The card is easy to open and awkward to live with
WantToPay is a virtual payment card that lives inside Telegram. You verify an identity document once, get a card number, load it with rubles or crypto, and pay for things online where an ordinary card from your country will not work. That is genuinely useful for a specific person — someone paying foreign services by virtual card from a Telegram-first workflow — and genuinely awkward for everyone else. The card is virtual only. There is no plastic, no ATM, and the monthly fee on three of the four tiers sits on top of every transaction fee.
I read through the card’s own pages, its comparison table, its tariff terms and its knowledge base, then compared the user reports. My score is 4.5 out of 10. That is not a condemnation. It is a card that does one narrow job competently and charges you for the privilege in small, cumulative ways that are easy to miss until you are paying them.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.5 out of 10, and who it fits
The number sits in the middle of a card that is decent at being a virtual prepaid card and poor at being anything else. The single strongest thing about WantToPay is that the card number arrives quickly and works in places many people expect to be closed to them. The single weakest thing is that the cost structure is layered: a monthly fee on Easy, Smart and Pro, a per-transaction fee on top, a crypto top-up fee on top of that, and a currency question the comparison table does not answer.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Countries and residency are not stated on the home page and the terms index gives no list; a promo for new users runs at 18+, and the number of countries is not disclosed |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Easy 990 RUB, Smart 1,590 RUB, Pro 3,490 RUB; $6 a month service fee on Easy, Smart and Pro; crypto top-up fee 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Rubles by phone number or bank card; crypto BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong, issuer not named; Trustpilot score hidden because of a guideline breach with 274 reviews; complaints about cards that stopped working and money that became unreachable |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on Smart and Pro; no physical card and no ATM |
If you are a Telegram user paying foreign services — subscriptions, software, hosting, a service that will not take a card from your country — the card does something a normal debit card will not, and it does it within minutes. If you want a card for ordinary daily spending, you are choosing the wrong tool: there is no way to withdraw cash, and the daily-use mark of 5 out of 10 reflects what that does to the experience.
What I would not do is treat this as a bank account, treat the balance as money you can get back at any moment, or treat a card that works today as a card that works next month. Section by section below.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably, if you can pass one identity document and a selfie, but you cannot tell from the public pages whether your country is on the list, because the card does not publish one.
The home page does not state which countries or residency statuses are eligible, and the terms index gives no list either. That is not a small gap. When you are deciding whether to spend twenty minutes on an application, the first question is usually “is this even open where I live”, and the honest answer here is that the card does not say. What it does say is a promo aimed at new users aged 18 and over, which tells you the floor of the age requirement and nothing about the ceiling of the geography.
Two more things shape the answer in practice. First, the tier you pick determines what you are eligible for at all — the mobile wallets are only on Smart and Pro, so if Apple Pay is the whole point, the choice is made for you. Second, and more seriously, the card’s own tariff terms bar sellers from a list of countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey, among others, according to an unofficial source that also reports the BIN regions in use are the USA and Singapore. If you are in one of those places, the block may apply to what you can buy rather than to who can hold the card, but it is close enough to the question that you should ask support before you verify.
If your country is not named and you are outside the usual EU/UK/US corridors, the likeliest path is: try it, and if the application is refused, support is the place to find out why. Nobody can promise you a different answer from these pages.
Who runs it
The company behind the card is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774. The card does not name the issuing institution, and the BIN sponsor is not named on official pages either; an unofficial source reports BIN regions in the USA and Singapore. That gap is worth understanding rather than ignoring, and the next section explains why it matters.
How to get it
You register, you verify, you get a card number. There is no plastic to wait for and no delivery step, because there is no physical card at all.
Here is the actual sequence, as the card describes it:
- Register in the Telegram Mini App, confirm your email and phone number.
- Upload one identity document — passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence. For an ID card or a licence, both sides.
- Take a selfie. The verification flow may ask you to blink or turn your head.
- Wait. The card says processing is usually a few minutes.
Identity verification is handled by Sumsub, and the card states it does not store copies of your document. The card’s official KYC steps list no proof of address — only the identity document and the selfie. That is lighter than a European bank’s onboarding, and it also means the card is taking on less information about you than a regulated bank would. Whether that is a convenience or a weakness depends on what you are using the card for.
The failure mode people actually hit is photo quality. The card says most rejections come down to a bad photograph, not a rejected document, and after several failed attempts it directs you to support. Specific rejection codes are not listed, so if you are refused you will not get a code to look up — you get a conversation.
One promo is worth knowing because it is time-boxed: new users who complete verification within 7 days of registration get a 30% discount on Easy.
Digital only, and that is the whole delivery story
The card is issued as a virtual card inside the Telegram Mini App. There is no physical card and no delivery. That removes a whole category of friction — no courier, no address form, no waiting a week — and it removes the other half of a normal card too: the thing in your wallet that works when your phone dies.
There is no App Store or Google Play app. The product is the Mini App and the website. App ratings are not stated, so there is no public score to weigh.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card is weakest, and where a reader who only reads the headline price gets the wrong picture. There is an issue price, a monthly fee on three tiers, a fee per successful transaction, a fee per failed transaction, and a crypto top-up fee on top.

| Fee or limit | Prepaid | Easy | Smart | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issue price | Fixed denomination, $10–$200 | 990 RUB / $10 | 1,590 RUB | 3,490 RUB / $35 |
| Monthly service fee | $0 | $6 | $6 | $6 |
| Crypto top-up fee | Fixed denomination only | 9% | 7% | — |
| Successful transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.50–$1.00, plus 0.2% for contactless | $0.5 plus 1% of the payment amount |
| Failed transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.40–$1.00 | $1 |
| Purchase limit per day | up to $20,000 | up to $50,000 | $25,000 per transaction | — |
| Single transaction cap | $10,000 | $20,000 | $25,000 | — |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | — | — | Yes | Yes |
| Physical card, ATM, metal | None | None | None | None |
A few lines from that table deserve unpacking, because they are where the money actually goes.
The monthly fee is $6 on Easy, Smart and Pro and zero on Prepaid. Validity runs 24 months on Prepaid and Easy, and 36 to 60 months on Smart. On Pro the transaction fee is a percentage rather than a flat rate, which sounds generous until you remember you are paying $6 a month on top for the privilege of the percentage.
Apple Pay, Google Pay and offline payment abroad are listed on Pro in the comparison table, and Samsung Pay support is described for Smart. There is no metal card on any tier. Offline abroad on Pro is the one feature in the whole table that does something a regular debit card cannot.
Three everyday payments, with the fees applied
Take a small monthly software subscription at $10, paid from Easy, topped up with crypto.
- Crypto top-up of $100: 9% on Easy, so $9.
- The $10 payment: $0.25–$0.50 successful transaction fee.
- The card also carries $6 for the month.
The arithmetic is the reviewer’s, not the card’s — I am adding the published numbers to show how they interact, not quoting a figure the card publishes. A nine percent top-up fee plus a flat per-payment fee plus a monthly fee is three separate charges on a $10 purchase. That is the shape of the problem, and it is why the cost mark is 2 out of 10.
Now a currency question. The card’s base currency is USD. Ruble top-ups are converted at the app rate, and the comparison table does not show a separate currency-conversion commission — what happens when you pay in a currency other than USD is not stated. If you buy something priced in euros while your balance is dollars, you are relying on an exchange rate and a conversion policy the card does not publish. Ask support before you commit money, not after.
One unofficial detail that may explain the $6: a “Plus” subscription reported as required for Easy and Smart, at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, or 1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB for 3, 6 or 12 months, with one subscription covering all cards. The card’s own pages do not list this, so treat it as unconfirmed — but it is the most likely shape of the $6, and it is worth checking whether you are paying it twice.
ATM and withdrawal
There is none, and this is the cleanest thing the card tells you. Cash and ATM withdrawals are not mentioned anywhere on the official pages, and an unofficial source states that funds cannot be withdrawn from the card at all, consistent with the card’s own description of the cards as not intended for withdrawing funds from services. No withdrawal to a bank or to crypto is described. Plan every payment as a payment, not as a cash machine.
Top up: how the money gets in
Two routes: rubles from a bank, crypto from a wallet. Neither is free, and the crypto route is where the card’s real friction lives.

For Easy and Smart you can top up in rubles by instant transfer to a phone number or from a bank card. The ruble rate is described as “the app rate” with no fee stated. Bank cards cannot be used to receive payments — that is a limit on the card as a destination, not on top-ups, but it does mean this is not a place to receive salary or a payment from someone else.
Crypto is the wider route: BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON are listed, with the home page naming BTC, USDT, USDC and TON. Networks are not named on the official pages. Here is the part that needs care:
- Minimum deposit is $10 on all tiers. Prepaid is fixed-denomination only.
- Crypto top-up fee is 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart.
- Credited usually at once, up to 180 minutes.
- New crypto payment details must be used for every top-up. A transfer sent to details you have already used cannot be returned.
- Who pays the blockchain network fee for your deposit is not stated.
That fourth point deserves a second look, because it is unusual and it is where mistakes become permanent. Blockchain transfers are generally irreversible. If you send on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, the money can be lost or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee. And USDT over Tron, a very common choice for people moving dollars, is not automatically the same thing as USDT over Ethereum — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option either. Check the network the app shows you before you send, not after.
Read the deposit details fresh on every top-up, paste rather than retype the address, and keep the transaction hash. Those three habits are the difference between a recoverable mistake and a lost balance.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a card you open in Telegram and paste. That is the whole interaction, and for its intended audience it is fast enough that people write approving reviews about exactly that.
The mobile wallets change the texture. Smart supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and an unofficial report specifies Apple Pay only on Smart. Apple Pay does not store your card number on Apple’s servers — it substitutes a device-specific number held in the Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time code — but the issuer can still restrict the tokenised number to certain channels. The practical upshot: if you add the card to a phone wallet, some merchants may behave differently than on the raw card number, and you may not get a clear error message when they do.
What you cannot do with this card is pay at a shop’s terminal, take out cash, or use it where a merchant checks the card’s issuing country and decides the transaction looks unusual. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis alone. Add address verification to the picture — a check that compares parts of the billing address you type against the issuer’s records, mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — and you can see why a virtual card works online and gets refused in person.
There is no cashback and no rewards programme. Reward terms are not stated because there are none to state.
Blocked merchant categories are not listed on the official pages. An unofficial source reports a refusal code for prohibited categories including crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies, and says gambling and donations are prohibited. The same source reports that Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store are not payable on any tariff. Treat all of that as unofficial, and test before you depend on it.
What can go wrong
I would group the risks into three, and the third is the one that keeps people up.
Cards that stop working. The most common negative theme in user reports is a card that was fine and then declined, sometimes alongside money that became difficult to reach. A minority of users say support went quiet after the problem appeared. The company replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews, which is the single most useful number on this page.
Refunds that take a long time. Reports from September 2026 mention a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee and, from May 2026, a refund taking several months to come back. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on funds for several days. If you are testing this card, test it with a small balance, not with money you need on a particular day.
An unnamed issuer. A card number, a Hong Kong programme manager and an issuer the card does not name. This is not automatically a problem — plenty of legitimate programmes work exactly this way, with the crypto brand as a front end to a licensed issuer — but it does mean that when a programme wobbles, you are dealing with a support chat in Telegram rather than a bank with a published complaints process. Programme closures are a normal occurrence in this industry: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down, and WaveCrest, which supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. What such closures have in common is that they stop.
Where safety features are concerned, the card names 3-D Secure for online payments and says it does not keep document copies. It does not state its custody model, whether there is an in-app freeze, whether two-factor authentication exists, whether there are spending controls, or whether funds are insured. Those are the five things to ask about in support before you put real money on it. Separately, it is worth knowing what you cannot rely on: 3-D Secure can shift liability for a fraudulent online payment away from the merchant, and under some implementations toward you.
Support is reachable through a Telegram bot, @WantToPaySupportBot, from 07:00 to 00:00 GMT+3, and by email at [email protected]. Pro tier has VIP support. There is an AI assistant in the knowledge base. There is an official channel for dated news — the pages carry none, though the company says it has operated since 2022.
One more thing about the balance, and it is the part I would read twice. When the card expires it is deleted together with any remaining balance. An “internal balance” exists where funds land after a technical failure on the card provider’s side, or at support’s request; from there you can move money back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card at any time, free, minimum $2, up to $500 per day — but you cannot add money to it from a card. So there is a route back from the internal balance and none in, and a balance sitting there when the card expires is a balance at risk.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in the comparison, and each is a reasonable answer to a narrower version of your problem.
| WantToPay | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.5 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who it is for | Telegram users paying foreign services | “One crypto card, 200+ countries” | Nigeria’s fintech card platform; Nigerians and global users | No country list; App Store says works in 176+ countries |
| Card type | Virtual only, USD base | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per listing | Virtual USD Mastercard, made in about 3 minutes | Prepaid card, balance in USD or EUR |
| Free to open | 990 RUB / $10 on Easy, no free tier | Not stated | Creating a virtual card is free | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees |
| Fees | Monthly $6 on Easy/Smart/Pro, per-transaction, crypto top-up 9%/7% | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion; no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated on pages available |
| Top-up | Rubles, BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON | USDT, USDC, BTC | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR |
| Rewards | None | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
None of the three publishes its transaction fees or top-up networks as clearly as WantToPay does, which is worth something on its own: you can at least price this card in advance. What Cardex offers that WantToPay does not is a physical card and a broader network list, at the cost of a Nigerian focus. CardFlow is the cheapest entry point of the four, with a free virtual card and a clear target user, but it says almost nothing about fees. HyperCard is a straightforward prepaid card in dollars or euros with no country list and no stated fees.
The honest summary is that this category is thin on disclosure across the board. If the thing you need is a card that works on a subscription you cannot otherwise pay for, and you are comfortable in Telegram, WantToPay is a reasonable choice with costs you can compute in advance. If you need cash, a physical card, or a published fee schedule from a licensed institution in your own jurisdiction, none of these is the answer.
Who I would recommend it to
In one line: a Telegram user who already holds the crypto they want to spend, pays for a handful of foreign services, and will not be caught out by a card that stops working at the wrong moment.
To be more specific, I would steer you toward this card if all four are true. You pay foreign services — hosting, software, a subscription priced in dollars — and an ordinary card from your country is refused. You are comfortable holding crypto with a provider rather than in your own wallet, and you understand that a provider can fail. You can live with the fee structure, having actually added up the 9% top-up fee, the per-transaction fee and the $6 monthly charge. And you have a second payment method, because the most common complaint is a card that stopped working.
I would steer you away if you need physical plastic, if you need to take money out, if you expect a bank-grade dispute process, or if you are putting life savings on a card whose issuing institution is not named. In that last case the category, not just this card, is the problem.
One thing that applies to any of these cards, and to crypto more broadly: a card payment funded from crypto can be a taxable disposal in the jurisdiction you live in, measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. I am not going to tell you what you owe — talk to someone who knows your tax position.
Frequently asked questions
What is WantToPay card?
It is a virtual payment card issued inside a Telegram Mini App, with no physical card and no ATM access. You verify an identity document, receive a card number, load it with rubles or crypto, and pay online. The card’s base currency is USD and it uses 3-D Secure. It is operated by WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong, and the issuing institution is not named.
How does the WantToPay card work?
You register, confirm your email and phone, upload one identity document — passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, both sides for an ID card — and take a selfie that may ask you to blink or turn your head. Verification runs through Sumsub and usually takes a few minutes. The card number then appears in the app. You top it up and pay. Proof of address is not part of the stated steps.
Is WantToPay a bank?
No, not on the evidence available. The operator is WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong company, and the card does not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the cards or sponsors the BIN. That is a normal structure for a crypto card brand acting as a front end to a licensed issuer, but it also means the entity you hold a claim against is one step removed and unnamed on the public pages.
Who owns WantToPay?
The published operator is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774. The company says it has operated since 2022, though the official pages carry no dated news to corroborate that. Individual investors and parent ownership are not stated, and an unofficial source notes the issuer and BIN sponsor are not named either.
Can I use the WantToPay card in my country?
That is genuinely not stated. The home page does not list eligible countries or residency statuses, and the terms index gives no list either. An unofficial source reports the tariff terms bar sellers from countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey, among others. If your country matters to the decision, ask support before you verify rather than after.
How much does the WantToPay card cost?
Issue is 990 RUB on Easy, 1,590 RUB on Smart and 3,490 RUB on Pro, while Prepaid comes in fixed denominations from $10 to $200. Easy, Smart and Pro each carry a $6 monthly service fee; Prepaid is $0. On top of that sit per-transaction fees of $0.25–$0.50 on Prepaid and Easy, $0.50–$1.00 on Smart, and $0.5 plus 1% on Pro, plus failed transaction fees.
Is WantToPay card free?
Not any tier, as far as the official pages describe. The closest is Prepaid, which has no monthly fee, but it comes in fixed denominations from $10 to $200 and takes no crypto top-up fee because you buy the balance outright. An unofficial report also describes a “Plus” subscription at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, likely the same thing as the $6 monthly fee — unconfirmed by the card, but consistent with it.
How do I top up the WantToPay card?
On Easy and Smart, rubles by instant transfer to a phone number or from a bank card, converted at the app rate with no fee stated. Crypto from BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON, with a $10 minimum and a top-up fee of 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart. Credit is usually immediate but can take up to 180 minutes, and you must generate fresh payment details for every top-up — a transfer to previously used details cannot be returned.
Can I withdraw money from a WantToPay card?
No. The card is not intended for withdrawing funds from services, and no withdrawal to a bank account or to crypto is described anywhere. Cash and ATM access are not mentioned on the official pages, and an unofficial source states the funds cannot be withdrawn at all. Treat this card as a way to spend a loaded balance, not as a way to move money.
Is the WantToPay card safe?
Partly answered, partly not. The card uses 3-D Secure for online payments and says it does not store document copies, with identity verification run by Sumsub. It does not state its custody model, whether there is an in-app freeze, whether two-factor authentication exists, whether spending controls are offered, or whether funds are insured. Given the user reports of cards ceasing to work and funds becoming hard to reach, ask support those five questions before you load it.
How do I add the card to Apple Wallet?
On Smart, Apple Pay is supported; the official pages also list Google Pay and Samsung Pay for Smart, and Apple Pay and Google Pay on Pro. An unofficial source specifies Apple Pay only on Smart, and it is not available on Easy or Prepaid. Adding it means scanning the card in the Telegram Mini App or the website, after which payments use a device-specific token rather than the card number itself.
Virtual card reviews – cryptocardcheck
Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team
