The card that spends your wallet, for free — until the moment you need cash

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The MiniPay is a digital Visa card that spends straight out of your own crypto wallet. There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, and no card fee. On paper it is one of the cheapest ways to turn stablecoins into everyday spending. But it is a phone-only card with no physical plastic, no confirmed ATM network, and a reward that can take a month and a half to land. I scored it 7.4 out of 10. Whether that is a good deal for you depends almost entirely on whether you already hold stablecoins and already live self-custody.

MiniPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 7.4 out of 10

MiniPay suits people who already keep stablecoins in a self-custodial wallet and want to spend them at shops without opening a bank account in the country they actually live in. It does not suit you if you need a physical card in the post, if cash from an ATM is part of your week, or if you spend in a currency other than the US dollar and mind the exchange rate.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 “Selected markets” across the EEA, Africa, Latin America and South-East Asia; the sign-up form lists about 80 countries plus “Other”
Cost 9 / 10 No issuance fee, no monthly fee, $0 deposit fees and no card fee; for non-USD purchases Visa exchange rates may apply
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends directly from a self-custodial wallet; starting data names USDT, USDC and cUSD on Celo, but the page does not itemise them
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Named issuers: Monavate Ltd (FCA, FRN 901097) and UAB Monavate (Lithuania) under a Visa Europe licence; the programme manager Gnosis Pay sits at 2.1 out of 24 on Trustpilot
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital Visa only; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; no physical card and ATM is not covered
Total 7.4 / 10 A strong, low-cost way to spend stablecoins, held back by the day-to-day gaps that come with a phone-only card

Two numbers frame the whole card. Cost is the highest mark in the table, because there is genuinely almost nothing to pay for the card itself. Everyday use is the lowest, because the thing you would do with a physical card in your pocket every day, you cannot do with this one. That is the trade in a sentence.

Who will they give you the card to?

They will give it to you if you are in what MiniPay calls “Selected markets” — spread across the EEA, Africa, Latin America and South-East Asia — and you pass identity verification. That is the short answer. The slightly longer answer is that no country list is published. The sign-up form lists about 80 countries plus an “Other” option, and MiniPay’s own guidance is simple: “If your country is supported, onboarding appears in the card tab.” In other words, the app itself tells you whether you qualify the moment you open it.

One thing the public pages do not say is whether eligibility rests on citizenship, on residence, or on both. The basis is simply not stated. That matters more than it sounds. Country rules around e-money and crypto cards frequently turn on the ID you hold, not only the address you live at, so a reader with an unusual combination — say, living in a supported market while holding a passport from somewhere else — should not assume the answer from the country list alone. The verification step is where that gets decided.

The reader this page is written for is anyone, anywhere, who has trouble getting an ordinary bank card. For that reader the geographic question is the first practical hurdle, and the honest answer is: you will know within a minute of opening the app whether the card path is offered to you, and no review can tell you in advance.

How to get it

The route is the app. Identity verification runs inside the MiniPay wallet app, and MiniPay’s own description is deliberately loose: “Identity verification depends on your country and the card program’s requirements. The app walks you through it.” Which documents you need, whether proof of address is required, and what the minimum age is are all not stated on the public pages. What is clear is that this is a KYC flow, guided step by step in the app, and that the requirements shift by country and by the card programme’s own policy.

There is nothing in the post, because there is no post. MiniPay is digital only — no physical card is issued, so there is no delivery to wait for and nothing to activate in the traditional sense. Once you are verified, the card lives in the app. It settles in USD, and it is a Visa.

The KYC levels, meaning whether MiniPay offers tiered verification or a single flat check, are not stated either. For a reader who has been turned away by a bank before, the practical takeaway is simply this: this is a regulated onboarding path, not a workaround. Identity checks, sanctions screening and country rules are exactly where crypto cards have tightened in recent years, and a card that markets itself as border-friendly is still bound by the rules of the issuer’s jurisdiction. Nothing here is a way around those checks; it is a legitimate route that still asks who you are.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the strongest part of the card, and it is worth reading the table carefully because the fee story splits into what MiniPay charges you and what sits between you and the merchant.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a MiniPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What the card states
Issuance fee None
Monthly fee None
Card fee None — “MiniPay charges no card fee”
Deposit fee $0, including from other wallets
Non-USD purchases “Visa exchange rates may apply”
ATM withdrawal Not covered by the FAQ; an “ATM withdrawal fee” is mentioned without an amount by the programme manager’s blog
Spending limits “Spending limits may apply. You can view them in the app” — no amounts published
Tiers A single tier; no higher or lower level described

The headline is simple. There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no card fee, and $0 deposit fees even when you fund from another wallet. For a card aimed at people tired of account fees and monthly minimums, that is a genuine change.

Now three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite.

Paying for coffee in dollars. Nothing applies. No card fee, no monthly fee, no conversion. This is the case MiniPay is built for.

Paying for something priced in euros or pounds while your balance sits in dollars. Here Visa’s exchange rates may apply to non-USD purchases, and that is the one currency cost the card itself flags. The programme manager’s blog describes it as a “low nominal FX fee” but names no amount, so treat the exact figure as undisclosed. In practice this is the difference between paying the rate Visa publishes and paying a rate your card adds on top — the card says no card fee, but the exchange rate line is separate from it.

Taking money out of an ATM. This is where the card is genuinely vague. The FAQ does not cover ATM withdrawals at all, and the programme manager’s blog mentions “an ATM withdrawal fee” without an amount. On top of that, MiniPay says the card is digital-only, so there is no physical card to feed into a machine. If cash is part of your routine, treat this as an open question and assume it is not the smooth part.

Two more limits deserve a mention even though they carry no price. Spending limits “may apply”, and the only place to see yours is the app — no amounts are published. And the card settles in USD, so every non-USD purchase runs through Visa’s exchange rate rather than a local one.

Top up the balance

Topping up is the part MiniPay does most differently from an ordinary bank card, and it starts with a transfer rather than a bank link. You spend directly from your self-custodial wallet balance. You can fund from your MiniPay balance or from any wallet, and the funds are spendable on arrival.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up MiniPay starts with a transfer to the right network

On which coins and networks: the card’s starting data names USDT, USDC and cUSD on the Celo network, but those are not itemised on the page itself. That is worth pausing on if you are used to picking the network yourself. A transfer sent on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. The card page does not itemise a supported list, so check the app for the current networks before you send anything.

The deposit fee is $0, including from external wallets. What is not stated: who pays the on-chain network fee for the transfer, and whether there is a minimum top-up. Those are the two questions to ask the app or support, because an unstated minimum and an unstated gas payer are the two places a “free” top-up quietly stops being free.

Converting back out works differently again. Debit-card spends draw only on your available balance, so you cannot overdraw. But withdrawing from the wallet into local currency does not happen on the card itself — it goes through third-party ramp partners. The fees on that leg are not stated, and neither is what happens to any balance left when you close the account. If the plan involves cashing out, ask about both before you commit.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is where MiniPay scores lowest, 5 out of 10, and the reason is structural rather than fixable. It is a digital Visa. There is no physical card. So the everyday question “where can I use this?” has a narrower answer than with a normal card: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card says adding it to a phone wallet takes under a minute. Beyond that, in-store contactless where your phone has already been used is the realistic path.

Beyond that, what does a phone-only card mean in a shop? The card network still routes the payment the same way — a Visa tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay behaves like any other Visa at the terminal. What you lose is the fallback: no plastic for when the battery dies, the screen is cracked, or the shop wants to see a card. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the issuer’s country is visible in the card’s identification number and can make a card look foreign to a shop. Which merchant categories are blocked on MiniPay is not stated, though the rewards terms mention “excluded-category” transactions.

Rewards are generous on paper: up to 5% on qualifying purchases, paid in digital gold (Tether Gold) and stablecoins. The reality is more qualified. The payout is monthly, and it can take 30 to 60 days to arrive. Pending, refunded, excluded-category or over-cap transactions may not qualify, and terms and conditions apply. So the 5% is real but slow and conditional — think of it as a delayed rebate, not instant credit.

If something goes wrong mid-purchase, the route is in the app: freeze the card, review the activity, contact support. Refunds usually return to the original card, and timing depends on the merchant and the issuer. The MiniPay app is the one made by Opera; store ratings were not read because the store pages did not load on 2026-10-21, so treat review-day app ratings as an open point rather than a strength.

What can go wrong

No official incident against MiniPay itself came up in my checking, and I found no MiniPay-specific reviews. But the honest place to look is the company running the programme. The card’s structure is: a wallet provider, Blueboard Limited (Opera); the programme manager, Gnosis Pay, which says it is not a bank or a regulated payment provider; and the actual issuers — Monavate Ltd, an FCA-regulated e-money institution in England and Wales (FRN 901097), and UAB Monavate in Lithuania, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139) — issuing under a licence from Visa Europe Limited.

That is a reassuring structure, because the card money sits with a regulated issuer, not with the crypto brand. But the programme manager Gnosis Pay is the layer users complain about, and it does not score well: its Trustpilot page shows 2.1 from 24 reviews, with complaints about support, identity checks handled by a third party, and a slow fraud dispute. Read that as user reports on a small sample, not a verdict — but if you are the kind of person for whom a frozen account with a slow support desk is the worst case, this is the layer where your risk lives, not the issuer.

The self-custody design is the other half of the risk picture, and it cuts both ways. “Your balance stays in your wallet until the moment you pay” — that is the real advantage: the provider is not sitting on your funds between purchases. But with a self-custodial wallet, responsibility is yours. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 unencrypted words; anyone who gets them can restore the wallet and spend it. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return funds. This is not a scare tactic; it is the trade you accept when you keep your own keys, and it applies to the money behind the card exactly as it applies to the money in the wallet.

Two more practical warnings. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And under the EU’s MiCA rules, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, with the transitional period for existing providers running until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused, whichever comes first. This is a period where providers change shape, and a card’s terms are the thing to re-read after such a change.

What is reassuring on the security side is the everyday tooling: freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, and if you lose your phone, an email address published in the FAQ takes the subject line “Lost Phone – Freeze Card”. Two-factor authentication is not stated, which is worth asking about. Support runs through the app, with that lost-phone email; languages and hours are not stated, which for a card serving “Selected markets” across four regions is a real question.

What to take instead

MiniPay is not the only card trying to spend a wallet, and the alternatives differ in ways that matter more than their marketing.

MetaMask card scored 7.1 out of 10, close to MiniPay, with a different shape. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries or territories (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay, among others), with other regions on a waitlist; proof of residency is required, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. It is a Mastercard: a virtual card issued instantly, with a metal version you can pre-order after approval, one card per user, also issued through Monavate. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; the metal card is $199 a year. Fees are a “minimal fee for each transaction” with no amount stated, no foreign transaction fee, and the Mastercard rate applied. You spend directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, with tokens including mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. Cashback goes into a Money Account in mUSD: 1% on the virtual card, and on the metal card a headline 3% that its own footnote limits to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%. So MetaMask’s appeal is a physical card option and a wider token list; its cost is the metal fee and its reward has a cap.

KAST scored 6.1 out of 10 and is the most explicit about its own terms, which is either reassuring or a warning depending on your taste. It offers virtual and physical cards, up to ten per user, in a range of Visa tiers — Platinum Standard, Infinite metal, Infinite gold plated, plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs — with the balance in USD and stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. The catch is the membership ladder: Standard 0 USD a year, Premium 1,000 USD a year, Private 10,000 USD a year, billed annually upfront with no monthly option. Fees are unusually transparent — 0% top-up, 0% card spend in USD, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple and Google Pay, but a 0.5%–1.75% FX fee on non-USD purchases depending on your country, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, and 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. It is strict on eligibility too: residence-based, and if you live in a supported country but hold an ID from a restricted region you may still fail KYC. Cashback is 1.5% to 3% in USD depending on tier, within monthly spend caps.

TokenPocket scored 5.8 out of 10, the lowest of the four, and its cost structure is the reason. You pay an NFT creation fee, partly covered by TokenPocket with you paying “a small portion”, and “a 1% fee is charged when depositing cryptocurrency into the TP Card”, refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees. Availability is also the narrowest in one respect and the widest in another: Visa debit for a list of European countries, Mastercard debit for a set including the UK, Australia, Canada, Singapore and Japan, with the Americas stated as planned rather than live.

The pattern across all three: none of them publishes the complete picture as cleanly as you would like, and the two that are most open about their fees (KAST) are also the ones with the strictest entry conditions. If your priority is a physical card, MetaMask’s metal option is the only route here. If your priority is spending without touching a bank at all, MiniPay’s free, self-custody model is hard to beat on cost.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend MiniPay to someone who already holds USDT or USDC in a self-custodial wallet, already accepts responsibility for their own keys, and wants to spend that balance at ordinary shops without opening a bank account. For that person the cost is genuinely near zero, the funds stay in their own wallet until the moment of payment, and the issuers are named, regulated entities rather than an offshore name. It is a clean, well-priced tool for a specific job.

I would not recommend it as your only card. The absence of physical plastic is not a quibble for someone whose week depends on a card in a wallet; the ATM question is unanswered and the reward, for all its headline 5%, takes a month and a half to arrive and excludes whole categories; and the layer people actually complain about — the programme manager, at 2.1 from 24 on Trustpilot — is the one handling support and identity checks. If the people complaining are the people you would be dealing with at 2 a.m. when a payment is wrongly declined, that is the risk to weigh.

The honest summary is a card that does one job unusually well and several jobs not at all. If the one job is the one you need, take it. If you are choosing a general everyday card, keep looking.

Frequently asked questions

What is MiniPay card?

MiniPay is a digital Visa card that spends directly from your own self-custodial crypto wallet balance. There is no physical card — it lives in the app — and it settles in US dollars. Instead of a bank account behind the card, the balance in your crypto wallet is what pays for each purchase. It is aimed at people already holding stablecoins who want to spend them at everyday shops without opening a local bank account.

Is MiniPay a bank?

No. MiniPay itself is not a bank or a regulated payment provider — that is stated by Gnosis Pay, the programme manager. The card money sits with the actual issuers: Monavate Ltd, an FCA-regulated e-money institution in England and Wales (FRN 901097), and UAB Monavate in Lithuania, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania (LB002139). The card is issued under a licence from Visa Europe. The wallet provider is Blueboard Limited, part of Opera.

Who owns MiniPay?

It is a programme rather than a single owner. Blueboard Limited (Opera) provides the wallet app, Gnosis Pay manages the card programme, and the actual card issuers are Monavate Ltd (England and Wales) and UAB Monavate (Lithuania), operating under a Visa Europe licence. That split matters: the entity holding your balance is a regulated issuer, while the brand you interact with is the front end.

Is MiniPay card free?

Essentially, yes. There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, and no card fee. Deposits are $0, including from other wallets. The one cost that can appear is on non-USD purchases, where Visa exchange rates may apply. ATM withdrawals are not covered by the FAQ and an ATM fee is mentioned without an amount, so cash is the one place the “free” picture is incomplete.

How do I top up the MiniPay card?

You transfer crypto in, rather than linking a bank. You can fund from your MiniPay balance or from any wallet, and the funds are spendable on arrival, with $0 deposit fees. Starting data names USDT, USDC and cUSD on Celo, though the page does not itemise them — check the app for the supported networks, because transfers sent on the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

What coins and networks does MiniPay support?

The card’s starting data names USDT, USDC and cUSD on the Celo network, but these are not itemised on the public page. Nobody publishes a definitive list, so the app is the place to confirm what is currently accepted. This matters more than usual: crypto transfers are irreversible, and one sent on an unsupported network may not be recoverable.

Does MiniPay card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is required, and MiniPay’s own description is that it “depends on your country and the card program’s requirements” and that “the app walks you through it”. The specific documents, whether proof of address is needed, and the minimum age are not stated on the public pages. It is a regulated onboarding path, not a workaround, and country and sanctions rules apply as they do to any e-money provider.

Can I use MiniPay card in my country?

It depends on whether you are in what MiniPay calls “Selected markets” — the EEA, Africa, Latin America and South-East Asia. No country list is published; the sign-up form lists about 80 countries plus “Other”, and the app tells you whether onboarding is available for you. Whether eligibility rests on citizenship, residence, or both is not stated, which is worth checking before you invest time in an application.

Is MiniPay card safe?

Safer than most, with a specific trade-off. Your balance stays in your own wallet until the moment you pay, and the issuers are regulated e-money institutions, so the provider is not sitting on your money between purchases. But self-custody means you own the risks: a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words, anyone who gets it can spend the funds, and crypto transfers are irreversible with no recovery. Freeze and unfreeze instantly in the app; two-factor authentication is not stated, so ask.

How do I withdraw money from MiniPay?

Debit-card spending only draws on your available balance, so you cannot overdraw. To turn the wallet balance back into local currency, you withdraw through third-party ramp partners rather than the card itself. The fees on that leg are not stated, and neither is what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account — worth asking before you rely on it.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team