A virtual crypto card that publishes almost nothing about its own fees

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card funded from crypto. You download an app, create an account, load the card with BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC, and then pay in shops by adding the card to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. There is no plastic to wait for — the card exists from the moment you create it in the app or through a Telegram bot. That is the whole pitch, and it is a narrow one: a quick, anonymous-style virtual card funded with crypto.

DigitalPurse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the official site, the app descriptions, the help centre and the terms, then weighed those against what users and third-party card directories say. My score is 5.8 out of 10. That is not a condemnation. It is a card that does a small, specific job competently while withholding the information you would need to plan around it — most of all what it actually charges.

You should read the rest of this page knowing that the single biggest issue here is not fraud or collapse. It is opacity. The company’s own public pages leave the fee schedule, the country list, the issuer and the top-up networks unstated, and third-party sources contradict each other about the same figures. If you need a card you can budget for and check against a schedule, this is not it. If you need a virtual card that spends a crypto balance in ordinary shops within minutes, the shape of it works.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026, and everything about the card itself was checked on 2026-10-20. Where the card’s public pages say nothing, I say so plainly rather than filling the gap.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10, and the reason is missing information

A 5.8 reads like a shrug, so let me be concrete about where the marks come from. The card’s mechanics are good — six funding assets, mobile wallet support, instant virtual issuance. The paperwork behind them is thin — no published fees, no country list, no named issuer, no chargeback, no ATM. That combination is what pulls a card with genuinely useful features down to just above the middle.

Who this suits: someone who already holds crypto, wants a virtual card in their phone today, is comfortable paying at the checkout with a tap, and treats the balance as spend money rather than savings. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card they can defend to a bank, explain to an employer, or cost out precisely; anyone in a country where an unfamiliar prepaid card number is a problem at the till; anyone who wants cash from a machine; and anyone who plans to hold a balance on the card for a long time, because there is nothing in the public material about what happens to it if the service ends.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 No country list and no exclusions are named; no citizenship or residency limits; the issuing region is not disclosed
Cost 5 / 10 Officially, issuance and top-up fees appear in the app at creation and no figures are on the site; unofficially, one reviewer reports $3 for a virtual card and a $6 minimum balance, while a third-party directory lists issuance, top-up and monthly fee as free — the sources disagree
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT, USDC; networks not disclosed; no extra charge stated for USDT and USDC
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer unnamed, the platform says it is not a bank; no chargeback support; Trustpilot 4.8 from 232 reviews, with complaints about declines at Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay supported; ATM use not permitted
Total 5.8 / 10 A useful shape of card held back by unstated fees, an unnamed issuer and no dispute route

The reliability mark deserves a word of warning rather than reassurance. The visible reviews are largely positive, but a recurring third-party theme is that the card gets declined at Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean — the kind of merchants that check what a card’s first digits say. That is not a DigitalPurse bug; it is how prepaid cards get treated, and it will surprise you at the worst possible moment. I will come back to it.

Will they give you the card?

Here I have to disappoint you: the card’s public pages do not state who is eligible. There is no country list, no list of excluded countries, no citizenship rule and no residency test. That is not stated, and I will not guess at it from the design of the app.

What I can tell you is what sits around that blank. The home page says only to create an account after downloading the app. Age is 18+, and it is one account per individual. That much is stated. Everything beyond it — which countries, whether your nationality matters, whether a foreigner resident can hold one — is not on the pages I read.

Why does this matter more here than with an ordinary card? Because card eligibility is usually tangled up with the issuer and with anti-money-laundering screening, and DigitalPurse does not name its issuer. The site describes itself as a technology platform rather than a bank, and says services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. An unnamed issuer means the rules you are actually subject to are the rules of a company you cannot look up.

The company behind it is © DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC 2026. The registration country and any licences are not stated. I found no dated licence announcement, issuer name or programme event on the official site or in the help centre, and the help articles about non-reloadable cards and chargebacks carry no date at all.

So: if your question is “will they issue to me?”, the honest answer is that the card does not tell you, and neither can I. Apply, and treat the answer as the real test. Do not send large sums to find out.

How to get it

Getting the card itself is the easy part, and it is genuinely quick. You download the app, create an account, and you have a virtual card. The card is described as available instantly, created through the app or through a Telegram bot, with orders processed right away — though the wording allows that it may take up to 24 hours. There is no physical card. If a physical card is what you need, stop reading; this is not it.

What kind of card you get is where the branching starts, and the branching matters more than the signup. The card comes in two shapes:

Cross those with two more labels:

Card type Can be topped up? Relative price Limits
Reloadable KYC Yes Lower-cost option Capped for unverified users, higher once verified
Reloadable Non-KYC Yes Higher, privacy-priced Not stated
Non-reloadable KYC No, loaded once Lower-cost option Not stated
Non-reloadable Non-KYC No, loaded once Higher, privacy-priced Not stated

On verification: the official position is that KYC is required only for certain payments or products, and that KYC “may” apply. No levels are defined, no documents are listed, and unverified users carry daily and monthly order caps whose amounts are not stated. There is a help article titled “Why is my KYC verification still pending?” — the existence of that article tells you verification does sometimes stall — but processing time and rejection reasons are not stated. Verified users get higher limits.

My read: expect to be asked for identity documents at some point, most likely when you try something larger, and expect the wait to be unexplained. If you cannot supply documents at all, the Non-KYC cards exist precisely for that, at a higher price, and I am not going to describe how to get around anything — the card is priced openly for the option, and that is the whole story.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section where I have the least to give you, and that is the finding. The card’s terms say purchases may be subject to handling fees, with amounts “detailed in the specific terms” of each product. The specific terms are not published. Issuance and top-up fees are shown in the card description inside the app during creation — you see them at the moment you commit, not before. No monthly fee figure is published anywhere I could read.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a DigitalPurse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The unofficial picture is contradictory, and I would rather show you both sides than pick the flattering one. An App Store reviewer says the company charges an extra $3 for a virtual card and requires a minimum $6 balance. A third-party card directory lists issuance, top-up and the monthly fee as free. Those cannot both be right in every case, and neither is confirmed by the card.

What the card does say, officially, about how fees behave: creation and top-up fees scale with the amount on privacy cards, some non-fiat methods carry extra fees, and no percentages are published. USDT and USDC, along with bank transfer and mobile money, are the methods the card suggests specifically to avoid extra charges. BTC, ETH, LTC and XMR may cost more, with volatility and processing given as the reasons.

Here is the table. Where a cell says not stated, that is the card’s silence, not my omission.

Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance Shown in the card description in the app at creation; no figure on the site
Monthly fee Not stated
Top-up fee Shown at creation, scales with the amount on privacy cards, extra possible for non-fiat methods; no figures
Conversion and payment handling Purchases “may be subject to handling fees”, amounts in the specific product terms, which are not published
Foreign exchange Balance is in USD; “FIAT is converted to USD the moment it’s loaded”; spread and fee for paying in other currencies not stated
ATM “ATM withdrawals are considered a ‘transfer of value’ and are not permitted”
Starting balance Virtual cards offered with a “starting balance of up to $1,000 – $10,000”
Spending limits Not stated
Minimum top-up Not stated
Withdrawal Possible; fees, minimum, timing and destination not stated

Three everyday payments, so you can feel what this means:

A coffee in your own currency. You tap, the merchant charges their local currency, and your USD balance is converted. The card confirms that loaded fiat becomes USD the moment it is loaded. What you pay for the conversion on the spending side — the spread, the handling fee — is not stated. So you know a fee exists and you cannot size it.

A subscription bought online. Same conversion question, plus the risk that a prepaid or foreign card number is refused. The help centre keeps articles on refunds that have not arrived, a double charge, and a merchant that declined the card but took the money anyway — which tells you these happen.

A purchase in crypto-linked goods. The card’s prohibited list names foreign or non-fiat currency purchases among things it will not process. Buying the crypto itself with the card is not a thing you can do.

What does the industry charge for comparison, because you need a yardstick: on-chain network fees — gas, bandwidth — for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. That one is outside DigitalPurse’s control and outside its published schedule. Everything else is the part you are being asked to accept blind.

Top up: how money gets onto the card

Six assets: BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT and USDC. That is the widest funding list of the cards I looked at alongside this one, and it is the card’s strongest point. The blockchain networks are not stated, and that is a real problem rather than a technicality — send USDT on the wrong chain and the deposit can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up DigitalPurse starts with a transfer to the right network

Reloadable cards are topped up from the app: select the card, then Add Funds. Non-reloadable cards cannot be topped up at all. Fees appear in the card description during creation, scale with the amount on privacy cards, and extra fees are possible for non-fiat methods.

My ranking of the funding methods, using only what the card states about cost:

Funding asset Extra charge stated by card Card’s own caveat
USDT None stated Suggested to avoid extra charges
USDC None stated Suggested to avoid extra charges
Bank transfer None stated Suggested to avoid extra charges
Mobile money None stated Suggested to avoid extra charges
BTC May cost more Volatility, processing
ETH May cost more Volatility, processing
LTC May cost more Volatility, processing
XMR May cost more Volatility, processing

One warning that belongs in the top-up section rather than the risk section, because it is where you can act on it. USDC is not interchangeable across every network you have heard of. Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If you hold USDT, it has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Ethereum-based tokens pay gas in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. Pick the network deliberately, matching what the card supports — and since the card does not say which networks those are, this is a question for their support before your first deposit, not after.

Getting money back off: the FAQ says yes, you can withdraw, terms and conditions apply. The help centre describes it as select the active card, then More/Manage, then Withdraw Funds. Fees, minimum, timing and destination are not stated. What happens to a leftover balance if you close the card is not stated either.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card is at its most ordinary and, at the same time, most exposed. The site says the cards work at merchants supporting mobile wallets such as Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. That is a real, useful answer: you are not hunting for a physical card reader that accepts your number, you are tapping.

The limits on that convenience are the point. The card is virtual only, so if you need something a shop can swipe, or a card number printed on a form, this does not serve. ATMs are out — not permitted, treated as a transfer of value. So no cash, ever, from this card.

Then there are the merchant categories the card will not process. The list is stated as not exhaustive, and includes betting and casino gambling, government-licensed online casinos, non-sport internet gaming, dating and escort services, security brokers and dealers, foreign or non-fiat currency, wires and money orders, and cash disbursements. Some of those are the issuer’s policy rather than any law, and blocked lists vary by issuer — so do not expect a universal rule, just expect this issuer’s.

Three more things you will meet:

Declines. A merchant can look at the first six or eight digits of your card number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country looks foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign numbers for exactly that reason. This is the mechanism behind the Google Cloud, Azure and DigitalOcean decline reports in the third-party sources.

Tokenised wallet behaviour. When your card number goes into Apple Pay, it is replaced with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. That part is genuinely reassuring. The flip side is that the issuer can restrict the tokenised number — blocking it, for example, on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use — and you may not learn that in advance.

Holds. A declined authorisation can still leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. On a card whose balance you manage yourself, that is money you cannot spend while a shop decides.

On the apps: iOS and Android versions exist, and the site’s download buttons point to their own pages rather than to the stores. No ratings are shown on the official pages. Unofficially, the Android app is around 4.6 out of 5 from roughly 170 reviews with 50,000+ installs, and iOS around 4.5 to 4.7 from over a thousand ratings. Rewards are not stated anywhere.

What can go wrong

Start with the one that has no workaround: there are no chargebacks. The card says plainly that it cannot support chargebacks, citing unsustainable fraud, blockchain finality and privacy, and says this applies to sub-issuers too. A chargeback is the mechanism by which an issuer orders a refund to settle a dispute. Without it, if a shop takes your money and delivers nothing, your route is a support ticket. Refunds for returned items go back to the card originally used. Gift-code orders are not returnable or refundable once processed. No dispute time frames are given.

That is not a bug in the product; it is a consequence of how crypto and prepaid rails work. But it moves the risk onto you, and it is the single biggest difference between this card and an ordinary bank card.

Then the structural risks, which belong to the category rather than to this operator:

Custody. The card says it holds funds with the platform and its sub-issuers — that is what custodial means. It also describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank, and claims secure encryption, minimal data collection and strict access controls. What it does not mention, on the pages I read: in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls, or insurance. It does say you can cap the amount loaded onto a card to limit spending, and that is a real, available control.

Custodial platforms have a history. Mt. Gox lost about US$350 million as reported between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Nobody should treat those as predictions, only as the reason custody is a factor you weigh.

Transfers are one-way. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery. So a deposit on an unsupported network, or to an address of another network, can be lost outright.

Programme closure. Issuer programmes do get wound down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures generally follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A secondary source describes one 2026 closure where new loads ended 8 July 2026 and spending stopped 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but it shows the shape. The treatment of your balance at closure is not stated for this card.

Sanctions screening is real. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. I am not going to write about how to be unaffected by that. I am telling you it applies.

Two payments taken, one order. Help-centre articles exist for double charges and for merchants that declined the card but took the money. The existence of the article is the warning.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives. None of them is a clear upgrade — each trades this card’s privacy-and-speed for something more conventional, and each has its own blank spaces.

Card Score Card form Funding What it states about cost
DigitalPurse 5.8 / 10 Virtual only, network not stated, USD balance BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT, USDC Issuance and top-up fees shown in-app; not published; ATM not permitted
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; App Store listing is Naira-focused USDT, USDC, BTC wallets Cost and fees not stated; real-time conversion at payment with no percentage published
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer Creating a virtual card is free (site FAQ); fees and monthly fee not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid; network not stated on the App Store page; USD or EUR balance USDT, BTC, ETH deposited in-app Cost and fees not stated; App Store page lists no fees

Three observations that help you choose.

Only one of these publishes a free price. CardFlow’s FAQ states that creating a virtual card is completely free. That is one clear sentence about one thing, and it is more than DigitalPurse publishes about anything. Cardex and HyperCard also publish nothing readable on cost, so switching to them does not solve the fee problem — it only changes which company you email about it.

Only one offers a physical card. Cardex lists virtual and physical cards and states four networks, including Visa and Mastercard. If your problem is a shop that wants to swipe something, that is the structural difference that matters. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused and pays in Naira, though its site claims one crypto card across 200+ countries with no exclusions named.

Country targeting cuts both ways. CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria in its own words, calling itself Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform while also naming Nigerians and global users. HyperCard’s official pages state no country list, and its App Store page claims the card works in more than 176 countries — which is a statement about acceptance, not about who is eligible. Cardex claims 200+ countries on the same kind of wording. Acceptance is not eligibility; read the difference before you apply.

None of the three states a rewards programme. On cost, none of them publishes a percentage. On networks for funding, none of them states which chains. You are choosing between several quiet providers, not between one loud one and three honest ones — with CardFlow’s free-creation line as the single exception I found.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone specific: you already hold crypto, you want a card number in your phone today rather than in a week, you spend from the balance as you go rather than parking money on it, and you accept that if a payment goes wrong your remedy is a message to support, not a chargeback. If that is you, the fundamentals here are fine — six funding assets, no ATM friction because there is no ATM, mobile wallet support that covers Apple, Google and Samsung users, and a balance you cap if you want to cap it.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need a card that a landlord, an employer or a border official will accept without a conversation. You are in a country where a prepaid or foreign-issued number is routinely refused at the till — which is not a country list I can give you, because the card does not give one either. You need cash. You want to know what a payment costs before you make it. You are holding a balance you would be upset to lose.

The pattern I keep returning to is that this card’s weaknesses are all the same weakness wearing different clothes: nobody published the information. No fee schedule, no country list, no issuer, no networks, no reward terms, no closure policy. You are asked to accept the card on trust and then supply the missing numbers yourself from an in-app screen at the moment of commitment. That is workable for a small experiment and uncomfortable for anything larger.

If you do try it, do three things. Ask support which networks each of your assets must be sent on, and get the answer in writing before your first deposit. Load a small amount and spend it somewhere you know well before you load a large one. And set the per-card load cap, because it is the one risk control the card actually documents.

Frequently asked questions

What is DigitalPurse card?

DigitalPurse is a virtual payment card funded from cryptocurrency rather than a bank account. You create an account in the app or through a Telegram bot, load the card with BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC, and pay in physical shops by adding it to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. It is virtual only — there is no physical card — and ATM withdrawals are not permitted, so it is for spending, not for cash.

How does the DigitalPurse card work?

The balance is stored on the card in USD, and the FAQ states that fiat is converted to USD the moment it is loaded. You select the card and use Add Funds to top up a reloadable card, or you pay by tapping the virtual card through your phone’s mobile wallet. The card number is replaced by a device-specific token inside Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay, so each tap carries a one-time code rather than the card number itself.

Is DigitalPurse a bank?

No, and the card says so itself: it describes itself as a technology platform, not a bank, and says services may be facilitated by third-party licensed financial institutions. The issuer is not named, nor is the registration country or any licence. The company is © DECLASSIC TECHNOLOGIES LLC 2026. That means your funds are held with a custodial platform and sub-issuers rather than at a bank.

Does the DigitalPurse card require KYC?

Sometimes. Officially, KYC applies only to certain payments or products, and the documentation required is not stated. Unverified users carry daily and monthly order caps whose amounts are not published, and verified users get higher limits. Non-KYC cards do exist, and the card says they are priced higher because they offer greater privacy and flexibility — a openly stated pricing difference rather than a trick. Age is 18+, one account per individual.

Is the DigitalPurse card free?

Nobody can tell you reliably, which is the honest answer. Officially, issuance and top-up fees are displayed in the card description inside the app when you create a card, and no figures appear on the site. Unofficially, an App Store reviewer reports an extra $3 for a virtual card and a $6 minimum balance, while a third-party directory lists issuance, top-up and the monthly fee as free. Those sources contradict each other, and the card confirms neither. Check the app screen at creation.

How much does the DigitalPurse card cost?

The published part is thin: purchases “may be subject to handling fees” with amounts in the specific product terms, which are not published, and no monthly fee figure appears anywhere readable. On privacy cards, creation and top-up fees scale with the amount. BTC, ETH, LTC and XMR may cost more because of volatility and processing, while USDT, USDC, bank transfer and mobile money are the methods the card suggests for avoiding extra charges. Your on-chain network fee is paid to the blockchain, not to the card.

How do I top up the DigitalPurse card?

Select the card in the app and choose Add Funds. You can fund it with BTC, LTC, XMR, ETH, USDT or USDC, though the blockchain networks supported are not stated — which matters, because a transfer on the wrong chain can be lost or need manual recovery. Non-reloadable cards cannot be topped up at all, though you can buy as many as you want. The minimum top-up is not stated, and fees are shown in the card description at creation.

Is the DigitalPurse card safe?

Safer than it is proven, and less protected than a bank card. On the plus side, mobile wallet payments use device-specific tokens with one-time codes, and you can cap how much you load onto a card. Against it: no chargebacks, so a disputed payment becomes a support ticket; ATM use is not permitted; tokens on OFAC-sanctioned wallets can be disabled by the issuer; and holdings are custodial, which the category’s own history — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin — argues about.

Can I use the DigitalPurse card in my country?

You have two separate questions here and the card only speaks to one. Whether the card will be accepted by merchants is about acceptance — some shops decline prepaid or foreign-issued numbers by policy. Whether you can be issued one is about eligibility, and the card publishes no country list and no exclusions. It states no citizenship or residency limits at all. The only way to find out is to apply, which is why I would not load a large amount first.

Can I get cash or refunds with the DigitalPurse card?

Not cash, no: ATM withdrawals are classified as a transfer of value and are explicitly not permitted, so there is no route to notes. Refunds are weaker than a normal card’s. The card cannot support chargebacks, so there is no issuer-ordered dispute mechanism; returned items are refunded only to the card originally used; and gift-code orders are neither returnable nor refundable once processed. Help-centre articles exist for refunds not yet arrived and for double charges, which tells you these things happen.

What are the best alternatives to the DigitalPurse card?

Cardex scores 5.6, CardFlow 4.9 and HyperCard 4.7, against DigitalPurse’s 5.8. Cardex is the only one listing a physical card and naming networks including Visa and Mastercard. CardFlow is the only one stating a price plainly — its FAQ says creating a virtual card is completely free — and it targets Nigeria. HyperCard offers a USD or EUR balance. None of the three publishes a fee percentage, funding networks or a country eligibility list.

Content created by the «cryptocardcheck» team