published price for each payment, if you plan to keep a balance on it, or if you need a named issuer behind your money. The card itself is good; the disclosure around it is the weak part, and that is what my 6.1 out of 10 reflects.

Will they give you the card?

Broadly, yes — and that is the card’s genuine strength. UPay says it supports 180+ countries and says plainly that it does not serve residents of certain countries, with the list able to change as regulatory or issuer policies change. No country list is published, though, so “which countries” is exactly what you cannot learn from the official pages. The one hard rule that *is* stated is about documents rather than geography: the KYC partner accepts only ID documents issued by the same country as the user. If your passport or national ID is from a different country than the one you live in, that is a problem before anything else.

Unofficial sources widen the picture without settling it. Finbold (20 July 2026) says “over 150 countries”, naming the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada as examples, with availability depending on your location, eligibility and which product you pick. TechBullion, undated and friendly to the company, says “at least 168 countries”. Nobody has published the restricted-country list.

The pragmatic reading: almost everyone can apply, and a minority will be refused at the verification stage rather than at the application stage. If your country is politically sensitive or under sanctions pressure from a major bloc, expect friction.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team